TOA PAYOH mummies

Ivy
We also changed to GP once my no.2 turned 3mths old. We either go to Faith Clinic at Lor 8 or Y S Teo Family Clinic Victor Teo. I always make a record of the medicines they hv consumed n which one work well for them. This way, it is easier for us to communicate w new GP or PD if we change

Hi Ivy,

Actually there is no need to see a PD.. my boy has never seen a PD other than his hospital stay at birth..

i've one GP very nice lady and very meticulous.. but the clinic is in Yishun near the mrt.
charges are reasonable.. =)

as far as i know usually review shld be FOC, coz most of the time when i bring my son back for review i dun have to pay anything unless there is medication.. not sure abt PD though..

if u interested, can pm me i let u know the clinic.. =)

char

Hope you're coping well with 2

ivy

Er.. think I was one of those who posted abt that PD. I think mainly her consulation is cheap, but she pushes very expensive & unnecessary medicines. And she keeps making me go back for reviews. I only went to her coz she's near my ILs' house & got pressured into seeing her. Honestly, she can give me meds that cost $100 while my normal PD gives $4+ meds which I find work better

I still go to the PD bcoz I prefer their meds than GP's. I find GP's meds too strong for tods. Normally I'll get extra common meds for flu, cough & fever from my normal PD, then if it's not too seious, I'll just self-medicate.

THanks Dor, Precious, Gal.dolphin, Jul,

Actually my PD from Aglow at united square very nice and reasonable cost, and never ask me go back review non-stop. That night her eye got yellow discharge, hubby panic and say quick go see doc heng... he say her medicine good. (actually i think they are just very strong). She increase her consultation to $60, review $45, so very ex. And seems like every visit to her got anti-biotics.

Gal.dolphin, yishun very far neh.

Jul, yes i go PD partly worried GP medicine very strong.

Usually i just give her usual medicine, just that this time round, her infection very bad. I think many pple falling sick and she just cannot recover, me also sick :p 2 days of home rest, she seems better liao. Her molars canine growing, i think add on to more germs cos she wanna bite everything now, she also put finger and keep touching her molars -.-

ivy

I also find Dr heng's meds very strong. My boy kena very bad diaper rash after her stupid mis-diagnosis of HFMD & pressing antibiotics & antiviral med on me. It was swollen, red, weeping discharge lor! Till now, he gets diaper rash quite easily compared to before, when he NEVER got diaper rash. I think his skin had been permanently damaged.

Hi Jul,
have you try using Desitin diaper cream after he recovers? this brand suppose to be quite good. I would recommend the cream base in blue tube instead of the oil base (purple tube).

Dor

The rash was so bad I had to use Aze oil on it. I use the blue Desitin cream on my boy quite regularly now when his skin gets redish again. It never used to happen before the antibiotics issue.

Dor
If the child does not hv, dont hv to apply :)
Both my kids don't hv to apply as they did not have diaper rash. To prevent it, I let them not to wear diaper for 3-5mins, to air it

jul,
i'm coping well so far with 2 kids.

ivy,
i've been seeing dr heng since my gal was a baby and after 3yrs i bring my gal to a GP. i still bring my boy there out of convenience. indeed she does prescribe a lot of med but i know when to say no to some of them. as for your gal, depends on her condition. if her eyes looks like they've recovered then no need to go back for review. i've also learned when to go or not to go back for reviews. as for antibiotics, to me in my own experience with my kids, they have to take. once when i brought my gal to YS Teo who delayed in prescribing my gal antibiotics when her phlegm had some specks of blood and its clearly a very bad infection, she developed pneumonia. it's only after visiting dr heng that she got better. some adults/kids can go without antibiotics but not my kids. so it all depends on your gal if she can go without antibiotics. hope her eye conditions gets well. actually PD's meds are stronger than GP's.

Hey char!thx for d adv!but in my heart I don thk it really due to milk powder lo!some more since birth he already gt Phlegm on n off de!n I really dunno wan switch wat milk powder!he already 25 mths le!

Hi, just for info, Dr Sonia at Raffles Medicial Group at central is a PD. So you gals might want to change to her since not so good reviews about Dr Heng.

Dr Sonia is very careful when prescribing medicine. I only found out recently that she was a PD but switch to do GP work.

newmummy,
my boy also had a bit of phlegm since birth and it got worse when he was sick. no harm trying.

eunice,
thnx for sharing the info.

newmummy,
depends on the child. there are kids i know who takes pediasure gets phlegm and when switch to other brands have lesser phlegm. my gal takes friso since she was a baby. so far ok. other brands caused her to have constipation.

Hi all toa payoh mummies! is so happening here! need some advice from all of you pls! my child is turning 19months and im hoping to send him to a playgroup around this area before he goes to Pre-nursery next year. Any advice on good playgroup? thanks in advance!! =)

just to share also, my son is with Dr Oh at bishan all along. visited dr heng b4, very friendly doc but just like some of you mention, she ask to go back for review which i didnt. hehe...

Girls,
ya dr heng medicine is strong thus effective. Ya stop going back for review liao, i just observe and see how.

I am looking for a hand-me-dwon pram. Please let me know if u have any tat u would like to give or sell away. Thanks!

Morn mummies

Hv not been posting for some time.

Re: pd n gp
Recently I visited terence tan at mt a for 2nd opinion on my bb boy. He has morn cough for weeks! Conclusion of the visit was allergy. Bill is exp but this is nice.

Yes, I also like dr sonia. She is trained in pd.

Hey Jul
I bought a 2nd Hand booster seat. Borrowed infant seat fm cousin. Waiting to upgrade my Gal to booster seat n then no 2 can take over her current one

Just to vent my rouses, if any mum here recalled, I was complaining abt the stubborn milk blister which won't go away a mth ago. N now, it is still recurring!
I been using fingers, nails, toothpick even to pick at it to burst it n scrape the skin away. Bleed some times. Was bothering me then coZ I get hard lumps due to the blockage.

Now, Supply tat side dropped till v low. Sigh, no more lumps to bother me but the blister still shows up. I recall one mummy has blisters last time too. Is it jfoo or Dor? Can pm me wat u did n it just went away?

Hi ,

where do you send your son to catholic Primary school if you stay in TPY ?
Catholic High (Chances very slim),
where else will you consider if taking school bus (hopefully not too long distance..maybe 15min-20min?)

TPY mummies,

anyone has spare huggies pink stamps to sell away? I need another 4 more please urgently.
can pm me pls as I hardly drop by.

Or anyone has 1 Huggies dry comfort(red bag) without stamp to give me? I have a receipt.

Hey!any mummies would like to get DownTown east Escape theme park tix for2adults at Only$25?org is $35 for NTUC member.but exp date this sat..
Any1keen pls pm me!thx!!

newmummy,
my gal has been on friso for 4yrs liao. it suits her. if your boy is very sensitive and can detect the change in taste then you can mix.

Happy Mother's Day to all! Have a read. Doesn't matter whether you are a Christian or not, the heart of the message is there.

When God Made Moms
January 9th, 2008 by mothersday

By the time the Lord made mothers, he was into his sixth day of working overtime. An Angel appeared and said “Why are you spending so much time on this one”? And the Lord answered and said, “Have you seen the spec sheet on her? She has to be completely washable, but not plastic; have 200 movable parts, all replaceable; run on black coffee and leftovers; have a lap that can hold three children at one time and that disappears when she stands up; have a kiss that can cure anything from a scraped knee to a broken heart, and have six pairs of hands.”
The Angel was astounded at the requirements for this one. “Six pairs of hands! No Way!” said the Angel.
The Lord replied, “Oh, it’s not the hands that are the problem. It’s the three pairs of eyes that mothers must have!”
“And that’s just on the standard model?” The Angel asked.
The Lord nodded in agreement, “Yes, one pair of eyes are to see through the closed door as she asks her children what they are doing even though she already knows. Another pair in the back of her head, are to see what she needs to know even though no one thinks she can. And the third pair are here in the front of her head. They are for looking at an errant child and saying that she understands and loves him or her without even saying a single word.”
The Angel tried to stop the Lord. “This is too much work for one day. Wait until tomorrow to finish.”
“But I can’t!” the Lord protested, “I am so close to finishing this creation that is so close to my own heart. She already heals herself when she is sick AND can feed a family of six on a pound of hamburger and can get a nine year old to stand in the shower.”
The Angel moved closer and touched the woman, “But you have made her so soft, Lord.”
“Yes, she is soft”, the Lord agreed, “But I have also made her tough. You have no idea what she can endure or accomplish.”
“Will she be able to think?”, asked the inquisitive Angel.
The Lord smiled and replied, “Not only will she be able to think, she will be able to reason, and negotiate.”
The Angel then noticed something and reached out and touched the woman’s cheek. “Oops, it looks like you have a leak with this model. I told you that you were trying to put too much into this one.”
“That’s not a leak.” The Lord objected. “That is a tear!”
“What’s the tear for? the Angel asked.
The Lord said, “The tear is her way of expressing her joy, her sorrow, her disappointment, her pain, her loneliness, her grief, and her pride.”
The Angel was impressed. “You are a genius, Lord. You thought of everything! Truly, You do all things well… Moms are truly amazing!

And to all who are voting, do think wisely and weigh everything on the balance scale.

Hi char!thx for replied...
So far ur gal encounter any constipation?phlegm alot?etc?I heard change milk is every am one time gv new milk then follow by normal.continue for the following day.do I oso scare he doesn't like the flavor...nw he drink Mamil gold seems always constipation n alot phlegm so thk to let him try others as he already2yo + shd b ok ba...
Btw found the DHA is huge diff with Mamil gold le..friso obly14.1 but Mamil is 75!!
Hw abt s26 gold? I jus thing either this 2 type only...price reasonable atleast...

Hi ivy,my boy now drink stage 3 le..nvm,I thk will stick back to Mamil gold..seems he soon will drink stage4 le so by then nd change again abit ma fan..thx anw~!!

Hi all ... My son is attending Blk 6 Pcf... I find the teacher lousy n lazy . So I was thinking whether to let him continue next year anot ... Any good kindergarten to recommend ? My son is k1 this year

white_lady,
the teachers no good at blk 6?
oh dear.. i intend to send my son there...

precious,
blk 232 is for nursery and playgroup, blk 6 is for K1 n K2. blk 231 is gg to be the cc this coming July.. there is gg to be infant care also.. wondered if i shld switch cc.. nearer..