TOA PAYOH mummies

ryes,
i just checked with my fren and she said just call up to make appt, no need referral. tel: 64353782. if i remember correctly she only paid less than $30 for her boy.

No problem, Ryes.

Mummies, I'm off to UK tonight. After all this ash and also the BA strike (which is on-going), I'm so thankful I can still fly! Haha! I can imagine what a nightmare tonight's flight can, or worse still, WILL be. I think the crew will be smaller in numbers, and they've already sent out an email warning parents that there may not be child's meal available. Anyway, I'm not too fussed about the meals as I'm taking a night flight, by the time the kids go onboard, they'd either be fast asleep or wanting to sleep pretty soon. By the time they wake up, it's probably time for breakfast and landing (or so I hope!). BA's service has always been pretty useless (even without a strike!) so can't expect too much anyway. Well, would appreciate your prayers, that we'd have a smooth journey there, and we'd be able to come back to S'pore as scheduled - no ash (or any other natural disasters) and no more strikes! Will keep in touch via the thread. Take care!

7/11,
i asked a dental clinic asst downstairs my blk and she said can start to bring when they are older and able to understand things as in they are able to understand that they should sit still during the procedure.

thanks char. think i'll have a long way to go. My boy wun even sit down for a hair cut. Cry until like every haircut is going to chop his head off

ya ya..7/11,my boy also same..how old is ur boy now?normally wer u bring for hair cut?seems alot saloon shop don cut for toddler??
my boy now 14 mths+.
now when ever he heard the sound like the shaver,like the blender sound, he also scare!

newmummy,
my boy is 2yo. Same, mine also dun like shaver sound. me and hubby cut his hair.... everytime like a wrestling match. One person use elbow "kiap" his head, the other one quickly cut or shave. One of these days muz video it. Will be very funny to look at it 10 yrs time... hahah

7/11, newmummy08

same same mine was like that too... fingers crossed that he stays the same way as yesterdays's cut with the new shaver.

can try a new shaver! :p i just got my latest shopping spree item and its the philip kids shaver. tried it on my boy yesterday and guess what its pain free and not much tears! heheh so far happy that i bought this! :p exp though - its 109 at courts

oh really?tats good...but guess wat!my boy very sensitive with tat!he doesnt lke ppl touch his head one!horrible!!
btw, philips got sale in the HQ at TPY...mayb will cheaper than 109?:p

J_foo,
have a pleasant trip to and fro

JTS - TPY lor. 1 Phillips having sales now.

I took care of my gal past 2 days coz nanny's hb went for a minor ops. My gal really drives me up to the wall and testing my patient which i hv very lil of. At times feel so ridiculous shouting and screaming top of my voice when the 'soft/reasoning' method doesn't work.
SAHM care to share how u handle your kids or if they happens to misbehave and do things against you. sob!sob! (not my gal but me) =P

Dor,
is she asking for ur attention? Like it's not u who takes care of her usually so she is trying to 'dir' u? I not sure how to handle older kids but I ever read somewhere if they throw tantrum and whine, they are a few ways to tackle:

1. When they whine, u pretend to be in pain, holding ur head until they stop to talk properly then u listen.
2. Have a whining area/ chair for her, she can whine watever she wan until enough then u talk to her.
3. Ignore until both of u cool down then talk.
4. Have a change of activity first before talking abt wat happened.

I haven try before so I'm not sure which works well. But hope it can work for u..

dor,
think maybe she's trying to test your limit just like my gal. admittedly i've been neglecting her becos of my condition, her companion is cartoon. so lately she has also been driving us up the wall with her screaming and whining and stubborness, very very uncooperative. i've also been shouting at her and using the cane. have to try to use a more positive approach. so dun worry, you're not the only mummy who is up to her wit's end.

Hi Mummies! We've arrived safely in UK. Yesterday was a rather wet day (now, what's new?!) but today, glorious sunshine! Kids are having a good time in my parents' garden, lots of plants to look at, fruit trees to see and pretty birds too. Weather is a bit on the cold side even with the sun shining but hey, no complains, there's SUN!

The flight here was alright and I'm so grateful that even with the strike, things went smoothly. There was a 45 min delay, and for BA that's very good. When I heard there was a teachnical fault I cringed, cos last year, the technical fault held us back for hours and later the flight was cancelled. Luckily this time round no such matters. The crew was quite good too. I don't expect much of a service from BA crew, it's more self service on board BA flights. They didn't serve kids' meals but that was alright cos my kids were fast asleep most of the time , they only woke up in time for breakfast! Which I was so thankful for! I gave them each an eye mask and asked them to put it on. I told them "no waking up until I remove your eye mask", haha!

This morning they woke up at 5am. Sunrise was at 430am! And yes, I was awake at 4am! I managed to coax them back to sleep by 6 and eventually they woke up at 730am. I, on the other hand, couldn't sleep a wink after that. Oh well, at least I had the most crucial 11pm-2am beauty sleep, haha!

OK, will keep you all posted with more exciting things. Take care!!

Dor,
parenting is never easy. Have to keep repeating and be very firm. i'll beat with a wooden spoon if he is really bad. Eg. keep throwing food on the floor. After many warnings still ignore, i'll bring him away into the bedroom for a scolding follow by 3x wooden spoon on his palm. I always tell him if he disobey there will be consequence and mummy will punish u. When he start crying, i remind him that it will be painful so that he remembers.

After a few rounds of that, sometimes i just show him the wooden spoon, he will listen.

But of cos, there are many hugs and kisses thruout the day too

Jia you

Orangeymum,Char and 7/11,
Thanks for your contributions.
Orangeymum, she's wif nanny in day time and evening she'll comes bk home. Perhaps she's really trying to test my limit aiyor. the suggestions: no. 1 i'll try out, no. 2 dun think it works on her she wont stay at 1 plc, no. 3 tried tat and she'll scream even louder
and no. 4 sometime it works sometime it doesn't.

Char,
our daughters r ard the same age and both behave almost the same way very stubborn and not co-operative. my nanny said she's the 'opposition party' haha! i tried to refrain fm using cane too much as well unless really 'bo bian'.

7/11,
u r right parenting not easy sigh....very tiring most of the time. but whenever i see her innocent smile and laugh it really feels very rewarding.

Ystd went dwn to Expo was very crowded especially the food fair. i din dare to enter as it smells of a 'busy kitchen' almost choke kekeke! Surprisingly the book fair was not so crowded as i had expected. this time round i grab more activities book rather then assessment books. my daughter saw me browsing through and tell me 'mummy mummy, i dun want these (x2)' i shake my head dun noe to feel angry or laugh.

Char, there's a sleep talk 'script' for preparing your older child for the new baby. If you like, I'll pdf and send to you tomorrow (though confess that I'm not sure whether can attach PDF to new PMs)

Dor,
Try to ignore for a longer period? My elder giril used to be like that when she was about 3 (terrible 2, horrible 3!)...scream louder and louder when I try ignore her. But when I ignore her long enough, she gets tired screaming and naturally stopped!
It's a lot of headache (and heartache) but it did worked on my child.

Nowadays the children are soooo smart...yi shan hai you yi shan gao!

Any mummies has kids with ykidz montessori or intend to place your kids there?
I went to their open house last Thur. The principal and teachers seem nice and patient. They take kids from 17months. The 8.30am slot all fully taken.
Aiyo, so hard to find a pre-school that takes my 18months within TPY!

jfoo
Enjoy your holiday! So nice...

dor
Funnily (and tkfully) I don't recall my twins had T2 or 3 stages ... haha...
How about if you are in the same room and she starts to scream, you just walk out calmly and see her response?

char
Nice mtg you that day.. I was checking if the shop for pedi/mani was open... was thinking to avoid going to central tho I hv a pkg there..

Mummies w/ kids at Ascension
Did you enjoy the "Fun & Fit Day"?
We had a great time.

Today we just went for the the Parent-Teacher talk.

dor
I think no mummy never shouts at her kids.. don't feel so bad... I also find my voice has been honed to be able to project v loudly eversince I have kids ...hahaha...
If your gal can listen to instructions, prepare her for next activity... eg... 'when you are done with this and this, we will do this and this.' or 'another 5 minutes we will do this and this.'

stylobb,
we attended the 'Family Day' for N1 grp. Quite fun too. the trs put up a short act and we played games. Txs for the disciplinary tips too.

babygenious
My boy is in the waiting list for next year, 1030am slot at Ykidz. Jan 2011, he will be 17mths old.

Dor
My girl is also behaving like that. Only "Mr Right" works well for her. I do explain after I used it. Her character is very strong. As they grow older, we have to be very firm. The more she cries, the more I won't attend to her. I continue to let her cry till she stops, even when we are outside. Once she questioned me "Why do I have to be a good girl, and what is a good girl?"

Jfoo
Remember to take more pics to share!

Hi precious,
You mean the class is already full for next year? When you waitlist?
I wanted to enrol my girl this Jul and they said 10.30am slot still available. If I get a slot this year then next year dun have means I got to change school...funny leh. i better ask them again.
I am having headache with transport cos I am FTWM and Ykidz is a distance from my parents place in Lor 1...so means my parent got to send and fetch her from school which may be troublesome for them.

Precious,
Thanks for sharing your experiences too. That's my main worry, at such young age already behave so head strong liao dun talk about it when they get older. My 'kepala lagi sakit' (headache).

RE: School Bus, dun worry too much especially it's a short distance still within tpy. Initially i worried a lot too and feel bad to let her take sch bus at such a young age. but looking at it is not so bad afterall. For now she stopped taking, but at times she still mentioned abt the sch bus and says she wants a ride.

Precious,
one thing i feel uneasy if i let her cry while we r out onlookers always gives me or both my hb and me a look 'like y can't we discipline our child' and jus let her cry. Furthermore, she'll really yelled ontop of her voice aiyor. This is something i can't get over. Any advice.
Frankly last time when i am yet a mother, i'll think likewise too. Now then i know it is not easy....sigh

Dor
Really have to be firm. With a clear objective of what you hope to achieve. If she misbehaves outside, and we give in, then next time it might be more difficult to handle the situation. Actually my hubby is firmer than me, once she misbehaved and we went home immediately after 3 warnings were given. Just have to ignore what others see. If really can't, carry her to a corner. Btw, does your nanny give in to her most of the times? Then it might also be difficult for you to handle her. It happens to my girl especially my helper gives in to her at all times. I have to constantly remind my helper not to give in to her if she screams, or if she is not polite etc.

Babygenious
For 1030am slot for Jan 2011, they told me it could be no problem. Is there a direct bus no: 232 or 57 for Lor 1?

Precious,
At times my nanny will give in but if C is way too overboard she'll not.
lor. 1 has bus no. 232 infront of the petrol kiosk but not sure if it goes there.

sunny,
this shop is just opposite Hans @ GE Bldg. i dun usually take whip cream however Dainty's tastes so good and fresh (not jelat) i help myself wif more serving, they are also generous wif the 'martini' too. The cake is soft, spongy and melts in your mouth makes $ worth.

okay, will certainly go and try it sometime this week.. am on early lookout for cakes for girl's bday in Oct. time flies soooo fast - it's JUNE already! (wonder whether the kids will like martini hehehe.... just joking just joking)

sunny,
think the parents will be the ones who will be more happy with the martini as in their kids will sleep very well. kekeke.....

Hi! Today's weather is gorgeous! Sun is shining brightly and we're off to the canal to feed the ducks and swans and geese.

We went to Cadbury World yesterday. Kids loved it, they had the chance to have a go at piping chocolate, spreading choc. The history behind the company is interesting too.

Will try posting some pics here once I figure out how to shrink the file size...can anyone help?

Jasmine,
i did go to the philip sale but forgot to check the shaver... haiz

jfoo,
wow... how i wish i can be enjoying the sun like u did. Singapore's sun not very enjoyable.

Ladies my friend showed me a website for home learning wif kids. q interesting, check it out.
http://myplayschool.net/

hi mummies,need ur all help for adv..
my son fever again, now he almost 15mths,is it will hv another teething again?now he got upper and lower each 4 liao...
haiz.everytm he fever me and hubby vy suffer coz nite he cant zz well,like every hour will wake up and make noise!

he now 38.9'c, consider high or not?i went Dr.Chan and Tang clinice get consult from Dr. Jonathan, saying he still active, so don worry much, but i still..

I got medicine from pervious visit,name is somethg ended with "fon",forgot the whole name liao, but not paraceptomol for sure,tk liao still same.
My nanny said the med not work,as last time she used to gv other bb she tk care of,afetr 1 hour, then forehead will not so hot, but my boy still hot!refuse zz afternoon!so worry le!
WAs thk to bring him c Dr.Heng at TPY ctr,Blk 177 by tmr if he still got high fever...hubby said may need get consult from PD rather GP le..wat u all thk?the med will diff meh?
but some how or rather, coz is specialist, so hubby more trust PD le..but is Dr.Heng good?the charge is ex that i know from dr.heng...so fever normally will tk how long to recover?will it too late by tmr only see dr again as today is second day my boy fever le...
pls adv me....i need some help here...
thx~!

newmummy08,
If boy is still active and running around, not to worry too much. Just make sure that he stays well-hydrated. Drink plenty of water, soup etc etc.

14-16 months is usually when the first molars come up. Molars very big compared to the front teeth so the process (including fever, lots of saliva etc etc) may take quite a while. Be prepared.

My girl used to keep getting fever every other week or so from 15 to 18 months. Main culprits was teething or sinus developing into cough developing into infection. The scariest was the roseala cos that one I never heard about before but actually it's the least harmful (high fever for 3-4 days, take medicine it will go down then shoots up again at the end of 4 hours...then little spots break out and fever breaks, end of story...).

But always the docs (PD and GP) said not too worry if kid is still quite active and drinking water.
Hang in there.

dor
I think stimes they behave like that cos they still cannot fully express themselves... so need to be patient with them...

I also get impatient with my kids.. need to remind myself to bring down to their level (yes, even eye level) and see the world from their perspective...

seveneleven
Bot the usual thermo pot(?) from Philips sale.. nothing else interests me there .. hehe

newmummy
Normal fever is 3 days.
Viral fever is usual 5 days and happens in the night.

Can bathe him in normal temp. water to bring the temp down (not cold water hor..).

Not easy for your kiddo, as weather is also v hot... Can imagine how tiring it is for u/hb.
The longest I ever survived was 7 nights when one twin had viral fever...argh...

hey sunny, styloBB,really thx for the adv to me!i thk i feel abit release now after herad that..thk is quite norm forbb abt this age hv fever on and off!oh gosh!if really is Molars or Viral fever, i still hv a long way to suffer..same as my, hubby and little boy...really not easy tk care kid...

So...now i just cant do anythg and just can bathe him in normal temp. water to bring the temp down?
He also refuse to hv the cool pack paste on his forehead!cry vy loud when i not even oaste full,only touch his forehead them shouted liao!!
He also refuse drink water le,don know is it due to his mouth oain, cant really suck properly.
Oh, another thgs, when can i start train him use water bottle to let him drink himself ah?