WHAT To Eat & Not Eat When Pregnant?

Just wondering is if anyone drink lots of coffee during pregnancy. I just drank a 2/3 cup of thick coffee this morning, now feeling very guilty. Has been drinking a bit every morning since 6 weeks till now (14 weeks)...

Does anybody has this bad habit? I really wish to kick it off during this period...

Hi Herbal,

I used to be a real coffee addict and drink 3 cups at least a day. I have totally abstain from coffee.. (ok, I did have one tiny sip last week). For the sake of my baby, what to do...I udnerstand that the caffeine contents in coffee may slow down the absorption of nutrients into our body.. so no choice..gotta bear with it...

Hi may,
u sure can discipline yourself, I must learn from u. I read an article about the increase chance of fetus death with coffee, also interfere with fetus breathing and heart beat... now quite worried

Hi Herbal,

I love coffee, and I need a cup every morning to kick-start the day. During my pregnancy, I still drank one cup (maybe less) every morning, but that's about it.

Hi ningyo

The cheese in the pizza shd b fine cos is cooked. As long as is not blue cheese or any soft cheese. Cheddar is the safest cos not so easily can contaminated but very high in sodium so only eat moderately. Chinese wine in cooking is also fine.

Hi Fan,

I ate 2 Mcdonald's apple pie every night for almost 7 months. Once a while, it's ok. As for tuna, I found the smell fishy & couldn't stomach it.

Fan,

I was very careful with my diet during pregnancy. Ate mostly home-cooked meals. Except for the few No-No types of food, I had fast food once a while - KFC, Mcdonald & Pizza Hut. Eating only home cooked meals all the time can be quite sian.

Janet,
Hahaha Mcdonald apple pie every night ? Is that your special craving ?

Fan,
Don't eat the french fries too often. Fast food restaurants re-use the oil over and over again, you will be shocked if you see how black the oil is. Oil will heated at a high temperature for too long may cause cancer.

Hi Tamarind

Not that bad for Mac lah... I used to work in Mac and the oil is filtered and changed regularly.... but of course, I dun think it's advisable also to eat Fast food too much... especially during yr pregnancy....

Hi Gals

Noticed that it was mentioned that herbs shld not be taken during pregnancy... hhhmmmm... why? tot during pregnancy it's better to nourish yr body wif all these herbs? Is essence of chicken consider herbs too?

Tamarind,
I craved for Mcdonald's apple pie every night. Otherwise cannot sleep.

Yuki,
My gynae did advise me not to take any chinese herbs as it may contain mercury. During pregnancy, the best nutrition is home-cooked food with lots of milk and cooked fish.

Janet & tamarind,
is good to hav home-cooked food everyday, me hav to do my own cooking very sian & tiring loh. Sometime too lazy i just eat bread with cheese/can tuna or instant noodle especially Kimchi noodle which i think is not healthy. I find tat most maternity look like very aunties type especially the pant, when di you start buying/wearing maternity clothes?

yuki,
How regularly is it changed ? Once a day ? If more often then I am relieved, because I like to eat fries too but feel very scared after eating.

Fan,
I know how you feel, I will feel very sian also. You can choose those healthy, non oily fast food. MacDonald's chicken foldover is quite good. KFC mashed potato and salad is OK. Burger King beef burgers taste better than MacDonald's. I used to be able to finish a whole pizza (from Canadian pizza) all by myself when I was pregnant, but that's not very healthy though. In the end my tummy was so big, but my baby came out average size only hehehe.

If you are small size, you don't need to wear maternity clothes at all. Just find those normal skirts/pants with elastic waist, and wear loose tops. Or wear high waist dresses. I see a lot of pregnant ladies doing this now.

I did not buy any maternity clothes for both my pregnancies, because I think most look like sleeping gowns. I bought XL skirts from Laura Ashley, but these are floral and look a bit aunty.

Hi Tamarind

No lah... not take frequent... normally, it will filter once a week and change the oil bi-weekly... consider quite safe liao... coz it's vegetable oil... but better dun take too much also coz salt content very high...

tamarind, i also prefer BK burger & their onion rings but for KFC salad itzit safe bcos it raw? I'm tall so if i put on too much weight which i afraid then i will look big.

Hi Fan, you can check out maternity shops in suntec; spring maternity, perfect mums etc..they have a nice range of maternity clothes and defintely not auntie at all...

Fan,

I bought a few maternity dresses from this boutique at Specialist Centre. It's not auntie looking at all. Price also affordable.

yuki,
Yes MacDonald's fries are so salty. I actually ask them I don't want salt, so they need to prepare fresh ones for me.

Fan,
I think salad is OK since KFC hygiene is good.

Tamarind,
If the fries are freshly fried, then it's actually not necessary to add salt. Sometimes the crew members tend to be a little 'heavy' when adding salt.

CNY coming! can we eat pineapples tarts.. thats my favourite. Heard tat cooked pineapples should be okie, am i right?

Hi, pineapple tart is my fav too & i also love Yu Sheng but b cos of the raw fish i think canot eat loh. Me also agree Mac fries too salty whereas BK fries hav not much salt.

Smurfy,

Moderation is the key here. CNY goodies tend to be heaty, like pineapple tarts & kueh bangkit. Can still eat but don't overdo it. Enjoy yourself.

smurfy,
I agree with Janet that moderation is the key. I ate a few pineapple tarts a day when I was pregnant, no problem.

Smurfy..pineapple tarts are ok..the pineapple is cooked so its not so acidic..me and my hb just finished a bottle of pineapple tarts over the weekend...too yummy to resist..the tarts I bought are not too sweet..

Actually after 4 months, I was told can eat everything but in moderation..but still better not to eat mutton and del monte bananas..

spicegal,

wow.. i bottle of pineapple tarts is alot.. i ate one piece a day.. the pineapples tarts i have is also very yummy and not too sweet and the pineapple paste is alot on top of the crust.

Smurfy..its only a small bottle..about 25 pcs only..my hb loves pineapple tarts so he eat a lot..I only took about 4 pcs per day.. keke

Smurfy,
If you can't resist pineapple tarts, space it out. Drink more water since it is heaty.

Spicegal,
Yup, pineapple, mutton and delmonte bananas are out. As well as qing chao since it is too cooling.

ohhh.. my pineapples gonna finish soon.. so sad.. its really nice but I dunno where to get.

by the way, heard tat red bean soup is good for us but I dunno how to cook. Anyone can advise both the boiling and slow cooker method?

Smurfy
Pineapple tarts are fine cos its cooked, once cooked is not cooling anymore but if eat too much you'll put on unnecessary weight.

Herbal
Peanuts is fine. But is better to eat walnut or almond.

Smurfy,

I just read in the Urban section (Thurs ST) that Marriott hotel has delicious pineapple tarts. If it's shared between you and hubby, maybe you can get one to try. Price is not cheap.

Janet,
Thanks. I saw that in newspaper too. But its really kinda ex. My hubby bought one bottle from Clifford centre and its really good. Too bad nobody's going else can get.

Smurfy,
You are welcome. I'm crazy about pineapple tarts too, but very particular - not too sweet, pineapple must be soft and pastry must not have too much buttery smell.

Hi! I see so many donts here..but I'm eating everything like normal.. n my MIL has been cooking cooling drinks for me n also I'm eating cooling stufs like grass jelly...n pineapple! So i guess pineapple tarts shld b fine but not too much la..coz very sweet.My gynae told me I can eat anything but in moderation..a little bit of any food is ok.I guess all the donts are juz myths huh?I'm not so sure but my MIL is definitely very old fashioned type and she's not stopping me from eating anything... oh well.. i did hear frm her about the del monte banana..but i nv like tt so its ok for me.other than tt i'm eating everything..how true are the donts?I'm 22weeks now..rather worried leh.. duno how wil the food tt i took affect my baby..

Just read this thread. Am surprise and kinda worried when I read that cannot eat frog leg.. I just ate frog leg porridge for dinner. Why cannot eat huh? What will happen???

Hi Lucida,

I didn't know cannot eat frog's legs. Since you have already eaten, nothing much you can do now.
We Chinese believe that there are 'cooling' stuff to avoid, but ang-mohs don't have such beliefs.
Important stuff to AVOID would be DRUGS, MEDICATION (unless prscribed by doctors and know you are pregnant), and ALCOHOL.

When can we start taking coconut drinks? I am 28 weeks now and getting headache. Thinks I am getting "heaty", can we start taking cooling stuff now?

Hi smurfy,

Basically, now u can start eating cooling stuff but not in large amt, just moderate amt will do....some fruits like watermelon, I start eating when I am abt 20 - 24 wks.... but don eat it everyday....

Well, some ppl say u can start taking coconut drinks when u are abt to delivery (at hospital) or say abt 38 wks.

Most importantly, eat a moderate & balanced diet....& of course the items mentioned by Janet above

Just to add a thing.... avoid taking aloe vera as they are said to be laxatives, so it may cause diarrhea or it can affect the baby during bf... saw from some website...

galleria,

I have been taking alot of barley last week to ease my headache. My mom said barley is okie as it is not that cooling. But I thought of taking something more cooling, like coconuts lor..

Actually i heard that watermelon is not really cooling. Alot of pple have this misconception that watermelon is cooling. If you are heaty, watermelon will actually make you more heaty, vice versa. Not sure how true tho.

I took aloe vera in canned form, hope its okie.