(2002) Any 2002 babies?

hippo2002,
my boy will be in morning class for the next 6 years. while the afternoon is free for enrichment, i'm worried that he'll be tired by afternoon considering that he need to wake up at 6.15am if lessons starts at 7.30am.

may i check with you about church kindergarten? i briefly remember your dds were there. are the teachers generally good and curriculum ok? will the teachers be bias against non-church goers? Any bible stories? TIA.

Hi hippo, that's how we burn our weekends...being the driver!

Hi fz, I prefer am session but my ds will be in pm session for P1 and 2. Worry how he can retune his 'clock' in 3 months time as he MUST nap now.

jan,
on the contrary, my boy is now in afternoon session...i have to retune his clock to wake up early and sleep early. :p

would like to check any idea what type of school bag is good for P1?
I'm thinking SPI bags for my son going P1 next year, any other recommendation?

Hi reena,
I am interested in the bag too

Hi Ann, U can refer to Reena's thread on the types of bag suitable for P1.

My elder boy is going P1 next yr and I am interested in the bag too.

Hi Jan,
Found my way here already hee hee. You mentioned earlier that your gal has attended the diagnostic test even before her orientation. Can share what was the test about? My boy's orientation is in Nov too but so far the sch has not called us for the test. Not sure if he is having it during the orientation. So what have you been shopping for your gal for P1. I am looking forward to go shopping with him but dun know what to get ready.

Saw a Campro brand school bag at Popular selling $39.90, it claimed to be ergonomic type.

We just got a letter from my girl's school to submit Giro form end Oct. She also has been assigned to a class already (no test done). Orientation is in Nov.

Hi wan wan, you got here before me! My boy is the 2002 kid. The test is to assess their English reading and writing ability. Consists of 20 questions - write words for pictures, matching pictures, colouring and fill in blanks to sentences from words provided. According to my child and feedback from the other kids, seem quite ok. Some schools seem to have maths test too.

Was looking for white shoes, raincoat and bag. Haven't bot the shoes yet incase his feet grow in 3 months' time! Wanted to get a raincoat as he needs to walk to school from the studentcare but he doesn't want it. May need to get umbrella instead.

Hi Jan,
Where is your son's sch, in the north or east? wow, so many qns. i hope my boy's sch will not have such test, maybe during orientation...yeah, I've started checking around for white shoes, think they will have more in nov/dec and cheaper. My boy will be taking sch bus, so i think no need to buy raincoat/umbrella. Still checking out for school bag. The one Reena shared earlier looks good but I've not heard much from other mummies yet.

Luanee,
Let me know if you buy the campro sch bag. Not sure if any mummies have bot this. I think I'll check it out at popular first. Is your gal your elder kid. My elder one is 2002 kid too, a boy like Jan.

Wish a boy,
I think there are some sharing on english class for P1 by other mummies in other thread. can't remember where i read them.

Wan Wan,

I have not bought the Campro bag, still scouting around. Realised that SPI versions cost at least $80? And yah my 2002 gal is my elder kid, younger one is 2007.

Hi Wan wan, it's a neighbourhood school in Bt Batok. The test sounds stressful but it's actually ok. Saw shoes at bata, cost about $29.

Jan
hehe, I cheapo, just buy those $5.90 white shoes made in China. No need to wash, throw away after 6 months & buy another new pair!

lunaee
why must submit Giro form? for school fees? can use edusave or not?

fz
my girl is in church kindy. bible study once a week. Teach a lot, Chinese daily, English & Maths alternate day. Teachers loving

Hi sleepy, may i know where you bought those sch shoes? Any pix to show?

My son going P1 next yr also. Checked with the sch yes, will need to take diagnostic test for english and maths. He's currently in PCF kindy but don't find they teach enough for chinese.

natellecim
from neighbourhood shops. Easily available, try those shoes shop near wet markets.
I think there are a few brands but all same design & made in China, with a elastic strip on top for girls.

Oh those type think we used to have them in our school days right? my sis was telling me she used to get from bata and cerisi, and she prefers bata for their quality is better, shoes can last longer. Not sure if it's true. :p

hippo & mummies with first child going to P1 in 2009:

There are 2 tier of sch fees. One is by edusave and one is by your own account. It is your own account that is giro. It is better to bring the account which is by signature than thumb print so that you can submit the form on the same day. The fees is $5.50 per month.

For sch uniform, I think 3 sets is enough.
For PE attire, I think 2 sets.

Shoes, yes I buy them from neighbourhood shops which costs about $12 (either made in China or Taiwan).

Thot of buying the one at Bata also but so costly & you know some kids grow fast and you have to change the size again. Luckily I can still keep it for my no. 2 . I think I saw Hang Tang sell abt $11 per pair but some said it's not very comfortable, not sure it's true.

My boy's orientation is in end Nov but the sch did not tell us abt the test, giro form or forms for sch bus. Maybe they will inform us all these admin stuff during orientation but there's so little time left to buy uniforms, sch bks, shoes etc. Still need to prepare my boy mentally abt P1. Taking him from childcare starting from Dec & want to start his routine to get ready for P1. So kiasu hee hee.

hippo & chickenlittle
Yesterday, I just received letter from the sch. Attached is booklist and name tag (just a piece of paper, without holder) and map. RGPS one comes with holder & pin so that the name tag won't get crushed. The map is not visual enough, can't relate from gate which I entered.

The letter specify the class my son would go to next yr. It also has time table for orientation day (15 Nov) for students and parents. There would be sale of textbooks, uniforms and bus operators on orientation day. Uniforms can also be bought on PSLE marking days which I find bad since they should have known we need these days for preparing for elder child's exams.

I think I would get the main books from Popular first instead of the "bookshop".

Will check it out at HangTen. I have no 2 (1yr younger) to pass on also but is a girl, so got to source for unisex one. My son's orientation is mid Nov and school did not mention anything about test at all. I called them up lately to ask then realised. But they said that the test is simple one based on past years experience. Only get them to spell names and simple addition. Not sure how true.

I've also heard some parents who had kids who went P1 past years in other schools, that they are not aware of the tests during orientation until their kids told them at home. This is because the school give speeches to the parents while leading the kids to their classroom and let them take the test 'discreetly'.

Wow you gals gotten the letters, but mine no news at all. think different schools handles differently. I was told school uniforms and books can be purchased on orientation day, guess the booklist will only be given on that day.

Caroline, please advise if there are any english textbooks or workbooks to purchase on your list? Because heard that Stellar prog is going to implement next yr for all P1.

School sent Giro form which must sign and submit BEFORE orientation in Nov... said Edusave only for '2nd tier misc fees'? Not so sure what's that. Edusave supposed to open automatically for us? How much $$ govt putting inside, do we need to match?

For shoes yah agree, kids grow fast so better get cheap ones but stupid husband sure want good ones (he kept spending, I kept scrimping sigh). And dont think can keep for #2 becoz kids sure want new shoes on 1st day of school rite? LOL.

And my colleagues told me that during orientation day, one parent should go bookshop to get books, uniforms first while the other one stay to listen to talk. Else by the time finish it be a mad rush and long queue...

Edusave been a question mark for me, cos i don't know much abt it. maybe they would explain during the orientation.

For shoes, the pass-down one for kiddo 2, maybe can used as spare in case raining or what. I believe an acceptable quality should be considered. Don't forget the kids will be wearing them whole day and also for their PE lessons or sports in school. A good sole will be good, but of cos not too expensive types lah.

Ya the idea of one go for the talk while the other buy uniforms is good. Not sure if school uniforms can be purchased on other days not. :p

Edusave is opened automatically when you submit the forms given to you by the sch. You don't have to match the amount. Govt give $170 per yr to edusave, but next yr is $200. This money is used for sch fees, can also be used for sch enrichment or CCA (eg. e-learning, swimming, ballet etc).

Good idea for one parent to attend talk, one parent to buy books/uniforms. But I have to do everything myself. So I am getting the textbooks first. I think bus arrangement is pretty fast, just fill in form.

The sch has timetable for students on orientation day. It only mention tour. It didn't mention test but I think have.

natellehcim
I briefly took a glance at the booklist. Mine has both text & activity books. English is In-Step, Maths is My Pals are here, Health Education is Perfect Health (all different from my elder's sch). Chinese & Music text are different from past yrs. I need to check on Social Studies.

Hi caroline, thanks for the clear explanation on the edusave. As for the books, I was told during one sch open house, that there won't be any fixed textbooks or workbooks for stellar prog. They will be using story books and worksheets instead. I guess different sch handles differently bah. What is your kid's sch? Mine is in a neighbourhood sch in Sembawang.

Mmm...how come my boy's sch still has not inform us anything yet. Some of you even have orientation programme and bklist already! I better call the sch to check the details.

Haha my letter only has the Giro form asking for $$$ even before term starts! No orientation programme or booklist at all...

natellehcim
you can save money from not having textbooks. Mine not cheap, $3+ per book, so almost $20 for English. Mine is neighbourhood sch in CCK.

luanee
Since you are PV for RGPS, I believe you know the sch's orientation is 15 Nov (in fact I think many sch's orientation is on this day).

They won't deduct the money now. Coz it take at least 2 months for bank to approve the giro. Also, some people's account is thumb print, so they send the giro form first.

Hi caroline, my son's orientation is also on 15 Nov. I'm still not sure if my son's sch needs textbook because the open house i went is not the sch i've registered. If no textbooks means need to purchase their story books, which might cost more then. Hope that my niece's textbooks passed down can be used for his P1. She's in P2 now and not the same sch as my son.

Yah caroline, the orientation is on 15th nov, dunno whether it be chaotic or not coz the school be having a fund-raising funfair on the same day. Need to submit Giro form on 20 Oct.

Btw is it cheaper to get textbooks from the school's bookshops or from outside (eg Popular)?

luanee
Last yr I went to the orientation coz my girl performed for the parents. There was carnival then too. It wasn't chaotic. Weren't you at the orientation volunteering then?

I prefer to get textbooks from Popular because
1)I get them without crowd
2) I get assessement books at the same time

RGPS tie up with pacific bookstores where you can order on line. It would be delivered to your house under singpost with $5 charge.

If buy from Popular, you can't get files, exercise books and handbook. These you have to get from sch bookshop but have to queue. Definitely long queue about 1 hour.

Hello mummies, my girl is going to Endeavour Primary School next year. I think should be am session cause the school is still very very new. Anyone's kids going there as well? Orientation is on 22 Nov.

Hi natellehcim, nice to meet you here!
Wan Wan's kids also same age as ours. Are you in the 2003 thread too? join us there!

Must look around for shoes. A few I saw at Bata are quite good, sole is soft and comfy. Yah, ex$ though..

Talking about school shoes, remember that during my time, we have to wash and paint the shoes WHITE then wait for them to dry! Now don't need right?? heheeh..

Caroline,

I heard from my neighbour that books from popular and scchool got slight difference leh, cos she bought for her son from popular and when her son use it in school and compae with friends, its slightly different. She advise me to get from school instead.

My son will be going to hougang pri next year, still have not received any booklist or whatever from them yet...

Hi Jan, nice to meet you too. I have a son born in 2002 and a girl 2003. My sister still paint the shoe white like what we did for our school days. Actually I'm thinking of sneaker material type of shoes so that no need paint.. :p but come to think of it, is we get canvas/cloth type, at least we can wash them, isn't it more hygienic?

Endeavour Primary's school shoe is black in colour. Any idea how to maintain, do we still wash it or treat it like a track shoe? Do we buy shoe that fits or up 1 size? How about uniform (fit or loose)?

This is my first child going to school. So a bit blur blur..

I have not heard from school either. Called on Monday & they said will be sending a letter to parents by end of this month.

Uniforms can buy direct from distributor, need go to their shop if you want to avoid the crowd. Can start buying now in fact, just get the contact number from school. But hubby said better to wait till Dec because my girl grows very quickly. Her knee length kindy skirt become sexy mini-skirt within half a year! don't know how much bigger we should buy for her if bought too early. Too loose also not nice mah

textbooks I intend to buy from popular to avoid the crowd. Maybe get the schoolbag from popular too. Shoes I'm going for the $5.90 ones, my girl tried out this year for her kindy

caroline
can we return on another day (not orientation day) to buy exercise books from school bookshop?
is it open during school holiday?

Textbooks entitled to member 10% discount from popular?

Hi Valerie,
So far I've known about this centre is that they do not provide nap time. They are more onto a tuition center type, whereby the kids when there, they will monitor and teach them their sch homework and spellings. After that will provide them with centre's worksheets.

The center is kind of small but they've just taken over the opposite 'ma-ma' shop and renovated it. Anyway I'm not putting my kid in this center for he don't study in Endeavour, my in laws will be taking care of him while I work. I enrolled my son for their Maths tuition.

I like Endeavour, partly because of their black shoes also, but Sembawang Pri's is white. Think need to wash or air them occasionally for hygiene purpose bah. Have you visited Endeavour's website? It is very informative and nice, I like it.