(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi all mummies here, I'm new to this thread. Can I join?

I've a 5.5 yrs old boy (born December 2002) in Kindergarten 2 full day child care in Yishun. I stayed in Woodlands.

I too received the P1 registration booklet from my boy's child care ctr 2 weeks ago. Still undecisive where to register him. Preferred choice would be Woodsgrove Pri which is just across the road. But this may mean I've may have to quit my job to care for him before/after school as this school has double sessions.

I'm also worried that my boy may not be ready for P1. Last week his teacher told me that he doesn't know the basic maths like 1+1, etc. Since that conversation with the teacher, I went to Popular bookshop to buy him some maths assessment book to do. And also bought icecream sticks to teach him how to count at home. I blamed myself for not doing a good job in teaching him

My boy is very playful and active (teachers complained too).

Linda

Welcome! I feel that Maths concept is a little hard to teach using assessment books. Abacus would be beneficial for him

You can consider student care center. My neighbour sent her daughter to a student care center. Her daughter is in afternoon session too

Hippo

Ya, you are right, it's a little hard to teach and he doesn't seem to understand. Does Abacus really helps? Do you have any centres to recommend in teaching abacus, preferably in Yishun or Woodlands?

Currently, he's attending English Speech & Drama and Phonics in school.

Hi Linda, welcome! My ds is attending abacus at the CC. You can check out the courses offered at cc near your place. I'll be sending ds to before schoolcare next year. Just headache on how to schedule pickup if he has extra lessons or cca as the Before/After schoolcare will have fixed pickup and dropoff times.

Jan

I thought student care center is usually affliated to primary school?

I survey 3 primary schools near my house. There is a student care center a stone throw away from each of the 3 primary schools, just need to walk

Jan,
I think if the student care is near the school (within walking distance), there will be a caregiver who will fetch your kid to and from school for CCA / extra lessons. I ask a student care centre before.

Hi hippo, Gin, it's walking distance, but there is no teacher to accompany if it's not the fixed timing. The timings for cca or extra lessons vary for each kid. For the fixed timing, a teacher will bring all the pm session kids to school then pick the am session back. This leads me to think when is a 'safe' age to let kid walk and cross roads by himself.

since P1, my neighbour allows her daughter to cross the big traffic junction & walk to school all by herself. Besides that big junction, she needs to walk across an open car park. She said her daughter also knows how to take bus to interchange. Very impressive hor

I am a kiasee mommy, sure 'bu fan sin'. I will bring my girls right to the door step of their school. dd1 was asking me when can she go to school independently & I told her when she reaches secondary level

hippo2002
I will be like you too. I wont let my gal cross the road or take public transport on her own. Me from young being ferry by my dad so I feel I will do the same for my kids.

Any of your kids in Maris Stella Kindergarten ? Any comment ? Due to some family commitment, I may have to switch my gal at K2 now, have to pull her out of her current cc.

Hi hippo, chicken little, I was thinking maybe at least P3. So hopefully that's when cca starts. For my gal, I would be more concerned.

Hippo,
Wah... your friend so gangho. I can't even let my kids stay at home alone (door locked up, windows w grills) for 1 minute. Cos scared anything and anytime accident may happen. I'm also super kia see and kia su.

Once, I ask my gal take lift up herself to my house (the lift stops at my floor) and I ask my maid wait outside lift for her. After 5 min she still hasn't reach home. I got panic ran back home to see then saw she juz reach home. Dd say wait for lift too long so she walked up the staircase herself (9 floors). *Faint* From then onwards, never let her take lift on her own liao.

Cecilia,
I saw the worksheet look so chim leh. And also quite academic. I feel that more for boys? Usu boys more maths inclined and logical.

I considering to continue dd in her musical instrument instead of taking another academic subject. As it is, her sch work, phonics & Berries are all quite xiong already. I can foresee how P1 is going to be like..... every wk, ting xia & spelling non-stop !

Iwg26
Sometimes I will ask dd1 to stay in her room while I fetch dd2 from kindergarten downstairs. She's probably home alone for 10 minutes. Hubby said it is dangerous to leave her alone although I feel that dd1 is quite sensible & she can reach the key

mommies
do you leave your kids home alone sometimes?
do your kids do kindergarten homework automatically?

hippo2002,
no...have not leave ds1 home alone...did not want to get ranting from my under-one-roof-ILs unnecessarily. :p

automatically? he tends to forget if i do not set a time frame/slot for him to do his work and nag at him to adhere to it. I am the gan chiong one, and did not want him to have the habit of doing his weekly enrichment homework last minute. One exception is Berries homework (usually 1-2 worksheets), which I think he did it automatically cos teacher went through it in class and i guess he want to finish it off before he forgot what was taught. :D

hippo2002,
I never dare to leave my dd1 to stay at home alone. But late last year, my hb told me he went down to buy food one day and leave her at home as she was super drowsy just want to sleep since she is not feeling well. From then I did a few times leaving her at home , while picking my son up from nanny who is one storey below my unit and twice when it was raining yet I have to get something from downstairs. But I make sure the gate is not locked, just in case there is fire and yet she cannot run out. When I leave the gate unlocked, I also have the worry that she might open the door for strangers. So I will run my errand quickly with my heart pounding.

I am kaisi mummies , I never leave my gals alone at home as I cannot imagine what will happen . Even I at home , she can fall from chair and got a big bump at the back of her head last year so cannot imagine if I not at home how . I be sending my girl to student care next year when she starts P1 also worried about the transportation issue for ECA or extra lesson . But see how it goes , maybe I stike TOTO can stay at home then ... hahaha ..

hippo,
i dare not leave my kids alone at home. I did tried to ask ds to bring up some stuff for my mil who stayed at the 3rd floor and i waited for him at the void deck, he's ok so far.

do homework automatically is never in my kids' dictionary! i have to nag and nag, else they will conveniently forget abt doing homework. Play and watch TV are their main priorities! ARGH!!

chicken little,

Can i have the scan copy of your child's worksheet from MPM? I've emailed you but did not get reply, not sure if i send the wrong email addy. Pls send to [email protected]

Thanks in advance

Hi Milo and Pin
Have juz emailed you. Just extracted a few copies of the worksheet but there is a evaluation on the level before they decide which book to start the kid on.

Jheng,
I downloaded it from various website, my fav is activitiesforkids.com, tlsbooks.com.

Re: leave child at home.
I've leave son at home few time by himself to go downstair to run 'quick' errand. Do it fractically as i 'pu fang xin'. I usually left spare key with him.

Hi mummies, yesterday's papers featured a journalist trying to talk to young kids who are alone in playgrounds and void decks. Results show most kids are trusting towards strangers. That's my worry also to let my kids walk to and from school themselves. Hope to be able to teach them to be more streetwise when older.

on one hand, worry they talk to stranger. on the other hand, worry people think the kid is rude. once, i was strolling with my boys, one auntie came up and said hi to my ds1. my ds1 ignore her. when i asked him why, he replied 'stranger ma'. :X

fz,
haha.. kids always come up with the most amazing replies. my ds1 bot toy fm sch bookshop. when i told him he's not suppose to buy toys fm sch, he replied 'then why did the book shop sell toys'

when my hubby's on biz, everytime my 2 gals sleep in de car on de way home @ nite, i always have 2 carry 1 upstairs (take less than 1 min cos i 'run') 1st n then de other. after changin their clothes in their sleep n puttin them 2 bed, i 'run' again downstairs 2 bring up de bags etc left in de car. at times like these, cannot do things like open mailbox lor

i noe dis is no gd but i've no choice. tried puttin 1 in pram n carryin 1, wakin elder 1 up n carryin younger 1 ... pls share wif me some solutions.

has anyone bought de new maths guide fm popular yet? v worried now cos my gals' sch's de no spellin no ting xie type n i juz realised she doesn't noe where all de common animals stay! realised i have 2 start spendin time teachin her on my own ... pls share some essential assessment bks i need 2 buy, dat also can guide me 2 teach cos i'm really bad @ teachin ...

Hippo,

Pardon me for being "sua gu"(mountain tortoise). If I put my boy at the Student Care Ctr in the morning, will the teacher at the Student Care Ctr send him to the school in the afternoon? Will lunch be provided too? Is the student care ctr affiliated with the school?

Gin

I've checked with Crestar about their Abacus course. They have a centre at Woodlands which is very near my home. However, they have already started the class and already in the fourth lessons. No new class starting at the moment till April 2008. They said i can join the current class but am afraid my boy may not be able to catch up. Do you think it'll be too late if i sign him up for the April class?

if not wrong , student care do provide lunch for the PM session kids and bring them to school if walking distance , u can check with the student care . Not all student care are affiliated with the school .

Linda

I didn't ask for specific details. I only check whether there are student care centers near the 3 schools I am interested in. I was told wait list can be long so better register earlier

Linda,
Actually I'm not so sure about abacus as I never send my kids. Maybe you can try Community ctr if you are not so particular about the teacher. I heard that there are private abacus lesson also. Where do you stay? There is a small group abacus class at Katong Mall. They start when there are 2-3 kids, similar to private tuition.

Hippo,
Your kids are in which abacus last time? Recently, my friend's school stopped abacus enrichment for children as the school principal told the parents that abacus "can confuse children when they start Pri 1 maths". Not sure whether true or not lah.

Iwg26

Only dd2 is attending abacus. She's 4 years old so never mind lor, more towards introducing her Maths concept since she was clueless before she started abacus

too late to introduce abacus to dd1 because she already knew addition & subtraction, difficult to 'unlearn' her previously acquired method & use abacus method instead. I feel that there is not much value added if the child already knew Maths concept like number bonds. Hence, I didn't send dd1 to abacus although some of her classmates signed up for abacus enrichment at PAP last year

I heard from another mommy abacus is part of primary school syllabus although most schools don't teach or examine abacus

hi hippo,

I think you may have mistaken what the other mommy said. Abacus is not a part of pri sch syllabus. Some schools include abacus in their curriculum during Maths lessons bcos they believe that abacus helps kids to master number bonds, or be more sensitive to numbers, or helps them to do mental calculation, but it's definitely not in the MOE syllabus.

how do we teach our kid to differentiate 'witty replies' with 'rude replies'? today, my boy was slightly late (3min) as he went to toilet urgently as we were about to leave for his class. we told him to explain to his teacher and he replied that it was not necessary as yesterday, he already told his teacher that he was actually not late...the class clock was actually faster by 5min. faintz.
sometimes, he tries to be witty, but it turn out all wrong, depending on my mood,

fz,
Sorry, i have no clues as to how to teach children to differentiate such replies. I'm one mummy who most of the time cannot tolerate witty replies, unless I'm in a playful mood which is rare!

hippo,
me not into shares and dare not invest too. Have friends who lost their savings away and have to borrow $$$ to pay off. Best is unless u have lotsa spare cash and very well verse in stock market, else better to stay away from it.

I'm thinking of getting stuff fm ON since now USD is weak....keke

Hippo,
Can go for the property based shares. Am more towards window shop first. Cos waiting for the market to crash b4 really dive into it. Y? u wanted to dive liao....

do you buy living policies for your kids? If yes, which company do you buy it from? And is it a limited premium one?

Hippo,

I'm not into this. But i believe buying shares you have to always monitor the market right? I don't think can afford the time.

Can I join this thread? I have 3 kids and my eldest is in K2. She is going to P1 next year. Would like to share with mothers whose children also going to P1 next year.

Hi Gin,

I am FTWM. Currently thinking real hard if I should be SAHM. As what you have mentioned, it is really demanding handling 3 young kids.

wow.. pei fu. It's not easy to give up career but it's worth it. I'm FTWM but used to stop work for 2.5 yr.

Honestly this few months (since the birth of my son) the thought of calling a quite is getting stronger and stronger day by day. Coupled with the fact that my elder daughter is giving me a lot of problems. Sigh ...

At times I really scare how my life will be after I stop work and stay at home. Will I be used to it?

Rachel,
i think you should also be worried about being addicted to life as a sahm and having difficulty putting everything down (especially the closeness and time spent with your kids) and return to the work force in time to come.

fz,

I agree with you, I was a SAHM shortly after the arrival of my 1st child untill he reach 18mth, put him in cc and return to work cos financially cannot tahan. Then now sahm again due to my 2nd child. My hubby ask me not need to return to work.

On one hand i think, since i'm still young i should go back and earn some more $$ but he say that since i dont earn much, there is not much difference. on the other hand, i scared if i keep staying at home i can put everyting down and return to work.... Haizz, too many things to worry about....

fz

you are right!
being a SAHM is very addictive. How long have you been at home?

Hubby said SAHM is my longest 'employment' (5 years) in my entire career, the only job that I didn't think of switching for greener pasture

Rachel,
Stopping 1-2 yr should be easy to get back a job in future. For now, the kids are most important. Besides first 4 years are the most critical foundation years. I quit my job few months before my bonus (4-5 mths that year). Many pp say wasted. But I told them my kids more important then the bonus.