1st Time...

By the way, I selling a few things:

(1) Brand new comforter (quilt)...for bb cot..selling it..cos my girl dun use such things...she super scare of warm...nite time also dun like blanket..

(2) A bb carrier (used less than 5 times) good condition but box broken..cos sat on it (accidently hor)..

Can let me know if anyone interested..or help me ask around see anyone want..thanks..

Shauna,
Sorry if I say the wrong thing and make you feel depressing & sad.... slap myshelf...

Sgn,
I told you is expensive, only give when they're have a lot of phlegm which they don't know how to split it out. I brought 2 boxes at their road show sales at $48.80 each just to standby at home. Anyway the expiry till 2010.

Graybecky,
Your girl also scare of warm, mine too she will kick her blanket if I cover her when she sleep. And usually she will drink her milk b4 bedtime and when she sleep she will sure sweat even in air-con room. But I still put sock for her since she didn't want the blanket.

shauna,
cold storage it shall be! i also used to shop at cold storage a lot. I guess i qualify as an 'atas' shopper rt? *sheepish grin*....now all the time looking for bargains and shopping in bulk.

I was just joking with a SAHM fren in England, saying that I dun mind getting a sewing machine as a present for bday/anniversary/christmas (her hubby gave her one for xmas!)..aiyo...i have reached that pt?!?

graybecks,
like i keep telling shauna, i don't think we'll reach the cashier stage lah.

Just want to share this with you gals and hope this keeps your hopes up.

I have a fren who has twin boys, now age 7. When she was 7mths preggie with them she stopped work. She holds a Masters in Psychology and is a qualified counselor as well as a trained sec sch teacher. For the boys' first 2 years, she did not work at all. Then she started to try out writing on an ad-hoc basis. she used to write for Women's Weekly. She did that for a few years. Until the boys were abt 5, she started to write more intensively. 2 years ago, she joined Vanilla magazine as asst editor and now she is there full time.

I'm inspired by her. it's tough to take care of twin BOYS! We know the family well (as in we are all friends with her, her hubby, her SiL, her parents, her MiL...)and i can tell you her hubby isn't the most supportive guy around. so it had been really rough. but i keep telling myself if she can do it, i guess all of us can. She morphed from being a sch teacher, into a counsellor, into a mgmt executive at MCYS, into SAHM, now into an asst editor at a magazine! It took her 6 years but still she did it!

dun give up!!

jasmine- i'm just joking! hee.
twins are no joke. look at us all. one baby and we're all screaming for help! it certainly does wonder to find support in the surrounding mothers. sometimes i feel so out of touch with the world.

we're not the wealthiest family ard so many things have to be compromised with my staying at home.

sidney's birthday is coming! he's able to stand for a few secs holding on to mommy's tee now! its thrilling to c the progress they make. i always tell hubby u never noe how much u're missing until u stay at home. every single day, they do soemthing amazing to give meaning to ur life and theirs.

jasmine, u mentioned a pretty good photo studio. have u managed to find the contacts?

Shauna,
That's why my mum always say to us, wait till you guy become mummy and daddy. You will know the difficulties you will face, nowadays children not like last time. They tend to learn things faster. I was amazed that my mum can take care me & my twin sister at the same time. You know she say when we cry she just plug bottles into our mouth that's settled heheee (Didn't give my mum headache last time)... guess last time kids its easier to take care. Yeah talk about photo shoot, I haven't got the time to ask my friend yet. You want to take a look? Here their studio website: http://www.foto-u.com/Home.html

Re:
talking about twins, i also dun know how my colic can cope with her triplets. she took unpaid leave till they are 10 months old. everything X 3 ok next time go school, books, clothes oh think about it i want to faint lor....

foto-U : i just went with my boy too.
1189027.jpg

Sgn,
Oh you went there, how much you pay for the shoot? How many print can you choose? David is my friend hubby, but I know know him. My friend Esther is also a photographer, but she take on more on freelance coz she got her full time job at a magazine company. My ROM & wedding photos is taken by her, she is better on wedding shoot I guess. You boy so handsome and chubby so cute...

yes sgn, the pics are wonderful! sidney has a caterpillar which looks like the one ur boy is holding. haha. there is this other photographer called yew kuang that some go to as well.

jasmine
i signed up their promotion during dec, $100 for family photo 150 shoot n they will return the CD.
it was done by ben.

sgn,
I saw ben work on baby photos, think he is good at taking baby photos. Now no promo. is expensive. Thinking still...

Jasmine
if u are not in a hurry the take the photos then wait for 2-3 months bah.

Shauna
my friend helped me to buy the caterpillar from a shop in sun plaza.
i know yew kuang is famous in bridal photos.

Jesmine
i think he mention in the thread that he would like mummies who bk their app early dates for the shooting so that they can clear this batch n start a new promotion.

hi just checked with ben, the family potrait for 2 hours is $258. if mommy doesnt need makeup then its $228. they will return all prints on a cd and give 3 8R prints.

sgn-yah this one can opt out of makeup. i'm not using their makeup. but urs is a good deal nevertheless. what other props did u bring there?

and how many outfits did u change?

Shauna
i bought my boy's favourite toy the caterpillar, some food is a must to make bb co-operate with us.

for adult can have 2 outfit, bb unlimited.

thanks sgn, hopes that sidney is coopertaive that day. he normally behaves rather well with strangers. the last photo shoot he went, he cried coz the shoot was delayed and slipped right into his nap time. imagine the fuss he created!

its gonna be stressful. think i will lug his pony and table along.

aunty nellu started ur new life as a sahm? how;s the maid and mil now? *wink

Shauna
ya the last shooting i did let bb nap n feed him b4 the shooting but what happen! still fail, but i think it the enviorment and the camera. usu he is ok will stranger even in the lift!
go shopping even sales girl want to carry he also ok.

Hi Mummies..
CNY coming soon..are u all buying new year clothes for ur bb?? I quite sian to go shopping leh..I use to like it alot..now..have to think.."is it feeding time..or bb's sleeping time"..*sigh*

Today I saw my girl holding on the cot (bedside) railing trying to "stand"..the look on her face quite cute..like she's using all her strength..it occurred to me tat just a few mths ago..she's a tiny bb..lying quietly down there..time seems to fly pass..

hello mums!!
i'm back fr Cambodia!! Josh and I went to Angkor Wat and went up the temple to watch the sunset!!

Great experience and a great time w/o maid in tow...wahhahaha!

Shauna,
So you booked the photo shoot package? I feel like bringing my gal too. But now close to CNY, busy busy...

Nellu,
Wow you bring Josh to Cambodia!! Is it a good place to bring a child? We thinking to bring my gal to NZ but not now, maybe when she is bigger. We went there for our honeymoon and we like the place so thinking to go there again.

Graybecky,
Thats great, seeing her trying to stand up by hershelf. My gal now likes to walk around inside her cot, this few days she finally free her hands to walk a few steps, think she needs more time to gain more confidence.

graybecky
my MIL tought me to make use of bb's nap time to shop. means bring bb out when he is about to nap let him sleep in the stroller while i shop, must be quick one then when he wakes up time to go home wahahahah.

nellu
wow u bring bb for tour! me still no confident to bring bb for travelling yet plan to go Perth this coming sept but PLAN only....

gals,
cambodia is not easy. we stayed in resort most of the time becos hubby was havibg co retreat stuff.. only on sat then we all went out.

NZ and perth should be easier. developed countries r better for bb. u gals shld do it. let ur kids get used to going out.

jasmine, yes ive booked the package already. will show u gals some pics when i ve taken them. got quite abit to prepare for sidney's party..

yes sgn, now SAHM..feel more relaxed....except got to start spring cleaning and preparing for CNY.

Suddenly got to learn new things again cos dunno how to manage a hsehold like a lean mean hsewife. and must learn to save more money...dunno whethe can adjust or not...

SGN,
my girl never sleep on stroller one..especially when shopping..she's "shopping queen"..

Nellu,
welcome to SAHM club..!! how's the 1st day?? slowly can manage one..

good morning ladies.

how exciting to begin the route to being a SAHM! now that sidney is going to a year old, ive actually been one for almost a year! it gets better everyday!

graybecky, get some kakis to go shopping with u. bringing baby out alone to shop can be very stressful coz u cant really shop in peace since u duno when they will start fussing. ive long forgotten how it is to walk into a shop can grab anything i wan.haha. i now live on my dated clothes and bags and what have u in that sad wardrobe.

i have however found new interest in buying everything for the boy since his birth. so dun give up tat part of shopping! it thrills me so much to pick out those little tees and singlets and tiny shorts and i spend my time giggling to the shirts while ironing them. abit gila liao, i think. haha.

shauna, my shopping habits have shifted as well even before Josh was born.

talking abt shopping, yday i went thru my clothes and found that my clothes are all not fitting for SAHM! meaning not enuf casuals...too many biz suits, shirts, work pants/skirts and formal dresses....alamak...how? u girls got any ideas whr i can get some reasonably priced, nice casual clothes or not? like 3/4 pants that sort of things? i'm hopeless in this!!

Mummies..
I'm not sure wat happened..think there's something wrong with my e-mail..
How come ppl PM me..& the thing went to my "spam"?? Anyone got tis "prob"??

Worse thing is I delete my spam without reading one leh..*sigh*..dun know if anyone send me anything or not..(later they tot why I never reply)..*faint*..

graybecky
my first day as SAHM is not so good. Just now went to NTUC and got scolded by some self righteous ang moh for telling my maid to be careful with the trolley.

my silly maid backed the trolley backwards (i dunno why she dunno how to turn around?!?!). There were 3 pple behind her, 1. this ang moh, 2. one auntie, 3. one old lady on tongkat. When i saw her doing that, i told my maid "Be careful. Not like this. You have to turn around o/w you'll knock into others." (my maid's english is POWDERFULL one..so must say it simply)...sekali, the ang moh scold me! say i should not talk to my maid like this?!! Somemore tell me "You'd better F**King learn your manners!!" 3 times!! Loudly!! I wonder who's the one with no manners ah?!
I just told her "I don't need you to tell me how to manage my helper!" and walked off.

so super sian with this kind of self righteous pple. If i do see her next time, I'll walk up to her to tell her that she needs to go to Courtesy School!

nellu
wah lao what a bad experience for u, sometimes ppl are like that only see the surface but never really understand the whole pic n open their mouth.

sgn
ya lor...really ruined my day. Somemore i tell my maid aft that "see, when you dun listen to me and i tell you, i get scolded at by some stranger who didn't even know wat was going on. this is very embarrassing!"...Sigh sometimes my maid really dun consider our image, and just go on doing silly things in PUBLIC. We have to stop her in time before something happens. Then talk to her nicely she cannot get the message. Must talk loud loud...sigh...sianz!

but what was wrong with what u told ur maid? ang mohs treat their maids very well. coz domestic helpers are costly over there, so they think when the maids come to singapore, we're paying them very little money and yet, we dun appreciate their help.

to me, its really very stressful to have a maid. have to check her, have to worry if she will run away, if she's not happy, if she will abuse baby and the list just goes on n on. but of course, if u get a good one (but its hard to give the benefit of the doubt, even then), then she's a great help.

dun let it affect u.

Shauna
same for baby sitter lar, i also worry dun know how nanny take care of bb when i'm not around but on and off got to check n tell her how i want things to be done.
my mil always tell must know how to zhuo ren n buys things for nanny during festive seasons then nanny will sayang bb more.

precisely there is nothing wrong with what I said right? I just take it that that ang moh woman is a mad b***h!

My maid is the "BESTEST"! Aft the whole incident still dun apologies to me...sigh...she is so going!

sgn- u're right. i'm the kinda mother who is so ngiao i will go crazy if i have to leave baby with anyone. but the good thing abt nanny is u dun have to bring nanny home with u. whereas with the maid, i feel that u leave everything u've worked for to her hands whenever u walk outta house. or even when u dun. the baby, the house, the appliances, ur fancy furniture.
but there's just no way out. my gf and i always say, its best if we can have a maid adn not work, n u operate her like a robot (means dun tok, just work) then every nite the maid miraculously disappears to somewhere and returns oni when we need her.

YAH RITE.

haha Shauna, I'm trying to operate the robot. It's difficult really cos with babe you just got no time and energy to go aft her for every single thing. It'll really drive you nuts, esp if she is super buay zi dong..like mine...grr...

Nellu,
Don't be too pissed, maid are all like that. They tend to act blur when something happen. Worse her mdm is being scolded by someone becoz of her. I thought U thinking to change to another? She work for you how long already? Got free exchange or not, which mean don't need to pay agent and ask to change to another maid?

yeah, u cant track them all the time. i wish i was less fussy. but its like tat. even the other day, my grandma told me she went up to tell a maid to watch the kiddo. she nearly let this little boy fall on the road as she was not holding his hand when they were near the main road. Grams tot the woman was the mother ( grandma doesnt have good eyesight now .

they are not meticulous and my old maid used to tell me, when she was in training sch, she overheard some filipino maids saying," i dun have to come here to be a stupid maid." and i was thinking," that is very true, u shldnt come here n be a stupid maid. u can wise up, or u can go back n sow the fields in wherever u came from."

and i was a worn out as u were, coz i couldnt take a nap even when bb was aslp, coz wondering what the maid was doing. coping by myself was alot breezier. at least i noe my housework is done, or which part of my house needs attention. with them, its always a cat n mouse game.

wonder if there's any ang mohs reading our site.. later they scold me.. *guilty

Guess Im lucky to pick and replace a right maid who can help me when I needed her help, sometimes I let my maid play with my gal and I've a short nap, oh no sound like im a bad mum hor....guilty*
But sometimes really tired and need a short nap even half & hr also feel refresh again lor. The week before I was down with flu and was on MC, when I reach home in the afternoon. My maid know I was sick and keep my gal occupied and I took medicine and rest inside my room. My maid know that I treat her well & in return she also treat my gal well, she is very patient with children I can say from what I observed. Hope that she could continue after she finish her contract. Don't want to go through the fuss of finding maid again...

Jasmine,
my current maid is actually a replacement for my 1st maid. She's been with us for 5 months. the performance had been so-so. she is really quite like a robot and got not much initiative. only recently got some improvement aft i sent her to park at the agent last week when I was out of town. I dunno how long this will keep up but we have told her that we give her one more month. If she drives me nuts in this one month, she is going. So far ok... but like what Shauna says, I can't really take a nap...in fact in my case i can't nap cos bb doesn't nap...

my boy is so erratic!! Yesterday napped for 4 hrs in total and today only one hour. He's so tired now that he's konked out. This is the first time that he's going to bed at 7pm. I hope he sleeps till 11pm at least...tired tired...

Shauna,
my frens who have or had maids all concur that it's the ang mohs that spoil the market. But actually I'm quite ok with certain things, like off days. I'm that sort who like a maid with initiative, knows her place and would really be good help. I dun mind helping them upgrade themselves or give them an off day but they have to be deserving, don't you think so? The prob with the westerners is that they dun look at how their maids do things. They dun seem to care that somehow, they would be shortchanged by a dishonest maid. Why we locals always kena this kind of maids also because agents keep and market the good ones to the expats and leave the rest to us locals. Yes, it's got to do with how employer-employee treat one another. In my case, I have told my maid, if she doesn't know her place and respect us as her employers she should just go home.

Shauna,
i really take my hat off to you for coping the way you did. I really don't know how i will be able to do it. Maybe you can share some tips?

But i think the essential problem i face is that i have a super active boy at home!

Nellu,
If I were you I will decide to choose another replacement. Like my sister last year she gave birth to her 2nd child and her old maid wanted to go back coz her mum health is not well and she can't work for her anymore. So she went to look for new maid and guess what she face the worth case that you have she changed 4 maid in a roll her 4th maid actually too stress up coz she is a transfer maid and she told my sis she is under age and my sis was shocked and send her back to the agent to ask for refund. Guess now a good maid is hard to get.

nellu
my boy sometimes can nap 2hrs in a row, but sometimes only 1/2hrs can really drive me crazy too. now he starting to teething n i tried giving him teething gel nite time not so bad.

wah!! I haven't been in here for so long and u guys have been really active. So busy with work now that school has started for me. Dun even have time to breathe. kekeke...

How's everyone? update of babies n mummies pls...

My girl has gotten her first tooth!! It's slowly pushing it's way out and I can see the top of it oredi. But down side is, she keep pooing. Her butt all red and chaffed from the cleaning. So much so that we wash instead of using wet wipes now coz her skin tore due to abrasion and was bleeding. Any mummies can tell me how long this pooing phase might last? Buay tahan man... 1 day change pampers so many times!