(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Hi Girl,
Ya....time flies very fast, and i am already back to work after 2 mth Mat Leave. Sigh, regretted that i did not take 3 month in one short. It is so difficult to clear the rest of my Mat Leave when i go back to work.

Oh, yes my boy sometimes dun finish the milk. Sometimes left 30 ML. and also got drink until sleep too. Just 1 week ago, he drank 120 ML of milk, but this week, drop to 90 ML. so we keep to giving him 90ML.

Hi mngo,
Nice to 'c' u here!!

yyp,
Thanks for the info.,ya lor, i also dunno which is the possible reason. I think it has got something to do with my breastmilk but dunnot which one.As for stomach bug, I would think that he'll feel quite uncomfortable right other than passing green poo poo, but he still look alert and happy so I guess perhaps I should eliminate this possibility as well. Today his poo got a bit more yellowish but still got the green poo. I've tried to let him just feed on 1 breast for each feed tonite, hopefully can see result soon.

Seagal,
Thks!!

RE : Sterilising
I'm using the traditional boiling method.Hence keep all the bottle in the water till needed.Boil twice a day (morn & nite) but seldom get to use them cause most of the time i'll latch him on.

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> elicia</TD><TD> 05 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD> tara</TD><TD> 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> Xavier</TD><TD> 26 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> Javier </TD><TD> 03 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>mngo</TD><TD>Declan Isaac</TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

<font color="aa00aa">just woke up to feed Chloe, it's been 8hrs since her last feed. Now I couldn't get back to sleep liao <<yawn>> </font>

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
I know tht we can cont. breastfeeding when work, but because I am only pumping twice a day now, and actually quite tired abt it. Another main reason is because I don't feel any bonding frm it as before anymore, and I still get lots of nagging and misunderstandings, so much so that breastfeeding now lose all meanings to me. I told myself that it's ok, I'll make sure my next baby will be more successful after going thru all these now...

<font color="ff0000">bibip</font>
You are half right haha, me nore towards multimedia design

I've tried 60degree, and to me I think it's too hot too, so better not, I'll still mix more cool water and test on my wrist, as long as it doesn't feel burn when test, than it's ok for me.....

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
My fren's son actually have hair shaped some what like that, very stylo one, according to her is that her child will be closer and well-liked by her SILs... so far quite true for her lor...
but still I think it depends lah haha

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>
Hello, welcome!
YOur son's name very macho leh, I like it!!

<font color="0000ff">BABY PILLOW</font>
Am wondering if it's ok to let baby sleep on a pillow now? Anyone doing it, although I'm not sure of any benefits, but sooner or later they have to sleep on pillow right?

<font color="0000ff">STERILISING</font>
I keep all sterilised items inside the sterilisers till I use it, whtever I washed I'll just leave it outside till I decide to sterilise together again. So when need to use anything we go straight to the steriliser to grab.
I quite like my Avent Steriliser, so far quite easy to use.

<font color="0000ff">Don't finish Milk</font>
OUr timing really quite the same!
I was just telling my hubby I realise my girl haven't been able to finish the milk every feed recently.
If we try to even take out the bottle to burp her half way, after that it's pretty hard to get her to start sucking from the bottle again....
I wonder why at this stage they will do that, my guess is that now she is easily distracted by the environment, so she is less interested at the milk.....

duffy,

my baby sleeps on his pillow during the day when we can watch over him. we are using the home-made green beans skin pillow and bolster(for putting on his tummy). at night we dont let him sleep on the pillow in case he turn his head and cover his nose.

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>,
i remember you from the year end (sep to dec) mums thread now. =)
agree with duffy. your baby's name is so cool!

<font color="aa00aa">duffy</font>,

currently i am like you .... i leave the items inside the sterilisers till I use them. the items can last for at least 2 feeds so it would be 6 hours or more before i sterilise again.

however, i recently read from one of the steriliser's instructions (online) that items can only be kept sterilised for 3 hours if the lid is not unopened.
(the steriliser i m using is a loan set from a friend so i didn't get to see the instructions until i chanced upon it online.) this means that the items we leave in the steriliser are no longer sterilised after the first time we open the lid.

i know such instructions could be a bit stringent but maybe it might be a better idea to assemble the items upon sterilisation, keep them in a covered container and use them within 6 hours. what do u think?

<font color="ff6000">maple leaf</font>,
i will be using the boiling method at my mil's place. as i mentioned above, i m thinking of assembling the items first and keeping them in a covered container.

your friend's baby's hair really dropped till v-shaped ?? so it's not really a myth ... kinda unbelievable still ....

Don't finish Milk
Shermyn doesn't finish her milk too sometimes. i think you are right that they are now more easily distracted by their surroundings so tend to be more "hong sim"(hokkien).

Pillow sleeping
we bought a flat newborn pillow for Shermyn but it is getting a bit small now.

we have another bigger pillow that comes as a set we bought together with 2 bolsters. it seems too big for her now though. will probably let her use it when she grows bigger so that her head will not slant if she sleeps sideways.

i am at my mil's place now..... letting shermyn (and ourselves!) get used to the routine one week before i go back to work. we left the house one hour late, haha! can't wake up at 5:30am still lah.

hi, my baby have been using pillow and bloster since birth.
maple leaf,
as for the sign of frighten, did ur baby sleep half way and cry loudly or jump from sleep? Or easily being frighten? If yes, den must be.

hi, my baby have been using pillow and bloster since birth.
maple leaf,
as for the sign of frighten, did ur baby sleep half way and cry loudly or jump from sleep? Or easily being frighten? If yes, den must be.

Yu,

Wah, your Elicia very li hai! Knows how to swallow solid food? Impressed... I m letting Xavier smell and taste all kinds of food so that next time he wont b particular over food (logical??). hhmm.. wonder whn i shd let him try to eat abit of solid food... Yu, whn do u know whn to let ur bb try?

Seagal,
At 1st i oso bu she de cut Xavier's hair. Bt i saw my friend's bb dropping hair till left only patches on the head. Looks awful so i tot mayb it's nt such a bad idea afterall...

MapleLeaf,
Do take care of yourself. Mummy needs to b strong to take care of bb.

As for the poo, Xavier's poo is greenish too. Rather like moss. I had consulted the doctor b4 and he said bb's poo are like that. Even my MIL said it's normal. So i tink there shdnt b any cause of alarm? Bt after reading YYP's post, i m nt so sure leh. Bt Xavier doesnt seem to b unwell so i m nt so concerned.

As for sleeping positions, last time the padaetrician from Mt Alvernia told me Xavier was used to lying on his right side whn he was in my womb. That explains why from birth he tends to turn his head to his right whn he sleeps. The PD said have to let him sleep more often on his left side if nt his right side of the head will become flatter. So what i did was to prop his pillow up on the right so that he cant trun to the right side. Now he's ok liao. Can sleep comfortably on both sides.

Water consumption
Hhmm.. i m getting mixed advices on this. Quite a few mummies here said shdnt feed bb water. Bt the nurses at the polyclinic told me hv to feed water if bb is drinking formula leh. Even my relatives said so. i m confused leh...

GIRL,
Tink it's quite normal for bb nt to finish their milk smtimes. Esp nw they older, will b easily distracted.

duffy,
Xavier has been sleeping on pillow from birth too. Bt the pillows r v flat. My MIL jus made him a new one as the old one is getting abit small for him.

Hi duffy, seagal, thanks for the compliments leh.
seagal, yap i am from the sep-dec thread lor. now i migrate over here. haaa.. i am sep-dec citizen but i am this thread PR .

Wow many posts already...
just to share with you on how my baby is coping..

for my baby poo poo, it is also greenish in colour and is normal too....

as for water consumption, it is perfectly fine for him to have water if baby is on formula..for me, i feed my baby with water as formula can gets quite heaty too...

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
Where can we buy a flat new-born pillow huh? Ahyoh, how flat is flat huh?
Haha, got to wake up at 5.30 ah, really becoming panda mummies.....

<font color="ff0000">Thanks</font>
The books that I've read suggest between 4 months to 6 months, not earlier than 4th months cause baby's organs not fully developed to digest. Not later than 6 months cause than they will not have enough nutrients when they need it by then.....
But than all babies' different lor....

<font color="0000ff">BABY PILLOW</font>
Those pillow and boldter that I bought together along with the mattress sets, are they consider big or small for our baby's age leh?
I have the beans pillow, but tht's more for putting on her chest for security.

<font color="0000ff">Funny Behaviour</font>
I realise my girl will behave strangely when she slept till morning these few days... when it's abt 4am, she will have interval of rubbing her eyes and nose, and than sleep, than she'll cry a little and than sleep.... sometimes she would cry louder, than she sleep again.... All these are done with her eyes closed, meaning she's still sleeping.
These interval will last for hours untill I call her up or she wake up at 7am to feed.

At times, when it's as early as 4am, I've tried holding her up and burp her, but after half an hour of putting her back she's back to that interval again........

Anyone experience these behaviour in their babies when they are alseep?

Yu
Yes,my boy sumtimes do cry very loudly halfway thru his sleep but that happen even before he was having the green poo. He startle a lot also.I think to a certain extent, he's frighten.

But after reading several postings here, it seems that green poo is quite common &amp; normal.What a relieve.

Thanks &amp; Chiart
Tk u for sharing!! Make me feel more relieve now.

BTW, I've went to seek advise at another thread &amp; was told the below info on green poo :

"once my girl oso started having greenish poo for several days. checked wif the GP, he said it's quite normal in babies 3~~5 months cos liver is developing/developed and secreting some liquid and it got into the bowel system."

Anyhow,today Aaron's poo become more yellowish liao ... pheeeeeew.

PILLOW SLEEPING
---------------
Nope, did not let him sleep on pillow, only use the 'bean sprout case' pillow to put on his stomach when he sleeps.

Seagal
Forgot to ask, Shermyn's oral thrush cleared already?Just to share,after clearing, Aaron's thrush do come back once in a while but not as serious as before i.e. just 1 or 2 spots.

duffy,

u can get the babysafe pillow from Metro/Isetan/kiddy palace.

I did flash cards by cutting out from a ABC poster. my baby likes it alot.

<font color="ff0000">Maple_Leaf</font>
Glad tht's it's a relief! May I ask wht's the symptons of having thrust?

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
Thks, my girl likes flash card alot too, she started to respond with all the ooohh, eee and ahhh haha.

No one had the experience of the funny behaviour I asked about ah?
ahyoh, how ah, if only she can talk...

Hey Rochelle, that's a great idea!! Shall do that if I cannot find the card anywhere.

duffy,
If there's oral thrush, its in the mouth and there'll be a lot of pearly white spots which cannot be clean away during daily mouth cleaning session. Sumtimes bb do get milk stain in the mouth also but can be wipe away.

FUNNY BEHAVIOR
---------------
So far no leh,sorry can't help.But could she be dreaming?I've heard my mum said before that if bb play too much, they'll dream at nite one lor.

hi there ladies
i read about the oral thrush thingy..what is it all about? sorry i am quite blur at this..please advise me...as my baby also have some white spots after feeding as well...

hi maple,
yes i think baby can be dreaming..cos my boy had a nightmare on sat when we brought him out to play..and he play so much that he had a nightmare at night..
how i know is he is sleeping soundly when suddenly he cries very loud halfway and his cry is different..so me and my hubby concluded that he is having a nightmare...
just to share on this...

by the way, talk about the flash card..any where i can get it instead of doing it? ha...cos too lazy and busy to do it myself...thanks

chiart,

my house downstairs shop sells them. I think popular sells them too. where do u stay?

duffy,

my baby also laugh and cry in his sleep. my mum says its the baby guardian angel making them laugh and cry. no need to worry.

if baby cry when they wake up, then its probably becos baby cannot see us so get scared.

It woudn't have worried me if it's only once or twice lor, the interval continues for a few hours woor, moreover it's all cries and rubbing, looks uncomfortable lor....

My hubby says she hungry but too lazy to get up for night feed... hmmm... I'm not too sure leh.

<font color="0000ff">Glen Doman</font>
I've a fren who succeed in teaching her daughter to read with the glen doman program. I'm thinking of going down for more infomation, of course I would only apply to my daughter if she's interested and fun for her. Would never force my baby to read....

duffy,

could really be that she is hungry and still sleepy or she could be feeling alittle warm. if you look at her does she stop crying?

Hi rochelle,
i am staying in sengkang...popular sells them? okie shall go and check..thank
hi maple
ya i think my baby just has milk stains and can be cleaned off..
by the way, what is the formulae brand u girls are using?

hi mummies..

sorry really no time to log in now as so busy at work. Today is just the 2nd day at work and i already miss my daughter so much...

thanks so much for your advices..

Btw, Duffy, my girl aso have the habit esp when she is hungry during the middle of the nite. She will use her hands to rub her face, then with sounds, then stretch, then sleep again..a few times when we ignore her, she will waiiiii, then i make milk for her....i tot this is the sigh of hungry....not too sure too.....

as for pillow, i let her sleep on the beans pillow at nite...think shd be okie...

wat is thrush? u mean on the tongue? btw do your mummies clean thier tongue where there are milk stain? how ur do it?

oh really, popular bookshop sells flash cards..hmm..i shall go take a look...

I am using S26..any mummies feeding thier babies wth S26?

Hi mngo...hmm..my girl aso drink 90ml at 3hrs interval.wat abt urs?..but at times left 20 to 30 ml..so sad....tat why at times i wait till hse really hungry then feed her...any advices from mummies here?

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle, Girl</font>
She wouldn't see me cause she didn't even open her eyes haha, she's closing her eyes all the while one....

maybe hungry hoor.....

<font color="ff0000">chiart</font>
I'm using similac 1.

<font color="aa00aa">duffy</font>,
the flat pillow i bought is really flat and not as big as those that comes with the mattress set.

as rochelle mentioned, babysafe is one of the brands and they sell mainly latex products. the one we bought is just a normal one - i think it's sponge inside and only about the same thickness as our bb's health booklet.

FACE RUBBING
Shermyn has a habit of rubbing her ear/eye/nose too. She does it when she is restless e.g. when it's close to her feeding time at night and sometimes when she feels uncomfortable during the day (i think). She has a pattern of rubbing too ... starts from her ear to her eye and then to her nose and back in circular motion. There was once I counted her doing 20 circles per hand before she switch to the other hand. so funny and very cute.

<font color="ff0000">maple leaf</font>,
Shermyn still have some oral thrush. her lazy mummy is not very conscentious in applying the gel for her maybe that's why! =d
supposed to do it 3 times a day but i have been applying for her about twice a day.

<font color="ff6000">chiart</font>,
I used to feed Shermyn NAN HA but a nurse friend of mine told me NAN is quite heaty. She has done some research and recommended SIMILAC EXCELLENCE. The latter is supposed to be closed to bm and also does not caused constipation. I started Shermyn on it recently, so far so good.

<font color="0000ff">girl</font>,
thrush can appear on the gums, inner cheeks and roof of bb's mouth as well.

i use sterilised gauze pads and boiled water to clean Shermyn's mouth.

i would like to join in this thread. My bb ger Natalie is born on 2Dec2004.

seagal,
I'm feeding Natalie NAN-1, heard that both Nan &amp; similac dont caused constipation but similac is better. thinking to switch to similac but dunno how to switch lei. Do u mix nan wif similac when u 1st started? I heard old-folks mentioned must mix else bb will not used to sudden change in taste. But was thinking how can we mix diff FM??

TBL,

if u are switching milk powder, than its best to buy a small can and dont mix the milk powder. baby would get more confused. I heard NAN-1 cause more phlegm than other milk so I would switch when I used up the NAN-1 that I already bought.

duffy,

when she cry, u have to pat pat her face so that she would open her eyes and see u. after a while she would recognise your face and calm down. if she start crying again after stopping for awhile, than she is hungry.

Hi ladies, not sure if i am the odd one out. I am feeding Declan Isaac Friso and BM.

tbl, i think better dun mix diff FM if their measurements are different

rochelle,
which FM u intend to switch to?

duffy,
my ger had similier behaviour as chloe too. Last time she always woke up at 3am to rub her eyes &amp; face n kept crying. We brought her to PD and PD observe there are 'stubborn' wax on her ear (not inside) that caused the itchness. So my ger was actually trying to rub her ears, while we tot she rubbed eyes/face!!! PD gave us cream to apply and i can see improvement on my ger. She seldom rub her face/eyes nowadays and does not has the interval of waking up during the nites (except when hungry).
may be u try to see any ear wax on chloe?

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> elicia</TD><TD> 05 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD> tara</TD><TD> 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> Xavier</TD><TD> 26 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>TBL</TD><TD> Natalie</TD><TD> 02 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> Javier </TD><TD> 03 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>mngo</TD><TD>Declan Isaac</TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

Welcome TBL!

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Thanks for the info, cause it might be the reason u mentioned. mainly cause I realise Chloe sometimes will have some peel off dried dirt dropped out from her ear in the morning. I wonder if tht's wht u meant by "stubborn wax"? Sorry huh, blur me don know how to see if there's wax in her ear leh, how to distinguish huh?

Thks for yr info too, let me see if she's merely hungry or it's the ear thing...

welcome <font color="ff0000">tbl</font>!
my nurse friend told me can slowly mix both brands eg. if natalie drinks 4 ounces, start with 3 part NAN :1 part Similac, then 2:2 and 1:3, before switching entirely to similac.

i guessed it also depends on individual bbs. i didn't mix before switching and shermyn has no problems with it.

one more thing, Shermyn's spit-up milk and poo smells terrible when she is drinking NAN. Similac is ok.

note to buy the newer stock of similac with added AA and DHA. some shops are still selling the old stock so don't buy from them.

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>,

i heard that friso range is quite fattening. my friend fed her bb girl friso and she is really quite big. is it true for isaac?

welcome tbl...
wow so many posts after one day..
i am feeding my baby boy with friso too...i dun think friso is fattening..cos my boy is not that big..and his PD mention his weight will be just right..but he is on the tall side...

i heard a lot of pple taking similac and my cousin son took this as well with BM..end up he is also quite big..i guess it doesnt matter with the forumulae baby taking?

tbl, my gal also rubbing her ears/head... i also suspect it's the ear wax thing... how to get rid of it apart from using the cream from PD?

duffy,
if chloe has those wax, u can see it on her ear. NOT inside the ear. why i call it 'stubborn wzx' coz it was very difficult to clean it.. btw do see whether any wax behind her ear, it will caused itchness too.

Jen,
PD said if not serious hor, u can use cotton bud wif water to clean. Put some water on cotton bud the slowly wipe the ear by rolling the cotton bud. becareful on the area near the hole, dun try to clean it when bb is cranky.

seagal,
think i'll try not to mix when switching FM, then observe and see whether natalie like it or not. btw Shermyn taking similac or similac excellence (got 2 types rite?)

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Come to think of it, could it be those white thing I try to clean from my girl's ear once in awhile? So far I've tried using water and cotton bud to clean it off, both in the ear, not too deep though, and behind the ears like u say....

seagal,
So far isaac is not very fat leh. I am not sure when a baby is fat, is due to milk? I've seen some babies very fat but they rely just on Breastmilk alone. And there are some on formula -similac excellence, also very fat.

Isaac at times take BM. And he is born with skinny genes

Hi tbl,
WELCOME!!

RE : FM
--------
Aaron is taking BM most of the time but when outside,I'll give him FM for convenience,he's taking Enflac A+,any comment on that?

Btw, he loves to suck his fingers these days, any other alternatives to stop that other than giving pacifier?

<font color="ff0000">tbl</font>,
Shermyn is taking Similac Excellence - for infants 0 to 6 months. I know of only one other type for premature babies called Similac Neo-something......

<font color="0000ff">mngo</font>,
haha... i know wat u mean. maybe we should look at the other perspective i.e. bbs will not be very skinny if they are on 100% fm.

thks for all yr warm welcome
very happy to find this thread as all our bbs almost same age, easier to discuss on problem we are facing.

btw did ur normal menses come alr?? my lochia cleared abt 3wks after delivery, but till now still no sign of menses lei. Dunno whether need to see gynae or not?

seagal,
oh, then i think i'll try Similac Excellence. U know where can get lower price? NTUC? :p

seagal,
haaa i think u are right

softshoes
anyone tried wearing softshoes for your baby? I tot of buying as booties are getting small.

mngo,
i only bf for 1mth only lei. dunno why menses not come to "visit" me yet. wonder whether need to visit gynae or not.

tbl, how to define serious or not serious? =P sometimes i see flaky skin, is that the ear wax? i always tot ear wax is the "shit" inside the ear?