0-3 mths pregnant

I am also tested +ve. But i went to see gynea for a scan couldn't see anything yet. So he ask me to go back 2 weeks later. He say its too early to see anything. If not becos of my bad gstric pain which i will suffer during pregnancy i will not vist him so early. But for my #1 sac can be detected at week 6. So now at abt 5 week nothing is detected i am kinda worried!!!!

Jacelyn,

Last Sat I went for scan too, but my gynae also said cant find the sac. I was scheduled to go back next Fri
Don't worry too much, just to let you know that I am in the same situation as you too.

cactus, will it help to put a lot of ginger in her meals?

clumsy babe, yes i did write somethg in oct thread. basically i wanna find out how to ease my wife MS. she has been suffering fr it few wks ago. we r planning to see gynae nx wk. will update more after d 1st consultation!

gilbert, it'll help if she drinks ginger tea or sucks on ginger sweets or eat preserved ginger (in moderate amounts cos high in salt and sugar - unhealthy).

gilbert, my suggestion is to eat/drink everything in moderation. lemongrass ginger is okay. I had it for my confinement cos I didn't like the traiditonal drinks.

I in my 5+ weeks now, went to gynec last sat, can only c waterbag was ask to go back this coming sat but plan to go back next sat instead coz scare this sat go back liao cant c anytin hv to go back next week, waste $$$...i also hv morning sickness since 2 weeks ago, vomiting, giddy, headache & tired...
I also tried those ginger teabag coz stomach too much wind, but make me hv constipation coz ginger heaty....

gilbert : i saw you on oct thread, so happy to know that as a husband u can be very devoted to your wife's pregnancy. how you do that ? amazing ..
i tried to ask mu husband to join this forum, he said yes only if i join fantasy league cup.. hahaha what a bargain...

I also very devoted leh!!!!
hi all, as promised I am Angel's hubby and she is now signing up for my fantasy league... ha
cute or not

my wife seems cant get away the morning sickness...everyday see her suffer like that makes me heartpain...i wish someone can tell me the magic to get rid of the MS!

and may i ask, wat do you all pregnant ladies want ur hubbies to do, to ease ur discomforts? i have taken over some household chores fr my wife, n buy her watever she likes to eat (however she has no appetite to enjoy them!)

gilbert, having MS is actually good cos it means the pregnancy is very stable. unfortunately, there is no "magic" except for the advice already given on this forum.

If she is losing weight and not able to drink or eat, you should have her tell her O&G doctor. Supplements are usually prescribed. If necessary, your wife may be hospitalised to ensure she doesn't get too dehydrated. I know a mummy who was in hospital for 2 weeks because of bad MS.

If she's still able to eat, make sure she eats very small meals, eats frequently (6 to 8 times a day) and avoid oily, spicy, foods. drinks lots of warm/hot water/soups. That should help her alot. actually during the 1st trimester, household chores isn't a big deal. My hb only helped out with household chores during 3rd trimester when I got rather large in size. it is very common not to have food cravings in the 1st trimester. these come about during 2nd and 3rd trimesters. when I was preggie, I just wanted to rest and sleep.

cactus,

thanks for d advice.

my wife now eat small amt of food every 1.5 to 2 hrs. her MS is particularly worse in d late afternoon.

n do u think drinking cold orange juice is advisable? n when is d best time to eat fruits? she now eats b4 bed, but she sometimes not feelg quite rite. till now she hasnt know the meal rountine that suits her.

Hi Gilbert,

I had MS in the late afternoon and evening time. According to my sin seh, it may be due to tiredness after a day of work. What I did was, try to eat before the MS strike. If you want to be a sweet hubby, you can cook for her. My experience was after I cook + MS, I couldn't eat liao. During my 1st trimester, I use sour plum to suppress my MS. But pple said it is not good. Bare with it MS will ease after 12 weeks ... slowly loh.

When to eat depends on when she feels hungry loh. If she doesn't feel right physically then the body is telling her something. She will have to listen to it. If it is mental like guilt, then can safely ignore. During the 1st trimester, it is trial on error. If you eat something and don't feel good, don't force. I cannot eat veggie throughout my 1st trimester even tho it is very important loh. Bo pian. Orange juice is good but not too much as the sugar will lead to gestational diabetes. I'm in the U.S. so we eat seasonal fruits, and now there are oranges, apples, blueberries and grapes available. I heard durian is good but only eat during 3rd trimester. Nuts like almond, walnuts, cashews are good too, good protein and they have oil which aid bowel movement. Ask your wife what kind of food tastes (sweet, sour, spicy or bitter) makes her feel better.

Some other important things besides diet is rest and exercise. I noticed on the day I have yoga classes, my MS is non-existent. In Chinese medicine, MS is due to stagnant qi. Exercise will move the qi and your wife will feel good. While in western sense, MS is due to the increase hormones production, and I read if you have MS, the chances of miscarriage is less likely to happen. Hope this help ...

gilbert, avoid acidy fruit, esp near bedtime, cos it may lead to heartburn. also drink only very diluted juices, without added sugar. Cold drinks didn't affect me at all, although some people say or experience cramping with cold drinks. it depends from person to person. actually don't force a meal routine on your wife. ask her to eat as often as she likes. I used to eat 8 times during the day time!
I didn't eat meals anymore... just snacks.

hi everyone, i am currently in my 4 weeks+ , seeing gynae at 6 weeks. i am so excited! at the same time worried when i dont have MS. any gals at 4 weeks + too?

valere n cactus,

thks for all d info. i bot her florida brand orange juice n she loves it d moment she drinks. however after awhile she dun feel rite. dunno if its acidic that cause her sick.

my wife tends to hv MS in d morning n late afternoon n before bedtime. she said dried sour plum cant help, but she eats fresh plum which she says ok. she forced herself to eat a lot of crackers n it help to cure MS, but only for a short time. eating too much crackers now cause her hv mouth ulcers!

did u try eat potato chips? heard that it ease MS too, but dunno if its too unhealthy for pregnant ladies...

gilbert, I didn't take potato chips. not sure if it helps MS, but it's quite unhealthy.

Has your wife tried water with lots of freshly squeezed lemon juice? For me, sour plums, plain crackers, water with lemon juice and dried ginger helped. Hang in there yeah? Lots of MS means a very stable pregnancy! It's something good.
(Unless of course, your wife is losing weight due to lack of appetite).

cactus,

she didnt try lemon juice. do u make the juice urself? dilute w. water? hv bot her dried ginger, but she hasnt have d mood to open d packet n eat...

btw, did ur gynae dr kee fr j pt?

gilbert, just squeeze the juice and add to water. It shoudl be just a tablespoon or 2 into a glass of water. I like it warm. warm water + lemon juice.

What is "did ur gynae dr kee fr j pt?" I don't understand.

cactus,

my wife is seeing doc kee fr jurong point clinic. wondering if ur doc was doc kee too.

did u try ginger teabags? have bought for my wife n she said can cure MS a little.

oh! No! I was seeing Dr Devendra from SGH.
I delivered at SGH cos my hb works there and it's really near my office. I worked all the way up to delivery. I didn't try ginger teabags cos dun like ginger tea. but I ate preserved ginger. It was really good.

I juz went to the GP. Confirmed that I'm pregnant. Any advice what should I do next? I was told by my aunt to arrange an appt with polyclinic for bloodtest.

sherine

my wife to d gynae in her 6weeks+, but doc didnt do blood test for her. only gv supplements n scan bb.

how many wks r u now?

gilbert, your wife will need to have her blood taken for blood test - excluding HIV, anaemia, genetic blood diseases, and if she opts for the triple screen test, also that. My blood was taken at 11+ weeks for everything. just once only. If prone to anaemia/diabetes, then more blood taking along the way.

cactus,

we only did d scanning n urine test on first visit. we will b seeing gynae in 3 wks time, dunno if by then gynae will do d blood test...

wats triple screen test?

did u agree on every tests recommended by gynae?

gilbert, triple screen test is a test done between 11 to 13 weeks. It comprises a scan which measures the skinfold at bb's neck. It takes this result, a blood test result, and the mother's age, to compute the risk of the bb having downs syndrome.

some doctors only take blood for blood test when they take blood for the triple screen test if the mother is doing it.

doctors will inform mothers of the triple screen test. some will encourge mothers to do the test. it is up to the mother to decide whether or not to do it.

Yes, I agreed on every test, except for amnio. my doctor told me about amnio cos I was high risk for downs syndrome bb, but I didn't do it.

Hi Sherine,

In the beginning, you will just have to take care of yourself; diet and rest and exercise (walking is the best). Take prenatal or folic acid right away, if you don't drink milk, do calcium and fish oil (DHA).

Hi Mummie-to-be,

I went for my 1 gynae visit and was confirmed 5 weeks&2 days pregnancy. Gynae did a internal scan and the baby is about 6.1mm. Though I do not suffer from any morning sickness, gynae has prescribed Duphaston (to be taken twice a day). Can't remember, but do you know what role does Duphaston play in pregnancy? So far, I have not experince any bleeding

I'm abt 5 wks pregnant. Juz went to the polyclinic ytd for bloodtest n normal checkup. Doc also give folic acid.
Didnt got to do any scan cos its polyclinic.

hihi, i am in my late 7th week now. my morning sickness is quite bad!! Vomitting, giddiness and tiredness!

last week is usually only in the evening and at night. so i took the advice in this forum about ginger ale, lemon and biscuits and i actually felt better and the MS is under control... but this week, i vomit almost after every meal i take, till i do not dare to eat too. pregnancy is so tough!

i have drug allergy to maxolon (anti nauseas med) thus the doc didn't prescribed me with any anti nauseas at all.

today, i feel so bad in my morning sickness that in the morning while i walk out to go for work, i u-turn back home and stayed at the toilet bowl for abt 15 mins... then the giddiness stuck and my maid took my blood pressure using my in-law's one, and my blood pressure is low at 84/52 only.

after sleeping for a while, i woke up so hungry! but didnt dare to eat for fear of toilet bowl visit again. then i ate a little without drinking water and so far it's ok now, no puking yet.

i realised 2 things:
1) i puke alot of water + the food. so if i take the food but don't drink water immediately, chances are the food is less difficult to come out. i am very afraid of vomitting already, cos i am really very hungry after these few days of puking!

2) i went to check about low blood pressure during pregnancy online. this is what caused the giddiness, and it's due to the body being dehydrated thus the blood cant flow properly, or the blood are clogged at the legs can't flow up to the brain. so shld take more water and try to sleep on the side.

just to share and hope that time will past faster this 2 weeks. MS is actually worse during 5th to 8th week as the hormornes levels are peaking. it shld ease down after that (though some women experience MS throughout the pregnancy.. i hope i am not going to be like tat)

i really envy those who do not experience MS...

I also experience MS. But like today its btr leh. So luckly for me.
Ya alot of Mums to be. Maybe, trying to avoid tiger bb.

Sherine & ting: things would get better as we passed through the 1st tri.

Sherine: The gynae can't do much scan in the 1st few weeks aside from the transviginal ultrasound /v scan which to me was quite uncomfortable as i was tense. We should look forward for the external scan on the 8 to 9 weeks for the baby's heartbeat.

hello I am in my week 6 and wil be having 2nd visit to my gynae next Wednesday. Any idea is it too soon to visit the gynae again? WE are actually hoping to see the baby or detect heartbeat. The first time we went was last week and the gynae oni saw a small dark spot using the ultrasound...

hmmm i seen the doc at 5th week due to pain in left side of the tummy, to confirm the pregnancy is a normal one and not etopic. the doc did the down-under ultra sound and i agree with twinkle star.. it's very uncomfortable. it's a normal pregnancy and there are nothing on my left side of tummy so doc says it's ok. and when i see hw the BB look like then.. it's just a mass of cells.. hehe.. amazing!

i read up online, i think go on the 8th week is the best to see the doc again cos you can see more things.

To share the links - REALLY interesting!!
http://www.pregnancyguideonline.com/
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/stages/
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/

7 weeks pregnant
Now about half an inch / 1.25 centimetres long, the size of a grape, the embryo has distinct, slightly webbed fingers and toes. It's a jumping bean, moving in fits and starts. The liver is churning out large amounts of red blood cells until the bone marrow forms and takes over this role.

The eighth week marks the beginning of a very busy developmental stage. Between now and 20 weeks, your baby will be growing rapidly, and body parts that formed in the first few weeks of life (such as the heart and brain) will become more specialised and complicated. Right now, the teeth and palate are forming, while the ears continue to develop. The fetus' skin is paper thin, and veins are clearly visible.

8 weeks pregnant
Congratulations -- your embryo is now called a fetus, which means "offspring". Your uterus expands to accommodate its new resident, which now measures approximately 0.6 inch / 1.6 centimetres. Many changes take place this week -- the embryonic tail is gone, and all organs, muscles, and nerves are beginning to function. The hands now bend at the wrist, and the feet begin to lose their webbed appearance. Eyelids are beginning to cover the eyes.

Your pregnancy is changing your figure as well. Your breasts may have grown large enough that you'll need bigger bras with better support than your old ones. You may notice your waistline expanding as well, forcing you to pack away your favourite jeans until next year. If you drink plenty of fluoridated water -- eight glasses or more a day -- you should be getting enough fluoride so calcium and phosphorus will bond well in your baby's developing teeth and bones.

ting

i think u can try to eat fish porridge, so that when u puke, it will b much easier.

my wife also hv bad MS, we really wish the first trimester faster go.

thanks gil!

but fish smell kinda put me off nw.. the smell alone made me nausea. does ur wife vomit alot too? i really think tis is the most terrible thing like u are just being sick constantly.

so have u n ur wife went for your 2nd visit? i am going to the gynae tmr! so excited! is tis ur time child to be as well?

i borrow some books from my colleagues and one of the books showed the delivery process.... i dunno if i shld continue to read so that i know what to expect, cos in fact.. i am beginning to fear alot. how can a baby come out through me? it's scary!!

1st of all, this is only my 1st time posting in this pregnancy forum :p

I tested +ve (Pregnant) using Clearblue Digital 2 days ago, which is only 4 days BEFORE my menses is due (10dpo) cuz I was too anxious (tho this is not my 1st pregnancy)! =P So I was wondering, is the chance of false positive high? Can't be 100% sure myself!! Not even considered 4 weeks pregnant...aiseh...

But above all, I do have some symptoms tho. Have frequent tired back bone and backache, gastric-feel/acidic tummy (bloated and gassy), dehydration-like (always feeling thirsty and been drinking like every 1 hr or so, thus resulting in frequent urination), lil bit of cramp here and there, so out of energy and less energetic.

Hmm, seems like it huh...? Or is still early to tell? The 2ww (two weeks wait) is not officially ended yet...sigh...

ting,

then mayb u r porridge with other toppings, best is easy to swallow, so that when u puke, less 'gang kor'. or someone here in this forum suggest drink soup, i think when u puke, even much easier.

my wife doesnt puke a lot, but she always feel like vomitting. it is as worse as really puke i think.

we will b visiting gynae d 2nd time in 2 wks time.

dun worry sure d baby can come out fr u! that part is v elastic!

jing hui,

my wife has experienced all u r experiencing, u better see gynae to confirm it.

Jing Hui,

Congrats! It'll be advisable to get the confirmation from the gynae. From what i know, anytime before 5-6 weeks they can only determine via V-scan to locate the pregnancy sac or blood test .

Thanks gilbert and Twinkle Star. I think I'll wait about 2-3 weeks later then only go to polyclinic to confirm my pregnancy and refer me to NUH for first antenatal visit.

gilbert,

how many weeks is your wife in now? when is ur bb due date? i went to see the gynae on sat and saw my bb heartbeat! my bb will be due in mid oct.

this week my morning sickness not so bad already! i also start having a little cravings. except that i still feel extremely lethargic.

to the rest of the mummies,
i just noticed brownish spotting!! it's just once on the panty, but i wipe no blood. scare scare.. is it normal? should i go back to see the gynae now?

ting, light spotting during the first trimester is one of the pregnancy symptoms. Some people experience it some don't. I didn't. Try to eat more meals in a day instead a big meal during meal time. Sleep on the left is a good idea. Take care.

Im also new to this thread. Well, i just been my first check-up 3 weeks ago. The doc scanned something in the pregnancy sac but she say foetus haven developed...so I be gg for my 2nd check up next week, probably to scan again....

Btw, how u gals count the no. of weeks of yr foetus? From that week that we missed our menses?

Sorry,its my first time so quite inexperienced abt such things...hee..

Hi cheerios,

From your last menstrual period, means you can count the days starting fr the first day of your last period.

i'm also not sure till i got the info from net as I'm only tested positive 3 days ago but haven confirm with a doc yet.

Ya, true...only for those regular menses. For those irregular menses, have to be confirmed by ultrasound scan. They can measure from there and track when is the time of conception and etc.