Linette - I think P3 requires some analytical skills for their maths problem. Sometimes I dunno if my gal really dunno or if she is too lazy to think further. I told her no more 1, 2 steps method liao..some problems need 3 steps or more than 1 model and she must be able to solve them herselves.
Chinese compo - so far I only see her doing one compo at home..but I have not seen how the teacher marked her compo. The 成语 is one of those helping words given...but I am still impressed that she knows how to apply them..considering that we hardly use those proverbs/ phrases/idoms in our daily life. I guess the teachers must have exposed these phrases to them in classes.
I read her 知识画报 ..not easy leh..esp the compre parts. This year, I hv tried to make her to read up more on Chinese books..including my P2 gals. Even myself also trying hard to borrow at least one Chinese book when I visited the Library. I believe that if they see me reading Chinese books..they would try and and pick up one and read themselves. My P2 gal is now reading this Chinese author 杨红婴 whose stories are very captivating. I bought the CD and book version.
Attitudes - now my gals also like to give me attitudes problem. I also dunwan to scold and scold, but sometimes really cannot tahan. They are so full of pride..refused to listen, and yet can act silly. Fortunately, this year they have not been watching too much TV, except on days when the granny is here. When they are not watching TVs, I told them to read stories books or magazines. No ipad and computer games - these are only for holidays. My Pils said I am too ngiao..but they dun understand. I need to instill the disciplines and responsibilities..if I dun do it now..then wait till P5,P6 - too late liao leh..
Creative writing - this year, I am not too "on"..I think I have accepted the fact that creative writings are not meant for all kids. My P3 gal is in Mindstretcher and they draft, correct, copy, recopy those model compo. Though I do not like this method, but I can see some positive results..my gal is able to "reproduce" some "interesting phrases" in her school work. So long she can produce a decent piece..I am quite contended liao. But sometimes when I see her own journals..she still writes like no head, no tails, bad grammar, wrong sentence structure etc...I also gave up.
As for Maths, mind stretcher taught a topic ahead, and so I think my P3 gal can cope better in school. Now i need to train her on speed and accuracy. I find that she lacks the time to practise. Actually, also quite tough on her. She is staying back in school twice per week, goes swimming on one of the weekdays. Weekend..she has tuition and music. Now got daily homeworks, and have to learn weekly dictation and spelling for both chinese and English...really no spare time to do extra assessments.
Science - I really hv no ideas what to do with Science. I told my P3 gal, that she will see me flipping the back of the assessment books to see the model answer. I admitted to her that I myself is clueless how to answer in scientific and correct way..so both she and I have to learn together.
Avrilf - my gals hate TCM..those herbal soup..they will run away. ha ha..I always used wolfberries when I cook, but seems wearing glass is still inevitable. Prob, they shd be out and see the green more often. I find that my P2 gal dunno how to relax her eyes..always tells me that she has headaches.