TOA PAYOH mummies

Maltbibi, I have some PC P1 text books. If you want, can come and take a look.

Winnie, I left Pats cos I was expecting no 2 and I didn't have the energy to travel as I was staying at Jurong then ( was based at Buckley when planning and at Siglap when teaching). I believe Learning Vision uses the same or similar teaching material as Pat's? It's called Fastrackids from States. Pat's modifies it slightly (at least with music they do) to make it more suitable for S'porean context.

Babygenius, yes, I am teaching from home.

And CHAR, congrats!

Hihi//

My boy is currently in PATS whitley... going K1 next yr. so far so gd.. what aspect do you want to know.

Jfoo - WOW! Jurong to buckley/siglap?? fainted! :p

LV - dun think they uses "fastrackids" program at all. only Pats does it?
They only link for Pats/LV/Odessey are - under same management. but suppose to be targeting at diff "group"?

Winnie,
MMI had a booth at the parenthood fair and they told me only 11-Dec 10-11am at any outlet. But must pre-register. I'll be happy to share if I do make it for the trial lesson

J_foo.
My girl interested in learning piano. I'll see if she can cope with P1 come Jan then contact you,

MTDT,
Is the teacher turnover high? Your kid attends half or full day? Mind sharing how much per month brefore govt subsidy? Thanks!

Hi j foo,

Wow, Jurong to Buckley/Siglap was really no joke!

Hi MTDT,

As what babygenius has asked, what's the teachers' turnover rate and the charges? Can u briefly tell us what's the structure of the program like? Eg. the schedule of the day and the materials that they use? U mentioned that Pats/LV & Odessey are targeting at diff group? What do u mean by this?

Hi babygenius,

U went to the parenthood fair? Is there many booths on preschools/childcare? Sad to know that they only have trial class on 11 Dec cos I can't make it on tt day. Appreciate u could share with me aft attending.

pats whitley only started in Jan2010. I joined them in Aug2010. Thus to be honest, I dunno much abt the trs turnover rate! :p

Charges - they actually hv 4 different prices option.

Half day: 7am-1pm = SGD963
Extended half day: 7am - 3pm = SGD 1252
Fullday: 7am - 5pm = SGD1359
Extended Fullday: 7am-7pm = SGD1466

the above are only hv the k1 prices. I cant rem the rest of the levels prices (it's slightly diff). Also the $150 is applicable to half day, $300 is applicable to fullday. For extended fullday, it's prorated to $2xx (cant rem the exact figure too)

For N2-k2: morn schedule are as per typical CC.. break, eng/chi/maths classes with morn breakfast and lunch/bathe.

one main diff is their nap is not after lunch at 1pm. they actually starts their extended classes at 1pm-3pm. Eng S&D/Chi S&D/imaths/fastrackids/fastrackids music (one each day). kids needs to pay the extended halfday fees.

after 3pm is snacks then nap time (typically ard 1hr only from 330pm-430pm). then 430pm to 530pm actually it's F&E time. (my kid goes to fullday only.)

also they hv "enrichment classes" after 3pm.. (additional cost). understand they hv swim/keyboard/cookery classes at a fee of $150 per mth. (i din join.. as my kid still needs his nap)

Hi MTDT,

Wow, the charges are really very steep for Pats. I think I will have to think of other alternatives.

Anyone has some suggestions for those good preschools tt only hv 3 to 4 hrs of class? Was thinking of letting my girl attend for a few hrs only as I don't wish to put her in full day cc. Any good suggestions?

thnx mummies.

surf,
i'm ok, tnx for asking. tired and feeling kind of stressed becos of bf'ing whc i wasn't successful during my gal's time and also this time. each time i latch him on, he'd suckle for sometime until get sore nipples and when unlatch he cries until so cham. not sure if he's still hungry or what so can't tahan and gave him FM. and when he's taking FM i pump. i delivered on thurs and was discharged on sat, evening time had very bad engorgement that it made me feel so depressed that i was very close to seeing a doc to end it all. furthermore that day my gal was so whiney and clingy to me. thankfully a fren of mine helped me to take her home for the next few days so taht i can settle with baby for now. now very scared to have anymore kids man. taking care of NBs is so stressful. i'd rather tolerate the terrible 2 and 3 yr olds. and ya, went w/o epi.

Surf,

my maid havent come yet..from myanmar.. likely to arrive end of next month.. m still waiting.. now getting abit hard to move ard.. haiz.. sometimes cant even breathe...
how's ur maid so far?

Char,
congrats.. wow.. u went wo epi...supermom..
pls do not give up..initially it's like tat when u not sure what the little one wanted.. esp latching.. i was like u when i had my #1.. so depressed. now thinking abt it i also not sure if i can handle when time to come.. meanwhile pls take care and rest while u can..

Char
Can understand how u are feeling now. Don't give up. If really cannot breastfeeding, then give FM. A happy mummy makes a happy baby. Totally breastfeeding on direct latch is very exhausting, that explains until now I still hv to wake up twice during the night. Who is taking care of your #1 now?

Winnie
Have you personally visited any childcare centers u hv shortlisted? It would be great to fix an appointment with the school, to take a look at the environment first. Bring your girl along too, it might help you in the selection of a suitable cc :)

MTDT
The price is really steep. Quite the same as Etonhouse.

Babygenius
MMI has increasing their sch fee. After subsidy for full day program, their price is $800+. I called earlier but they don't hv vacancy for those born in year 2006. MMI is using montesoori methods, good in logical maths especially.

Char- Congrats! And Jia you! Breastfeeding is tough! But u will succeed! I total latch my kid for 3 mths then introduced bottle 1 mth before I start work.. It will be fulfilling
( I latch every 1.5hrs during 1st mth! Get a nipple cream... My lifesaver! Avent brand is gd!)

Pats- yup It's indeed steep! But I wanted somewhere walking distance to my plc. So save on bus fees to pay a higher sch fees! (my kid used to be from a montessori cc+sch bus also ard the same px range). And after visiting 5-6 cc.. We only have feel for tis one! (we were hoping knderland new cc wld confirm their new location but they din)

Hi Char,

Congrats! Although I dun noe who u r, juz wana give my moral support to u as I fully understand how u feel. When I had my girl, I was totally shack out & it's really tiring & I nearly broke down. Luckily I had my mum & my hubby to help out & slowly I got used to it. So pls dun give up & remember u r not always alone.

Hi Precious,

I hv not visited any of the childcare / preschools yet as I'm still in the midst of shortlisting those tt I'm keen on. After reading some of the postings, I realised tt cc centres are really much more expensive than those preschools. I hv in fact shortlisted a few cc centres but realized tt their prices are too steep so I need to shortlist other preschools again. Thks for the link and I think I will hv to spend some more time searching again. Thks ya!

Winnie
I also brought the two children to visit more than 5 centers, before I enrolled them in Cherie Hearts. Today was my 4.5yrs old girl's 1st day in cc (she has never been to any cc before) and she shared that "it's a great day for me, I like Cherie hearts, I want to go back there again'. Also asked me if she could be the last to leave the centre, and why the sch bus comes so early at 5pm.

Char,

Hang-in there, tell yourself this is just a passing stage and soon it'll be over. If u dun mind leaving your gal wif my nanny for a couple of day(she can play wif my gal too) just let me know.

Timing should be as follows (taken from the "contact us" section)

Mondays – Fridays : 7.00am to 7.30pm
Saturdays : 7.00am to 2.00pm

Half day should be 7 to 2.

Charges, I think you need to call up to check as individual branches charges will differ a bit depending a lot on location/type of premises.

Winnie
You may hv to ask individual centres to enquire about the charges. Different location and size, will determine the school fees. There are a few centres (4-5) near to TPY. Their full day is from 7-730pm, half day till 1230pm/1pm. They have a training school for all the teachers, to ensure all teachers are being updated with latest info etc. By the way they will be using jolly phonics n readers for year 2011.

Hi Char,

wanna check if any mummies take up any exercise lessons @ the CC? I need to exercise and looking for mummies to exercise together....

Char,
congrats!! i use lanisoh gel from mothercare, it is very good. Heal very fast. You take good care ya, usually after 1 mth will be better. But i agree with precious, a happy mommy will have a happy baby. A happy mommy will have a better health too.

Gal.dolphin,
when u giving birth, i run through my clothes only a few pieces, and i doing my girl birthday this sat so bit busy, pass u later date?

Has anyone catched the show 'Walking with Dinosaurs' @ Indoor stadium? Would like to hear your review on this. Thanks.

Dor, my daughter went last year, she went with her cousins and she throughly enjoyed it. Going again this year. However, can be a tad "scary" for the young ones so I have decided not to let my 4 yr old go.

Eton is more ex than Pats.

mummies, thanks to all for your well wishes and support. i've decided to take it easy and not think so much about what those lactation consultant tell me about not to give FM if possible. i went thru post natal depression during my gal's time becos of the pressure i put on myself to total BF but couldn't. and the depression dragged on for 6mths. thank God i was able to get out of it. so now, i see myself going to that direction again and i'm trying not to pressure myself again to total BF again if i can't do it. now i give him FM and pump. i do use avent nipple cream but becos the improper latch on is so constant, it can't get to heal. now that he's not latching on i hope it heals soon and will use a nipple shield if he wants to latch on.

my #1 was under my fren's care for the pass few days and is now at my mum's place.

dor, thanks for offering to let your helper take care of my gal.

Char
The position is very important. You may want to let him lie down on the bed, side to side latching. Easier for him. You can use a bolster or pillow to support your back.

Jfoo,
Thanks for sharing appreciate tat. Ya am also afriad it could be quite scary for the lil ones....perhaps it will not be tat scary if they r sitted further away fm the stage?

Char,
Glad u r able to control and remind yourself not to fall deeper...support from family members are impt as well dun be afraid to share.

Me too experienced depression over BF during the 1st mth coz i cant produce much and adding salt to the wound, the confinement lady kept comparing me with other mummies which made it worst. I tried telling myself to take it easy at the same time shared my worries wif family and frenz which helps all lot.

char... congrats! jia you, jia you!!

mummy tang... i am doing yoga, cardio-mix (like aerobics), and kick-boxing (starting tis fri)at tpy west and tpy central cc. you can check out www.onepa.gov.sg for the courses available. no need to join oni if u got frens lah, most of us are alone, then make frens in class lor. bt anyways, u wun get a lot of time to talk to each other. usually we arrive 5-10mins b4 class, warm-up a bit, then start liao. aft finish go separate ways. the most is smile and say hi oni. and cc class dun need to dress very nice, chin cai can liao. hehe...

Are,
hahaha! i like your ending "cc class dun need to dress very nice, chin cai can liao". very true lor...unlike going to those fittness centre, somehow has to dress appropriately especially the ladies. some really 'dress to kill' macam like fashion parade trying to out shine each other ;P

Char
Just do your best. Supplement if necessary. I hv come to realise that what the LC says is not totally true. What demand=supply? My bb now drinking 150ml every 3 hours. I can never produce that kind of amt with my tiny B**bs! I just pump out what i have and combine the feed. If not enough, feed FM. Yes, I also went into post-natal depression for #1 back then coz was trying to TBF. Well, my gynae was telling me to take it easy as not all women are engineered to be a cow. Haha. I still remember his this joke 2 years ago and always use this to remind myself now not to get stressed over this.

I agree with the rest, Happy mum = Happy BB. When you are more settled, we find a chance to meet up k?
Hv PM you my mobile in case u need someone to chat any time.

CL going back next Monday.... Oops... be on my own liao with the new maid. So glad that I found a CC for my gal liao. Cannot wait to start her. She has been v grouchy when she is back from in laws place on weekends, think she felt abandoned by us and started throw tantrums.

BTW, I went to rebond my hair yest!!! wanted to colour but the process is just way too long!!! Kept dozing off on the salon chair. They washed my hair like 2-3 x with cold water some more coz cannot use warm water due to the rebond chemical. Come back home headache. Dunno if it's coz of the cold water
This morn better alr.

FYI for breastfeeding mums, a girlfriend swears that taking fenugreek tablets helps greatly with milk production... her boy at 3 months was a milk monster, taking about 180ml every 2 hours, and she was downing the fenugreek tabs... one and half years later she is still going strong.

Available at GNC and similar stores.

Received a call from PFC blk 146A, claimed that this 15 dec will call me if there is a vacancy for my boy. I don know shd i put him there or My First Skool,coz i don know whcih cc better lo...for me if location wise i more prefer My First Skool la,coz if raining,won be too troublesome, if Blk 146A seems no shelter on way back to my home from there....hmm...
In terms of cc itself, any mummies can gv adv?
Heard there blk 146A now only tk in 8 kids,won be too big group,coz room not much?i nvr go view the environment yet,don know ok or not...
The blk 192 My Firt Skool seems more crowded la..

newmummy08,
Then when i was looking for a cc for my gal, i viewed My First Skool b4 they reno the place is big wif lots of kids which i dun really like.

It is impt to check out the cc environment and trs. (blk 146a) b4 u decide which cc.

i settle mine previously by prioritizing my needs between convenience and/or a condusive env.

char

Belated Congratulations!

char, surf

I also went into depression during the first 2 mths for BF prob. My boy latched well but he either fell asleep (due to jaundice, or got bored & tired coz my milk supply was low AND slow) or he'll throw his head back, arch his back into a C shape, & scream till his face turns red coz he's angry. Every time it came to feeding time, I felt like crying. Everytime we staretd BF, I will pray that he will be patient & not scream. Everytime the time for feeding draws near, I wanted to run away & hide. At nite when he woke up crying, I'd latch him, then he'll fall asleep & make me wanna smack him. I was so tired I was dozing off every time I latched! it was TERRIBLE!

And my boy mixed up nite & day & would stay awake till 4am. I had to take care of him coz I had no CL & MIL said Hubs needed his beauty sleep as he was working, unlike us who could nap in the day! I was camping at MIL's coz I was not ready for my boy's birth & everything was unprepared. The bed wasn't very comfy & I got back ache from bending over the ebd to change my boy or bathng him.

I went to Parentcraft 5 times!!! Until finally I gave up latching & pumped exclusively. I needed to pump for 30min each session coz the holes are so super duper small. And my milk is so low that I needed to pump 7 times a day for the first few mths. I would pump at midnite, sleep, then pump at 3am, then again at 6am! Luckily my Hubs helped me with taking care of my boy who started sleeping from 12am to 4am+ every nite.. I ate maybe 10 bottles of fenugreek? And a dose of domperidone (can't rem the spelling) to increase my milk supply.

And I pumped & pumped till my boy reached 1 yr old. On the day of his bday, I retired my pump!

I can't imagine how I can do this again if I have #2

twinklestar

Can I tag on to your 20% discount for EYS if I can collect from you at Toa Payoh Central on weekdays?

jul,
thnx. i also got scared to be near my gal when the nurses bring her to me for feeding that it also was the same when i went home. complete panic when she starts to cry. latch and she sucks hard then falls asleep and then would cry when unlatch after 1hr. it's soooo tough to look after NBs. i'd rather look after toddlers and preschoolers.

so ya, since baby is on hospital now for jaundice treatment, i pump and bring to hosp. i'll try to latch again if i can if not will pump exclusively like you. however i dun think it's gonna be easy to pump continuously when CL leaves and with a baby and 3yr old at home. will see how lah.

Hey Dor,thx for the adv, if too crowded i also don really like but tat is the most convenience place,and i thk the teach er tehre quite ok ba...and the thgs they teach shd be ok?or almost the same among all cc??seriously i not really sure wat they are going to teach my boy when in cc...

I pumped all the way, no 1 and 2. No1 for 1.5 yrs and no2 for 1 yr. Somehow both couldn't latch, even with the help of lactation nurses. Later found out from "the mother of lactation nurses" (she was the one who trained almost all the lactation nurses who are around now) that it had to do with my areola.

Char, don't give yourself any pressure. Everyone's different. If BF is not to be then give FM. If you have time to pump once a day then pump once a day. Can pump three times then three. I use to set alarms in the first half a year to wake up for pumping sessions every 3 hours. I know, siao ah, but I was happy doing that, I had the energy AND I had no choice, engorgement was painful.

Newmummy, most cc have more or less the same curriculum. You have to weigh out what's more important. Personally I would put convenience as my priority.

char

It's very very difficult to pump exclusively without latching. I didn't go ANYWHERE the first 5 mths. I only went out for maybe 2h the next 2 mths.. then gradually increased the duration as I dropped pumps. I was really like a factory cow, tied to the pump all the time. But I had no choice coz my milk was really pathetic & I really wanted to TBF.

But I did manage to stop supplementing with FM from 12 weeks all the way to 1 yr old. Just that it's a severe lack of sleep & no life & a never-ending cycle of washing & pumping & sterilising!

Just see what you can do lah. I wouldn't have been able to do it if I had another toddler ard. After all the brainwashing by the LCs, to me, FM was 'poison', not milk. But I grew up on S-26 & I'm still alive haha

jfoo

I salute you! I nearly 'died' from pumping for 1 yr!

Oh by Mother of LC, u mean WBB right? I went to see her so many times she got tired of seeing me! The ironic thing is, I had perfect tools, my boy latched well.. But she said I had very little milk & my boy was impatient, so..

She said, "I touch your breasts, I know you don't have much milk" & my heart sank...

I didn't really have engorgement probs tho. No milk how to engorge? haha

j_foo/jul,

thanks. i'm also setting alarm to pump every 3hrs but sometimes becos so tired end up drag to 4th - 5th hr but can pump out quite a lot. every 3hrs can only collect 60ml.

Mother of LC - Mrs Wong Boh Boi? how did you both contact her? may consider to see her too.

Hey j foo and Jul
Must really hi-5 both of u! I did exactly the same except my journey lasted only 8 mth as supply just dwindled montnly after I went back o work.

I set alarm to wake up pump, i.e. 3am, 6am and many times overslept, end up angry at myself for being so undisciplined, a lazy and lousy mum and cried a lot back then. Hubby was so worried for me, asked me to stop pumping. I was also pumping like 7x a day. And the stupid CL back then always compared me to other mummies.

I went to KK Lactation Unit like 4-5x, spent so much money, ended up supply stll like that lor. Took 9 tabs of fenugreek a day, so I reckon I ate at least 1,500 tabs that 8 months! Alr lost count of the number of bottles. I also bring pump with me if i really got to go out, just to pump that miserable amt out so as to keep supply going. A few times, I had skin infection, end up hand express that 6-7 x a day for almost a week for the skin to heal, so you can imagine the very bad blocked ducts. I had wrist pain for that 8mth and the pain persisted even after stopped pump. When my gal reached 1 year old, the I dun feel the pain anymore. I didn't go anyhere also in the initial months. Hubby was poor thing, stayed home with me.

Jul
I also cannot imagine going through the whole process again before giving birth but here I am doing it and taking it abit easier this time. Remmeber I said I went to rebond my hair 2 days back? brought my pump. After tat, pump inside the car in the car park! Hv to treat it as part of my life if I intend to pump again for 1 year (hopefully this time)

Now, I may hv to see LC again coz kenah a milk blister on one side of the nipple. any of you kenah? But I will go back KK instead of TMC though i delivered at TMC this time.

So Char
We can do it one! just pump whatever amt we can. Your yield now is ok, will still slowly increase, hv to be patient. I hv reconciled with the fact that I can never TBF my milk monster this time. At night give FM lor. My gal grew up well on FM suppement too