(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Hi Yve,

Lately my gal is very crankym, refusing to do anything, brush teeth, bath etc.. Me really headache..dont knw is it cos she knows her didi is coming soon, hence super cranky.

I buy cute toothbrush for her and toothpaste, talk to her all sorts of things but she will cry and yell and say "dont want brush teeth" every morning. But she will brush when taking her bath at abt 11am. Really headache...

twinkle, i think it's 'cos of the arrival of the newborn.. Timothy is also difficult these days.. of course, maybe got pampered by grandparents when they were looking after him when i gave birth.

toothbrushing.. *sigh*

babyD, I had NO idea that I needed to register so early for N1 which is actually playgroup! Tim needs the socialisation lah.. I wouldn't want to send him to full day childcare.. at least with morning session 3 hrs, he can hv a good nap at home in the afternoons.

slamdunk, i also lost your contact number!!! if you're free over the weekend, do drop by if you're feeling ok.

Hi Catz,
Life is almost a misery now, have been throwing up bad the past 2 nights, I hope it is not going to become a norm in this pregnancy. M only 7.5 weeks now and really dragging my feet to move on with life
I push myself to come to work everyday coz I think it is worse when I laze ard and sleep all day. But Dylan has been very sweet to me, that day when I was half asleep, with my back turned against him, I heard him tell hub "mummy is very tired, I want to pat mummy" and went on to pat me real hard on the back. I was too drowsy and tired to even turn ard and hug him, haiz. Daddy has almost taken over as the sole craegiver when we are at home as I am simply not up to it. Hope life gets back on track soon.

Would definetly like to pop by when I am better. In fact, hub and me have been wanting to invite u guys to our place so that the 2 little fellows can play toegther, we'll get together when I feel better ya.

Playgroup
Dylan is in playgroup now (coz he was born in 04) and I am very happy to see the progress he has made since he started school. Nowadays, he is able to articulate himself much better and we find him speaking in sentences quite soon after he started at Kinderland. He still cries a bit when I have to leave him but I was told he generally enjoys himself the rest of the day and is a well behaved boy in school. We try to build up his immunity with supplements and I think it really helps that he loves to drink lotsa water coz so far, he has been very good.

Catz, think shld be so... Arrival of didi makes her gloomy.... This morning adopted Yve method, ask her to bring me to brush teeth and she brush with me as well.. So happy.. Ke ke...

Slamdunk, I had very bad MS too, can totally understand...but u will be much better after week 12. Although it only went off after week 14 for me, but I felt much better as compared to the earlier weeks. So hang on ya...

(Conversation while I was combing his hair after his shower...)
Me: "Wah... You are such a handsome boy!! Can get married already.... So who are you going to marry?"

Linus: "Baby want to marry mama."

Me: "Really? You want to marry me?"

Linus nod head and say: "Hmmm...Baby like mama"

kekekeke... he makes me smile.

Slamdunk,
So sorry to hear about your MS. Take care and it will pass, OK? Dylan is so sweet. Must give him a kiss from Aunty Piggy for being so sweet to mummy.

Twinkle,
When is your exact due date again?

I read that tods this age learn to be assertive and this is in fact a good thing. They will be assertive when they are much older (teenager or young adult) to say "No" to peer pressure. So I guess what they are doing now is part and parcel of growing up.

twinkle,
Glad that it worked.. Sometimes they just dun wan to be told to do this and that.. They know what they should do, but they just dun wan to follow what you want them to do.. Imagine if it is us, we hate it when our bosses tell us to do this and that right? So why not ask they to lead u instead..

slamdunk,
you sound miserable.. I have no experience in MS.. But take heart that it will really end soon.. Got a fren who has a pail in her car when she drives to puke into.. Once she did not grab it in time and puked all over the dashboard.. :p

piggy,
Linus is so sweet..

Angel has started to ask me questions instead of I asking her questions.. Soon, i will have no answers for her leow..
She is starting to string words together.. One of the sentences that she used to say sounded like the hokkien swear word "C** B**".. It is only recently that I figure it out that she was saying "I tell teacher about you".. hahaha..

Slamdunk,

When you fetch Dylan from childcare, does he cry when he sees you? Raymos has started his full day childcare since 1st Mar, he has no probs when we send him there in the morning and can wave bye bye to us, but when we fetch him, sometimes we observe him from outside can see that he's playing with the kids or otherwise doing his own stuff like normal, but when he sees us at the gate, he will run towards us half-crying. Is it becos he misses us that much? or he does not enjoy at all?

Anybody going or has already gone for the Nemo Disney On Ice? Thinking of bring raymos to watch cos he's really crazy over Nemo nowdays but wonder if buy the cheapest tickets, are we still able to enjoy?

Tks mummies for the encouragement, it's just so difficult for me to feel the joy of a little life growing in me when I am battling this morning sickness.

Yve,
U are really lucky leh, no MS at all for both your pregnancy.

Piggy,
Linus is so sweet
makes me smile when I read what he said.

Twinkle,
I am feeling excited for you, your delivery date is nearing
Are u mentally prepared to handle 2 ? I always wondered what is it really like to have 2, I will know when my turn comes. hee.

Ah Bunny
Yes, Dylan will run to me half-crying when I pick him up during the first 2 weeks but he doesn't do that anymore. I think they miss us so much coz they are left there for almost 10 hrs leh ... Is raymos attending the childcare at HDB Hub which you mentioned the other time ?

slamdunk, hang in there.. I had awful MS with Beth too.. Basically I was just horizontal all the time and yeah, husband and my parents were taking care of Timothy. In fact, whenever I felt well enough to sit up, Timothy would push me back to sleep! Dylan is such a sweetie lah
Oh yah, anyway, MS is a good sign that the pregnancy is stable. If you're really not feeling well, take MC to rest!!!

twinkle, so what is your #2 going to be named?

yve, yah you are really so lucky!!

Piggy, Linus is soooo cute! Timothy doesn't like being called Baby anymore.. if I accidentally call him baby, he'll say 'no... Timothy is a toddler!!' *faint*

Hi Slamdunk,
Yeah, i think Raymos is ok in the childcare cos yest we peeped again thru the window when we fetched him, and he was happily enjoying his cartoon. Last wk, every morning when we about to leave the house, he will kept saying "Raymos Go gai gai". Cos think he didnt want to go.I told him "No, raymos go sch, Mommy go work". and he will say "raymos aso go work"..haiz..But, yest while bathing him, he told me "Mommy go work, Raymos go sch".. I was so happy..suddenly feel that he really has grown up! haha. i did not send him to the Club HDB cos after much thots, i think convenience is the top priority. So we chose the PCF just near my block within walking distance. Otherwise i really can't imagine every morning rushing to Toa Payoh somemore with the traffic jam along Bishan Rd.

Btw, are u able to give me the names of the places you have stayed at Sydney? how much roughly is the ave rate per nite? We planning to go Sydney and Melbourne but read that all your hotels are not pre-booked. Are they usually available even without pre-book? want to try your style but i'm worried if can't find a place to stay when we are there. and how much is your car rental per day? want to plan my budget..

Hi catz,
Dont know yet, but will get someone to pick some names for him(the fengshui master Piggy recommend). So hows SAHM life lately.. You must be very bz handling 2 kids in tow...

HI Yve/Piggy,
Ya, she prob dont wan me to tell her wat to do. Yesterday nite, I already reminded her to bring me to washroom and "brush teeth", this morning she brought me there and help me brush my teeth while I brush hers... So happy men... Ha ah aha like kena 4d..ke ke ke kee

Hi Slamdunk,
Hope you are feeling ok today. Think we can never be prepared till we are faced with the new born, when things starts kicking in then we will be able to manage... Glad I have a maid to help me thru this pregnancy if not dont knw can handle... Cos of the bad MS and for now, being so heavy, I practically cannot do a lot of things.. Even bending down to pick something needs her help... Ke ke ke..

Yvonne Ong,
Hurley is a very pretty girl. Look at those eyes!
How is kor kor taking her arrival?

Catz,
Linus is the exact opposite. When I tell him that is is NOT a baby anymore but a Boy now, he says no, am baby, am baby....

Twinkle,
I have to keep thinking how to trick him everyday to go for shower. Very jialat.

twinkle, my mother has to report at my doorstep by 7.45am if not lagi terok.. hv one baby at my boob, trying to feed Timo cereal or to plonk him on the potty to poop. Wish I was indian goddess with multiple hands

Piggy, Linus is such a cutie lah.. I guess he knows that Baby got more status!!

Yvonne, your girl is so sweet! Is Hunter OK? I'm also delaying potty training for Timo.

Rgd brushing teeth.. *sigh* sometimes can, sometimes cannot.. like twinkle says, like striking 4d!

Catz,
Timothy is a big boy now, he knows he's different from his baby sister. Sherman was confused for a while, but now he calls himself Sherman... mostly.

Me: What is your name?
Sherman: Cutiepie!
Me: No, your name is not Cutiepie! What is your name?
Sherman: Sherman Koh
<pause>
Sherman: Sherman Koh Cutiepie!

As for toothbrushing... we still use 2 toothbrushes, and it works. Thanks to Evelyn, now he even says "Eeeee" and "Aaaah" when brushing teeth, because I demo for him once. The most disgusting, though, was when he pulled his toothbrush out of his mouth and stuck it into mine to help me brush! Yucks!

Both baby girls are so sweet. Hurley looks so rosy in this picture and Bethany like her brother Tim, also has the ABC look. She looks different from the last picture, her eyes are so lovely.

I really also have no idea how to cope if not for the helper. Before she came, hubby was the main caregiver and housekeeper during my 1st trimester. After the 2nd trimester, I feel much better, going for my detailed scan this Friday.

Yesterday was sharing with my hubby, can't imagine having 2 kids. so strange, a new experience to be a parent of 2 kids.

An update on Lucas. As you know, we drop Lucas and helper @ MIL's place before we proceed to our office. This 1 wk has been quite bad as his older cousin (Pri 2) is having school holiday and has been bullying him for the whole day.

Some of the horrifying stories I heard:
- He tied one of Lucas's leg to the table and ask him to run this afternoon.
- Lie on top of him to make him roll down from the sofa (this evening).
- Whenever Lucas is playing or holding toys, he will take away and sometimes throw far away. He claimed that Lucas can't play his baby brother's toy as he is deciding for his brother. We brought some of Lucas's toys, he throw them away from him. This happened all the time everyday.
- Told Lucas and his baby brother if they make him angry, he will kill them.
- When Lucas is playing by himself, he will annoy him by running around him while swinging toys around him.
- Brought Lucas up to his double deck bed & lied to me that Lucas likes to do that despite his displeasure as Lucas is not wearing diaper. Helper told me she ask Lucas to come down but the cousin keep bringing Lucas up & told her that she must listen to him because she is an "aunty". Today just told my helper that she must bring his water & place on the table as she is his servant. Luckily, helper is quite firm with him and tell him off.

Helper said that it is not so bad when he goes to school as he is usually back at about 2-3pm and Lucas will be napping. His exposure to him is probably not more than 3 hrs in the evening. I can't really pull out this arrangement as my PIL benefit from this arrangement. At least now they have proper food to eat and don't have to do the chores. FIL already 82 and MIL about 74, got no energy after tending to the 15 mth old baby. So we must seek alternate solution for them and help for the boy. sigh...don't know what will happen to them when I give birth and we won't be going to their place. They do not want to employ a helper as no space and lack of privacy. sigh.sigh.sigh.

sorry for such long message....

BabyD,
U demo for Sherman once and he knows wat to do oredi, he is so smart

Toilet-train
Dont worry, he will when he is ready.

Piggy,
Just curious, why must train Linus to pee in the cup? What if when he grows older, how?

Catz,
I love Bethanys eyes! So bright and big!

Tetra,
So sorry to hear abt the horrifying stories. Lucas older cousin staying with your MIL? or staying there because of school holiday? Have u mentioned these incidents to his parents? I think both parties should sit down and talk lor! Otherwise, I cant imagine what would happen to Lucas again!
Anyway, u must take good care of yourself. Keep in touch!

Catz,
She is beautiful.

Tetra,
The older cousin needs to be disciplined by his parents. I agree with Evelyn that u must get your HB to speak to his parents n point out what their son is upto cos they may not even be aware of it. Childhood bully can have long lasting effects for some kids. Don't let Lucas be a victim. If his parents can't do anything to the child, you must be "firm" or "heng" and pull Lucas out of that situation. 2hours a day of bullying is also too much, let alone full day of bullying.

Evelyn,
Cup is only for convenience. Sometimes, we bring him to toilet. But for night time, cup is faster and will not "wake" him up fully and end up playing. When he grows older, then he will adjust himself back to sleep easier as he understands better.

Hi Piggy,

I remembered reading a story from somewhere, long time ago..I think it is a fiction story

A small kid used to pee in the cup cos his family trained him in that way. One day he was very urgent and he couldnt find his cup. End up he just grab a normal cup (for drinking one) and pee. Then, he just put it on the table and left. The next moment, his sister wanted to have a drink, there she saw a cup of chrysanthemum tea on the table, she just drank it.

Thanks ladies.. just got a comment today saying she looks like a boy :p Her big eyes are her daddy's.. at least she's looking prettier. So ugly when born 'cos so scrawny.

Tetra, so heart pain for Lucas!! Hard for you to say anything lor, since it's a family matter.. let your hb handle it.

babyD, at least Sherman calls himself cutiepie.. Tim has this new thing now where he only answers to the name 'dog' *peng san*

twinkle
Ya, went thru natural delivery without any painkiller ... just like my first delivery. Hurley was 3.53kg when born.

Piggy/Catz
So far Hunter is taking it quite well. He just don't understand y meimei still can't play with him yet. Will always look for meimei to kiss and pat her...so sweet of him lor....

evelyn: the story is so funny...

yvonne: your pain threshold is very good leh. so good that Hunter is so sweet to his meimei. Hope Lucas will be nice to his brother too.

About the cousin, he comes from a broken home, no dad, and his mum suspected that he had some issues so is still seeking child psychologist for help. Yesterday, hubby had a talk with the youngest sister (not married) who are staying there, she broke down and cried, so helpless, dunno what to do, got to look after the eldery parents, her sister & her 2 sons. In a situation like that, I got no heart to pull my helper out from their home as the parents felt relieved from the chores and cooking. So we are going to find them a domestic helper...may help to solve a few problems. Ultimately is to help the sister to spend more time with her older son, the helper can help to tend to the younger son.

piggy: you are right. even the 2 hrs of bullying is also too much. I must quickly get a helper for them before I stop sending Lucas and helper to my PIL's place.

Nowdays, I see so many divorce cases. At the end, it is the children who suffer. But I've also seen many happy marriages, to have a family with a good hubby and have kid, is such a blessing. what more can we ask for.

Evelyn,
I really hope this will not happen. heehee..

Catz,
Dog? Why dog? So funny....kekekeke..

Yvonne,
Ya, you so solid. No epidural...Peifu Peifu.

Tetra,
I guess many adults are not aware that their actions will cause lots of pain to people around them. I really don't want to be in your HB's youngest sister's shoes. Must have been very tough on her to have to help pick up pieces of others' life.
Divorce, ya.... I saw so many too. My own sister too. Her 2 kids have been living with my mum since born and only goes back to dad on weekends. My mum has been telling me about how naughty my nephew is. Principal called his dad to ask for permission to cane him cos he pushed someone in school. My mum also said that he wanted to beat her and even my brother when they scolded him for something. My sis is in China working and will only come back 2x a year. She has no time for them at all. Just see how the 2 kids suffer as a result of a broken family.... SIGH...
A good health and a good family is really a blessing. Many don't stop and think till they lose it.

Hi Yvonne,

Wow u really gd. I hope I can go through 2nd birth without epi too. Because have went thru it one, you already anticipate the pain liao, so kind of phobia I am beginning to feel really scared of labour as it draws nearly. I had infection on the wound which lasted for 2 weeks (for my gal) and I really hope this round, things will be better for me

Hi Tetra,
Hope Lucas is doing fine. You must take care yaquickly find a helper and bring Lucas outare u still working now?

Hi Piggy,
Linus very cute leh.. Ke ke ke.

piggy: 3 of my close colleagues have one of their siblings or siblings-in-law who is divorced. your mum is really superb that's why mum is the greatest. How old is your nephew now? My colleague also shared with me her SIL's son (teenager) threathened to beat the mum and grandma if they don't give him $ & use vulgar language on them. scary...really pity the kids because all of them are innocent and they have such great potential to be wonderful adults, just because they were deprived of the chance to be part of a happy family.

twinkle: You must be so excited now, looking forward to see your 2nd one. don;t stress yourself too much, must take care. I am working 3 days a week, company still own me 2 days. I may consider going back full time as co is tempting me with a more defined scope and maybe a new boss with new direction. sounds quite exciting but still not official yet. shall wait for boss to talk to me. I have been very happy with this part-time arrangement although I do work from home on those days I am working. It's more flexible, can attend to some emails then tend to Lucas, get to go out to places when it's not so crowded. But this part-time arrangement is renewed monthly until May. So since cannot resign, might as well convert to full-time at this juncture.

Today, went for detailed scan. Very happy that baby is growing well & was very co-operative during the scan. so happy that we are thinking of a name for our 3rd one if going to be a boy.

Piggy and Tetra, yah the poor kids really suffer. My dad's parents divorced very acrimoniously (big court case etc..) and till this day, my Dad still bears the scars of being torn btw 2 parents.

twinkle, dont' worry abt the pain lah.. when the time comes, it will pass super quickly.

Tetra, wow, you're so ambitious! told my hb if we kena #3, i will chop off his member

Piggy, my son has an ultra weird sense of humour lah..

HI Tetra,
My nephew is 13, just went to Sec 1. After the caning incident, I spoke to him and told him that he must not get black listed, else can't go JC or Poly later. I hope that he will learn to curb his temper.
Glad to know that Marcus is doing well. You super lah, now can think of number 3 already. I am still coping with a very "night" active tod. Last night, I was awake between 3 to 4.30am cos "Mama, please pat me!" and "Nanny, go away!!" I am getting ready for part 2 tonight.
Told HB to film it down so that in future, I can show it to my grand child (if any) to teach him how to behave to his father at night. kekeke... Really looking forward to it man......

I think part time work is good cos you can be there when Lucas need you and yes, can go out when it is not crowded + got $ coming in. As for full time, must depends how well your helper adjust to 2 kiddos after Marcus arrived.

Catz,
You so funny. Maybe you will speak differently in 3years time.

Piggy: You are right. I must also consider if maid can handle 2 kiddos from Jul though I am planning to send Lucas to a 2-3 hr lessons. Found one nice montessori school near my place, only need to confirm when to start.

catz: ya lor, you may want a third one after 2-3 years.

Piggy, Tetra,.. Oh I think I *might* be clucky after 2-3 years for sure (arrgghh.. these maternal instincts) but cannot lah.. this pregnancy was super difficult.

<font color="ff0000">Mega Tantrum</font>
Linus has been in tantrum mode this 2days. Yesterday, he requested to go to Forum and we brought him there. At the usual time to go home, he simply refuses and screamed and kick, etc in the carpark. Then I brought him back up to the shops and he loitered for a while. Then back in the car, he started his wailing again.

This morning, he insisted that I bring him to the pool to "walk walk". After that, he wants to go see fish, see this and that when HB n I were rushing to go to work. Then in the car, he sets up a mega crying again and keep saying that he wants me to drive and not HB. When we reaches my MIL, he started again the full sets of works and demand that I stay there to tend to all his fancies. I am very exhausted from trying to coax him....Gosh....Hope that this will not last too long.

Any mums here have similar experiences?

Piggy, Timo has been like tt for a looong time, ever since my parents became his main caregivers during my tough pregnancy and after Beth was born.. but he's improving since his fierce mommy is back in business..haha
Sometimes, can reason. If he's tired and sleepy, aiyoh, can knock head against the wall. In those instances, it's the naughty stool and that usually makes him behave.

Piggy/Catz,

Ferlin is the same. She has been a superman rolling on the floor for mths already, throwing tantrum when she has the chance. Really headache. There was one time I was so helpless I cried to her and told her pls stop doing this to mummy... ke ke

Piggy,
Oh no...is he suffering from separation anxiety?? or could it be because there's changes to his routine?

I think at their age we not only have to coax but this time has to be firm and also reasoning with them. If my girl were to throw tantrum I usually ignore her and walk away.

Sometimes tantrums and wailing could also be due to tiredness, hungry, bored and sleepy (this is what read from a book) so I guess we have to tackle when these symptoms show.

Aiya...got things to do now. Talk to you again.

Catz,
At least naughty stool works on Tim. I can't get Sherman to stand in the naughty corner or sit on a naughty chair. He just struggles and cries and lies on the floor. Confiscation brings out the worst in him. So far, distraction has been the only solution, I just don't have the physical strength to struggle with him to get him to stand at the corner.

Piggy,
I think this is age. As long as Sherman isn't doing anything dangerous, I'll agree to pander to his whims and fancies up to a limit, then I just say no. He also does this, esp to my MIL. He wails and tells her he wants to go to sit car and go supermarket. He will put on his shoes to let us know he wants to go out and refuse to take them off.

Lucas used to behave like this in Jan when I was full time SAHM. But has stopped quite a while. He usually behaves like this when he is very tired or hungry. For him, distraction works best esp anything Thomas. Maybe it's because he is out very often, he usually would prefer to stay at home if you ask him unless it's to the zoo or library. I think I would break down if he starts behaving like this when Marcus comes along.

It's been quite hard on him lately as there have been many changes to the routine. I am going to bring him for orientation class tomorrow. Hopefully, this arrangement will be the last one since I am going to work full time from April. And they don't have to go to my PIL's place.

I also found that whenever Lucas throws tantrum, he doesn;t know what he really wants. In this case, I will just carry him and pat him.

We were back from Taiwan yesterday. It was a long 15 days trip... totally exhausted! Overall, Heidi did well except that she fell ill on the 3rd day. We brought her to see a pd there. I guess it was the cold weather. When we reached there, it was only 13 degrees. I had some difficulties searching for decent food for her. They were either too oily or weird for us. There is this strange smell... *yucks!* Anyway, we travelled from Taipei to Hualien, to Gaoxiong, then to Taizhong. I did some shopping, & it was good & cheap! Bought some tshirts & shoes. It was great shopping, I would say! Can't wait to get back into shape to wear those pretty mini skirts & boots! So tempted to buy first & keep!

And, I've decided to sack my maid! After 10 months, she still reboil boiled water! She made me so mad that I shouted at her in the hotel room. Think everyone in tt floor can hear me. She is really so... "dump" & slow & I've been putting up with her for 10 months b'cos I don't wish to change maid. But this time is final!!! I've had enough! When my 2nd one comes along, it'll be worst for her - totally can't cope! Sigh!!!

Angela,
Welcome back. Must be very fun to travel and able to bring maid along.

I think very hard to get the perfect maid. When you get someone too smart, u worry, too gong, you pengsan. I think some initiative is needed, especially when there are kids in the picture. Your next one going to be from Philippines?

Even though i renewed my maid's contract, there are times that she can get on my nerves. She will keep Linus' toys as soon as he stood up to play another toy. When he found out that his first toys are not there, he will make noise and get angry. I told her, don't keep the toys first, let him see that there are so many different ones on the floor and he will come back later to play.

Another thing is she will try to "insist" again and again that Linus must finish the food given. Recently, he has been having lots of nightmares and I spoke to Chinese doctor. He told me that his stomach is not good, causing the energy to surge up to his head with lots of nightmares. So told me NOT to force him to eat when he refuses as this will make the stomach worst and nightmares more frequent. I have to remind my maid everyday not to force him and let him decide. Wah, ok lor, don't force feed but ask many many times if he wants to drink milk? eat bread? eat biscuits? Until he gets so fed up saying "No" and starts saying that nanny is noti!!

MG,
I think he may be having some separation anxiety as he wants me to be there all the time. Last night, I have to wake up 3x!! Once to make milk, once to hold his pee pee cup and another time to wipe tears off his eyes and make more milk. The new thing now is "mama drive, papa cannot drive". He wants me to drive when coming back from MIL's and at the same time, clean his mucus for him and hold his hand. How to do so many things when I am sitting in front nhe is behind on his child's seat?
This morning, lakki funny. After I wipe off mucus from his nose, he ask me to put in back!! I have to wipe the dirty tissue on his nose. Very funni when u think back..

piggy: I think you also don't know to laugh or to get angry with Linus. I agreed that it must be the separation anxiety. I think you are his anchor in this life, you must be in the picture to do everything for him. Maybe expose him to more outdoor activity to release his energy & frustration.

angela: welcome back. Good to hear that you have a good trip. Now I know that getting food for children can be challenging at Taiwan. How are you feeling now? Going to 2nd trimester? Are you going to place Heidi in a playgroup or nursery before you deliver your 2nd one?

Not easy to get a good maid. Maybe you want to consider someone who is more experienced and older, and got older kids themselves i.e. late 20-40s. This is like striking lottery.

Hi Piggy,
Don't think I'll get Philippinos coz they can be very notorious. Anyway, now Indonesians are in greater demand. Really headache now... And Heidi has been so sticky to me since we reached home. Refused to sleep until 2am last night. This afternoon also no nap coz she simply refuses to.

Linus is so funny! Actually, most of the children here are quite matured & they can articulate so well. Heidi is still baby talking, only in single words. And she is still so babish! Still junping about & laughing when she's happy... not matured at all, can't converse with her properly too.

Tetra,
Thanks for asking, I'm feeling much better now. The MS disappeared when I am 14 weeks. Thank God! Actually, was supposed to see gynae yesterday, but was too tired, so postpone till next Tuesday when HB is back... He'll only be back from Taiwan next Monday. Then we can both receive the news together - whether its a boy or a gal. I am approaching 17th week now. I am STILL searching for playgroup for Heidi. Some gd ones are too expensive, can't afford lei. Cheap ones are so lousy... sigh! The Kinderland near my place is charging $510 after subsidy for a half-day program. Some of my neighbours' kids are there, but I dun think I want to spend this much for childcare. So got to keep on searching lor... No choice, budget is tight now coz HB is venturing into something new.

I am looking for a maid with experience now. At least one who can cook! My current one can't even cook a decent instant noodle for me! Ya, its like striking lottery!

Angela: So now you are in your honeymoon period-2nd trimester. Another few wks, get to do detailed scan. Which hospital? Are you hoping for a boy? For playgroup, maybe start with 3 days/wk or 2-3 hrs/day, the fees may be lesser.

Lucas is like Heidi, keep jumping esp before he sleeps. also can't articulate very well in full sentence. The most 2-3 words string together. ai-ya, why rush Heidi to become mature. Later grow up become mature, all this child like behaviour will be missed. Lucas has completed 2 days of orientation in the nursery program, he is the youngest child there. Though he still needs time to understand the rules & regulations, he likes to go to school. He will be on 3 days/wk program, 9am to 11am. Was quite proud of him when he is able to sit by the desk, pouring the little beads into the glass container and picking up marble with the tongs, able to sit there & concentrate to complete & re-do his tasks. Then he will put back the tray to the shelf. But not everytime, sometimes need coaxing to get him to put back the things.

It'll be a blessings to find a maid who can cook reasonably well. Later can get her to cook confinement food. That's what I am training my helper to do, ask her to refer to the confinement receipe book for trial.

Piggy, Angela, Tetra,
Totally agreed that very hard to get a perfect maid.
My current maid not as good as the previous one..I missed my 1st maid! Hubby and I not so happy with this maid, she always makes us mad!
Thought of sack her too, but my 2kids like her, so close 2 eyes for the time being

Tetra,
Can you please share with me some info on the playground? Which block? How much? Thanks ya!

Hi Eve: So late not sleep yet? The school is Greentree Montessori at Jln Mata Ayer. You can visit their website at www.greentreemontessori.com. I think the charges is about $300/mth (though I've not got the invoice yet). Personally I don't find the teachers to be fantastic (like being passionate with children though I do not doubt their teaching skills) but we like the open environment and the variety of the learning tools. They have about 30 kids and generally very well behaved. Maybe that's why only 2 teachers, heard that they are going to add another English teacher.

There is another playgroup near our place at Blk 480 or 481 (behind Canberra Pri Sch). I think it's called Little Tots Playgroup, it's a 2-3 hrs playgroup. Their uniform is in yellow t-shirt with red shorts.

Hi Tetra,
Im not alone!! 2.14am??? Why so late? As for me, Im usually sleep very late on Friday coz Saturday no need to work mah! Hehee!
Thanks for your info. Im actually looking for playgroup near our place and if not wrong, near my block also got Tots Playgroup. I will check it out!
Nowadays can see Wilfred is looking forward to school coz sometimes when we send Wesley to school, he wants to go in to the class and he even told us that he wants go to school. I hope he is really ready for this

it has been a long while... hope everyone is doing fine!

just a quick update, jov has started his 2-hr playgroup since last week but he was down with flu after the 3rd day. pulled him out for the rest of last week but went ahead today as he recovered. it was one by tots house, not very impressed with them esp they change teacher this term (prefered the previous one as i have chatted with her before enrolment) but guess its a stepping stone, costing $380/term which is 10 weeks. accompanied him on the 1st day and he was busy playing with the toys and i left after the 1st hour. when i returned to fetch him, he bawled the very moment he saw me and the teacher said he has been crying on and off after i left. so poor thing!

he was in fact looking forward to school on the first day in his new uniform but since then he refused to put on his uniform every morning. everynight we asked if he wants to go school the next day he will say yes. but when my mum get ready to change him in the morning, he will tell her NO, he dun wan to go school, he will either want to watch tv at home or follow my parents for breakfast/marketing.

my parents will coax him to school but he will refuse to walk near the centre, once my parents carried him there and upon seeing other kids he will rush into the room and insisted the folks to accompany him inside. both will have to sneak out slowly. he did in fact cry on and off after they left. hopefully he will overcome this by end of this week.

jov still cannot converse well in sentence too, but according to the PD whom we visited a month ago, this should not be a cause of concern as he seems to understand instructions well. oh one of the mummy from the playgroup said her elder boy only started talking at 3.5 years.

okie enuff of my yakking, will visit as often as i could!

Dolphina: Long time din hear from you. Hope Jov is doing ok at school now. Is he still super sticky to his dad as in the past?

Lucas also just started his 2 hrs N1 yesterday. Cried till vomit his milk after we left. Teacher said he doesn't brawl, more like crying softly. Then went on to play the puzzles for an hr. When I picked him to take the school bus, he was ok, happily driving the car at the porch. While I was waiting for him, and observing him from outside, I can't help but to feel a certain pride to see him repsonding well to teacher's instruction as he prepared himself to go home. Looking at him, it's like so grown up now.

Then today, left him at the gate with the teacher, and he started to whine. Although I know he will be fine, playing all the learning sets, I still have to harden my feelings to go...made it easier for him and us.

BTW, does anyone know where to rent maternity gown?