TOA PAYOH mummies

rkjk, my son looks more like his father.. hehe.. but some say my hb n i look alike.. i cant recommend the TTT engine group to u cos u havent accepted me as friend yet.. glad u found it.. u watched the new animated TTT?

precious, when u cook apple porridge, do u use the whole apple or half? no other seasoning?

dolphingal, pigeon has cups with straws n u can cut the straw shorter since pigeon sells the straw inserts..

as for phelgm, some ppl says u can hold the child facing downwards and pat lightly on his back when coughing.. hopefully helps to purge the phelgm.. my PD always recommend either nose drops/sea spray or the infalation thingy (i forgot the name).. one mummy here has the equipment, is it char?? :p i prefer the 1st method

ling, i've been to ur ofc before.. the one at bukit merah rite? i had a mtg there with the HR dept when i was still with my ex-co last year..

i think this was mentioned b4 but a little short of time to search.. which GP do u koe have pneumoccocal jab in tpy?
did anyone gif their kid the flu jab recently? thanks in advance

Miin,
Pneumaococal jab is available in most GP. My gal had hers at Lor. 1 GP Dr. CK Tan.

J_foo,
Thanks for your kind offer. Btw, mind sharing y ur parents r staying so far away....tot most elderly wld prefer to migrate to down under or somewhere closer to home. But frankly Europe scenice is really breath taking and slower pace too, am imagining your parents maybe staying in a cottage/tudor style house wif a garden o/side so tranquil.

Miin
2 small slices of apples is sufficient, as we chop them finely.
I sent her to her PD at Thomson Road for the jab, price was $170.

Gal.dolphin
I heard having phlegm, best to avoid eating fruits and too much of formula milk.
As milk formula consists high intake of sugar.

Dolphingal,
if u r giving sky formula milk change to soy base milk for the time being.

My gal is dwn wif flu & cough and am hving sore throat & cough....sigh. clinic is so pack this morning gotta wait for 1hr fainted.

Miin, just sent my son for pneumoccocal jab last week, block 47 Teoh Clinic, think it was around $170-180.

Phlegm - you can try "chuan bei fen". Just mix about 1/3 tsp with a little water (or juice as it can be a bit bitter), twice a day. It's Chinese trad medicine so some are worried about giving to young children, but I've done it and most importantly it works.

As for fruits, chinese physician will say no fruits, not even apples or pears. But definitely no citrus, grapes and bananas. Avoid dairy as well. If poss switch to goat's milk. If not cut down on FM. When my nephew was coughing very badly, my cousin only gave his son one milk feeding per day and the son recovered really quickly.

Dor, you're spot on about the cottage with garden thing. Haha! That's where my parents stay!

My parents and I went over to UK in 1991 cos dad was sent over for work. So I did my A levels then uni years there. I came over to S'pore in 2001, dad was still working then. He's now semi-retired but reluctant to go back to M'sia - weather in UK suits my parents well and in many ways they're so use to it in UK. So for now it's just travel from both sides until can't travel anymore, then decide.

j_foo,
Bingo! Hahaha! Years back i went to Europe to join my frenz there and tour ard f&e, i must say it was really a fruitful experience. I got to sat in during their lecture (and even take notes, no joke) and stayed over at their rented flat took the local transport, marketing etc. almost feel like am residing there rather then visiting.
Do u hv the english accent still since u stayed there for awhile.

Jcefoo,
where to get this "chuan bei fen"?can give to bb < 6mth?
so no fruits?think today i give him BM only to make sure he recovers. thanks!

hello all, today i start throwing up in the morning but nothing came out, its just the action of throwing up and feeling my heart coming out but nothing came out.

8th week liao, wed seeing gynea, wish me luck.

dolphingal, its better if u c the doc at TCM before u administer these chinese med cos ur bb is < 6mths.. u can get chuan bei fen from traditional med hall..

thanks precious..

j_foo, how old is ur son? how many jab he took?

i just called polyclinic abt the flu jab.. u can get 2 jabs at 46.50 (polyclinic) and can pay with ur CDA nets card.. but demand is high.. thinking of letting my kids take the flu jab but they are down with cough n cold AGAIN!

Miin, how do you find cambridge@novena? What are the teachers and teaching like? What are the fees like?

Char, thanks for checking out..

M&amp;M, how much are the fees at first skool and do the teachers there teach well?

Stay at home moms
Need your advice. I am finding myself rather frustrated with my 3yr old and what to do with her when she's with me at home. Do you all do homework to find out what to do with them?

dolphingal,

My PD gave me MUCOLIX Elixir for phlegm for my 6 mth old son leh. Ask me give 1.5ml. I think it works quite well.

babe, i find the trs warm n caring.. environment is cosy.. some parents dun like having 2 storeys and steps but i'm ok la.. havent heard kids falling off steps so far.. frankly i dunno much abt the teaching mtd eg is it montessori style etc.. i koe my son is learning from the way he speaks and projects himself. now he's in N2, i pay 530 after subsidy ($300) if not wrong. another mummy here transferred her son to K2 there to prepare for pri 1.
M&amp;M mentioned myfirstskool is cheaper but i'm not sure. u can call n check..
there's a good mix with ang mo n local studs, own playground n got school bus
as i visit more ccc, i discover certain things i look out for and so far cambridge fulfills them la.. ;) hope the info helps.

Dolphingal, I normally get the chuan bei fen from Yu Ren Sheng. Ask them to turn the chuan bei into powder form. As Miin said, better check with the guys at Yu Ren Sheng whether it's suitable for under 6 months. I think I started my kids at 9 months. Before that, they were fine, thank God!

Miin, my son's 2 so he took only one jab.

Dor, my accent is definitely not typically S'porean, but it's not really that Brit either... Even when I was residing there my accent wasn't really Brit, it was like half Brit half American. Maybe I watched too many Hollywood movies! Haha!

My cousin (who stays in UK) says that my accent was typical Brit when I was there for a year at ages 5-6 (again dad was sent over for a course so the entire family followed). He said I was a BBC (British-born-Chinese).

hi babe,

I'm a stay at home mum, equally frustrated too. Stuck with 3 kids at home, sometimes really so tired, running out of ideas to keep them occupied. Other stay at home mums, any good ideas to keep your kids happy at home

Hi Miin,

So far does your child fall sick often in Cambridge? My girl used to be there when she was young but she fell sick regularly. However I do find their activities quite good. I'm considering putting my boys there next yr but quite concern about them falling sick.

tks Jcefoo,

will drop by Yu ren sheng to find out more. =)

Ryes, thanks for the infor.I'll check with my Gp to see if can give. =)

Dor, thanks! but he is still taking BM. so i din give him any solids today. Clinic packed?wow!! btw, are the staff wearing masks when u visited them tis am?=)

Miin,
for children < 2yrs old they need at least 2 flu jabs. currently selling like hotcakes.. haha

Janice/Babe
Children at this age are very active. They are many things to keep them occupied besides TV.
Bring them to playground, to sandplay n waterplay, read books at home, do some science experiments, art n craft. If you are really frustrated with them, sometimes having a break for 1-2hrs (etc: going out to do some errands/shopping without them), might help! Since both of you are SAHM, are welcome to come over to my place (Lor 5) for playdates.

Hey precious, thanks
I'm a boring mummy and really don't know how to play with them. Talk about reading, the boys disappeared in seconds when they saw the books
I tried flash cards too, but they end up throwing the cards out of the window, or screaming when I refuse to let them have them. Haiz ! TErrible boys !

By the way, I read in your previous threads about Montessori in Bishan. Is it the Brightstart Montessori?

Janice
Yes, it is Brightstart Montessori located at Bishan Community Centre.
Oh dear, they threw the flashcards out of the window, no wonder you got so frustrated!
Btw, if they throw the flashcards on the floor, then maybe you create as games, etc: ask them to pick up "the number 15", then let the boys have fun in finding the correct card... hee hee!

Miin
Think the machine you referring to is the nebuliser. Been asked to bring my son home because of fever and now he needs the nebuliser at home. I got 1 of it too cause his bronchities has been giving us problem. So we bought a 2nd hand one.

Didn't know cambridge is so cheap too but it depends on which level your kid is at.

babe
I'm paying $285 after subsidy. I like the big space and the teachers are committed there. I think it all depend on which area is convenient for you. But the subsidy for a SAHM will be $150 instead of $300, which means you will be paying much more.

dophingal
Eu Yan Seng will recommend you 'bao ying dan'. Can be taken as young as 2 months.

Miin,
My workplace is at Health Promotion Board, a building within the outram campus. Most of our IT and HR are at the old HDB building in Bukit Merah.
I gave my no. 2 pneumococcal vaccine (Prevnar). below 1 year is 3-4 doses (depending on when the 1st dose was given). 1-2yo is 2 doses. >2-9yo only need 1 dose. Price recommened by Wyeth is between $170-$190 per dose. Csn see this website for more info, http://www.prevnar.com/c01_dosing_schedule.aspx

Dolphingal,
Yes, avoid citrus fruit as the citrus causes the production of more secretion. I think mucoflux is indicated for young babies too and is a GSL item available in most pharmacy. But on the safe side, check with the pharmacist before buying.

Ivy, it's 8 weeks already. I am sure you will enjoy the pregnancy very soon :)
If you do not already know, this is an informative website. Sign up for the free weekly newsletter and it sends you weekly info abt your baby's development according to your gestational week. After birth, you'll continue to receive interesting info abt care of baby and games to play with them. One of the panel experts is Dr Ann Tan from Spore.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/

precious
It's not infant care, it's for full day toddler class. Now he upgrade to full day playgroup which is around $235.

Hi Precious,

How is the quality of teachers at Brightstart? Is the program good ? My boys are now in GUG, find it rather costly for 2 and I'm rather bored with the program there hehe .. and the boys don't seem to know what is happening in the class.

Oh, I did try throwing the flash cards on the floor, but I guess they are too young to understand the game. They picked up the cards and slot them in whatever holes or slots they can find in the living room

janice, re: cambridge.. yes my son does fall sick but then there's recovery period too.. mostly cough and running nose. the fees get cheaper by $50 as they go up each level.

M&amp;M, i think cambridge's fee is average. Those ccc at void deck tends to be cheaper. Personally I prefer cambridge to firstskool ccc section cos the population is lesser and the environment is more conducive.
how much did u buy ur neubuliser for?? yes that's the one I'm referring to.

thanks ling and dolphingal for the jab info.. my kids are still sick so cant bring them for the jab yet.

i think all schools and clinic are taking full precaution measures. taking temp and writing all ur ctc details down. parents are not allowed into the school and visitors all hang os the clinic. so the area os is actually more dangerous.. :p

latest update on h1n1: it's made up of 1 HKG human flu type A virus, 1 bird virus n 2 N. American swine virus. even the virus are going international.. scary..

hi Ling(precious babes), thanks for the info, how do you cope working and taking care of your kids? How many children do you have now?

Ling1312, i dun think full day infant care so cheap leh, the cost about 1200 before subsidize, after subsidize - 600 to 700 i think.

BTW i think for all SAHM, it is so great, afterall nothing is best having moms around the kids when they are young. Too bad i cannot be SAHM. sigh.

Just went to take a look at Shaws (Lynwood Grove off Braddell Road), nice place. Took a bus and it's a relatively short stroll in. I like the way it's being ran - met the principal/founder and despite being in the scene for 20 odd yrs they still maintain pretty small scale with just two branches. She showed me what the teachers were required to prepare for each week's class and boy, it's so detailed. In other words, very structured. After each week, an evaluation has to be submitted discussing how students responded to the teaching. Teachers came across as friendly and passionate about their job.

Environment is definitely thumbs up. The younger kids (pre-nursery, n1 and n2) get the "ventilated" classrooms - windows, open space. There's air-con in all the rooms but according to the principal, teachers will only switch it on if weather is very hot and provided that kids are all well. The kindergarten kids have the "inner" rooms where there are no windows (I think it's just the k2 room actually) so the rooms are air-conditioned all the time.

Teacher-student ratio is low. At nursery level, max is 7:1.

There's an emphasis on sports too - the kids on full day get an afternoon of sports every other day, trying out hockey, soccer etc.

Fees are on the high side...$600 (after subsidy) for half day. Full day I think is $750 (or is it more... sorry wasn't paying much attention to the full day details as I'm interested in half day).

precious,ryes

thanks for the info, got a mag mag cup step 2 for my bb and she loves it, half a day she drinks 180ml of water already.. and no leak, BPA free also..

Ivy,
I have 2 kids, 4+ years and 4+ months old. I am fortunate to have my mum to help me out. I send and fetch them everyday so my mum cand rest at night. My no.2 was planned to go infant care but my first skool at TPY central was full.... I gotta evaluate and see if my mum can continue to cope with both my kids.

Janice
Brightstart Montessori is a daily program (1.5 hrs or 3hrs).
The teachers are very patient and caring, heard that there is a long waiting list.
You may give them a call/sms @ 9730 7745

Ivy
You can always spend time with your child during weekends.

ivy, u r referring to infantcare or ccc section?

my gal is withdrawing end May from infantcare.. not sure if it helps.. if anyone wanna put their babies there from june, can try try la.. :p

ryes, interesting site.. anyone interested to go n take a look??

btw, do u know there's a splash park in Sembawang Shopping Centre too? just like the water area in IMM.
http://www.capitalandretail.com/malls_sg_ssc.html

miin infantcare. I heard got waiting list -.-

Yes i heard abt the splash park, anyway now got swineflu, so got to be careful not to go crowded area.

ivy, when i first put my gal in, there are not many babies.. out of blue, so many babies there this year.. was it a good year to have babies in 2008??? :p

Hey Miin

I am finding sometime to drop by to take a look. Maybe will be cheaper as compared to outside stores to get items...

Moreover at TPY nia..

hey mummies

been wanting to go september21 bookstore...any1 want to go 2gether??? think i got discount card from the last purchase

Ryes, my elder gal been attending berries for 2 yrs...nw at her k2 level, start introducing hanyu..if u intend to put yr kids in SAP sch, can consider berries...hw old is yr kid???