TOA PAYOH mummies

fitty nut

ivy

Yup, will be sending my boy to MFC Kindergarten from next year. But must pass evaluation. If not, prob will wait till Aug when he hits 3 yrs old. Oh yeah, it's a so-called pure Montessori

Whitelady,
according to the swimming coach of TPY and my frens, a good time to start is when they know how to take instructions clearly. If not half time they will be playing by the pool. So it's b/w 5-7yrs old but again depend on individual.

hi stylobb,
nice to see you here again. i'm coping fine although admittedly it can be tough at times looking after a pre-schooler and a baby w/o DW help. but so far ok.

newmummy
Can, can still learn things.

whitelady/fitty nut
That was what my boy's swimming coach advised us when we asked about my gals learning. He says frankly, it is better to learn after 5 years old so that they can take instructions better. Gnrlly even if the 4 yr old learns, he may take the same time to learn the strokes as a 5 yr old.
Having said that, we saw some boys crying badly during the lesson...think they are 4-5 years old..

ivy
Apparently radiation leak is confirmed woh....

char
I don't know how you manage.....

Hi anyone can tell me which soy milk is good? I'm thinking of switching from cow's milk to soy for my kid. She keeps throwing up this past week and mainly the puke consists of undigested milk curds.

Dor, thanks for the link sia.
ya saw news wah lau bad lor.

Now KIV.. or change country.

What u all think of korea, macau, melbourne, phuket, worst is sentosa haha.

ivy,
u paid for the trip oredi? actually depends on your priority, if the trip is plan for your kid/s then i guess good to go somewhere they can enjoy and look forward as well apart fm scenic tour.

I plan to bring mine to GoldCoast when she's older, or Korea. I heard Perth, Farmstay is quite interesting as well. Actually I plan to revisit Japan Tokyo disney again but since this disaster happened, will put on hold for awhile.
Alternatively, you may chk out Club Med at several places, interesting if you havent try out but for 2nd timer it cld be slightly boring.

If u r planing to go beach resort chk out if it is moonsoon period as well.

stylobb,
can't afford to have DW so no choice but have to cope somehow.

sunny,
i have 2 tins of friso soy to sell at $11.50 per tin. if you wan to try i can sell you one to try.

Dor,
it was actually a trip for me, hokkaido is a place i wanted to go, i love japan anyway. My girl still young, doubt she remember anything sia.

BTW i have S26 & Dumex small one too. Anyone wanna buy off from me.

I want to clear my kids' cot. It's in good condition, can be converted into single bed. PM me if interested. $100. Mattress not included for hygiene reasons.

I just came accross the " read in a week " phonic class above tpy kiddy palace . Is under kent ridge . Any review ? Good ? My son is 5 this year ...

I m thinking of creating a bulk purchase of customize poster . Can be for baby or family or anything . Will b a poster mount on a foam board . Anyone interested
Hee Hee
Size abt 59cm x 42cm - about $28
84cm x 59cm - about $48

White_lady,
I intend to send my gal to " read in a week " when she turns 5yo. My gf send her son there and commented is good and better then 'I Can Read'. However this is her personal view.

White_lady,
May i ask y u withdraw him fm 'I Can Read'? How long has your son been attending. How much is "Read in a week" charging? I din find out much info yet coz still early for my gal to sign-up now.

My son only attend 6 lesson . But mr n hubby not comfortable with the teacher n staff. And every lesson , my son say teacher only ask them to do home work . N the work is a page of coloring . I don't understand what's is the purpose ... N my son did that in pre nursery class already . So I feel is wasting my money .

The read in a week is a year courses . $30 per lesson before gst . Ur girl how old now ?

White_lady,
Txs for the info. My gal is 4yo now currently she's having chinese and ballet lessons @ the Hokkien Huay Kuan. I am trying to avoid introducing too many things to her and also give myself a break fm all these xtra classes thingy hee.

Eunice,
My gal did not attend Nursery @ Jessin only using their chidlcare service not sure if they accept and perhaps timing may not coincide with her schedule. Anyway, I'll check with them thanks!

I have seen improvement in her Chinese, now she's able to recognise few simple chinese characters. I guess parent has to revised with them at home as well. The lesson is being conducted in a 'fun and interesting' manner too.

Another place you can consider is Berries (Bishan) quite highly recommended. The fees between these 2 ctrs are nt much diff. I choose Hookkien Huay Kuan apart fm thier Chinese course which is also quite popular, its near my plc i dun have to rush and take any transportation.

White_Lady,
Here's the info http://www.shhkact.com.sg/dance.html course fee SGD220

Hi!How are u all mummies?
Just wan ask any mummies sent kids to Deerland at TPY North there?Is there good?Is a 2 hrs playgroup,near my nanny hse,so intend put him there lo,pls gv some adv....
Oh Dor,thk this is the one u mentioned not good?

newmummy

Harlow! Er.. I think I read before that Deerland is rather small & cramped, but other than that, I didn't see any negative comments abt it.

Have you visited the place? Maybe you shd go & take a look coz what appeals to one may not to the other, or one mummy may find the place no good, but you may like it.

White_Lady,
Some TPY mummies ever met up for playdates mainly weekends however it is not very often as it's hard to suit everyone's timing coz there r sahm and ftwm.

newmummy08,
Yes i ever commented abt Deerland, like wat Jul mentioned the place is quite small and children dun get to move around much. Playgroup programe is quite standard.

need advice from experience mommies.

Is there any thing we can give our baby before MMR to reduce the side effects?? And what side effects should i be prepare to see... am bit scare hehe.

ivy,
1-2 days before jab give him barely water only or mix with a lil dose of 'ling yang'. Some tods may experience fever after jab. Good to standby fever med jus in case.

Ivy, I did the same as Dor - barley with ling yang. Just went for jab last week. No fever. Doc said if fever comes will come about 1 week after jab and/or you may see some light (measles) spots. But nothing for my girl. Thank god.

Mummies, a belated thank you for all the soy/goat milk recommendations and offers. My HB went to buy isomil already that evening itself. Doing a changeover from the cow's milk this past week. So far so good as well.

Precious,
so heng!! Alot of my frens children got side effects sia.

DOr & sunny, thanks. i will give her before her jab and pray hehe.

Sunny,
Glad to know that Kim is ok after consuming soy milk. so the problem cld be likely coming fm the cow's milk she's taking.

It took almost a year plus for my gal to adapt back to cow's milk (lactose).

So far my son has not experienced any fever after jabs since birth but my gal is more prone to. I've just brought my son and gal for their 2nd and 1st MMR respectively last Friday. Praying for them everyday that they shall not experience any side effects.

Hey Jul and Dor,thx for the adv...I just went today and see the environment still ok ba~!It's rather small but compare with ykidz it consider big le,there got abt 10 kids in a class with 2 teachers.
The fees cheaper than KiddyABC.The semester start on yesterday le,so if i send him this few days, will just waste few days,else if i drag again will b waste more,and must weel start now rather than wait another semester which is after 3 mths!
Hmm...thk let him go there learn thgs rather than sit in nanny hse do nothg...

Hi Ivy
Spoke too soon. Little girl had bit of fever last night. Just googled for side effects of MMR. See the relevant time lines below. Think maybe can continue to give the barley and lingyang post the jab... I was lazy and stopped...

FYI:

The measles part of the vaccine starts to work six to 10 days after immunisation. Your child may have a fever, develop a measles-like rash and/or go off their food. You can give your child a dose of junior paracetamol if he or she develops a fever. However, if the fever persists, contact your child's GP.

It's rare, but your child may get mild, mumps-like symptoms (fever and swollen glands) about three weeks after immunisation, when the mumps part of the vaccine starts to work.

Children may get a rash of small bruise-like spots in the first six weeks after the vaccination, but this is also very rare. It can be caused by the measles or rubella parts of the vaccine. Take your child to his or her GP if you see spots like this.

10-11 days. She felt hottish on Monday and Tuesday night but I'm alway cold so I didn't think much of it. But last night confirmed fever with termometer.

Fever after Jabs

Just a word of caution abt fever after jabs.

Don't assume that the fever is due to the jab. Even if there is fever, it shd be a low grade fever. Many times, parents assume that the fever is due to the jab, but in actual fact, the child is ill.

Any mummies sent their kiddos to Star Tots or Ykidz? I'm now wrestling b/w these two playgroups for my 17mths gal. Got any reviews? Thanks!