(2002) Any 2002 babies?

my ds is in the Sembawang branch. so far so good.

had received info about this workshop too, still pondering whether to sign up or not :p

Now CNY is coming to an end..so I guess it is now to pick up the study momentum liao..
Just manage to revise a bit of science with my gal..and realise that the school already covering 3 topics - classification, living things/non living things and plants. I only started on the first topic today..hope to catch up as much as possible..

I sent my gals to optical shop today and was sad to know that both of them need glasses esp P2 gal..her myopia shot from 75 to 250/300...I shd hv brought her to the optician earlier.

Can I check if any of yr kids taking myovision or myopilux lens? Any comments or feedback?

bebe75,
my ds also shot from 75 to 250/300..so suddenly.
I was not sure if i let him played computer too much during the school holiday but now we total be more strict with him for the time to spend on computer.

erm...just to double check, who is SAHM here?
Me.
bebe75.
yawnyawn.
anymore?

do you mummies (SAHM) bring food to school when your kids need to stay back?

yawnyawn,
my boy requests that for those days that he needs to stay in school, he wants me to go 'lunch' with him to boost his morale. -__-"

fz - I asked my gal to eat her lunch in the canteen..but several times she skipped her lunch and recess cos "long queue" "dunno what to eat"..Hence she survived the whole day (from morning bf 530am until 330pm) solely by drinking water. I hv no alternative but to pack simple snack in her bag. Usu dry snacks that can sustain longer hour such as UHT milk, sandwich, biscuit, cereal.

i am about to post for suggestions on quick and easy recipe for kids' packed lunch and fz asked the same questions..only diff is I am a FTWM...hahaha

mk - last time I tried to act smart..prepare rice sushi..rice balls, burger, nuggets..like those Jap bento set. But my gals do not like it..they said the food does not taste nice in the afternoon. Waste all my effort. So now the safest bet is sandwich and cereal plus a packet of UHT milk.

On those days where they need to stay back in school and eat canteen food/packed lunch, I will try to cook nutritious dinner to make it up. Eg more vegs and meat. Last year, I will top it up with multivit..this year, I prob gonna cut down on multivit, as I wanna them to eat variety of food, esp Fish. Kept telling my P3 gal that she is growing and need many kinds of food to turn her into pretty gal..otherwise she will get lots of acnes and freckles.

BP - I sent my gals to optical shop the other day..in the end, the optician prescribed normal lens for my P3 gal (abt 75/100 degree) and the myovision lens for my P2 gals (abt 255 degree).
We will hv to go back for review 3 mths later to check their eyesights.
Their glasses cost me $550+...wiped all their angbao $$

Hi mummies, my dd had perfect eyesight in P1. Seldom watch TV but was ask to go for an optician during her P2 eye check but i have not visited any optician yet. Any good recommendation?

Bebe75, wow $550+ so expensive wo...

Oh, can help me solve a P3 math question?

There are twice as many girls as boys in the hall. When 62 girls left and 19 boys entered the hall. There are thrice as many boys as girls and if the total children is 80 in the end.

What is the total no. of children at first?

Using model format, i just couldn't get the answer.

Thank you in advance.

Hi Valerie,
you work backwards... 80 in the end boys having 3 times more than girl. Using model you will have 3 parts of boys and 1 part girl, meaning 4 parts = 80, 1 part (girl) will be 20.

62 girls left earlier leaving 20girls, so initially there are 82 girls.

Initially girls is twice more than the boys, so boys initial is 82/2 = 41

thus total no of students initally is 82+41 = 123

hopefully i got it correct.

Hi Valerie, this is my answer:
Total 80 kids, 3 times boys to gals, hence there is 20 gals in the end and 60 boys.

60-19 = 41 boys in the hall initially.
2 x 41 = 82 gals in the hall initially.
Therefore, there are total (41+82 = 123) students initially.

Hi Nat, yes. Homework given by teacher.

Hi Tiffany, can explain on how to draw the model you mentioned as her teacher did tell them to use model to solve the sum. Thanks.

My dd just told me she could not see the words written by red marker on the white board and those typed written words using the projector.

Do you think that the white board and the projector is partly to be blamed as she had perfect eye sight in P1 sigh....

wah..this is a tough P3 questions. -__-"

i think reading has to blame for all the failure in eyesight. while the kids are all required to read during silent reading in the morning, i wonder how conducive is the lighting in the school hall for reading...

Hi Valerie
Didn't notice my ds hv such qn for maths...Think u can use drawing of models that explain the 3 parts boys n 1part girl... Is a kind of division n multiplication model which the kids were taught.

Hi Valerie
Didn't notice my ds hv such qn for maths...Think u can use drawing of models that explain the 3 parts boys n 1part girl... Is a kind of division n multiplication model which the kids were taught.

last friday, my boy took back a homework consists of a passage; he was supposed to circle all 'prepositions'. naturally, i did not know what is that at all. my boy is equally blur. this is not the first time with this type of worksheets. a few weeks back, it is to circle 'verbs'. for learning english, is it necessary to know what is a verb, adverb, preposition?

FZ
I also noted that beginning of this term, my P3 gal has to know what is verb, adjective. I thought they shd start this from P1 instead?

RE: SPECS
Talking abt short-sightedness, dd1 also needs to start wearing specs after school healthcheck this yr. She has perfect eye sight in p1 & p2. I am a bit sad. While knowing this inevitable, i have been hoping that she only starts wearing specs in upper pri.

RE: CA1
Ca1 is round the corner again. While we have been through this for past 2 yrs, how are mummies coping with the preparation now tt there is an extra subject, science?

Re: CA1

bebe75,
yes. i agree that they should start in P1. my concern now is that is it important to know how to differentiate all these. don't remember that we learn our english this year. with this, not sure how i can teach him.

cookiepie,
i am focusing on CL (which is his weakest) and Science for now. English and Math still have some 'buffer marks' as I lower my expectations this year. no paper 1 for this upcoming test is also a bonus.
look on the bright side. we still need to reserve our energy for PSLE!

cookiepies

Yes..I also very gek sim that both my gals hv to wear specs at such young age. Though I know it is inevitable since both myself and hubby are myopia..but I was harbouring hope that the kids get to wear glasses in P5 or P6..

CA1
This year, there is no CA1, but there will be SA1. The timetable is out...really running out of time. I hv not even started on comprehension with them.

This year, I am so lax and laid back with them..prob shd come out with my own CA1 at home to gauge their standards.

Flu bug
The whole family except hubby is down with flu - running nose, cough, sore throat, fever since the end of CNY. Hiaz..so mummies and kids out there, pls take care..drink lots of water.

Hi there, had been reading silently, and yes, I do agree that P3 is a lot of difference from P1 and P2 huh? Do you find your kids getting more mistakes compared to P1 and P2? Some of the Math sums do stump me as well, and for Science, I have to learn my Science all over again! Luckily, my dd's Science is not counted into the final exams component this year for next year's streaming.

Bebe75: I am impressed by your dd's use of 成语 in her Chinese compo - I am finding it hard to teach her to write Chinese compos!

fz: For verbs, nouns and adverbs, they have to master these terms by P2...I think now they have to start polishing up their comprehensions in English (which needs a lot of deduction and logical thinking) and compos...

Can't imagine how PSLE will be like!!

Fz, bebe75, natellehcim,
I've told dd1 that she's on her own for ca1. She has to own the study process & results, be it good or bad. Had initially wanted to coach her a bit in chinese & science but dd2 came down with chicken pox, so i'm kinda tied up with caring for her. Finally decide that this shall be the time dd1 learn to be independent. Also told her tt if she doesn't do well in her tests, teacher will invite daddy & mummy to school to " la kopi". Also hoping that dd1 doesn't catch the pox fm dd2.

Hi cookiepie, chicken pox is not easy mann.... hopefully your dd1 don't catch it. Give them more cooling water. I gave my kids the chickenpox jabs when they were young, not sure if it's of help.

Initially i was like you too, let my ds run his own show, thinking he is old enough to do it. However, kids still being kids... and due to the time adjustment (fm PM session now change to AM), I somehow feel that he is still not able to settle down. Being FTWM, I am not able to eye on him after his sch, resulting in him getting more lax, like watching TV whenever no homework (he does not always have homework, except need to stay late in school on certain days). So now resulted in him being very off-focus and lazy... haiz... boh bian, I have to try to start his engine liao, seeing that his coming CA does carry marks in his whole yr assessment. But I don't know how to get started...

Hi Nathellecim,
Just to tell you that even chicken pox injection is given it is not guarantee that the kids will not get it.

My younger daughter got it when she is in child care centre even with the injection. It is just that for her it is only mild.

For my son, this year is different as he has CA1 coming at the end of this month.
Both languages do have paper 1.
I am very kiasu as I started asking him to memorise some of the description of the weather from the creative writing class that he attend.

For chinese, he does use 成语 as the chinese enrichment class he attended requires him to do that, except that he tends to forget how to write certain chinese character.

For this year, my son keeps complaining that the teachers teach too fast. Keeps asking why they need to go at such a fast pace.

For his class and the other class, the students need to stay back for 2 days. for Chinese and Mathematics.
I persume science enrichment class is also on the way.

It's really a tough year. Hopefully all the kids are able to manage well.

CA 1
My son will be having his CA1 this week. I have not had much time to coach him as compared to the previous years.

He has been quite lazy these days. I kept nagging and asking him to study. I am more worried about his CA1 than him. *haiz*

bebe75 - Can TCM help to improve their eyesight? I heard usually poor eyesight can be due to certain blockage at the "xue wei" by doing constant massaging and eating the chinese medicine can help.

Natellehcim, Yen Ling,
CA1 contributes 10% towards the final yr-end score in dd1's school. She only has paper1 for english. Her school has not started writing chinese compo yet. I can see the dip in her chinese this yr as the 词汇 gets more difficult.

Natellehcim,
I agree that we have to give our kids a push here and there once in a while to get them motivated. About my decision to let dd1 owning her study process and results, it's the results of her rebellious behaviour. I know (for sure) that her ca1 results will dip once I leave it to her.... but I want her to face the consequences now (instead of at higher levels)...she's been complaining that I'm naggy, always "forcing" her to do this assessment, study that spelling/tingxie, don't let her play ipad etc ...I picture if I continue to spoon feed her, she will continue to take it that she is studying for my sake & never feel responsible for her own success/failure ... with her getting rebellious each day wonder how far I can continue to push her without affecting our relationship...if she needs to learn things the hard way, learn it now......the dilemma of a mother

Hi Yen Ling,
ya hopefully the injections will help them in a way.

My ds also have paper 1 for his CA but I have yet gotten him touch on any phrases on Eng & Chinese, although I've bought some books. His CA starts on 1 Mar and will last for about 6-7 days.

Ya, avriff, seems like we are more anxious than our kids about their CA. Last 2 yrs my kids had CAs too but I don't seem to kan cheong due to marks are not acurred into their yr end results. I only used them as a guage jugde their capability. But this time round seems different.

Hi cookiepie, ya kids will always find mummies naggy hor.... i used his recent class tests results to let him know about his own consequences abt his laziness and carelessness. Since P1 I've been telling him that he is studying for his own sake and not for me... i've told him the ball is in his hand... how he play it will end him to where he is. So i hope he can get the message right.

Jolene

my dd CC chinese compo homework, she started writing on Sat morning. 3 hours dilly dally not done. Continue after tea break, still not done. Continue on Sunday with me threatening to tear up her compo (I super fed up nagging her). She finally completed it at dinner time. Still dare to declare proudly to me that she wrote a lenghty compo. I told her with the amount of time she spent, I could have written 30 pages !

YenLing, ur son from which sch, sounded quite competitive.

CA1: My DS CA1 will commence on the 1st week of sch. Think I will be focusing on Chinese and Math. Both subject my son is rather weak.

Avrif, same here. I am sick of nagging at my DS to ask him to move his butt to complete his sch work.

Dis u all send the kids to creative writing class? If not how to u coach ur kid? Currently, I am clueless where to start to help him.

justjazz

I'm withdrawing dd from Chinese creative writing class. I think abit too difficult for her. She's obviously struggling.

Also withdrawn her from English enrichment recently. Didn't see much result. Teacher just ask her to memorise model essay, I don't like this leh. Need to look for new Engish creative writing class for her

my ds is with Learning Point (for english writing) since K1, so far he is enjoying it. But I do not seem to see him applying on what he had learn for his school's writing. Maybe different requirement and standard bah.

seem like this year is a real test.
i can see my boy's performance for CL dropping too as the cloze passage, compre and vocab gets tougher. luckily he is still doing fine for his math, but i have to take into account that his school is not teaching 'tough' models yet.

yawnyawn,
RE Creative writing
my boy can also use 3hrs on a pc of CL creative writing; and yet he gave me only 1 pg of 3-4 para of basic stuff. i ever tore up his compo before. that was his EL compo; which after 2 hrs and he gave me basic stuff that did not hit the minimum word count.

natellecim,
my boy attended berries and they have adhoc CL compo writing; i do not see him applying what he learned too.

RE Nagging
my boy does not mind me nagging. he just don't listen. Just last week, I refused to revise his spelling with him the day before spelling because he learned it at the last minute. I had already told him numerous times to learn it earlier and test himself earlier before approaching me for a second/final revision before the spelling day. He chose to revise his spelling at 9pm the day before. I can vomit blood.

hi fz,
I didn't notice any cloze passage for my ds CL yet. Surprise to hear that your ds having it. For compo, i'm not sure how he fare because I did not get to see his work. But think last year their P2 CL dept had done quite a pretty job for boosting them with many creative phrases for compo in the 2nd part of year... Think they will apply it for this compo this year.

For EL compo, think is still those picture types I believe. As for Maths, due to figures getting bigger (10,000) I can see more careless mistakes coming up from the simple calculations, esp with long figures.

For Science, I think is still more like textbook based

Good day to all! Seems like we r all stressing out over our kids and their CAs, but the kiddos r just living it out like usual

At the start of this year, I told dd that I'm not going to "run the show" for her anymore. I need her to own the study process. Apart from doing her daily homework (she does it diligently only becos she's scared of her teachers), she does absolutely nothing more. I am prepared to see her grades going south, just to send the message across.

But hor, what if she still don't get the message after this? Does it mean I hv to go back to our old study method ie, watching over her like a hawk??? My dd is the non-competitive sort. To her, come what may, she's not bothered. Mummies, can u share your methods of teaching, especially in languages? My dd's chinese is hopeless. Absolutely clueless with her 作文.

Yawn,
any plans to try "the Alternative story"?

Linette - I think P3 requires some analytical skills for their maths problem. Sometimes I dunno if my gal really dunno or if she is too lazy to think further. I told her no more 1, 2 steps method liao..some problems need 3 steps or more than 1 model and she must be able to solve them herselves.

Chinese compo - so far I only see her doing one compo at home..but I have not seen how the teacher marked her compo. The 成语 is one of those helping words given...but I am still impressed that she knows how to apply them..considering that we hardly use those proverbs/ phrases/idoms in our daily life. I guess the teachers must have exposed these phrases to them in classes.

I read her 知识画报 ..not easy leh..esp the compre parts. This year, I hv tried to make her to read up more on Chinese books..including my P2 gals. Even myself also trying hard to borrow at least one Chinese book when I visited the Library. I believe that if they see me reading Chinese books..they would try and and pick up one and read themselves. My P2 gal is now reading this Chinese author 杨红婴 whose stories are very captivating. I bought the CD and book version.

Attitudes - now my gals also like to give me attitudes problem. I also dunwan to scold and scold, but sometimes really cannot tahan. They are so full of pride..refused to listen, and yet can act silly. Fortunately, this year they have not been watching too much TV, except on days when the granny is here. When they are not watching TVs, I told them to read stories books or magazines. No ipad and computer games - these are only for holidays. My Pils said I am too ngiao..but they dun understand. I need to instill the disciplines and responsibilities..if I dun do it now..then wait till P5,P6 - too late liao leh..

Creative writing - this year, I am not too "on"..I think I have accepted the fact that creative writings are not meant for all kids. My P3 gal is in Mindstretcher and they draft, correct, copy, recopy those model compo. Though I do not like this method, but I can see some positive results..my gal is able to "reproduce" some "interesting phrases" in her school work. So long she can produce a decent piece..I am quite contended liao. But sometimes when I see her own journals..she still writes like no head, no tails, bad grammar, wrong sentence structure etc...I also gave up.

As for Maths, mind stretcher taught a topic ahead, and so I think my P3 gal can cope better in school. Now i need to train her on speed and accuracy. I find that she lacks the time to practise. Actually, also quite tough on her. She is staying back in school twice per week, goes swimming on one of the weekdays. Weekend..she has tuition and music. Now got daily homeworks, and have to learn weekly dictation and spelling for both chinese and English...really no spare time to do extra assessments.

Science - I really hv no ideas what to do with Science. I told my P3 gal, that she will see me flipping the back of the assessment books to see the model answer. I admitted to her that I myself is clueless how to answer in scientific and correct way..so both she and I have to learn together.

Avrilf - my gals hate TCM..those herbal soup..they will run away. ha ha..I always used wolfberries when I cook, but seems wearing glass is still inevitable. Prob, they shd be out and see the green more often. I find that my P2 gal dunno how to relax her eyes..always tells me that she has headaches.

Maths enrichment

I decided to outsource again. Cannot cope with so many subjects. After our less than satisfactory experience with Sakamoto, I decided to send her to a nearby RC. Location is very convenient. Fee is easy on the pocket $60+ /mth, once a week. Just treat as extra practice, better than me nagging her. Class size is big but taught by NIE trained teacher, so I guess quite ok lor, considering the fees

I've been very hands off with her Maths since last year. Now abit hard to re-wire myself in

aly nat

TAS is the one I've withdrawn her from! My friend also withdrawn her ds recently. Disappointing despites so many good feedback on forum. Way over-rated lah.

So I'm searching for creative writing class again...

Ironically, I am rather relieved to hear everyone talking about attitude problems of our P3 kids. I thought my dd was the only girl throwing tantrums, and was quite disturbed at some time.

My dd used to be rather diligent in P1 and P2, working on whatever assessments I asked her to do. But this year, she was rebellious, angry and always saying we are pushing her like a machine. And I must confess that I had already lessen my own homework for her liow. Maybe they are too stressed by the difficulty level in school? Or are these signs of early adolescence? That is, raging hormones!? I really dunno, but I am finding it sooo hard to motivate her!

I am only letting her take Math enrichment, because she refused all other enrichments. So, no choice, I had to teach Chinese and English creative writing myself. She did fairly well for English creative writing, but fared badly in Chinese sentence construction. I guess reading widely helps (but most kids prefer to read English books only, like my dd!). For English, I also encouraged her to use more creative language and adjectives, as well as teaching her some basic substance of a story plot. But for Chinese, she struggles with sentence structure, so it is an uphill battle!

As for Math and Science, my goodness...even we adults have to think and rethink the questions. Very tiring, esp after work, sigh.

But I think cookiepie's method of empowering our kids to take their futures into their own hands is very important for their long term study habits. But we must be prepared to see a drop in grades first...

Am glad we have this "support group" online, hee hee!

Linette

My dd too. Her Chinese sentence reconstruction is horrible! I'm her Chinese tutor & yet she can form this kind of absurb sentence. I told her not to insult me leh. Hubby laughed at our exchange. Hey, I really feel insulted, seriously

Myopia - I noticed that my dd tends to watch TV from one side of the eyes sigh... still have not go for an eye check yet. Any recommendation for optical shop in the north?

Studies - Ironically, I am very lax this year compared to the past 2 years, i have a feeling that she will not be able to finish those assessment books that i bought for her and her result will definitely not be as good as P1 & P2. I am trying my best not to stress her too much or else it may back-fire.

Honestly, i really wish i do not have to enforce all these discipline and coaching. Just missed those days when she was under 6 years old. At least coaching is at my own pace.

Agree with Linette that fortunately we have this 2002 mummies support group.

Ya, glad we have this forum to share.

Last sat, i tried to "coach" my son in his chinese..nearly quarrel in the end. As there is so many words he does not know and yet does not even bother to ask us. So keep scolding and nagging at him...sigh. On Sun, i was so tired to scold him liao lor.

Yes yes great to have supportive mummies in this thread.

juz had a talk with my girl's creative chinese writing teacher yday too. He says he is more strict and usually student do not score under his marking upon 20, highest he gave was 14. My girl range 10 - 11.

He says they all translate from english so the flow is weird. And she just go straight to the point dun bother to elaborate further. So no story line , nothing fancy so cannot score.

My plan is , i will make her write 2 sentences each day and the words she learn in the creative writing class. Hope to make her "think" in Chinese.

yawnyawn,
i intend to try out Edufarm Creative Writing. But they can only open a class when they have the min. number of sign up.

nataliecim,
the CL cloze passage is with helping words.

It seems like in the long run, we are still relying on math for my son to score. although we speak english at home, he is not really very good in his english as he is not an avid reader. CL no need to say already. For science, it is depending on how widely the child reads too as science concepts can be applied and tested to anything under the son. math although tough, by practising may still see some results. don't want to stress my boy out. but then when i heard that PSLE all 'A's can only get around 210-220 (the sec school across my block's COP for express is 234 this year), i stressed out too. :p

bebe75,
i saw your P3's math problems that you posted on FB. your girl's school standard is quite high.
i tried borrowing CL books for my boy. but he will leave i untouched until it is due. -__-"

hi fz, think we don't worry and stress ourselves so much about PSLE yet bah, is still 2-3yrs thing. Think we juz gear them up for the current year first, if they 'soon soon' go up i believe they should be capable of PSLE bah.

For Science, i think their textbook is very little info, external learning or reading still plays the role. My kids enjoy reading Young Scientist and I can see that they gain the 'general science knowledge' from there.

mummies, maybe we can let the kids try out the test/exam papers or assessment books to expose them to different way of questions a topic can come across bah....