(2004/03) March Mummy

i agree w helena. they shd start from the time that they announced abt planning to increase the incentives.

Those who give birth in Aug r those who conceived in late Nov onwards. They are really lucky to hv entitlement to the benefit.

ruffy
is it easy to wash the blender? I hate the washing up after cooking.. just cook 1 small thing and gotta wash 1 load... the pot and bowl and utensils still sitting in the sink.. shek out liow.. hahaa.

hahaha.. why is ryan screaming? want attention? actually wondering if its 'normal' that our bb are screaming and yelling so frequently? even my neighbour upstairs told me she always hear my gal crying.. so paiseh.. my hubby working late tonight.. siao liow, gotta entertain my gal till her last feed at 9pm... she's taking her 3rd nap of the day.. add up also not more than 3hr... very cham hor..

cla
I've got a few friends giving birth after aug... one just gave birth 2 days before the rally!! so envy.. very lucky!

bbgal,
me too... envy n angry at the same time!
one of my colleague just give birth in Aug also... *envy*, can straight away enjoy the 3-mth maternity leave n the bb bonus. last time i still hv to fight for a 3rd mth unpaid leave n was not approved.

ruff,
maybe Ryan wants ur attention or he is teething?
Matthew is opposite of Ryan. He has been smiling even though mummy is sad n angry over the announcement. :p

bbgal,
the blender easy to wash.. just wash with water.. the brand is U-like (pink colour). can make soyabean milk also. take less than 1/2hr including washing up. Ryan need a lot of attention..just walk out of the room for less then 1min start screaming.. even though the TV/Radio is on to entertain him.. inculding the toys around him. Must have your physical presence around even when he is sleeping..or else he will wake up every 1/2hr during daytime sleep. If he is not screaming he is "talking" dadada... babab... non-stop. My mum says they like to hear their existance..so no choice.. have to put up with them.. Ryan only takes the max 2 nap during the day time..so more Cham then u leh. 1/2hr max before lunch and the most 2hr after lunch. luckily he is able to play by himself when he wakes up early morning or else will be even worse.
U staying in the west? maybe if have chance we can meet up ..
Most of my friends giving birth end of the year.. so lucky them.

cla,
Ryan's not teething.. in our family teeth doesn't come in till about 1yr old. Today he ate a lot... maybe cold weather makes him more hyperactive and hungry

he doesn't like to be in a position for too long..but sometimes have to restrain him..esp after feeding him or his food may come up when he is crawling around.

have checked with the PD over the weekend about follow on milk.. she says that it has more proteins that is needed for bb growth and can just switch ..dun need to gradually introduce it to the bb. .. heheh. in 1-2 weeks we will be celebrating our bb 1/2yr b'day.

cla
how come not approved? then you go back got black face your boss? think the 3rd mth is best left to be flexible..else some might lose their jobs or make us less employable, esp in smaller firms...

ruffy
mixer is not the same as blender rite? got one mixer at home but should be meant for baking only lah.. hee.. maybe go OG shopg tmr..

if I dont let her nap 1hr after her feed, she will be crying non stop.. want to sleep will be very cranky.. then sleep dont sleep long!
best is to go out shopping... she gets to sleep in the bb carrier as and when she likes and I get to do my shopping.. hahaha

No lah, I dont stay in the west, I stay in lavendar, just above the mrt.
hee.. yah maybe we can all meet up one day, let the kids play with each other and entertain themselves.. while mommies get a break.. hahaha
think my gal sure pak su one.. seems like she's the only gal here.. and slower, cant crawl yet.. haha...will be fun watching them baby talk to each other..

I just bought 2 more tins of infant formula, thought switch over when she is abt 6.5mths.. takes abt 1 week to finish 1 tin.

hi mommies
has anyone encountered strangers asking you to let her carry your bb? I brought my gal to buy dinner just now and an aunty just intercepted me to let her carry bb.. not knowing how to reject, I let her carry... but later regretted cos she's abit dirty, only after she carried my gal then I realised how dirty her shirt was.. the collar was stained and had dark patches... luckily my gal cried loudly soon after she carried her... thus gave her back to me...

the other time went to polyclinic for jab, another mother also asked to carry my gal, which I agreed... after that my mil wasnt very happy... and told me not to go near that lady again..

Is there anyway to reject politely? Do you think if I tell them my gal's afraid of strangers and will cry, they will believe? I dont know why they would want to carry someone's baby.. personally I wouldnt dare ask a mother, whom I dont know, to let me carry her kid loh...

another time one old man (who smelt of alcohol) just hold my gal's finger when he stepped into the mrt we are on... luckily we got off next stop.. yet another time while waiting outside a clinic, another man just swiped his hand across my gal's cheeks when he walked past... both are so fast that I couldnt react.

feel abit bad cos it's like I'm not protecting my gal..

bbgal,
strangers always walk up to Ryan..however if I see small kids without parents will walk away quickly..less they poke him. Nobody ask to carry Ryan if they do will say no.. the most just touch his hand.. try not to let them touch bb face coz may have lots of bacteria. If you don't look too friendly they will not disturb you and the bb. Maybe this mummy quite fierce..so they can only "admire" Ryan unless I let them get near.
I think that it is dangerous..you can say your girl must be carried by mother.. cannot let others touch.. very " nian" ..will cry loudly.
My boy.. if he doesn't like the person will scream loudly.. only let cute or good look girl/lady get near to him and touch him. If he doesn't like the person or is bored he will stick his tongue at him/her.
BB boy must take care coz they are selling for $15000/- BB girl will fetch about $12000.

ruffy
yahloh, now also thinking what if they just run away with bb... so scary... the aunty was just sitting at the coffeeshop when I was walking past, just turned ard and asked me to let her carry... thought she looked friendly.. I should just tell them bb scared of strangers, will cry if others carry.. and this careless mommy here huh, always forgot to wipe areas touched by strangers.. actually I looked very fierce and black face if dont smile.. but think with bb, I'm always playing with her when outside so ppl also want to play with her??? Touch hand also quite bad cos bb will be putting their fingers into mouth..

was thinking could it be that the elderly feel that bb 'carries' good luck? Once my indian neighbour (old lady) also touched my gal's cheeks and made some cultural gesture... actually I meant to let my gal interact more with ppl, so didnt mind ppl come and play with her.. but now gotta be more cautious..

Ryan's so cute, very expressive!
Boys always prefer woman carry! hee hee..

bbag,
Never be pressurised by others into letting them carry your baby. The baby is yours. I have heard of stories where people just run away with babies, shave their hair and change their clothes so they can be smuggled easily.

GD morning to all mummies here!

bbgal,
u so late still not sleep yet? also thanks for the info on the bb fair.

i suppose u shd not let stranger carry ur bb. so far hv not met any stranger asking to carry Matthew, but i think i will reject lor. my style is shake the head w a smile n walked away. also most of the time, i will bring Mattehw out in a sling, is quite difficult to take him in n out of the sling, so i won't wan to go thru the trouble. :p

btw, i hv wrote in to appeal for the bb bonus to be extended to all babies born this yr, but i think the chances is slim. Govt must hv thought of it b4 they set the date. just hope that they can at least give some rewards to us.

*praying very hard*.... :p

Good morning mummies,
bbgal,
yes..there is the saying that bb bring good luck..but it is very subjective. Anyway when I bring Ryan out he is normally in the pram. If I do not want him to attract any attention I will pull the cover down on the pram or walk faster. I seldom put him in the bb carrier coz he is too heavy. I have a sling also but it restricts his movement so don't use it anymore.Thanks for the info on Taka sale..may take a look if there is time.

good morning mommies! Today's weather is really very good! Very cooling, hope it will be like that whole day! hee hee

when I bring her out in bb carrier, then no such incidences.. only when I carry her in hand then ppl asked to carry... my neighbourhood here alot of old folks, all like bbs..

cla
hubby worked late and came back ard 12am.. so wait ard for him.. anyway me also a night owl :p sleep late, wake up late heehee..

yah, where do you write your letter to? maybe all of us should write in then they will reconsider! hee hee

bbgal,

I'm still here. Busy with work lah! So many postings, by the time I finish reading, got work to do again, so didn't post lor!

So far, no one ask to carry my boy yet. Mayb becos i seldom bring him out. Sometimes, people just smile and talk to him and he smile back.
Very funny hor? Why pple would want to carry others' babies? I don't think I will allow them to do them. So scary, they can just run off.

hi cclare
heehee so long never see your postings mah
you working part-time right? I better be firm in my stand next time, cannot let them carry.. dare not tell my hubby abt the incident last night...

today my gal very noisy.. making sounds like fire engine siren.. she will only quieten down when looking at the turning fan.. now waiting for her next feed at ard 11am then can go out shopping! hee hee

bbgal,
you are staying near town..so easy to go shopping.. for me must wait till I get access to the car then can go shopping. I haven't tried bringing Ryan shopping via MRT/Bus...coz it will be v.difficult handling pram/ bb bag. Ryan is also very noisy these few days..talk non-stop..wake up so early 6am...don't sleep much.. today will bring him swimming.. hopefully will sleep longer tonight.

bbgal,

I'm working full time lah! what makes u think I'm working part time. Cos I always post msgs, u think i very free rite?

I'm usually quite free in middle of the month cos doing accounts.

really "pei fu" you all, call bring your baby to shopping alone. I never try bringing my boy out by myself leh! Afraid cannot cope. Somemore, he wants to be hug to sleep, so if shop halfway and he wanna sleep, very troublesome. Got to carry and sayang him.

bbgal,
is me who is doing part-time, not cclare...

too bad, today not my off day, else can join u for shopping!

cclare,
u also in account line? me too!

me doing ACCA too. kind of tough to work, take care of bb and studies.

bbgal/ruff,
ya, i agree w cclare. lazy to bring the bb out myself, too tired n wan rest... :p
the furthest i brought him to shop is Choa Chu Kang Lot 1 Shopping Centre. :p

cla,

wow! more tough for u. I find it difficult to manage work and bb. U even need to study.
So u doing part time accounting work now?

ruffy
it's easier to take mrt cos can stand, with bb carrier more inconvenient to sit down.. take bus can only take short distance, dont dare take those long distance ones.. sometimes will take cab though..
yahloh, very difficult to go out with pram... need 2 persons.. and I still havent overcome the phobia of taking pram on escalator...
my pram only used 3 times so far.

ryan wakes up so early! my gal usually wakes up ard 7+ in time to see her daddy before he goes to work.. hahaha.. then after feed will put her back to sleep and I continue my sleep also..

you bring him swimming every week hor! Is he getting more tan? must be very fit!

cclare
opps.. so it should be cla or helena who's working part time... hahaha do accounts will be busy ard this time right? or close accounts liow, so now can post more?

haiz.. it's huan2 jing4 shuo3 bi1.. forced by circumstances... if not I'll go into depression if have to coop at home with bb all day 24/7! So no choice, want to go out, must bear with the slight physical discomfort (bb is really much heavier than the backpack, the weight of the backpack has become negligible!) so next time if you see this woman with bb infront and a small blue backpack behind, it should be me! hahaha

Are you using bb carrier? Normally my gal can fall asleep in the bb carrier.. only if its the 2nd nap in the carrier then she will fuss quite abit before getting to sleep...

cla
hee.. so it's you! I remember there's another mommy working part time also.. think its helena..

Very tough to work and study and still gotta take care of bb.. got time to study? think can only study at night when bb's sleeping yah? bb's demands cant be ignored loh... how many days in a week do you work? You staying in the west huh?

okie.. think I better go shower before the little rascal gets up... hahaha

bbgal,

closing is next week. So, I'll MIA next week liao! Now is also quite busy preparing for close, but still have some spare time lah!

haha,... understand. So 'stuffy' to be at home everyday. I've never use bb carrier before leh! Always use pram, cos can also put all the barang barang in the basket below. So i always 'free n easy'. But to bring pram, cannot go out alone lor! Need another person to help.

bbgal/cclare,
Ryan is already 8.6kg.. how to put in BBcarrier? The most can carry him for 1/2hr then muscles ache and the worst thing is that since he is so close to me I get kicked by him non-stop or "clawed' His hands and feet fly everywhere..
Normally I will handcarry him to the car..strap him in the baby seat and drive off.. when reach the destination take out the pram and put him in.. now too bad.. no car to use freely...

I have 2 prams for him.. heavyweight Chicco with big basket to use when going marketing downstairs/swimming at Condo next door. Combi lightweight in the car when bring him out. Quite okay with using pram on escalator just must hold tight. It takes a lot of practice. Ryan will sleep in the pram when he is tired outside.. however come to having lunch/dinner he prefers to sit on your lap so quite troublesome to eat alone...so most of the time will settle for sandwiches or diet.
Cla.. which level are you at for ACCA? Heard that it is relatively easier than CA. Hubby has a few friends doing ACCA..complaining that they changed the syllabus recently and had to retake certain papers. I worked in accounts before..so know about how busy closing of accounts is. Do you intend to go apply to be a Certified Accountant once you finish with all the exams?

bbgal,
yeah...Ryan and mummy are getting more tan.. however it is good exercise for both.. now that he is not afraid of water I can do backstroke with him strapped on me as we go across the pool.. so mummy get some exercise also. Still have 7kg to lose..duh!!!

cclare
I also wished I can use the pram, then no weights on my shoulders.. but like what you said loh, need another person to help, esp with stairs.. and somemore restricted to mrt, cannot take bus..

bbgal,
MRT also need help.. they only have escalator going 1 way at most places.. therefore now if need to go out will take cab.. easier to move about..

ruffy
my gal reaching 8kg soon I think.. hope I can still carry her.. haha.. hahaha ryan so cute one.. so funny imagining him kicking all the way in the bb carrier..

the first time we went out with pram and on escalator, hubby duh lah, stood infront of me and still never help to hold the pram! scare the hell out of me.. cos really dont know what to expect of the ride! I black-faced him for very long over that... from then I havent gotten on the escalator with pram yet!

how you strapped him on you to swim???

okie okie gotta go... little rascal screaming liow.. shopping time.

My ryan also reaching 8kg. He also keep scratching pple face when we carry him. Pull my hair too.

Ruffy,
How to strap him on you and then swim?

bbgal,
agree with ruffy. It's a matter of practise. I only try to push the pram on the escalator a couple of times. First 2-3 times was quite scary. After that, I find it easy. Just need to make sure that you hold tight enough.
I always tell my hubby to keep his hands off cos I think it's better for me to manage alone. my hubby 'duck hand duck leg' make things worse.

cclare,
bb's can float on his own.. the pool that I go to on weekdays is quite empty..so won't knock into other people swimming. I just have one hand over him when he is lying on my tummy as I make my way across the pool. he likes it..as he can "move very fast" across the water.. besides that I also practice supporting him and drag him across the pool.
My hubby won't auto help with the pram he would rather carry the bb bag.. esp if we are going up and down the escalator.

I am doing 3 days per week, Mon, Wed n Fri. Has been working in this co for 3 yr n onli after my ML, that i converted to part-time so that i can spend more time w Matthew.

bbgal,
ya, am living in the west, Bukit Panjang.

ruff,
just received my result on Mon. Managed to clear 1 paper, still hv 5 more to go. hope by working part-time, i can clear the papers faster.

May go for the CPA, see how 1st.

Matthew already 8.4kg, but i still put him in the sling... is kind of heavy but more convenient. so need to take rest after a while. If go out w hubby, will put him in the pram. Troublesome to take bus/mrt w a pram alone...

Me lucky, usually is hubby in charge of pram 'cos he is stronger n more tactful w the pram, not like me, clumsy n careless. me in charge of taking all the barang barang...

There's a new thread
"Appeal for bb benefits to those born before August 2004"
Need your help to support for this appeal

cla,
yeah..for account need practice then can be more familar with it. CPA also have a lot of paper..after get accredication still must pay for the membership and go for update courses.. btw.. what is the going price for hiring a CPA accountant/ finance manager? Hubby looking around to change job to a co that has 5day work so can spend more time with Ryan. He got his CPA in 2000..is also IT/MIS trained.

ruff,
that one not sure... maybe can try out www.jobdb.com

actually i am more interested in going overseas to work, more exposure. but now w Matthew, i don think i can, unless i pass my ACCA n got an offer in the next 2 yrs...

ruff,

the salary differs widely depending on your hubby's experience and qualification. like cla say, can visit the job search websites. they usually have salary surveys.
Personally, i think these salary surveys figures are on the high side. Or mayb my pay much lower than market rate???

cla,
unless ur hubby is willing to go along with you it can be quite hard working overseas. Accounting field quite limited job openings. Have looked at jobdb already.. just want to know what is the market rate now. They say working in China is quite good for your resume.. we will see.. If hubby get a job overseas will go with him .. shouldn't be much of a problem for me to get a PT job coz can teach English/Music( piano).

cclare,
have looked at the salary survey.. but seems like he is quite "underpay". According to them ..should get about $8-10K.. heh heh..dunno what they use to base their survey on. anyway he is doing the search on his own.. hope that he gets something good by year end.

ruff,

hee hee.... glad that I'm not the only 'underpaid' one around.

I think job market is better nowadays, should have no problem getting a new job. But sometimes also depends on luck.

ruff,
in fact, my hubby also looking for opportunities. i don mind to go overseas w him, working or not... the main concern is Matthew onli. if both of us work, can put him in international school... if my hubby work onli, can be quite bored, then might as well stay in Sin... n don know if matthew can get used to it or not... haiz... so many consideration...

Hi mommies! I'm back from shopping..
went to toa payoh central..shop and collect the yellow pages.. that area not bb friendly, no nappy changing or nursing room , not even at the kiddy palace.. end up in HDB service counter area to feed and change heehee

ruffy
hey could it be that boys will feel more uncomfortable in bb carrier due to their didi?

yah! the mrt at my place always doing MAJOR uphaul to the escalator! Now doing again, only got upriding on my side! plus the gap between train and platform quite big, difficult to push in the pram. That time I used pram and took cab, the driver nearly damaged my pram as he helped me take it out and opened it.. phew...

hee hee so cute, for ryan to float on top of you.. must be very shiok for him! hahaha

cclare/cla
last time before bb's arrival, hubby said he want to carry bb while I take the diaper bag.. end up now I carry bb cos he's impatient with her, whenever she fussed outside, he'd want to go home liow! Cant shop in peace with him!

hmmm so many of us accounts trained here.
my hubby also very interested in overseas posting.. me not so keen to go overseas cos its still safest here..

just back from swimming with Ryan..heh.. he doesn't want to get out of the water after swimming and scream his lungs out when I try to bath him afterwards.. no choice.. just have to wash him with water and change him..then he is happy.
he likes to be pull along the water..like he can swim like pro.. stick the head up so confidently .
Hubby is okay taking care of the bb outside.. coz Ryan is like an "angel" outside.. will not fuss unless he is tired or dirty.
bbgal,
how often you bring your girl out shopping.. go so far toa payoh. HAve been there a few time..quite hot..so Ryan doesn't really like it.. and not bb friendly also.

ruffy
so nice that ryan is enjoying his swim
water bb ..

oh took bus there, not too long ride so still okie, but came back by mrt cos bus would be longer journey.. yah its very hot there.. hahaha it's only recent weeks that I'm beginning to bring my gal out more for shopping... cos she's more manageable at this age compared to when she was 3-4 mths.. last week went out every weekday.. hahaha bad mommy here.. neglect her development in terms of learning to crawl, speech etc.. I hope I can bring her out at least twice a week (excl weekend) ... something for me to look forward to bah..
... cos always got things to buy one
I used to run all over spore shopping when I was preg.. but now cant really do that with bb.. will only cut down on outing abt 1 wk before and after her jab, just in case she kena flu.. *touch wood*

Kiddy palace at toa payoh carries quite alot of high chair.. eyeing one of them but gotta wait for hubby to go with me.

the taka bb fair is at the "Talking Hall B1" not the taka square.. so its likely to be a small scale one.. been to one at the same place when preg and prices werent really fantastic then .. cos after buying cot and rubber mat from it, realised they were selling at the same price at other departmental stores.. only thing good was got extra bouncer if spent above $300 then
.. taka square is having interior bazaar (household) during this period.

cla,

my hubby same as yours leh! When my boy start fussing, he will say want to go home liao! There was once we are having dinner with his friends, halfway through the dinner, our boy is tired and start crying. He immediately want to go home. So paisei!
I insisted that it's ok and somehow managed to sayang him to sleep. Then we stayed for another 1 hr+.

ruff,
so envy u! your ryan can 'swim' already. I've not brought my boy for swimming yet.

bbgal,
I saw a 1st step highchair in john little last weekend. QUite good and cost only $120. But sold out, left with display set only. Sigh.... mayb i'll drop by toa payoh this weekend to take a look.

gd mrng to all march mummies here!

cclare,
i encountered that b4 also... went to fren house for gathering at Punggol. Matthew cried once we stepped in to the house, so we got no choice but bring him out to the garden nearby... then tried again, same thing... until the 3rd time, we decided that we will let him cry till he is tired or we will go home... but this time, he is ok.... maybe 'cos my frens started eating n he was attracted by the food. :p

bbgal,
do they hv promo for Nuby teats? am now using Nuby teat n they can exchange old teats for new one. went to carrefour bb fair last weekend to exchange two, wan to exchange for more... :p

we still hv not buy the high chair... thanks for the info, will go Toa Payoh to check it out.

Another restless night...Ryan woke up so often coz he turns in his sleep and got stuck on his tummy so many times.
nono.gif

evertime he got stuck will call for daddy.. so noisy.. then he woke up at 5am to play.. and stayed awake till 7am..slept only 1hr then up till now.. even though have given him a bath and fed him..he is stil not sleepy.... he has too much energy.