(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Isabella,
I'll see what I can dig out from another forum. Unfortunately, it is down these few days. Will PM u if I can find anything on a later date.

Perhaps u can try KKH again?

Hi Isabella .. u sure can get polyclinic to refer to KKH. the wait at CDU at KKH can be 9 months long ... the queue at NUS is shorted. i brought my older son for assessment before when he wasnt speaking much at 2 yrs old.

actually in what way do u feel that your son is slow? Eg? I do find it's pre-maturely too earlier to have tuition for kids so young, and it may make them lose interest in their learning.

.ky.

ky
DS is slow in many things. He can't read independantly, and is still stuttering when talking. Can't colour well.. But he can write English words quite neatly. As for chinese, it's not good... It's like.. He's lagging behind peers his age.. And that really worries me.. Cos I know promary school standard nowadays are much higher than my time.. If he can't do well in kindergarten, I'm afraid he might lag behind even more when he's in primary school..

I know too much of something will cause adverse effect. But if he carry on lagging behind his peers, I'm sure he'll be pressured by teacher in school to do better.. that will also give him stress and cause negative effect on him... I'm trying to fnd a a balance point... Just like the theory of 'flying kite'.

Sorry that I blabber so much.. I'm just worried.. *sigh*

Isabella

Chinese ... do visit Berries. this is my personal experience ... I'm very good in chinese (more so in english) and I always thot I need not send my kids to chinese lessons. However, I started on the wrong foot by speaking to them in english, and hence the chinese is so-so. I tried out home-based lesson and see my son does better with the teacher than with me. Eventually I send him to Berries as I wanted to give him a fun-filled environment. I no longer worry about chinese like before ... he loves the lessons btw.

For Reading, perhaps you can try "I Can Read". I've not personally use the programe or the school but I think they do provide free assessment and tell you if your kid is indeed weaker in certain areas. My son had problems breaking up a word into parts (syllabus) ... I tried for quite long and suddenly he got it. Must be something I did or do that he finally realize. Your son may not have understood the concept. Another one that I know that does free assessment (more for level placement) is Zoophonics.

Stuttering : Is that frequent? Or when he gets anxious? We saw a speech therapist through KKH via Polyclinics referal before (the one I said earlier). It's quite fast if you don't opt for CDU. Polyclinic --> PD @ KKH --> Speech Therapist + ENT specialist (that's our route) and we got to see the ST within 2-3 weeks (I think)

Colouring : Practise more on colouring (fat big crayon, magic pens, try the Crayola series), also get him to work with small items (picking and transferring beads from 1 bowl to another, pouring water to a cup and not spill, for eg). These are practical life items in Montessori.

If you are really concern, one quick thing u can seek help is to get him test in IQ. We attend a total brain school that the teacher does do IQ tests (there are more than 20 types), but she does it rather affordably for students ...

.ky.

Ky
May I know where is the place that do IQ test at affordable price??? I know there's one clinic at Mt Elizabeth that do IQ test, but the price is a killer!~

I'll be going w Jx to FITKIDZ by Fitness First at AMK library. Any1 else interested?
The session for 5-10yokids & their moms.
AMK Library, 17 Jan, 2.30pm-3pm

Need to register at http://golibrary.nlb.gov.sg (do a keyword search "Fitkidz" to get to right page).
Hope to see some of u there!
cheers!

Mommies, interested?

Thomson Junior Angels Club
Private Stargazing Session At the Observatory

View the night sky, be amazed by the scale of the solar system, constellations, nebulae and galaxies.

Find out interesting facts about the Sun, Earth, Moon & the other planets in the solar system. Learn more about
Eclipse & natural phenomena through a series of demonstrations.

Especially for Junior Angels Club members, we have booked the whole observatory for you and family so you can enjoy the night out
Together without jostling with the crowds.

Date : Thursday 19th February 2009
Time : 8pm - 10pm
Venue : Observatory at Science Centre - Jurong East
Fees : $15.00/participant (JAC member & family)
$20.00/participant (Non JAC member & family)
Free for children below 2 years old.
(Inclusive of : Entrance fees & Special goodie bag for children & refreshments)

Programmes : Interactive Astronomy Talk
1 hour & 20 minutes of Star Gazing Session

Closing date : 30th January 2009

By Email [email protected] or

Download online form at www.thomsonmedical.com/junior_angel.htm

Hope to see you there!
Limited seats available, so book yours early!

hi mummies, i need advise...how do you teach your K2 kids spelling?
my boi is K2 this yr but he simply just refuse to learn spelling. after he learn the 2nd word he will forget the 1st word. when ask him to learn spelling he will say want to sleep or he will start crying.

appreciate your advise. thks.

Hi Jasmine,
Usually I let Jx learn only 1 word per day verbally & only test him all of them in writing 1-2 days b4 the actual test. This year he has 5 words per week on top of chinese ting xie.

If it's a long word like "environment", i will help him break it into smaller chunks & make them sounds like cheers.

Hi jasmine,
maybe you can let him write out the same words a few times, just like practicing writing... hope from there he will be able to remember the words.

thanks mummies for ur advice.

im now test him 1 word per day and after given him the 2nd word, i will test him the 1st word again. seems to be working on him. he does not need to learn 5 words at the same time.

hi, i'm looking for a good maid to take care of my 4 yr old... pls PM me if any of u letting go of your maids. tks.

Hi Nobel, welcome. but seems this link been quiet for a while liao.. So your child gg P1 next yr? Which school you considering?

hi natellehcim

yeah, you r right. I have been on this portal for days trying to comb as much as possible. So much to absorb. She will join my older girl in TNS. How about your duos?

Anyone has Ascension Kidnergarten boy size 6 uniform of green gym attire to give away or exchange. Please PM me if you have. Thanks

i've jus join in n wld like to know if anyone can recommend sme fun places for tis jun holidays. my kids r 6YO n 4YO.

we hav been to those mre common places like sentosa, farm visits even sheltered/indoor playgrd @ turf city. jus been to e waterplay area at marina barrage tis evening as well.

My eldest also in K2. going to P1 next year.

Anyone one know about North Vista Primary. Saw from MOE website that this is a resource school. not sure if it is suitable for dylexia child?

hi all mummies :

need to get some advice here....
i have a 6 years girl. i find she is not focus and have short concentration, from the feedback from teacher, she cant concentration in classroom, teacher need to call her name often to draw back her attention...

i find that her mind is all about TV and computer game, when she wakes up in the morning, first thing she do is to play computer games before she off to school.

i have execute some discipline on this area but its not strict.

any other reasons other than too addicted to Tv for her low concentration

can share on what are things normally your child occupied after school time, i always remind her to read books and do some drawing, but after short while, she will turn to Tv...

Yasmine,
how about the cold turkey method, take the plug off and completely deprive her from tv? you have to reason with her, like she has to do how many pages of writing or reading or puzzles etc then be awarded to 1 hour of tv. have to be strict!

i heard from other mummies that taking pure DHA can help to boost up the concentration span. you may also want to consider that.

we are planning a trip to Genting and KL. We have intended to go to Genting by WTS 18 seater Coach as the airport limo is really expensive. However, we are in a debate whether to take Air Asia (LCCT) or a luxury coach (e.g., Aeroline or Transtar, Odyssey) back to Singapore.

Husband is quite against coming back to Singapore by coach as he says that the return journey takes longer (e.g., 6-7 hours). Can mummies advise if it is true?

On the other hand, I have read that LCCT is quite crowded with little seats for passengers. In addition, Air Asia does cancel flights at short notice. I think that if we take a flight back it would take us 4hrs, this including taxi to LCCT, checkin time, boarding time, arrival and baggage collection.

Would appreciate any advise.

btw, any kids going to Bukit View Pri next year?

Because of my 6 yrs old son, I have personally spending times exploring 3G Abacus & Traditional Abacus.

After completing the 3G ABACUS instructor course, I have applied the methods to teach my son. It is very simple & easy to understand. As such, he has shown more interest in mathematics than before.

I am planning to let him take part in the INTERNATIONAL Grading Exam this coming DEC 09. If possible, I will let him take part in year 2009 competition.

Currently, I am teaching kids & parents the 3G Abacus.
If you are interested in 3G ABACUS, please email me.

I'm new to born in 2003 site. I've already been at Jan2008

I have a 6 yr old gal and a 2 yr old boy. I've recently registered my gal to Jing Shan Primary Sch ... But I heard the review of that sch is not so good leh... anybody have any feedback of this school ?

Hi Chaye,
So you are staying in AMK. Me had heard of this school, because my niece n nephew from this school. Nephew graduated and in Sec 3 now.. niece is in P6. I've heard from my SIL that after their change of principal, the school don't seem to be 'good' liao..

HI natelle

Current principal is Ms Azizah I think. She has been there coming 5 years le... Y ? last time very jia lat ah ? :p They told me their last yr's PSLE passing rate is only 93% leh... I was like shock lor.. cos the rest of Mayflower and Anderson is 98% and 100% respectively...

I'm staying just opp this Jing Shan so if I want to get my gal into Anderson or Mayflower she definitely need a sch bus and hb is not very supportive of this

How's your niece doing in this sch ? Are u staying amk too ?

frankly i'm not too sure about this sch.. the way I observe my niece and nephew like normal neighbourhood sch nia leh... my nephew is in Normal stream for Secondary. Niece is taking PSLE this year, but I did not hear alot of 'tuition' she need to attend in school le. On the other hand, I've heard other schools are provide quite lot of tuition for their PSLE kids. I had another niece in Mayflower pri, and my sis was complaining to me so so nia leh. She's in P3 this year. I believe most neighbourhood schools are almost the same bah.. my son is also in a neighbourhood sch but not in AMK area. In Sembawang area. My girl is his sch for P1 next yr too.

That's the problem wif some neighbourhood lor... sigh... I hope my gal can get a place in Anderson... my nieces used to be from there and both my sis say tis sch is good. But too bad... i stay more than 2km from this sch and now on waiting list

Yes ! Townsville is another good school ! Teck Ghee is so so nia... but these 2 r even further from me... Townsville cant get in le...

hmm.. how abt AMK pri? Heard AMK is more prefered than mayflower, although both quite nearby. My in law used to stay near where Teck Ghee is now.. tat place used to be Townsville. If my kids continue to stay with them there, probably i hv to put him Teck Ghee, that's the nearest... maybe you have to see how's the waitlisting loh.. otherwsie stay put w Jing Shan and see how's her results and can use it to go into other school of you choice. Can consider St Nic, since if you don't mind school bus svc

The reason y I put her in a mixed sch is bcos my #2 is a boy lor... I dun wan to go thru the hassle of registration stress again :p

AMK is preferred than Mayflower meh ??!!

ya you go to MOE's website and look at the take up rate of the school for this year, you will know. that year, my sister put her girl in Mayflower bec she does not want to go thru the hassle of balloting for AMK. her girl is a dragon kid, hence no of kids registering is super high

Yalor... very stress one leh... tat's y I reg at Jing Shan first lor :p

This forum like not v active hor