TOA PAYOH mummies

Where's this tim's restaurant? What do they serve?

I didnt know there is a tau hway store now...is it the row of food outlet shops where there is the duck rice stall?

hahaha... all the good food in TPY..

Good food @ TPY
1) Lor 5. Crispy fried chicken serves with mushroom rice. It is the stall located besides "Pi Tian"
2) Lor 5. Uno Beef - Chicken Cutlet is cheap and good!
3) Lor. 2, Blk 116 (abv Braddell MRT) Yong Tau Fu stall (cheap & good) must order their fried meat balls and wanton ichiban and Roast Duck/Chicken/Pork/Char Siew stall good too especially their roast meat yummy!
4) Lor 8, blk 212 Melben.. and the nite durian is here too!!! but bear in mind it's nt cheap..
5) Lor 5, tau kway... open till 11pm+, the chay kway teow also very nice!
6) Lor 8, Fish soup next to a western stall, the soup is superb.. i love fish soup.. i also frequent this aunty when i was preg!
7) Lor 4, blk 94 Meili (zi char), i tink ALMOST everything is nice there.. like the malay food also.. they serve the pattaya rice (egg wrap with rice) also yummy..., the chicken rice stall also.. i love it!!coz the char siew is not fat..*slurp*
8) lor 1, food market fried hokkien mee (tian tian lai), then there is this fish soup stall next to the famous muffins.. the fish soup is superb!!slurp.. .healthier choice.. then the muffins!!!wah.. really can melt in ur mouth.. very big & nice! must try.. also got this teo chew bao.. handmake one.. very nice.. the bao is super small.. but the filling is alot lor.. one mouth then gone!!! hahaha.. very yummy...
9) Lor 1, this is the coffeeshop next to the road where they sell the chicken rice inside?there is a stall selling ang ku kwey.. the peanut one is very very nice lor!!! the filling also alot.. sold out quite fast..so must buy during lunch time.. =)
10) Lor 7, the beef noodles is super nice!!! the sauce.. is simply yummy lor.. hehehe.. also there is a stall selling peanut pancake.. the filling is overfilling.. when u bite... all the peanut will drop out!!! hahahah.. i love it.. but will not eat at home coz very messy! tink i better stop here.. hungry liao.. hehehe..

Are, i leave the rest for u to fill in.. hehehe..

dolphingal,
wow! great! ur listing got a lot of lorongs and stalls, can u indicate stall name or block no. for those u din specify?
How abt the TIM? lor. 5 which blk? any idea.

Dor,

I need to think.. hehe.. coz i only know how to get there.. but the muffins i know the stall name. it's heaven bliss.. =)the rest i need to go & see then i will know the exact blk & name of stall.. hehehe

Just bear with me first.. but whoever mummies know can also help to fill in the blank.. =)

Wow! such a long list of good food. a pity none is frm central. haha.. must go n try those lor food one day!

wow, all these good food talk...If I were to try everyone of them, I will be very very very fat.
Have tried uno beef and tian tian lai long time back. Din go back anymore cos the standard has dropped esp for tian tian lai. But agree with Gal, the muffins from heaven bliss is marvellous. Can call to reserve too but I din jot down the number. I would say that the muffins are better than that popular shop in thomson (choc and spice something like that)

rlrenn

central food so so, more to just eat for energy to move on to carry out the daily tasks...

But there are some still quite ok food like
1) hdb foodcourt - rojak
2)hdb foodcourt - the soon kuen stall next to the rojak
3) hdb foodcourt - i quite like the bread stall,I think the stall is called Gideons
4) coffee shop next to tree temple - popular stalls are the wanton mee and the zi char stall
5) coffeeshop near to the old ntuc - the one popular stall there is the western food
6) blk 177 coffeeshop next to raffles medical - the goreng pisang
7) blk 79 coffeeshop - zi char stall
8) rows of shops behind the bossini and giordano stretch - you can have the roast duck meat noodle, porridege from tiong bahru, tiong bahru chwee keuh,
9) tiong bahru bao along the stretch of bossini

helo all, away so long cos very nervous for my DS, today finish my detail scan, everything fine, its a girl, due still 12/12.

I saw the claypot rice lor 5, stylobb, can pm me the tel number??

We must organise food trail!

Eunice, the muffins better than choc and spice?! Then must try liao!

HDB foodcourt - the czi char stall next to the mutton soup is pretty good - my friends and I like the fried bee hoon and beef dried hor fun.

Lor 5 hawker centre tau hway is at the corner facing the road, next to Bi Tian, or next to toilet!

Ryes/Dor, Tims, don't know which block, it's not Lor 5, should be under Lor 3 (might be blk 95?)? The cluster of shops opp Kheng Cheng. Walk towards the end. ARE can tell you which block since she can smell Tims from her place! Haha!

StyloBB, the FnC at blk 95 really cannot make it. I was curious as it's suppose to be Brit recipe and it had quite a lot of awards! So tried it once and it was terrible (at least to me). Nowehere like a proper good Brit FnC. Tims does a far better job.

Fri night I have an app already...sorry.

okie... tis took me over an hr to compile plus rack my brains hor, so i dun care... all tpy mummies muz go out and eat till fat fat!!! hehehe... feel free to add in, juz post, i will collate.

Good food @ TPY
1) lor 1
a. food market daytime : fried carrot cake stall beside tian tian lai (traditional black/white), qing shan fried white carrot cake, tian tian lai fried hokkien mee, heaven bliss muffin (just follow the smell), teochew bao (big stall, you cant miss), porridge (with pretty lady boss), soya bean

2) lor 2
a. blk 116 (above braddell mrt station) : roast duck/chicken/pork/charsiew, yong tau fu stall

3) lor 3 & 4
a. blk 93 : thai stall (seafood horfan, fried chicken wings), wanton noodles, kway chap
b. blk 94 : chicken rice shop (roast pork/charsiew/soy sauce chicken), corner coffeeshop (bak chor mee – daytime oni)
c. blk 95 : tim’s (western/nepalese food – pork ribs, chicken cutlet, steak, homemade cakes), coffee shop – meili zi char (crabs, fried ji ding beehoon/horfan, boiled soup, fish head curry, claypot chicken), malay zi char (BBQ seafood, pattaya rice), chicken rice (char siew/roast pork), indonesian economic rice

4) lor 5
a. standalone food centre : tau hway, char kway teow, claypot rice (62565708), satay, BBQ chicken wings, satay beehoon, fried spring chicken with mushroom yam rice (ala ke ai ji), fishball noodles (close very early), fish soup
b. blk 51? : UNO beef house (steak, fried mashed potato ball, chicken cutlet)

5) lor 7
a. beef noodles, peanut cake (dolphin to advise actual addy)
b. blk 4 : 24hrs prata shop

6) lor 8
a. fish soup next to western stall (dolphin to advise actual addy)
b. blk 212 : melben seafood (crabs, esp crab beehoon)
c. ocean fish head curry
d. durians

7) central
a. HDB Hub food court: pastry stall near escalator (cakes, breads), rojak (famous in sgp), beef noodles (previously frm beach road)
b. If got budget : Ichiban sushi, crystal jade (now got steamboat buffet after 8pm, seafood additional charge. Current promo – yummy BBQ spring chicken at $10 for takeaway)
c. Coffeeshop beside tree temple : Ben zhen wanton noodle, malay food (tauhu goring), bak chor mee/laksa/fishball noodles (same stall)
d. Sweet talk bubble tea shop (opp the coffeeshop, beside singtel shop) : milo pearl, coffee milk tea
e. HDB hub (fu hua/watson row) : tiong bahru bao, koi bubble tea (pearl milk tea)
f. HDB hub (row hidden behind Watson) : tiong bahru chwee kway, trishaw laksa, 2 wanton noodles/roast meats shop

ARE,
Thank you soooooo much for putting effort in arranging it! BRAVO!
I'll mk sure to print this list out for my wkends hunt.

okie... updated...

Good food @ TPY
1) lor 1
a. food market daytime : fried carrot cake stall beside tian tian lai (traditional black/white), qing shan fried white carrot cake, tian tian lai fried hokkien mee, heaven bliss muffin (just follow the smell), teochew bao (big stall, you cant miss), porridge (with pretty lady boss), soya bean

2) lor 2
a. blk 116 (above braddell mrt station) : roast duck/chicken/pork/charsiew, yong tau fu stall

3) lor 3 & 4
a. blk 93 : thai stall (seafood horfan, fried chicken wings), wanton noodles, kway chap
b. blk 94 : chicken rice shop (roast pork/charsiew/soy sauce chicken), corner coffeeshop (bak chor mee – daytime oni)
c. blk 95 : tim’s (western/nepalese food – pork ribs, chicken cutlet, steak, homemade cakes), coffee shop – meili zi char (crabs, fried ji ding beehoon/horfan, boiled soup, fish head curry, claypot chicken), malay zi char (BBQ seafood, pattaya rice), chicken rice (char siew/roast pork), indonesian economic rice

4) lor 5
a. standalone food centre : tau hway, char kway teow, claypot rice (62565708), satay, BBQ chicken wings, satay beehoon, fried spring chicken with mushroom yam rice (ala ke ai ji), fishball noodles (close very early), fish soup

5) lor 7

6) lor 8
c. ocean fish head curry
d. durians

7) central
a. HDB Hub food court: Gideon pastry stall near escalator (cakes, breads), rojak (famous in sgp), beef noodles (previously frm beach road), zhi char stall(fried bee hoon, beef dried hor fun), soon kuey (next to rojak)
b. If got budget : Ichiban sushi, crystal jade (now got steamboat buffet after 8pm, seafood additional charge. Current promo – yummy BBQ spring chicken at $10 for takeaway)
c. Coffeeshop beside tree temple : Ben zhen wanton noodle, malay food (tauhu goring), bak chor mee/laksa/fishball noodles (same stall), zi char stall (fish head curry)
d. Sweet talk bubble tea shop (opp the coffeeshop, beside singtel shop) : milo pearl, coffee milk tea
e. HDB hub (fu hua/watson row) : tiong bahru bao, koi bubble tea (pearl milk tea)
f. HDB hub (row hidden behind Watson) : tiong bahru chwee kway, trishaw laksa, 2 wanton noodles/roast meats shop, tiong bahru porridge
g. Blk 177 : goreng pisang, china stewed spicy duck tongue/neck/drum
h. Blk 79 : zi char stall (fresh frogs/crabs)
i. Coffeeshop near old ntuc : western food, hainanese stall

hey hey

where is this HDB Hub food court?
I often see long Q at the Koi bubble tea. what's so special about it?

I'm new to this thread. Moved here late last yr as my girl in Pri 1 here. I have 2 gals, one in P1, the other 3 yrs old. I am SAHM most of the time, work 2 days a wk, staying at Lor 8.The food list looks real good.TP is a food paradise!!

are
WOw!...impressive.
7f... include the selegie tau hway ...

I got another place... NASI PADANG.... next to the Bishan TPY Constituency... Rose Cafe or sth... love the beef rendang there.
Blk 128???

Lor 8 - I like the duck rice and the zhu zhar tang stall - think they are next to each other - at the hawker centre...

Muffins - bliss haven or sth... do u know the guy used to single handedly run the stall - used to be tze char... he did a mean dish of crab bee hoon but now changed liao.. I hvn't tried the muffins there before. Really beta than Choc & Spice??

The Blk 93-95, actually I walked back and forth there many yrs but never took note of the blk nbrs...hehe

ivy

ryes
You go towards Breadtalk, walk through the path/space, u wl see Body Shop, just ahead you see basement food court.
I love the beef noodles there, always add extra beef..hehe

seems like now the hot topic is famous food in tpy, very gd for me cos i married to tpy these few yrs only and stayed west all my life.. now time to explore..

oh ya can share some opinion & experience on birthday cakes, i very 'fan' over it..

Have u heard of Bakerzin kids birthday cakes?
http://www.bakerzin.com/Kids_cakes.asp

I'm contemplating about this

2724515.jpg

But their filling in the cake seems so normal. Has any1 tried their birthday cakes b4? Is their sponge cake filling nice?

Hi Eunice, StyloBB,

My gal is studyg in Pei Chun. Understand a few of you also opting for this sch. I've been a little busy with my P1 girl's life, so mummies with no kids in Primary sch first must really really enjoy the time tog with the kids. Once they start sch, aiyoh, even I get stressed too.....

eunice... yup, tats the store. and oh, i forgot to add in the fab you tiao i eat since young too. still think they are the best.

ryes... u can also get to the hub food court via lifts inside hdb, its at B1. i dun really fancy koi tea leh, but hubby say the milk tea is really nice and mags are raving abt their tea too. still prefer my ole stall as listed in my list. still prefer their pearls.

stylobb... yes, how could i forget tat famous stall! and also the roast stall also v nice. will add in.

hey kin... welcome!

orangeymum... i also v fan over cakes every year. bakerzin cakes very ex leh, and 3tier? can finish or not? i hv tried and like polar and bengawan solo cakes, but they are normal designs, with juz cartoon pics on top lor. u wan to chk the cake threads here or try the home bakers?

are
Actually the chix rice shop/stall at the beginning of the row of shops at Blk 85 is cheap and yummy too....

Is the Codfish village considered as well, not that it's super fantastic but the fishhead curry is not bad.

Then you must not forget Botak Jones that section...

I kinda like the zhu zhar tang stall at the coffee shop near to KFC... don't know which block that is...

There is an Ayam Penyet stall apparently at Fork & Spoon, their main shop is at Lucky Plaza, came with those newspaper feedback, tried it recently but not impressive, the chix was rather dry.

Restaurants like Hog's Breath and Sizzler are there - considered?? Food's not fantastic, price is high.

U know the coffee shop near the old ntuc, there used to be a porridge stall there.. it's gone.. disappointed cos I like the porridge... done by an old man..

orangeymum
Nope, no experience w/ bakerzin except for their cheesecake and choc cake.
Incidentally my boy saw the decorated cake that day and he says he likes it... I say I will check the cost.
Only tried ecreative, cake avenue, prima, swensen's and The Patissier for my kids so far.. what can I say - the adults want taste, the kids want the look of the cakes...haha
My 'fan' thing is cos my kids celebrate their b/days same time as their b/days are v near to one another.. imagine 3-4kg of cake!! but I get swensen's so at least can eat ice-cream and not all cake....

kin
Yah me also concerned when they go Pri, macham so bz and so much to do..... nope, I'm not opting for Pei Chun at all.....

stylobb
defnitely ice cream cake nicest but boring.. hehe 1st child 1st birthday.. once in a lifetime experience for me too.. wanna look for something special for memory.. so like 不枉此生

Hey kin

pei chun is a hot hot sch in TPY man...Am keeping track on the balloting this month. Keen to get my girl in CHIJ TPY, but very slim chance as I stay near to 2km away...sigh...

You are staying within 1km away from pei chun? Share with me your experience in registration leh.

stylobb, ah, then I know where that underground food court is liao. But each time I pass by, is always closed leh, hmm..maybe someday will try there. I tink the rojak stall was on tv before is it?

Is there a botak jones in TPY??? HOw come I duno!!!

orangeymum, go for this shop call Patisser (duno spelling)something one. They have very very nice 3 tier cakes..

Hey, those who manange to get their kids into peichun, congrats! I'm still keeping track of the vacancies number, going for the ballot next week. Ryes and jfoo ... good luck to you too

Thanks Are for the collation. This will be a must try list for my lunch :D By the way, where is the Lor 1 market ? I want to try the muffins.

To contribute a bit to the list .. thre is a stall selling yam cake, noodles and porriage open by a Hongkong guy in Lor 4 market .. always long queue. Their steam rice is good. The Yong Tao Hu stall in the same market is cheap and good too.

Kin,
Welcome to this thread. Am @ lor. 2 a ftwm, also keen to know how's ur reg process leh. Think i nd to do voluntary work nxt year if am gonna put my gal there.

Ryes,
i jus added Botak Jones in the list under Lor. 1 Chk it out.

Orangymum,
wow the cake u post very impressive leh. u really 'teng ai' Chelsea very muchie hor. btw, hvnt rx ur respond rgdg the facebook invitation.
my gal 1yo bd cake was fm emi cake shop http://www.emicakes.com.sg/ their design is not fantastic however their cakes r soft and not too sweet.

Good food @ TPY
1) lor 1
b)Near SPH, the cafeteria is known as 2nd Street Cafe, u can find Botak Jones and other stalls selling nice food too. They have a bar counter serving Hoegaarden and other brand beer as well.

2) lor 2

3) lor 3 & 4

4) lor 5

5) lor 7

6) lor 8
c. ocean fish head curry
d. durians

7) central
a. HDB Hub food court: Gideon pastry stall near escalator (cakes, breads), rojak (famous in sgp), beef noodles (previously frm beach road), zhi char stall(fried bee hoon, beef dried hor fun), soon kuey (next to rojak)
c. Coffeeshop beside tree temple : Ben zhen wanton noodle, malay food (tauhu goring), bak chor mee/laksa/fishball noodles (same stall), zi char stall (fish head curry)
f. HDB hub (row hidden behind Watson) : tiong bahru chwee kway, trishaw laksa, 2 wanton noodles/roast meats shop, tiong bahru porridge

orangeymum
Yah the ice-cream maybe boring, we had it this year, cos we had a lot of cakes...hehe

1st yr -ecreative for boy
2nd yr -bengawan solo (cos I was heavily preggie)
3rd yr -prima for boy, Cake Avenue for twins
4th yr -prima for boy (he wanted the cars design), prima for T1, swensen's for T2 but actually hor, it's for us adults to eat lah...hehe

Patissier cakes taste good too! but rather exp... esp for the 3D ones... they need minimum kg due to the designs...

ryes
Basement, yah I think they close early cos they cater more to the office crowd.. sat, wl close at 4pm. I think best to go on Sat for lunch...

Botak Jones - how come u dun know...keke.. nvm, not too late! Can go now!

dor
What about the corner shop opp Botak Jones that area? Used to hv good tze char, the bald headed guy but now is running under his son... not sure if std has dropped.

janice
Is this the one opp the Catholic church? Yes, the yam cake is nice!

Oops, memory lapse...
1st yr -ecreative for boy
2nd yr -bengawan solo (cos I was heavily preggie)
3rd yr -prima for boy, Cake Avenue for twins
4th yr -swensen's for boy, The Patissier - one each for the gals
5th yr -prima for boy (he wanted the cars design), prima for T1, swensen's for T2 b

stylobb,
u mean the tzechar stall besides Botak? Still there i like to makan there coz cheap and food abv average. my fav dishes r curry fishhead, herbal chicken, fried longbean wif mince meat. However, dun order their stingray and sweetsour pork.

Hi ryes,dor,
urm...so sorry, i never said earlier....pai seh, my husband was ex boy, so we got phase 2A. So, I really can't share much abt the reg process.

However, from what I know, PeiChun, being housed in a new school building has a big intake. Last yr's intake was big, with 12 P1 classes, each with 30 students I think. They have P1 and P2 in the afternoon session only.
Even though I can't share on the reg process, I'll be happy to share if you would like to know abt what P1 is like in PCPS....

stylobb,

oh so many years of experience..

glad to hear tat pattiser cake taste good..

dor,
can u invite again? i think i click ignore cos i dunno its u.. hehe
not i 'teng ai' her, its my grandmother, which is Chelsia's great grandmother.. she is sponsoring so ask me go order something nice.. if its me i got no budget lor.. lolz

anybody got high chair to sell?

wow! so much food....muz go food hunt already.

Heard Peichun is a very good school. When must start doing volunteer service? Think just managed to be within 1km from it.

Is there any gathering for TPY moms?

Precious have you pop?

I've always been getting cakes from bengawan solo but Pine gardens also have nice cakes but u might have to get deco on your own.

Saturday, we went to catch the NDP rehersal, it was good, feel proud of Singapore.
Glad that my gal enjoyed so much, however she was frightened by the fighter jets flying pass us hee! Other then tat all went well. The next day she wanted us to bring her there again and kept humming the 'We r Singapore' and asked me to sing her our national anthem too so funny.

orangeymum,
oredi text u via facebook. o if great grannny is gtg for her 'baobei sun' better buy a good and presentable one, otherwise 'zhor ma' will be angry hee!

hmm... couldnt post at all over the weekends. lucky mod correct the error.

our list is getting longer, foodies!

Good food @ TPY
1) lor 1
b. Near SPH, the cafeteria known as 2nd Street Café : Botak Jones, Italian food, Japanese egg omelette rice, zi czar, tandoori chicken. They have a bar counter serving Hoegaarden and other brand beer as well, most popular is magarita.

2) lor 2

3) lor 3 & 4

4) lor 4
a. blk 85 : bak chor mee, roast meats
b. blk 84? : cod fish village (cod fish head curry)
c. market : yam cake/noodles/porridge, yong tau hu

5) lor 5
a. standalone food centre : tau hway (open till 11pm), char kway teow, claypot rice (62565708), satay, BBQ chicken wings, satay beehoon, fried spring chicken with mushroom yam rice (ala ke ai ji), fishball noodles (close very early), fish soup

6) lor 7

7) lor 8
c. ocean fish head curry
d. durians
e. food centre : duck rice, kway chap

8) central
a. HDB Hub food court: Gideon pastry stall near escalator (cakes, breads), rojak (famous in sgp), beef noodles (previously frm beach road), zhi char stall(fried bee hoon, beef dried hor fun), soon kuey (next to rojak) è closed on sat frm 4pm, whole day on sun
f. HDB hub (row hidden behind Watson) : tiong bahru chwee kway, trishaw laksa, 2 wanton noodles/roast meats shop, tiong bahru porridge, selegie tau hway

dor... great your ger liked the parade. tats the purpose of the parade one lor, to make you feel "loyal" to your country. i've been to a few, and enjoyed myself trememdously each time. now chingay is the one not so exciting liao, more like for tourists.

dolphin... i did go eat prata on fri nite afterall! sorry ah, din jio cos i rtn hm late, had to rush for ah ger milk, so juz tabao and go. but the prata is quite decent. nice, in fact, cos he made mine oni aft i order, so still piping hot when i got home. hv been craving for it ever since, but hubby on nite shift again... gotta wait till his shift's over.

orangeymum... i understand how u feel. last yr my MIL also wan to sponsor cake, so we had to get a good size tho its too much for the num of guest. muz be "presentable" lor. hubby say never mind lah, juz order lor. but i chose polar cos i love their cakes and their shop easy to collect mah, at 116 oni.

are,
wow lucky u gotta attend the NDP a few times. this is my 1st time attending never in my life i'd been to any of the NDPs rehersal, preview or actual day sigh! This yr lucky coz hb unit organising hence got free tix.

btw, gotta fren in car trading, currently has a Honda, Airwave 1.5ltr dec 2007 yo car (5 seater) to let go @ S$47k ping me if u r interested, i'll pass u his contact.

dor,

added.. heheh now i know ur name n surname.. u signed up GE run already? SC?

rlrenn, are
thanks for the suggestions will go check it out..

after seeing the food recommendations, i went to TIMS rest.. Look!!

Chicken Cutlet ONLY $5!!! Damn nice

2734762.jpg

200gm Sirloin Steak $8!!!!

2734763.jpg