(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

rochelle

your problem is mine too
i also ask mommies from the other forum about NAPPING!!

okie, lets take a look at MY issue. Quinn has always been a night owl but i try to adjust his bedtime as i think its healthier to sleep earlier. and he only started school this year *hes in N2* and i put him in the MID session *11.30am - 2.30pm* slot as i really dont wanna stress him too much. i think going to school is a big event for him, as hes super attach to his family, he will even ask my why he needs to go to school, tell me he can learn at home......... so i really dont want to stress him even more by putting him in the early session. BUT again, problem still arise BUT i think its due to his nap. he will nap on certain days but not everyday, maybe soon he can do without nap and of cos that will be easier for us but now still not ready. so for now i just take it easy, try to adjust accordingly everyday and i believe 1 fine day everything will be better, maybe for now you just take it easy, dont force it too much and see whats next. he will start his school next year or??? for me is i will only put quinn in the morning session when i think hes ready.

berry,

his school term starts in sep 09 so I just asking how to cope since my older one has been grouchy king for 2yrs already.

pawprint, littledevil

both boys are internal clock one. drink milk and sleep on time since born. only eating is not so punctual. if I want them to sleep earlier, than I have to bring them to playground to play until v tired. if bad weather, than have to let them climb the stairs (I stay on 3rd floor) to the basement to get letters and than up back to home.

if my boys doze off during dinner because the weather is so hot that they fall asleep, than will definately wake up ard 11-12pm and than will be hyper-awake for the next 2-3hrs.

Rochelle,
wld u consider letting him be consistently late? If he's late, then sees he's missed something (fun)... maybe he'd slowly adjust his clock?

Or... maybe play around with lights. Switch lights off totally by certain time, and switch full lights on earlier/ make noise in kitchen or what. Wld that help adjust his internal clock?

Just throwing out ideas.

lildevil,
hehe, she dozed off at dinner before 6pm yesterday... woke at 7am this morning. So yeah, we'd make it to school today, LOL!

pawprint
wow yur girl very good leh, can take so long break. Nicole soemtime dun take nap at all during weekend and she become very grouchy at ard evening time. will doze off then wake up ard 9pm plus adn stay till late nite then sleep. she wont sleep thru at all.
normal day she will sleep ard 10pm in bet she will wake up to fuss and cry sigh... dunno is it she have too much fun in sch. she seldom sleep thru wifout fuss.
morning at time got problem getting them to get up, but weekend they super auto wake up early and play.
i still suffering from the mid nite feed cos jeralyn will wake up for feed 1-2 time

little devil
nice seeing you the other day. nicole and quinn napping time can shake hand haha..

yuru
nicole oso get grouchy at day so moody

Rochelle, sorry have been bz to reply. J attends full day CC so there's a naptime from 1-3pm. She can last whole day if there is no nap but will get tired and request to sleep early at night. She usually wakes up between 7am-9am if undisturbed.

On school days, I wake her 7.30am by giving her milk. Then I prepare food for her dinner. By the time she finish drinking, she is usually awake. I try to encourage her to change her clothes and go to the toilet by herself then come to the kitchen for her supplements. We leave at 8am everyday as I dun want her to miss breakfast time. I will start the waking process 15 mins earlier if she throws tantrum for 3 days consecutively until she gets back in her routine. Err, I'm also not a morning person, so will wake up at the same time I need to get her up. Everything is done in half an hour.

So far, she doesn't give major tantrum when woken up. At most, she will lie there and take her own sweet time to get up to change clothes despite my constant calling. Probably only once in a while she gets cranky.

Oh yah, I do not draw the blinds for the windows so when it's morning, her room is bright. That helps to rouse her, I guess?

Berry (& those who use car), can I check with you if Faye (ur kids) still sits in the carseat? Or is it safe to convert to a booster now? I searched the web and realised that booster seat and booster cushion is different. Thanks.

car seat,

my boys are both in car seat. its not safe to be in booster yet unless they are really tall and heavy (tall only no good). best to switch to booster at age 5. I am using toddler car seat for them. It has 5 pt harness.

reason is if you need to jam brake or if *touch wood* got bump from behind by a speeding car, the booster seat does not hold the child secure enough.

Lights and waking up,

No help. I am the only one who wakes up at sunrise even if sunrise is 5.30am hubby and kids still sleep even if sunlight on their faces.

Jen,

envy leh. it take hubby 1hr to get my kids awake and out of the door. it takes me 10mins to get them out of the door if they are already awake.

Jen, we are VERY big on car safety (its a non-negotiable, hehe that shd give you an idea how impt it is :p). Anyway yes she is still in a car seat with a 5-point harness and will be untill she cant fit anymore. But she should still be able to fit till at least 4.5 or even older, cause its still v roomy. And even then, if I can, I will prob still find a good car seat w 5-point harness for her, just a bigger one for she is ready for a booster anytime soon. I might consider when she is much older, 6 or 7 at least? I know its rare for a kid bigger than 4 these days to be in a proper car seat in sg, but car sefety is v v impt I feel.

Jen,
my girl usually wakes half hr before she has to be IN SCH :p . Sometimes if insufficient :p sleep she's grouchy too, and cannot do anything independently.

eh hav any of u considered testing kids' eyesight? I know there's basic assessmt in the health book... but it's been quite awhile since?
I DIY test Ahgirl just now, wrote "B", "E", "3", "2" on notebook placed a distance away. As long as I can see it, I expected her to be able to. I covered each eye and noticed her RIGHT eye has better vision! Left eye can't quite determine whether "B" is "8" or "3", right eye is SURE it's "B".

Girl was rubbing her left eye when she played the piano just now (not I force her hor, she was scribbling her own notes for fun and wanted to play her "own score"). Not sure if it's her fringe or dirt- she's very sensitive to long fringe and dirt... like me. I get sore eyes if my fringe bothers my eyes.

I made appt for both kids next Mon for PD- Girl for ht/wt/eyesight assessmt (for my peace of mind lah), Boy for his 2yo assessmt. Abit worried abt eyesight... nowadays see kids younger than 7yo in specs. I mean, last time our generation u dun test eyesight til 7yo so u rarely see kids that young in specs. But possibly nowadays we do test so young.

Rochelle/Berry, thanks for ur prompt replies. I am very particular about car safety too... especially since I got into a couple of accidents recently...

Berry, how about Gene? He is also in a car seat? So you have 2 car seats in ur car? Kapo what car are u driving now? Got space for 2 seats? Is Faye sitting in front?

Pawprint, J was tested before and result is both eyes are balanced... we also sometimes drop by our optician and let him check with the machine... so far, so good *cross fingers*... no test of reading from distance yet...

Jen,

driving a toyota corolla with 2 car seats at the back. I just nicely fit in between both car seats.

Pawprint,

either the fringe is disturbing her eye or got lazy eye. just get it tested. no point guessing.
better to make sure the fringe never pass the eyebrow though so that wont affect eyesight.

R,
her fringe is abv brows, but sides stray over. yah made PD appt for next Mon... not sure if i shld pop into optical shop to test her too.

Jen, yar Gene is def in a car seat- he sat in one from the first day he was discharged from hosp lol! Our car is a regular 5-seater like most saloon cars. We dont put car seats in front cause of air bag, its very unsafe to do so. Both car seats are behind, left and right, leaving middle seat empty. Still enough room for me to squeeze in if I want to, just need to push the front seats further front. Of cpourse its not ideal cause need to climb in/out if I want to squeeze in between at times. But no choice lor, and we are not keen to change to a bigger car just for more space which we prob wont use regularly. Actually, I believe most regular size saloon cars are spacious enough for two car seats?

Jen,
have tried the booster cushion on Ryan and the belt cuts through due to height. I also have the adjustable clip to adjust the length of the safety belt..but he still can fall off the cushion if he falls asleep..so maybe get a booster chair with headrest for him instead.

Eh..for my car both the car seats..fit the 2nd row find.. if extra passangers will open up the 3rd row of seats.

Re: Car Seats
I found this when checking if I can "upgrade" J. So was kind of confused as I always thought booster is just the cushion alone. In the end, I might as well stick to using the carseat until she is 6YO or 25kg?

rochelle/berry, hmm... I must say that u ladies are so SLIM! can fit btwn 2 carseats! wahaha... we have lots of barang which can easily fill up the additional seat beside the current carseat. If I need to fetch others, will hv lack of space lor.

ruffybear, hi rare guest! thanks for popping by to advise me.
if additional passengers, u will hv to remove one carseat then they can get behind right? do u think it defeats the purpose of getting a 7-seater then? btw, which MPV are u driving?

Jen,
I will arrange that the older kid sit in the car seat in the 3rd row, younger kid car seat 2nd row as Ryan can strap himself in /out.. no problem about that.
We just change to a Toyota Sienta 1.5L Like that dun need to keep on moving 1 carseat. You can easily put the seat down in the 2nd row for the passenger to get into the seat in the 3rd row so can have 2 + 2 + BB + 1 + Toddler in car
but we seldom have guest.. if do have many to ferry will ask my mum to drive her 7 seater MPV

PLAYMATS- hehe I think this is quite an old topic for alot of you. :p Anyone knows where I can buy good quality foam mats? I dont want LG mats cause its too big and heavy. Preferably large pieces that are not the puzzle types (easier to maintain/keep) and good quality ones, without the awful plastic smell. Where to get apart from ELC (which is really overpriced!)?

Jen, will sure find it squeezy in between the two car seats, but still functional. Sometimes if Gene is crying I can wedge in there and help keep his pacifier in place if hb is driving. As for ferrying others, I dont really mind not giving lifts to anyone. :p

rochelle/berry/ruffybear, thanks for all ur inputs!

ruffybear, thanks for the info! Sienta is parallel import? What's the cost like?

berry, not sure what is ELC or if LG mats are same as those bumper mats they sell long long time ago? but I saw some mats at minitoons. quality wise, not so sure. I confirm, stamp, chop, I canNOT squeeze btwn 2 car seats! Hahaha...

rochelle, I think ur problem, next year then think about it. Still early mah.

rochelle/berry/ruffybear/jen
i feel so ashamed after reading all yur post on carseat. both my girls is not on carseat. they can break free themself when i put them in the car seat is like a toy we remove in and out. usually I carry Jeralyn then strap nicole on normal seatbelt beside me.

same here our car if use 2 car seat then no one can squeese in. 1 carseat and 1 adult sit jus nice wif soem barang. plus we alway ferry pil ard so very troublesome have to remove the car seat up and down.

berry
i saw minitoon have smaller and lighter playmat but quality a bit rough

wendy,

my mum sits at the front passenger seat when she comes to stay with us for a few months. so total 3 adults and 2 toddlers in one corolla. also can get fine and demerit point if children less than 1.5m tall are not in car seat, newborns included. so my 2nd son has been in car seat since 1 day old.

jen,

my older boy took 1yr before he is confident in using the toilet insert for pee and poo. still not confident in outside toilets.

thats why now have to "kan cheong" about next yr's problem.

Jen,
I went to 2 optical shops and both said they can't use the machine to test 4yo
. Anyway tomorrow have PD appt, will check.

Sleep/Nap/Waking Time
On weekdays, I will wake Yingxin up at 6.30am for school as her school is VERY VERY FAR AWAY (about 45 mins drive), but it is difficult to get her up on time, so i will change her and make her drink her milk while she is "half-asleep" mode. Will also keep telling her that mummy is sorry she has to go through this everyday because there is no one at home to take care of her. She will usually have her afternoon nap around 1plus/2plus for 2 to 3 hours. But if she misses her nap, she will be very cranky by evening time around 5pm. Even so, she will not sleep early at nite!

She used to sleep at 9pm when i was still a SAHM, but now her sleeping time varies, depending on what time we reached home. And no matter how tired she is, she will wait for me to finish my chores so we can lie down together and goes off to dreamland. She cannot sleep on her own.

Strangely, on weekends, she can wake up early without me having to nudge her. Instead, she will be the one to wake me up to play with her!

Jen
Yingxin will be in car seat if either me or my husband drives. But if i am around, she will be sitting at the back row, centre seat with seat belt and I will be sitting besides her.

Will not be getting any booster seat or another car seat. Somehow, I find the booster seat is a waste of money and really not as comfortable as the car seat.

Pawprint
i brought Yingxin to KK Hospital Eye Centre for an thorough eye check (which included eye vision test too although they said it is still too young to conduct one for a 3 YO) in June as there was a whitish lump inside her lower eye lid. Luckily the specialist said it was nothing serious. It actually was a calcium growth which is more commonly seen in elderly and will fall off on its own - no medication/eye drop/ointment required

pawprint
maybe u might want to consider bringing your kids to KK hospital for eye check? theirs is specially catered to children. oh, tan tock seng hospital also opened up a children eye centre recently.

pawprint,

I got my eyesight tested when small at a eye clinic by a "eye doctor" who does kids and adults. I had lazy eye and strabismus (squint, cock-eye) so needed eye exam every yr by eye doctor.

Eyesight-
they did the eye chart check- Ath can read the 2nd last line and that's considered perfect vision/ no astig. So I suppose she's fine for now. I doubt really that accurate cos Ath wasn't quite sure if the "C" was "C" or "O"... the tester just went back-forth the line til Ath got it all correct?

BTW all ur kids developed their FOOT ARCHES yet? Ath hasn't but apparently still not of concern under 7yo... just doing a straw poll here!

My 4.5yo washer-cum-dryer kaput! Repairman said cost of repairs not worth it
. Siiiiiiiiiiiigh.

I need a washer-cum-dryer cos my rubbish chute is behind my washer... if stack another dryer on top, no need to open rubbish chute liao. There's no other space allocated for this (will block windows/ laundry rack etc).

We avoid using dryer function due to electricity costs but I need the dryer function occcasionally, if I do too many loads and run out of laundry rack/ windows to hang :p . So a 2-in-1 suits me fine, can't do without dryer but DUN need a separate dryer.

Any recs of current models in mkt? My DEAD machine is 5yo model, no longer available and the new model replacing it is more expensive at freaking $1.4K. Too expensive

ruffybear,
phoned u to ask u if u checked out the adjustable piano bench- how is it?
I need to google what's the rec'd ht/ posture for kid... she looks fine on my normal bench leh? My gf said she looks fine too (my piano seems abit low?).

pawprint,

my 3yr old has abit of normal arch already. I have high arch, hubby has normal arch.

I was ok on a piano bench. just cannot slouch else cannot reach keys properly. WW has no problem "playing" piano sitting on the piano bench. WW is 103cm

Rochelle, wow so tall...

*small sigh on my side*

Am up at 4am cos ate 2 scoops of icecream for dinner, aiyoh, no wonder my kids are lactose-intolerant (to too much ice-cream etc)!

My washer-dryer update:
likely to get LG... cos promo now, cheapest at $1K.
the Thomson is sooo much nicer with smaller footprint (the LG controls design is rather ugly, aiyoh, but apparently easy to use). But Thomson is $1,648!

Will likely get fr Best Denki- apparently cheapest for 5yr extended warranty. Must get this warranty cos my Ariston died in its 4.5yr, hmph! So sian with such unbudgeted but BOHBIAN expenses. Hope my fridge dun pull such a stunt (same age) and better check my dishwasher got extended warranty anot (can't recall! Think dun have ah! Aiyoh how?!!!).

pawprint,
Y not u check out those neighbourhood electrical shops. The pdts r usually cheaper. I usu buy mine from Etronin. Their shops r at bedok and tamp (near safra tamp). If not u can check out Goh Ah Bee at Kovan.

skyblue, thx... but they have extended warranty? I read Courts and Best Denki offer this more cheaply than neighbourhood shops even tho priced more expensively.

I need 5yr extended warranty lor, cos very suay, my current died in its 4.5y (and repairman said repairs $670! Not worth it
). Now panic over my dishwasher, that time din buy extended warranty though fr Courts ah. *SIGH*

I think I am in super-bad mood, that time of the mth always like that. Want to kill everyone mood. :/

Yesterday the kids spent the day with ILs, ate fried food and skipped naps... end up this morning both kids cldn't wake in time. Ath skipped kindy lor. And woke with a COUGH!

Very BEK CEK!

pawprint,
I'm not very sure if they have extended warranty.

I realise dat when my kids dun sleep enuf, they'll fall sick.

Pawprint,
haven't got the adjustable bench. If do get it would be more for Roy then Ryan coz Ryan's tall enough.. about 110cm I think. Also because it is a real eyesore seeing a ripped up bench plastered with scotch tape all over. If you want to get one let me know..we go and buy together.

Electronic products,
we get from Katong Mall the shop in the basement. cheaper then those big shops.( Can take a look when you are free. Or if you want me to check out a particular model SMS me . I go there every wed.

skyblue, yahlor mine also- particularly the girl! Not enough sleep will cough/ running nose!

I think I woke on wrong side of bed.

ruffy, HB works near there he's supposed to check it out today, not sure if he will. We'd probably buy today or tomorrow, urgent case.

pawprint, even tho neighbourhood stores selling electrical appliances alot more cheaply, they dont do extended warranty. IMO its not worth it to take the risk, esp since yours is a dryer-cum-washer, so many functions, lagi likely to breakdown (according to my own could-be-flawed theory lol!). Even my 1.2K whirlpool washer (the sales person was saying how great it is, no problems blah blah- yeah right,) gives me problem in less than 2 years, and the first repair required already costs more than the extended warranty I paid for. So if you dont want to stress over your next purchase, its a good idea to pay a wee bit more for peace of mind.

Bought LG washer-dryer, $999 Best Denki promo, then added on extended warranty. Different stores varied in price promo, something wrong with their sales info lor.

Wld have preferred Thomson, smaller capacity but sooo slim! Wld have given me more leeway to squeeze and clean behind the machine! But agent OOS... and big difference in price, nearly $1.7K.

pawprint,

whats the model of washer dryer you buy? thinking of getting one for my mum. my SG laundry area has no room for side by side so need a 2 in 1. how much is the extended warranty? thanks

tiger children bottle recommendation?

I am looking at the MMM or MMD model for my boys.
http://www.usa.tiger-corporation.com/commodity/stainless_steel/lineup.html#mmm3

also is there any difference between made in japan and made in china?

those I bought in SG from takashimaya were made in japan. those I bought last yr here were made in china.

for the same model, the made in japan is more costly than the made in china. the asian shops here sell both the made in japan and made in china. its for my boys so if bo bian just have to pay more.

children's place/old navy/carters/oskgosh clothes,

was at factory outlet on sunday and alot of clothes were on sale for USD 2.99, SGD 4.05

manage to get some clothes for myself since I wear kids size

find alot of the sprees here are overcharging in exchange rate and shipping costs.

Rochelle, I was checking out these recommended washer-cum-dryer:

- LG WD 14331D 8kg/ 4kg (wash/ dry load) $999 at Best Denki, additional ~$150? for extended to 5yr warranty. Parkway Best Denki insists it's a DISPLAY model, otherwise it's $1099... but I got my non-display model from Century Best Denki.

- Turbo INCANTO TWD6610 6kg/ 3kg ~$1263 fr http://www.happiness.com.sg/main/product/ProductDetails.asp?ProductId=TWD6610# (no extended warranty???)

- TURBO INCANTO TWD6812 8kg/ 5kg ~$1600

- Thomson TX898 6kg/ 3kg ~$1648 fr Courts with 5yr warranty

I was told small shops that offer better pricing *sometimes* offer option of extended warranty... but the price of that warranty costs more than Courts or Denki. I was also told that Denki has best pricing for the warranty all-in lah.

The Thomson really the SMALLEST footprint but it's TOPLOAD compared to the other frontloads. H/e the topload is still horizontal axis drum, similar to front load spin.

The LG some gd reviews (can google LG washer dryer review).

pawprint,

the century best denki is the nearest to my SG home
was thinking of getting it for my parents for CNY spring cleaning. becos now get they will say the existing washer still quite new.

will check the reviewss. thanks