(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

gabby, kelly,
hmm I tot #2 wld learn much faster since #1 gabbles so much (even now while typing, she's in living room YAKKKING loudly away NON-STOP, aiyoh). But no leh, #2 not clapping, not standing w/o support, not yakking much. Might be a personality thing... he definitely tries to scale more things than #1 ever did, and puts more stuff into his mouth. :p And CANNOT sit in highchair one (considering #1 has a superglue butt).

Come to think of it... I've always had a quieter personality than my elder sis. She was ALWAYS SOOO yakky/ bossy.

berry
thks, i know abt it liao. chatted wif pinkmonster lately. very nice lady. so fun 2 chat wif her.

i juz collected my 2bottles of sambucol fr her so probably will hold buying my 3bottles until 2wks later IF she still organising more iherb sprees. if she not organising, i'll order fr her n she has already set a slot 4 me
. thks 4 e info again.

FYI, sambucol is sold out at vitakids. seems like the mummies in SM started a bushfire on it.

HOLIDAY PROGRAMS AT MALLS!!!
Anyone knows where/ time/ what? U know, the usual Barney-other-characters shows and meet & greet...?

kelly, wat bushfire?

berry, sorrry ask umpteenth time- wat u rec frm the spree?

pawprint
a mummy called cyan started a luckyvitamin spree buying some stuff, tgt wif sambucol. i joined her spree n a few of us were chatting abt sambucol in tat thread n how we tried all sorts of methods 2 boost our bbs' immune system. then there's a website called iherb which lil devil chanced upon. faster delivery at insignificant increase of prices. another mummy organised iherb sprees so a few of us like gabby, berry, pcs, sherhino, yuru, etc bought e sambucol thru her.

a mummy went down 2 vitakids n told me tat all sambucol at all outlets sold out. not sure when stock arriving.

pawprint- I think this holiday dont have the usual long list of meet-n-greets leh, I only read abt some Dora thingy at forum, not sure when tho.
Spree- hmmmm, depends on wat you want? Sambucol is a very tried-n-tested brand for immune system support, I am also gonna get a Echinacea/Astragalus supplement from Herbs for kids (of course not given at the same time w sambucol). Astragulus is a chinese herb called 'huang qi', a v effective immune system booster (I used to take it myself when I'm sick, almost always works). Thinking of giving this at a seperate time when I feel her health needs a special boost, like maybe start of sch or before an overseas trip etc. http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?c=1&pid=6424&at=0

Berry,
thx so I think will be relatively safe for me to buy Sambucol and Echinacea/ Astragalus, cos the only thing she's taking at the moment is that expensive Codliver forgot-called-wat-from-that-forum-shop.

826367.jpg
826368.jpg
826369.jpg

Collected Ahboy's 1st-year album (the one taken throughout his 1st yr at 2mth intervals).
826370.jpg
826371.jpg

Compared with Ahgirl's same album package.
Ahgirl can still wear that blue dress (the flower on head and butterfly wings pic) and white dress (last pic) leh.

Girl Drowned- anyone saw the new on today's ST? About the 6 yr old girl who drowned? Its so utterly heartbreaking, I cannot begin to imagine her parents' pain. I cant help feeling so puzzled tho, why in the world didnt anyone in/near the pool notice her struggling when it happened?

SAMBUCOL
i went to VIVO branch last week *to check prices* :p and theres still stocks, now all CLEAN??? wahahahahahaha!!!! i realized that the difference is alot for the kids fomular but the adults fomular is about the same....

pawprint
from ur ah gal and ah boy photos...... i really think gals have more choice in terms of styling and clothong.....
tats why whenever i went shopping for quinn, i will ended up looking at those gals clothings, especially those very tiny ones for newborn.... soooo.... irresistable!!

berry
yap, so sad yah.... ever since i have quinn and read such news, my heart feel so pain and feel the pinch instantly.

SUPPLEMENTS for the family
me now trying to list down what is my main concern and act accordingly. due to all those stress and everything i think supplement is a must now.

QUINN:
1) nordic CLO
2) multi-vit. (not everyday)
3) millennium (not everyday)

MUMMY:
1) jarrows fomular fish oil
2) sambucol *just started after a long halt*
3) royal jelly *not wat i really wanted, just that mum got it for me but its been in my fridge since dun know when* :p

DADDY:
NIL !!!!!! :p:p:p

so now i think i will intro sambucol to quinn since it works well for me and i will intro calcium pill into my list. and guess hubby will need some too....i guess vit B range will be good for him and also vit. C since he has BAD BAD gum problem! and also trying to search for massage techniques *tuina* for toddler sonce quinn loves to be massage by me now.

pawprint
athena's pixs seem more drama than irvin's pixs hor? but some of irvin's pixs look very much like athena.

holiday program - i am interested to know more too! i know pokemon at united square and winnie the pooh somewhere in Seng Kang or Punggol.

Pawprint,
Very nice pics of Irvin! Athena's pics seems to have more props?
Aiyah, the white dress was long for Athena at 11 mths, so it's ok that she can still wear it. Meghan also has 2 dresses that she wore for her 1st birthday that she can still wear cos 1 got adjustable straps and the other got hemming to unpick. I find it looser now cos she's not chubby anymore

pawprint
wow time passes fast, Irvin such a big boy alry and gog to be 1 yr soon. I find he and Tena look quite alike.

#1 versu #2
for me I find Jeralyn getting more responisve as compare to Nicole at tis time. But Jeralyn have very low appetite and not taking solid food. she still drink 120ml 3 hourly and till now she refused to take any cereal.

littleprince
winnie the pooh is at Parkway Parade, keke cos i work ard here and see them perform almost eveyrday during lunch time

lil devil,
whenever i go shopping 4 my boys' clothing, i'm always looking at buying clothes 4 gabe's GFs. i agree wif u...sooooo irresistable.

here's my list of supplements:
GABE:
1) nordic CLO 1teaspoon
2) kiddi pharmaton multi-vit. (not everyday, only when he's not eating well.)
3) sambucol 5ml everyday

EDWARD:
1) sambucol 2.5ml everyday

MUMMY:
1) scott emulsion CLO (gabe not eating so i eat lor but i dun take everyday lah)
2) multi vit (fr nature farm)
3) calcium (not everyday)

DADDY:
NIL too !!!!!!

for everyone's info,

a 4oz bottle of SAMBUCOL lasted my boys 15days exactly. i started on 22may n finished 2day. each day gabe n edward consumed 7.5ml. by right, shld last 16days but edward vomitted one feed so i fed him 2ml again. considering a lil spillage whenever i use e syringes so 4oz lasted 15days.

bcos it's recommended tat one takes sambucol for 6-8wks b4 taking a 2wks break, any1 intending 2 try it 4 their kids (esp those wif >2), pls buy min 3bottles.

of course if u only hv 1kid, then 1 bottle can last u longer.

Hi, I know nuts about supplements and would like to find out more on Sambucol. I read that it can shorten the duration and lessen the symptoms of the flu. Jean often has runny nose but it's because she has sensitive nose and it's not exactly flu. The doc prescribed Zyrtec to be taken everyday, even when there's no runny nose. Is that ok or Sambucol is a better alternative? Thanks in advance!

lil devil/Kelly, did you guys calculate the total amt of Vit A and D the kids will get from both CLO and multi vit (of course granted not 100% will be absorbed, but no one will know how much is absorbed)? From what I know, these are both fat-soluble vitamins, the body will not pass out excess amounts, in some cases of over-dosage, the excess will be retained in the body.

Yuru, Sambucol is quite safe to be taken with most drugs, its a herbal supplement, not a medication. BTW, I thought yest u told me u found the multigrain (not wholegrain, I havent seen any wholegrain ones yet)ramen liao?

Jen, zyrtec is a drug, I'm personally not comfortable with giving medication 'just-in-case', so yeah, if its *me* I will try out a herbal supplement or even homeopathic meds(they can be surprisingly quite effective even tho alot of ppl believe its the placebo effect. But then even if dont work also no harm right?).

Jen, Sambucol is a supplement for strengthening the immune system in general, it consists mainly of black elderberry and echinecea. I dont think it targets specifically(even tho strengthing the immune system of course does mean that the child is supposedly less susceptible to these problems?) colds/flus/runny noses, just that these are the few most common problems/illnesses children suffer from, so Sambucol is marketed that way. If you free, try googling for echinecea and elderberry, you'll find alot of info on what they do.

Am I the only one who never develop kid(s)'s pics to put in album ah? I've decided to try make a photobook... slogged through 25pgs/ A3 size, spanning Aug '04- Mar '05... I want to die liao. Still got Apr '05- June '07... *WAIL*.

U all know I snap a gadzillion pics... just shortlisting is overwhelming. *just whining*

*goes back to "work"*

<font color="aa00aa">pawprint,</font>
out of 100 pix i snap, think i nvr print 10 pix out. so if 1 day the PC is to crash / the CD is spoilt, there goes all of Shanice's and whatsoever pix taken!

<font color="0000ff">Sambucol</font>
tempted to buy & try but Shanice can't have "berry" of any sort (ordered by GP) and sambucol consists of elderberry... hmm... not sure if can try.

yuru
sambucol is not medicine so its okie
and for the DHA thingy, quinn will pop 3 into his mouth and BURST them and even come running to me and says "mummy, u see, all flattened becos baby burst them".

as for the sauce did u try MEIDI-YA?? they have wide selection.

kelly
wahahahahaha!!!! ur hubby also NIL!!!! i am seriously looking into things like that lately thats why i am planning what to give him.

berry
i did calculate the amount *me very creful with this, no joke ah* but still i need some very clear and detail infor. i did ask this question during my previous few post. u have any webbie that give very good and clear amount stated?

yuru / berry
i got my wholegrain ramen and udon in MEIDI-YA but they are always OOS, guess its popular so whenever i spot them, i will buy 2 each. they are not only wholegrain, they are organic too.

pawprint
u should be at ease if u see what i have in my lap top, all pix only arrange accordingly to months and i am still having alot of quinns baby pix in it, will take me years!!!!!

HORRIBLE
just sharing what i read today from readest digest. they are talking bout how children are affected *in terms of health* by simply just BREATHING the air around them. country listed are such like hongkong, china, taiwan..... all asia. causes children today suffer from respiration problem even when they are just a baby. and says that children who live in CHINA, the air they breath in aday is = 2 packet of cigrette smoking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *A DAY*

pawprint
i gave up developing for now coz i can't find time to put in album, yet the oldies want to see. but, photobook seems to take as much effort as a normal album leh, looking at the amount of work you are doing. hehe! anyway, i hope to clear rhyan's photos (the old batch) by this mth after my exam and develop lesser for new batch.

lil devil
where is Meidi-ya?

lilprince,
I simply can't narrow down, every pic brings a memory leh. So end up like this on each A3 page lor. I use photoshop for more flexibility in layout, but more effort than their easy-to-use software (theirs just drag and drop).

So far finish 33 pages! *groan abt the LOTS more to go*. But I do for MYSELF lah, most pics snapped by me so really brings back fond memories. I'm very sentimental, yah? LOL. I can't just open laptop and scroll thru cos too many files... store away in separate hard-disk. I can't just use their software templates cos I'd end up with a mountain of albums and huge $hole.
829408.jpg

Eh, lilprince, Angelia & lildevil, u all join me do photobook leh, then I wun be the only one whining... :p . GOT DISCOUNT, GOT DEADLINE, shld be motivation to JUST DO IT!

Oh and lilprince, ur R's 1st b'day pics are in my SHORTLIST folder... I just have to plough my way all the way to that month, hahaha! I'm still in May 2005. :p

Yuru

Photos
I developed and slot Isabel's photos into albums before I gave birth to Evan last year.

I have this question in mind. We tend to state down the photos were taken when they were XX months... don't know when I will stop this, when they turn 3? I meant it's easier to develop everything and put them into albums, like what my parents did :) also, I have to separate Isabel and Evan's photos, so that they have their very own albums.. very siong leh.

CSR,
err... I haven't developed any albums, but- I'm not putting age, at most indicate the month of the yr on each page (my memory terrible!). And no separate albums, too many duplicates... it's just 1 big family album. As it is, the Family Album is already so much work liao! Next time they want the pics, they can jolly pay me for it... the way a photo studio operates! :p

yuru
hee.... glad u found what u want. but i realized they have alot of things not listed, meaning they are having more than wat is listed in their webbie so if u want to buy the ramen and such, can go and take a look.

CSR
i think they are slightly more expensive but its pretty common among those supermarket, their prices varies too. so as for meidi-ya, i usually shop there for those items which i cant find in other places, like hokkaido pure yogurt, who;e grain organic ramen.........

pawprint
just thinking to do the photobook already kills me... though very tempted of cos..... when is the deadline?

lildevil,
mid-july, 20% off, check under overseas BP Photobook. In few mths' time will be THREE YEARS BACKLOG leh. Ur HB can settle this for u, no? Or u wait til u preggy again, in nesting mood b4 birth, hahaha. :p

pawprint
my best effort for now is only to make sure i archive and backup all of Rhyan's pixs every 6 mths (my break after exam), so far i hv done this faithfully coz my heart will break if my notebook die on me. and, i archive pixs and videos on taken date and time so i change each pix name manually.

i contemplated photobook before but i gave up the thought coz i feel it takes similar effort to organize photos in a book (just like album). i rather try simple scrapbooking (simple so that its cheaper :p) like my friend, 1 album for 1 year and about 2-3 pixs per month, seems to be lesser work like this!

i cannot do more than this lah, will only have a short 1 mth break after exam and i already got a long list of things i need to do before new semester starts again.

i would love to see your photobook though, when it is ready!
maybe then i will be motivated to do after i finish my degree end of this year. haha!

berry,
gabe dun take CLO n multi-vit tgt. in fact, he hasnt taken multi-vit 4 a long time.
thks 4 highlighting it 2 me abt e vitA in CLO n multi-vit. will take extra caution.

pawprint
attempted 2 collate photos 4 e photobook once n i died. couldnt even get past gabe's 1st 6mths n couldnt even agree wif husband which photos 2 go in. in e end, gave it up. never even printed any my boys' pics into any album. only printed some every 6mths 2 give 2 grandparents 2 put into their own photo albums/photo frames (my mum brings them 2 hainan island 2 show 2 her china relatives).

angelia, why shanice cant have berries or berry products? She is allergic to berries?

lil devil, omg they have wholegrain udon?? I thought sg sure cant find haha, thanks a million!

Vit A- I dont have any websites on hand, I'll do a search for you when I am free.

berry, thanks!

pawprint, I salute you... I din develop at all for album cos I can't even get through the 2nd year pics... 1st year already a ton... hmm... and my dad's laptop crashed... lost all her last months' pics...

<font color="aa00aa">littleprince,</font>
^5! i'm oso only trying to make effort to back up every now & then. will try to be more regular now cos my PC nearly crashed on me 1-2 wks ago! will be getting a HDD once hubby has time to go Sim Lim.

<font color="aa00aa">berry,</font>
Shanice has sensitive/bad airways so GP said no berries, beans, nuts, ikan bilis, choco, eggs, etc, etc, etc.. so for 2 yrs, she's surviving on broccoli, carrot, tomato & pork only most of the time. i guess the stuff GP restricts her to are richer in protein? and will trigger her wheezing.

we tried giving eggs b4, n indeed, got her coughing away & wheezing. dunno is it coincidental, but don't wish to try agian

*throw in the white flag*
okaay... it's suicidal attempting to compile at one go the whole stretch of pics from Aug 2004 til Jun 2007.

I've made it to 39pgs, finished May 2004... will try and struggle to Sept 2004! Then send for print, TAKE A BREAK. The 2nd book, if/ when I get round to it, can open with Athena's 1st bday pics in Oct 2004. Less daunting to tackle in about 6-mth segments, rather than wade through nearly 3yrs' worth of pics at one go!

*me go to bed liao. last nite din sleep lor!*

angelia, I know eggs are a nono... but I read somewhere that basically pork is not v good for the body? why not try tofu to substitute for protein once in a while? if u on msn, msg me ok?

pawprint, 39 pages!!! wah... you are really good!!! but I agree with CSR, great idea to charge them if they want the pics in future... hahaha...

berry, thanks... I'm going to order the Sambucol...

kel, thanks for the link and advice...

CSR,
haha u're right! I lost in time warp liao. *phew* lucky never add in the YEAR in the pics or else must redo!

ehyeh the photobook BP now has "shorter" deadline... after June 15th there'd b "adjustmt" of prices, sheesh. The basic is 40pgs... additional pgs rate seems more expensive leh, think I'd just stop short at page 40, hmm.

<u>Handphone Covers</u>
I just went to a roadshow selling HP covers for $1.60 each... hard plastic transparent crystal case... anyone interested? I just bought for my Nokia... not sure what models are there but if interested, pls let me know asap...

Jen, mid-July deadline if for 20% disct, but there'd be an "adjustmt" of listed prices after mid-June. Some items cheaper but I'm eyeing A3... which will apparently be more expensive with "adjustmt".

CSR,
just post on the thread asking Ozzie the organiser to email u the BP code, give her ur email addy to submit to the company.

I finish Aug 2004-June 2005, 44pgs/ A3 size liao!

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
she can't take too much protein & u ask me to sub tofu for protein? tofu made from soya bean, beans are OUT. i don't even dare to give her soya sauce, k.

seldom give chicken cos she seems always to be coughing, so can only give pork cos can't take beef at home.

<font color="aa00aa">berry,</font>
actually i trust this GP much more than PD. a lot of his patients are kids. he even mentioned he gave lectures to PD

Trying some self-consolatory Math...
40 pgs + 4 additional pgs/ A3 size/ hardcover binding/ after 20 disct/ incl. courier charges = MYR$244.

Works out to MYR$5.50 per A3 page VERSUS ~ 6-8 4R photos laid out the *traditional manual method*, provided u dun incur enlargement costs, not counting cost of buying an album to put the 4Rs in.

Err... how much does 4R digital photo devt cost ah?