TOA PAYOH mummies

JL marina sq clearance sale now fm 10-12 july. Price as low as $2.
S$8 off S$50 spending when u flash the sms.
pin me if anyone of u r interested, i can 4ward the sms to u.

Durian lovers,
just found out there's a durian stall at ChinaTown mkt selling $1 durian. Good quality, few of us jus went to try out during lunch. its nearby some stalls selling traditional wedding stuffs. This stall facing open air carpark layout quite a no. of tables shld be easy to locate.

hi Ryes,
Cleft palate is those ppl with lips split into 2..esp the upper ones.. it's very common in the poor countries like indonesia etc..

Hi Dor,
my Sky did crawl alot but he enjoys walking more.. now i put him on walker and he loves to go near my tv console.. so now i headache, trying to keep all my things before he smash them!
Dor u mean JL marina having sale again???so the $8 off is only for sms?no member sale?=(

dolphingal,
haha! u gotta keep ur tv too wat if he uses something to smash the screen fainted.....
$8 off if u flash the sms. dun think got member sale.
how old is sky? hv u enroll him in any playgroup?

Hey gal, yap yap, i know cleft lips..but then same as palate clefts?

Wah, now my son also start to cruise liao..so scary lor, he crawl to the sofa then pull the cloth and lifted himself up and walk from one end to the other! Heng I saw him halfway and rush out, arbo he fall back, head hit floor liao.

hey Dor,

he's not in any playgroup.. only 7+mth..tinking of let him try GUG trial.. haha..tink only.. lolz..

ya lor.. so usually i make sure he doesnt get hold of anything if not he WILL smash my TV!so now is EVERYTHING also must be out of his reach.. haiz.. i faintz also.. running after him on walker so sometimes i just dump him in his playpen.. lolz..

cheesecake
dor & Are,
my cakes are all gone!lolz.. i finshed up the cheesecake while my hub ate the sponge cake.. i also dun mind sharing again.. hehehe.. yum yum..

Dor, next wed cant leh.. would love to join u.. can be other days?=P

Ryes,

so now must watch them.. super fast one lor.. one turn then he got many pattern.. like my son.. loves to jump down from my bed... so i bo bian put one mattress there... cant stop him... he tinks it's fun.. so i need to shift my bed against the wall!haiz..

mickey,
haha children definitely remember play play things one..

are,
so ur hubby fren is Ken or Edmund? ya Ken is very good in coaching, so is Jireh, a poly boy under him.. dun scared, just throw away ur fear n enjoy
they are good in coaching, no worries..

char,
not very steady la cos my hubby does it so I join him lor, at least when we train together, we get to spend more time together.. i just slowly slowly swim, cycle n run lor.. aim to complete first..

Wah everyone going so fast. These days time just not enough to handle 2 and keep sane..

Dor, thanks for sharing your routine. Do you plan the kind of art and craft activities to do with your gal? Any good resources?

Used to run too but now no more...

Btw, any aerobics class that I could sign up nearby here? REalised all the CC ones are at night...looking at afternoon ones..

Jasmine, you very power ah! TBF 2...jia you..

i can barely keep up after a few days of absence..

char, i'm joining your rank.. a moment of miscalculation and I started feeling the symptoms since monday.. tested +ve on wed, will be going to the gynae tomorrow for the scan. i already warn my hb on tue cos it's my 3rd time n the feeling is exactly the same as previous 2x.. the vomiting has begun.. immediately we went to buy the kit, tested wed morning n bingo.. haiz.. it just came earlier than we planned.. but wat to do since there must be a reason God has given us this gift..

thank god i'm back in jkt where there r more distractions and helpers... otw, i may be crying to my hb every nite cos so tired... hehehe.. but i'm starting to miss mum's cooking.. sob sob.. yet to tell my family too.. the funny thing is 2 yrs back just b4 i move back to sg, i visited my gynae in jkt to check my 2nd pregnancy.. tom when i visit him, he's already checking my 3rd.. hehehe..

suay suay.. i had diare for last 2 days, had the runs until i was so weak n still have to go back to school for my orientation.. almost couldnt get out of bed and my gal stll asking for neng neng all the time.. only felt stronger n able to stomach a little food today..

i hope i can still generate enouf milk for my 18mths gal.. but i tink at times she latch for shiok esp if i've been away the whole day.. i just lie there like a dead corpse n she suckles away happily. hehehe..

are, u just have to deal with what u r faced with, isn't it.. life is such.. u can choose to be +ve or -ve abt things but i'm glad u r the former.. my son is generally fine except for certain moments... i koe early interventions is important but this year i shld koe better.. a lot of times i find that he's just putting on a show n being very dramatic.. it's not that he cant do something, rather he just is not ready or refuses to try.. will just continue to monitor him..

Hi are, dor, gal.dolphine, I had my cakes as supper last night after I've got it from are .. hehe ... Today its gone ! I will be very keen to order more. I go to the United square on Monday and Wed. So I can also help to buy next round

Hi are, my younger twin also had cleft palete but he is more serious as he got a cleft lip too. Would love to speak to you one of these days to exchange experience hehe. He is going thru speech theraphy now but not much help either. Sometimes I wonder if I'm too anxious as he is only 2 but as he is a special kid .. I'm a bit more concern than his brother.

OMG miin!!! Congratulations! See ARE, I think the wind is blowing round and round all the way to jkt too!!

Last time in my office, when one announces she is preg, more and more announces later on. Thank god my menses is here. phew! I wonder who is next!

Miin, as much as you are still keen to bf your girl, my gynae advice to stop bf, as calcium is shared between 3 person now. You, your girl and your bb....But I do know there are others who still bf despite being preg too.

For cleft lips, arent there surgery to correct it?

Hi Ryes,
Yes there is surgery to correct it at 3-4 mths of age. If have cleft lip cum palate like my boy, then have to go thru a another round of surgery at around 6-9mths age. The whole treatment and surgeries process will take 18 yrs.

hey all...

sorrie for MIA. day aft i got the cakes, ystr mon i wake up, "mysteriously" got very bad pain in left shoulder, till i cant move, eat or even cry w/o feeling the pain! went to see dr who say its a muscle tear. gave jab and painkillers, and i'm confined to bedrest so as to rest and heal my muscle. says will take 1-2wks to heal man. suay... but on the other hand, think "someone up there" is giving me a break, so i shall catch up on my sleep debt since there is nothing much i can do. pain is manageable now, tats why can still come in, but i dun want to risk further injuring the muscle so shall be short here..

re cleft palate. wat dolphin menioned is cleft lip, which wld be obvious in the scan. palate is the roof in our mouth, which you can touch if you pointyour tongue upwards. normal one is closed like ours, hers is a big gap. there are surgeries to correct, and follow-up with speech therapy. janice... due to other medical conditions we had to deal with first, my ger correct hers very late at 2plus. but unfortuntely, within a week, it reopened, and she is oni like 2 cases dr vincent yeow has seen in his career! sigh... my ger is always like tat one, all her doctors consider her a challenge, cos no matter how minor the sugery, she always can "contribute" a challenge they seldom hv to deal with. like 15mins surgery can last for 3hrs, 1 hr surgery last for 6hrs!! wld love to catch up with you too... but in case yuo are not aware, my ger is severely delayed, so situation is v diff.

re skating... my school is 1 2 skate, they can go anywhere you want, as long as got a grp size i think. janice, ask orangeymum to teach lah! hehe... else, my coaches are teaching a bunch of kids at 146, but dun think their time is fixed. u learning or your children? i saw another batch by another school called skate fusion i think, wah, anyhow teach one, the coach juz squat at a corner ask the kids to go round, then stop, then go. the kids are juz falling over one another. if u want them to learn, learn properly from a gd coach. save some $$ no point lor. my coaches also say the school at ECP no gd, cos their skating rink is on a slope, always fall. my sis learnt there, and hurt her back tat took months to heal!

orangeymum, edmund is my hubby's fren. ken is teaching us with ben. jireh busi lah, he got competition in aug, ken training him hard to be world num 1!

babyship... u chk pa website for tpy central cc. i rem got some morn classes which i wanted to enrol but in the end din.

re cakes : hubby says he want too! but hor, now he want half of the choc cake! can dun take cheesecake if not enuff ppl to share. i wun be able to join to go collect in this sate, so will have to trouble u ladies to organise then let me know who to collect from.

bakerzin 2nd round :

are - c&C (1/4 if enuff ppl), amer choc (1/2)

Janice, i saw a grp of pple teaching kids to skate near my block 145, lor 2 once.

Miin congrats, and welcome to join the mtb club hehe.

Wah! Looks like there's a Bakerzin spree going on here! Haha!

The extended family celebrated my birthday a couple of days ago during our weekly family dinner. They bought mini cakes from The Patisserie (River Valley/Mohd Sultan Rd). Didn't get a proper cake as such cos wanted to have variety. Anyway, really nice, rich cakes. I was impressed by the packaging cos they had a small ice pack stuck to each box! My hubby said can keep the ice pack for the kids when they are down with fever! haha!

A relatively new comer to the scene of cakes is, I think, called Patesserie at Craig Rd. I've heard pretty good reviews on their cakes. Mainly on the lighter side (I think Jap owners/bakers).

Orangeymum, now that we're back from hol, daughter keen on starting skating lessons so will drop you an email soon to arrange suitable time.

orangeymum
Where are the locations to learn skating?
I prefer a small group of the same age range for my daughter.
Then she can make friends, and have fun!

anyone keen to order california baby? Thought to share and opt for home delivery, then can meet up with u at TPY..

Hi precious

yeah, thats the thing. I know of mothers who still bf when preg, and some gynaes still give green light to do so. Unfortunately my gynae discourage. Furthermore, I think it was time to wean my girl too,she was approaching 13 mths and my ss was running low too...

Char
Have pm you on your query. Not too sure if you receive it. Let me know

Janice,
my boy just turned 26months. His first lesson was last Wed. Friday, when I brought him into the class, he cried. So I stayed with him a little while till he was comfortable. Then I told him I am leaving to buy his favourite food and drinks and that he would get his kiddy ride after school. At that moment, he said bye bye to me and blew his flying kiss. I waited outside the school at the coffeeshop with another mom. Heard my boy cried and I peeped in. Saw teacher Liz comforting him.... When I went to collect him at the end of 2 hours, his eyes were very red. He saw me and cried very loud. So this was my experience on the second lesson. Hopefully, he will do better coming Monday. Feedback so far on the teacher was good. That she was motherly, caring, firm but gentle...

How are your kids doing at GUG? I have gone to GUG for a few trial lessons but somehow my encounter wasn't that fantastic. The teachers that I met weren't that good. So I gave up on GUG. Another reason for putting my kid at Liz is really to let him get used to mummy not being around in school. Need to start small, so that next year when he goes to Ascension, he will not be in a big shock esp when the class size is so much bigger.

The cheesecake at Bazerkin is good. Tried a slice last week for tea at united square last fri. So I think I will get one whole cake myself and probably share it with my cell folks on Tues....If the sharing is on and need me to get the cakes on Tues, let me know.

jfoo,precious,

i think both ur girls are abt the same age group, so maybe u guys can learn tgt.. much as i would loved to teach ur baobeis but these few mths i've got more tuition days already so i'm afraid i wun have the time to teach.. so sorry ya.. but i think u can check are's skating school. Ken Soo from the school is very gd with kids, funny also..rates will be quite reasonable.. apologies!

thanks mummies.. i'm supposed to be 5 weeks already.. hehehe.. according to my gynae, it's best to stop bf give n take within a month as i'll feel contractions if i continue. dunno if i'm conscious or wat la, true enouf last nite when bf, i felt cramps.. hehe..so the whole nite i keep telling my gal 'no neng neng' and she's was pretty upset.. was thinking either to apply a bitter pill to stop her from latching or do the cold turkey treatment way. haiz.. she's too young to understand leh..

told my gynae this time is final, last c-sec n consider to tie my tubes liao.. cant stand a 4th c-sec..

char, we'll due abt the same time then..

ryes, u r rite.. pregnancy can be contagious.. my previous ofc had abt 4-5 deliveries in aug/sept.. let's see who's next.. Dor.. ??? heehehe

let me share a little story.. my 1st c-sec was nearly all fam.. my fil is a doc n my gynae is a family friend in jkt + the PD inside delivery is a distant relative.. before, my fil told my hb n i if i have c-sec, he'll enter the operating room with me. true enouf after 12hrs induction, baby heartbeat was getting weak so i had to do emer c-sec.. my fil went in with me. imagine 1st time being cut up n already seen all by my fil, the feeling's so weird.. when i saw my bb, i started crying n bcos my hands are tied up, my fil passed me tissues n just dap at my tears.. hehe.. i wonder if he'll do that again this time.. :p

aiyo, all these talk abt cakes makes me hungry... luckily there's a ah mei cafe in the mall near my hse.. can satisfy some craving there.. cant eat at nite.. really no appetite even tho hungry.. haiz..

tom is 1st day of teaching n 1st day for my son too.. really hope all goes well..

craving for siew mai now.. hehehe

Would like to join in.. read thru the postings and have not finished.
I am FTWM staying behind block 79.

My boy 5.5 yrs old is currently attending Ascension. He is happy there.
My 3.5 yrs old twin gals will join him next year - N2. They are currently at KiddyABC mainly for the distance so that my mom and maid can fetch them.
If you have queries abt the kindy, feel free to ask and I'll try to answer.
(Got to know Workio cos she was enquiring about this kindy too.)

For Mandarin, I send my boy to Berries. For those of us whose kids more inclined to English, I think it's impt to send them for Mandarin classes.

As you would know, they closed the kindy due to 1 H1N1 case. The lastest is they will give extra classes during the Sep holidays. Wl be hving teacher-parent meet in July.

Btw school bus - even if your kid takes 1-way, they still charge you 80% of the full fare.
I agree v siong to let the young kids take school bus hence I'm only sending my twins there next yr, I shudder at the thought they hv to wake up early.

TPMC - I worship there, the bldg's quite nice now with the renov, but I didn't send my kids there cos it was in the midst of renov all this while.

are
My mom's at Blk 100 and I go back there a few times a week! Are you a SAHM?

Is it jasmine who has twin boys? They are 2??

jfoo
I love cakes too.... hehe

The shop is called Glace.. they wl open another outlet at Icon on 1 August.
The cakes are yummy esp the cheese tarts...

I like choc cakes, the one called Vicky's at Henry Park can give Lana some competition.
Awfully Choc is not bad but taste can be inconsistent.
Not sure if Choc-a-Bloc is still around.
Jap cakes - Rive Gauche has yummy cakes.
I also like the Double Choc Praline from The Patissier... hehe
Agree Bakerzin cakes are yummy but exp!
Also Canele ones.

eunice
Liz at Liz Montessori is a v nice teacher. I usu send my boy there during the school holidays (Dec) when she runs 3-day programmes.
My boy will tell me he loves attending teacher Liz's class..
But the place is too small and I feel kids shud go to a proper school -- just my opinion.

TPY - someone mentioned she is in TPY forever! Me and hb too.... we can't imagine living elsewhere.. .btw my hb, mil, parents, and bro/fmy are all here...hehe

Hub - I don't like the hub either, so noisy and the shops are not exciting.
The layout is also weird, so difficult to get to Popular and only one staircase at the other side....
But TPY is a convenient place, just avoid the Hub/central!!!

Hi Stylobb

welcome welcome...Actually I am wondering now to, if I should actually wait till my girl is 4 yrs old then send her to N2.Do they actually learn much in N1? Coz like all mothers here, worry abt them taking sch bus at such young age...

Miin, oh yes, I forgot to add on which your gynae has already told u. BF will lead to contractions and is not very good at later stage. You are considerig to tie tubes? no other options?

Wah, I cant imagine myself being seen by my FIL man...and why are your hands tied up ah? Must start taking folic acid liao hor..

babe,
u can go to http://www.makingfriends.com/recycle_containers.htm that Precious shared wif use earlier. its very useful.

Miin,
CONGRATS!!! Do tk good care of your health. your 1st label is quite an experience hee!

Eunice,
GUG has a good curriculum however choosing the rite class with a good tr and assitant is important too. adivisable to find out more fm other parents which class is good. my gal is quite lucky that they put her in a class wif a very attentive and lively tr. however she left GUG liao. u can consider tr. 'nishu' class (if she's still ard) she's the disciple of tr. irin whom left GUG.

stylobb,
welcome to this thread. am a ftwm too, we can catch up for lunch if u r working ard raffles plc or chinatown area coz my ofc is sandwich between.

Precious,
nice bumping into u on sat @ tpy hb. sorry din cross my mine it was u when we passed each other until u tapped on me hee! u certainly is one jude preggy mum.

ryes

Yeah, I understand all your concerns. Imagine their poor little legs dangling from the seats but the buses have safety belts lah.
And if you take school bus, it depends on which area you are staying. If you happen to be the first few, then gotta be up early. But then having said that, I'm sure many kids at 3 go there.
If your hb can send her/him there, and if you are SAHM, fetch back.... that'll be ideal. Btw many buses go to PP from interchange and the journey is short. Buses from the interchange - 8/26/31/90/142 -- pls double check.

Learning - actually, erm... I sent my gals to Kiddy when they were two years old. They learnt stuff.
I leave them there for one more year. At least when they turn 4 next year, they (hopefully) shud be more garang, and they hv kor kor around too. I'm up at 6.30am. I walk with him to the pick-up point. After my boy takes the school bus, I go straight to work.

I think the travelling is a major concern for parents with younger kids. It's good to send them to school but really need to consider the distance and timing and how it might affect the kids.

Camden doc - are you referring to Dr Ananda Kumar? He's so good hor.
Went to see when I had my boi. Second time, gynae wanted to send me to Raffles Hosp, but I told her I wanna go back to him even tho the cost will be more due to twins scanning. Took me 1.5 hours but it was all worth it.

dor

I'm at tanjong pagar area.....
How old are your kids?

Congrats to the mummies who are preggie!

miin
What is the issue with your boy, just behavioural?

janice
Oh, you are the one with a gal and twin boys. Is your gal 6+?? So will start Primary next year?
I have a boy and twin gals. At what weeks did you deliver them? Are they identical or fraternal?
Young twin's condition? You wrote it takes 18 years to correct, really need so long??

Stylobb, welcome here, i stay at block 145.

I had tried glace cake, the strawberry cream cake is nice. Awfully chocolate standard is bad now, eh dun think i will buy again.

Im a FTWM as well, can i check when your baby is still an infant, who take care of them or do you send to infant care?

hey stylobb... welcome... yeah, i'm @ 100. which flr your mum? i'm at 8th. i'm SAHM, but weekdays i'm usu at my mum's place, 146, opp ivy's pl!! hey... maybe we've met cos i've also grown up in tpy. i used to stay 140. u?

cakes... patssier is nice!! but so ex leh... but my all time fav is still decadence from seah st deli. give up on awfully choc liao, too err leh...

miin.. hope u had fun on your first day. i'm a bit lost on your b/grd... but u relocated to jkt? wah, ur c-sec so drama, mine too. aft 10hrs labour, i gave up and chose csec. i din op for epi but they still took away my gas. then to my horror, while almost gone due to the pain, i discovered they were cleaning my toe nail polish!! vain me went for pedicure b4 my due cos i hv bad callus, and tat is when i realised if go op cannot hv nail polish!!! so i was lying there in tremendous pain, while the nurses clean my nail polish!!! frm now on, if i hear someone op for csec, i always tell them, no nail polish!!! hahahaha!!!

hey janice... is your kid under dr vincent yeow's team?

stylobb,
i hv a gal now 28mths old.

ivy,
jus to chk did i forward tpy nanny contact to u? coz i noe 2 bbysitters who r now available. if u r interested pm me. i got to know one fm my gal's previous infant care and the other thru my nanny.

eunice,
i recieved your PM liao, thnx. replied u in fact.

stylobb,
welcome to the thread. i'm a sahm and my gal is about 28mo. your boy is 5.5yo, in K1? may i know if ascension's teaching for K1/K2 is to prep them for pri 1? i registered my gal for pre-nursesry at PCF next yr and thot of letting her continue til K2 but was told by a fren that PCF dun teach their students as much as other better schools as in prepping their K1/K2 kids for pri 1. if dun prep then they'll lag behind when in pri 1, thats wat happened to my fren's elder son. so both she and her son were pretty stressed out last yr. so now her younger son is in N1 at a private sch where they teach much more than PCF. and they prep their K1/K2 students for pri 1. so now i'm thinking of looking around for other better schools. kiasu hor.

miin,
wat an experience for u. congrats! its such a coincidence that we're due about the same time.

Dor, i think i have the nanny contact, but after some discussion with my hubby, we decided to go to infant care. But am still on queue, its fully book -.- sigh.

Dor, I may well be able to make it on Wed afternoon. What time? I normally go down to TPY central after dropping my daughter off at Safra. Get down there by 430pm.

Clearing another batch of clothes for girls 4-5 yrs old - a few tops, shorts and dresses.

StyloBB, good to have you on board
Have your tried Tampopo Deli's cakes? Light Jap style. Not into River Gauche. Canele is one of my fav for chocs rather than cakes. I like the dark choc with balsamic vinegar. Awfully Choc still makes really good choc ice cream - really rich, really smooth. Blue Magnolia has really nice carrot cake.

Hmm...getting hungry already after talking so much about yummy cakes and food!

jfoo, precious, janice

just mentioned to my hubby about me not able to teach skating. He said he is able to. He's an ICP certified instructor, also a national skater.
If u guys are interested, we can arrange a group lesson @ $40/hr then u guys share the cost.
Location flexible, like anywhere in tPy tat has the sheltered multi purpose place.. I think Blk 1115am there, 207 there, 120 there those kind..
After the lesson, u guys can just practise with them wat they have learnt in lesson 1, den when lesson 2 they can proceed to learn new things, saving the time of revising lesson 1 things.

If u guys r interested, just PM me.. Or maybe check ard the few skates school tat are giving lessons.

ivy,
fm my own personal experience, i never regret switching my gal fm infant care to nanny. coz my gal kept falling sick during her days in infant care when she's abt 8mths old. the trs. and care giver also neglected her and coz her to hv very serious nappy rash. the excuse they gave me was she has sensitive skin. I doubt it cld be so serious, i consulted her pd and she said cld be due to the poo tat was left in her diaper for a long while b4 they changed a new pcs....sigh! anyway it all depends on the infant care/nanny both have pros can cons is jus a matter of luck.

jfoo,
cld we move the timing slightly earlier say 3.30pm or 4pm coz am meeting mom at 5.30pm for early dinner b4 my gal comes home.

Btw, Standard Chart Run is opened for Reg on 16 July, they r having a road show @ Raffles Place Park free goodies bag give away reg onsite.

I intend to reg my gal for the SC run under 3yo cat.

Char,
think u'd missed my question posted to u much earlier. cld u advice me the amount of colostrums powder to give my gal, she's the same age as ur gal 28mths. Thanks!