Any MTB staying at Ang Mo Kio

Gabby's mum,
I have 1 bottle of CB n Gaia powder. Sitting there collecting dust. Everytime wanna use must wipe e top first. I wanna figure out places to use on her leh.

Jolene,
Haha, you oso use the powder? I only use Erica's body wash. That's why always finish very fast.

Clover,
I keep it for u next time I go NTUC, most of the time I throw away! Last time I went to give away at the Free items section, until this mum took it from me n went to sell to others for 50 cents!

kelly, thanks!

jolene, i wouldn't mind, thanks!

essential oil
currently no more webvitamins spree, so we'll just have to wait.

alex...
i brought him to c 2 docs today. at first tcm but they can't do much for him, and i went to kinderclinic at mt a, and his pd diagnosed him with hyper reaction to his cough so that's why it is taking him a long time to get well.
he got my looks and definitely my lungs as well.
feel bad about it but it can't be helped... haizzz

<font color="aa00aa">wendy,
NTUC not bad la can use durin sleeping...cheri is using...

yo mummies u must find e nest of e ant then u can clear them... so far i m usin insectide i thk is ok... my hse is ants free
i hate antssssss...</font>

Clover,
No pro.

Cough:
Not sure if u r a believer of TCM. Try adding white fungus to alex's menu. They said to "lun fei". Sometimes I go to NTUC and buy those packet soup ingredients whereby u just need to add in meat kind, they have one is call dunno " Lun Fei Tang" or "Bu Fei Tang". U can try cooking those for ALex. Before u add in e seasonings for adult consumption, scoop out a small bowl n feed alex by spoon or use as stock for his porridge. Do it at least once a wk.

Sometimes I also go to Hock Hua n ask them for the "Nan Xing" and "Bei Xing" and the other ingredients tt u can use to cook in soups for cough. I find it worked for my hb last time. He was coughing for more than 1 wk plus and I cannot sleep well at nite oso cos very irritated by his coughing. Den I went n asked, and cook the package the Hock Hua ppl intro me everyday for 5 consistent days and his cough situation improved. I think the ingredients oso consist of "Gan Chao" and "Wu Hua Guo" which is the figs.

Personally from wat I knw of TCM, the recovery process is slow, cos they heal by the roots and believe n nuturing the body even when we are well. Unlike western medication, they usually use the anti-biotics to solve the problem n eventually sometimes our body can build immunity to the anti-biotics and that is why sometimes some anti-biotics worked for us in e past don't work for us now.

Maybe after Alex recover from his cough after the med from e PD, u try to "Bu" his lungs. I also on n off give Erica those "Lun Fei Tang" to nourish her lungs cos the PD oso said she is very very prone to childhood asthma as my hb got it from my MIL. So its in the genes. So my idea of nourishing her lungs so that I can strenghten her lungs and reduce the chances of her having Asthma.

*Touch Wood* lah, after I went through the effort of giving Erica those "Lun fei tang", I did see improvements. I used to cook it every wk, after I see her health improved, I slack liao. So now is on and off give her only. I started it on her when she was 8 mths old. Took me ard 1 mth at first to see some slight improvements. But I continued for another 2 mths for the every wk process. Personally I went through the woes of having to send Erica to the doc every mth and have to struggle with feeding her med, dealing with her crankiness cos she's unwell, those sleepless nites where she woke every hr crying, I finally managed to improve her health with the help of TCM after some research and also consistent nourishment, That's why I am sharing it with you and hope this will work for Alex. Even my hb personally feel the difference after always drinking those soups cos he doesn't develop cough as frequency as before. No harm trying if you are not against TCM.

Clover,

Posted some links for your reading. Hope it comes in handy for u.
Used to have more websites when I was researching for Erica's health but I changed laptop so cannot locate other links.

http://health.yahoo.com/experts/drmao/16997/cough-free-healthy-lungs-for-a-long-life/

http://www.chinesefoodhealth.com/tag/food-for-nourishing-lungs/

http://health.yahoo.com/experts/drmao/16997/cough-free-healthy-lungs-for-a-long-life/

http://www.acupuncturecare.com/food.htm

http://www.stephaniewilger.net/recipes/index.html

I do believe that our body must have a Yin&amp;Yang balance for good health. Becos my sis was born very weak, so my mum cultivated an interest in TCM. And after she see Erica's poor health since she was born n she shared with me on her knowledge on TCM in nourishing the health, I did some research on it and that's why I started to nourish Erica's health by the TCM method. Just sharing my personal experience, hope I don't sound very auntie here.

Clover,
Don't mention it lah! Just hope it helps u and Alex in some way or another. I only started my research on TCM after Erica is always down with blk nose. Got 1 time it was really bad and the doc wanna put her on nebulizer. So I tell myself cannot let this continue n so started looking for solutions to nourish Erica's health. To me, throwing money to see doc every mth is a bad idea, I rather use e money to send her to courses I oso feel more worth it.

Tim, Clover,
U both check out the BP ok? Cos I let my sis know to get more but she went to the shop n the promo is gone liao. Back to 4.99 per tube liao. So makes more sense if u ladies juz buy frm the BP.

tinkerbelle
most likely on coming Wed, gg to the zoo. u wanna come along? o Mireille is on food strike now. so not taking cereal. what is the candle that u wanna pass me?

story with inlaw
Yesterday they asked me what had happened to alex that resulted in his personality changed. Coz they noticed that he doesn't smile at strangers n wont play with other kids. They think alex is emotionally traumatised that resulted in the change of his behaviour. Issit i scolded him too hard. I'm perplexed at how they came up with this conclusion. (0_0);; haiz

hey Clover
the remarks might have been very discouraging or dampening. well u may wanna print some write-out fr babycenter abt kids at alex's age dun play wif other kids. they rather play on their own, and wan the company/presence of others around them. alex interacted well with me and Mireille when we had breakfast last thu. u have been doing well!

oh been searching for this thread this whole morning.

wanna to ask for recommendation for cc in ang mo kio. I just called little skool house and its waiting list is soooooo longggggggggggg

anyone heard of PIES schoolhouse before?

hi apple
there is a mom by the nickname, Ice, who sent her son to PIES. would u like to PM her? or try Learning Vision at the Grassroots Club?

Hi Jolene,

Thanks! have pm Ice. Also looking at Learning Vision but its kinda of expensive at $1k before subsidy and GST. I believe got to pay more for enrichment classes and the outings. will come up to quite a sum.

Apple, which ave do u stay? like where i am, there are less well-known ones like ywca childcare. there are 2 in the blk 400+ vicinity. i believe there are more

hi apple
pies school hse is located on ave 4. i live opposite it. i went over for a look a couple of days ago. cos i'm also interested in placing my son there when he turns 18mths. they just changed management on 1 sept. and it's called sunflower kinderhub now. fees are the same (that's wat i was told). i visited them once b4 the change of mgt and i quite liked it. but not sure wat's the new curriculum, routine etc. i'll be hoping to officially pay them a visit for a tour soon. the teacher told me there's a waiting list and i've placed my son's name down. do check them out if you're interested. i tink it's better if you go down and take a look, talk to them etc and see if you're comfortable with them.

Hi timminbuzz do update on your visit?

Subsequent to my posting here, I also find out that they have changed to Sunflower. The fees is $645 now. Next yr will be $690. I have talked to the principal, she sounds okie but when i asked her about their circulum, she just asked me to check out their website and told me Sunflower have been around for 10 years which i am not too sure of that.

I have not heard of Sunflower before but even if its famous, its also hard to gauge whether the amk one is good since its a new franchise....

I checked out MCYS webiste and was surprised that PIEs schoolhouse was previously granted mainly 6 to 12 mths license only over the years.Most have 24 mths license....

hi apple, i just saw yr PM :p but u hv already found this thread. i have no plans to send my boy to cc yet until he's ard 2.5yrs old. in the meanwhile, we will just laze at home.

btw, if anyone is interested at bloom music school trial at blk 528 amk ave 10, lmk. we didn't go today coz the school postponed the lesson. i think they are newly set up, so still ironing out the logistics. since they are so near, so i'll give them a go.

<font color="aa00aa">apple,
hi sorry for later reply been very busy :p
my son 4 yr he has been with PIE sch since he was 2 yr.. Inface this is e 2nd time they change management
The feedback from other parent abt SUnflower was good and e new management is more experience in childcare as they knw wat they are doing...They ve 6 outlets now

most important to mi is dat e teacher dun bully my kid

i heard from parent dat e teacher from 1 of e CC hit e kid..so heart pain to hear dat

clover u so fast register alex liao?</font>

hi apple
i went to tour sunflower today &amp; met the supervisor lena. she's quite nice, but was hesitant to let me know if there's placement for my son next yr. it may be due to the changing of management and she's also dealing with the transition as they only started 1 sept. the place in general is orderly &amp; clean. i like the fact that only sleeping areas are air-conditioned and common areas are non-airconditioned. i would like a bigger outdoor play area though. ratio for playgroup is 1:8.

i'm looking at a couple of other centres nearby within the next week or 2. i'll update you on how they go. over the phone, they seem to have a smaller ratio. do let me know if you come across any good centers.

Timminbuzz,

thanks! There is one good centre at Tai Hwan. Its the Cambridge at Ang Mo Kio. I have got very good feedbacks abt the centre.Unfortunately, its a bit out of place for me.. I probably check it out during their open house.
I am quite particular abt how the teacher handle the student and their curiculum and would very much prefer sending my child to a centre which i am able to get good feedbacks from several people cos everyone has different opinion on what is good and what is not.

I have heard horror story abt my fren sis's sons childcare where she is withdrawing them cos the teachers and principal have been mishandling the children and covering up with lies.

apple
thanks for the recommendation. it's a lil out of the way for me too. and it's not on the way for my hb in the morning. i would really prefer somewhere near my place. cos i'm putting my boy in half day and wld hv to rush him home for a nap.

i guess no one wants to put their child with teachers who are unprofessional and abusing parents' &amp; children's trust in them. but sadly, there are these ppl out there.

i visited another centre today, called Kids &amp; Kins Child Care Centre. It's on Shangri-La Walk, off ave 2. have you heard anything abt it? it's got quite a big compound and i'm rather happy with the environment &amp; the person-in-charged. wat i like abt it is that they split their programme into half-hr slots. e.g. counting half hr then chinese half hr. sunflower is on 1 hr slots. i really dun tink @ that age, they have attn span for an hr. changing acitivities half-hrly seem more realistic.

i'm gonna check out LiCdo Schoolhouse too. they seem very professional and from the brouchures, the place looks really good! they're quite new tho. started only jan this year. but they're pricier. and for toddler class, their ratio's only 1:6. but almost double the price of kids &amp; kins.

for me, i'm not too particular abt curriculum. but of cos cannot sit there &amp; do nothing lah. haha... my main objs of wanting to put him in half-day cc is so that he gets to socialise in a group, have opportunities to have social activities, to learn how to take instructions from an authority other than me and of cos having some form of structured activities for learning purposes. but i'll want to enrol him in pre-nursery in a kindergarten the next year.

Hi timminbuzz,
icic are u SAHM?

I have not heard of the two centres before. Actually I would think its best not to go to newly formed centre cos no matter how convincing they are, they need time to have a full curriculum and find their way in their approach cos they are starting from scratch esp if they are not under some group. Just my thoughts lah but of cos there are exceptions. I am quite concerned cos we never know what is happening behind closed doors..

ladies, where do i start if i wanna find out abt the playgroup? Now i'm considering those 2days program when alex's 2yo but i have to start finding now. Do they have 2 hrs or half days?

apple
yah...i'm a SAHM. which is y i'm opting for half-day cc.

i know where u're coming from abt newly formed centres. after discussions with my hb ytd, between Kids &amp; Kins &amp; Sunflower, we'll still opt for Sunflower. today, i popped by Character Montessori opp my place too. i was impressed actually! very big play area. but it's really pricey. do check it out if pricing is not a main issue for u.

clover
i checked around, there's really not many 2 days playgroup programmes. for those, you'll have to go to places like GUG. it'll be 1.5-3hr programmes, depending on place and their cost would be pricier than some half-day ccs. and it's not CDA deductible. so now u know y i'm looking for half-day cc. heheh...:D

Thanks Timminbuzz. I will check out Character Montessori. How much are they charging by the way.

Clover: AMK hub have but not sure if they are good...like what Timmbuzz say, 2 days one not many.

timminbuzz/apple, oic, tks. Need to do more research in this area... In the meanwhile i will devise my own montesorri teaching at home.

<font color="aa00aa">hi mummies,
Both Kids &amp; Kins and sparkle tots i ve heard somethg bad abt them on e way they treat e kids as for Character Montessori, i feel dat e centre is too big for e teacher to manage as i withness myself durin my visit,a radio on a cupborad almost hit 1 of e kids when he playful open e cupboard n e kids are left unattended when their free time...</font>

thanks ice for the feedback! we decided against kids &amp; kins too. most likely going for sunflower after visiting quite a few centres.

clover
some centres provide flexi-care, where u can leave ur bb for like 2-3half days in a week. but most centres that provide that service belong in the premium range and it'll cost 300-400+ just for that. kinderland yck provides 3hr daily programme. but it costs 400+.