TOA PAYOH mummies

Studio Miu is located at Ngee Ann City. 5th floor, just above Kinokuniya. Good teachers, nice art work. Classes not cheap though but when I see the work my daughter brings back and the smile on her face, I can see where my money is going, haha!

Janice, emailed you details.

Dor,
i c, so nice ur mil make. My mom make for my sister but she too lazy to make for me this time haha, so i end up buying the organic husk from BHG. Thanks for the offer!!

So tired..~~~

Robinsons Expo '09
05 November 2009 - 15 November 2009

Event type : Retailer & Sales
Venue : Hall 5
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : Time: 10.30am to 10pm

Show Profile :

Robinsons Expo 09 - Huge Discounts, Massive Savings, Extensive Brands.

I got my gal's crocs @ SGD20 during rob expo early this year. really a good buy. Any mummies going tomorrow afternn?

Kitty Lab Event
14 November 2009 - 29 November 2009

Event type : Entertainment and Concerts
Venue : Hall 1
Admission : Admission by Ticket
Admission Fee:
Adult - S$35, Child - S$20
Event Schedules : Time: 10am to 9pm

Show Profile :
ENTER KITTY’S EXPERIMENTAL CITY, LET THE EVOLUTION BEGIN!!

Innocent Kitty, Explore Kitty, Wise kitty, Material Kitty, Evil Kitty ….. Which kind of Kitty Character will you create?

Organizer : FEN Inc Pte Ltd

Contact Details :
Email : [email protected]

Check out their interesting website cool =D

u bet it'll be crowded. is good if ur hb is wif u especially now u r in ur final tri. try monday perhaps lesser crowd.

Dun go to robinson expo sale on sundays. The three megachurches are holding their service at expo. New Creation is using expo for the 2 coming weekends as they need to clear the rock auditorium for APEC event. Expo will be very crowded with the church crowd coming out at about 12noon.

anyone know of any KL hotels are child friendly? I'm following my hub there with my baby and there will be times I'll be alone with baby.

Any recommendations for a hotel that will be suitable with activities?

orangeymum,
i usually stay at a budget hotel in the midst of chinatown but that is not recommended as their is a flight of stairs to climb up from outside to the lobby. i have stayed in 3-4star hotels like radius int'l, swiss garden and royale bintang whc are ok but i went there when i haven't had my gal so can't say much about activities for kids. u may wanna try the berjaya times square whc is on the high end but there is an indoor amusement park and a big shopping centre. although i've not stayed there before but i've tried out the indoor thrill rides, it was fun. check out the link http://www.asiatravel.com/malaysia.html for the list of hotels that you can book from. is it your 1st time going to KL? or rather 1st time going with your gal?

Orangeymum
I had been to Berjaya Times Square. Brought my girl when she was 30mths.Both of us had enjoyed. You may consider to bring her for a visit to the Fireflies. Until now (39mths) she still remembers about the Fireflies trip.

Btw, the indoor amusement park for the children section is suitable for 90cm

My fren started an art and music school at Goldhill plaza #03-01, near Novena mrt. She's having an openhouse this weekend from 10am-6pm. Anyone interested in art or music class can go down and have a look.

ryes,
im still thinking of whether to get the avent breast pump now or wait till i deliver... also the via cups... and tml got to work.. so sian... i think may just forget it.

Hi anyone has winter clothes for kids abut 2 and 4 years? Bring kiddos to Japan but really dun feel like spending on clothes that will be worn once coz I'll be grounded once #3 comes along.

Recently I cook until dunno wat to cook already. So started buying packet sauces like woh hup, lee kum kee tat kind. The woh hup ginger fried chicken I tried last night, taste good after adding light sauce, sesame oil and pepper. lee kum kee tomato garlic chicken also nice..

Wanna ask u guys, any other this kind of sauces nice? For sharing with other Mummies here.

FTWM: How do u cope with family and work? Am going to start working part time and send my gal to my mum place in jurong.. but once she turns 18mths, i will send her to full time childcare and i will start working full time. Any mummies coping without help from parents and maid? Once my gal goes childcare, i was wondering hw to cook dinner for her after i get home frm work.. any suggestion??

hi! relrenn,
am a ftwm w/out parents/pil/maid help. I have a nanny tat takes care of my gal while am @ work. she'll usually had dinner @ nanny's plc b4 coming home. hsechores, i've got a pt cleaner to help up once a wk.
meals for tots for me is quite standard; staple-porridge/rice or oats, side dishes-slice fish/mince pork or chicken/veg.
method; mixed all and cook or steam the meat/veg pour sauce over porridge/rice and serve.

hi rlrenn,

I have a Tefal 3 tier steamer. It helps a lot. Say u want to cook a meal, 1 tier for rice (I dun have rice cooker) , 1 tier for fish or chicken, 1 tier for vegetables or steam egg. Actually steamed food not tat tasteless, after all, I still add oil add seasoning to it.. It saves a lot of time for me..

Though I'm sahm, with no help from any1.. I dun usually cook but with the steamer, I cook more often now. I put the food into metal containers to steam and serve with the same containers also. So no need to wash pots. The steamer just rinse can already.

Re: 3 tier steamer, any good recommendation with reasonable price like $100 and below?

I'd saw philips going @ $89 (sales) but din hv time to get it.

my mil and sis was telling me tat the rice taste different too when u use steamer compare to pot/rice cooker.

i heard tefal is good. about $100 only. was looking at it at best the last time, cos my fren may want for house warming.
Steam cod fish is nice. My hubby recipe, slice ginger put on top of cod fish, 1 table spoon of soya sauce, 1 tablespoon of water and dash of sesame oil.

Dor, coz i intend to put my gal in childcare, so cooking dinner for her is a challenge, like racing with time.. but what orangeymum suggest steamed food, i think can consider.. i also went to philips sales but din buy the steamer coz tat time din tik of it.. mayb will consider tefal too.

btw, does slow cooker comes with timer? was thinking if it has, i can also cook porridge! just set it to cook at the time i prefer. hehe..

re : steamer
i used to hv the tefal one and my mum had the philips one, and both works as well, so i dun feel there is a difference. but i think the problem is the shape of the steamer! like if u steam a whole fish, it cant be too long, and also your food cant be too "high". i read somewhere before tat you can actually steam vege on the layer above fish without plates, then the juice will flow down to the fish, so got more nutrients ba. COURTS having sale now, can chk? bt i usually buy electronics from mustafa, we find its cheaper there, but now year end so many sales, could be cheaper anywhere.

ivy... i love steam cod! yum yum... but so ex leh... go buy cod frm lorong 2 market, very fresh one. i bot from lorong 4 and my lorong 3 market before, so so oni. and dun buy ntuc frozen cod. cannot make it lah, and so many bones!

orangeymum... i'm a big fan of sauces! my fav being the braising sauce from ta hua, can braise anything, juz add dark sauce to make it sweeter and soy sauce or fish sauce to add flavour. we recenlty juz fell in love with this jap packet "soup/sauce" for oden and it cooks those chikukawa/sotong balls/meat balls/fish cakes very nicely! not too saltish or sweet, juz nice in flavour. we add radish and it sucks up all the sauce, so nice!

rlrenn... u dun need the appliances to come with timer, juz get a timer plug from most electronics shop/section. juz put the things into the pot, then set the time (it is quite difficult to understand how it works at first, but once you get the hang of it, it is really useful), and off to work you go! my fren do tis for soups, and when she come hm from work, hot boiling soup is waiting. but do note that it takes longer for slow cooker to come to a boil and cook, especially for soups, so do make a provision for that.

wah.. all talking abt food n steamer..

steamer:
me have been wanting to get one too. but cant seem to find a suitable shape.. coz my hse plates are all round hence cant fit into the steamer.. that's y still havent gotten one!! but i agree with Orangemum.. having a steamer is really hassle free..no oil n easy clean n the best part is it saves energy!!! =)

cod fish:
wow.. so many cod fish fans here.. hehe.. my son also becme a fan recently.. so i bot from lor 8 my regular fishmonger.. his fish is very fresh.. not frozen n less fishy smell.. =)

sauces:
i love using the teriyaki sauce.. it's yummy when u use on either salmon or chicken.. =)

rlrenn,
get those electric steamer cooker.. quite good.. n u can leave it overnite..before i got my maid. i used to do tat.. n leave it on then morning wake up then got nice soup to drink.. =)

rlrenn, i'm too a ftwm with 2 boys. Cooking dinner has been a challenge & housework is only done when they are asleep, normally at nite. You can consider getting a thermal pot. Can make soup & stew. I'll put all the ingredients to boil in the morning before i go to work. Just need to heat it up for dinner. Save electricity & also healthier.
But i'll be considering tingkat catering soon.

My vote goes to the thermal pot too, I use that when the entire family comes round for dinner since that's the biggest pot I have at home and with a total of 18 (incl kids) I really need to have such a size to accommodate more than 1kg of bones plus ingredients. Of course in terms of taste cannot compare with double boiling but generally speaking, good enough. Best of all, I don't need to keep reheating and reheating. Just one final heat up at around 6pm, then back inside the pot, everyone gets hot soup regardless of what time they arrive.
I'd say buy a good Jap brand, don't get the China made ones. Cheap but won't last. That's what I heard from those who chose to buy the China ones.

Can cook dessert too. Great for green bean, red bean, black glutinous rice.

Good to know: Installment Plan

There's this recent case which i am one of the affected ones, Wellness Village Spa wind up biz overnite, owners are no where to be found. Those that had signed up installment package or paid in full are left with nothing....i tried calling the bank to stop the installment however, according to the staff they have to rx advice fm the merchant in order to stop the installment plan, further to that the bank had already paid the merchant full amt henc are now collecting directly fm the cardholder instd.
This means even the company goes bankrupt or wind up if one had signed-up an installment plan upon a purchase/service etc., the cardholder is still liable to pay the bank full amount.
Sigh....now dun noe whether to persue this case or not....very ma2fan2.

dolphin,

just change the plate? u see my hse those orbit gongs tat my mil has right? so useful leh.. now no maid, cannot have glam plates liao. cooking gong and eating gong is the same liao.. anyway plate is difficult to lift up also leh.. esp when got sauce.. with the gong, i use the rubber pot holder that i have. easy n fast.

so now my typical dinner menu will be steam fish or chicken (in 1 tier), steam rice (in 1 tier), and a small pot of vegetable soup. like spinach with ikan bilis or pork ribs with cauliflower, those simple soup. den left another tier maybe can use it to heat up leftover food or wat..
Chelsia's porridge i also steam, so no need sacred burnt..

oven also very convenient. Marinate chicken and bake in oven. put sambal chilli sauce on top of fish and put in oven. very nice and convenient. Using oven is my newly discovered way of cooking. Also thinking of baking butter cake/muffins/whatever that has simple ingredients and easy. Anybody got hassle-less recipe? But before I can start, need to buy an electric mixer first. Any cheap deals? Don't want to spend too much money cos don't think I will bake that much lah.

Mummies with 2 kids or more & without any helpers.
Totally salute to you all!
Though I have a FT helper, most of the time I am the one who handle the children.
Sometimes I wonder if I really need a helper or not.
Without a helper, then there would be less couple time/personal time etc.
And I might have less time for the children, might find myself being busy with daily housechores and cooking :)

Dor, sorry to hear what u experienced. i agreed it is very mafan to pursue the case! i had a similar experience before.. with a renovation ID.. me ichy hands go n sign up with a ID and paid $1k for their so called design n quotation, ended up the company wind up too.. went to small claim but no use lor, cant even find the owner of the company so small claim is no use at all.. sadz..

talking abt steamer, thermal pot and oven, these are all i wish to buy! hehe.. but definitely nt buying all at one go lah. kitchen no place to put sia..

are, i din knw there is a timer plug at all! tks for the info..
will consider it too..

precious & rlenn,
thanks for showing your concern.

rlrenn,
sorry to hear abt your encounter too...i was abt to go to small claim and chk it out but after reading your post think i'll drop the idea sigh!

Hi Orangeymum, my friend just told me about the Ascott in KL. Right next to KLCC so you can bring your kid to the KLCC park which has lots of play areas, water features etc etc. Not a hotel tho but a serviced apartment. Friend got one of the rooms for rm400 per night. Said rooms are very big and comes with kitchen facilities (microwave) etc. so very useful for preparing food. They're travelling with their 18 month old.

Dor
If you signed up to pay in instalments, and you want to cancel post-dated instalments, the credit card company must honour your instructions cos (i) its your money and (ii) you're their customer. Do you have your agreement with village spa and the giro form (with all the T&Cs) you submitted to your credit card company? I can take a quick look at them if you like. If you paid lump sum, then admittedly its a bit more difficult.

sunny,
tat's wat i thot and brought it forward, however the staff mentioned tat i am bind by their T&C, which i dun hv a written copy it jus printed in the visa slip saying 'installment subjected to T&C'

Hello rlrenn,

I am a FTWM who has no family help (unless u count the 2 boys at home - hubby and son) and no maid. I cook 5 dinners per week (except 1 weekday night and sundays) and 1 lunch (on Sundays).

But I have a regular domestic part time cleaner who comes once a week to help me with some of the chores. Junior goes to full day cc.

I just had an oven a few months ago. Great - can "do more pattern"
No steamer but my rice cooker's stack up tray is doing a good job when I need to steam stuff. A double boiled pot is useful too, when u want to do great double boiled soup.

U how many kid ar? Me only one (although I always say I have 2 boys), so still coping. As we have no maid, I know I have to get my child to help. So we taught Junior to

- keep his toys and tidy his books as soon as he can
- help in the folding of freshly laundered clothes by learning to sort the short sleeves/pants/shorts/long sleeves etc. He is now an accomplished 'sorter'. The only thing that he still has a problem with is Papa's socks. They are all in black and the only difference is the tiny motif. Also, he enjoy opening the drawers and dump the folded clothes in.
- take off his socks and shoes, bring the socks to the soiled laundry basket and the shoes to the little shoe rack we have prepared for those tiny footwear. Now, he is able to bring his own socks/tee/short/bib to the soiled laundry basket without us asking (but he can’t take off his stuff on his own yet).

His ‘contribution’ may not be a lot but by keeping him occupied, we have made him feel useful and involved. That way, I spend less time trying to deal with the whining and tantrums. Also, since he’s occupied (e.g. by watching me cook) ‘cooperative’, I complete my chores faster.

But really, time is never enough and I don’t have much time to myself or to sleep. Also, there’s not much ‘formal education’ time like flashcard (but really, I don’t believe in that anyway). His ‘education’ is all thru play (the father and son will compete to see who will match the most pair of socks!) and ‘thru real life’ (watching me cook, seeing water boil, seeing the change of eggs from raw to cook and how raw eggs can “change into so many pattern” – steam/fried/sunny side up/scrambled)

are,
my sis stay in lorong 8, she say lor 8 market fish cheaper. Lorong 1 very ex. I dun cook often so once a while go lorong 1 cos nearer still fine, if not i tink lor 1 market things really more ex lor. The vegetables also more ex, i rather go NTUC.

ivy,
am putting up at lor. 2 and i do my marketing in lor. 1, u r rite abt the veg i din take much notice until i went to ntuc, the broccoli selling at ntuc cost 0.80cents (small ones) wherease lor. 1 mkt cost me abt $1.20+/-.

Samantha, ur boy is doing great! i wish my gal is like him. hw old is he nw? Which cc u send him to? i only have one gal and is 14mths and everyday she juz mess up the whole house..

Dor, small claim is something like negotiation. need both party to be there and see hw to settle. for my case, i cant even find the boss of the company so very hard to pursue. u can still call small claim n ask them to advise u..

Dor, then for credit card company, i tik u call them again ask to speak to the manager.. sometimes different officer say different thing. they may not really knw hw to handle lor.. give them pressure.. hehe

Dor,
Call them and get them to fax a copy of the T&Cs to you. You can subtly threaten to highlight the "bank's uncompromising and unhelpful attitude in the case, which abets fraud"

Dor,
ya lor.. i also kanna, buy broccoli and aunty charge me so ex.. i live blk 145 so nearest by right is lor 1 market.