(2002) Any 2002 babies?

natellehcim
Frankly speaking, I don't know. But with MOE's recognise characters first, it is possible that the child may be required to read chinese text.

hmm... i've heard some of my schools here did do such orientation tests this year, but not all. If it's true that all schools going to do this, guess some parents will start to be stressed even before their kids attending school.

However, I've also learn that for P1 next year, all schools will not be using textbooks for english, instead they are using story books, introduced by MOE.

MOE regards all children as guinea pigs. You can see so many changes and experiments these 10 yrs. I have not heard about story books in sch from next yr P1. Where did you get the info from?

I think MOE need to get to basics like verbs, nouns, tenses. A lot of pupils still make these mistakes when in upper primary. Some teachers commented so; as this was not drilled in lower primary. It is okay to use story books to instill interest, get attention from the pupils. But the story books must be big & colourful just like Eduplus (private chinese enrichment) which personally I have not experienced but they claimed to have such materials.

I believed the 'story book' is refer to the STELLAR (Strategies for English Language Learning and Reading) whereby they will do away the text book and use big book to teach

Was told by the English teacher of Endeavour when I visited the sch during their open house. They have started STELLAR tis yr for P1 and will implement to P2 next yr. And is compulsory for P1 in all schools next yr.

hi, mommies.

for cl, moe has rolled out the modular approach for all pri schs. thus, some schools may conduct a pre-test b4 or during orientation, so as to determine which modules to put the children in when they start off in p1.

dear nat,

from what i understand, in 2007, moe has introduced the modular approach in order to allow greater customisation & flexibility for chinese language teaching in schools.

for p1 & p2, all students will take the core module. however, those with little or no home cl exposure will be taking the bridging module as well, & those with interest & ability will be taking enrichment module too. majority of them will be involved in some school-based cl curriculum.

students would be divided into the 3 grps based largely on teacher's evaluation of students' cl competency & their home language background.

reviews will be done regularly to see if re-grouping is required.

Hi Jan,

i'm considering putting my boy in student care. The school of my choice is a single session school which has a student care in the school too. The Student Care in the school is opened by voluntary welfare organisation and according to their website, the "teachers" are guardians from their church...they don't provide tuition in their program.

There's also another Student Care (Pro-teach) which is just opposite the school. I heard that Pro-teach is good as their teachers are all trained and they provide tuitions aligned to MOE syllabus..their prog also include the use of IT, multimedia and internet to enrich learning...etc

Need some advise from u as I'll be registering my kid under phrase 2C next week. Was thinking of whether I should try my luck (balloting) for Tao Nan since I'm staying within 1km or should I go straight to Ngee Ann Pri (2nd choice), which I may not have to go thru' balloting. My main worry is the stress/workload faced by students of Tao Nao, anyone can share more on this? Thanks

Ling

the test is only on Chinese?
or both languages?

Jan, Linda

I think the most important thing to check on student care is whether the staff are responsible & caring

my friend's daughter was hurt in a student care recently & had to be hospitalised!
that student care denied negligence & tried to push the blame to her daughter

miao

that's a rather difficult decision....if you didn't get into Tao Nan, will Ngee Ann have any more vacancies after 2C?
usually 2C supplementary are the 'left over' schools

The balloting for phrase 2B has ended..two of my colleagues's kids wanted to get into nan hua. One did and one didnt..oh boy..it is so stressful for the parents!!!

Miao, I think if u live <1Km u can try Tao Nan.. I belive there are stress in all schools.. i think we parents are more stress than the kids...

hi, sleepy.

think currently el has not adopted the modular approach. el would be embarking on STELLAR (full roll-out) nxt yr.

thus, if there's a diagnostic test for the kids, it'll probably for the schools to have a better feel of the kids' el competency &amp; mayb put them in the appropriate progs (if the sch offers).

afterall, it'll be gd for the trs to know more abt the kids' competency, so that they can peg their teaching at our kids' level.

Hi miao,

Maybe you can observe the registration for both schools on day 1 then make your decision to register in the late afternoon on day 2. Schools are able to provide you with registration statistics.

There are some parents who will station mum at one school and dad at the other school to observe the numbers, then use hp to communicate.

Actually, I agree with Juzker. I think, branded sch or non-branded sch, all stress! One to maintain reputation and the other to improve reputation!

Anyway, I'm so glad my kid registered liao.

Hi Linda, the student care which I'm considering is Proteach. Very good feedback from parents. Forthe new one in the school, it's new and so no 'record'.

Hi hippo, most likely I'll put my son in proteach first, esp for the guidance in schoolwork. Then in P3 will consider switching to the one in school when there is CCA. Else for proteach, he will have to walk to school himself if need to go school earlier.

Hi Jan

The student care opp the school of my choice is also Proteach. Mine is at Yishun. The Proteach branch you mentioned is at which area?

Have u visited the centre to look at the environment?

The Proteach at Yishun is shop house located at the ground floor of a HDB block. I went to view the centre yesterday.

Hi Linda, it's at Bt Batok. Yep, saw the place earlier. It's located one floor below the childcare which my younger child will still be next year so it's more convenient for me in terms of logistics.

How's yishun branch? My decision is mainly influenced by feedback from parents.

Hi mummies, so exciting and scary at the same time. What do you think of 'intensive' classes to prepare kids for P1? My nephew went for 1 week Chinese classes in Dec when he started P1. I was also told Creative writing is basic prep for English.

Hi Jan

I viewed the centre at Yishun. But i don't quite like the centre. It looked kind of crowded, litle messy and don't have very good ventilation.

So now i'm having second thots abt putting my boy in this centre although i find that their programme is better than the student care in the school compound.

hi jan,

can i check w u the bukit batok proteach u mentioned is it in the CC or near bukit gombak mrt? my dd will be p1 next yr too. bukit gombak proteach is nearer to her sch but i dun like quite like the centre. crowded and small.
hv not viewed bukit batok proteach at cc yet. will go n view the plc one of tis day.

Hi linda, jasmine,

It's at the cc. The place is clean and nice, like a tuition centre with classrooms for each level, but guess all studentcare are like that. I've seen the students going downstairs for games with teachers before and I like what I see. Most likely will stick to this choice.

Hi Juzker, don't think I will too. Just a wee bit anxious if it's basic requirement. Maybe after orientation, will start to panick again!

Dear mommies,
Need your advice..... d u have any idea if the school need balloting will it normally on the last day of registration or school will conduct ballot on other date which will be specified?

Cecelia
Balloting is not on the last day of registration. It is another day. Sch would send letter to specify time &amp; date.

According to MOE, 2C result is 7 Aug. I am not sure balloting is this day or earlier.

Hi...

Last day of Phase 2C registration is 31 July.

If balloting is required, it'll be conducted on 7 August, thus results for those schools will be out on that day as well.

Hi Juzker

Yes, Woodgrove is in Woodlands.

I went at 9 plus this morning to register but think balloting is required cos only 83 vancancies left and 70 people have already registered before me and this is only the 1st day of registration.
Now so "kan cheong" and worried leh...
kao_scared.gif

Hi hi, i am a mom of 2 girls - 5.5yrs and 3 yrs.
The eldest is gg to P1 next yr.
I've just registered my gal yesterday and now crossing my fingers that no balloting is required for my category.
Currently the school is about 130% 'oversubscribed' but the teacher told me, those within 1km still hv 20+ vacancies.

Qdee,
You are lucky. The school that I was eyeing...the staff told me that those within 1km already exceeded the vacancies. I live outside 1km.
Will be making my way down to another school later.

Caroline
realli ah. So did you ask them about the school moving ? CCK pri like not that many hor. Only De La Selle and South view need to ballot

caroline3sg,
I am going for my next nearest school, which is a neighbourhood school...there is a 2001 mummy doing PSG there.

have you had Plan B? I saw Yew Tee's take up rate is pretty good too.

chickenlittle
Yes, I asked about the moving. It is in yr 2010 or 2011. Because they need to expand the sch to cater for single session.

Unsuccessful applicants from these 2 sch total 117. Both CCK &amp; Concord can take in 162 (hope that not all 117 flock to CCKPS, Kranji also near to De La Salle but 'well known' to be no good). Unity left 15 (I heard one nanny said no good, her 3 children all there, she thinks Yew Tee better).

fz
My Plan B is CCKPS (1-2km). I do not consider Yew Tee even though it is nearer.

hippo2002 &amp; chicken little
Didn't get in. Thank you for your concern.

I filled in the waiting list and spoke to the Principal. She is tight lipped on her selection criteria.