TOA PAYOH mummies

i'm safe n sound!!
the place is near but not that near..
poor marriott.. kena twice liao.. suay ar.. i oni heard abt it 2 hrs later.. my hubby is supposed to go that area for an interview in the afternoon.. heng ar..

LNT doesnt have linking memory and another game, I forgot which one...but other than that, they are almost similar.

I dont like the dim lighting in the classroom leh, makes me very sleepy..haha.

Hi Jfoo, thanks. Will contact the contractor soon
Thinking of seeing feng sui in the house too ...

Playgrounds ... the playground behind the church is nice but too much mossies. But funny .. only I got bitten .. the kids are fine hehe ..

Hi Enuice, ya the girls really play well. See if we can arrange another play dates for them. Perhaps can meet again in the playground. Will let you know she can luckily go into Peichun.

Hi StyloBB, oh I'm thinking 1 trip is abt $5 during non peak hour. N if I take cab, no need to pay the bus driver the holiday fees. So I think this should be cheaper right. But then, who to bring them to school also another issue.

Haha Eunice .. ya loh lugging the 3 around not easy. We usually have to go out in a big troop haha. Sometimes even the taxi driver also don't want to take us. But anyway, I'm used to it. I even brought them to East coast, Sentosa and shopping alone with the maid.

Janice, driving instructor contact, his name is Mike 90080158. He's patient and systematic in his teaching (my friend took lessons from him). In his 40s or maybe early 50s already so experienced instructor. Will pick you up from your place then head off to Kaki Bukit to drive circuit and round.

Intending to send my daughter to Pei Chun next year too. See whether can get in within 1km, phase 2C. Good to know that a few mummies have kids going in next year, can get company lor.

Precious, your gal can blade? So cool? Where is she learning? Btw, what outdoor places have you been bringing your gal?

STylo, I'm living in blk 79 and yes, handling 2 on my own and still haven't quite adjusted to life as stay home. It's really not easy with two if I want to teach them. Bringing them out is easier to just let them run round in playground. Now my gal in quite a difficult stage of discipline.

Ascension
My gal going to N2 am class. Registered but I'm still thinking about Newton life as it seems less regimental. Any comments?

Ryes, what is linking memory about?

Mummies!!

I have good news. This evening took a 7 seater prime taxi and then found the taxi driver very friendly and nice and then he mention he has a group of regulars. So I asked if he sends kids to sch and he said he does for 1 at 7am daily!

So I asked if he would be keen to take up our assigment sld we really go ahead, he said he is okay with it. But then problem is, the max is
2 adults + 3 kids
1 adult + 4 kids
(that is if I remember correctly).

I told him we definitely have more than that amt keen to have such service and he said he can arrange with his friends if needed too.

There's no booking fee, nothing. What you pay is as per what the meter shows. He will fetch kids to sch and fetch them home. I briefly mention the timing to him as well for PM.

so how so how? Stylobb, any idea as far as you can rem, is it in Aug must confirm the sch bus already?

Another prob for me is that, all of u stay at TPY area, so near near. I'm staying at Jalan Bahagia area and have no idea who has kids gg to ascension...

Hey babe, linking memory is whereby the child is shown a series of pictures and they form a story which dont make any sense. Then the child is expected to arrange the pictures according to what the teacher has shown.

Eunice,
i meant preggy...u mentioned u got nausea in the morning....

Ryes,
Re: LNT linking memory, they do practice the latter which is the child is expected to arrange pix according to what the tr has shown. Abt forming the story maybe they'll introduce a later stage nt sure either perhaps i'll chk wif the administrator.

Sunday morning brout my gal to Blk 97 playground and another one behind it. There's no one there except both of us haha! But she enjoy playing anyway. Evening intend to bring her to Bishan Park play her bubbles machine alas the carpark was so packed wif cars we divert to lower seletar reservoir instd it was so much better.

babe
I find not easy to be sahm... unless one has all the help and all one needs to do is to coach the kids.

ryes
Sounds good! Do you have his contact.. thru him, can ask if he has other driver friends who wl offer such a svc?
That kid that he fetches, does the mom flw?

One way is around $5+.. then the return journey leh?
What will the mommy who is accompanying the kids do, wl she hv to take bus home herself??

The good thing is there is no need to pay for June/Dec...

Any mommy willing to go with my kids AM session if this is feasible...keke....

Confirm the school bus - no need... only just fill up form if interested during orientation in Nov.

Was it you or Char who asked me about P1 preparation? Saw the teacher and she said yes, they prepare them for P1...

ryes
Need to find out the logistics for the return journey... cos I'm sure the school won't just allow a cab to fetch the kids back like that.
Maybe can request for a car decal.
For parents or gramps, even if our kids take school bus, we can request for a car decal and complete a form that gives the authority to fetch the kids.

Precious,
Sha's very bold and attentive too. Can see she's serious abt it so cute. I took up long time ago and after lesson completed i still dont know how to balance properly and blade gracefully shy mann.
Maybe when my gal reach 3yo i'll tk up the lesson 2gether wif her hahaha! Wonder any instructor teach both kekeke!

miin
Glad you are ok. My hb's going there next mth for a co event.

janice
How to solve the kids going home? As mentioned to Ryes, gotta hv some system how the cabdriver can bring the kids home...

Anyone in AM session?

linking memory - I think the point of the game is to teach them a way to remember items in sequence by making a story to link each item. A simple mnemonic devise. Much like how we used to remember the chemical table in science class - by making a sentence or word using the first letter of each chemical compound. The word/sentence can make sense or be absolute nonsense so long as it is easy to remember.

hI STYLOBB

yes yes, you brought up impt logistics issues to discuss too. I didnt ask if the child's mother followed the driver, I think she didnt, coz he picks the child up from yishun and sch is at clementi.

yeah, I guess the mother who is following the driver would have to take a bus back to home. Anyway, fr ascension just few busstops only mah.

But the return issue abit problem hor. Means the mother have to be at sch, waiting for the child and other kids. The other parents would have to fill up form to say this mother is authorise to fetch the child too.

He gave me his namecard, but then I want us to discuss first before contacting him.

From TPY HDB to my place, it is about $5. Then from my place to ascension, I think is another $3.

Ryes, StyloBB, Janice -

Ryes and StyloBB, thank you for the update. It was good information.

I know StyloBB's twins + boy are in first session (8am), how about Ryes and Janice?

Anyone in the second session (11:30am)? Mine will be in this session. I am staying at Lorong 1.

Anyone who fits the timing and location, please continue to post your comments here. I am definitely keen to pursue.

Regarding journey back to the respective homes, what are your ideas?
ie. Parents / grandparents / caregivers will take turns to bring the kids back?

StyloBB - How was the meet the parent session? I heard from my friend that it was last Saturday right?

ryes
Yeah, looks like it's not so simple......
maybe u ask the driver if he brings the child back/forth alone. How old is the child?
And if your that driver drives 7-seater prime taxi, think his charges will be more? assuming he asks his friends who also drive 7-seaters.

Quite siong for the same mother to go/back forth leh...

I don't know the cabfare from School to TPY.. must make a round or not?

Primarily will need one person to fetch/accompany the kids back in the cab..

workio
I think it'll be ideal if one person is in charge of bringing the kids back in the car/cab.. best arrangement is the person goes to the school, waits for the kids and return with the cab driver.

Not so easy, hor??

Meet the parents session is ok... we met up with the teacher and the chinese teacher. They will mention about the child, bring up anything they notice. But nothing serious for my boy lah, except to pay more attn instead of socialising with his friends..hahaha.. workwise, he has no problem. Teacher says he can draw v well.
Surprisingly his chinese work is also ok.

What I mean is to make things easier, Mommy A can go with the kids, Mommy B will fetch the kids - of crse then Mommy B has to be a SAHM...
Mommy A can be FTWM or SAHM.

Dor
It is supposed to be a group lesson,
but for the beginners (before they master the basic rules, and can balance well), normally it would be 1:1 or even smaller group.
It all depends on individual's progress.
Then the instructor will group them as according.

StyloBB - Yes. Noted your points. You are right. Not easy.

Mummies - I think most importantly and before we move on to the next step, we need to gather CONFIRMED ASCENSION mummies, SESSIONS, EXACT LOCATION & whether mummy/gp/caregiver can TRAVEL TO & /OR FROM?

For me:

Ascension Mummy
2nd Session
TP Lorong 1
Caregiver can travel to / from every Tuesday only

Anything else which I have missed?

hi stylobb
as mentioned,
the fee we pay is as per meter. It starts from $3 if not wrong, instead of $2.80. No other booking fee etc are involved at all.

I think it is not worth for the person to stay in school with the kid for 3 hrs and then follow kid and other kids back home leh. Not forgetting this is long term. Besides, I think ascension may kindly ask the person to leave also.

Workio, my girl is the same session(PM) as you. Problem here is that if mummies/caregivers take turn to pick kids etc, my girl has to be familir with the stranger first to be comfortable leh. Plus I think for the first few days of sch, I would prefer to tag along first, until I see that she is settling well at school.

LIke workio mention, we need to plan the route also to see who can match with whose route.

ryes
Of crse not asking the mommy to stay in school lah.. but needs some coordination.

I think the 1A/4C does not work in my situation. I was thinking, if either my kids or the other mommy's kid is sick, that means we cannot fetch.. Maybe for morning still ok but aftn, if the other mommy is not going, who wl fetch my kids home?

The better combination is the 3-4 kids are not siblings.. or 1 pair of twins and 2 other kids... and at least 2 of the mommies gotta be sahm...so if anything happens to 1 sahm, the other one can still be on standby....

Actually any chance of finding someone who drives a mini van and picks everyone at one place?? eg at one block? But I don't think hv so many kids to make up one mini bus... or get a bigger cab that can take more kids and at least 2 adults...
got such thing or not?

Stylobb,

Yeah, you make sense there too. My hb was asking to buy the hafei mini, then can ferry all of you. BUt then to drive such a big van to me so scary leh.

Was also thinking for the AM session, the same driver can also send the kids back home after dropping off the PM session kids too. This is good for those who opt for 1 way.

how how???will work or not? Very gan chiong liao. Worst case I take public transport with 2 kids, coz I am staying jut 1 busstop away. BUt very shiong for me.

hey hey,

anyone keen to get toilet seat sanitizers?
http://www.luvthyself.com/contact%20us.htm

3 sets and above free delivery.
Toilet Seat Sanitizer is currently retailed at S$14.90/set.

Coz now my girl starts to use public toilet liao and I'm very paranoid abt how the previous user use the toiletseat...so I'm gonna get it.

But I wonder if shops like sasa sells cheaper or not. anyone knows or can help check out?

Stylobb

i was searching the thread on toilet seat sanitizer and saw you used sureclean before...where did you get them from?

There's this girl selling sitsef, another sanitizer at $6 for 15ml. Thought quite ex, coz was told sureclean is $7 for 20ml. Think the cheapest is still the luvthyself $14.90 with refill somemore...

ryes
Then we can call the van "TPY Ascension Tods Bus" haha.....
Your hb's idea is good (drive PM kids there, fetch the AM kids back) but who wl drive the kids back?

I have no other suggestion, as initially quite a nbr of mummies are interested in the carpool. My situation only works if it's a mini bus, or share with another mommy (but still has logistics problem if kid falls sick).
Besides the falling sick part, also holidays and all that, if the driver is not around, then it's difficult for the rest...

Sanitizer - yeah I was one of the 'pioneers' who used this product. I hv emailed the contact/seller, will see what the sales rep sales. Will let you all know.

It's good cos it kills germs but I don't ptrly like the lavendar scent. But I still use lah...

I know what you mean abt public toilets, scares the hell out of me. I always ensure they do this biz before we leave the flat.

Who else is interested?

ryes
I mean Sureclean, not the other brand.
Ok, there is discount if we hit 24 bottles and above. Price is now $8.90. Not sure if we can organise such things here .. or is it better to email me your required quantity and I will compile the order??

Hi Pam,

you are keen to get which set?
Sureclean
luvthysef

Hey stylobb, if we get the van, I'm the one driving lah. I'm sahm.

I searched the thread and saw the bulk purchase price is $7 that mothers bought. The company quote u how much?

I will probably go and grab the luvthysef to try, coz got refill pack leh and is just $14.90 for 20ml + 85ml refill.

I have also just emailed this girl who is selling the other brand sitsef at $6 (15ml) with postage to try out first.hers last btl, duno still have or not.

Will the girl still organize the sureclean? If response is good, can deal in bulk purchase. pm me to discuss if needed.

ryes
Looks like I'm not a good organiser...hahaa
$7.90.
I don't hv the contact for the organiser..
Can you search if there is any active one organising and at cheaper rate, then easier to do it there.

Van - how many seater is that?

Hi gals, if the santiser sale is on, let me know. interested!

Ascension
My gal in am session N2. Erm just wonder if the taxi mode is viable as dependent on mommy following and have to be till last stop?

Precious, can tell us more about the skating? My gal interested. Rates and where?

Babe, Orangeymum's hubby can teach at TPY area, so we're trying to get a group together. Interested? Janice's gal and my gal are both 6.

Oh, Daiso use to sell disposable seat covers but not sure whether they still carry it. Those were useful.

Precious, you use to engage the service of Amahs on Wheels right? Any good? Once a week? How many hours each time? Thinking of changing...

Dear Ryes

Whichever is cheaper? I don't think there is a diff, right? Just go with whichever the group decides on as I think we get a discount on bulk purchases. thanks for organising this.

Ryes

I m interested in the sanitiser. Whichever cheaper, will go with it.

Btw, my boy is in Ascenseion N1 morning. Dun seem to see anyone in the morning school though....

jcefoo

are u arranging for skate session??? my gal is 6 too My gal used to attended skate lesson but stop ...im lazy ..hehehe

Let me know the time, day, venue and fees ya.

woah this post is going fast. haven't posted for one day and so much to catch up on. i've been feeling so nauseous yday that's why didn't log in.

precious,
your sha is really gungho with skating and can see that she follows instructions well. brave gal too.

dor,
saw your facebook album, u're one stylo milo mummy.

Hey mummies

Re : Sanitizer
I wrote twice to luvthyself, but yet to get any replies. I sure hope the website is still working and they still receive emails via the contact.

They seem to work out as the cheapest and most value for $. $14.90 for 20ml + 65ml refill ($0.1759 = 1ml)

Sureclean
BP price $7.90 (according to stylobb's quotation)
($0.3950 = 1ml)

Stylobb, let me know if the girl replies back. Her price is much lower leh, maybe coz she orders in bigger qty? $7
($0.3500 = 1ml)

For me,I would probably go with luvthyself.
2007, it was selling at $9.90 for 20ml. But now got pkg, at $14.90.Let me wait and see if they replies.

Re : Taxi pooling
Was thinking I think for my case it might not work out, coz I dont stay at TPY, not even near any of you leh. Total fare for 1 trip might end up $10, and if share among 3 mothers, $3 1 way. 2 way $6.

1 month (22 days) * $6 = $132 already.

Unless I have whampoa mothers whose kids also study there, but is so hard to find a whampoa thread...

SHould any of you decides to go ahead with taxi pooling and need my contact, pm me, I can let you have the number