(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

bboomer71,
Your family must have enjoyed in Beijing. Saw your pics in FB, very nice

GG,
Nice cake
Was the 2010 cake done in 1/3 format or it had been eaten up?

Koala,
No problem, we can meet this year. Hope the boys are alrite now.

B2,
I guess all of us been through these phases before, and what I can say is there will be many happy moments in between which will make life more meaningful and complete
. Count your blessings....it makes you more positive...hahaha..

Oh, talking about P1...we have 2x chances for balloting this year rite?

B2B3M4,
Hv to say i agree wif u, but like A's dad said, try to look on bright side and create our own happiness

Spelling is starting again in K2, this time, the list of words are tougher phonetically, sigh.

Dis year is the last year to take them out of school, like you say, at a whim, so wud b nice to max. it out and plan a nice holiday, dream, dream, dream...
Also good year to do fun enrichment activities, coz soon it will be tuition haha!!

A's dad,
its precisely i have been thru that phase, that's why i can feel the pain. Let me see, 6 yrs of pri sch + 4yrs of sec + 2 yrs of JC + 3yr of Uni = 15 YEARS!!!!! Half my life in the mad race for As and what not. And the best part, at the end of it all. Now where i am now, i realise the As and goody schools do not make much of a difference in my life. A very good comparison at home - Myself n Hubby.
Me: go thru normal neighbour school, mediocre student
Hubby: Good school thru out with great scores

End product: No difference in career or salary. Home management skills, Me: Ok, Hubby: Fail
ECAs, Me: The usual art & crafts, sports, Hubby: Excellent in music, martial arts & canoeing

SO, works out no diff. That's why many a times i wonder what are we putting our kids into??? Sometimes i have this mad tot to just take my whole family off singapore and travel for a year.

Bboomer,
coming back to your nice holiday idea. I have that idea too, then i remembered that i need to be around in July for pri school registration, nov/dec for what ever orientation, buying books, preparing. In fact now i am planning leaves to do up her room to provide ashley with a proper area to study. So... hmmm.. maybe MArch/april to bring the kids to visit their grandpa who is outstationed.

Sorry to interrupt.

I’m a new mummy turning to full-time piano teaching. I specialise in coaching young children and teenagers. Able to teach for leisure or for preparation of ABRSM examination. Able to travel to your place to conduct the lesson. For any enquries, please sms/call me at 91230494. Thank you.

B2B3M4
Can't agree more on the study parth of our first child.
Well said on everything u said abv. Well, career path depends on opportunity. I m a v gd eg. I wz under a director who really grooms n treasures her staff. Since her departure, old time staff like me is sent to cold chamber n doom forever. My ex mgr wz transferred to another business and so wz my ex director. They r the worst superior in my working life. Hopefully, there is a twist in this new yr wif my new mgr

Bboomer
More spelling and ting xie words in K2. Every9 I m like a mad woman screaming at my lazy boy

B2B3M4, Bboomer
I hv the same thot - bring the kids for a holiday b4 starting P1. Where do u plan to go for holiday?

All
Chen Chen is unable to concentrate when studying He either play wif his toes, pencils,.... or day dream. My evening always end up wif screaming. His absorption ability and memory is not as gd as b4. He is getting wilder n no longer the guai boy b4. Even his childcare teacher said he changed. Comment fm Yan Chen is the best student, I like him the most, I hv no worry for him at all.... to he is very playful, cannot stand still, ....
How do u guide your child to do school work? Can your child concentrate when studying? I can't imagine how when he is in P1

Bbommer,
U are right. The words getting tougher, and I have to break up the word to help my ger to spell. Did u see any improvement in the kids handwriting?

Beside the CC spelling list, Janelle still have spelling and ting xie list for her weekend classes. I know she has no problem coping but I feel overwhelming.

Koala,
may be u start chen chen with some simple work and not doing alot each time. Stime we feel the amt is ok but the kid still feel too much. Increase slowly as he progresses.

So u have decided which Pri school to send Chen Chen?

Koala
You are not alone. Ask Nat write a few words only, she will play with eraser lah, this lah, tat lah, fingers itchy...
Do you let him watch Tv or DVDs? I find I let Nat and Elliot watch, though usually only meal times. But now they mah chiam tv addict. I find kids who watch too much tv can't entertain themselves and little attn span oso.
I oso dunno next time how... you pek chek in the evening, I pek chek all day!!!

guess who are having this "concentration, focus" problems with our going to turn 6 yr old tod. Aahley too have the same problem. Even her coach is grumbling that she is not focus in her gym. In fact she is faring worse than b4. I really wonder whether we are giving ourselves and the kids too much pressure to do well. We are so worried with the end result --> to do well that we sometimes forget the the reason why we send them to school, classes etc... It really killed the joy of learning and the joy of motherhood. AS much as i am saying all these, the moment its time to practice piano, get ready for school etc... I just can't be patient and scream my heads off... Sigh... i feel so much of a failure.

Definitely identify with your problems. On shouting, yelling... I never knew I cud b so crazy a woman until i had kids, haha ;P. Just take the last weekend for example - Trigger points: Shredding tissue into dozens of little bits for fun in car backseat, melting down coz did not buy a treasured Ben 10 jacket (to be fair to him, he had asked for it many times, and on one occasion I had caved in and sort of said yes; but the thing is, just a month ago he had received lots Ben 10 presents (expensive stuff)) for X'mas/birthday.)

Some kids are just like that... My daughter is a godsend. None of the above problems apply. So what do you do? Still trying to encourage, more than scold; to catch him doing something right, rather than wrong; and most of all, to make peace with myself, and just let it ride... Nice to know dat I not alone. You know those hao4lian4 mums who have perfectly behaved kids, dont talk to dem haha!!

Spelling and homework are not too much an issue this year. Guess the hard work and training last year paid off. First of all, kid has to have good grasp of phonics and be reading a lot so that words are not alien to him. My son will do his homework quite independently and not fuss when asked to do so coz he knows the routine. Everyday after dinner, followed by TV, he will do homework for half an hour.

But he is still easily distracted. Yup, studying eraser, making gross mistakes due to carelessness, 9/10 times forgetting to bring bag into music class etc. It's funny when you think abt it, unfortunately I'M THE MUM!! ;P

Looking on the bright side (wat else to do rt??), hey, notice dat all of us hv this problem to varying degrees. So... ya lor, it's normal among 5-, 6- year olds. Must think like this, or seriously go whacking crazy!! We all feel the stress... so much HW even at K2, plus our own enrichment classes... But remember, too much stress and the child cannot learn/think properly. So must find way to manage our own stress

I'm dreaming of a year end winter holiday skiing!!

Hong
It's not a matter of amount of homework I give to Chen Chen. He procrastinates. He can sit there daydream, play with pencil, eraser, toes, blah blah, blah for as long as he wants
I will send Chen Chen to Gong Shan Pri school. Which school will u b sending Janelle to ?

Mom2nat
Chen Chen watches both TV programme and DVD. Once he even watch Hindi show coz nothing to watch. He watches dunno channel 8 or channel U wif my parents. He is a victim of TV
U r right. kids who watch too much tv can't entertain themselves and little attn span. I spoke to Chen Chen's enrichment class teacher and cc director. They told me Chen Chen's behavior is due to too much media - TV, computer or mobile phone game
There is no way to stop Chen Chen esp at my parents' plc. I dun let Png Png watch TV
Aye, u dun let Elliot watch TV. He is still young. Still can change him
Can understand u peh chek whole day. I plan to send Chen Chen to day care preferably in his primary school. There r teacher to teach him do his homework. I hope by sending him to day care, it can improve the situation and I can hv better, happy bonding time wif him

B2B3M4
I wonder if our coming 6 yr old tod is loosing their sponge absorption power dat they r doing worse.
My parents oso said I give too much pressure to myself and Chen Chen. But he is going to P1. Can I still let him learn like N1, N2 tots? Hallo we r living in a society filled wif stress. Who doesn't feel stressful? I rather stress him n myself to push him up to std then let him laid back n give up on himself if he is can't catch up wif the rest. He oso need to learn to cope wif stress gradually

Bboomer
U r lucky dat your gal doesn't give u prob
Well, motherhood, motherhood,....... it's a long winding challening rd ahead.

Here wishing everyone a happy healthy wealthy Tiger New Year! "Dai(4) zang(3)" your tiger paws and claws
3633125.gif

Happy CNY to All!!!

Shook, I exp the same thing as you leh. Vane has changed too, most frens asked why Vane not as obedient as before???? Sigh... So sad lor, not sure what I did wrong.

koala, giggler,
same here, ash gives me so much headaches n 'heartaches'... 1st time 'kana' complaint fr his kindy too... but af daddy went down to talk to his teachers, there is improvements. but at hm, still getting endless scoldings fr me.. use soft approach, he can 'ignore' u. i just hope is another passing phase.

Hv started a new blog. Latest post is on this sticker chart that i hv to modify DS' negative behaviour. You can pong chan (cantonese for helping) by following me at http://cupsrunover.blogspot.com/. Honestly i agree that my DS gives me daily headaches too. But like i always say, have to be positive!

Hi mummies...
Our going to turn 6 yr tods..... Sigh.. Lots to complain... I'm not trying to say my kids are worse but... Ashley 1st day of school after the long CNY break... she cut another's girl's fringe!!!!! And she knew she is in deep trouble, she refuse to go home when hb picked her up from school.

Ashley now goes into this hysterical scream when she knew she's going to be punished. Dunno why, and this scare the wits out of chloe. Now not usre whether to go on the soft approach or the harsh one.

koala,
i know what u mean abt needing to push our kids in this competitive world.... But, look at us??? Aren't we supermums too and we didn't go to all these top notch schools and extra lessons. Did we turn out to be worse off??? I'm looking back right now, quite a few of my uni's high flyers... they are just holding to ok jobs... Not excelling as much as they had in school. So does it really matters??? On the other hand, i dun want to let go now and then one day look back... could ashley have been better off if i had pushed her?

b2b3m4,
this age, I'll suggest soft...
She's able to know what's right & what's wrong.

Ask her why she did it,
after she answers, find out what made her did it.
If no answer, then ask if she thinks it's a silly act or she had naughty hands.
Silly act ask her not to do it again,
naughty hands, then need to have some punishment.
For us is either a stroke of cane on the naughty hand or made the naughty hands do some work.

TLL
Haha.... your suggestion on asking the naughty hand to do some work is so funny! I gotta try it someday. Usually I ask my girl which hand is not listening or which ear, then pinch or beat! Hoho...

B2B3M4
Cut fringe!!!! Fainted....
Well, like wat you say, study so hard oso like tat. So leh... my hb always say "education is a way to success... not THE way". That's why he dun like me to send Nat to too many enrichments, he rather she just live like a child, play, enjoy and blah blah... Easier said than done!

Koala
Aiyo, my 2 kids TV addict. Elliot and Nat will even fight which shows they wan. Who dun get, who cry... see I pek chek or not.
My nephew oso went daycare this yr. At least pple at home no need to pek chek ask him do homework. One mommy here teaches in Gong Shan... heee... might end up be CC's teacher.

Koala,
Sending Janelle to Kong Hua which is my aim when I got the hse.

Concentration - I guess most of us have the same issue. I will look at Janelle, once I catch her good mood I will suggest that we work on her homework and I will add on some assessment work for her. Usually I will sit thru with her when she do her work, especially chinese homework cos i wanna make sure she get all the strokes correctly.

She likes learning new things so will teach her something new, get her to practise a bit and I send her off to play.

Hallo mummies! longtimenosee...

do excuse me for my absence, have been so busy at work and this is my 2nd last week here...so helping them with a survey/product trial:

We are looking for people for skincare product and treatment trials...absolutely free and you get to try products worth $128 and treatments worth $178 if selected...!

Interested, please use this link:
http://survey.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_3gw9O81hTCJ0sZK&SVID=Prod

I promise my next post will not be work stuff!

Some pics of my kids!

3669933.jpg
3669934.jpg
3669935.jpg

Giggler, Sanrio
Your no 1 oso same as Chen Chen. I really hope it's just a passing phase. This is much worse than teriible 2. I start having grey hair now.

BBoomer
I used the reward chart since 2 yrs ago. My boy lagged over time. He postponed doing the chart wif me till we forgot if he "followed" the rules. We came up to 18 rules in the lastest update. We only did once so far this yr Imagine Feb is ending soon. Obviously, the reward chart lost it's effectiveness

B2B3M4
Did Ashley cut her friend's fringe accidentally? If not, did u ask her y she cut her friend's fringe?
The world changes. Can't compare our time wif now. During our time, did our parents need to stress over our pr school registration? During our time, do we need to learn spelling and ting xie b4 we go to P1? During our time, do we learn abt solar system b4 we go to P1 blah blah blah....????
Job wise, I feel it depends a lot on luck and opportunity. No direct relationship wif education. But education is the fundamental of one's life

B2B3M4, Leng Leng
Everytime I feel dwn dealing wif my boys n chore, I think of u. How do u manage???

Leng Leng
Wat work did u assign to naughty hand?

Mom2nat
wa seh, no wonder u pek chek everyday. Scream and cry really drives ppl crazy
Do u intend to send Nat to aftercare? BTW which school will u send Nat to?
Who teaches in Gong Shan?

Hong
What do u do wif your boy when u r coaching Janelle?
Chen Chen v stubborn. He doesn't wanna follow the stroke I teach him. He throws tantrum or leaves the rm or goes to the bed when I correct him. He likes to learn new things but he can't accept ppl correcting his mistake.

Ava
R your gals un-identical twins?

Hey Koala...
My gals are identical, but they look quite different in these pics. in person...it varies, some days alike, some days not! most people who meet them for first time can't tell them apart...sometimes their own relatives can't tell them apart LOL!

Primary school...wah such a headache...we are moving house and dunno where yet (sold then gonna rent)..so will depend on where we move to I guess...I suppose most of you moms already mapped out where to send your kids right>>

Ava
Ur gals so cute!!

How are you coping with 3 kids?

Koala
No lah, dun think will send her to after sch care if I am SAHM. I at home to be with my kids mah. Unless I work then bo pian lah.
hee... how teaches in gong shan ah... how many teachers we have here??

Kolar.
U think abt me when u r down? U muz be mad!!!!!
I dunno, sometimes i wonder if i have too high an expectations for my kids. Compared to their peers, they have so many more other classes. When they socialise with other kids, u see how ell they behave. But somehow both me n hb are scolding them for something everyday.

As for the fringe.... according to her teacher, she actually had done this b4!!!! She and another class mate, they cut each other's hair for the fun of it. As for this recent incident, she cut another girl's fringe bcos she thinks its long and need a trim!?? But really, sometimes i really dunno what is ashley's thinking.

Just to share ashley's time table... I always think its very xiong for my kids (when compared to myself when I am young) I just wan to know if it is a norm for kids nowadays, since many mothers work like me too.

6.45 - 7.15am - wake up and prepare for school
(can drag forever to wake up)
7.15 - 8am - get ready her school bag (wif help from dad), wears uniform.
8am - 7pm - at childcare centre
7.45pm - 8.30pm - dinner at home (ya.. can take forever to finish esp the vege)
8.30pm - 9 - shower
9 - 10pm - watch tv, pratice piano, play
10pm - sleep

Sometimes after diner, we bring them to the playground to play, or shop for groceries or they hang around at my mum's place when i need to work late.

Sat morning - spend time with dad at home while i work
afternoon - ballet and music class

Sun morning - gymnastic
sun afternoon - time at grandparents' place.

In between, they help with putting away their toys, the clothes etc.. Some simple chores.

Koala,
I get Julian to work on something like drawing or ask him to play something 1st.

Both kids need my 100% attention when comes to work. If I am lucky and two kids cooperate then they will stay by my side to do something.

Usually Janelle will have alot to ask, Julian is the type that will follow instructions but he is not the type that will do the same thing over n over again for me. Example, I get him to write number. Once he gets it right I will skip to the next one and as his attention span is shorter than Janelle so I dun force him to stand on. As long as he hit the target I set for him, I release him to play. After a while I catch him back to practise wat he had just learnt and tats it for the day.

Cos if I insist him to complete something he doesnt like or has already lapse of his attention span he tend to get very upset and reject it. I dun want to end up unhappy and causing rejection in future.

Diff kids, diff methods.

Think Hong's method sounds sensible. Must know how to hong3 (haha excuse the pun, "coax") kids. Like for my son, his swimming lesson is only 45 min, piano only 30 min. Does not mean more is better. Or another example, if teaching subtraction, i tell him to imagine all the numbers lining up, so who is standing behind who?My son is very hyper. He's still hyper, but quite good now. Think Hong is aware that I have taken a lot of trouble to help him improve. Currently practising using the affirmative. So instead of criticising eg "you are rude, careless, unfocussed" blah blah, say "I expect/want you to check your work, be polite" etc.

Let me share with you the irony of it all. Yesterday after i posted my nice positive mssg, found myself texting to hubby: "So so mad with (son). The minute you are nice to him, he starts his nonsense again. What with sticking my keys in soap, and talking back." =P

Boy does such things coz he finds it funny. After gargling, will spit on mirror /tap /sis' toothbrush mug. Return cup to kitchen, he will place it on top of the alarm clock... Once he opened the microwave oven, and left his cup there.

Lately, he has started to talk back. Wonder if he learnt it school. Will bring it up with teacher at next PTC. Need to discipline i guess. Anyone has this problem too and tips to help?

Bbommer71,
how does he talk back?

Talk back is a way of feedback from kid, a way to show their unhappiness on the other parties.

When I am busy I tend to neglect the kids feeling that is when such things will happen. More of the time my reaction will be scolding the kid but we forgot that the kid is an individual that she has her own way of thinking and doing things.

Usually I revisit the topic again when I am not that busy or has calm down.

Hi Hong,
He will mutter "But... what" (emphasis on "what" in Singlish way =P). Flick his spoon coz we force him to finish last mouthful (oops!) There are other examples, but at this point, seem not to be able to recall... Also throw toy on floor if ask him to stop play for bedtime.

You're right. Like what you said and think that it helps me to reframe situation in different way when i get angry again. Thanks!

My other prbl is hyperactivity. In a split second, he's run off even though I asked him countless times to stay close to us when we are out. That problem also leads him to be easily distracted. Need to repeat instruction countless times. Tried not repeating, giving time for response as the books say, but that just means he will not comply at all. I dont think he has ADHD since he is not disruptive in class and can stay still long enough to complete work in class and at home etc.. But I think on the continuum of hyperactivity, he is on the high side. Mums of such kids often feel stressed out. Comments welcome if any.

Bbommer71,
How abt giving him some fish oil? I read that fish oil (DHA) helps hyperactive kids to concentrate better.

I gave to both kids, more like Julian needs it more than Janelle cos his concentrate span is very short.

Regarding parenting books - I bot a few, not sure if they will be useful to u but they are in Chinese. I like to read Chinese more. Ok for u?

Mom2nat
I only know skyblue, ruffy and Bearbit r teachers. Skyblue teaches in Pasir Ris, Ruffy and Bearbit quited and do own bz. Who else? Common, tell me who teaches in Gong Shang

Leng Leng
Hmmm....assign something that they hate doing most to naughty hand - your's writing their spellings. Your kids can write wif both hands?

B2B3M4
Chen Chen only attend 1 enrichment class outside his cc
OIC. Child's thinking is v direct and innocent. Ashley cut dat gal's fringe coz she thot it's too long and she always do it wif another gal. So, it's not related to violence then u dun hv to worry but hv to ans to the parent
Ashely watches tv, pratices piano, plays within an hr. She muz b v fast. Chen Chen can stuck at the TV for hourSSSSS
Glas r so sweet, help u wif chore. Chen Chen helps to mess up
Does Ashley attend enrichment classes back to back? Does she nap?

Hong
B/w Chen Chen and Png Png, I find Png Png more sensible. He won't disturb when I teach Chen Chen unless he waited too long which is always the case. When it's my dinner time, he will say mummy take dinner. Chen Chen on the other hand will disturb when I teach Png Png and won't leave me eat in peace when I take dinner
Chen Chen is v headstrong. He refuses to accept wat others said when he thinks he is right. Last night, he told me there is printing error in the book. Book printed pic of Dr and chef for choosing the profession working in hospital. Chen Chen said Dr works in clinic, not hospital; only nurses work in hospital. I told him Dr work in both clinic n hospital. Dr cures patient. Nurses takes care of patient. Dr perform surgery in hospital not nurses. He oso said dat chef works in restaurant, waitress doesn't work in restaurant. Waitress gives food. I told him waitress serves food in restaurant. Serving food is waitress's job. He insisted he is right in both and said I dunno then proceeded to other questions. I always hv this kinda struggle wif him.
Can share wat useful parenting books u read?

Bboomer
I hv the same prob u hv wif your boy

I m looking for a student care for Chen Chen. Better choose one near my parents' plc or near school? Wat do all of u think?
Any recommendation of student care near Gong Shang Pr school? I visited Little Professor and Kidz Inc. Both v small n cramp esp Little Professor. Can lead to claustrophobia man. But at least there is only 1 TV. The kids r on PC and playing games when I visited. Unlike Kidz Inc where there r 3 or 4 TV and many kids were lazing on the flr watching TV when I visited.

Koala,
What the reason to put chen chen in a student care? Your parents are not able to help you anymore? If u found a good student care, u are lucky else god bless chen chen. U will have more issued than u can image. It is not like childcare anymore, dun expect tr to be loving to kids.

My case is quite similar to u that Julian is more mellow compare to Janelle. He is more understanding but there are cases that he still insist his own way. Look at it at diff angle, why do the kid insist to do something? Most of the time the kid is a reflection of parents.

My parenting book teach parents how to change our mentality when dealing with kids and not fixing kids problem. Children start with nothing, their behaviour, how they speak, work, eat they are learn from pple ard them and the most influential person to them are parents.

I always took a step back and compare myself with my kids. Yes, Janelle is my reflection, so if I change the way I deal with matters, she will change with me. Stime I dun even need to teach her at all.

As for u example above. I will qns him back and make him think. U dun have to force a concept into him, let him work out himself will imprint deep into him.

Dr - He said not in hosptial. U can ask him who is the man in white robe? If hospital has no doctor then can nurse treat patients?

When u say surgery, kids have no concept wat is surgery all abt unless they go thru it but at that moment I dun think u will want to show him all the photos abt surgery process. May be help him to recall surgery procedure when u get to see documentary over the TV programme.

Chef works in restaurant kitchen, waitress works in restaurant. Serve may == to give to the kids.

Dun get too fustrated, it is part of parenting all of us going thru. It is going to be a fun memories when u think back years later.

Leng Leng
Thot u meant asking your kids which naughty hand does the naughty act so punish naughty hand

Hong
My mum requested me to put Chen Chen in student care. Chen Chen is getting out of hand. He has no fear of anyone at home. If he is at home, he can watch TV programme whole day. He doesn't allow my parents to watch their programme.
Wat issue fm student care? Can share wat u found out abt student care?
Neither my hubby nor I is so headstrong like Chen Chen. I admit I wz headstrong when I wz young but mellowed dwn many yrs ago. I dun wanna brush it off but Chen Chen's attitude changes a lot recent yrs n my SIL said he learned it fm his peers
Chen Chen knows wat is surgery. My mum had one a mth back. We described to him, he saw X ray film, the changes in my mum and visited her in the hospital. Hospital is not an imaginery plc to him. Both my boys were admitted in hospital b4. Chen Chen oso visited my bro, myself n my mum in hospital
I changed my style to no screaming at Chen Chen since last yr. A lot of patience and time needed. Bet this rise my BP Never mind I hv low BP

Yes serve = give but it is part and parcel to correct and improve his vocab. I told him serving food is the job of waitress juz like cooking is the job of chef.

Giggler
Chen Chen is with I Creative Learner, not I Can Read. I heard my ex neighbour who sent her gal to I Can Read said that it's not bad

Koala,
I suggest you go and have a look at the student care before u decide whether to place Chen Chen there.

Giggler,
I Can Read is quite good. I think the school required kids to be able to read independently at P1, so if ur friend kid is going to P1 next year then better to send the kid for it.

and I also know the course fee for ICR is not cheap too.

Hey gals

Have you all decided on which pri school u are registering your kids for? I know there was some posts about this a while back...anyone like me still deciding?

Anyone knows whether SAP school will be tough on ang-mo-pai famkily like mine? Adan seems to catch/pick up his chinese better than I expected; sometimes even better than his english, and there is a sap school near my place (we have moved from potong pasir already)

Hi ava,
Think i'll just put Ashley in Nan Chiau, right across my place.
So where are you staying now?

Koala,
No, no... Ashley dun do all these activities in that short frame of time. What i meant was that time slot. 2 times a week (depending on hb's schedule too) she'll practice piano, twice a week, she'll practice her gym, Fridays for play. Of course, a bit of TV if she manage to get her practices over fast.
Other than her ballet, gym and piano, we didn't put her in any other enrichment class. She watches Leapfrog, does that count??? *grin* On weekends, we try to get her to nap in between her classes, but she can't. So usually knock out dead tired by night time. I think it's pretty tiring for her bcos personally feel more tired over the weekends compared to weekdays.

Ava,
Have decided to put Gareth on Queenstown Primary. However, we will continue to stay in Sengkang till something ideal comes along.

B2,
Nan Chiau need balloting?

Koala,
You still stay in SK during weekend? Want to let Chen Chen try out soccer class?

pigletz,
so u are planning to travel all the way to Queenstown Primary everyday??? PArdon me, where exactly is the school? Now not a good time buy property, it's far too expensive. Give it a couple months to drop first.

Nan Chiau requires balloting for under 1km in phase 2C. Ashley will fall under phase 2b under 1km, so not so bad. However this is still not our ideal school as we want her to continue with her gym which is not available at Nan Chiau, now contemplating whether to use my mum's address to register her in paya lebar MGS. My mum likes this arrangement too, she prefers ashley to go back to her place than to go after school care.

Hong
I viewed 2 student care already.

Ava
I will send Chen Chen to my alma mater
Did u send Adan to Chinese enrichment class? It's gd dat he picks up Chinese easily. Chinese is more difficult than English esp writting Chinese characters

Pigletz
R u going to leave Gareth with your aunt or bring him back daily when he goes to P1?
Yes still a wk end home owner.
Chen Chen can't play football. He is allergic to sand and grasses. Dermatologist advised Chen Chen to stay away fm sand and grasses. Do u send your boys for swimming lesson? We plan to send Chen Chen for swimming class

B2B3M4
Do u intend to let Ashley continue ballet and piano when she goes to primary school?
It's gd dat your mum offers to look after Ashley. Were u fm paya lebar MGS? Does paya lebar MGS hv gym lesson?

B2,
Yes, the plan now is to travel there everyday, and they will take school bus to my auntie place. Will fetch them back every night.

Ya, property too expensive now, will just wait and see how.

I see, you still have about 2 mths to consider. I also think if your mum is okay with Ashley going to her place, it can be a better option compare to after school care. But there are also some after school care that are very good. Just have to search for it.

Koala,
Gareth will go back with us.
He also not used to staying over at auntie place.

Chen Chen is allergic to sand and grasses, then better don't try. Yes, Gareth started his swimming lesson in Feb. So now still learning kicking n floating. Gavin can only start next year cos he is not yet 5 yrs old.

ava,
we are hoping to get Jana into sngs, completed the 40hrs of pv and praying hard that there wont be any balloting this year.

b2
watching leapfrog=enrichment! tat makes me feel less guilty abt Jana's excessive TV times! hehe

how are the chances like for paya lebar MGS? which phase will you be registering? it'll be nice for ashley to go back to grandma's place after school.

koala
i used to be allergic to grass too when I was in primary school too and my mum made me wear long pants for my P.E lessons! yikes!

pigletz
any idea which are the better after school care?

Hey all
We've moved to a rental in Townerville, which is just one station away from Potong Pasir, so Adan's kindy is not disrupted. Hong Wen school is just around the corner. Otherwise, we were thinking of a school in Katong area, cos we will be looking for a place to buy around there.

Re: PL MGS
No i am not an old girl. But i can use my mum's address and falls under phase 2C (1-2km). Looking at the balloting history, got a good chance to be able to get in. But a bit troublesome, need to go MOE to make statutory declaration. Furthermore, at my mum's place, my brother's whole family 3yr tod, newborn baby and another sec boy plus my sister all staying there. The whole place can get pretty chaotic at times. And i do get worried that there will be no one to oversee her homework and no restriction of TV. (the sec boy and my sister are usually the culprits)

I wld very much prefer to put ashley in after school care bcos i dun wan to depend on my mum. Too many of those human relationships will be interwined into (SIL, sister, jealousy) Its gets too complicated for my simple brain.
BUT..... I know my mum loves ashley very much and do take very good care of her (since b4 SIL's child came along... see the complications then already). My mum is very keen to have ashley come over eeveryday and even tell me she make special arrangements for her so that she can study and rest in peace... Sigh... Dilemma.

Koala,
I will definitely let ashley continue with gym regardless it is offered as a CCA in school. SHe is already spending 3 hours per week on it plus training by herself daily at home. However i may want her to stop ballet if her studies gets too heavy for her. As for music, hubby may just take her out of Yamaha and teach ashley himself if the time table is too packed. Putting ashley in a school with gym as a CCA will cut down her requirement to train on weekends (which supposedly meant for her to rest) and oso tagged as an official CCA when she reached P4.

Long time no post!!! How is everyone???

B2! If you use your mum's addy, it falls under <2KM, even if the house is within 1KM. If you look at the statistics, chances are NOT HIGH. Because for PLMGS, usually need balloting even within 1KM. For Nan Chiau, I think usually also need balloting, unless you volunteer or belong to alumni.