(2002) Any 2002 babies?

I've some passed down textbks for P1 and I happen to have 2 sets of maths & english from different people who were so eager to get rid of them. I realise that 1 is a revised edition but I am not sure how different is the content. So there is a likelihood that you may get different ones at different bkshops. I guess I will check the textbks from the sch first before deciding to buy or not in case they are different.

Like many of you, I hate the type of shoes that need to paint but they are v comfy. But you know boys usually don't really take care of their belongings so I will expect my boy's shoes to be dirty within 1-2 days. I think I better buy the sneaker type but must still wash for hygiene purpose.

Hi Natellehcim,
I have 2 boys of yr 2002 & 2003. So you and Jan have same age children like me. Nice to meet you here.

Hi Jan!

Hi Wan Wan, happen to see you in 2003 thread talking about your registered your kid in north. Which sch? I stay in Sembawang. My boy is 6yrs and girl is 5yrs, same as Jan.

Hi Natellehcim,
HB & I decided to put my boy at ATS. I was from there so no need balloting. But he needs to take sch bus.

I hope it's not too stressful. HB & me considered for a long time before deciding on this sch as it's gd and i want my boy to get in touch with sch with chinese values. There are 2 gd schs near my hse but every yr need balloting. Dun want to go thru the stressful balloting and looking for other sch if not successful. My HB & I are also not sure if my boy can cope. I guess we have to lower our expectation and just spend as much time as possible to coach him everyday. Fortunately I've read other posting by ATS mummies (Daisy & Cymk) who have shared very useful info abt the sch & sch work. So we feel kind of relief on the positive comments received.

Now I've started preparing my boy for P1. I've bought some P1 sch work & assessments, started him to do simple compo, reading other's students chinese & eng compo. Ok lah still not too bad, he is doing ok, except some prob sums on 'fewer than', 'more than'; he just couldn't seem to fully understand the difference. I suppose it's a bit abstract for his age. Hopefully he will understand this in P1. Also need to brush up chinese as both boys are weaker in chinese. What about your boy?

Hi Wan Wan, if i were you, I would hv done the same. Since your former sch is a good one, why not have it the easy way out than hoping hard to be balloted in another good sch.

I'm not sure if my kid is able to cope but lucky is a normal neighbourhood school, so I guess should be ok. Maybe I more kiasu that I let him started with english phonics last yr and this yr continued with their next level which helps more onto creative writing. But I've notice his vocab and grammar are weak due to he is more to a chinese speaking envt (he stayed with my in laws). Hence my girl is much weaker than him, for both speak to each other in mandarin, me too. :p

As for the maths about the "fewer than" or "more than", not to worry much. once the child had catch the concept it's gonna be very easy and they will not have any problem with it.

My time? stressful? Ha ha, I'm from the older batch...I only recalled playing even before PSLE, luckily can still pass hee hee...I was a very playful girl from young until sec sch days. I think ATS was quite a stressful environment maybe abt 10yrs ago...I'm not that young you know...

Natellehcim, you are right. Even some neighbourhood schools are having high expectations from the students. Yeah, more often it's the parents who are more kan cheong than the students. And many of them have very good curriculum and CCAs. Some of them have very innovative approaches to teaching students how to learn. I read this in newspaper. Good. We can exchange notes on our boys' sch work, assessments etc next yr and then get stressed together when PSLE comes 6 yrs later ha ha.

Sure, Wan Wan, we can share info and lots of things. You have another 5yr old kid right? Same as me. so we have more to share with both kids, together with Jan.

hi wanwan,
playing during psle, talent!!!! ya i read fr another thread u going to take ur boy out of the child care. my kids was from there too.

No lah, you know during my time parents were not so kan cheong about exams & i was playful then so just study enough for exams. Exams during my time were not that tough i think. Yeah, i'm taking the younger one out.

luanee
price of textbooks at Popular and sch bookshop is same because prices are controlled by publisher.

hippo
I don't think sch bookshop open during holidays unless specified in either booklist or letter from sch.

I called up the bookshop and it says cannot buy from them directly. Have to buy in sch. What kind of arrangement is this between sch & bookshop? Anyway, I am getting from Popular tonight.

natallehcim
I called the sch and the admin does not know anything about stellar programme. She said since booklist has eng textbk, it means no stellar programme.

Hi, that i'm confused about this Stellar program thing. I was told by a teacher of a school during their open house that next yr onwards MOE implement to all schools, some schools already started to test out this year. I've also checked with a friend who is the Asst HOD of English in a sch and she confirmed this also. Which sch your child will be in. Or maybe the school is doing it in parallel. maybe you would want to look at this link, http://www.stellarliteracy.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=20699, to read about the programme.
But this link seems saying that year 2010 then implement. In Phase 1, in 2006, 30 schools were invited to pilot the programme. For phase 2, in 2007, an additional 31 schools were selected and for 2008, another 32 schools have come on board.

So I am not sure if my son's sch will be implementing this also. I've called up the school before but they also don't know... (**sigh**)

natellehcim
thank you for the link on stellar programme. Perhaps I would call the sch again when the teachers come back from PSLE marking.

hippo
Popular gives 5% discount on textbooks. I already bought and after calculating, is cheaper than sch bookshop by about $3. Popular gave me $3 sticker ($1 for every $20 spent) for use in the bookfair at Suntec from 14 Nov. Now waiting for my girl's booklist, can get some more stickers.

err sorry what's ATS? Ai Tong?

yah, last time we just go to the nearest school. Where got so stress in choosing and pv is unheard of. Good thing is that school friends are in the neighbourhood. My primary school was just right behind where we stayed!

heard some schools may have some requirements on types of shoes so waitin for orientation on 15 nov b4 buyin ... havent rec'd any bk list, giro info etc ...

how abt watches? wat watches r yr kids wearin now? if not wearin, wat type will u b buyin when they go P1?

Hi caroline, thanks for the info for popular bookstore. Probably will have to wait for the booklist before any action done. Will also checked with the books my niece passed down, see if they are the same. Me will also check with the teachers after their PSLE marking days about the Stellar Prog.

For sch shoes, will also have to wait till the orientation on 15 Nov, to check if they have any special requirement.

Yah guess everything got to wait after orientation on 15 Nov. We 1st-time-mums-with-school-going-kids a bit too kiasu isit? Hee...

Hi...everyone,

I havent get anything from the school yet, not even the giro form. Haiz.... must call the school and find out. Rivervale Pri School orientation day on 17 Nov.

Hi Cecelia, me had not received anything either. My son's sch orientation is on 15 Nov. Now the sch is on holiday, doubt you will be able to get hold of anyone.

Me too, never rec'd anything & orientation is end Nov! I will probably be the last one to finish buying all these stuff while all of you are enjoying the Dec holiday hee hee.

Hi Sleepy,
Tks for the article, it's very informative. I like what she said about "Leave your children to grow on their own. They may have their limits. Work on their strengths instead of forcing them to be all-rounders. You just have to guide them along." very true indeed...I've learned something useful about parenting...

natellehcim,
Thank you for highlighting the school holiday part to me......

HIppo,
Thanks for sharing the article with us.

hippo2002,
thanks on your replies regarding the church kindergarten.
i am looking at one near my place for my secondborn. but i just found out that they take in only 30mths old and above. Mine is a nov kid....so have to wait til July next yr to be eligible.
Think may have to go for Nursery programme instead of their PreN. i only worry no vacancies.

Went to submit Giro form today. School gave us a booking form for uniform and booklist already. We need to get them ourselves separately outside, not during Orientation day. Uniform from Bibi Baba (shaw) and books from some place at Ayer Rajah. Name tags need 6 weeks to be ready so we be ordering that first, then collect it plus uniform on the same day....

I have received the letter from School on Sat liao. Now also nervous and excited for my girl.

I think her school is using Stellar programme cos booklist no English Textbook to purchase.

And I also just realised my girl is starting Higher Chinese next year. So stress... I thought HC only start in Pr 3 or Pr 4?

Hi sngiam73, most schools starts HC from P3, but some SAP schools starts from P1. Probably your girl is going to SAP school?

I've yet receive anything from my son's school, also not sure if they are using any STELLAR prog.

Hi Natellehcim

Yes, she is going to a SAP school but I didn't know starts from Pr 1. Hee... Me... didn't do much homework about SAP thing

I am old girl there but after so many years, so many changes. Really need to start from scratch together with my girl.

No wonder, they say parents stress more than children. Ha!!

I personally find that is good that they start from P1, irregardless of SAP or non_SAP. Imagine for those only start in P3, meaning they must be very strong in Chinese if they opt for HC from P3 onwards, otherwise i find it might be a struggle for the kids to jump from a normal chinese to HC.

sleepy,

Have not received anything from the school yet, so excited for you gals who have already received the things.

Yah, i meet my colleague who's daughter is in the same pri school that my son will be going, asked him about the orientation last year, he commented its a waste of time, no need to go... now i don't don't to go or not, cos my son have swimming lesson on saturday...

Was wondering if all of you are going to your child orientation??

is it, nothing much about the orientation? haiz.. because of this orientation, makes me change all my schedule for the coming holiday trip

milo,
there will only be one P1 orientation per kid...even if its a waste of time, it's only a 'once(or twice if you have 2 kids) in a lifetime' experience.

Hi sngiam73, mine is RGPS.

Yah if need to get books and uniform outside ourselves, I also wonder what's the orientation for? But we will still go nonetheless, good chance to bring my girl look-see around her new school.

ya, agree with you fz. Since the sch my son is going does not have any open house this year, and cannot depend on their website (very out-dated), i believe the orientation will help to gather more info for the parents.