1 year birthday Celebration

Jlyn,
Ok ok, if you remember where you see the doraemon figurines, let me know hor, thanks in advance.

bobianah,
You wanna scan thr the archives, a lot of info witht the URLs already posted there.

<font color="119911">This is posted by ethal earlier.. Hope this helps

Posted on Monday, October 01, 2007 - 4:19 pm: Edit Post Print Post
for those who are searching for alternatives besides PG, heres the list again which i complied when organising for my son's bd

Strawberry Shortcake Bakery
http://www.e-shop.com.sg/index.php?cPath=54_45&osCsid=ed40bba7879f9ad58c6f56f58219cc37

Glad Cake
http://gladcake.blogspot.com/

Ecreative
http://www.ecreative.com.sg/index.asp

Emi Cakes
http://www.emicakes.com.sg/

7th Manna
http://www.7thmanna.com/

Room for Desserts
http://www.roomfordessert.com.sg/

Hotfuchsia.
http://www.hotfuchsia.com

Sweet Secrets
http://www.sweetsecrets.com.sg/cake.htm

Pine Garden
www.pgcakes.com
(artistic charge is $20, they sometimes charge $25)

Smiling Orchids
http://www.smilingorchid.com.sg/

cherylshuen
http://www.cherylshuen.com

Cake Avenue
www.cakeavenue.com

The Patissier
http://www.thepatissier.com/

Cedele
www.cedeledepot.com

vivian cakes
http://www.freewebs.com/vivcakes/

BALLOONS:
http://www.twinkleballoons.com/
http://www.bezballoons.com
http://www.grefio.com.sg</font>

<font color="119911">And the contacts for some party shops that I posted earlier... Highlighted in green so mummies scan thr can have a glance.

Posted on Sunday, September 30, 2007 - 1:35 am: Edit Post Print Post
stressma,
these may be useful to you.
If you have time, make a trip to the one at Great World City, q big and lots of stuff.

Jolly Party (Party Ware* & Cafe)
#03-09 Great World City
Tel: 6733 3797
Daily: 9:00am - 9:00pm

Party City @ Raffles City
#03-28
Tel: 6336 2161
Daily: 11am to 9pm

Party City @ Holland V
277A Level 2 Holland Ave
Tel: 6462 6011
weekday: 11 to 7pm
weekend/PH: 10 to 6pm

Party with Us @ Centrepoint
#05-01
Tel: 6235 0221

Party with Us @ Valley Point
#01-10
Tel: 6235 0326</font>

I have used Grefio services.
Got them down to blow up my balloons. Was punctual. Happy with their services.
At least, I dont have to lug the balloons from shop and bring back home

hi jenny,
thks for the info : ) mi planning to go sourcing out for my boi party deco tis sat. n ur info came at the right time. I have been browsing thru the thread to get some idea for my boi 1st bday party. Wondering whether i can get sesame street characters figurines in Singapore hor?

Gemini, I told my sis and her friends to do the decor for me i.e. blow & tie balloons, spread the pooh table cloth on table, put up the scene setter then I left for the pool with my boys. When i returned, I also didnt notice where she put the scene setter. Until the cake cutting time then i realised she had placed it over the bigger table where the cake was to be cut. U see the pics carefully (the ones i posted above), u can see it lor.. hahaha.

Serene, if u are ordering ur cake fr PG, they have the sesame st figurines. Otherwise, u can get those on the lid of playdough. Kiddy palace has it. Not sure if Gift a Name shop has it?

Jlyn,
I m not ordering from PG. Dunno whether the shops at concourse there got sell hor? Heard that those candies balloon also OOS. Do i have to put the candies balloon in the fridge to maintain their condition b4 i pass all the deco to my bakery shop?
Wow u have a good sister who is so willing to help u. Tink on tat day, i gotta set up all the deco myself. hope my hub will help up.

Serene ah.. those balloons on my cake are non-edible. Not sure abt concourse cos I havent been there before.

Serene,
Nah, I just searched back the archives and copy and paste in another color to make it more bright, so mummies dun miss the posting kekeke...
Jlyn has replied you PG provides the sesame street figurines. I never like sesame street, so never keep a look out for them leh. Can't help you on this le. But hor, PG's sesame street figurines is those rubber made one, you know when we were young, we like to pop our pencil/color pencil top with some cute cute stuff? Theirs is tat type, dunno you know wat I'm saying?? Their figurines have holes one, so after use, gotta throw, cannot reuse. Smiling Ochird is using the same type I think.
I think sesame street figurines are much easy to find, try comics shop, those have figurines display tat kind of shop. I forgot the name of those shops, it is a chained shop... I know IMM, tiong Bahru Plaza, Suntec, Bugis Junction have.

Jlyn,
Wahahahhaha... Super funny, I din notice the scene setter becomes table cloth!!!

Jlyn,

All along i tot the candies balloon i saw in the post here are all edible. haha.. so where did u buy the balloons?

Jenny,
Ya i know wat u are saying. keke.. okie i will take a look out when i visit those shops.

hi serene!!

thanks! *muack* How's the planning coming along?

Jenny
thanks much!
*muack* definitely easier to see now...i really search the posts until blur...cos there're cakes contact, caterers etc...

bobianah,
Received your muack muack hahaha... but if you want reviews, really need to read the archives le, can't help you cos each has different needs and wants.

hI ALL,

Do anyone knw wher can i get MINI CHocolate elcair that is nice. Cos i wan to order for abt 60 pcs.... I Cant find anywhere of it. Pls Help.

Hi Jo

I wish to order the birthday cake for my gal frm coffee bean too. I saw that u have ordered the magic mushroom house for ur gal's birthday. Is the cake nice? sweet?

Hi mummies, had my bbs 1st bday the same day as Jlyn... Here r some pics to share.. The cake is fr PG, despite all the comments they did a good job.. Though some mummies are rite, go down to PG to collect earlier.. My BIRTHDAY is spelt wrongly and they redid it in 15mins.. Otherwise, guests commented it was nice. Agar agar fr Mrs Chan, catering was done by my mum's fren. Had the party in costa sands chalet. Lots of bbs around, so brought a gazillion toys from home.. I nvr wan to do tis ever again... Tooo much wk..
1041780.jpg
1041781.jpg
1041782.jpg

Hi Cloubhappy

the sugar icing vey sweet but most of us dun eat the top part

the cake itself taste okay to me , not that sweet

Just celebrated my gal's 1st birthday party on sat, tired but really enjoyed ourselves.
Here's the pic of the cake (from Smiling Orchid)
Very happy with the design & service fm them...

1044138.jpg

thanks a lot, Jlyn. I like the cake very much indeed. Initially the design i chose is a pond instead of a stawberry farm, but when i called them the day before, they told me they have changed the design to a new one & I like the results very much.

hey jaline, the cake very very nice!! yes I also think its nicer than PG ahahaha..even thou mine got from PG :p

jenny,

I nvr wanted you to be the 3rd party for us (which I did say in my previous post and again here) just that you mentioned PG always call you hence I unconsciously wrote "if you have chance tell them".

Sorry ya! :p

hello mummies
to share my son's birthday cake as well:

1044364.jpg

ordered their Mango Zest and Triple Choc, which both tasted very nice! think the Mango Zest tastes better than the Orange Zest.

but for next year, i'm going to Smiling Orchid.

Jaline,
Saw yr stawberry cake, one look at it, I knew it is from Smiling Orchid haha...Very nice and sweet cake you have!
What cake flavour you have?

Jlyn,
Told you liao, SO does very nice design cake but then, the cake flavour wise, PG is better... If only they can merge haha...
I really dunno if I should do the Strawberry Shortcake theme or Doraemon Theme for Jolene's cake... Saw Smiling Orchid Doraemon cake is those draw the pic out then just jelly cream to fill in tat kind. I dun want that "jelly cream" design though it is nice, and of cos easy to cut in school. Maybe I will get those to do some theme design?? See how first...

dumbger,
Saw yr feedback on PG in Nov thread. Lucky you went for collection early. But then I think your guests were too busy to notice lah.

jenny
yup, that's wat my hubby kept saying to console me. plus luckily it's at the side, so not so bad. minus that booboo, i'm actually quite pleased with how the design turn out. but still a bit disappointed lor...that 15 min wait was torturous man!! or not everything would have been perfect.

dumbger,
**pat pat**
You did a good job! I know the waiting is terrible, I waited mine for 25mins and is like never ending hahaha... Bo pian lah, too many orders especially for weekends.
Me also going for Smiling Orchid for my elder gal's cake next Feb. Do a theme cake will excite the kids at sch haha...

Jaline, I dun knw how the pond design would have turned out but I think the strawberry farm idea is great! I mean.. u see the large 'strawberries'.. they are look so real lor. Really nice!

Jenny, jolene prefers doraemon or strawberry shortcake? I thought gal gal will prefer the latter but then again, thought u bought the doraemon set leow? Those 'fill-in' design not attractive leh.. must make her lil' friends all go 'wow' with the cute lil' decors on the cake then will feel shiok mah.

thanks celine...

Jenny,
i chose strawberry and choco flavour. Think now they come up with a lot of new designs, maybe wanna fight with PG... hahahaha

Jlyn,
SO showed me the design with pond and ducks swimming ard, whereas mine is some big strawberries and little bunnies hopping ard the garden with small flowers blooming. My gal loves the mini balloons so much!

Jlyn,
This mummy vain mah... I always admire SO cakes, very nice lor, till I dun wanna to cut.
Ya lor, most probably will do a doraemon theme since I bought the figurines liao, but dunno do garden or wat theme leh? Brain dead, no idea le. I'm sure little kids see SO cake will go wow wow wow with the house, tree trunks, river etc..

Jaline,
You refer to cake design? Actually Smiling Orchid all along have a lot of designs to choose from. They speciallized with kids theme cake. I saw them doing 1 twinkle bell cake, very nice, can see the staff really put in effort to do the cake.
But then, the cake flavour only have 4 flavours to choose from, but I find their cake not as sweet as PG one.

Jenny,
the day before i collect my cake, i rang up SO and they told me they have changed the design to a new one, nobody used before, so i guess they r coming up with some new designs lor.... agree that their cakes not sweet, which is good for me.

Just wanna share my experience with PG.
The cake arrive late (schedule 4 to 4.30pm) came at around 5.30. What upset me is the staffs did not bother to call me to inform me of the late delivery but for me to keep calling them back. Of cos when the driver arrived, he apologized for the late delivery and explained that it was becos the van broke down and was raining heavily. The second incident is i specially told them the colour i want for the cake, dark pink ribbon and light pink cube (mine is in the shape of a present). It came as light pink ribbon and white cube, lastly what make me the most upset was i told them i want top tier to be orange zest and bottom to be lychee martini cos i want to serve the kids first, and i am also not uncomfortable to serve cakes to kids with liquor it although i know is safe to consume, just not comfortable, but when i slice the top part of the cake, i saw orange colour cake and assume it to be orange zest only upon eating then i realised is lychee martini, and before the cake cutting i have told them the names of the cakes.. and specifically told them to feed to the kids orange zest cake if they are nt comfortable with lychee martin. I agree overall PG cakes are yummy but in terms of services alot need to be improve. I've told Yun Chan about it and she said she will investigate, lets see what final result i will get from her.

silvery,
I tot lychee martini color is a bit pale yellowish like vanilla?? How can be orange color?
The investigation will probably be telling you that msg were passed down wrongly, bakers in kitchen dun understand English bla bla bla... Next time the instructions better write in Chinese.
I really hope they will buck up on the service, still so many cases...
Frankly speaking ah, wat happened already happened, investigation will help?? After all the hiccups then call us to tell us all these won't help.
Is white cube nice? Can share yr cake pic?

hi jaline,
the cake very very nice!!

Jenny,
Order frm SO for Jolene's cake. i wanna see doremon cake.

Silvery,
ur b'day party on weekend?
Think PG can't cope for weekend delivery.
I order frm them & ask them deliver on thursday.
They came very punctual. reach my door at 2p.m as i told them.

Hi Jaline
The strawberry shortcake is very nice. How many KG is that and how much u paid for them? Do you have to supply the figurines?

Hi Hozali
where to get the sesame street backdrop?

Am considering to get PG cake for my DD birthday. But looking at the number of complaints these days, feel like changing to SO. Is it free delivery or self collection for SO cakes?

Hi Xuan,

Thanks, e cake is 3 kg, paid for a total of $160.50 (incl gst) and everything u see there were provided by them... oso i self collected the cake.

Jaline

$160 sounds reasonable for a 3 kg cake. Comparable to PG.

Hozali
Thanks. Will check out the Birthday direct spree. its not cheap right USD 19?

Ruby

U referring to the Agar Agar jelly from James Chan?
His contact: [email protected] or HP 97887807

hello all..
my son's 1-yr party will be on this sat.so excited.. i order 4kg 1tier cake from PG, cost me $165.. quite ex actually..but nver as long as it turn out well..the party will be at 530, i plan to collect the cake myself at 3pm lidat..

Mylar balloon next, i hvnt buy..not much time liao..kancheong

n i ordered the mini eclairs thru amosco..but gotta self collect 1 day earlier coz operate from Mon to Fri nia...

But my hubby love the eclairs..heee

A word of fairness for PG. i ordered my dd's b'day cake from them. Did quite a good job and delivered within the stipulated timing that i indicated. :)