(2014/01) January 2014

OreO, poor thing..dun let your neighbours affect you too much. You want a smiley baby right :)

patl, have you done oscar yet? Oscar test is danger free. If your results for Oscar is ok, you dun even need to think of amnio. Try to take it one step at a time instead of worrying so much at one go . Hope your results will be ok :)

Hi morning MTBs, another hurdle to cross in next 3 weeks is whether or not to do an AMNIO or not, to test for Down Syndrome. Can I get any of your opinion if any of you have already done the AMNIO? I think Nidelia had it? how would you handle if baby is DS? I'm not into aborting the baby since it would already be 4 mths old by the time the AMNIO is done, so not sure if taking the risk of AMNIO just to know for sure is worth the chance? Somehow each decision is different at different juncture of our life as I've done the AMNIO on #2 and didn't think much of it then as I still had time for more babies when I was younger and I was not too worried about the chances of miscarrying. But now 4 years later, I had one miscarriage in Dec last year and now I think I'm at the end of my road and don't think I'll be having another baby after this, even decided with hubby that I will get myself "tied up" after this birth. So this think is really bothering me quite badly and I can't sleep at night just thinking about it since I have to make a decision these few days whether to do an OSCAR or AMNIO. :-( some opinion, encouragement would help?

patl, have u tot of going for 2nd opinion?

Wah...have a hard time to log in here!
how everybody!
Anybody know can we sing ?
Singing on sun, i felt "suan suan" when I sing...
My mum told me we cant sing too hard on 1st trim , how abt 2nd?

Can we eat lychee?
I know it heaty but i saw it has rich vit c...i cant take fruit cos will vomit after taking.
It also help to improve blood circulation

patl, have u tot of going for 2nd opinion?
Not really as I've been with my Gynae since #2 and he is very senior and experience. The only think is a 2nd opinion from another gynae about OSCAR or AMNIO will probably not make any difference to me being undecided....:) as ultimately I still have to make a choice, to know, or not to know. I can understand how difficult everyone of us here also have to make that kind of decision if they are above 35.....so glad some of you needn't have to! :)

Musicgenie, I hear you! Were you having to decide between OSCAR and AMNIO or other tests? You didn't do any of it at all?

Hi morning MTBs, another hurdle to cross in next 3 weeks is whether or not to do an AMNIO or not, to test for Down Syndrome. Can I get any of your opinion if any of you have already done the AMNIO? I think Nidelia had it? how would you handle if baby is DS? I'm not into aborting the baby since it would already be 4 mths old by the time the AMNIO is done, so not sure if taking the risk of AMNIO just to know for sure is worth the chance? Somehow each decision is different at different juncture of our life as I've done the AMNIO on #2 and didn't think much of it then as I still had time for more babies when I was younger and I was not too worried about the chances of miscarrying. But now 4 years later, I had one miscarriage in Dec last year and now I think I'm at the end of my road and don't think I'll be having another baby after this, even decided with hubby that I will get myself "tied up" after this birth. So this think is really bothering me quite badly and I can't sleep at night just thinking about it since I have to make a decision these few days whether to do an OSCAR or AMNIO. :-( some opinion, encouragement would help?
yes I had done it last week. It is a probability that we are at a higher risk of getting a baby with DS. But it might not be the case. OSCAR is non invasive. but in the case if you are shown to be high risk, doc will recommend you to go for amnio. Some parents would abort it. Some parents would keep the bb no matter what but they want to know the result so in the event of DS, they will get prepared and read up on future needs of the bb to come. At least mentally be prepared for the arrival of bb rather than to know at birth. Somehow, you and DH have to discuss on this and decide on the issue. Amnio is 99.99% accurate. My doc encourages me to go for it. Even my friends encouraged me to go for it. If you are the type who keeps worrying about this, then it would be better for you to know in advance. Otherwise you would not be happy during the whole pregnancy.

good morning ladies....

actually the morning is not so good for me... my hb received a call from AVA, saying that neighbors complaining that my dog is making alot of noise. I just don't get these neighbors. why cannot be more tolerant? every little thing also must complain. That time we did renovations at our place, EVERY SINGLE day at 2pm, my contractors must stop work because her baby cannot sleep. complain to HDB.

when renovations done, they complain that people have been smoking in the lift lobby. dono complain to who, the people came to put the "no smoking" posters only on my floor. the rest of the floor above and below us, nothing...
now, they say my dog is barking like mad. if they knew anything at all, my dog doesn't bark. yes. he does. but not excessively. he doesn't bark when there's anyone at home. even if visitors come, he doesn't bark at all! everyday when he sees the opposite neighbor come home, he will just sit quietly at the door. there are other dogs in my neighborhood that barks alot louder and longer, and at unearthly hours during the day.

sigh. i really don't know what to do with these neighbours already. My dog is properly licensed and steralised with the AVA. He has went for basic obedience training. does anyone know if AVA have the right to ask us to get rid of our dog because neighbors complain too many times?

Which dog doesn't bark anyway? so what? if her baby crys and make too much noise, what? get rid of her baby?

arrrgghhh... i'm so mad lor
Oreo I don't think anyone has any right to ask u abandon your dog because it barks. It's a life. Can ask them sit at the complainer house n take a noise meter n check if the noise is really that disturbing. Can't stand such ppl abit abit complain. Go stay Bangalow la.

hey ladies who hire CL.... if you put bb to sleep with CL. bb will sleep in cot. then what about the CL? do we have to prepare a bed for her?
Nidellia, it's up to u..if there isn't a bed a mattress wld suffice too..jus tt it may b abit tougher for e older CLs to get up..hee.
N re CL, yes I've booked mine at 3.5k cos confirm stretching over cny..if 3k oni it's considered cheap le wor..
Kmei, I wun abort e Bb no matter wat too, unless there's a defect tt Bb survival chance v low..so I would jus go for an Oscar since it's non-invasive..n c how's e results n proceed fm there..

Pat for me I'll do the Oscar to know the condition of baby. But Amnio I might skip thought I like to know but the risk involved I'll need to think think. U shld discuss wif your husband.

Oreo I don't think anyone has any right to ask u abandon your dog because it barks. It's a life. Can ask them sit at the complainer house n take a noise meter n check if the noise is really that disturbing. Can't stand such ppl abit abit complain. Go stay Bangalow la.
I like ur 'go stay bungalow' part! Cracked me up!

Musicgenie, I hear you! Were you having to decide between OSCAR and AMNIO or other tests? You didn't do any of it at all?
Patl
I wont be doing any test...i will keep baby so wont do & made myself worry if anything happen..it my fresh blood, i will love it no matter what my baby is .My hub feel the same..of course we pray my baby is healthy.

Ya i called a few CL and all charged at least 2.4k! I dunmind pay up to 2.8k if the CL is very good coz i have so so experience on my lst CL which not my choice either and her hygience is not that clean and quite forgetful. But other than that, still ok. Actually i thought i can save my CL money as hv intention to hire maid to take care bb...but scare maid give me problem so better hire CL. Can ask u all, who will be caring for your bb as after my maternity leave, my bb and maid will hv to stay at my mil's house leh...then can only bring bb home on fri :(

My bb and CL will sleep together on floor mattress. Then i sleep alone in masterroom and my hubby sleep with my gal in other room.

Vanilla - how much your CL charge u as i curious the rate for twin?

patl - how is your Oscar test and why dun you do since it much more safer. If Oscar test low risk, u can skip Amino.

good morning ladies....

actually the morning is not so good for me... my hb received a call from AVA, saying that neighbors complaining that my dog is making alot of noise. I just don't get these neighbors. why cannot be more tolerant? every little thing also must complain. That time we did renovations at our place, EVERY SINGLE day at 2pm, my contractors must stop work because her baby cannot sleep. complain to HDB.

when renovations done, they complain that people have been smoking in the lift lobby. dono complain to who, the people came to put the "no smoking" posters only on my floor. the rest of the floor above and below us, nothing...
now, they say my dog is barking like mad. if they knew anything at all, my dog doesn't bark. yes. he does. but not excessively. he doesn't bark when there's anyone at home. even if visitors come, he doesn't bark at all! everyday when he sees the opposite neighbor come home, he will just sit quietly at the door. there are other dogs in my neighborhood that barks alot louder and longer, and at unearthly hours during the day.

sigh. i really don't know what to do with these neighbours already. My dog is properly licensed and steralised with the AVA. He has went for basic obedience training. does anyone know if AVA have the right to ask us to get rid of our dog because neighbors complain too many times?

Which dog doesn't bark anyway? so what? if her baby crys and make too much noise, what? get rid of her baby?

arrrgghhh... i'm so mad lor

Orea
Hmm...I wonder why you got the complaint? Alotof my neighbours has dog too but not the same floor as me ..some complain@ our closed facebook but the majority win & scold those who complain
My mum complain abt my downstair neighbour smoking @ the window but nothing can be done.
I m just think nothing will happen to your dog since you mention it go thr basic obedience training.Unless your dog bite some1
Like what you say, we cant control baby crying too then chase baby away? no rite....dont worry too much...*smile* :) preggy shld stay in happy mode.

Hello ladies! Am new here. In my 16th week now :)
Just confirmed my CL last week, she quoted me 3k but requested to go back for 2 days during CNY...
Also, the deposit she asked for was S$500, is it too much ah?
Cheer_bb, the rate we are getting from our CLs are the same... :)

Just confirmed my CL last week, she quoted me 3k but requested to go back for 2 days during CNY...

hi esthergal, welcome! :) i've heard deposit amount varies from $200-$500 so different for each CL. mine deposit is $300. if yours request to go back 2 days, does it mean she will give you discount on the $3k rate? or is that already discounted?

haiyah. tell u. i've been thinking about it since i received the call from my hb this am. so mad. i also seriously don't think they can do anything about it. bo pian. just sway that we got such neighbors.
now this forum, cannot post from ipad? why? why? aiyoh... ...

Not really as I've been with my Gynae since #2 and he is very senior and experience. The only think is a 2nd opinion from another gynae about OSCAR or AMNIO will probably not make any difference to me being undecided....:) as ultimately I still have to make a choice, to know, or not to know. I can understand how difficult everyone of us here also have to make that kind of decision if they are above 35.....so glad some of you needn't have to! :)

Pat, i do agree with the sweet_moment, do go for the oscar & nt screen first, do not scare yourself just because you are on the higher risk age, i have seen many mummies pass 40 who deliver very healthy babies, even my hubby's aunt had her first baby thru ivf at the age of 52, after the oscar and if the results are not optimistic probably you can then decide on further diagnostic tests. Im in the early 20s range and my gyane do make it compulsory for me to get an oscar too.

any mummies opting for confinement catering instead? heard its very hard to get CLs around our edds and the price point will be on the steeper side. im considering natal essentials.

mine $300...same deposit too with my lst CL.

any mummies opting for confinement catering instead? heard its very hard to get CLs around our edds and the price point will be on the steeper side. im considering natal essentials.

no coz i hv no confidence in catering food...besides i quite particular on food.

musicgenie - of coz it not raw lol..

I think Kimchi should be fine if you dun have MS or heartburn issue. So far I try to avoid chilli stuffs as my stomach not that well.. :(

welcome esthergal!

i got no appetite to eat at all actually.. bought java chips frap from starbucks earlier! :p

Me. Thinking of ordering confinement catering. But have not set up my mind which to choose.

Nowadays I always feel a bit like heart burn .. just dun feel good. So dun really dare to drink coffee or eat too spicy stuffs.. I missed Tom Yum soup :(

Afternoon mummies!!

Wah!! I very greedy ate 2 bowls of Kway chap.. Now super full, tummy feel like exploding!!

So full!! Den eat Liao regret thking shouldn't eat so much.. So Xin ku.. :(

wah vanilla, you eat so much! haha. But hor nowadays.... i realised i have to eat slightly more than standard meal.. else like not feeling full enuf... u ate 2 bowls sounds too much liao wor...

Hi mummies, thanks for all your very encouraging words and support. Hubby and I have decided we will do the OSCAR first, going to TMC tomorrow early morning to do it. Hubby is still not keen on the AMNIO as he doesn't want the risk of miscarriage, this being our last baby. So I think we will probably pray for the best, live with the OSCAR results and hope everything turns out ok and or maybe we may consider the non evasive option of Harmony later on. Pray for us!

haha.. i eat everything. Had tom yam soup almost thrice a week. I only have appetite during afternoon. By time, it's dinner.. appetite goes to zero. Majiam bb wants to sleep, don't want to eat. Last night, hubby felt the bubbles in my tummy.. so strong. Like blowing bubbles in my tummy.

I want my appetite back esp i am already heading towards week 18 liao. Super sian..
So mummies, if you have the appetite to eat.. just eat as long as moderation.

Actually I started to feel movements of baby yesterday morning on the way to my gynea's clinic..hmm. wonder if he knows that I am going to see him..kekeke.. After my lunch at Jack's place, he move a lot too... maybe he like steak..

Now no more movements :(

gm, between last visit to gynea and yesterday.. about one month difference.. I put on 2kg.. Nurse looking at me when she see my weight..keke.. Think I am too tam jiat