TOA PAYOH mummies

Ivy, at this point of time, colostrum is sufficient. No need to supplement. Once the milk flow is in, see how it goes, whether there's enough to meet the demand, if not, then supplement during night feed. If you want to BF all the way, then even as you supplement during the night, you pump as well to stimulate the supply.

char... it's $72 for members, $77 for non, 8 sessions.

http://one.pa.gov.sg/CRMSPortal/CRMSPortal.portal?_nfpb=true&_windowLabel=CRMSPortal_1&_urlType=render&_mode=view&CRMSPortal_1_action=ACMParticipantMaintain&_pageLabel=CRMSPortal_page_1&IdProdInst=14695226&CWT=

janice... car sick for normal travelling or long distance? i'm super prone to car/sea/plane sick, so i always take novomin, which can be bot from pharmacist. i rem seeing an article on children novomin. u can chk w pharmacist. i also bot tis two wristbands tat you wear at the wrist and there is a button tat presses on your accu point. not sure if it really works cos i use them all together and i din really get sick. if you want, i can lend you the band to try, since i dun think i will need it again. u can tell the boys its some super power wristband tat they must wear then no car sick. hehe... :p

ivy... i agree w sunny. better to chk if got engorge. my sis also kenna, she tot no milk, so keep eating things to produce milk. end up, its engorgement and the extraction was so painful for her, she had to give up bf.

are,
ic, thnx for the info. i see how lah, i'm so lazy when it comes to working out, that's why i'm so fat. :p

re: NTUC discounted vouchers, as enticing as it is, i'll give it a pass cos once bitten twice shy. a fren's fren told her that she could get ntuc vouchers at 10% discount and gained my fren's trust by initially giving her the vouchers after her first few orders. so my fren told me and other people about it becos can help to save but in the end it was a scam. that woman took all of our money and didn't provide the vouchers. she was eventually caught and jailed but we couldn't get our money back. i lost $900. so now i'm really scared about this discounted vouchers.

Hey mummies,I'm selling some Japanese Fortune Cat Pouches at almost half of the retail price , and some cheap cartoon coin pouch and pencil cases at $1 - $3 each. PM me if you are keen. Great as Xmas gift

ivy,
Congrats! 1st and 2nd day in hospi i gave my gal mixture of BF and formula, however, i stopped BF rite after 1mth coz low supply. BF needs lots of determination, if it is really unbearable or very tiring for you consider changing to formula.

Hi are, tks for info.

Hi Char, thanks for highlighting, now I'm wondering where did the lady got so many NTUC vouchers ...

Re : Car Sick.

Tks for advise ... I wanted to buy the wristbands for the boys, but it says from 3 onwards. So I did not try. Both boys got very bad car sick ... can even throw up during short journey from toa payoh to Novena. They are fine in MRT and Buses but not cars. Haiz .. now without helper in the car, I've got to hold 2 plastic bags for them !

hi all!
not sure if anyone still remember me. i've finally moved to toa payoh lor 8 on sunday. still recovering from the stress and tiredness of moving house. while i'm expecting #2, i've over exert myself that leads to bad cramp and i'm on bed rest now till i feel much better before i starts to unpack.

want to check if all of you is there any good GP or PD around TPY area ? i know nothing and need to get some info just in case need to get a doc.
and anyone knows where is selling nice bak kut teh and fish slice beehoon ? i ate the bak kut teh at central which is ex and not very nice. for these few days have been eating at coffeeshop downstairs or central! didn't know where else i can have my dinner. sigh ..

Babyrainbow,
Welcome to TPY!
Btw, lor. 8 has lots of nice food such as the fishball noodles and roast duck and pork stalls near the toilet facing the traffic light, fish slice soup besides the fruit stall, fried kuayteow corner stall and nxt to it is wuxiang. come the famous Ocean curry fish head and kuaychap in the kopidiam near POSB ATM, last but not least Melban crab rstn.
If u r tired of lor. 8 try out lor. 3, 5, 7 some of the stalls do open till late. In the day you may try lor. 1 food ctr, the fish slice noodles @ lvl 2 facing the hdb flats is my all time favourite.
Btw, some of the mummies had made contribution and came out wif a TPY Makan List ( a long one) you may wish to go thru our previous post and chk it out. sorry i cant remember when it was posted, perhaps sometime in May?
Do take care and have sufficient rest

Dor, yes it making me depress, its 4 days now and i found out i have low supply and did not supplement with formula early enuff and breast depleted, so now no matter how i feed she just not enuff and cry..

now using a medela supplement device to breast feed her, so hope she continue to suckle... i cry on the 2nd 3rd, am giving up but hubby say just try another week and see how. tml will buy a pump and try to express, at least no milk can stimulate.

tats why i not online for so long.. dun even have time to sleep.. so finally can come in and see any advice. Do pm me if anyone got advice or ever similar issue before.

Ivy,
do not be despair.. i was like u previously.. i was also very depressed n tired coz no supply for the first 3 days then my son cried n cried coz not enuff to drink.. i even went to see a lactation consultant.. but after that i gt so much supply till i got so engorged till i wanna burst!take it slowly.. if nd to just give some formula.. then u still continue to let ur gal suckle.. every 2-3hrs.. it really helps! =)

hope it helps.. =)
take care n DUN give up! =) there is medication to boost supply.. check with ur gynae.. =)

Ivy, lots of fluid, rest and don't stress, that's the way to go. I know, easier said than done, but hang on in there, like what dolphingal said, who knows the next thing, you'll be bursting with supply! Keep getting the baby to suckle, tiring for you, but that's a good way to stimulate supply. ALternatively, like what I mentioned before, supplement with formula at night, but you continue pumping. I used the pump throughout both pregnancies and even when my hubby woke up to do night feeds, I still faithfully wake up every 2-3 hours, every night, just to pump. I had so much supply that I was giving it to my nephews. Same for the second one, though I must admit, less faithful...woke up every 3-4 hours, haha!

Papaya soup worked for me, doesn't matter whether with fish or pork, it's the papaya fruit. That's why they say, want fuller breast? drink papaya milk.

Need help, give us a shout, I'm sure one of us can come round, right gals?

ivy,
i was experiencing the same as you during the 1st week. kept letting my gal latch on every 3hrs and she'd suckle for 1/2hr at each breast and then fall asleep. i thought she had enuf but once i unlatched her she started to cry and when i latched her on again she would suckle and then cry whc made me realise that my supply was not there for her demand. i was so adamant about totally breastfeeding her from before my gal was born right until she was delivered that i realised that i was putting too much pressure and stress on my self that i fell into depression whc led to depletion of my supply. i'm not here to discourage you on BF but try whatever methods the mummies here give and if your supply finally comes in then good. we all know that BM is the best whc all of us mummies would like to give as much and as long as possible but if cannot work then choose the alternative whc is FM, don't stress yourself too much over this. this was a painful experience for me when i wanted so much to BF my gal but couldn't and i eventually told myself that FM is also good since i myself grew up on FM and am doing well.

Char, yes im the same prob with you, it was depleted cos i was so stress and tired. she suck and cry. Im going to try till next week see how.. dun have enuff rest... wake up 2-3 hrs to feed is tiring.

Gal.dolphin, i have take the medication, trying to remember to take cos now busy with getting name to register etc etc.. so many things to do.

J.foo, tml getting a 2nd hand pump and try to stimulate also.

Hi Ivy, don't give up, and don't give yourself too much stress. Usually for first child, it will take a week or more for the milk supply to build up. Other mummies have given very good suggestions ... so don't give up. Its ok for baby to be on formula while waiting for your milk supply to build up

Hi Precious, 1 boy on car sick and I'm carrying the other. Now sourcing for another 2nd hand car seat, hopefully can help to feel better. So heartpain to see them feel so sick during every car ride

Janice
Poor thing!

Ivy
Maybe you can try Fenugreek from GNC/Nature Farm to improve milk supply.
Massage both breasts.
Drink red longan tea/fluid after each feed.
For my #1, my milk flow started to increase when she was 2mths old.
I almost wanted to give up but glad that I did not. Manual/Electric pump did not work for me at all.

Dor thanks for the recommendation! the lor 8 you are talking about is around block 2xx one right ? i'm staying between lor 8 market and lor 7 market.
must write down and explore tpy liao. today went all the way back to redhill and have my fish slice beehoon. haha

ivy, try latching your baby 2 hourly. never let your baby stay on once side of the breast more than 30 mins. you have to wake your baby up whenever she fall asleep and latch again. use one of your hand and lightly compress your breast and let the milk flow so your baby will suck. is normal that baby cries once you unlatch. actually they are full but they just wants comfort sucking. newborn baby tummy is only a walnut size. so they get full easily. they just want mummy smell and BM taste. try pacifier and latch again after 2 hours. don't be too stress up and enjoy breastfeeding. stress can make your supply go down.
try not to pump milk out as baby is the best pump. latch as much as possible whenever baby wants. to increase supply, you can hand express or pump for about 10 mins to sitmulate your breast to produce more milk. but never express before you latch on your baby. breast must be full when you latch baby on. over supply i not ideal too as baby could not get the hind milk.
best to avoid FM as FM makes baby full and didn't latch as much as they wanted thus can't help to build up supply. need not worry as baby will help mummy to build the supply. never forget to wake up at night to pump or bf. even you give FM you have to wake up at least 3 hourly as is not advisable to leave breast longer than 4 hours of not expressing and breast will stop producing milk.
surf around www.kellymom.com for more info on breastfeeding. they do have forum which they do one to one answer of questions.

can anyone advise wats e signs of weaning for bb who is still bf??
i think my boy may b weaning off soon..but nt very sure.. one breast is still producing while e other side hss bcme smaller n less supply..=(

precious
u bf ur gal till 2.5yrs n its direct latch??hw u latch when go out??she wont bite u?

oh any mummies gt suggestion where to go for a short trip?m thinking of bringing my 13mth old bb along smewhere in april...

Gal.dolphin
If she bites me, then I will stare at her. And tell her not to do so, as it is painful.
If your boy is eating more solid food, then you can nurse him less.
I always bring along my nursing shawl when outside.

char... a year ago i also so lazy, tats why went to sign up cos will force myself to go since already paid. now if i hv to miss, i'm so sad! hehe... its not oni abt losing weight, i signed up to get my heart pumping and to build up muscles, cos so unfit tat climb afew floors of stairs already panting like mad. i still need to carry my 18kg ger, so if weak muscles, i may hurt myself easily.

re NTUC vouchers : oh no! were you scammed by "xiaobai" living in yishun too? cos i was also part of her scam, but i was really lucky, maybe she took pity i got special child, i'm one of the few lucky ones she refunded, maybe oso cos i oni $300. but tis seller i get my vouchers from, its COD on meet-ups only. and the first time i hv my own vouchers, so i could verify tat its authentic. i've bot from her since last year. i din bother to ask where she get it from, cos i dun believe its stolen since its all serialised and i can use it w/0 any problems. can say the same for other sellers on the forum now cos i haven't dealt with them before. this seller of mine can meet in toa payoh so very convenient. i usually get $1k to share with my parents and sis, can last us at least 6mths.

ivy,
ur sign of depression is common, me too cried during my early confinement due to stress (low supply of bf) and also a wake-up call for me tat there's a 360degree change fm my usual lifestyle. i took months to come to term.
Yes, give yourself few weeks, if supply still low convert to formula, dun put too much pressure on yourself.
Your hubby now plays an important role in terms of mental and physical support, let him know how u feel and that showing his TLC is appreciated especially during these period hee!

Hi Ivy, like what other mummies had shared, don't give up.. my supply came only on the 6th day and i direct latch in hospital. only when we came home and my bb is crying coz i dun hv enough milk for her, i supplement with FM. no choice coz she is crying and my aunt and CL say give FM for time being so i give in.. but i din give up, i still pump even though i can only pump out alittle milk, can say its only a FEW DROPS.. so miserable lor.. but i do massage my breasts and latch.. u hv to massage ur breasts with warm water to stimulate milk flow and when u pumping, u hv to massage n compress ur breasts too. works for me, u may like to try..

btw, any mummies can share with me remedy and food to avoid for cough?? my gal is having cough nw.

Ivy, if pumping got difficulty in the beginning, like me, can try to hand express the milk. milk comes out more easily this way for me but very tiring for the hand. after a few times of hand express, I feel the breasts kind of soften and milk flow becomes easier. You can then let baby latch on again or use back electric pump. must push breast from outside to center like you are pushing the milk from outside area to the center then squeeze the areola for the milk to drip out into container.

don't stress lah, if need to supplement with FM, give lor. always let her latch on long enough during feeding time before giving FM, so maybe she gets this idea that "hmmm..I must suckle hard enough then I can get my feeding..." so her suckling stimulates your breast flow, at the same time u oso don't starve her. OK ok I don't know whether a newborn thinks or not, this is my own thinking only. The other mummies, don't throw eggs at me, at least, this works for me ok?

Don't be mistaken that I had an easy time when I first gave birth ok, me only trying to cheer you up with my relaxed tone. I had to struggle through before I provide you with my enlightened method ok? I was crying all the time, from beginning to even when baby was suckling peacefully and my milk flow established, I keep thinking my baby was so pitiful, my hb so pitiful, my mum so pitiful, and a lot of other nonsensical feelings. think I post-natal depression for a while. luckily I didn't really ki siao. managed to snap out of it when my bb grows older.

dear all, really thank u for the advices, yes i have gave in, giving FM mean time, rather than seeing her screaming in hunger.

But am really stress and depress.. i start to wonder if im really cut out to be a mother. I really miss those free and easy days. Miss those days with my hubby and can just do anything we want.

are,
i duno who she is as its was my fren who is the middle person. my fren lost the most becos she being middle person, had to pay back from her own pocket to ppl to asked for refund. but good that this person you're getting from is COD but i'm still very scared, no offence.

ivy,
i felt exactly the same way. that i'm useless for not being able to BF my gal, not cut out to be a mum and felt so alone even though my mum & hb helped me out after they came back from work. like dor, i felt so shaken about the fact that my life had turned around 360deg. no freedom to go out, or sleep as and when i like, or do nothing or wat i like to do with no kid attached, wanna BF my gal but couldn't, kept pumping and latching on also low supply. and becos my gal always tended to nipple-feed despite how much i try to unlatch and get her to suckle at the aerola i had cracked nipples whc was so painful. i felt that i can't seem to get anything right. i even felt nervous being alone with my gal. i too suffered from post-natal depression for about 6mths. after the BF stopped, my gal suddenly didnt wanna drink milk at all at 3mo, she kept crying when i feed her, she'd rather drink water instead. and when time to wean she decided to drink milk and not wanna eat. now also got problem getting her to eat and she's 33mo. hence now i know that being a mum is never easy and i thank God for being able to overcome those problems and let go of certain things now. and of course, i couldn't make it w/o my mum's and hb's help and support. i'm not saying all these to scare you but to share with you that there are problems to face with while being a mum so dun fret. we all learn each day about being a better mum to our kids.

do share your feelings with your hb and family members and get wat ever help u can and rest well. try wat ever methods of stimulating your milk flow. one of my fren expressed for almost 2yrs becos her boy couldnt latch on. if cannot then dun stress yourself but enjoy your baby's company.
like wat precious said, you'll take a while to get used to motherhood. spend time with your baby and learn his "pattern" and things will smoothen out over time. i'm sure you'll be a great mum!

It does take a while to adapt to motherhood, having a baby around changes all your timetable, your plans.

I was thoroughly expressing for both kids, had to lug my pump along everywhere I went. Every 2-3 hours, must find a room and pump. Anywhere I went, I had to make sure I get back before "time's up" (like Cinderella!!) otherwise I'd be leaking like a tap!

My daughter had colic for the first couple of months so she kept crying despite being fed, being changed etc etc. That wasn't a time I looked forward to esp after so many sleepless nights, that was why I made sure she was off night feeds soon, very soon. But of course, by the time she was off night feeds, which was close to 2 months, the colic also ended! Haha!

Motherhood is a life-long learning process, at each stage, there will be more new things to learn, more to discover.

Be encouraged by all the mummies here, we've all come a long way, and nobody has had it easy I'm sure. We all started from point zero. So keep going Ivy, enjoy every step of the way, take things slowly and most importantly don't stress.

rlrenn, remedies that may help include chuan bei fen, nan bei xing, rock sugar and chinese pear skinless (the big brown-ish ones) double boiled. Yu Ren Sheng has hou ning which works if there's phlegm. If the cough is just at the beginning stage, bao ying dan may be sufficient.

Generally chinese physicians will tell you that ALL fruit must be avoided. For me, I normally keep apples, papayas and pears going, but cut the amount. Dairy products should be avoided too cos that can cause phlegm.

char.. no offense at all lah. i also v scared since i kenna one scam b4, had so many sleepless nites. juz tot wanna intro tis lobang to tpy mummies cos hv helped us saved a lot.

Char, how long did u BF then?

thank u pple, seems like its the path that all new mother face.

Jfoo, why did u choose to thoroughly express instead of direct latch? I told my hubby i wanna give up latching.. but he say like tat i might have prob stimulate milk flow.

very sian...

Ivy, both kids had problems latching so bo bian. I had abcess at some point and didn't realise until it was at such a stage whereby they had to do an op to drain out. The lactation nurse I saw at KK was shocked when she saw the state of my breast, she was like "you mean this doesn't hurt?" and I was going "well, not really..." It was only when she said I had to go immediately to SGH that I realised how serious it was. This was during my first pregnancy, about 2 months down the road. I carried on BFing though, my hubby would drop by twice a day to collect expressed BM for my daughter. My 2nd pregnancy I was really careful, checking every so often for lumps so that abcess doesn't take place again.

You won't have difficulties stimulating the flow, well, not for me anyway, my supply was more than the demand, I had access in my 1st pregnancy for nephews, and 2nd pregnancy for my older child. It's just more work cos you have to wash and sterilise the parts, also not so convenient when on the move.

rlrenn, forgot to mention no chicken or eggs. Some even say fish. Not sure about the latter but definitely chicken.

j foo, mine is supply is still low no matter how much my daughter demand. Really i think supply vs demand doesnt work for me here.

Morning she can suckle non-stop cos very little milk to make her fall asleep. The moment i give her FM, she will sleep at least 3 hrs.

Looks like i might have to opt for FM already.

Jfoo,
wow! salute you for your perserverance.And the experience that you have to go thro must be painful. I got the matasis for my no.2 too.

ivy, even though I bf both my girls for 2 yrs, i also felt that I had low supply. When I express out, the ss really ding dong from 45ml to 80ml (only) each time. after consulting a few mothers, I decided to borrow a really good medala breastpump, to pump both sides, to build supply. It helped to build my supply to 90-100ml each time, after stimulating the breast after each feed. Sometimes, I pump in one hand and bf the other.... It is your choice whatever you choose and don;t let others pressure your decision.Sometimes feeling v stressed also leads to low supply. You also need to drink a lot more fluids.
If you do decide to give FM, go ahead. Don;t feel like you r a lousy mum.We all already have a hard time through all the experiences. What's important is that you enjoy and bond with your baby. There are many kids I know who are fed on FM and are perfectly healthy. And I , and on the other hand, who is a mummy who bf both kids for 2 yrs plus and both my kids now suffers from asthma,allergies and bad skin. So, don't stress yourself up:> YOU ARE GONNA BE A GREAT MUM! We ALL ARE, that's why we are sharing and supporting one another here...:>
If you do want some articles to read, here's a good local site : http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/tips.html

I agree with Kin, doesn't mean BM= perfectly strong and healthy kids and FM= less healthy and strong kids. Perhaps give him as much BM you have and the rest supplement. So give BM first then FM to top up.

YUp, my friends also wondered how I can "dong" the pain it must have caused, but funnily enough I didn't feel it as "pain". I was still pumping as per usual and doing all the household chores. And I wasn't running a fever. But thank goodness the BM I was giving my girl wasn't contaminated. By right shouldn't be drinking from the infected breast. So during my hospital stay, I was expressing from the operated breast and discarding the milk. Luckily supply from one breast still enough to keep my girl satisfied. The horrible part was having to dress the wound after the op. Had to change dressing so often cos it got soaked so easily. At first went to visit our family doc who changed dressing for me. She'd ask me to go over to the clinic after I expressed so that there would be minimum leakage as she dressed the wound. But that didn't really work cos soon after I got home, the whole gauze would be soaked through. Eventually she taught me how to do my own cleaning and dressing, firstly save money and secondly, can change as often as needed. She asked me to teach my hubby so that the cleaning can be really thorough but my hubby found it rather yucky, haha!

Kin, do you have a good air purifier at home? I find that it seems to help those with asthma and air-borne allergies. Amway Atmosphere works really well.

Ivy
Take it positively.
Most important your girl is healthy and happy.
Don't give stress to yourself.
If you are not relaxed, the less chance to have more milk supply.

Jfoo
I'm feeling like a Cinderella too.
Every 2-3hrs I have to nurse my boy.
Bringing my girl out alone, I have to plan ahead so that I am able to rush back home to nurse him.

ivy,
i only BF my gal for about 1.5mths nia and from the start i already had to supplement with FM. go ahead and express if you think it'll help increase your supply. sometimes your own gut feeling can be very accurate. see, j_foo and one of my fren managed to expressed throughout for a couple of years.

j_foo,
JTS, one chinese physician told me that citrus fruits like oranges cause phlegm while sweet types like papaya, pears, bananas don't. but of course eat those sweet fruits in moderation. and oh, he said honey doesn't cause phlegm. about the fruits part, i guess its true cause a GP & my gal's PD told me that citrus fruits do cause phlegm.

jfoo, good purifier, I bought a hepa one from the doc. IT helped in the sinus and dust. Not too bad. I also bought a Rainbow vacuum cleaner 3 yrs back. I think, that is the biggest help so far. It can clear away the dustmites from the upholstery, the bedding, the curtains, the mattress, soft toys.... etc. It was worth the buy. plus it is also an additional air cleaner...

I think you are one strong mummy!! It was have been really messy and amidst all that stress and all you still able to supply with one breast!!!

Char, I think jfoo mentioned that the "white part" of the orange takes away phlegm and the onrge pulp itself causes phlegm. You know, I tried out an experiment once. The westerners believe so much in the OJ(orange juice) and ornages that they really take a lot of it. NOt sure whether they do so when sick. I reckoned that when the kids are really sick, then need a boost of vit C. So there was once I tried, when my girls were sick, I gave them oranges and kiwis to take. My bet was boosting their injured immunity would make them recover faster. At the point, I think my girl was5 or 6. The effects wasn't so obvious, neither was the phlegm,(maybe it was a small flu and cough), so I just didn't think abt it anymore.

mothers, thanks for the encouragement, i feel better this 2 days already. By being realistic with what i can do and as long as she gets her milk, put on weight thats most impt.

BTW i manage to accumulate 90ml of express BM, and she tool 50ml and slept hahahahhaha, my hubby so happy. Going to continue to try to pump and accumulate, once got enuff, then give the EBM rather than FM.

thank u all. oh let me upload her picture.
3378347.jpg

Ivy, that's great! HOORAY!!
And the baby looks so angelic

Cough - citrus fruit, definite no-no. Even bananas can cause phlegm. Safest by far is apple, pear, papaya.

hehe thanks. When she hungry she become jack jack in the incredibles. My mother in law call, i told her about my DD, she say oh.. just like Ah leong.. which is my husband -.-

Hey Ivy, congrats...
don't be so stressed up .. its ok to drink FM if BM is not enuff. I was even more stressed when I had my twins, with one can't even take FM as he choked easily. BM will increase gradually. Prob u can take the
fenugreek supplement to increase the flow or drinking Papaya fish head soup daily.

Pls massage as much as u can with warm towel after u had express your BM. I had 4 times of serious breast infections during the 6 months of expressing BM. Very very painful experience.

ivy,
she's cute, resemble mummy or daddy?

tell u the truth till now i still long for my freedom....however, when i see her (my gal) smile, laugh, play etc. somehow it overcomes all my blues.

u will start to enjoy when ur gal respond by looking and smiling at u when u talk, sing, play with her.

most important dun be afraid to ask for help fm your hb or relatives to look after ur gal while u need a break away from her at times. it really helps alot both mentally and physically. also good to spend some private time wif her hb to keep the love burning too.

thanks janice, i will continue with the fenugreek and hope the supply increase, now i pump is 50ml, but she need 90ml liao.

Dor,
her eyes is daddy, i got big! eyes she got small eyes, nose not sure... LIPS definitely mine haha thick one.

Actually when i see her satisfied face, im so happy.. so i think she not hungry is most impt.