(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

mom2nat,
popping my head in & out only lah...

Has been MIA for a while, that's because I am going around the world
New assignment, so >60% travelling now. I will try to organise a BBQ sometime in November, when I will clear my leaves...yeah!

PVL, TLL,
Yep.. definitely possible to surf net when u have 3 kids. Did i share wif u guys this?? I was surfing the net the other night trying to figure out a good wok to buy. (My old Tefal pan has become sticky after 5 yrs use). My UMPC (ultra mobile i.e. small laptop) almost fell off my lap bcos i was dozing off......
Sometimes i feel we mothers really asking for trouble. So many things to juggle oredi and still thinking of baking, sewing, doing crafts with the kids. My mum was like, "Are u mad??" Mad rush to cook and still make funny faces on root veges, pooh bear omeletes. So i always tell my mum, "I am too free, till i am shaking my legs" And did i mention i love to starch hubby's shirts??? Hee, hee....

koala,
So what is your eventual plan when chen chen enters pri 1??? All the kids to stay wif your parents until they finish pri school??? Is there enuf personal space for them? I was telling hubby that we need to clear up the room and put a proper study table for ashley when she enters pri 1. Now she does her homework on the dining table.

PVL,
Not only is it expensive to put the kids in all these classes. I also have a problem with time. For gym, as they are big enuf, several classes can run at the same time. But for ashley's ballet school, they only have 1 studio. So unless we can put up wif another timing. it's pretty hard to juggle 4 time slots in 2 weekends. Ashley has ballet n music on sat and gym (together with chloe on ground floor) on sunday. All of which she is not willing to give up. And chloe is pestering us when can she starts ballet.

A's dad,
i am always wondering how your wife manages to cope with u always flying around. Think i'll die flat if hubby travels like u.

So sorry, have not been active online. Busy adjusting to new job. So it's a cycle of work-kids-sleep everyday. No free access to net at work too.

Mommies and 1 daddy
Are your kids learning mandarin well? Nat still like potato leh, then went berries last time, but stopped cos lost interest. Nowadays teachers tell me she likes to talk in classes. Sigh... How ah? Headache leh. Need to improve mandarin but she dun concerntrate in class leh.

mom2nat,
i think its also impt to create a "mandarin" envt at home so as to help generate the kid's interest in the language. for us, we consciously turn on mandarin shows sometimes, and also make sure we oso speak to Edi in mandarin.

pigletz...
oh... was reading abt Gareth's teacher asking them to bring things to school. dats wat edi's school did. sometimes his teacher will purposely tell the kids to bring a certain item to school and not use circulars... purpose is to test whether they pay attention and will convey to their parents or not. :p

Hi mom2nat

I'm starting my son at Han in Oct. Everynite we will make sonny boy read some Chinese to us from a book. I also asked hubbie to speak solely in Mandarin to him. Both my kids used to resist Mandarin but once they pick up more vocab, it becomes easier to get them interested. My 3 year old gal loves Hua (which is like Berries). Got to start somewhere. Also have to show enthusiasm ourselves for the language (I potato but ended up learning all those Ch rhymes!).

My son is hyper and not focused type. We work with him half an hour everynite on piano or academic subjects. I feel that the discipline of these daily 1 to 1 sessions really helped.

Hope this helps. Also still plodding along lah...

bboomer71
My girl attended Berries for 1yr+ but lost interest after a while leh. Oso dunno wan to try same place again or HUa or Tien Hsia. Do you have any reviews on them?

soyabean
Very naturally we end up speaking english though i say gotta try speak mandarin leh. Cos my potatoes(including Elliot), no bother abt me when I speak to them in mandarin! hahahah... Prob gotta try harder lor.

My gal's nursery class at Hua is quite fun. They will sing and do art n craft and eat Honey Stars.
They also perform for parents (sing the songs they learnt) end of term. Her teacher is young and fr China. Maybe it dpds on the teacher...

Han is cheaper and less fun. More sit down type.

B2,
You are another super mum!
, just like Brenda..hahaha..speaking of her, din see her logging in, for quite a while.
I always try to arrange my trip and back on weekend, and to help my wife, we have our helper at home

Mom2nat,
Alicia prefers to speak English than mandarin. She has chinese classes, but in school, their friends converse in mandarin. My wife is trying to speak in mandarin with her at home (she is better than me), but she will go a few sentences and back to english.

Soya,
I will ask Alicia to turn on the chinese language when watching Playhouse Disney

Your kids ask for drawing class? Alicia is telling us she wants to learn drawing.

B2B3M4
Wat made u guess Png Png may be allergic to wheat? He is ok wif oats meal, Kellogg's® Rice Krispies, Cheerios
All this while, I din know dat formula milk r not cow's milk but chemicals!!! Chemicals!!! Chemicals!!! Gosh!!!
Boy! U make funny faces on root veges, pooh bear omeletes, starch hubby's shirts, baking, sewing, doing crafts with the kids. HOW DO U MANAGE TO DO THESE???? Wk end I m super busy. I only get to eat 1 meal ard 3+pm when the boys nap
When Chen Chen goes to P1, my plan is still wif my parents during wk day. Chen Chen will go to pr school in Tampines. Pasir Ris to Tampines is more convenient than Sengkang to Tampines. I haven't decide to let Chen Chen to go to after care or to my parents' plc after school. My headache comes when Png Png is still in Pr school and Chen Chen in sec school. I guess Chen Chen prefers own home when he reaches teenage.
Chen Chen has a study table at my parents' plc now but not at my own place. He does homework at dining table at my own place

Leng Leng
I dunno if Png Png is allergic to nuts. Dermatologist advise me not to give Png Png nuts and chicken until he is 3

Leng Leng, Priviledged
I kow tow to u gals wif 3 kids can still b active in forum.

Mom2nat
Read many gd comments on berries. I almost wanted to send Chen Chen to berries Chen Chen no prob speaking in Mandarin, he has ting xie every wk. But ... dunno whether he can't read or he doesn't wanna read Chinese char.
U try speaking to both your kids in Mandarin, ans them in Mandarin even they speak to u in Eng.
My SIL speaks to my boys in Eng, I speak to them in both lang (more in Eng). The rest of my family members speak to my boys in Mandarin. Chen Chen automatically speaks in the lang the addresser use

Alicia's daddy
Chen Chen doesn't like art subject. He is a very typical boy. He request me to send him to Abacus class. b4 his abacus class start, he asked my dad to teach him abacus. He told me he wanna learn classical and 3G abacus. When he goes to library he chooses books on space n national geographic kinda books

Alicia's daddy
Nat wants drawing class. but costly leh! So I din sign her up lor. But her sch's extra prog includes art. Alicia still at zoophonics?

Koala
Hee... I rem you speak to Chen chen in dialect too!!! I can't switch leh. I find automatically I will speak english. Esp when need to get things done quickly or scolding her! can't imagine I scold her in mandarin she give me tat blur look! hahaha...

A's daddy,
Ethan also asked for art class. I have just signed him up for it. super cheap. $50 12 lessons. thought art is art... never mind. let him go for exposure. It's not as if it's english. If its phonics or something like that, I will reconsider coz may affect him in sch subsequently. So, Ethan will be starting his art class this coming saturday. hurray! am looking forward to it as much as him... don't as me why. lol... just amazed that he is not taking as many classes as me during his age. Last time, I was taking music, art, ballet & swimming. ethan only taking phonics, english speech n drama & chinese speech n drama now. Don't ask me why so academic... all on my son's request.

Leng Leng
I hope Png Png outgrows food allergy prob soon. It will b tough when Png Png goes to childcare if he still hv allergy prob. Wonder if I hv go bring food for him or the centre will provide separate food for him. Worse when there is a b'dy celebration and he can't eat the cakes. He will feel left out

Mom2nat
Do u speak other lang at home?
My hubby wanna teach Chen Chen to speak Cantonese. He tune in to the M'sia station wif Cantonese songs when Chen Chen is in the car

Emily
Our kids are at the age where they like to learn new things and gain new knowledges. Chen Chen wants watever courses he learned abt except swimming and those enrichment classes he attended few terms in his childcare center. Guess he sick of these classes. As to why he doesn't wanna learn swimming, goodness knows.

Hello mums n dad!

How abt nex year? Wat enrichment classes if any hv u guys signed up for?

My older child will continue piano & swimming on the weekdays. On Sat, hv signed him up to join sis at Hua at Novena, same time slot, yeah! Sun morning, I booked him for Dharma (Buddhist) class in Chinese for kids (at the child care he's attending). Not confirmed if he gets a place though.

My gal going to N2 nex year has that Ch class, that's it.

Koala
Hahaha... your hb so innovative! We speak mandarin and hokkien at times, esp when we dun wan the kids to understand wat we are saying. My hb and I converse in english and mandarin leh.

bboomer
Next yr K2 liao... after tat I Pri 1.... Sometimes I dunno should be KS parent, send to many many enrichments so the kids dun lose out in Pri sch, or dun send, cos wan them to enjoy their childhood. Hard to strike a balance lor. I oso have this headache wan to send or dun wan or send to which ones.

So end up I think I will try to be SAHM for a while longer so I can play with my kids! They can go enrichments and so on... but prob I wan to play with them, sing and jump ard. hahaha....

Hi Mom2nat,

Like the px of the kids on the bike

I also dont know how i ended up signing up kids for all these classes. Once upon a time in the not too distant past, I was a laidback mum. Now i seem to be gravitating more towards the lots enrichment activities camp coz i have also joined dose mums n dads who swear dat their kids enjoy and are benefitting fr the classes. Totally disgusting. ;-P But I draw the line at Kumon hurhur -- think the everyday homework is really just too much! But i'm trying to cut cost though - going for CC classes if possible.

Are you a SAHM? I thot you were working. :-O You are right. Unscheduled free play is impt. And most of all, fun times with relaxed parents, hard to come by in highly-strung S'pore!

Mon2Nat,
love ur photos.

bboomer71,
U are working PT now? I saw u a few time but dint have the chance to call you. How is the dharma class? Any new? I'm not sure if I can still send Janelle for it. She is quite pack on Sunday and my hubby is going to kill me if I add on.

I admit I am a KS parents. I just wanna ensure the kids has a good foundation and not suffer in future but how far is the "foundation". Till now I'm still not too sure. As long as my kids do not complain n enjoy them. I will still send them.

Koala,
Like Chen Chen, Janelle wants to learn everything but there isnt much time on weekends to do everything she likes. I am deprive of home-cooked food. No time to do marketing on weekends and prepare meals. At least my kids get to have home-cooked dinner prepared by my MIL everyday.

Hi Hong,
I'm not sure how the Dharma class will pan out. It starts nex year.

Hi Yee Ping,
Interesting. Where do you kids attend dharma class and any feedback pse?

Bboomer71
Alicia will continue electone and swimming, but thinking of getting her to join some chinese enrichment class. May start Adrian in swimming next year. I find that 2 of them already leanrt a lot in sch, so din think about other enrichment leh. How about Xin Suan? Is this still popular?

Mom2nat,
Who is the boi on the right?
Aiyo, the biking pic reminds me of "tian mi mi"

Hello Alicia's dad,
I dont think my son likes abacus. He is physically active and prefers sports. But i believe abacus is good in training focus and mental sums.

Bboomer71,
Do u think Dharma class will benefit in building a better character of a child? If so then I think Janelle needs it.

hello hong,
fyi, the dharma class is 10- 1pm on Sundays. (Veg lunch at 12.30 pm. I intend to skip the lunch, oops! coz he already so skinny n has been lunching veg all week hee hee!). It's $50 only, one-time payment for the whole year.

Some form of spiritual instruction is good rt, esp in this materialistic, competitive world ;P. But not sure how effective this class is going to be. I can let you know next year.
At least shud b good for exposure i think.

You know, it's hard as it is, juggling all these activities amid full-day cc!! Hv been able to cope coz swimming instruction is mostly at our condo, n the music school is just nex to our place and only 30 min each session. During dec period for instance when it rains and swimming lessons are postponed, and if we go for overseas holiday, the make-up lesson schedule is hard to cope with.

Hv to be practical lor and see your own situation. K1-2 seems a good period to try more activities coz less school work.

bboomer71,
Did u attend the PTM? Janelle has one issue and I have noticed it so I think it is better to correct her when she is young than to wait and assume she will change in future.

10 - 1pm. Crushes with her Sunday programmes.
3hrs of Dharma class! That is very long. I have to check another buddhist center. May go and try out Spore Buddhist association, althot it is still better to send back to Tai Pei as she is so use to the environment.

Just let him has the lunch with the peers, think abt it, just another veg meal. hahaha...
$50 for a yr is really cheap, do we have to enrol as the member?

Hi Hong,
Yes, I went for PTM. Teacher shared with me his strengths n weaknesses, nothing much that i dont already know though. Every child's character different, as long as they making progress, shud b ok. Like my boy is still blur and playful, but cheerful and more focused now. I need to work on his Chinese haha. Teacher said he speaks with foreign accent (but dont lots kids?). For me, i'm learning to accept that boys can be different. Just because I was sensible does not mean i hv to get mad when my boy is wild n crazy. As they say, hv to choose your battles!

No, dont have to enrol as member. I agree that too long! Will try to take him out at 12 pm. But hv to speak to the teacher first (not met yet). Also Sunday is often family lunch time. So we may skip lessons occasionally ;P.

bboomer71
I am a SAHM. Tried working part-time, but v hard to juggle. Next yr, I am cutting down on my girl's enrichments. My hb grumbling lor...

A's daddy
The boy is Nigel, pringles' #2.

I din know got dharma classes... heee.. Nat goes to Sunday sch!! Yippie!

bloomer n hong,

where is the dharma claases held? is this open to the public? ie even for children not attending the cc? for how old? i tot of letting my kids expose to buddhism studies also....thou my boy is in a church kindi now....hee

Hi Stressma,
Why dat name? You stressed out? ;P I used to be stressed out, but now that the kids getting older, must say i feel generally more self-assured hee hee! Think i'm not so great with babies. ;P

Hi Mom2nat,
Shake hands.
I tried part-time for a couple of months and have since stopped. For me it was a new field, and i don't think it suits me. Anyway, I never had the intention to work in 2011, when boy goes P1. Thinking that wud b nice and helpful to spend time wif him since school is half day (now he's in full time cc) and there would be all those school holidays...
Which area do you stay? Maybe we can meet up one of these days
Are your kids in cc or kindy?

Dharma class. Hong & I's kids are with Tai Pei child care at Lavender, hence it's a no-brainer to consider classes at this Buddhist centre on Sundays. But as your kid is not a student here, you could also explore Phor Kar See which has a bigger and more vibrant youth group. The classes at Tai Pei are conducted in Chinese only. ;P

Bboomer71,
I went to Hai Yin buddhist center, their dharma class also conducted on Sunday. Timing is ard the same. Haizzz..
I prefer dharma class conducts in Chinese. My point of view - there is too much english teaching environment. Should let the kids attend more chinese speaking lessons.

Stressma,
dun think u need to be a member or study in the CC.

Agree! Doubles up as Chinese enrichment. But on the other hand, if your kid is the banana type and not strong in Chinese (like mine!), may turn him off to do so many `alien' things all at once? Learn abt Dharma, and in Chinese. Also not sure which centre conducts lessons most effectively, which to me is that they have to be fun! Maybe Stressma could drop in on Sundays at the centres to hv a better idea if keen.

bboomer71,
agrees with you if the kids is the banana type.
So u have stop ur PT job? I believe you will be attending the concert this Thursday. What time will you reach there?

bboomer71
I live in Pasir ris. Nat is in kindy. Elliot is not attending sch yet, cos he turns 2 next yr.
Where do you reside?

Mom2nat,
Oh, Pringles's #2. Long time never "see" Pringles already.

Just to share:
I had a chat with my colleague this morning over breakfast. She has 2 kids in Pri, and was sharing with me some lesson she learnt from her experience.

First 3 years in Pri focus on foundation, and next 3 years focus on the execution aspect. According to her, the benchmark for the first 3 years need to be at least 90marks and above, so during the execution years, as it gets more complex, a higher threshold in foundation years, will set your child back into a more comfortable "score zone".....sounds scary????

hi bboomer71,

i was stressed when i joined this forum 3 years ago....with 2nd kid coming along....hence the username stressma...haha...now not so stressed liao...

i wanted to let my kids exposed to buddhism...tot can teach them what is good or wrong.....chinese should be fine..cos i converse in mandarin with my kids...shall let u n hong know if i visit the centres...

so u not working? not even PT? i think i will be screaming whole day is i am a SAHM....need some sanity....

Hi Mom2nat,
I stay at Balestier. Is there anyone to hold the fort for you, shud u take some time out during the day?

Hi Stressma,
I dont think i can juggle PT and kids once kid goes to P1 and I do prefer to be around to mind the kids. Guess it depends on your temperament and situation. For me, I think i went thru a period of adjustment after i quit my FT job some years ago. I'm coming to the conclustion that maturity is abt accepting your choices in life and learning to count your blessings. I'm not one of those who can keep many balls up in the air, so be it!

Hi Hong,
I will be there at 5.30 pm
Gonna take the kids out for dinner after that though. Same argument -- so skinny already (he is nearly same weight as sis!), not to mention feeding in the crowded hall upstairs will jus mean more distraction for that boy while eating! ;P What abt you? Btw, teacher Winnie accepts thumb drives so that she can download some class pxs from her PC for your kid.

So many good shows lately/upcoming for the kids huh -- Coraline, Christmas Carol, Mr Fox, Princess & the Frog!

bboomer71
Depends which times of the day lor. I have a maid. If I going out for long, prob will bring all out, or else I will ask mil to come over.

I oso dun like to feed my boy outside. If got feeding involved, will bring my maid! hahaha...

Hi Mom2nat
Would you like to join me and another SAHM for lunch on a Thursday, 12 pm at Park Mall? I usu. exercise with her on Thursdays.
We'll hv a desperate housewives' get-together hurhur!

Hiii,
butt in abit...
am SAHM too! Both kids in kindy, elder Girl very keen learner goody-two-shoes type (dunno whose genes hor), younger Boy more... "challenging". Different personalities, so can't say it's my parenting technique or what! :p

I find I can't quite bring my kids to most shows leh- Coraline definitely out of the question, my Girl still can't watch anything other than Barney without tearing up. Extremely sensitive- watch those Tom & Jerry (in restaurants), Up (movie), crrrry like a banshee ah! My Boy even worse but cos he's younger mah. Recently brought them for the Meg & Mog Halloween special... Boy nearly strangulated me during the show with his arms wrapped round my neck!

Hi Pawprint,

Welcome.
Same here, my boy is playful, girl is sensible. But I think i spoilt my firstborn more such that he is not as good as sis in taking "no" for an answer, sigh.

My kids had trouble staying through an entire show until they were older. Yes, and the boy, who is more sensitive, bounces up and down and has no volume control when he gets excited, so it's normal. I always notice loud kids and kids fidgeting or walking up and down the aisle in cinemas anyway.

Your kids both in Kindy, do you mean both in K1 & 2?

Alicia's dad,
Nothing freaks me out anymore. I've ceased to be shocked by such academic `rigour'! The list is endless... for example, they are also incredibly PC-savvy these days. By P6, these kids wud b familiar with Word/PowerPoint liao. Hello serious myopia!! Of coz, I'm kia-su and try my best to stay informed and keep up, but well, you know, u know... ;P