(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

kelly,
i asked my confinement lady abt pressing the area below the baby's anus to make her pass motion & she was horrified. she said if we were to do that everyday, the bb wld come to a point when she/he cant pass motion w/out us pressing the area.

i think i hv to agree with what she said. i'd rather suffer restless sleep than to take the risk.

Berry,
i will BF my gal b4 i go to sleep. usually around 9 to 11 pm. then by 7am, my breasts will start leaking & i'll pump the milk. im so happy 2day cos' i managed to pumpl 125ml of milk, an increment of 25ml fm yesterday.

Blisse,
dont be sad. going thru' c-sect doesnt make u less a mother. in fact, u r very brave to hv gone under the knife. its natural to feel depressed during pregnancy & after birth, no thanks to the flutuation of our hormones.

Hi gals gdmng

mngo
Ya I am going to MAH and already booked the hospital about 3-4 weeks back.I did not get any confirmation letter from MAH but According to my gynae it is booked so I think shld be alright.
MAy be you can check with your gynae possibily he advice you to signup directly with hospital as you can claim from medisave.
In my case medisave is not applicable so it did not create any diff whether I am signing through gynae or directly with hospital...

Angelia
How are you doing today? This saturday when I went to see Dr. Adrian and he was rushing for a delivery, I just hoped it could be you but dont worry bb will be out very soon. BTW sometimes I think why cant both of our bbs get inspire by each other i.e. ur bb shld get engae as your cervix started dilating and my dilation shld start as my bb is engage

anyway, how does it feel like in terms of body signals that cervix starts dilating? I mean how do we know that dilation has been started before our gynae/midwife can tell us?

skyblue,
me too... i wld hv little brown discharge one day & then the next morning, i'll hv fresh red discharge. my gynae told me that it may take up to 8 weeks for the flow to stop.

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ wk 04-Oct
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD .. . Week.. . Where

bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 41 . MAH / G
ww ............. 29/09/04 wk 41 . KKH / ?
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 40 . TMC / G
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 39 . MAH / G
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 39 . GEH / B
are ............ 12/10/04 wk 39 . MEH / G
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 38 . ESH / G
casros ......... 20/10/04 wk 38 . ??? / ?
august ......... 21/10/04 wk 38 . MAH / B
dee ............ 22/10/04 wk 37 . GEH / ?
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 37 . GEH / B
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 37 . ??? / ?
bride0712 ...... 28/10/04 wk 37 . MAH / G
mel7728 ........ 02/11/04 wk 36 . TMC / B
AC ............. 06/11/04 wk 36 . GEH / B
cosmo .......... 08/11/04 wk 36 . USA / B
kelly .......... 09/11/04 wk 35 . MAH / B
kelly (mona) ... 09/11/04 wk 35 . KKH / ?
cxope .......... 12/11/04 wk 34 . ??? / ?
yuru ........... 13/11/04 wk 34 . GEH / G
cirtusfruits ... 16/11/04 wk 34 . ??? / ?
sharon ......... 17/11/04 wk 34 . MAH / G
young jes ...... 18/11/04 wk 34 . MAH / G
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 34 . MAH / B
kikojoy ........ 20/11/04 wk 34 . GEH / ?
peg peg ........ 22/11/04 wk 33 . MAH / G
melbb .......... 26/11/04 wk 33 . ??? / ?
puff ........... 27/11/04 wk 33 . ESH / G
deer ........... 29/11/04 wk 33 . ??? / ?
chihiro ........ 02/12/04 wk 32 . TMC / G
leo29 .......... 02/12/04 wk 32 . MEH / G
TBL ............ 02/12/04 wk 32 .. RH / G
rochelle ....... 02/12/04 wk 32 .. RH / B
chihuahua ...... 02/12/04 wk 32 .. RH / ?
wooof .......... 03/12/04 wk 32 . ??? / G
seahorse ....... 04/12/04 wk 32 . MEH / G
crumpy ......... 07/12/04 wk 31 . MEH / ?
plong .......... 08/12/04 wk 31 . KKH / B
kypf ........... 08/12/04 wk 31 . GEH / B
emma ........... 09/12/04 wk 31 . ??? / G
jen ............ 09/12/04 wk 31 . TMC / G
fruitcake ...... 10/12/04 wk 31 . NUH / B
chantelle ...... 12/12/04 wk 31 . KKH / G
guess .......... 12/12/04 wk 31 . MEH / ?
mngo ........... 12/12/04 wk 31 . MAH / B
stephie ........ 14/12/04 wk 30 . TMC / B
wendypooh ...... 15/12/04 wk 30 . KKH / G
beanie ......... 17/12/04 wk 30 . TMC / G
casros ......... 20/12/04 wk 29 . TMC / G
melody ......... 20/12/04 wk 29 . ??? / ?
oranges ........ 22/12/04 wk 29 . TMC / B
jov ............ 05/01/05 wk 27 . ??? / ?
TSH ............ 05/01/05 wk 27 . MSA / ?

<font color="119911">**** POP ***** POP ***** POP ***** POP ***** POP ***** POP ***** POP ****</font><font color="ff0000">
.. .. .. .. .. . .. EDD . . Where . .. Pop
jer ............ 04/09/04 . MAH / B . 24/08/04 3.170 kg Kiern
radiohead ...... 22/08/04 . ESH / G . 25/08/04 3.570 kg Sarah-Lynn
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 . MAH / B . 31/08/04 ________ ________
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 . TMC / B . 14/09/04 3.620 kg Ryan
vaingirl ....... 20/09/04 . GEH / G . 18/09/04 3.240 kg Keira
berry .......... 22/09/04 . TMC / G . 23/09/04 3.670 kg Faye
littleprince ... 20/09/04 . ESH / B . 24/09/04 3.210 kg Rhyan
little_devil ... 21/09/04 . MAH / B . 24/09/04 3.050 kg Quinn
SLK ............ 08/10/04 . GEH / B . 27/09/04 3.430 kg Lucas
pets ........... 03/10/04 . TMC / G . 28/09/04 3.210 kg ________
blisse ......... 11/10/04 . GEH / G . 28/09/04 3.195 kg ________
sraikh ......... 17/10/04 . GEH / B . 03/10/04 3.200 kg ________

</font><font color="119911">**** MISSING ***** MISSING ***** MISSING ***** MISSING ***** MISSING ****</font><font color="ff0000">
aurora ......... 08/09/04 . ??? / ??
peipei ......... 20/09/04 . TMC / G .
mom ............ 20/09/04 . MAH / B .
</font><font color="119911">*************************************************************************</font>
<font color="ff6000">
* GEH - GlenE, MAH - Mt A; MEH - Mt E; ESH - East Shore; RH - Raffles; MSA - Malaysia
* let me know if I got any info wrong or if there are any updates</font></font></font>

Good morning

Got the pt cleaner to come over yesterday. Very happy that I didn't have to sweep &amp; mop the floor but quite a pity to be stuck at home on a sunday for 4hrs. Oh well... u win some u lose some :p

wah... she can actually clean up to 3 homes a day. Back-breaking work man.

congratulations to <font color="ff6000">Pets, Blisse, Sun</font> on the arrival of your little ones

<font color="ff6000">blisse</font>
you are a brave mom.. dun tink too much ya

juz concentrate on getting better

welcome back <font color="ff6000">berry, little_devil, littleprince</font>!!

Gd morning gals!!

Sun,
congrats!!

blisse,
welcome back. i remembered my sis was crying for the 1st whole wk after her delivery. think it's quite normal to have these mood swing. do talk to yr hubby &amp; log in to this thread if u have time. dun think too much ya!

mngo,
during my last check up @ wk29, bb not head down yet lei. this thursday going to see gynae, hope bb head down liao. btw this few days bb movement is really strong, sometime can feel the pain when bb moves...

beanie,
me oso cried when watching bicentinial man last nite. in fact i cried 2x yesterday. 1st was in the afternoon while bb was kicking so hard that i feel very uncomfortable &amp; asked bb to stop kicking. when she finally did, i felf that i'm such a bad mum to just bb stop moving just b'coz of the lilttle pain.... felt so lousy &amp; guilty then i just cried...

<font color="0000ff">disposable panties</font>
i went to Kiddy's palace yesterday
i realised that they also sell those cotton disposable panties, like doux which littleprice/little_devil has mentioned before, @ 4.50 each
its another pl u can find these type of cotton disposable besides JL..

<font color="0000ff">gals,</font>
am here to report!!

still feeling very good (meaning no labour signs yet... sianz..) however, yesterday atd 3+pm, quite a lump of mucous came out, ard 6+pm, another lump... then a few small small lumps... so much mucous, but i wonder if the <font color="0000ff">plug</font> is out? however, am not bleeding or whatsoever.. hiaz..

<font color="aa00aa">sun,</font>
ConGratS!!!

<font color="aa00aa">august,</font>
ya.. but then, from what gynae mentioned, think my case slightly better.. hahha..

he mentioned "in medical terms", doesn't matter if bb is engaged or not cos bb will definitely be engaged when coming out.. then, cervic dilated = ready to give birth anytime.. so...

BUT, why isn't my gal coming out yet!!!!

as for body signs, i oso dunno cos i dun feel any diff.. except maybe there were times when i feel lower part so painful like something coming out.

<font color="ff6000">tbl</font>
dun worry too much
if i rem correctly, cubbiebb's bb turned ard wk33

you're welcome puff

tbl, your bb's kick starting to hurt already? mine is getting more pronounced but not to extend of hurting me yet. wah piang... just hope my bb won't do what i used to do to my mom. Mom used to call me the bone cracker
I was like a sumo wrestler inside... hehe...

angelia, better put your bag in a convenient place leow :p wah... kan cheong for u... today is your edd huh.

eh... remember to sms me after u deliver hor

<font color="aa00aa">beanie,</font>
my bag alr in very accessible corner since last wk

okie, okie, alr pass the numbers of those to inform to hubby last Friday alr.. kekekeke..

<font color="aa00aa">gals,</font>
thanks.. really hope my labour sign(s) will start SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOON...

now going to buy breakfast/lunch.. hahhaa...

log on later, prob late afternoon...

<font color="0000ff">note: hopefully by then i rushing to hospital for delivery.. kekekek..</font>

beanie,
ya, bb movement really strong nowadays. seems like she is swimming inside lei, can see my tummy moves whenever she moves. it's really painful lor. but i think i'll not ask bb to stop liao lah, felt really lousy after doing that!

MTx3,
u must be very excited oso ya since alr in wk38! any sign of labour yet?

are &amp; yingzi,
how are u now? seldom see u gals log into this thread lei. how to hear yr good news soon.

angelia,
ur bb shld come out real soon from what u described. if u dun wish to do c-section, discuss wif yr gynae to delay few more days lor, since ur mucus plug alr came out. btw wish u a smooth delivery!

sharon,
ya, hubby oso told me to enjoy. btw I can see he really enjoy seeing my tummy moves lah, keep smiling when seeing bb moves.

TBL,
Dont worry if ur bb's head is still not down, in my case it happened @week 33-34

Angelia
All the best, hope you will login to share ur birth story

TBL,
yeah baby movement rather strong huh? Mine too... especially since she's head down (but not engaged yet)... when she does HEAD-BANGING and punching movements- OUCH! And she has her spine following the outer curve of my belly, so all her gongfu kicks are directed at my internal organs, even worse. Makes me groan.

No signs of labour... gynae said I'm not likely to zun-zun due date, she suspect I'm the kind who will overdue dunno how long (I myself overstayed in my mum's womb for 2 whole weeks before she gave up and induced labour). Not engaged, no braxton kicks, nothing at all. Despite drinking gallons of raspberry tea from 30/32 wks onwards, walking up 10 storeys stairs every other day (was hoping physical exertion will trigger... gynae says where got so easy) and even sex (again gynae says useless if my cervix not ripe).

I'm now just resigned to being induced labour due date or few days after due date (cos not advisable for baby to overstay too long... she's quite big-sized it seems).

Yeah where's Are?

angelia,
hope u pop soon...have a smooth &amp; fast delivery.

vaingirl,
thks for the info. i tik diff CL have diff practices. my GF seem to swear by her CL's practices so i wont mention anything to her. i tik i also wont try cos my husband'll feel heart ache if i press his son's anus too much everyday.

hello everyone........ today Quinn is already 11 days old
looking at him when hes sleeping is really enjoyable, especially they will smile and giggle in their sleep.... cute......

and tis friday i will start my massage (cant wait liao) i wan to quick quick lose weight but lately my appetite went down, no reason leh...... the first few days after delivery, i still eat like no body business, the hospital food is pretty nice, but lately dun really feel hungry. i rem before i went into the delivery suit and the nurse took my weight its ard 61.7kg, after delivery 4 kg gone and today i weigh, 52kg, my pre preg weight is 43.5 kg, tat means i still need to work on the 8.5 kg..... hope the massage will do wonders since i didnt do anything ever since i deliver bb..... all those slimming mud and cream tat i bought and intend to use after i deliver are still siting on the shelf...

Wow lil devil it consider quite fast to lose abt 9.5 kg without any additional efforts.. I wish I will also able to shred off my wt like you

How is Quinn doing? Can you post us what all did you get from hospital for urself and bb as my packing for hospital bag is more or less final so just wanted to reconfirm if I need anything else
no hurry whenever its convenient for you...

mngo.
herbal soup ah, not really wo........

August,
i tot tats consider slow liao.... some of my fren is like losing weight real fast....... yah, i want my hubby to scan the bill and then i post it as its faster and also clearer. in fact, las time mt a use to give alot of things for bb eg like receiving blanket and toiletries and formular sample, but now no more!!!!! wat i see is the tub, pampers, cleansing pad for the cord, and some ....dun rem liao, to me its not attractive at all....... jus rem to bring pad for ur own as u will need more....... they provide toothpaste and brush and some shampoo thingy...... and a pac of pad also, other than tat i dun rem much....... but seriously i brought alot of things and end up not using. but its ok, jus bring lo....at least if u need, u hav them with u.

woops... pai seh sharon... missed out your email address :p Gonna send it to u later today. Company firewall prevents us from sending yahoo mails till after office hrs

yar... that was my place. Good $$ hor, but really tough work.

little devil, did u get the mail? It seems that your email address bounced leh.

sigh... so frustrating... can't even add email address to yahoo. Darn politics in the office... screwed up all the IT stuff here.

Wendy, I did send to u leh. hmm... will try again later today. Think my yahoo email got messed up with all that firewall.

sharon,
me ah, i rem i am doing shopping and realy energetic most of the time jus tat about 3 - 4 days b 4 i pop, i feel really different, like soooo tired....... tats y i know i am going into labour soon....... but after Quinn arrived, een on the day itself, i feel pretty energetic liao... even my gynae says tat when he visited me, and even the lady who clean the rubbish bin in my room says the same thing as she tot i already stay in hospital for many days liao, tats y energetic.... ha!!!!!

August
Went to see gynae this morning. He said the bb's head still pretty high and I told him I thought she's engaged already since I always feel pressure down there. Then he said maybe she's just a little high today. (???????!!!) Anyway, I had been feeling some contractions abt an hr ago and can hardly walk, rang gynae up and he told me to monitor the situation. Will keep you posted again!

Casros
Sounds like its your turn now
wow all of you are popping one by one.... take care and keep on updating.. BTW what does your gynae mean by "bb's head still pretty high" ?

I am also feeling menses like cramps as well as lower backache but cramps are not so intense and rare so cant be contaraction...

August,
oh, u bb head down on wk33~34. thks, at least feel more relief.

MTx3,
wow... u really try to 'self-induce' har!!
and u still have the energy to walk up 10 storeys stairs! oh my god, dun think i'll have the energy when i reach wk38! dun worry, 2 more wks b4 EDD, may be bb decides to wait till near edd lei!

August,u may buy those pitted ones(more convenient).I almost forgot u can add black dates with red dates.The drink will be sweeter.Yup,it's true to drink while it's hot.But you may pour some into your mug and heat up a little using microwave oven.

As for the herbal bath,although the pack mentions that you may boil 2 packs together.But what I observe my MIL does,she boils a packet with some water then gradually add water to boil,not making it too dilute.

dear mummies,
i have some items for sale. should u b interested, pls email me at [email protected]

brand new condition:
1) medela double electric breastpump
2) my 'brestfriend' breastfeeding pillow

brand new:
1) 3 pkts of pet pet s size diaper
2) 1 pkt of 20 medela storage bag n 1 pkt of 10 avent clip

TBL,
haha, drag my 70+kg up 10 storeys very tiring... takes 4-5mins and then I'm panting very hard after that. So you can imagine how displeased I am when hubby initially refused to "cooperate" for his part of my "natural" induction scheme. Hahaha!

In the end he complained to my gynae- said I was stressing him out. Then gynae told me if unripe cervix, that "natural" method also no use... oops.

LIL_DEVIL,
wow, your weight loss very fast. Gd that appetite decreased! I read that for SOME bfg mums, appetite will increase... like having pregnancy food cravings. I'm hoping I don't get that, or else really gone case.
Not to mention end of the year is all the weddings/ X'mas celebrations etc... will be tough for me

whoa... casros... you're still 2 weeks from your edd but you having contractions already?

hmmm... don't get too excited first though. Berry had a few false contractions before the real one hit her. According to Berry, the false ones feels really painful too. Only diff is that it's not regular.

Oh yar... now that sharon's mentioned it, where are u delivering &amp; do u know the gender of your bb yet?

The false contractions are known as braxton hicks contractions (BHC). According to my gynae, those who have these practice contractions are more likely to go into labour more easily. It's the body's way of preparing the body. The more frequent, the closer the countdown days.
However, not the case for Berry, so really it's dependent on individual, there's always an exception to the general rule.

In my case, no BHC... gynae said... hmmm, I don't seem anywhere near labour.

Real contractions are supposed to be regular cycles within an hour... again some exceptions- some people don't get regular contractions but go into labour. If in doubt always check with your gynae.

August,
no lah, I take precaution... if giddy or anything must stop.
Must be very careful! I got the idea from my gf- she had to climb 4 storeys daily for work, and she said it always triggered her BHCs... so I tried but despite increasing to 10 storeys, still no BHC effect on me. Different people different threshold... :/ They always say physical activity helps labour... but hor, look at Wong Lilin- she was so healthy/ active pre-pregnancy and right through pregnancy she seems to have maintained some form of activity... in the end also 17hrs labour? Sigh.

Same with the raspberry leaf tea (supposed to strengthen uterine muscles for labour and reduce likelihood of overdue delivery)... Berry and my gf both tried it and felt some mild "effects", but I drank so much more and so much earlier than them- no effect on me at all.

Kelly,
the nurse helped me to shave evrything off the lower part.
After giving birth, there was no milk or colostrum at all till my ard 5th day. the supply is still very low. I only manage to able bf at the most twice a day.

Sharon,
i had csection as my gynae recommend me as the position of my baby is not very good for natural birth. So hubby say if try natural n cannot must go csection in the end,it will be really a double "nightmare" for me to experience both at the same time. so in the end we opt for csection.

Adeline,
do u have alot of discharge after u give birth? i didnt have much at all. only abit stain, is it normal for that who had went thr csection?

August,
thks. Now taking care of my baby with my hubby is really not an easy task. Esp at night as i cant wake up at all n most of the time is hubby woke up to feed.

mngo,
thks. But one of my fren say she didnt feel much pain lei.

Beanie,
the first few days is really tough. But if u have confinement lady to help u, it wont be tough as u can leave it to her. But becos my confinement is done by my mil, i cant expect her to help us to take care of baby at night. so things r really tough, n hubby most of the time spent on feeding baby so that i can rest. Although this is his way of loving me, i feel so insecure n been crying also. Told him i missed the days when i was pregnant n the full attention n love, n everything done properly for me. N me past few days also very stressed over milk supply, partly is becos at hospital, the lactation nurse keep on ask me to let baby to latch on till i was stressed, n tot that immediately after give birth must have milk. but then slowly i asked ard, it only comes in a few days or weeks. So dont like me, stressed myself too much in hospital. Every 9 woke up n cried at hospital, n tot myself not normal when i didnt have milk. Now with all the uspport of the gers in this forum, i m getting so much better

vaingirl,
thks alot! i m getting better now, just that still cant cope with getting up at night esp when i have the pain which makes my movement much slower. How can we increase milk supply? i find being a mother to take care of baby is really tough. Told my hubby that how i wish i can have a confinement lady to help during the first mth as i see my fren, her first mth not so stressed n she can rest well. Hubby has been good to me, tell me he will take care while i rest lor. but then i find very xinku, wonder how m i gg to take it?

Chihiro,
thks. i think all mums r great!

TBL,
yar i agreed. donno y become so emotional.

angelia,
dont worry! ur baby will be out to this world soon. But when she is out, u will missed the dayus wherever u go, eat or do, she is always with you. Just like last 9 told hubby i missed those pregnant days where she was inside me. Wish u have a smooth delivery n do update us.

little_devil,
yar my princess today is 6day old. yar i also see her sometimes smile in her sleep, or do some funny little gestures as well. Its really amazing. But i still feel very apinful at my wound. do u have this problem? getting up from bed etc? it seems u r fine n doing very well.
Btw, today i went to see my gynae and he did mention not to have massage as the wound might not be completely healed after 1mth plus. He say he scared that the massgae might affect our womb n cause internal bleeding, so highly not recommended lei for those went thr csection. Today i weigh, i am ard 50.5kg. Before give birth at hospital, i weighed 56.5kg, so means that i only lost 6kg. Before pregnancy, i am ard 42.6kg one. so i also have ard 8kg mopre to lose. then gynae also advise cannot do exercise for 3-6mths lei. so i also donno how i am ggto shred lei.
i really peifu u. i was very drowsy n when SLK visited me in the morning, i was like half awake. Btw, SLK baby boy is really cute! look like her hubby.

Speaking from personal experience, contractions are really not accurate for predicting labour, and BHC is DEFINITELY not accurate for how short/easy your labour is. :p I think I have alot more BHC than any of my preggie friends, but my labour turned out to be the longest and REAL tough, with complications to boot. :p

Anyway, regular contractions might not necessary mean anything, cause i had regular contractions few min apart for more than an entire day, and it sure didnt mean anything in my case. And MT is right, nurses told me that not everyone have regular contractions before they go into labour.

So best thing is KS abit, if in doubt- bug your gynae lah. He/ She will probably say go for gynae checkup :p

Then again, my gf was telling me that her pregnant aunt went to see gynae- was told she was not going to deliver in next 24hrs... ended up, 1 hr after leaving gynae, the aunt ended up in hospital for labour and baby did pop out before 24hrs leh. Hahaha.

Then that gf herself also... went to see gynae was told baby was only engaging hence causing some bruising/ bleeding, NOT going into labour, wah... within 24hrs baby popped out liao.

Berry, you coping ok? I can't lend a helping hand haha. :p

but i heard that its better not to decrease appetite at all during the confinement. We shld eat more to build up our system. The second mth then we can reduce our food intake. So try to eat more tonic. Heard its more impt during confinement than during pregnancy to take tonics.

<font color="0000ff">me still here
gynae appt at 7pm, hiaz... think i can predict what he's gonna say to me - induce tmr!!! but i think i'll try to get him to let me wait till Fri.....</font>

<font color="0000ff">mucous plug</font>
erm.. how does it look like? i see chunks of mucous (brownish), but dun think it's mucous plug... it's more than 24 hrs since the 1st chunk of mucous came off and i'm still in good shape. hiaz... think bb too comfy in there...

today still hv a bit of mucous but it's not brownish and it's only a bit, more like "discharge" but it din stain pantyliner, only when wipe after urinating, will see on toilet paper... sorry for the gross description

maybe i should try climbing 10-storey later... since my cervix alr opened 2~3cm.

<font color="0000ff">herbal bath</font>
the medical hall lady oso told my mum can boil the herbs a couple of times, to fill 3/4 of a pail. 1st few rounds can pre-boil.. let it cool oso nvm. then the last round, boil when u'r ready to bathe, then add into the pre-boiled, and it'll be warm for bathing