(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Thanks Natellehcim, will do so next mth. Now they are busy preparing their student for exam.

currently their K2 english is on saturdays, you may wan to give it a try, i've just sent my kids there... just to test out and kick start their interest, quite interesting.... now they've learn various names of occupations. Guess next yr when the kids goes on to P1, their timing is about the same too.

Oh your son is taking english & maths with them. How many student in his class? But i read somewhere above that you send him to the one at Thomson or was it someone else?
kao_confused.gif

oh ya, seem i like very kiasu hor??
For thomson side, the kids had been with them since K1 so will continue at the moment, and the one in thomson is more onto creative writing, hence think that my kids will need some coaching for grammar. I've come across this centre and will want to know how the kids will be taught for their english and at the same time let my girl kick start her confidence (not easy to get her to attend classes alone, for she will cry and cry, unless her brother goes along). Was told that they will also teach writing, vocab and grammar. Hence intend to give it a try and if along the way, if I find it good, then will consider this center will eventually stop the thomson one. However, seems like this center the time slots might not suit me for next year liao... so a bit headache now... especially for their maths lessons if the timings don't blend. Guess will coach my son next year myself liao. Currently their english class is about 10 students bah, didn't really go and count.

Ha..ha..ha.. Nate, you are right, the more i read this thread the more i am stress... Now i am asking myself whether am i letting her attend too little classes. When i send my girl to her chinese lesson in the Sembawang HDB Branch office building, i saw that there is this tuition centre on the 2nd floor. Maybe you can check it out whether they have any programme suitable for your son. Seems very crowded.

Hi wan wan, i also don't know...
kao_dizzy.gif
maybe should ask natellehcim. Only after reading this thread that i decide to send my girl for creative writing. But does p1 really need to take-up creative writing?

Hi, i knew about this center, it's call Mind Stretcher. My friend had sent her son to their P1 preparation class and is going to complete in Nov. 1 Dec the center is starting their new class for next yr P1 newbies. Maybe you can check it out for their maths and english. They are more onto the assessment type. For the student care you've signed up, their notes are coloured, hence will attracts the kids more.

Oh nate, just remember that MS told me that they wanted to have a back to back for english & maths on Saturday next year for p1 children.
kao_smile2.gif

Ya.. ya.. the name is Mind Stretcher, saw the crowd, so not very interested leh.. Actually Chinese also a very worrying subject, right? Luckily for p1, no science yet. But sigh.... sooner or later .....

frankly I'm not very sure about it also. I take the creative writing as a way to improve their vocab also for the centres will guide them along with good words to write beautiful sentences. Yes, there might be some tactics like the 4W and 1H thing (correct me if I get this wrong), but I personally feel that the kids need to be taught on how to make use of these Ws and Hs, otherwise they might know the Ws and Hs but how to construct if they were not taught and practice to structure the sentences. Of course reading story books is definitely a must to improve their language as well. Without that I doubt they will know how to start sentences if given just a picture to them to write. I've notice some schools already giving the P1s pictures to write sentences. Quite worrying....

ya, i've visited the HDB branch office one, but not so keen after communicating with the front desk.

So will probably stay put with Thomson till I've found something else nearer and better, for thomson getting more and more ex leh... For MS, yes was told the back to back but time slots not sure if they had fixed, for 1 of it will clash with my thomson timing. I will see how it goes for next yr, if timing still good, will continue, otherwise boh bian liao, will coach myself then. I believe so far MS had prepared my son well enough for the P1 at the moment.

can i check what kind of bags are you buying for your children? Is it those ergo ones or trolley? Anyone has any good recommendation? Not too expensive ones pls. TIA

Looks like we have few mums with children of the same age gap. I find it hard to be very fair to both at times, and my son always complain that i'm not fair, do you also encounter this problem??

milo,
my kids have an age gap of 4 yrs old. i told my elder one that there are no such thing as being fair. there will always be unfairness but usually with a reason. he can eat chocolates but his 2 yr old bro cannot because he still too young. he must sleep at bedtime and his bro no need cos his bro napped in the afternoon.

i guess it's those parents of kids with very close gaps that are experiencing this comparison and fighting for attention thingy. i still 'fight' for attention and make subtle comparisons with my siblings. :p

my 2 girls also like to compare. Especially my younger girl, she is very sensitive. If I fed jie jie vitamins before her, she will ask me why I gave to jie jie first? aiyo, feel like I'm threading on thin ice sometimes

however, my elder girl is the real bully at home. She intentionally disturbed & even smacked her sister at times. Sian, must resolve all this domestic 'violence'

jh

what's this 'Seedtime Learning Centre' in Mandarin Gardens? English or Chinese?
can PM me the contact number?

Jan

where is your boy taking abacus?

my younger girl taking abacus too. Now at single digit with 10 numbers additions but she's having problem, a lot of careless mistakes
I was wondering when should we stop them for abacus? until they complete all levels?

hi all mummies,

i think u all shouldn't let ur kids go for any tuition during P1. lang enrichment still ok. dont waste those money. if u r giving them so much before P1 or during P1, hv u all thou of, wat if with those help they score 100% during P1. ya happy right.

then P2 also got alot of help of enrichment and tuition score 98% or even lower, how? more tuition right.

then P3 start to drop to 95% or even lower . how?

wat i do is, dont hv so mnuch tuition, beside lang. see how welll they can do for their P1. then u all decide whether ur kids really need so much classes.

for my kids i only started them tuition during P3 for my younger daughter bec maths not doing so well, as for my eldest daughter she only start her tuition after her P4 mid yr.

cymk23

tuition you referring to those targeting MOE syllabus & teached ahead of teachers in school?

enrichments referring to abacus, kumon, mpm, etc...those which don't follow MOE syllabus?

hi sleepy, so late u still on web site, me playing my maple game, heard of?

here are some my experience to share

ya,creative writing too. but dont go for maths, too early for maths enrichment. for maths i think is really the basic first and the kids mind must be more creative to think and read the question.

my eldest daugter dont hv much problem understanding the question for maths problem sum. u can just read out a question to her and she can think for a while and give u the answer. as for my yunger daughter even look at the question for longer time, she might not be able to solve if she dont cuaght the mean for the question. for maths problem sum is where u can score. i question cant do that's 5 marks.

and sorry to say that. i dont think abacus help for maths. my gal hv never been to much abacus, she only attend 1 for 2 mth at her child care. during her K2. and she start learning time table only in her P4 when she hv her tuition at home. i hv never fault her to learn it. and i find that they r still doing ok in maths.

Hi sleepy, he's attending abacus in the cc. Started last year and in advanced level now. I thought of stopping by this year, before P1.

Hi jh, it help him in a way, not so much for maths but a form of discipline. They start with abacus, the mental part comes later. Funny thing is my ds prefer mental to the abacus questions.

Hi nat, same same! my gal is aggressive and stubborn. I get calls from school that she scratch this boy, pinch that boy. Very paisay, have to keep apologising to parents. sigh.. Korkor never retaliates and even pleads for her when I punish her for hurting him. If think positively, she's headstrong and he's snag = sensitive new age guy! hehehee

hi jan, my gal juz started like a few lessons, also @ cc. de teacher's teachin wif fingers, not abacus. heard of dis new way of teachin?

jh
oops, on my PM. Thanks

There are 2 sections in abacus, using fingers is the mental arithmetic part. So that kids can have a mental calculator in their head

Jan
I intend to stop my elder girl's Kumon. Spend too much time. I don't think she will have time to dwell on her worksheets next year

I'm not sure how's the workload in P1. I think better let her adapt to new environment. Also trying hard to keep weekends free rather than sending/fetching

Good morning

I've been following this thread. All of you mummies here have well prepared your kids for P1.

It made me worried cos i've not done much to prepare my son for P1..I'm a lazy mummy..

My boy is one that have to be coax to do his work..lazy. When ask him to learn spelling/ting xie or do math assessment bk he will whine and refuse to do his work..maybe because from young, i did not set a timetable on when he should study/do work and play/watch TV.

My son is relatively weak in Math leh...even simple addition/subtraction also weak..can't memorise multiplication..

I'm really worried about him coping in P1...how is he going to cope with Math..

Any of your kids have problems with Math?

cymk23, such a relief to hear you share your experience. I personally think we should take it one step at a time in P1 thou I must say that language enrichment classess is important.

fz & sleepy, I think we can shake hands, i am having the same problem with my 2 girls. I am like thorn between 2 lovers. Spend more time with 1 and the other will be neglected. Sometimes i even find myself shutting-off from the surrounding especially when they are both seeking my attention at the same time.
kao_angry.gif

cymk23,
i sort of agree on the tuition part.
for P1 still managable. will be saving up the $ for tuition in the upper primary.
my boy will keep his chinese enrichment and swimming for next year. thinking of adding in taekwondo to build up his stamina.

fz

I added swimming this month. My girl finally willing to resume her swimming lessons

so next year she will just continue with her existing English enrichment, Arts and swimming.

mommies

your kids taking higher Chinese? have you let them attempt any higher Chinese assessment books?

I bought one but realized quite tough. I think my girl's standard still at normal Chinese

sleepy,
my boy is doing normal chinese. i find some of the questions tough too. i guess cos we didn't teach according to the school's syllabus, that may be the reason why the kid dunno how to do some of the questions as they are not exposed to the words yet.

hi jan, not bad leh, your son still plead for the sister. Mine don't, believe he's secretly happy when sister kana punished

I do agree with cymk23 on the tuition part also. That is why I will stop if the center's timing do not blend with my saturday schedule. However, i find that getting the K2 prepared for P1 is a need, for my case because of their language barrier. Intend to start for my girl next yr when she goes K2. At least they will start her off with basic addition and substraction, and simple maths language eg before n after, ascending n descending..... my son did not know this before he started the K2 maths preparation. Now that he knew it but I'm sure he will forget when he goes P1, at least when the school teach them, he will somehow recall and remember faster. I don't think the school will have time to wait for all kids to know a topic before jumping to the next, because they have their own syllabus to follow through. Once they have grabs the basic knowledge of the maths, I think will let them take a step at a time.

For languages (both chinese & english), I personally find that enrichment is required. The more you learn or read, you will improve with better words and vocab. Otherwise, you depend on school text alone, there's limitation there.

I tend to agree with Cymk that we should see how our kid fair in P1 before deciding if tuition or enrichment classes are needed for them. Try to balance their free time with outdoor activities or play as children learn a lot from these activities too

Hi Mimosa,
Is your boy attending CC or kindergarten now? He would have learnt some basic of maths by now. You may want to go thru his worksheets from the sch and discuss with your boy on his weak areas. Some kids take a longer time to grasp some concepts but what they have learnt at K2 are to prepare them for P1. They will learnt them again in P1. If you are worried, talk to your son & go to Popular Bk store to check for other maths assessment bks to read the different methods adopt by different authors and choose the method that suit your son's learning styles. Some kids are visual, some are audio and some are kinestatic. Sometimes it also takes a longer time for some kids to be able to understand certain topics.

Morning Wan Wan

My boy is attending full day CC.

Whenever he brought back his worksheets. His English & Chinese worksheets were correct with some minor mistakes..whereas for his Maths worksheet there were always wrong answers or he just simply write down any answers or worse leave them blank.
kao_frustrated.gif

When i go thru them with him, he was able to do them. Simple addition and subtraction, he is able to do. When come to problem sum, more than or less than, money, mass, he confused liao.

Whenever i ask him to do assessment books which i bought frm popular, he would want me to sit next to him. If i asked him to do alone, he will say dont know how to do..he cant be independent..

I'm thinking of getting a tuition teacher to teach him Math.

I was on leave for the last 2 day. so never come in. how r u doing? exam to me is no worry. haha. actually i dont need to bother about my gal exam. they cant manage themself. i just ask for marks only and how is the paper. they start playing game yesterday liao. that y i always say im a lazy mum.hee.

ya, envy you. can tell you simply 'boh chap' their revision leh...because you playing online games. that's lucky for you because your gals are very self-disciplined. Unlike many of my colleagues whom take half day leave almost everyday to go home to coach their kids... I don't know whether I will be like them or not in years to come... scared!

that time my boy went for his abacus test, i was so stressed up! keep nagging at him to double check and triple check!
can't imagine next year P1 exams.....

natellehcim

ya i thinking i'm quite lucky. im not sure is it the way i train them when they r young, letting them do their own work by themself during their P1. only help them when they cant. even spelling will be jie jie test on meimei and meimei test on jie jie. that way they both learn more too.

even when doing assessment i ask them to check the answer after they do it, so that they will know wat is the correct answer to those which they done wrong. bec i try marking for them, they never look back wan.

my eldest daughter today still got HCL paper, but she was sitting next to meimei yesterday night watching her play games .hahaha.

my gal english and maths result out liao. the eldest wan a little sad lah, bec she aim for 95 for her maths, but she only got 91.

the way you handle your kids seems like my mum doing to me last time. Only that she's illiterate for english, hence not able to teach me maths or english. She also mark my assessment books with answers given behind the book, eventually I just check for the answers and mark myself but slowly become lazy and hardly touch or work hard... eventually become what I am today loh...

Wow, good leh, your gals results very good. No wonder you need not have to worry much.

cymk,

you are really relax though. I thought all mummies are very stressed out when come to children exam, cos like natellehcim mention, i also do see my colleagues taking leave when their children have exam. Hopefully my son will buck up and do his own revision. He is also so "yang oh" want me to accompany him if not he don't learn his spelling, I wonder how can i wean him off??

Btw, any of you have any recommendation on school bags??

Hi milo, nowadays kids really very lucky. parents sourcing high and low for good school bags for them. last time we just use any type but still looking forward to whatever was trendy that time.

Saw some Ergo bags but not cheap leh... wonder how good these bags can help the kids. My son had been asking for trolley bags, but I found them so heavy even without books in them. The kids will still need to hand-carry these bags if their classes are on 2nd level onwards. Lately he had gotten a school bag with Kungfu panda cartoons on it from his aunt as a gift. Think is just a normal school bag (not ergo) that we saw in Popular bookstore. Guess I will let him use this bag then.

hi Mimosa,
For my elder son who is gg P1 next yr, his work is so far ok but sometimes also got confused on the more than, less than part. So i use different methods to make him understand. I ask him questions to make him think so he can find the answers himself step by step and not rely me on the answers when he does not know. But I'm not too worry on this as hopefully he will learn and understand this concept better when he is in P1. Sometimes we need to step back & treat them as children who still enjoys play more than studying. Having said this, as long as they have tried their best and still do well in other areas, I guess we need not worry too much. I think we would know if they are trying to laze or have tried their best

Like Cymk, my boys also do assessments themselves without coaching. They will come & ask when they are in doubt. I will normally read bks somewhere near them or cook so that I can keep an eye on them but not to sit besides them. But as they are weak in chinese esp the younger one, i will occasionally sit with him and use songs or action to keep him interested as he cant sit still.

Hi Natelle,
Any idea how much is the ergo bags? I went popular bkstore that day to check a sch bag for my boy and found the non-ergo bags with some cartoons are also not cheap like the Ben Ten bag cost abt $60-$70!

Sigh! Me also searching high & low for a gd bag for my son.

Hi Cymk,
Oh so U were on leave, no wonder din 'see' U.

Tho U are more the relax type & me the kan cheong type where academic is concern, I like your approach on letting go. I'm learning on having a good balance on coaching my children study hard & play hard

hi mummies, i actually saw some recommendation on this bag from any website pls see and let me know if its good. www.nivpak.com. they are currently having promo. But can't see real thing in any shopping...

I've seen in a forum ppl discussing about ergo bag, like brands SPI or Impact, think $80plus, also heard of another brand Campro think 30plus bah... lately i've came across those kiddy shops also sell such kinds of school bags with good bag support, not sure if they are ergo or not... costing around $39.90 bah... remember I've also seen in the Bulk Purchase section in this SMH selling such bags too...