(2001) calling all 2001 babies

Anyone has kids in school bullied by other student. How do you handle the situation?

My son came back with a nasty bruise on his forehead. A boy intentionally grab him and swing him towards the wall and he knocked his forehead against it. He even on different occasion stepped my son's finger while my son was sitting in the school hall.

I am seriously thinking of sending my son to Aikido for self defence. Learning Aikido is not to hit back at the bullies, but to self defence in term of when you fall, you know how to fall by rolling or some technique that Aikido is teaching, that way, he won't hurt himself seriously like landing on his head first, etc.

One day, my boy exclaimed happily that he passed his Maths well. His mark was 8/10. But P1 should get 10/10 for simple Maths. Had to correct his option -pass is enough. It is difficult to teach what is 5 more than 3. It is easier for the child to figure it out himself. My son has more problem with being extremely careless, count also can count wrong....

My son also very careless. 4+3=8. Not that he doesn't know how to count 4+3.
Also forget to bring back books. Come back home forget what homework he has to do. Are boys like that? My elder girl not like that leh ...

Hi, Jesslyn

I understand that most kids (especially younger ones like P1s) tend to be more careless in their work. So sometimes its not that they do not understand the concepts but rather, the mistakes made are due to their carelessness (e.g. they add up the numbers where the sign is a minus etc).

For Kumon math, the child will sit for a diagnostic test first to determine his/her level, and the teacher will explain how their system works, and from there you can gather whether or not this system suits the child. However, Kumon math is more basic maths and speed/accuracy, but they do not teach critical thinking.

If you think your child really needs tuition, you may also want to try MPM or Enopi math, where they also teach critical thinking. My son has previously attended Enopi math and he likes it, coz the worksheets are colourful and for lower primary, they actually used coloured wooden bricks to help them grasp the mathematical concepts. I think this has at least help my son to enjoy math and in turn, improve his grades.

zmm,
my boy's case similiar as yours. After he had done his homework, he always forgot to bring back to sch the next day. Teacher will tho that he didn't do his hmework. And teacher wrote down in the diary bk saying that he has problem towards the work attitude. Now I have to make sure he put bk the work after complete his homework now.

When I ask him why he didn't put the bk into his bag, he can't answer me. I really don't knw he knws or don't knw wat I'm talking abt.

I find this teacher has alot of demands. My son has to draw and write sentence for his 10 words of spelling every week. He also has to write journal and class stories every week. Sigh, I have to make sure and remind him every weekend.

I'm new. I hv a Pr 1 boy in Jurong Pr & a Pr 3 daugther in RGPS.

Read the thread on kids spending pocket money on bookshop. I have similar problem with my girl. I managed to solve it by introducing piggy bank. Any unconsume money to be keep in piggy bank. The saved money, she can use it to buy souvenirs when we go for holidays, birthday presents or things that she wants to buy when she has enough. It works for both my daughter & my son.

batman

i also have to check my boy's bag everyday. Sometimes he forgets to take out his homework to do. Or he forgets to let me sign something, etc.

But he never forgets to play during recess time. Boys are boys ....

Hi ZMM, Batman

I hv similar problem but with my girl who is in Pr 3.Her teacher & me make the arrangement that any work need to be done will be written neatly in the organiser. Once my daughter finishes her tons of homework, she is suppose to tick beside the reminder. So checking for me is breezy. Before that was really a nightmare.

My son is completely the opposite. Everything is done. From homework, spelling for the week, reading (he is into non-fiction) & the revision work that I gave him daily, all done within the day.

Hi, anyone here looking for a tutor for their Primary 1 child? I'm currently looking for about 2 kids whom I can teach together with my Pri. 1 child, as I feel that children learn better in small groups. My son gets bored when I teach him alone. Please note that this is not a tuition agency. I'm solely looking for P1 students.I am familiar with their curriculum. I specialise in Maths and I use educational games and learning resources to teach eg. number bonds. Please PM me if interested. Location is in Ang Mo Kio.

Any of you have your kids in Student Care Ctrs?
How beneficial is this?
My kid is now taken care by our domestic helper while both my hubby and I work.
We are thinking of switching him to Student Care Ctr.
Not sure besides tuition and food (?), what else do these Ctrs offer?

Hi, Jojet

My P1 son was previously looked after by my mother-in-law since the start of school but have put him in the student care recently.

Besides tuition and lunch/teabreaks, my kid was able to interact and play with other kids during break time + the centre organises enrichment programs during the school holidays.

My kid was happier there because of his interaction with kids of his age. He also watches less TV (which he normally does when he's at home) and there is also guidance from the teacher for his school homework + additional tuition from the centre.

I think overall he has benefitted more in the student care compared to when he's staying at home. Above are just my experiences and thoughts and hope they can provide a good reference to you.

Cheers...

Hi Mlhg,
Thks very much.
Another question. If your kid has CCA in school, does he attend the Student Care Ctr first and someone in Student Care Ctr fetch him from Ctr to School?
My kid has 2 CCAs separately every Mon & Wed.
We are wondering how he is able to continue with that.
Thanks again!

Hi, Jojet

If the child is in the morning session, the child will remain in school for his/her CCA. You will have to arrange with the school bus to fetch your child from the school to the student care centre at that hour. The teachers at the student care only picks the child when he/she alights from the school bus, then walks him/her to the student care centre.

If the child is in the afternoon session, I believed its the same arrangement. You will need to arrange with the school bus to fetch the child from the student care centre, and the teacher will bring the child out from the student care centre to wait for the school bus pick up.

I understand this is generally the arrangment for most student care centres unless the student care centre offers special transport arrangements (if any). You may need to check directly with the centres on this.

cheers...

Thks for the info.
The centres I found are very near to my boy's school. Not sure if there's anyone that can escort him or there's a group already attending the same school as him. Guess I can only find that out from the centre itself.

Hi, anyone with P1 or P2 children? Just a question, for Oral Chinese, any idea if the reading passage comes with hanyu pinyin or just Chinese words or combination of both? I am super stressed, when I asked my son to read a short Chinese passage w/o the hanyu pinyin, goodness, he can't read half of the words in passage! I am quite worried for him.

Hi Spanielpups,
Now that you brought it up, I wonder too.
I received a progress report for my boy from his school.
For Chinese, it only noted how well/poor he was doing.
Can't recall what the teachers briefed to us parents when they conduct it thou.

Does anybody have recommendation on the type of story books (both English and Chinese) that will be suitable for P1 kids? Or any story book series that are interesting for P1s to read independantly?

P1 Chinese Oral:

Not sure if it is the same for all schools. But for my DS's school, for SA1 Chinese Oral, there will be a mixture of HYPY and some simple chinese words in the passage. They will also be given 8 chinese characters of which they choose 4 to read.

But for SA2 onwards, it will be all chinese characters. 8P

mlhg:

Should encourage our kids to read widely, fiction & non-fiction.

Fiction books like Enid Blyton's books are good starters for P1. Helps to improve vocab. Non-fiction books help with the child's cloze passages in the exams.

Depends on each child's reading level and interest also.

Hi ZMM

Thanks for the info. I may be mistaken but I thought Enid Blyton's books are more for say, upper primary school kids, no? Just thought I remember reading them only around that age as the books are quite thick and the words kind of lengthy...

Thanks again.

I am so having a challenging time getting my boy glued to books. Boys have so many distractions, ie TV, computer games, toys, running/fooling around. I have been faithfully reading to him since young, bring him to the library, borrowing many books. each time, but he never proactively read for leisure. Although now I do not read for leisure myself… guilty…. guilty. But I read when I was between 9 years to 15 years old. and that period of reading had saved my English results. So now, I am determined to get my boy into reading. Recently he saw 4 titles of Totally Spies graphic novels, we bought them all and guess what, he read everywhere he went, on MRT, at dinner table, in toilet..
4 books sure finished fast. The next in the series will only be on shelf in July. And now I cannot find another series to get him glued. Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven & Famous Five have potential but they are too wordy for an active seven year old.

My son is not keen in Enid Blyton's. But he is glued to The Young Scientist Magazine which he has subscribed from school. He is also keen in reading books about space, solar system, countries.

HI HI just moved to bt gombak, st 52. Any mummies with kids that go to Pei Hwa PResby. Mine in PRi 1 and just wanted to share views. SHe is taking school bus but I find the pick up time to be very early. SHe has to elave at 11.30 am. Anyone has any private bus arrangements in place.
CHeers - MB

Hi, biyan, spanielpups

Thanks for sharing. I have the same problem with getting my boy to read story books 'independantly', even if the book is simple enough for him to read by himself. He prefers to either watch the TV or play the computer/lego/toys etc rather than reading books. So I ended up reading to him instead. I wanted to cultivate a reading habit in him but I think I need to find the 'right' books that are easy for him to read independantly and yet at the same time, be interesting enough to want to read them on his own. Guess I just got to keep trying to find the 'right kind' of books for him...

wow, I never log on for only a few months... this thread has really moved a lot!!! Been busy for the last 2 months wif some migration issues....

Can I join in again?? Just to reintroduce myself, my boy is also in Primary One this year and my daughter is 2.5 years old...

My boy loves to read Geronimo books, he is alos in after school care and taking some enrichment classes in maths, english and chinese... sigh, that's the life of a typical Singaporean isn't it?

My P1 son just got his exam timetable, can anyone share the test format of English / Chinese paper one. I know paper two will be the normal grammar, vocab, comprehension etc. Listening compre and oral is straight forward but will paper one be essay writing?

I am also at Bt Batok St 52 but my P1 son schools in Lianhua. My neighbour's kid is in Peihwa, I was told that he is getting more worksheets this term. What about yours? Mine still has no homework, but SA1 is coming and the exam papers are of similar high standard. My son is not attending any tuition or enrichment class. Scary.

Yuki, So good! I am very stress, my son has forgotten many Chinese characters, cannot imagine how he will do. Furthermore, there is year end streaming into one best class. It is going to be difficult to get into that class but at least we should try. Now every exam count.

hi Lim,
i'm from 2002 thread...just want to check, how's Lian Hua's teachers, school and standard? Can't seem to be able to PM you. TIA

Hi Lim, yah.. I'm glad the school does not have any exams for him this mid-year.. cos this is his first year in Primary School, I dun want him to freak out and lose his interest in learning... I always believe that Kids Should Love to Learn, not learn to love...

Dear fz,
LH is a neighbourhood school with aspiration. They achieved improved PSLE results in 2007. The school has a good mix of fast and slow students as well as teachers! It seems that their strategy is to focus on polishing their diamond classes (one best class at each level) however they are also trying very hard to help the weaker students to cope.This is not an elite school, they do not give up on the weak.

I was at their gate just after school assembly in the morning, saw a 9 or 10 year old brother in Dazhong uniform drop off his younger sis on his bike at LH before he rushed to be late for his own class.

Dear Lim,
thanks for the info. LH is second school nearest to my place. Am likely going for it if i am unsuccessful in balloting (*touchwood) for the nearest school.

I think no essay for P1 Chinese SA1 for most schools. They only finish learning HYPY recently.

For English SA1, i think paper 1 is listening comprehension, spelling, etc. No essay yet i think. If have, probably is write a few simple sentences for a picture.

But then, different schools may be different also.

MB Chay,
Me too. I also find sch bus very early to pick up and late to reach home. My son @Woodgrove will only start class near 1pm but sch bus will still pick him up at the same timing with the rest of the day. At the end of the day, he will be the last one who leave for those taking sch bus and those whose parents personally pick their kids up will leave early. So by the time he reach hme is 7pm.

For enrichment class, my son is very busy. He has Abacus for maths (another 2 more lessons will be completed and gg to 心算), Chinese @kumon and English @Zoophonics (but just withdrawn). His exercise will be swimming and two/three per wk.

Reading - my son will want me to read him storybook b4 sleep. Sometimes I told him to read to me but he's quite reluctant.

Hi again mommies. School Bus pick up at 11.35 therabouts n she arrives in school about 1200 or 1205. Official school hours only start at 12.40 p.m. other school buses arrive about 12.20 or even 1230. but bus driver just saYS THAT FOR MY ROUTE, THE TIMING IS SUCH.
So if ther are other moommies sending their kids to Pei Hwa Presby afternoon session, around Bt Batok st 52/51 area, wd love to hear your views.
write agin, have a great day. Cheers MB

Dear P1 Mommies,

Has anyone started preparing child for SA1? It is not easy to explain to a playful little puppy what is an exam.

Hi biyan,
I have started my son on his revision for SA1. I am not sure if he has fully understood what an exam is, but he has sat for CA1, I told him SA1 is going to be more difficult than CA1 ha ha...

He did not achieve the target he set with his dad for CA1, so couldn't buy a toy he wanted, so he is trying to reach the target for his SA1. Some motivation for him to work hard.

Were juz talking on the SA topic with my son last nite. i set a 90 marks target for him, but he complained that would be diff to achieve! he was only looking at 80! i told him that if he get 80, that means he would rank the last 5 in the class! does he want to be in the first or last 5 in the class. he said first 5 and would aim for 95 marks!

mummies, what is the target you set for yr P1s?

90 marks will be ideal, but so many things can happen during exam, careless mistakes, difficult questions etc. To be realistic, I am hoping for 80 on average from my son.

I let my son tried past years P1 papers, he can score well for English and Math between 90 to 94. The other points are all careless mistake. Chinese is a total disaster at 70! I am hoping for at least an 80 coz of some are careless mistake.

I'm new here...
like to get some comments from the mommies here.
I have a girl next yr will be Pr1. Planning to send her to Anderson Pri school. Any one have any idea how is this school?

And also any one have any idea of Just Education centre? is this tuition centre good?

My son's idea of checking through the test papers after completion is to flip through all pages in 5 seconds. Faint!!!! With helping words also can spell wrongly... aiyo lagi faint!!

I totally agree that Chinese is a problem. There are so many words that he cannot recall. Now I am trying to have make up lesson with my boy every night. Hope that in a week's time he will be ready for his Chinese oral. sweat. sweat.

My son set a target of 95 marks for all 3 subjects with his dad. He managed to meet this target for Eng and Chinese CA1 but not for his math, missed by 6 marks.

Same target set for SA1, but I think it will be even more difficult to meet this target for SA1. He is also very careless and doesn't want to check his answers. He got the easiest question wrong for his Math paper, his 4 yr old sis can do that question, no reason for him to get it wrong, plain carelessness!

Initally my son and hb set the target at 80 marks. I told hb that if at P1, he only score 80, dan when he goes to P3, he would be left with 65, and by P6 - 50!!! faint...

The subject i'm worried with is Chinese. he could hardly recognise any chinese words. he could not read without hypy. for his current hypy ting xie, we really drill him hard. from the 1st ting xie - 48 marks, till the recent 99, which he ought to get full marks but for the careless mistake. he's very careless even for his english n maths. smtimes even missing out the entire/ partial question.