1st Time...

Nellu
Btw, ur MIL is ok with u withdrawing bb from their care? How did u tell them ur decision?

Sometimes, I am kinda of worry dat when my bb is older & I want to put him at childcare, I would hv objection from my FIL who is so attached to my bb.

cool_daughter
i'm leaving it to my hubby to break the news to her. She still doesn't know yet.

Anyway she is a paradox lah. She says things like macam she bo bian must help us, but then she's so sticky to Josh. Also, her actions dun quite tally with her words sometimes lor. Like weekdays, the moment i get home, she always dun wait for me to settle down and just hand the bb over to me. As a result i dun get to 'breathe' at all.

i think men on the whole are not so sensitive towards such things. Anyway for all you know, maybe your FIL won't mind leh?! it's not like the whole day rt?

nellu
well i will give and take cos sometimes my mil give good advice, but i hate it when she uses the same spoon to feed my niece n my boy. i ever hint her my niece just get well from flu. then she like catch my hint then she never do that again so far, hope she would do it again!

graybecky
no lah, dun feel bad somethime we have to relax too. sure u missed u bb badly during the trip rite?

poppy- i dun think i would send to nanny. i cannot wait another 2 months coz my work requires me to start by then. as my employer has already been very kind to give me a year plus leave, i will have to either quit or return to work. (i think..)but infantcare very ke lian one. i visited one at harbourfront before, then it was ok, but i guess i just cant imagine putting sidney there. sigh.

nellu- its great u're choosing to be a sahm. now u can tell her nicely that u want things a certain way and watch both the maid and mil like a hawk. haha. my case is the complete opposite of urs. we asked mil to help to look after bb but she turned us down flat and even when we asked her to take some time to look after me n baby for confinement, she refused and told me to get some malaysians to do it.

1stmom-my boy is 10 months old and he has to be rocked to sleep. we have hardly tried any sleep training methods on him ie controlled crying or watever there is. we did however follow gina ford's book on routines since birth till now. my boy still needs to be carried to sleep. he has "graduated' to being patted to sleep on bed now.. me n hubby thinks he's only a baby once and we cant really leave him to yell it out just coz his parents have left him in a dark room hoping he would figure a way out to learn to sleep. but it would really mean lotsa sleepless nites. so better dun follow my footsteps. haha.

jasmine- i would love to take care of sidney as long as i can but my work cannot wait for me and if i stay at home longer n longer, i may be quite obsolete soon. as u can see, i'm very much an auntie now. haha. its terribly exhausting to be a sahm, chores and baby and even thru the nites. but its gotta be the best job ive ever had.

ya loh shauna, infant care very poor thing for bb.. i also feel the heart pain ;-(

but if your boss has so nicely given you the long leave.. then gota go back loh ;-)

look at the bright side, your bb will be more independant faster and learn things earlier ;-)

Shauna,
Thats the problem with IL hor. Some like to have their way in taking care of baby some totally don't want to "chap". My twin sister also face the same problem like you, although her MIL stay at her place during weekdays she say her MIL can be a flower vase coz she don't care about anything when her 2nd baby cry she just carry and pass her to her maid and she go watch her TV. Her son lock himshelf up inside the room she also don't care. So like what people say each housewhole got their own problem to settle. Hope everything goes well when you do return to work. Putting your son in infrant care is a heart pain thing they will sure cry for a well, have to let them try to adapt I guess.

poppy pop,
I have PM you. Sorry after thinking I think I will buy new one for training pants. Anyway my girl still don't know how to walk yet. Don't think will toilet train her so soon lor. Peisay...

Jasmine- very true, my girl now will keep looking for me at nite. As long as she can see me at home then she's ok. She's like a mini radar that can sense my presence. I will slowly let her adapt to the maid when she comes. If not, can forget about any nite dates or holidays with hubby. I super scared get a bad maid too. Now juz keeping my fingers crossed that she's hardworking and easy to get along with. My hubby and I are the damn 'chin cai' type. Sometimes a little too lax but hope she won't be lazy becoz' of that. =)

Shauna- Yes, I'm teaching. This job is super tiring! Can't imagine having to take care of baby on my own after work and still must do hsework. That's why got a maid. Didn't want to in the 1st place coz' don't want a stranger in the hse. No privacy! But really no choice coz' next yr, I'm in the afternoon session. By the time have dinner and bathe, already nite time, where to find the time to do hsework? I rather spend the time playing with Jarienne. That little amount of time is all I have with her each day. So sad... My new maid is from Indonesia. I really hope she's ok as her biodata state that she has worked in Indonesia as a maid for 5 yrs. So should have some experience and not totally newbie. At least know how to operate the electrical appliances and not that swaku. U now no maid? Whose helping u?

Wah, seems like Nepia is really good. My Jarienne is using Mamy Poko and I find it super good oredi. Think must try this brand out. The offer still on at NTUC?

Well, got happy news to share too. Jarienne finally learnt how to eat cereal! I tried yesterday for the 1st time and she took like around 6 to 7 teaspoons of it. She seemed to like it so today I let her try double that amount, 2 big scoops of cereal and 2 scoops of milk. Around 1/4 of a bowl. She finished!! Though a bit messy and slow but she finished everything. When I told her that she's a smart girl, she smiled and smiled as if she understood. Really made my day today! =)

Wow, after listening to all the woes abt MIL, I guess I'm lucky that my mum's helping to look after Jarienne. At least when I think that's the way things are to be done, I let her noe and she's ok with it too.

jan- i can understand how tiring it gets. i dun have anyone to help me. but it gets better as the days go by. my maid then was from indo also, 7 years exp in sin. she was ok, but we felt that it really wasnt our cup of tea to have a stranger in the house and we started having to whisper in mandrain all the time. all in all, we just werent comfy with her. so we sent her home!

the offer for nepia is until 12/12 in ntuc. so happy for u that jarienne is moving on to a huge milestone. it must be really exciting. i used to spend my days (sidney's sleeping hours) pureeing and freezing. it was like a mini factory in my big fridge.haha.

so when's the maid coming? and are u still on holidays?

jasmine-yah when i send him there, i think i will suffer from severe seperation anxiety. haha. he's such a darling now. he would crawl to me and snuggles up my legs. and hugs me when he wants to. by the way, thank god he's back to eating.

shld we hold a motherhood gathering soon?

Morning Jan & Shauna,

Jan you teaching in Sec or JC? I know is very tiring my sis friend also teaching but recently quit her job to take care her gal who is also the same age like my gal. Now she coming out to open her own enrichment centre so she can juggle her time with her gal. Jan where do you stay? I stay at Woodlands.

Shauna, I think its a good idea to hold a gathering, our baby will have playmate to play with hehe. If gathering where shell we hold the gathering then?

hey all!
Thanks for all your opinions and advice yday. Am waiting for my HB to get back to settle the issue.

Shauna, i'm all for a gathering!

Jan - i sure can identify with you ref ur job. I used to teach as well. Luckily quit aft my bond, then got married. O/w I won't know how i can cope now.

Mommies, is Nepia cheaper than say Drypers or Huggies? It sounds like it is really good. Better than Mamy Poko? Mamy poko is the most expensive brand but i think it is v good.

My boy uses cloth nappies during the day, Pampers/Mamy Poko at night and when we go out.

<font color="ff0000">shauna/ jesmine</font>
hey it's good to meet up but try not to have it during the wk ends super crowded. if it's my off day i would like to join u all!

<font color="aa00aa">bunz</font>
omg time passes so fast my leave ending soon.

<font color="0000ff">nellu</font>
my boy used cloth nappies 1st 2 months but then he poo very offen n he keep waking up during the naps when he pee so surrender to diapers. ha ha

if it's left to me, it's diapers. but my HB insists on cloth diapers. Somemore he says, got maid to wash, so no problem!

gathering during festive season can indeed be tricky. gonna be packed everywhere so we gotta throw in our votes. moreoever we have quite a number of babies who are still young.anyways, pls cast ur votes and we will tabulate the scores.

shauna votes for weekday afternoons in the central!

nellu- nepia is dearer than huggies dry and drypers. i tot pampers active baby is the priciest (but then again, they always have sale..).

sgn- if i use cloth diapers i think i no need to sleep liao. whole day take care of baby, do housework then at nite wash diapers and go crazy! urghs. scares me to even think of it.

anyway just wanna share a piece of info, PD says bb shld be eating abt 2-4oz of solids 3-4 times a day ard sidney's age which is 10 months. coz i'm always wondering if sidney is eating enuf, so tot this might be helpful for everyone. but of course if they are younger, dun feed them so much! sidney has come a long way to gaining a huge appetite!

Shauna,
Thanks for the info on the feeding. Intending to drag the gang to the PD tmw morning. kekek...ploy to let my MiL hear it from the PD directly. Sometimes need professional intervention.

As for gatering, I'll have to take the day off if it is weekday. but no issue for me

nellu- holiday mood liao rite? haha. garden leave eh? yah, sitting them down in front of PD is always good. u clarify ur doubts and right their wrongs at the same time.

now thats shauna and nellu for weekday afternoons in central(am i right?) we have to find a better way to tabulate this than shauna's crappy method. someone help!!!!!!!

Shauna,
ROD mood! Plus all the bosses all not in! Hahaha! i got no garden leave unless i'm going to join a competitor. in this case, Josh&Co cannot be considered competitor wat!

yes yes weekday aftnn central area.

wah! I'm really lost now. So many posts and as usual, slow coach me can't catch up!!!

When's the gathering? If I can, I will try to make it with my little Yurie.

Shauna,
What about Hari Raya Haji? Its also a weedays haha... Coz I can't take leave till next year liao or maybe new year eve 31/12? You know my line of work (Advertising), year end is the busy time boss not allow to let us take leave liao.

Nellu,
Should try Nepia, you will find the different. Its about the same price as Mamy Poko.

when is haji ,jas? pardon me, im at home so much i dun even noe if the sun has risen. haha. gosh, i make myself sound so obiang,am i scaring away pple?
i shld just stop tokking.. darn.

Shauna,
Same same, maid is also not my cup of tea. Tried to have 1 for a few mths in the end also gave up. Now I am the maid, but happier .. can run ard naked in the hse again .. haha :p

Nellu,
I tell u, my ILs are ling4 lei4 ones. My MIL is very outgoing so most of the time she's out playing. My FIL is the one who takes care of my boi & he is super attached to him. Imagine wkedays he see him eday, sometimes wkend he oso will pop by to see his precious. Super super attached. I think he will allow 1/2 day childcare, but if I tell him full day & I will send & pick myself, meaning he dun gets to see him, I cannot imagine. Aiya, when the times come than say bah

Shauna,
Hari Raya Haji is before christmas its on the 20th Dec. We working ppl will look out for public holiday haha is like that lah. I actually wanted to take leave on 21st coz its a friday but can't lor.

aiya, if we do haji then I cannot. Will be out of town then till aft Xmas wor...

cool_daughter, your FiL is very nice lor. hmm..don't worry about it, I think it will work out nicely lah. MiLs and DiLs just don't click but FiLs and DiLs are a different story. ;)

Aiyo..the post are really moving very fast..can't catch up liao..

Nellu,
U are not alone..talk with ur husband..I'm sure he'll understand..*hugs*
When is ur last day @ work..?? U must be looking forward to it rite..hehee..
Hmmm..have to let ur MIL know abt it leh..if not it might seems like a "shock" to her..

Shauna,
I heard tat Pat's Sch House is not bad..but think its quite ex leh..

SGN,
I miss bb the moment I step on the plane..but after 2 days there..the missing seems to get lesser..was talking to husband abt it..tat for those 5 days we get to be "husband & wife" not "daddy & mummy"..

Shauna,
Ur boss so good..give u so long leave..mine co - one mth unpaid leave also cannot..(tat's why I quit to stay home..hehee..)

Jan,
Yea..!! Glad to hear tat ur bb's enjoying cereal..
By the way..u teaching pri or sec? Is it very tough? I ever tot of joining teaching..but dun know if I can make it or not..

hi all!

jasmine: I'm teaching pri sch and teaching P1 next yr! N will be in charge of a project in sch some more so expected to be busy. Hope the maid can ease some of my hsework and also help when Jarienne don't wanna sleep at nite. U quite near me, I stay at CCK but now at Bt Panajng, my mum's place.

nellu: I still have 4 yrs of bond left and by that time, think hard to get a job outside liao. Now can only hope hubby jia you and I can be SAHM one day. =)

Shauna: I was so excited and proud when I see that she actually can eat the cereal oredi. Overwhelming joy! N made me sad coz' being a FTWM will mean that I'm going to miss her first crawl, her first step etc.. Anyway, back to happier thoughts. How do u puree us veg n fruits? Do u have anything special tools to help? I let Jarienne tried eating some papaya and she really liked it. I use spoon to scrap and puree but for veg, I really dunno how to. Or is it not advisable for 6month olds to eat pureed veg yet? My mum told me not to buy those bottled ones coz' have preservatives. True of false? Wat do u girls think?

I'm all for the gathering!! But can only wkdays coz my wkends always family day with my ILs.

Really hope can get use to having the maid around but I cannot be like cool_daughter liao, cannot run around the hse naked! Keke...

I'm going to buy nepia tonite for Jarienne to try. She's quite economical lar coz she dosen't poo in her diapers anymore and will sit on the potty to poo, so one day I only let her change 1 mamy poko after bath, then all the way to evening bath change to drypers, then at nite b4 sleep, mamy poko again till the next day. 1 day 3 pieces so not too bad. Mamy poko cheaper in JB too, like around $20 for the big bag, $4+ cheaper than SG. I asking my aunty to help me see if nepia is available in JB n to check out the price. Anyone knows?

graybecky: Teaching's quite ok. I know it sounds cliche but really, u need to have a passion to teach. I have heard of horror stories where the teacher quit within a day coz' can't tahan the noise and the kids. Why not u go for the interview and try it out. Coz now they have contract teaching for u to try it out. If it's not ur cup of tea, can always quit.

Plus pt of been in this line is, u always in sync with the syllabus and know wat's happening but down side is, u will have no time to teach ur own kids coz u will be too busy teaching other kids. =( But at least u can take up to 2 yrs no pay leave to be with ur child and u still have a job when u go back. If financially can manage, I also wanna stay at home to be with Jarienne.

graybecky: yes, Jan is right. You really need to have the passion. Not only for the kids, you also need to have patience to deal with parents and the administration. For me I cannot tahan the parents and the admin, that's why I left. If you ask me if I liked teaching, I'd tell you yes i do, the teaching and the interaction with the kids bit, but definitely not the endless admin and dealing with the unreasonable parents.

go and try it out. I may consider going back on contract too...who knows?

Jan,
Buying diapers from JB, I used to do that but realized is not that much worth going coz of the jam... JB they don't sell Nepia. I have check it out liao. Guess what, my husband also in teaching. Think he got worse nightmare teaching there at ITE. He always been stress out by the student not coming to school and his job is to call the student 1 by 1 when they didnt turn up at school. And he also have to do project not only teaching.

yes nellu! totally agree. The teaching part is fun. But now a lot of administrative stuff to do and a lot of courses to take, plus must handle parents too. Now school's more like an organisation and the parents n students are the customers and as the saying goes, 'customers are always rite!'. Teachers are in a vulnerable position as once parents complain, regardless of whether reasonable or unreasonable, we are at the losing end. =(

wah, jasmine, ur hubby at ITE ah? Can die rite? even worse dealing with rebellious teens and raging hormones. That's why I super scared and dun dare to teach Sec sch.

I have relatives in JB so they can help me buy n i just pick up when i go visit my granny. That's why buy there. saving about $3 to $4 per pack. still better than nothing. Really not worth if just going there specially to buy diapers, esp, now petrol so ex. waste time waste $!

Wah Jan,
how old is your gal? How you potty train her?

Oh, 1 more thing abt maid is, both U & ur HB muz be in sync when it comes to maid management (haha, wat a term). Coz if different perspective, kinda ez to hv little little arguments. If really not in sync, it's best to let only 1 party handle maid.

Jan,
Yeah my hubby everyday got new story to tell me. I listen until xian also. Sometimes I saw the sms that his students send him for not able to come to school, the reason which they gave is like not a reason lor, I also want to laugh ah, coz nowadays its really not a easy job to be lecture or teacher. Have to deal with the parents and they "macham" bo chap about their own children coz they think the school should deal with their kids instead of them. But guess no choice lor, if he thinking to leave he have to give 3 mths notice, that will be very hard for him to find a job base on that. He so funny everytime got this idea of not staying in singapore he don't like staying here for life. He thinking of moving to NZ or Australia.

jasmine
my fil also used to teach in ITE, but now retired. he also headache when student dun come for class.

how about next meet next thursday? i'm off.
2pm orchard?

Jan,
Sounds like things are still the same as what they were 5 yrs ago!

Jasmine,
I used to teach at Boys' Town. I know PERFECTLY what your hubby is going through! This is also one of the reasons that i quit teaching. I just can't deal with the pressure of being stuck in between bo chap parents and results oriented management (ministry + principals). The admin pple just dunno that there are real problems out there!

cool daughter: My baby's turning 6months this coming Mon. All along she dun poo in her diapers. From first month, my CL carry her over the potty and make the sound to let her know that it's time to poo and she did! To my amazement, the aunty tried it again the next day and she also poo. Coz' she was on FM so she only poo once a day and quite predictable. After I starting taking care of her on my own, I bought a potty and did exactly wat the aunty did. Once I establish a routine, she will poo at exactly that timing when I put her on the potty, so can save on diapers. So I guess can say she's toilet train oredi. Hehe... Thank goodness my CL's really good n patient. If not, I never know that such young babies can be trained.

I think my hubby quite bo chap abt hsehold things so i will manage the maid bah. So hope no arguments. =)

Jasmine, ur hubby is like me. I everyday also got new stories to tell my hubby. He also listen till sian. But sometimes, kids say n do the darnest things! So funny! Enjoy teaching but not the admin stuff, marking n entertaining of parents.

I think the main diff between teaching Pri sch n sec sch or any other higher education level is that for Pri schs, the parents are overly concern n protective over the kids. So we get a lot of nonsense n blame for poor results or bruises or scratches, even when kids dun hand in their work on time. Most of the time, is like I'm a mother to 30 kids. Really not easy. N parents seem to think very easy to keep an eye on all their kids at same time. What were u doing when so n so was pushing my boy down? Hello! I was teaching n dun have eyes at the back of my head. Sometimes can realy die explaining to them n some parents can de so damn unreasonable that they create unnecessary stress on top of our job.

Anyway, next Thur shud be fine wif me. =)

guess you guys go ahead don't think I can make it if its a weekday. Maybe next round if time permit, I can join you guys for the next gathering. I still working... sigh its FRIDAY...

Gathering 13 Dec 07
Time: 1300

1) sgn
2) nellu
3) Jan Lim

sorry girls i sudden remember i have family dinner that day so would like to meet earlier so that can go back in time. hope u all dun mind.

sgn
1300 is like lunch time. Will be quite crowded wor! I don't really mind cos i'm used to it liao, having worked in orchard area for the last 4 years. But I am not too sure which places around the area are babies friendly. Perhaps Ngee Ann City, Paragon and Centrepoint are the only places i know with nice baby changing rooms, wide spaces and lifts.

what do the rest of you think?

Jan
wow ur CL so powerful.
well my MIL tried to toilet train my bb too, she as make him pee when he wakes up from nap.
i managed to do it today cos i'm a lazy mummy

sorry next thur my bb had app at 3pm for eye check up so need to leave early is it ok with u all? i was thinking of leaving bb with nanny n meet u all but just remember that bb has app next thur.

nellu
the last time i had gathering with some mummies at tcc at ngee ann which happen to be outside taka's bb section where the nursing room is.
is it easy for us?

good morning ladies!! wow cant catch up the post leh, you gals having gathering?? hmm... next thurs cant make it.. see your next round ba

jan, i also just feed my boy cereal, think mummy more excited then him.. i bought the book 'feed your child right' from the front page of this forum.. they will teach you when to give food, how many time a day and how to make too.. i'm going to buy a bowl that come with manual grindler on top to make puree.you go bb department store you can find. re the bottle puree, i will buy and let him try la, my mum used to feed us that and says its very good leh, sometime you bring bb out, is easiler to bring the bottle one right?