TOA PAYOH mummies

Char
Hope ur boy getting better. My boy on Nebaliser for 6 days alr. Tom morn going bk for review and to return the machine hopefully! When are u seeing dr again?

surf,
aiyo your boy also on nebuliser? but i guess he's better liao right? mine still coughing but better than yday. i'll be going back for review tmrw also.

Religion - I don't think that should be the main concern for choosing or not choosing a school. As Dor mentioned, they are, at this stage, too young to fully comprehend. For those who are Christians, thinking that by sending the child to a Christian school means will be Christian for life (and the same applies to all religions), they're wrong. Yes, the environment is there to help nurture but it's their choice eventually. We all have a free will to choose. It is what we as parents plant and sow in their hearts that will be the main influence and eventually where they seek the truth when they start their search for religious matters.

Bugs are everywhere and coming on strong so stay strong everyone.

Enrichment - I have a friend who gave her daughter every possible enrichment she could get her hands on and to be honest, now that the daughter is in P1, it's really getting out of hand. Does it give the kid a headstart? Well to be honest, I don't think so. The child is just finding everything too much to cope with. She can't do everything to the fullest, everything is just a bit of this and a bit of that, focus is not there. For me, I give the kids one thing that'll make them work their brain (in my case, it's sending them for mental/abacus training which they both enjoy), another that'll enrich their artistic side (art lesson for both and piano for my daughter, which I personally coach) and lastly one for their physical (both go for gymnastics). My son goes for phonics once a week too because I find that helpful and self-reading is a culture I want to cultivate from the start. Daughter goes for horse riding too every fortnight (or when weather permits) because she is passionate about horses.

I have a friend with 6 kids, all with no enrichment classes whatsoever except music classes coached by none other than their parents (both are highly accomplished musicians). All they get is whatever the school gives, and that is right from the start of pre-school. The eldest took PSLE last year and she came in as the top girl in her school (Nan Hua). Of course part of it boils down to the individual child, some are just better learners than others, but it is also the fact that the parents believed in learning from activities, nature, and not (just) tuition. Agree, some will need an extra boost from outside the school but please, don't go to the extend of giving too many boosters.

Anyone wanting two bottles of organic baby food. It's for 9 months and above. Expiring in March and I don't want them to go to waste. Giving away, just need to collect from my place at Lor 5.

HI Dor,

U mentioned tt AK is among the first few popular kindy among others in the MOE list. How can u see fm the link tt u hv attached? I can't find the ratings given.

winnie,
the same link i visited a year ago had a column indicating the kindy ttl no. of enrollment from previous year. however after reading your rmk, i went in to see this morning it no longer reflect this column.

Anyway i'd scanned the 2009 lists and will forward to your personal email as i cant upload here.

Precious,
o am not aware when she reaches K1 the half day cc she attend will give homework or teaches them as well. maybe i shld find out more fm Jessin. Thanks for highlighting.

Dor

I also have the same prob. I can't see the info. Can you send to me as well? I PM-ed u my email add. Thanks so much!

surf, char

Hope ur babes get better really soon

surf

Thanks. I'll check out the methodist church kindy too. Coz I dun need the CC yet.

precious, sunny

I was so blur that I didn't think properly to ask the correct questions. Either that, or I didn't hear

Basically the PD asked if I was sending my boy to a playgroup. I said no, but I was thinking of it. he told me not to send him to a playgroup, but to find those weekend parent-accompanied ones. I asked him if he meant those 1h lessons & he said 1h isn't long enough, that there's barely enough time to warm up. Go for those 3h type like Lorna Whiston (What is this anyway? I've heard of it, but nvr bothered to find out).

Then we went on to discuss my boy's fear of strangers. I do remember he asked abt whether my boy was frightened of all strangers. I told him only some.. depends on whether he likes them, & he said as long as it's not ALL strangers, it's ok.

I need to ask him again next mth. I suppose it could be due to that my boy aws bawls like nobody's business.. keeps struggling to run out of the room etc every time he's there?

Jul,
I brought her to zoo before but recently weekend is so busy with chores.

Surf,
what school is ur kid at?

No one considering First Skool? I went to the play group to kpo that day, they have a play area which is outdoor seems fun.

Just to share with you mommies about my mood swing today, Precious know haha. Today i am down with flu and had a talk with my partner. About my life, finance, business.. etc. He say he think what im lack of is time, time for myself. He feels that i do everything i will think of baby, my family, my sis, my hubby.. and thats why start to think worthless. Cos i dun live for myself anymore. So maybe sometimes we shld think of enrichment for ourselves too hahahaha.

He also say 1 sentence which set me thinking. he says "Life is about contentment and expectation..." chim but i will think about it.. maybe i shld think less haha.

ivy

Thinking of bringing my boy to the zoo in a couple of weeks' time. This Sat I shall focus on my Jap pancake project. Wanted to do last weekend, but went to the zoo instead so no time.

Have you checked out YKidz?

Ivy

Have to balance. If not one day you will tire out yourself, like a rubberband. God gives us children to enjoy, not to stress them nor to stress ourselves.

Jul,
havent see ykidz yet. i want to wait till my girl go to play group in my first skool, then go look around. Cos i want to find a CC that can provide quite all rounder things, then i will not do enrichment on weekend. Like what precious say, if weekend can just relax, why not.

Precious,
I tink god will say "ivy why u so stress?? relax lah, dun worry, ur girl will find her own way, like how u found yours." haha

ivy

Oh it's a diff case for me. I'm not putting my boy into any CC or playgroup yet, so I'm looking for a weekend class for him. I'm leaning towards Montessoris now. Update you if & when I go for trial

Jul,
yes update me.
Theres this brainy montessori, read it on some fathers blog before. U go try too, seems quite good.

im going bangkok on sunday... the flight 7am, means i got to reach airport 5am.. siao liao lor.

Anyoen got advise for travelling with my 13mths old to bkk, please pm me, thank u.

Come back then say happy lunar new yr to u all.

Sorry that i didnt follow the thread quite some times...but knew that u gals was discuss abt play group thingy...
I might plan let my boy go play group instead child care...at the moment.
Any recommendation around TPY area other than ykidz?
Playgroup is abt 2 hour class?wat the teacher will teach there?parent no need to around one rite?
Was thk to ask my nanny bring him there and pick him back after class,but hv not decide yet..
coz child care timing need sharp till 7pm, abit difficult for me...but intend let my boy learn somethg instead "nuaing" at nanny hse do nothg...
Any suggestion?how much the fees abt?The class is mon-fri only?
My boy now 22 mths, is eligible already rite?
Thx in adv for the adv...

wondering any of u actually got experience with myanmar maid?
i need some advise..
my current maid is very fresh... hardworking but i cannot understand her.. and she cannot speak english.. so many a times i vomit blood when i have to get her to do things.. and the worse thing is my son was sick and refused her and keep crying and i feel like pulling my hair! so stress! argh..
any suggestion how i can communicate with her?
she can understand some but not certain things.. then she will answer me *yes madam*, yes madam... *faintz*

ivy,
enjoy urself. when u coming back?actually just have to take things easy.. m sure ur gal will cope well and u all will have a wonderful time there..
u can dress ur gal up before she zz then when time to leave just have to carry her to the airport and not disturb her sleep?=) m sure she will zz in the plane when she is tired..
my son did that also.
have fun!

surf,
how's ur new maid?so far so good?

New mummy
Can try b79 stars tots Pg.

Gal dolphin
This the first time u engage helper? Hmm, mymmar helpers tricky. I hv heard good and not so good reviews fm my confinement lady that tine cuz she been to so many houses. But when it comes to engaging helpers, really depends on luck and your priorities for engaging them. Fresh maids from
Indo and mymmar tend to be weak in english. Hv to be v patient. Quite impossible for them to relate tonour young toddlers when at times we dun even know what our toddlers want as they cannot express themselves clearly yet. If u want a fresh helper to take care kid, my suggestion is to go for Filipino helper as communication is not an issue. But but but they also tend to hv higher pride and smart as they are better educated, if u know wat I mean. That is why we ask for a change Filipino helper bk to indo as first helper indo and we are used to their style. I hv to ask for ex sg meaning work here before so that their English is better and they also understand out culture, ESP singaporeans are freak when it comes to cleanliness. That is impt as I need her to help take care bb. Again ex sg helpers can be fussy and cherry pick employers. It took me 3-4 months to finally find someone who wants to work for me. Btw, she speaks singlish so expecting my toddler gal to pick up some fm her but we can
communicate w helper easily as she is localized alr so called. Well, no perfect helper. Wld say current helper is a gem, likes my bb boy and my gal also likes her. Can cook lical food coZ trained by her previous employer here. I just hv to train her in babycare. She young at 25, has a 3 Yr old son, so pick things up fast. My earlier Filipino helper 36 Yr old, so u can imagine my nightmare. I cried so many times during that 3 mth of searching for replacement as due to deliver soon, ESP whenever agent call me up to say the shortlisted one rejected my family again.

U need to give the mymmar helper some time to adjust to ur family if u think her character is good and most impt, dun illtreat ur kid. If not, change early.

Ivy, bring cereals and those pigeon packed food. Can just heat w a bowl of hot water and pour into plain rice for their meals. I did that when bring my gal to Penang. At least no need headache over their meals.

gal.dolphin,
am leaving in 8hrs time haha so nervous. Ya i put her in long sleeve liao. Be back next tues almost 11pm... so late yawn.

Surf,
brought cereals, the pigeon food she hate it. So in the worst scenario, cereal all the way. I brought some frozen veg puree, going to put in my breastmilk bag last time and put in fridge. But must consume fast fast. Cos thaw liao 2 days must finish.

HAHAHAHHA (cold Laugh) SO EXCITED BUT NERVOUS.

Surf,
not my first time with maid.. but this is really tricky.. but so far her work is ok just that there are times the message doesnt get across hence can be quite frustrating.. but slowly she is starting to understand me bit by bit so ok.. just that she cannot handle my #1 yet.. hopefully she will get better as the days goes by.. *cross finger*
btw did u let ur maid call her family when she first reach ur place?

Gal.dolphin
I did. And I also informed her family my contact. In case they need to look for her too. I let her call home once or twice a week, duration 30mins to 1hr.

Ivy
Enjoy! 1st trip is like that, subsequent trips it would be more relaxed. Things not enough, like diapers, baby wipes, baby food, you can easily get it from shopping malls and supermarket

Galdolphin
Yes I let her call home. Well, current one holds her own handphone as she ex sg. No point stopping. And it helps them to settle down.

It is not easy for a toddler to adapt to and accept a new helper. How old ur boy? Maybe he miss the earlier helper?
It will never be the same as the previous helper who took care of him since birth.

After we sent our 1st indo helper off, my gal was so cranky for weeks when the new Filipino helper came. My gal is like throwing temper at us that we sent her 'best' Fren or playmate away. We can feel her mood swings. It stressed me so much that time during last trimester that me and Hubby regretted not extending the 1st helper contract. We even called the agency to try locate her in indo or if she happens to come bk sg again to work. We can totally close our eyes when she w my gal. Even though she ok w current helper, we know to her it will never be e same again. So we hv to attend to my gal needs now while current helier attends to bb. Once in a while, my gal will out of e blue tell me " kaka went HM to see mummy n daddy'. My mum been telling her that bk then so that my gal won't feel sad that she is gone.

i'm also thinking of getting a maid as recently i've been feeling so depressed n overwhelmed when my boy is sick. i actually broke down in the pd's clinic after she saw his x-ray n told me that he has a bit of pneumonia. that's why hb n i were thinking of getting a maid to help but we're also very hesitant as firstly we feel weird having a stranger in our home, secondly i'm not sure if i can trust her to help me take care of baby while i rest with my gal. then like wat most ppl experience, may have problems created by maid etc. as it is i'm already so stressed out, i dun think i can handle maid issues. if i do decide to hire one then it'll be my first time hiring one.

Char
If there is no alternative help, and hubby has to work late, it might be a good idea to hire a helper for the next two years. Alternatively is to enrol #1 in full day program, and if you do miss her, you can always to fetch her back from school early. To hire a helper, every month you have to prepare $700-$800 (salary, maid levy, her daily expenses, and transportation)

Surf
My #1 too, occasionally misses our previous helper. After she left, we did not hire anymore. So she will pretend to write letters to her whenever she misses her..... Lol!

It was a blessing, she was our 1st helper and she truly loves the children. The day she left, she had a big cry :-(

HI Sufr,thx for the info...blk 79b is near hong mao there?any contact tel can let me know i try cal and ask more details?any mummies here let ur kids tehre...good?
hohour program de huh?

galdolphin, char

I have an Indo helper. She's first-time in Spore but she's not that young - abt 28 yrs old with 2 kids, the younger being a few mths older than my boy. So the pro is.. she's not totally helpless with babies/toddlers, & she can do a bit of hsework & cooking preps. The young ones (those 23 yrs old, but not REALLY 23 yrs old) are really wuite useless sometimes.

What I like abt my maid :
1) She seems to truly care for my boy. Concerned when he's sick or unwell.. is patient with him coz he's not the easiest of babes

2) Character=wise, quite ok. Polite, not really the show black face or talk back type (sometimes got a bit.. but after we 'tweaked' her a few times, she doesn't really talk back anymore) Huess it's abt being firm when we ened to be?

3) She is educated up to their High school, so although spoken English may not be that great but she can mostly understand & she can communicate with us. Only prob is when getting hr to understand the 'nuances' of maybe jokes, or sarcasm or subtle comments but this is just 'extra'. She can write in English though & that helps.

Cons :

1) Blur & forgetful like sotong! This is her biggest fault. Eg Do magic clean.. leave the paper somewhere. Tell her not to leave the dirty bag on the table on Mon, she can do it again on Tue.. & again on Wed! Mop the floor, then forget to replace the furniture. All this still after 4 mths with us. Tell her 10,000 times & she can still forget. I do wonder if her brain is really so forgetful or she just cannot be bothereed. But this is really inconvenient coz I cannot trust things to her. Cannot let her cook my boy's porridge coz I'm scared she'll poison him due to forgetting to wash the veg or rinse off the soap. Cannot let her totally prepare his diaper bag coz zhe'll forget things. UNRELIABLE!

2) Cannot auto-mode. Dunno if she's lazy & will only stop at 3 coz we only gave instructions till 3. No doing till 4 or 5. Or miscomm. Anyway she also cannot auto-think. Eg if we tell her to do certain cleaning of my boy's room after we reach home, she'll rush to do it. If we tell het to change bedsheet every Tue & Sun... if my boy soils the bedsheet on Mon nite, she will still change on Tue. That kind of thing

3) She is very wasteful with water & soap etc & her time. She'll do things like wash this part of the toilet floor, then start splashing water. Wash another part, splash again. End up wasting so much water & soap. And she'll do things very inefficiently & can tell me never mind, she doesn't mind working longer hrs. I feel like telling her I have other things for her to do!

4) Not up to standard. Not clean enough or fast enough for our standards. Hygiene also like.. er.. must keep reminding & reminding coz their lifestyle isn't like ours.

5) She is very kaypoh - wants to know everything & anything. Or take too much upon hrself. Eg she wants to do massage on my boy when he has constipation or diarrhoea. Yest nite he had a nose bleed & she wanted to stuff leaves up his nose! *faint* Eg she wants to know what we're gossiping abt. or she used to 'investigate' food that MIL left on the table, breaking off a small pc with her fingers, smelling it, tasting it.. MIL got pissed off & scolded her a efw times till she stopped it.

Anyway.. after all the 'complaints' abt my maid.. it boils down to one thing "没有佣人,做死你。有佣人,气死你。" You have to decide which way you wanna 'die" haha

char

I also had the same reservations as you., Don't want someone else in the hse, the lack or privacy, inconveninece, people problems.. But I have no choice coz I ned to provide help for my MIL. And at least the hsework is off our hands - provided we close one eye to the wastage, or lower standard, or keep talking to her. The gd thing is, her character is not bad, so at least we dun get attitude prob. My advice is.. if there's attitude prob, forget it.. send back immiediately. No matter how smart or good at their work, if they have attitude prob, they'll climb up your head.

newmummy

I heard Star Tots playgroup at Toa Payoh is full. I called & asked for my boy & they said it was full. Apple Tree playgroup is closed for registration for this yr. besides, I think they take in from issit 20 mths or 24 mths? Can't remember. I called these 2 coz they're cheap, but I guess that's why they're popular too

Char,
your gal is same age as mine. did u send her to Nursery 2-3hrs kind? maybe it is time to let her socialise with other kids is good for her and she learn to be more independent.

my gal is now in half day childcare after her nursery, initially cry a bit but can see that she's slowly adapting and starts to enjoy. I like her current childcare as it is not overcrowded, the kids seems to be quite discipline as well.

i dun really trust a domestic helper in my house especially i am working full time and no one at home to monitor her. i feel uneasy to hv a stranger in the house too (guess is a matter of getting use to). most impt. i dun want unnecessary or added stress/problems having one. Currently i have a pt cleaner to help me up once a week on house chores hence i dun have to tire myself so much especially now that am expecting no. #2. i may also quit my job or get a part-time job if i really cant handle when no. #2 comes along.

Ugh! Speaking of socialise..

Montessori

Any mummies with older kids who went to Montessori pre-nursery/nursery or childcare? Want some feedback on the learning style, adequacy of the curriculum, attitude of teachers in general.. etc.

Wish to check with you all, will the preschools allow us to pop by to have a look at their environment and how the teachings are being carried out?

Winnie

Have to call n ask if the school principal allows. Some might not encourage as it might distract other children paying full attention during lessons.

Galdolphin
Maybe ask your agent if they have a simple Myanmar English guide? At least for the household terms. If not, try the internet translation sites. It's like when we go overseas, there are simple guides to tell us how to say "toilet?" "how much?" "please" and "thank you". Pp appreciate and try harder when they see that we are trying too. Dont see it as a burden but as a learning experience. You can help her (and enrich yourself) by saying the thing in burmese and then saying it in English. I find that I always get a very helpful response from indo maids when I talk more in their own lingo..even tho my malay nowadays is quite half past six.

Dor, am thinking of gettng a maid too. To (hopefully do some light cooking and) help out in the evenings and weekends. I'll still send to IFC and CC cos there's no one to supervise at home. Friend recommended 121 Personnel Services who supposedly specialise more in transfer maids. Haven't contacted them. Will do so after CNY I think.
If anyone has any other good reliable agent to recommend, I'd be grateful.

Hi Winnie, best bet is to call the principal.
Depending on the age group, they may not encourage cos the kids get distracted and esp if your kid starts clinging to you, the other kids will want attention too
And then you'll get a wrong and rather negative idea of what goes on every day.

Maybe suggest you come in with your kid in the morning but stay in the background... so your presence is "forgotten" after a while. If you come in in the middle of the morning, sure you'll be the centre of attraction and distraction. Depends on the principal and how much time you have I guess.

sunny,
do u mean getting a helper to come in only in the evenings and weekends to cook and help up in chores or a full time helper?
wow if agencies has this kinda service i dun mind trying out provided is within my budget. wonder if this allow us to claim for maid levy?

Dor, where you doing your ammio? I know that in the states, there is a website where you can check how experienced the gynae doing the procedure is (the more experienced in the procedure, the less the risk of anything bad occurring) but I haven't been able to find any equivalent link for Singapore docs.