TOA PAYOH mummies

hi Mums, Nothing against LNT but please be aware that the company's directors and maybe even the company are being sued by the Shicida Method company. The following article appeared in the ST on 5 May:

Extract:

"The current dispute arose after the centre fired its former general manager and acting chief operations officer, Mr David Ng Pak Siong - Mrs Khoo's younger brother - in June 2007 for allegedly misappropriating money.

According to the centre, Mr Ng had 'improperly retained' more than $160,000 paid by its customers. No police report was made.

Mr Ng then set up his own company, allegedly poached instructors and parents, and tried to persuade the Japanese institute to work with him.

The Shichida Method then sued Mr Ng, his company, Trio Centre, and four of its instructors. It alleged that the defendants had breached their duty of confidentiality to the centre and conspired to set up a rival firm to get the franchise for the teaching method. ..."

For full ST article, see link attached.
http://www.singaporelawwatch.sg/remweb/legal/ln2/rss/legalnews/61921.html?utm_source=email blast&utm_medium=email

The court case just started on 5 May. According to articles on the internet, LNT was "previously known as Trio Centre." Not sure if this just means that the ownership is the same or whether there was just a legal change of name. If just change of name, if Court decides that Trio/LNT is breaching SM's copyrights, then there is a question/risk of whether LNT will survive and if not, what happens to your deposits and payments. I'm not saying dont sign up but please be aware of the possible risks. You may want to check with LNT what their side of the story is.

Ling (precious_babes) - thanks for the care, so sweet of u. Im still in super MS stage man.. recently never post cos no mood sia. Im 9th week now, and the MS is peak but hope will subside soon.

I will be going OSCAR end of this month, am super worried now.

Miin,
Probiotics are good. Too badm gal don like banan and honey. My gal super picky I gave her the SOLORY multidophilus freeze dried probiotics. Add small amount to milk and is tasteless :)

Sabrina
Parents and Teachers must work together to cultivate the children. Yes, maybe if they are in the childcare (the whole day), they have more programs, BUT how much do they absorb? If activties conducted by the teachers are not interesting, then it might kill the child's interests too. Hence it would be better for you to shortlist a few centres b4 making the decision? Most important, your girl must enjoy learning in that sch, and the teachers are patient, knowledgeable and understanding. And it also depends on situations, for FTWM, childcare services (half/full day) would be the best choice. As my objective is to let her socialise, play, hence I chose PCF for her and also since it is just next to my block, very convenient. At PCF, her Mandarin has improved a lot, most of the time she is communicating with her classmates in Mandarin. At home, I try to communicate with her in Mandarin, and read more Chinese books to her.

Miin
Can try whole grain pancakes, cereals etc.

hey ling, your dried probiotics sounds very 'chim'.. hehe.. wat is it actually? i dun feed my kids bananas everyday, they eat it according to their mood. i'll try honey and see how. nowadays i feed them ceelin vit c and seven seas multivit. they like it cos it's orange.
my colleague told me he had itchy throat for some time and recently after he took honey, his cough recovered.will try honey starting from tom.

precious, my gal takes cereal but not much either.

ivy, what's OSCAR?

pooh,
yeap bout fm the same fish stall. she recognise me and whenever i passby her stall and wave at her she'll noe wat i want. I always buy the same old fish threadfin....not sure wat other kinda fish besides cod fish to give my gal.

Pse let me know if u all have other recommendation.

Organeymum & Dolhpingal,
Nice to see you gals @ rob sales this morning. Orangeymum, Chelsea (correct me if am wrong) is so sweet and adorable always smiling when I talked to her, she's not like my daughter during her 8mth cant sit still in her pram always want attention I cant shop in peace.
Dolphingal, Sky is big @ his age heehee! He look so cool leh in his bby seat hahaha!

Btw, the metal bedrail by 'Safety First' is a good buy. Original price S$90+ now selling @ S$50+. Isetan is hving tat on sale as well @ $30 but is the plastic material.

Char,
Does Robinson or Guardian carry Childlife Colostrum Powder? I bout Manuka Honey but hvnt let my gal try out afraid she doesnt like the after taste of 'honey'.

Btw my mil says a small amt of birdnest is good as well, am not sure, mummies do u hv any comment on this?

BTW, any mummies here keen to share on the kumon worksheet? Coz if alot, can request for courier service at $7 to be delivered, then we can split the $7 among us...

Miin, oscar is to test for down syndrome.

U all remember ur recipe ok, when my baby born i wanna ask u all how to make baby food.

Ryes,
Thanks for your feedback. Actually u can buy off the rack dun hv to brew so troublesome. But if u want here's how:
- Soak birdnest in warm water till it turn soft
- heat water in the steamer
- add warm water in the clay pot, birdnest (after soaking), rock sugar and few slices of ginseng and place pot in the steamer.
- boil for at least 3hrs and wowlau ready to serve liao

Wat is this kumon worksheet about? need special training to teach the little ones?

Hi Sabrina, can you pm me the contact for the leapfrog?

I guess birdnest is to soothe the lung huh? Prob a cheaper option might be the white fungus with rock sugar. My girl don't like birdnest (hehe save money), so we usually give her the white fungus instead.

Hey dor

thanks for sharing, but I'm not a good mother to boil such things lah. haha. Opps..

The kumon worksheet dun need special trainings. Simple simple worksheets lor, can let our kids practice. I tried to laminate some tracing worksheets and then it's ruined! Coz har, I yet to buy those washable markers, then my girl go and use the board marker and draw lines liao...

Someone recommended a marker to buy from popular..I forgot which one leh.

Janice,
Can share wif us how u prepare the white fungus? Ijit the same method as birdnest? as in soak in warm water till it turn soft.

Ryes,
U can look out for the tag 'washable markder' at the stationary section shld be quite easy to find. Robinson selling as well @ toys dept.

dor,
childlife colostrum can be bought from GNC here but very ex. so i bought from vitacost spree, much cheaper. initially my gal's PD recommended to take solaray probiotics but it's also ex from GNC and frm the PD direct so i decided to try chidlife and it's been so far so good. just 1/2teaspn once a day into her FM. u can try 1/2teaspn of manuka honey for your gal. she may not like it initailly cos too sweet but keep trying. my gal initally didnt like it but persistence paid off. she takes to it now. re: bird's nest, i saw at EYS that bird 's nest is very good at removing phlegm, prevent cough, asthma. however quite ex so i go for white fungus. i usually add a bit. soak one small pc in normal tap water for about 20mins then snip it into tiny pcs and add into her porridge and let it boil till porridge is cooked. white fungus is good for the lungs. the amount of white fungus i use is about 1 tablespn. alternatively, u can boil it with rock sugar until it becomes like bird's nest consistency. but do buy the better quality type cos it will soften after long period of boiling. the cheaper ones are still hard after boiling for long time. i bought from hock hua chinese medical hall at central. i duno how to see if good so just ask for assistance.

Char,
Thanks for sharing. Btw, Vitacost Spree is it the name of the label and GNC carry as well? Am a member hence maybe may hv some kinda discount.

Hi Dor, char has given us a detailed preparation tips hehe .. usually I boiled it with the rock sugar using the slow cooker. If your child has phlegm, rock sugar will not be advisable. Instead of rock sugar, my mum will cook it with lean pork and add a bit of salt and soya sauce to taste. Another option like what Char has shared is to put the white fungus into porriage.

Another good one is the luo han guo
Manuka honey is also good but must be very persistant loh. I'm a very lazy mum, so till now have not really see the full effect of manuka honey.

Giving my gal try new stuff is really a challenge. She'll push out the foregin object wif her tongue together wif the rice/porridge sigh....There's once i mix a little birdnest in her porridge and she can detect it aiyor tell u ah....

dor

think that vitacost is the name of the online store that they get the item from. coz i tried that before and its really cheaper then buying it in sg!

oh me going for the sale tomorrow. :p heheh will finally be leaving my boy with hubby and going alone! 1st trip out without my boy! but then i got to be back by 2pm as hubby has a meeting to attend at 3pm... :p

Janice I have pm you the contact.

Actually what kind of chinese herbs can give and is good for 2yr old child? I think boy and girl the kind of herbs to give is different?

dor,
sorry for not being specific. like wat jasmine said, vitacost.com is an online drugstore where some mummies order from thru sprees. the childlife colostrum at GNC costs about $33+ per bottle for members while buying from spree costs about $20+ per bottle incl shipping fee, if i rembr correctly but def cheaper than buying from GNC.

sabrina,
i give my gal pao sen once a week. i add into her porridge. or u can add 2-3slices of it onto a fresh frog with 2-3 pcs of bilberry and steam for about 1/2hr and let your child drink the gravy. sometimes i also alternate yang sen into my gal's porridge and huai san too whc is good for respiratory and digestive system.

Yu Ren Sheng having 20% on birds' nest (bottled and raw form). But not sure whether still available. I was there last week to stock up a few bottles. I give both kids but not every day, just alternate days then I'll stop for a while before restarting. I don't want the body to rely on the products too much.

White fungus - if you don't want to cook these in the sweetened form, you can use it to boil soup. Add nan bei xing (apricot kernels), mi zhao (dates). Both are good for coughs. Pork ribs. Sometimes I add carrots.

Sabrina, I think "common" chinese herbs are fine for both sexes. Common ones I use are huai shan, dang shen, fu ling, yu zhu. Also gou ji zi, dates (red and black), mi zhao, nan bei xing.

Manuka honey I'd normally add a bit of lemon to "unsweeten" a little.

My hubby took G3 juice (it's a mixture of various berries) and the kids took them for a period of time too. That apparently helps to boost up the immune system. Doesn't come cheap but after my hubby took it, he went for a test and it really showed a great improvement in his immunity level. Anyway, not suppose to take it long term. Take for a period of 3 months then stop a while then start again. Like how I give the kids birds' nest.

Wow this thread is going fast.

Char
Thanks for the advice. Think i'll just get a bottle of colostrum powder from GNC and wait for a spree or lobang any mummies who are getting from vitacost. Can i check where do you get sambucus? You mean yiu can get the med from PD without consulting him? My boy's seeing the PD at TMC and we always need to consult him (his consulatation already $50) to get the med for neb. I'm wondering if i can get it outside. Is your gal using Pulmicort and Balmoral? Sorry for so many qns again.

I got the Eu yan seng card if any mummies like to get anything from there. I used to get their 'hou ning' supposingly for phelgm but very expensive $66 for a bottle which will finished with 2 feeds.

Think i'll drop by for the Popular closed door sales (i'm a member) for some books for my kiddos.

Some Chinese books recommended by Berries, for 3-4yrs old.
1)河马给小布龙穿新衣 by Zhang Qiusheng
2)小蝌蚪找妈妈 by Lu Liyan
3)鳄鱼怕怕 牙医怕怕 by Gomi Taro
4)鼠小弟的小背心 by Nakae Yoshiwo

ling,
can leh, i always buy my gal's med for nebuliser w/o seeing her PD. my gal uses pulmicort. actually pulmicort, ventolin vaporiser, atrovent can be bought from pharmacy but have to have doctor's prescription letter. btw, one mummy is currently doing a vitacost spree. i'll be helping my cil to order thru her spree. i've joined her spree b4 and she's reliable.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2443667.html?1242228002

j_foo,
your white fungus soup recipe sounds yummy.

Hi Another TPY mummy here..I have 2 gals (K2 and P1) staying near TPY Hub.
I moved in TPY 5 yrs ago and I liked its location and amenities but it is getting more congested in the recent years..heavy human traffic. I usu avoid the central on weekends..give me headaches when I see the human crowd (hee).

Sunny,
Thanks for sharing wif us this insightful news abt LNT. Aiyo, dun noe will it close shop or not hee!

Janice,
Thanks for the tips for feeding, i'll try out.

Jasmine,
Thanks for clearing the air hee! me mountain tortise hvnt try online order for multi-vits products.

Precious,
Wow! the bedrail @ikea so cheap ah! is it made from metal or plastic?

J-foo & Char,
Thumbs up for ur knowledge of chinese herbs and vits. i noe v little of these. At times i'll throw in guo zi qi and yang sheng in the porridge tat's all, also advice fm mil.

Any mummies ordering fm Char's online recommendation? I prob will try out the Childlife colostrum powder.

Char, where can I find G3 juice sourcing for myself and gal. Apprently am taking VitC but doesnt seems to sufficient.

dor,
dun mention, actually i also duno much about chinese herbs, just sahre wat others shared with me. the qi zi and yangsen in porridge is ok liao, simple simple is suitable for kids in my opinion. as for G3 juice i'm not sure where to get, perhaps j_foo can enlighten us? u know u can try sambucus if u want, supposed to be a dietry supplement to help combat cold etc and even if u get the cold u recover faster.
http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Way-Sambucus-Syrup-Original-8-fl-oz

your gal can try the sambucus for kids.
http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Way-Sambucus-For-Kids-Berry-4-fl-oz

or u can search thru vitacost for any probiotics supplement for yourself?

Thanks Dor, miin, dolphinegal, Char, Ling

Miin, my hubby bday also on 26Dec ha ha.

Dolgal, ya this is no.2. first one is 13mth now.

Ling, i got no morning sickness same as the first one. Otherwise no joke man to hav to manage one active toddler.

Hi Ivy, welcome to the thread. When is ur baby due? mine is on 25/12. Take as much rest as possible. MS is something u can;t really do anything abt it, Hang on there is will be over.

heard u gals talking abt G3. it's quite exp.. i know Nuskin has it.my hub is a member can get it if u gals want. =)cheaper to buy at member price. =) i took it after delivery.but to me nothing.. haha...just like drinking fruit juice.. =)

welcome Bebe to tpy thread.. more and more mummies coming on board.. =)

Yup G3 is from NuSkin as mentioned by dolphingal and yup, it's ex but so far worked for my hubby as I can also see the improvement. Hubby's a member since he's been on two courses.

Dolphingal,
What is the price your hb can get as a member?

Char,
Acually am quite reluctant to let my gal try new things...she's not so 'easy-going' when come to food sigh...For childlife colostrum vits at least its in powder form hence can disslove in her milk or in any liquid.

my mum use white fungus in chicken soup with herbs.. yummy..

7/11, really?? u can consider having your bb (maybe induction or c-sec.. hehe) on that day too.. my gal is supposed to be 24dec but overdue 2 days.. hehe

M&M, i'm thinking of going popular closed door on sat too..

this morning let my kids try 1 teaspoon honey.. ok.. thanks god.. :p will try again tom..

so shiok hor.. i c so many of u going for the rob n isetan sales.. really envy lor.. as i'm preparing to go jkt liao, cant add on my load..
no excess shopping.. (+no $$ too..) boo hoo hoo..

Wowl looks like ot many dec babies in our group! Next time can throw a group birthday party!

I also feel like going to popular closed door sale but guess may be crowded.

wow..so many young mummies here..I bet I must be one of the older ones around..(chuckle)
My K2 gal is also a december baby, 24 Dec to be exact (she was supposed to be Jan but decided to come out earlier).

bebe75,

are u sure u are one of the older ones?dun forget ur kids are already P1. so u not old leh. =)

Miin,
u gg to popular close door sales?where is it btw?mabe i wanna go also..can bring in guest?=P