1st Time...

sgn
ya i heard of bb will lao sai when teething, my boy also has 2 of his teeth pushing out from the lower gum, everyday i would use my hand to feel that it is growing more each day!
so far my boy dun have lao sai, but keep put things into the mouth n gets fustrated. sometimes i gave him pacifier, he just happily chew n chew like chewing gum.
btw how old is ur gal?

nellu- i set up a routine for sidney, thanks to the guidance of my gfs the min he was born. when he was younger, he would nap from 9-10am, 12-2pm, and then 4-5pm. he has since dropped his morning and late afternoon nap. the naptime will be in place if u are disciplined enuf and the baby is cooperative. his bedtime is at 8-8.30pm and will then wake up at 7am. having a routine makes going out, day planning and even coping with housework more predictable.

some pple wonder how it's possible to let babies sleep at set timings. and THIS is a prob, ur mil, ur mom, n even ur frens may question u and say baby is tired or watever when they start to fuss. but u noe u're giving him adequate amount of sleep. and in the long run, it is better for both of u. but for u, it may be slightly harder coz josh is older now.persevere! i can give u the title of the book if u would like to noe more.

of course, on n off, he will steer off on some days, but the bulk of the time, i swear by the routine.i duno abt hyper babies, but my gf who uses the routine on her hyper boy seems to cope well with it. she is a sahm with 2 boys.

jasmine- u're very lucky to get a good helper. me n hub agreed gettin a maid is just like making frens. u dun always hit it off with everyone, much less a maid of an entirely different background.

jan- babies sometimes suffer from loose bowels when they teeth. i didnt have this problem with sidney, but i think better dun use wet wipes when they have a red butt. its better to use cotton balls and boiled water. gentler on their butts. for sidney, once we could feel the sharp ends of his teeth pushed out from his gums, he was back to normal. he had slight rashes ard his mouth, drooling, and wasnt sleeping as well for a few days. he's a toughie! haha.

Shauna
agree with u about setting routine, but my boy's routine changes as he grow.
he used to sleep around 8-8.30pm but recently he starts to nap at 7pm n wakes up for milk around 9pm, play for awhile n will sleep again b4 10pm.

yes they will have to drop certain naps in order to go to bed early in the evening as they grow up. thankfully, sidney is capable of playing by himself in his play yard for short periods of time as well.

i believe there are things we can teach the child, so we set the rules and they know what to do. i'm a supernanny follower, tho the bulk of her teachings are not applicable to infants yet. but my moneky is gonna be a toddler soon!

anyways, jan, sidney cut his 3rd tooth today!some babies at his age already have 8! hee.

Jan,
My mum told me not to go touch their gum when they're teething, she say will lao sai, I dnt know how true is it. And I did avoid doing that, my girl don't have problem in loose bowels. Her 1st 2 tooth came out when she is 7-8mths, now her 5&6 tooth is half out liao.
Shauna,
Wow so fast hor, your boy going to join my gal as toddler soon, my gal will turn 15mths on the 3rd day of CNY. Now she is super active too. So how are you planning to celebrate on his birthday?
Nellu,
My gal nap time morning abt 10.30-12pm, 2pm-3plus than last nap is 6plus-7plus. She will last till 11pm till she sleep, she woke up before 7pm for milk and continue to sleep after her feed. When I leave my home for work at 8am she still zzzzzz....

jasmine- is ur gal walking already? they will make massive improvements this period.arent u thrilled?

we will take him for the photo shoot.and we're inviting close frens for a party. then we will have dinner at globetrotters w the grandparents on a seperate day. AND..(phew, let me catch a breath!)another day we will take sidney to zoo, if its not too hot! or we will bring him to shop for new year goodies. he loves to look at all the decorations now.

thats alot of activites for a birthday boy, isnt it? we're practically celebrating the whole week! its too exciting. i cant believe we've all come so far (me, hubby n sidney). a year of coping with the nites , housework and breastfeeding, and how much the boy has grown!i'm very very proud of my little family!

guess what happened today? My maid feigned seizure this aftnn around 4pm!!!!!! I nearly died! My hubby is in Beijing, MiL is over at my bro-in-law's helping the new parents cope with twin boys and the stupid maid did this to me!!!! Somemore can stop me from calling the ambulance...so must be fake! In the time of emergency, I had to call my mum for help. Mum nearly got knocked down by the bus on her way here. Imagine a 60 yr old woman with chronic HPB condition running for her dear daughter and grandson's lives?!?!

and how the so called seizure came about? I only questioned her why she put a pail full of her soaked dirty clothes on the short stool (for her to sit on when she does the laundry) in the corner of the wash area, as I have told her before not to do so, in case things topple over. She gave me no reason. So i told her "are you sure no reason? why is it everytime i ask you why you do things certain way you NEVER EVER have a reason? If you say "M'dm cos like dat easier for me (NB. she's left-handed)", I can accept. But when you don't have a reason i can't understand." So i told her i'll wait for her to give me the reason while i prepare Josh's dinner.

She suddenly start to sway about, and then pant and clutch her chest on all. At that moment i really thought she was sick or something so i had to help her sit down on the floor in the kitchen (before she hits her head on the sink) (Piang! she's damn heavy!! Heavier than me+bb!). Mind you i was carrying Josh in the sling at the moment cos he was fussing.

I was going to call the ambulance when my mum rang. I quickly told my mum wat happened and she came right over. But while waiting for my mum, my maid suddenly got better. I asked her at this pt if she had asthma, she said no. Then I said, I can't understand what happened. She told me she's nervous. I said, I didn't even scold you. I've scolded you worse and you didn't react like this wat?! (at this pt i knew she was faking it). So i called the agent and told them what happened. And told them I'll send her back straight.

I grabbed all her things and sent her straight back to the agent. in the process, I even got my neighbour to help me carry the maid's things downstairs. This maid is a rubbish hoarder. Came with 2 bags, left with 4!!

I decided there and then, she has to be kicked out. So I'm maidless! The house is in a mess. We left at Josh's dinner time!!! so poor josh was hungry and a bit fussy. Thankfully his fave playmate (grandma!) is around. Only manage to feed him at 7pm, wash him up and put him to sleep. Tonite he's cooperstive, slept at 915pm.

Despite being a hyper boy who loves to play with me all the time, he's v cooperative in times of crisis. That's really my boy!

nellu
what a hack! that's the way to treat ur maid, send her back! then she will not wa yang again.
but poor thing can u cope will the hsework and bb alone?

sometimes bb can sense something wrong with the adults and they tent to behave themselves.

Fwah nellu! ur maid damn drama! she must have watched much soap operas at home. I can't beleive the extent they'll go to try to get scolding less. She's a real smart one. U did right by sending her back quick, if not will have more problems later on.

Today I chk Jarienne's gums n realised that it's not 1 but 2 teeth pushing their way out at the bottom. N funny thing is, not the 2 in the middle, but the ones on her right. So strange! So when CNY comes, only the 2 will be visible and she will look like she has slanting teeth. Haha...

I really hope this lao sai phase will go away soon. She almost finish 1 tube of desitin in these 2 weeks... Her butt's still red and chaffed. So poor thing.

Sgn, my girl's 7 mths.

Jasmine, I think I touch her gums too much to inspect her teeth, that's why she lao sai so much. all my fault lar... too kan cheong oredi...

nellu- gambatte! if u need help, just shout! i'm sure many mothers here would love to give u support!. saturday ( used to be sunday) is mil day. sianz.

haha..thanks all!

just got back fr PD for pneumococcal shot. Josh is fine thru out all this rubbish. Maid issue not yet settled. Just chatted with the agent and the agent told me that there was nothing wrong with the b***h!...pardon my language here. for someone who can make my super patient hubby angry and impatient, that person is real shit! Decided to 'punish' the maid by making sure that she gets transferred to another employer, and I get paid back the remaining loan amt she still owes us. No way am i going to let her go home so soon! Ha! she definitely messed with the wrong family!

I guess she can only work with someone who is super super chin chye...dat's just not us and definitely not with any family with young babies and kids.

As for help i definitely need some boy...i first need to get organised! and also get part time cleaning in...i'm damn suay really...my dryer ka-putted on me few days ago and it's still being repaired...sigh how am i going to get the laundry done leh?!

uh-oh. i'm a goner without the dryer. when is it gonna be ready?

told my hubs abt ur case, and he was laughin and saying, better send her away before the medical bills are on u. and i was also thinking, attitude problem aside, if she DOES have a medical prob (which she probably doesnt), then its best to let her go in case she faints on the bb when u're not ard.

u went for pneumococcal already? i'm thinking of taking sidney veyr soon. cheaper now that he's one.

so are u gonna get another maid?

Josh's 3rd tooth is pushing out...v whiny today and got a slight fever and he doesn't want to eat. constantly want to be put in the sling and get stuck to me tight tight... can't do anything not even prepare his meals..

I'm just doing the minimum hsework these days...thankfully not much laundry cos the maid had done it before she did her stupid show. And w/o her around, Josh is using diapers instead of the usual cloth nappies. I just simplify everything. My parents had been buying my meals for me. Even my kind neighbour had offer to babysit Josh if I needed time to clean up the house...i feel quite glad that I live in the right estate with nice neighbours and being v near to my own parents.

but I feel lousy cos I got a whole stock of food stored up and was looking forward to cooking and all..and this happens.. .wat a waste of all the food in the fridge! wat makes me even more angry was that the day before i even shared with my maid my plans for Josh and told her that i needed her cooperation, which in some ways meant that her housecleaning duties are simplfied and I'll be doing some cooking myself. Shouldn't that make any maid happier? duties reduced and employer helping??! I really dun get it!

I have instructed the agent to get her another employer but not a family with young children because i think families with young children require a lot more work and energy, the employers will be particular, just like anyone of us. This stupid maid just cannot make it. The problem with her is her attitude; v selfish, self-centred and ungrateful, particularly to my MiL...sigh there are just so many things that she did that showed us that she just cannot make it!

Shauna, I'm going to be ambitious and rough it out on my own first and see how..but i definitely will have to get part time cleaning, cos my hubby is quite busy at work and is also doing his MBA right now...dun think he has much energy and time either...sigh...

hello! mummies...long time never log in...so busy wth stuff esp cny ciming soon...recently bring my bb out to buy new yr clothes.... i haven even buy mine yet! super bz.

wow nellu!Surprise that happen to u... super drama! lucky its over...cant stand this kind of maid...and lucky nothing happen to ur mum...

oh my bb finally flipped! Think its around 1 week ago...she started flipping..and she loves it...haha..so cute!everytime she flip she will be smiling non stop..

nellu
got try using teething gel?
i think it works for my boy after my friend suggested as his gal was very cranky when she having her molars coming out.

kimmylian
ha ha same here i also very busy but dun know busy with what, no time to cut hair, n to shop for my own new yr clothes.

sgn,
I haven't given him the teething gel yet. Will monitor and see how it goes.

kimmylian,
ya lor..v suay to have something like that happen..but luckily not during CNY...otherwise suay for the whole year!!

yep, ive thought of part timers at one time but eventually i got more adept to my child rearing duties and chores so we're putting that idea aside.

but its definitely a solution rite now, to dispense with irritating maids and to cope in the interim period. never noe, u may end up just wanting to do wihtout one forever.keke

molars will be painful! sidney sometimes wakes up screaming, think the front teeth alreay making him hurt. we're going for photo shoot today. wil be back to upload some pics when i have abit more time. now gonna pack clothes n toys.burbyez.

nellu
u know what? my boy slept from 8.30pm to this morning 7am! wow i long time never had such a solid 8 hrs sleep lor (slept at 11pm). maybe u should try it cos at least can relief Josh's teething discomfort. u need me to buy for u? i can mail it to u.

Nellu,
Oh NO!! Why this kind of thing happen when you needed help when your hubby not around. Must be siong for you. You know my 1st maid also act sick, she told my MIL that she not feeling well, my MIL ask her to rest she really can go sleep on my MIL bed some more. When my hubby & I woke up, my MIL told us about it, I tell her you sick ah, come I send you to see doctor, she say no mdm I feel better liao, I told her if she act sick when she is not. I will send her back to the agent for lying to me. That happen for few times also. My hubby I and decide to look for replacement without her notice till the day the new maid come we just ask her to pack up and go. She was shocked when my hubby ask her to packed her things. Same lah come with 1 bag go with 3 bags.

Shauna,
My gal started walk bit by bit few steps by her own and hold back our hands again after that. Now she know how to open up the cupboard door liao kept wanting to walk to the kitchen, have order the window grills and the folding door to be put up hopefully this week. Now she want super attention when she not sleeping.

Sgn,
What teething gel you're using? My gal this few days very cranky, her 5&6 tooth half way out liao, just don't know why she don't want her milk leh cried like the whole house coming down. Her porridge only finish half, lucky she still want to take some bread which is a standby incase she never finish her meal.

jasmine,
we were planning to axe the maid but i din expect her to make thew first move...really caught me off guard.

sgn,
that's great to hear that Kai Yang slept thru the whole nite! What is the name of the teething gel?

These couple of days Josh is cranky not only because of the tooth but i think he's not used to the quietness of the house with the maid gone and daddy not around. When he roused in the middle of the nite, he kept on turning to daddy's side of the bed (we sleep on the same bed by the way). Think he's looking for daddy...

Josh's problem is that he takes a long time to fall asleep and dun really stay asleep for long. I'm not too sure what the problem is but am trying out different things to see how i can change that.
He's almost always tired and so are we...

btw, do any of you mummies use a baby monitor?

I discovered that i probably can't hear Josh waking up if I am in the kitchen and the washing machine is running....am thinking of getting one but not sure which is good.

TIA if anyone of you can recommend one.

Nellu,
Maybe is better without a maid if you're not working liao like Shauna, think if you needed help can ask your mum to come over your place once in a well to help look after Josh well you do things. Thats what my mum doing, she have been going to my sis place when she got no where to go. For me coz I have a maid and MIL at home so my mum don't tend to visit me a lot.
My gal too recently have been very cranky, don't know why? She will insist on what she wants, when I refuse to give her she will screamed and cried till the things she wants is given to her. Xiong lor... Now kids are so hard to please...
So you don't let Josh sleep by his own ah? My gal too will fell asleep in our bed and I will put her in her cot to sleep. She will sleep till morning. Think its better to let them sleep in their own cot though. But of coz the cot is just beside our bed. As for baby monitor think is a good idea to put 1 up if you're alone with Josh easy for you to do other things and monitor when she wakes up.

nellu/ jasmine
i bought from gurdian call Dentinox teething gel.
no harm trying,

nellu
impressive! u call remember my boy's name. tks.

today bought bb along for my hair cut n shopping hee hee whole afternoon he only nap for 45 mins.
now he kon off liao. waiting for him to wakes up for his last feed n apply the teething gel for the night. usu i will apply for him b4 he sleeps.

my boy also hard to make him sleep, like today i went Tangs nursery bf him hoping he nap for a while, finnally he slept n next door bb cries n wakes him up hai.... never sleep until we got home n slept at 7pm.

nellu
i heard phillip's bb monitor good i never use cos my MIL's place is old house quite open so can hear bb's voice at any point ha ha ha.

wow..really lost in here liao..

Nellu,
so are u going to look for new maid..? me also heard phillip's bb monitor quite good..but we never used bb monitor..so not sure..

these few days quite bad for me..bb teething..can't drink & sleep well..taxing for me..*sigh*...so bz with her..no time to log in..but other then that..she's quite okie..dun have loose stools..

another thing tat made my weekend terrible is my room's air con spoilt..!! very warm @ nite..sigh..now have to wait see when the ppl can come over to repair..

hi graybecky
aunty nellu going to be aunty nellu thru and thru...NO MAID for now...just get a part time cleaner to come in to do ironing and thorough cleaning.

your weekend just like mine. also discovered things in my hse spoilt. 1st the dryer, then the cooker hob, non-stick frying pan kena scratched until dunno wat, sink is clogged, suspect the fan in one of the rooms also ka-putted...den also discovered that my hse is quite dirty despite having had 2 maids for the last 9mths!! They are hopeless...

hang in there with the teething bb! my boy's 1st tooth was quite bad. I was working then and still had to take care of him at nite...nearly died! after that his 2nd tooth is ok, now the 3rd, only cranky on and off..

Graybecky,
My air-con spoilt also. So hot!! On the fan also hard to sleep well. Luckily my hubby manage to get the ppl to come on the 2nd day to fix it up. Can't do without air-con, especially my gal get warm, she will be cranky when she sweat a lot. My girl also teething now refuse her milk intake at night before she sleep, few days already the milk so wasted have to pour away. And have to get up in the middle of the night to feed her. Now days time she totally don't want her milk, also don't know what to do!! Only can give her solid like porridge, cereal, bread, fruit etc... what ever she can take...

nellu/ graybecky
my ky also sick, today started with running nose when bring to nanny's place and she gave him the med and this evening when hb bring him back, nanny said he had been cranky the whole day and still having running nose. when i reach home (2230hrs) bb slept n i feel so upset not able to be there when he needs me.

sgn,
Don't be too upset I understand how you feel. No choice we FTWM can't be with our bb 24 hrs like SAHM, when they're sick we either have to take child care leave or urgent leave when needed to. Hope Kai Yang recover soon and you too take care.

Jasmine
tk u, i took child sick leave today, he was so cranky keep cring, wanted to be carried n running nose ++. can't help it got to take leave if not will feel guilty. i see him crying this morning i also wanted to cry as i can't do much to relief his discomfort.

hi sgn,hope the boy is getin better. they get super clingy when they are unwell, i guess its natural. hard on the mother, harder on bb. hang in there!

anyways, the other day i said i was going for the photo shoot rite?

so hubby took leave, n i packed everything in advance in a day, and theres alot to pack, coz u gota prepare baby's clothes (4 or more sets) and they gota coordinate with parents', toys, food, and other accessories dah dah dah. so after all these nonsense, we went all the way down from one end of the island to joo chiat.

the apptmt was confirmed via email and phone. and the booking fee of 50sgd was paid. we stood there like blardy idiots(pardon my language), and the photographer cleanly forgot abt it. baby had to take a car ride for close to an hour to get there, n we had to call n wait for the photographer to check and THEN he finally realised he had an apptmt with us so he said he would be there in 25 min. which he didnt.

we left.
it was very very disappointing.

i dun wanna say he was cheating, but he certainly wasnt responsible enough to double check his apptmts. travelling half way ard singapore isnt gonna kill the family but it definitely was alot of work and disappointment involved. thank goodness, sidney was very sweet, n sat thru the car ride to n fro rather well.

nellu, i dun use a baby monitor. but i dun cook, so i guess it's different for u n me. i can usually hear sidney even when the washer or dryer is on. maybe my house not very big bah. or his voice is damn loud. keke.

Shauna
tks i think just have to bear with it, well after taking med running nose stopped for a while then comes again. his lips a bit red mil worry it's URTI.

what a disappointment, can ask for refund?

shauna, read ur story..indeed is so unprofessional of that photograher...if im in ur situation i think i can pick a fight with that guy... as parents we know its not easy to go out let alone u are gg for a photoshoot..def there will be lotsa extra things to bring..

hey heard u gals mention bout teething gel...is it really useful?

I jus discovered today that my bb also teething..can actually see white coloue teeth growing out...

Our air con still down..!! So upset..the guy can't confirm when coming over..*faint*

Jasmine,
same prob lor..my girl dun want milk..so we let her drink till she dun want..then next meal feel porridge or brown rice..in between we give some bicuits..& so on..

SGN,
how's KY??

Shauna,
then how..? u got ask for refund or wat..?

Kimmy,
nope..I never use teething gel for my girl leh..

graybecky
bad! can't sleep well last night wakes up almost every hr due to block nose. me got pad him to sleep.

graybecky-yah of course ask for refund. he offered us half price to go down n take another day. as if i care abt the discount.

kimmylian- indeed, it was terrible. we lugged like a carful of things and big toys (thinking pics will look better with our 'props') half way ard singapore oni to have he photographer stand us up.

sgn,
Did the PD give nose drop? My gal gt running nose that time the doctor give nose drop to clear the block so she can sleep better.
If he gt phlegm can try the Hou Ning from Yu Ren sheng which I have suggested for phlegm.

Shauna,
Who is the photographer you booked? I must raise the issue to my friend, how can they didn't follow booking like that, is so bad on their image.

hello all,

Josh is sick too..got fever, suspect was from the pneumococcal shot + teething(?)...yday and today he's super clingy. had to carry him to sleep..

yday was better cos his daddy was around and they played "Stalk the Mummy" game i.e. daddy and him followed me around the hse when i go abt doing things... this morning nothing is possible!! only now he's abit more settled.

hello nellu

how's josh now? better?
my gal also had fever from pnuemococcal shot .. give it one or two more days, it should clear... meanwhile, give him lots of liquid ;-)

u take care....

Hey Nellu,
I forgot to tell u abt the pants..I bought mine 3/4 from Balaneo (dun know the spelling)..like quite nice..after discount is abt $23.90..me also from work wear change to SAHM wear..

Jasmine
ya brought him to see pd after work today given nose drop. i told mil about the hou ning regreted never buy the last time when go shopping thinking very ex dun want to invest on it 1st.

nellu
poor josh hope he get well soon, u take care too.
just went sbcc the clinic got a few kods also having fever n flu.

Graybecky,
thanks for the info...hahaha i'm really hopeless at getting bargains. I used to not bat nary an eyelid at all to pay $100 for a pair of capris...now i'd think twice if it cost $35!

poppy, sgn,
Thanks for the concern. Josh's fever has gone down. But last nite at 230am he suddenly woke up and cried and cried and cried...we just couldn't do anything to calm him down. Then in the morning his diaper exploded with poop! Now's he's taking his nap. Hopefully today will be better...I'm hopeful everyday!

Jasmine,
abt the hou ning, adults can use too right?

Nellu,
Hou Ning is good for reducing phlegm, what I know is safe for BB to take. For adult the dosage you have to check with the medical store. I heard from Yu Ren Sheng is good but of coz expensive like what sgn says. Can standby 1 or 2 boxes, I brought 2 boxes from their road show with 20% discount just last month. Its $61 plus retail price and only 1 small tube in a box only. As for Josh if he poop few times for this 2 days after his fever is normal, clear out the dirty and heat from inside is good lah. Just bare with it for this few days, hope he get well soon. You take care too.

the Hou Ning is actually more for my hubby. Dunno why he still cannot recover from his cough since early dec. Sigh must be cos went to Chicago, so cold and caught a chill...