1st Time...

Hello Cynthia,
Welcome..!!

Kimmy,
I agree with SGN..when bb can flip have to watch them like a hawk..now my girl learning to crawl..worse..*faint*..have to try make sure she dun knock anything..

happy new year!!!
Yday exactly 12am mi and hubby each kissed our girl on her cheeks and say hapi new year to her...haha...such a sweet feeling!

hi peeps,

boy been down with a temp and a rash. so didnt have time to log in. horrid to c baby under the weather. now i have second, maybe a hundred thoughts abt sending him to childcare when i return to work.

Shauna
long time no see u login.
how's bb now? hope ur bb get well soon.
my colic also feels that her gal gets URTI very offen while in the childcare so she send her back to china where grandparents help to take care.

nellu
when it ur last day of work?

hi shauna,

sorry to hear that sidney is sick. Did you bring him to the paed?

Josh got runny nose yday as well and was really difficult last nite.

I guess if we want to work, we will have to find ways to deal with such situations. The only other better way to keep bb illnesses minimal is to have him looked after by someone exclusively. But even then it doesn't ensure 100%...really depends on that person who takes care of the kid.

My fren who is a FTWM with a 2 yr old tells me that aft a while we'll all get used to it. The initial 1st year is difficult particularly for 1st timers like us. I take her advice and words of comfort in good stride and try my best to do everything i can for Josh. And I know that as the days go by, we'll all get better at it.

sgn
my last day is 15 Jan.
CAN'T WAIT!!

But we are going to Cambodia before that...hehehe...also can't wait...everyday come to ofc and slack...hahahaha

sgn, nellu- thanks for the concern. sidney was running a temp for 2 days and then a rash broke out. this is the 1st time he has been ill and it totally broke our heart. he refused to sit or play by himself, and had to be carried 24/7. i literally carried him to sleep for 4 days. and its still on-going. he has also lost his voice.
PD says its viral infection.
me n hubby are now considering hiring a maid when i return to work. its still half a year before i have to go back to work but i'm super kiasu.

nellu, are u quiting for good? its the best thing to stay at home to be wtih ur kid. i would love to stay with sidney for as long as i can but finances would prove to be very challenging.

shauna,
it's not chicken pox right? When Josh had chicken pox at 5mths, he was like that too. But didn't have a fever.

if you want to hire a maid, you'd better do it now so that you have sufficient time to troubleshoot. but it's really risky to leave a young child with the maid alone. Better consider carefully.

I'm quiting for now, not sure if it will be for good. i'm fed-up with my maid and also my MiL had played me out. So the best option is to stay home now. Not much of a choice, just have to scale back on the spending lor.

hi nellu, it aint chicken pox. just labelled as viral infection by PD. there are small spots on body and something that resembles sun burnt marks all over the face.he's a zillion times better now, but stil clingy. he cries when he wakes, he cries when he's being put down. so poor thing.

i had a maid before and actually the idea of having a maid really puts me off. 1stly abt the fact that i'm a neat freak and they dun necessarily do the things u wan them to do, and of course the privacy but mainly the fact that i dunno how to leave my baby to anyone, much less a maid. so there u go, a difficult mother who wans everything and has a meagre pocket! haha.

hi shauna,
good to hear it isn't chix pox. still do take good care ya? it's difficult but you have to hang on.

abt maids, i understand perfectly your issues and concerns. sometimes we just have to lower our expectations.. I'm grappling also on whether to continue with my current maid, now that i am going to stay home. My hubby is happy to have a maid around but I am not, because my current one sucks plus i'm too jaded and tired to go and train another one. Having a maid around (if you have a reasonably acceptable one) is good as she can help you out with the chores. but the thought of having to train and manage them really drives me nuts!

my current maid is my second maid already. She is bad cos she's got a bad attitude. She refuses to communicate with us properly, using her limited English as an excuse; likes to eavesdrop on our conversations; gets too familiar and touchy (likes to hug the womenfolk in my family and brown-nose my dad!); cries everytime she is corrected; doesn't knock the door when she enters the room; talks way too loud (even when bb is sleeping! resulting in him startling sometimes!); forgets to do things that are already part of her routine for the last 5 mths; rough and careless (always destroying something in the hse); likes to bargain on her duties; likes to argue when corrected.... i've done everything, from incentivising, counselling to scolding to 'suan'-ing...nothing works! Part of my maid problems was resulted from the fact that she spent a lot of time with my MiL, so much so that when i scold the maid, my MiL will say "aiya, never mind lah!" ...what never mind?! And on the flip side, the maid will point fingers to the MiL and say she was the one who gave the instructions...the maid really thinks i'm dumb...

shauna do take care during tis period...Hope sidney is fine by now....

nellu cant stand your maid...seems like she got very serious problem... she really think got ur mil backed her up thats y she can be so arrogant...i myself also dislike the idea of having a maid.. i think its only worst come to worst no choice will people employ maids....

Shauna
when bb sick they wanted to be carried. my mil always ask me to latch bb when he was sick n my boy just rolled off from the bed 15 mins ago.
mil told me quickly latch on n pacify him.
lucky i put the LG mat on the floor so it was not a hard fall. kiv bring bb to pd for check up tomorrow.

Hello mummies, didn't log in for a well.
Shauna don't worry too much, my gal also happen to have high temp. for 4 days few months back and the GP say if it doesn't go away in another 2 days we have to send her to hospital, so scare at that point of time, she refuse to drink and eat for few days and was also cranky for that few days.If the rashes come out that is a good thing coz that time we bring her to see the GP twice and then the rashes broke out after that 4days then we bring her to see PD and he say the fever will not be coming back as the heat rashes have came out. You just need to buy the lquid to apply on his body that will cool him and he will not feel uncomfortable. If you need to know the medicine to apply I have to go back and check and let you know. But can only buy from clinic.

Nellu,
Your 2nd maid sounds like my 1st maid which I send her back after 3 mths, attitude problems and don't like taking care of my child, big eater, will ask my MIL to buy what she likes to eat and if don't suit her taste she will just leave till its spoil and throw away. I got no choice but to employ 1 coz my MIl is at her old age who can't walk so well by her own not mention to look after my gal. Luckily by luck we got a good maid after the 1st. We choose new ones again coz those transfer maid is out of the choice we wanted, we don't want to take philipno. coz they are too clever and insist wanting off days. The 1 we have now at least is good at looking after my gal and 1 thing is she loves playing with her when I've to do something else. At least I can catch my breath after a long day work. She will spend like half & hour with her after she clear her work in the kitchen after dinner. I just hope that my maid will continue to renew after 2yrs coz its hard to come across a good one I guess.

ya, if i can manage everything on my own i will definitely do w/o the maid. It's difficult for me even as i become a SAHM, cos my hubby travels a lot for work, approx at least once a month and each time is abt 1-1.5weeks. our parents are not in the best of health so it is difficult to rely on them.

Jasmine, i assume ur maid is indonesian? We prefer Filipino because of the ease of communication (supposedly!?), as well as similarity with religion. We are Catholics so would need maid to come with us to church. But if maid is indonesian and muslim i worry abt things like that. But u are right that they are clever. I'm ok if they are clever in the right way and I have no issues if they want an off day in a month. just can't stand bad attitude.

My 1st maid had good attitude but she's a bit mental (like giggle to herself alot and gets over excited over bb!). Scares the S**T out of me..so I have to let her go for peace of mind...

btw, Jasmine, which maid agency you use? Would you recommend?

Shauna,
Did the paed give you calamine lotion for Sidney's rashes?

Josh got flu. Last night was difficult. I had to carry him to sleep cos his nose was chocko-block!!

thanks gals!

nellu, i noe exactly what u mean! my maid would walk in n out of my room (i was doin my confinement at my mom's place when we hired her) freely without even knocking. i also felt she was eavesdropping.there was once i told her off abt not cleaning the things properly and she just replied,"anymore?" in no time we sent her packing.

still like kimmylian says, its really bo bian. if oni all the mothers could stay at home n look after their kids without feeling like they have been penalised for not working for sometime.
the PD gave an antibiotic cream but not calamine. he's all good now, voice is coming back too but still insecure. guess its normal. at least he's sleeping in his cot now. but waking up a million times at nite!haha

sgn- he used to rather independant. ever since the bout of illness, he cant be left alone a minute. but i mean everyone who's unwell wans a cuddle, much less someone this tiny. haha.

jasmine- u're right abt allowing the rashes to "come out". fever is a symptom, not the actual illness so its the premonition of something bigger, in this case the rash. when the rash was full blown the fever subsided.

shauna,

the maid is definitely going, just a matter of time. Now I'm exploring other options and looking into whether or not to hire someone new or to do without. My hubby thinks it's better for us to have an extra help. he's paying so I'm fine...heheh...it is whether or not i can tolerate the maid.

Shauna
i just came fack from sbcc cos booked app to see pd for running nose but he was better but last night bb fell off the bed so just want a check up. pd gave another type of med for running nose, i will keep for emergency cos bb better now.

hai... i wanted a maid but MIL dun allow cos i stay with her n PIL dun like to have stranger in the hse.

sgn,i think shld be ok if PD has checked. look out if fontanelles are sunken or bb behaves differently from normal.

if u are doin ok without maid, better dun get.. i really really wish i dun have to get one. ur bb taken care by mil or nanny?

nellu, i cant afford to stay at home n have the maid at the same time but its really irritating to have a maid, dun u agree? the house is just chatter-free and u can have a lower blood pressure. if u can cope, i think its fab to do without a maid. ive enjoyed everyday with my boy without a maid, and i'm sure u would too!

i wished i had the courage to put him in cc but its just too frightening to think he might be ill again and given tat we dun always get like 3-4 days of leave all the time without questioning, i duno how i can put him back in childcare when he's still not in his best form. HELP!!

shauna, i dunno if i can do w/o a maid or not leh. It's been a long time since i did any heavy hsework. My hubby was KS and did all the heavy hsework when I was preggie. I only cooked and iron clothes.
...dilemma....

Nellu,
My maid agent is NATION. Can't say its good, depends on luck I guess. Our 2nd maid we just pick out of not much of a choice and she just a secondary standard and happen that she is good with baby, she got a son of 5yrs old. Where our 1st maid is high school standard just got married before she came here I was surprised, she tend to pretend that she don't know what we say but she knows what we're talking. You're right so long didn't touch housework like me. My hubby use to do the housework and I wash the clothes. Now with the help of my maid he don't even need to border and in the morning my maid will ask him coffee or milo sir. Hehe... he say still can choose what to drink in the morning.

Shauna & Nellu,
Yeah Nellu mention the lotion is calamine lotion. Its good cooling on skin will make your baby feel better after shower. I apply for my gal my hands also felt the cooling feeling. I guess getting maid is by luck. If you can get one which is reliable it will ease our mind. Before getting maid we also ask each other hummm get a stranger to stay with us, will we be use to it?? But guess we have no choice at all but to get 1. My sister maid ask to go back coz of mother health not good and after her maid go back she change total of 4 maids coz like what Nellu says communication problem and her son don't like and so on she change and change even change agency coz one of the maid told my sis she is not even 19 yrs old, so my sis send her back to the agent and ask for refund.

How did u all spend new year..??

Hello Shauna,
is ur bb okie now?

Hey Nellu,
Must be counting down liao rite..hehee..

My gal's 2 top teeth is coming out..tis time seems more uncomfortable than the bottom 2..*sigh*..she's making a lot of noise..can't drink..can't sleep well..

Shauna,
Did Sidney lost a lot of weight? My gal lost about 2kg when she was sick that round. Now she picking up on her diet again finally...
Last night so funny she finish all her porridge and guess what she just want to look into the bowl and make sure there is no food left and when we reach home she saw the dou fu she can't resist and we gave her some after that she also make sure there is no more left in the bowl before my maid bring it to the kitchen haha... and she show us her hand by showing no more sign... we laugh... kekeke...

Hi graybecky,
Oh your gal so soon her top teeth coming out. My gal lower teeth came out when she is around 8 months plus. And her top teeth only came out when she is about 11 months plus. Now my gal 5 & 6 teeth out too can see the teeth half way out. You give her teething toy to bite she will like it. My gal likes to bite those hard part of the teething toys she don't like that soft part I also don't know why.

graybecky-sidney is well now. mine oni has 2 bottom teeth for now.

jasmine- sidney didnt lose weight at all. in fact when he sat on the scale wen we went to the PD, everyone ard the scale was like "wow". haha. he still ate his food while he was running a temp n the rashes. but today he was refusing to eat abit..

Sigh... guess is my turn to fall sick, just went to the doctor for medicine going off after clearing my work. Down with flu block nose, sore throat, body aching etc.... Doctor gave me MC & 5 types of medicine errrrh... HOPE I DON'T PASS IT TO MY GAL!

Jasmine,
My gal's bottom 2 teeth came out when she was 6mths..we didn't know it was coming out..cos there was no "sign"..she was behaving very normally..she can drink..can sleep..not like tis time..can't drink..can't sleep..cry & cry..

hey, do any of the mothers here leave baby alone with maid at home? i have absolutely no help and if i do hire a maid, sidney will be alone with the maid! im worrying myself to death just like a year ago and am contemplating to just continue staying at home for another year or so.

infantcare or childcare is beyond me now since the day sidney has fallen ill for the 1st time and it was my wake up call that me n hubby cannot possibly take leave tat many days to look after him and we will not send him back to childcare until he's fully recovered.

it would mean a few things:
1) i would have to quit my current job (i'm not on a year leave)
2) finances will be stringent and we may not be able to afford a no.2 given resources(aka ME) and money.
3) i'm going to end up as cashier if i wish to return to the workforce if i stop working for 2 or 3 years continuously!

HELP.

shauna, BREATHE!! dun freak out yet.

maid-wise, it's a real gamble. i would suggest taking an exp maid and get one via ref fr friends. more reliable. install camera at home to watch her

kids falling ill is inevitable. of course we'll try to avoid it as much as possible.

dun freak out. you won't become a cashier lah...at most i join you lor.

i'm in the same situation as u now. i'm still habouring hopes for my maid to improve. i guess if i close one eye, she is actually not too bad...

Nellu,
Yeah its a gamble in getting a good maid. Think its not a good idea to close one eye. As I also close one eye on my 1st maid, I tahan her for 3months and finally I tell myshelf and my hubby, if I were to start work leaving my gal in her hands I will not be able to work in peace. So I got no choice but to take 1 more weeks of leave after my maternity leave to train the new maid I get. In actually fact after few incidents, me and my hubby go agent to look out for new maid. And have to keep in mind at that point of time I have to get 1 good 1. So I kept my finger X, lucky we got a so call good enough 1 to take care of my girl.

jasmine,
you don't leave you girl alone with the maid right? there is someone else at home with your girl and maid?

Nellu,
Sometimes I do when Im at work my MIL need to buy things she will leave my maid with my gal at home. My girl is perfectly ok with my maid. Infact she will prefer to play with my maid than my MIL. Coz my MIL is unable to carry her and move around.

had a tok with hubby, i'm gonna try n take another 6 months leave and i seriously hope that works out. when sidney turns 18 months, i will put him in a few hours of childcare and then gradually let him get accustomed (and build up his immunity) for the next 6 months and then return to work.

like nellu says,it is inevitable that kids fall ill. our issue was always that we couldnt take tat much leave to deal with kid falling sick every other week (or in some cases ive heard, every week) for 3-4 days a time. and we cant at the moment, afford to hire a maid (to look after bb if he falls ill) AND send him to childcare at the same time.

hope the leave gets approved! nellu, less than a week to being SAHM! yahoo!

i totally agree that gettin a good maid is all a matter of luck. biodatas are a bunch of crap. ive seen so many that on the biodata itself, the bdae doesnt even match the age. stupid agents cant even be bothered to tally their lies on paper.

hallo all.
i'm sitting at my desk in ofc right now, packing my things and looking at my desk for probably what will be the last time...sigh...so many problems at home and with childcare issues, i don't even know when i'll be able to return to work, much less back into this line that I am in. (shauna, dun worry. If next time can only be cashier, there's me to keep you company! :p )

To say I won't miss the working world, i'll be lying. I'm such a workaholic that even when I took leave to take care of Josh, I would have him in his infant seat next to me while I check my emails or do my work on the computer. I don't even know how I am going to pass my days in future.

on the flip side, I can't wait to spend my time with Josh. I can't wait to fulfill my 'secret' ambition of being a homemaker.

I'm traditional yet modern at the same time. It is a huge struggle on my internal psyche...I only hope that things will turn out fine.

Nellu,
I understand how you feel. Basically stop work to take care of our own child is the best we can give them in their childhood. If I can I will also want to, but seems like it will not happen till they're bigger and need more attention in their study by then I should have earn just enough for me to stop for fews years, lets hope so lah. Now life is tough staying in singapore everything (PRICE) go up.
Shauna,
You're right about the shit biodatas they have, my 1st maid doesn't match what we saw from her data. Her size and weight shocked me and my hubby. She is huge. And guess what my maid at present they met each other in their training center here in singapore, she too think she is huge. And the data says she help in house work and cooking which doesn't match also. Guess is like a 'di gam' thing to get a good maid nowadays.

ok, just back from a huge childcare centre near my place. its a big big bungalow with a huge playground and outdoor area.

nothing wrong with the place , just not impressed. and its not the cheapest childcare.. so, all in all. just not impressed.

as for maids, the more biodatas i browsed, the more i kept thinking i SO wish i could live with a maid. life would be much simpler then. i wouldnt have to clean the millions of windows in my house, scrub the toilet floors, and can take a nap in the afternoons. oh yes, THEN i think i will die just thinking of the no. of hours she;s alone with bb, and i'm back at square one.

nellu, we will go work at cold storage. not so many pple and more "ah-tars". ntuc too many ah sohs and gota wear some flowery blouse. *hi-five

Shauna,
You already imagine you're working in Coldstorage OMG so poor thing lor, that is last resort .... Come to think of it. I never imagine I will work as a cashier...hummm...

Aiyo Mummies,
I so long didn't come in...& now seeing u all talk abt being cashier..(think i'm 1st in line)...stay home for 2mths liao..the feeling I get is $ can't buy one...but..I need the $ for her diapers...
Thinking of giving tuition..I used to do tat (part time) till I preg..now thinking of looking for students..

Nellu,
look @ the bright side...@ least u can be with ur bb all the time..will not miss out in the growing up stage..(they grow very fast leh)