(2004/03) March Mummy

ruff,
wow! so many links, thanks! can try out for Matthew.

here is one receipe for banana puree.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/546643.html

bbgal,

I missed the funny faces contest. I just sent in my boy's pix for the Sep contest. The pain is gone and the colour has changed to white. Didn't see doc. All I did was express and express.

ruff, bbgal and cla,
Managed to resize my boy's pixz using photo editor but can't upload. Think there is something wrong with this server.

ruffy
yup, tsp=teaspoon. check with you, you normally finish 1 jar at 1 feeding? can scoop abit then refrigerate the rest?

cla
I always end up mixing 3-4 times more than what I give my gal! I always pour water first then cereals, maybe should try the other way, else 1 tin very fast finish liow.. hahaha

wow, really alot of websites! Thanks mommies! Hope I'm adverturous enough to try.
will select and print out those simple ones. Btw have you all try freezing the pureed fruits?

helena
good that you're ok now

what is the message you got when you try to upload the pic? did you compress the file further? cos I needed to compress the file after resizing then can upload.

bbgal,
the jar food can scoop out the portion you need then refrigerate the rest.. can keep for 3 days in the fridge.
haven't fried freezing the pureed fruit coz they suggest to put them in ice-tray to freeze them.. haven't gotten around to buy extra ice-trays yet and making fresh fruit purees yet. may try next week.
claa/bbgal
Yeah.. put the powder then the water or else will end up too watery and then you add too much powder and the portion is too big for bb to finish.

ruffy
I always very tempted to buy a jar or 2 everytime I pass by those shelves... but worry bb take sweet stuff then dont want to take milk. May start with applesauce first since I've got the recipe, will try to freeze, got the small ice tray from the bar fridge. haahaa will buy only 1 apple cos I dont really eat apples.

btw for fruits like papaya, do you buy the whole papaya from supermart? Is it safe to buy those ready cut from fruits stall?

aiyo think I'm really blur liow, before this never thought of putting cereal powder first then water ... influenced by the making of milk feed..

My mum gave me a book from Marks and Spencer and they have very good recipes.
Here's Pear Puree:

Ingre: 1 small ripe pear, 2 tbsp water

1. wash, peel, core and chop the pear. put the pear into a saucepan with the water. bring to the boil and cook for 5-8 mins, until the fruit is tender.

2. puree the pear in a blender until smooth, adding a little of the cooking water is necessary.

Good morning mommies!
Today very quiet..

Hi helena
Thanks for the recipe, think can use this method to make applesauce also.

bbgal,
I haven't tried to make applesauce cos too lazy. I have bought Gerber fruits and vegetables for my boy. He loves pear, applesauce, sweet potato. Hates carrot and prune.
Actually, my mum tried to give him a very small bit of avacado she was eating. His face had this contorted look..so funny.

helena,
titus is so cute!!!
i hv sent back to u. Pls check.

bbgal,
u can try Gerber series, no sugar added. of course best is to homemake ourselve but think the jar type is convenient if go picnic or outing.

helena
so far you only give titus from the jars? There are so many varieties at the supermart, see liow also headache.. haha... I hope I can start making the applesauce by end of this week or start next week.

cla
Gerber is mommies' choice?
seems like quite a few mommies give that. Have you tried giving Matthew? How's his response? So far I go out only give Rayna milk... cos she still can sit, quite troublesome to use spoon feed outside.

Time really flies, Rayna's 6mth next week! Another stage forward!

Have tried the jars food and find Heniz is sweeter.. for Gerber there is 1st /2nd and 3rd.. the level of potassium inside is different ..but it is not that economical to buy 1st food so I buy the 2nd food sweet potato etc.
Aiyoh.. have to lower the bb cot Ryan can reach the ribbons of all the bumpers.. and now he even pulls down the bumpers so can have a "sneak peek" at us. HE is also able to reach the top handle bar of the cot while on his tummy.. scared he pull himself up and tumble over.

ruffy
hahaha my gal was also pulling down the bumpers this morning..
partly becos the one I'm using now, ribbons are sew wide apart, will have to add on more ribbons to tie them liow. I lowered the mattress of the cot to mid level last month, dont want to worry myself sick thinking if she has the strength to pull herself out of the cot... quite impossible lah but just to be on the safe side... cos she was putting her legs over the railing then..

bbgal,
boys stronger then girls.. coz everytime we go out and eat.. no matter how heavy or big the table is Ryan can still manage to kick the table causing it to shift. When I am lying on the bed with him he can crawl over me..so I think his hands are quite strong. When he crawls he can partically support his body weight so that his legs can kick and project himself forward.. so I guess maybe in a few weeks time he may be able to crawl.

bbgal,
I have only given Titus food from jars. My mum has tried the pear puree. Anyways, she is not letting him eat too much sweet potato though it's his favourite cos it's too much carbohydrate. Already he's got cellulite!
When you first try, you give a little and check for any allergic reaction. There should be a 3 day gap between every new flavour is introduced.
My mum prefers Gerber to Heinz cos we grew up on that and also the serving is not too large.

helena,
u r welcome. Titus is so cute n chubby!

bbgal
Ooops! i think i hv gave Matthew Heniz brand instead of Gerber. I hv tried the carrot. can't really tell if he likes it. :p

ruff,
ya, u better lower ur bb cot so that Ryan won't climb over in due time!

now Matthew like to 'snake' around the house. he can onli push himself up to the 4-legged but then when he moves, he will kick himself to move, something like 'mopping' the floor w his tummy. seem like he is going to crawl soon...

ruffy
hee.. your boy really quite strong! Can even crawl over you?! wow!
btw what do you do with him at home? I'm finding it boring at home liow.. dont know what to do with rayna.. sometimes read stories, let her play on tummy, flashcards, watch tv, she watches me do housework.. all these dont really last very long.. quite sian..

helena
I like titus' blur blur look!
His eyes are really big, so nice! He looks quite big size, is he very tall?

sweet potato will cause wind right? so dont give too much. oh I didnt know that Gerber has been ard for so long, thought they just came up in the last decade of so. heehee.. thanks so much for the advices... I must remember to try new fruits one at a time.

cla
heard that heinz and gerber are the only two brands without sugar added...

boys seems faster.. my gal still cant really crawl yet.. moving on tummy very slowly and gets frustrated very easily.. do babies learn by themselves how to 'get up' on all fours? Or do we have to show them how to do it? think my gal is still not as strong yet. hee hee

Cla,
Titus has cellulite just like mummy! ;)

bbgal,
Yeah, sweet potato will cause wind. My mum ate up what he couldn't finish and she had wind. Gerber is a long established brand. Somewhat I always associate Heinz with ketchup. The last we measured him, he was 70cm. That was 3weeks ago, I think.

Hi Helena,
Titus is long.. v cute pics. Ryan is only about 68cm. Oh if you are giving jar food I will advice against the carrot coz it is very staining on the feeding utensils.. very hard to wash off. It also stains the nipples when I give him water after eating the carrot. Ryan loves the carrot.. actually he eats everything...however..these few weeks he doesn't really like to eat cereal.

bbgal,
At home quite sian also lah. let him crawl around monitor him , feed him, play with him. read to him, flash cards, in the evening go for walk in the park..almost daily. we go swiming twice a week..so can kill time hehe.
I have PT that helps with the housework..so don't really need to do too much housework. in the afternoon he can sleep for 1-2hrs depends whether you sleep with him. play tamborine, listen to music. Hubby just took back the car.. or else normally put him in the car and we go shopping..

Just lowered Ryan's bb cot.. hubby say next year will get him his own bed..hopefully he will be able to sleep through the night then.
Ryan can do the "dog stand" and push himself forward.. now take about 15min to get from one side of the bed to another. If there is distractors he will turn left or right to the toy instead of going straight..can move backwards also if encounter obstacle.

ruff,
Actually sweet potato also stains the spoon. Titus doesn't quite like cereal. Still loves breastmilk best. Actually the first cereal; we gave him was Dumex. I realised that it gets thicker as time passes, unlike Heinz cereal which gets watery. The Heinz one is bland but we mix with sweet potato and applesauce.
Now Titus sleeps through the night. Even if he doesn't, I'm not affected cos my mum will get up to attend to him cos I have to go to work the next day. If my husband is back for holiday, he takes over.
In a way, I'm very blessed to have my mum and husband who are so understanding.

I'm waiting to go home. Half an hour more. 75% of my department is gone. Apparently they are all not feeling well. And so coincidentally today when the boss is away on her industrial attachment. Oh well....

Helena,
your hubby works overseas? My mum doesn't stay with me .. even if she did she still works ..so have to take care of Ryan myself 24hrs. quite tiring and boring also. Recently he is more irritable..I guess coz it is hotter these few days. so try my best to occupy him.

ruffy
last week shopped whole week, this week quite sian to go out cos rayna seems to be getting heavier, quite tiring to carry her in the bb carrier... also run out of place to go out.. hahaha.. nothing much to see near my place also, mainly those hardware shops (wu3 jin1 dian4). My gal doesnt really appreciate music.. on the CD for her but she doesnt seem to be listening.. haha

helena
wah your department so flexible, can go off so early??? no govt huh..ahaha

Titus very tall!
Your mom so good, help you take care of him at night. Night time is toughest for us, have to take turns to keep her awake till the last feed...

I just bought apples, hopefully can make the applesauce tonight.

ruff,
My husband is doing his PhD overseas on scholarship. We're not rich, so I can't afford to go along. Also, I got this job last July so better keep my rice bowl. Actually I am staying with my mum cos my flat not ready and it's more convenient for her since she's taking care of Titus.

bbgal,
Well, my immediate boss was away today. So was the mentor, so everyone turned wild. My boss' bosses are based elsewere and the other depts have their own things to mind. Of course people talk when some from my side leave early. Think there are spies around. My dept is small. Including the boss, we're only 7 people big.
Actually my old boss (who got transferred) is more "no govt".

helena
how long will your hubby be away for his phd? It's really very tough to look after a kid alone, really a blessing that your mom can help!

hahaha.. spies ard? I like small dept, ppl are usually closer in small dept.. last time my dept also very small, and I still keep in contact with my ex-colleagues.. nice ppl

guess what? I burnt my apple!!! just walk away to check my email and it got burnt!
next time must really watch over it... I'm just not good at cooking!

bbgal,
maybe you can get a timer so that you know that the food is cook. My hubby is the better cook at home..so if possible will leave the cooking to him hehe.

bbgal,
My husband will be away for another 2.5 years. Though my dept is small, we're not close. In fact, we have closer friends from other depts.

Gd late morning to all March Mummies.

helena,
that's a very long time, by then Titus will be 3 yrs old... ya, i agree w ruff that is tough to take care of the bb urself. my hubby was away for 2 days biz trip, i already a bit 'bua ta han'.

ruff,
gd idea for the timer! me never thought of using a timer to cook. but i alway standby the stove till the food is ready. :p

same here, hubby is a better cook at home. But we tends to explore from receipe book together and hv a lot of fun. that's also a kind of bonding for us.

Got a receipe on Banana for 4-6 mth old bb, maybe mummies can try out.

Banana and Milk Paste

Ingredients:
1/2 banana
2 tbsps natural yogurt
1 egg
milk
pinch of carrot

Method:
1. Poach egg, remove and immerse in cold water. Shell. Mash 1/4 egg yolk.
2. Peel and mash banana with a fork
3. Peel and cook carrot in boiling water. Grate into puree.
4. Blend egg yolk, banana and carrot in yogurt. Add milk, mix to batter consistency.

cla,
thanks for recepie.. however will wait awhile to try it out as now..cannot buy eggs heheh. also don't know when the ban will lift so don't want to take chance..bought some pears yesterday may try to make pear puree if there is enough time today..Ryan not sleeping much..work up since 5am practicing his crawl in his cot..can move about on all 4 without stomach touching the bed. only slept for 20 min just now.. dunno how he has so much energy
talker.gif

cla,
all these "chinese old man" thinking only take action after forced to deliberate issue.. hope that a lot of women will protest and force them to ammend the 1st aug date.

hi mommies
so sad, if only they can extend to those born in this year lah! was hoping they can give something to SAHM.. but guess there's nothing..

ruffy
If I get the timer, sure kena suan by hubby one.. hahaha.. hubby also better cook then me.. but so far he only cooked maggie mee, japanese mee and spaghetti... taste better than if I cook
cos he's more generous with the condiments... so more tasty

helena
2.5 yrs really very long.. then he'll miss out alot on bb's progress.. you can try to take more pics of bb's first times and send him..
I always take digital photos then email 1 or 2 photos to hubby at work, kinda like greetings from his gal..
best are those funny poses..

I thought bb can only try egg yolk from 9mths? heee quite alot of ingredients in the banana recipe, gotta try each one on its own first then can use it..

cla
angry hor, we so 'obedient' give birth early and increase population but no 'rewards' from them.. haiz... still best to kao4 zhi4 ji3 then rely on govt..

bbgal,
egg yolk is ok but not egg white. that's what the nurse told me also when i brought Matthew to polyclinic for checkup.

precisely!!! that's y i wan to write in to appeal for extension to our bb... :p

ruff,
actually birth rate has been problem for long time n yet they onli take action this yr... was thinking that they wan us to be happy w the new PM for giving so many incentive, that's y delay until now.

they shd at least give something to those who give birth in spite of the bad economy...

yeah.. want the new PM to look good. GOvt give "little" take "a lot" in other taxes. Those yet to give birth this year.. "earn" a lot
BBgal,
hubby is better cook.. no instant noodles/spagetti.. have chawamushi, bird nest soup, pineapple fried rice etc etc. I normally cook mapodou fu rice, spagetti, tempura, salad..not much variety.

helena,
sad to tell... yes!
Govt is collect tax from us to give to those who give birth later...

Don't you all agree that the govt should implement the incentives ONLY 9 months after their announcement cos pple who give birth on or after 1 Aug are just plain LUCKY!! They were not in any way encouraged by the govt's efforts to have bbs.

helena,
yeah.. we are not so lucky.. but lucky in other sense that our bb's are well and thriving.. just hope that they make more places more child friendly.. then would be better like in europe.

hahaha... you gals very funny leh.. but think its quite unfair to those born this year but before 1 aug... its like born before this are not bonus bb, while born after this are bonus bb.. so sad.. but of course, our bb are bonus to us already!

ruffy
I tried making chawanmushi before but as usual not very successful... and end up only knew then that hubby doesnt like to eat that after I made 2 cups! He eats with me everytime we go jap restaurant! Told me just 'entertaining' me!

cla
heeee.. wondering if we can give whole egg at one go after 1 yr old? Or is it safer to give yolk, ok then try white???

helena
actually they already 'announced' beginning this year that couples can fang4 xin1 go conceive beginning of the year cos 9 mths later, their bb should be in time to be entitled to the bonus.

I just made the applesauce, wow took 1hr! It was very tedious to mash the apple using those plastic/nylon sieve... use alot of strength.. maybe should have cook longer... used 1 small apple and just nice, feed 1 tablespoon and freeze 1 small ice cube tray.
may get those stainless steel sieve, maybe will be easier.

bbgal,
I suggest that you get a blender.. I used it to make the applesauce for Ryan last time..take only 10min.. bought the blender from OG..it is small ...just nice for 1-2 feeds/ abt $60.. can do wet/dry foods...can make milkshakes/fruit juice etc.. just a bit lazy to use it these few days as Ryan doesn't like the noise of the blender..
Hubby likes japanese food.. so if there is time will make sushi/ terriyaki/ udon noodles etc.. he can make the chawamushi himself.. coz I;m not good at using the steamer.. Ryan's been screaming the whole day..tired of him already.. hope that hubby come home early..then can hand him over to him hehe.
He only slept for 2hr the whole day ..such a nice weather..still can't get him to sleep a bit longer.. duh!!!