1st Time...

peck
hey i bought 'first foods' recommeded by mummies from another thread. it's for 1st time mummy like me cos the recipes are based on local context, more pics n easy to follow.

i also bought 'feed your child right'. is 'first foods' better? i had a quick look at borders the last time, thought they were quite similar.

Sorrie..I can't make it for the thur meeting..have something on..

My PD recommend "Feed Ur Child Right"..but I saw "First Food" & it seems to have more recipes..husband & I kaisu..so buy both..hahaa..

nellu
for me 1 book is enough cos no time to read!
everyday so busy with work n bb by the end of the day i just want to quicky go catch some sleep b4 bb wakes up!

sgn
for Feed Your Child Right, I only read up to the first section covering weaning. The other parts are not yet relevant. It's so short so I'm wondering if there is really sufficient info or not.

graybecky- yeah pat is super costly. top of the range, like buying a lexus. i gota go down n check it out if its worth every cent i'm prepared to pay.

sgn- add shauna to the list on the 13 dec. it isnt a public holiday is it?

jan- my mil has been telling me to potty train my boy since 2 months old. n i get so cheesed off coz every book i read says u shldnt train them until they are at least 18 months. but of course, there are living examples to say it can actually be done! but i cant do it now man, think i will just wait till sidney is abit older.

gals, get gina ford' contented baby book of weaning. its pretty good. but more ang moh way of weaning baby. it teaches u what to feed day to day, timing and amount.

shauna,
thanks for the tip on gina ford. I'm most confused at the amount and timing, not to mention my MiL had totally screwed my schedule. Have to re-do again.

Dragged the gang to the PD today. Good thing i did it, cos the PD explained everything quite clearly to us. But i sense that my MiL is still somewhat unconvinced...sigh...no choice have to tolerate it for another month more lor...

nellu-no probs. gina ford offers what types of puree for starters. and she gives good explanations on how to begin lunch then dinner and how to shift timing. it also coincides with her napping routines found in her " contented little baby book".
dun blame the lady (ur mil). she's trying her best. and they are just counting on their experiences. they do have a few interesting tips now n then.

actually theres alot of ang moh dishes to whip up for the bb. we did eventually do stew apart from the daily porridge thrown in with lotsa nutrients. even things like mee suah, pasta can slowly be introduced to the bb. hope u gals have fun. this feeding thing is one of the best parts! its like the official green light to play mah-sak, except that u betta not go wrong! haha.

nellu
well for First Foods, goes acc to babies age, from 6months on wards then 9-12 months and later stages, which i just finished till 6-9 months.
each stage will intro what food to give and recipes. it also states to try out each new food for 3 days b4 going on to next.

Gathering 13 Dec 07
Time: 1300

1) sgn + bb
2) nellu
3) Jan Lim
4) Shauna + bb

Shauna
if i have a choice i would chose not to bring bb cos orchard so crowded n sometimes bb not co-operate with u and keep crying in the public makes me very stress ley.

Gathering 13 Dec 07

1) sgn + bb
2) nellu + bb
3) Jan Lim
4) Shauna + bb

sgn- i dun have anyone taking care of bb for me at any one time, so i dun think i have a choice. hee. anyway, i'm happy to take him along. its just that if no one is bringin bb and we;re sitting down for coffee or food, sidney may yell the coffee place down.

taka coffee club is ok. and there are places to put the prams alongside.

what time do u have to leave, sgn?

Shauna
u bb big already ok, for me my boy happen to be 7 months old next thru.

the last time i had gathering at coffee club with more than 10 mummies, n 5-6 prams. i think should be ok. we just sit outside which more spacious.

aloha mummies!!!!!!!!
Soli ar...recently busy lookin for jobs no time to come in for a chat!
wow...dunno continue from where....
anway to my surprise a gathering is going on!
Hey i can tell u all 13th dec is a asupicious day cos its my birthday!!!! Hee...
Soli cant join u all too cos ceebrating with my hubby!
Hope u gals have fun!

Kimmy,
U looking for job..? Wat job u looking for?

By the way, any mummies want net bouncer (used) &/or bedside bumper (BN) (or u know someone who wants)..? Me want to sell..cos I staying with my mum..& all these things are taking up space..let me know if got ppl interested hor..thanks..

sgn- when they get older, they can self amuse a little more. but they do get more vocal and outright with what they want. i agree with u, the area nearer to the lifts in coffee club is a good place to seat a few prams. hope it doesnt rain that day tho!

we just bought sidney his xmas present. daddy and mommy are more excited than he is (actually he's not very aware he has a present already..hmm..)hahah

shauna
went to borders just now. cannot find gina ford's book. Might be out of stock.

what did you buy for sidney?

sgn
the coffee club is the one that's on the 3rd level? not inside the dept store hor?

hey, any of you gals ever feed ur bb commercial bb food?

If so, which brand would you recommend? Am thinking of taking some along for trip next week. if so have to try some out with Josh this week first.

nellu
yap yap, so we all ok with meeting coffee club huh.

shauna
if raining cancel gethering? cos quite troublesome to bring bb out on rainy day. rite?

nellu
u means those jar food? yesterday i gave bb pea n rice cereal, he seems to like it. i wonder is it nice cos i dun like the smell, a bit chow chor smell due the peas.

sgn
yes i mean those jar food. which brand did you give ur bb? looks like only got Gerber and Heinz in the market.

aiya, i think i have to pass on the gathering liao...last min got something urgent at work cannot take leave.

Nellu,
I gave my gal Heniz she loves the fruits puree, I tried the vege type for Gerber she don't seems to like it. Guess you will have to buy different ones to let your bb try out. Before you buy more of which.
I also very busy for the pass weeks at work, sigh.... work till almost 10pm last night xiong... Reached home my girl was like falling asleep liao didn't even have a chance to play withe her yet.

good morning! we are still having the gathering on thurs? I can't bring bb cos got work to settle. I'll pop in to meet you gals for lunch (since it's lunchtime and i work in Orchard area). It's happening still ya?

Am quite happy that Josh's slight constipation problem has improved. This due to a major change in his diet. Also, i'm quite relieve that he actually is receptive on FM. Whew! my BM supply is really running low now as compared to his appetite.

a bit more relaxed and happy these few days...

Jan...you mean it was down? I could access it...no wonder no one made any post at all! I was wondering what happened to all you gals!

Hey so, we are meeting still today?! Shauna, Sgn??

nellu
ya let's meet up, if not raining!

Gathering 13 Dec 07

1) sgn + bb
2) nellu + bb
3) Jan Lim
4) Shauna + bb

ok great. I'll see u gals later. Won't be bringing Josh cos could not take leave due to some last min work commitments.

it's really nice and sunny right now in Orchard...can see from my ofc window....hopefully it keeps up!

shauna,
i just came back to the ofc. It was just sgn and myself.

sgn's bb is so cute!!

sorry that we missed you...try again next time lor.

Nellu,
I give my gal Heinz fruits (apple, pear)..
Also got Gerber..but I never try (any mummies tried..?)
There are some other brands but organic one..I dun intend to give my gal organic stuff..so didn't try them..

Nellu,
Oh Shauna didn't make it to meet you guys? Too bad...
Coz our this thread just suddenly appear again. This morning still didn't apply I create another new thread under the same title coz I realized the our thread just stop out of sudden and disappeared from 2007 thread.

graybecky,
Have try some of Gerber ones but my gal didn't like the taste and I think Heniz got more choice to choose from.

looks like heinz is better hor. I have gotten pear juice for Josh to try but i dunno the result yet. Tonite go back and ask MiL and maid.

I posted on the other thread asking ur gals abt activities for bb. sgn was telling me that she has brought her boi to gymboree. I haven't had time to do it...had been so busy at work and catching up with frens and all...wat is a good thing to do? also can let bb socialise with others. Josh so far has been quite friendly but i would like to take him somewhr whr we can have some structured activities.

its so nice to have the thread back ;-)

i have 2 bottles of apple & prune juice to let go cheap cos my gal doesn't like anymore..

pls pm me if interested. collection in sembawang.

jasmine- shauna didnt manage to meet anyone. haha

nellu- would have loved to meet the 2 of u. i oni discovered the meeting was still on at 1.50pm so i guess it was way too late. went down to vivo for a walk with sidney tho. gap has storewide 30% sale. mango up to 50% sale. toys r'us is flooded.

anyone bought toys from mother garden. they have the loveliest things for little girlies.

anyway, when u grate ur apple or pears for the little ones, u can drain out the juices and dilute with water for them to drink instead of buying them off the shelves.

nellu
i'm back home. nice meeting u.
me went istean with bb, like their nursery.
bought pigeon sleep suit n bath toys for bb. very temp to buy combi shoes for bb too. cost $40 only.

graybecky
well it was ok we just chat while my boi taking his nap. lucky he knows how to zhou ren. let his mummy relax while his napping. ha ha

shauna
aiyo missed meeting u next time must meet up ok.
gap got sales huh tomolo go!

this is what my mil tought me to give fresh fruit purees cos bb can never finish the whole bottle. waste to throw n dun like to keep for next day.

Shauna, abt the juices...that's what i have been doing, nice and fresh!

sgn, Isetan's nursery is the nicest i've seen so far! Got vending machine and hot water dispenser some more. If you need a food/bottle warmer, can borrow from the cashier as well. I'm always there looking at stuff if I go out for lunch on my own.

graybecky, ya, sgn's boy was napping when she arrived. was telling her so good, Josh will never be like this, in the stroller...Unless I have him in the sarong sling!

nellu
i like bugis juction n taka's nursery too, but taka's breastfeeding room got to share.

bb just slept at 10 today cos we went celebrate BIL's birthday. so let's see what time he wakes up tomolo!

Jasmine,
Got another thread same title..? I didn't notice it leh..

Tat day I also blur blur..log in & see the thread missing..I log out..few hr later log in again..I keep on logging in & out till finally can get in..hahaa..

So sorry to have missed the gathering today. Jarienne's still feverish today. I just have time to myself now. She has been whiny n sticky the entire day, refusing to drink milk and throwing up when she drinks. I super scared when she goes for her jab. Thank goodness the next jab's when she's 15mths.

jan, when using photoshop i go to preference and edit photo size small then 600 pixel then shift the quality lower. Hope this help

1122216.jpg

this is my dada.. reading