Support group - Miscarriages

Angeline my AF went late for at the most 1 week. But now the flow not so much comapred to the other time, I wonder if this is normal.

Vivi,

Egg will stay "alive" for 24-48hours (thereabouts, I think) after being released. Say you take your BBT on Mon morning 8am and it's low, and on Tue morning 8am and it's high. You can conclude that you O sometime between Mon morning after 8am to Tue morning before 8am. So if you BD within the 24-48hours after O, still got chance to strike. So best to BD immediately on Tue morn rather than wait till Tue night.

My friend made an interesting observation. On a particular day, she took her temp at 5am and it was low. She went back to sleep and at 8am when she woke up, she took again and there was a 0.25deg jump. She asked me which temp is accurate. I told her she could have O between 5am to 8am. And told her that if the following day's temp remains high, then she can be sure that she indeed O between 5am to 8am the day before. And based on her observation, she had really caught the O hour (rather than the O date).

hee hee thanks OP for the clarifications but if supposely need to BD in the morning I think my hubby will freak out ha ha. Moreover no time wor.. need to go to work.

Wow didnt know there is so many things to note while charting our BBT.

Vivi,

Cos there's only 24-48hours, and you don't know exactly which hour the egg is released, therefore best to BD asap. But if cannot also nvmd lah. No need to stress out too much. After you catch 1 to 3 cycles of O, you may see a pattern like, you generally O on the 14th or 15th day of the cycle. With this info, you will be able to time your BD just before your expected O lor.

chin,

Logically, I thought that is the case. Cos you see, the quality of the egg and the sperm depends on the age of the parents. Upon conception, the cells will divide/multiply. So if there's any abnormality, it is really determinant at the point of conception, not so much at the point of delivery. After conception, the mother's body simply provides nutrients and conducive environment for growth. It doesn't mean that if the mother's body does not provide enough nutrients or the environment is not conducive for growth, it will then cause DS leh. Make sense? Maybe you ask your gynae next time?

My gynae gave me this appt card of sorts where he will attach the scanned pics plus some notes on the appt dates, measurement of bb, how many weeks along etc. On the front of the card are my details - Name, Addr, etc. Also on it is my DOB and current age (rather than age as at expected delivery).

Angeline,

Dont stress on missing AF. she will make her "bloody" appearance soon enough...

Vi, Anyway I like taking BBT because can really understand the body better. Also try and take note of Cervical muscus. They should coincide with your O dates as well. Good luck with charting! Just ask for basal therometer at Guardian or Watson.

OP, so your friend strike ald lah since she manage to catch her O? =)

Ling,
I'm so stress about all the stupid symptoms that is making me uncomfortable!!!!!!!! Arg haha!

Btw, how are you feeling now? Ready for next TTC?

Haha tell u all 1 joke, I intend to start charting BBT but always a fact that I forget!!!!

I will happily brush my teeth, eat breakfast, and OMG, i forget to chart again

Ling,

She caught her O hour and that was in Jan. She did not BD after that cos HB was sick. But based on her records, she did BD 2 days before her O date. However, no +ve results. For Feb cycle, she's been having fever closed to her O date, so BBT not very accurate. She has a boy who's coming to 2 yrs in June.

Angeline,

What's the very first thing you do in the morning? Stop alarm clock from ringing? Pick up and wear your specs from the side table? Put the thermometer there.

OP - Thanks for the explaination..The logic makes sense, and I do so hope you are right.
I will ask her this coming Fri, as I will see her after my Oscar. The thing is my birthday is in Jan, and we conceived in Dec..so difference is also just around 2 months! I highlighted this to the nurse who was asking me to make the appointment, she said they look at delivery timing. But then again, I should be asking the doc and not the nurse.

Joanne,

Yes, according to Shettle's method, BD 2-3 days before O if desire a bb girl. However, based on what I see, the 2nd BD is definitely <48hr before O. So no high hopes. I'll let you know if I get that far. :p

chin,

I was saying my gynae gave me this appt card which has my DOB and current age. It's current age based on the year - I'm born in Apr '76 and as at Dec 2009 when I saw my gynae for the very first time, I'm 33. So Age = 33 on the card. They did not write it down as 33yr 9mth, not to that level of detail.

OSCAR scan is not done by your gynae is it? How come har? I always thought gynae do everything.

OP

I think at TMC, the Oscar is centralised. The scan is done by the radiologist/ sonographer at the 4th floor. Then the blood test is done by someone else. My doc will interpret the results. This is the same as in 2005, when I had my boy. Likewise, last July, when I was scanned for ectopic pregnancy as they could not find the pregnancy sac. I guess my doc's equipment is not so powerful!

OP - Thank you, thank you. Appreciate that. Makes me feel much better. Anyway, a girl friend of mine (now pregnant at 39), also seeing the same gynae, also opted for the Oscar and her results came back ok. So she managed to also skip the amnio.

Angeline,

Put right beside your bedside..I do it so within reach and I pop it right in my mouth dont even off the alarm. Minimize movement mah.. lucky my hubby will off it because sometimes get irritated by the alarm sound after say 10 sec! ;)

Yes Yes ready for next TTC soon =).. ald going to see TCM this week first see what they say. My gynae say wait a cycle so better for dating so I also cannot wait for my Dowager grand entrance. Having said that I ald starting my folic acid and fish oil supplements. Hopefully we dont strike before the first AF because we are not using protection because hubby gotten used to no protection *faint* and our last few BD all impromptu *double faint* so I cant even get the protection prepared for him. Highly suspect this is his ploy now! Hmmphh!!

OP, Hope you see a girl in your next scan! They are so precious! Me too want a girl!! =))

Hey girls,
I did put next beside my bed, but still forget! hahaha see how serious is it, cos we dun stay in master bedroom, my MIL use it. so by the time i remember, I'm already working out walking to the toilet haha!

Ling, Vivi,
I cannot be as brave as u all, i just listen to my doc and use protection until now. I'm really afraid of any 'unhealthy accident' again. I'm also seeing TCM but the only diff i have felt is that bowels are more regular compared to last time as he said it's improvement becos the medication he gave me is to 'Bu Xue', so with better blood circulation, my body system will be better for next pregnancy.

Angeline,

Put it on alarm clock so when you need to off it you will see the thermometer instead =)

I think not a matter of brave.. after my D and C I stay off sex for close to 2 months. We were so afraid of disturbing anything and I can understand the fear. However mine current mc is a natural bleeding process which my gynae said 2 weeks would be sufficient to stay off unprotected sex because it is like a regular period where the progestrone decrease and uterine lining breakdown due to the lack of progesterone. Hence we just went ahead lah. I think up to individual on this. In regards to unhealthy pregnancies I did all I could to prepare for 2nd pregnancy with TCM and still end up with an unhealthy 2nd pregnancy. Sorta accept it is fated... sigh..

Hee Hee Ling I agree, what happens will happen eventually as long as I know I take good care of myself.

Like for me I will be charting my BBT and get in the mode first then by then can really try....

Vivi, Angeline

Can I know how how did you all calculate the expected date of first AF after D&amp;C? I also wanna calculate mine. Thanks!

Macaroons,

Seriously I also dunno. My doc told me is that i can start expecting AF same day as my D&amp;C.

But mine is over due by 1 week already. I also dunno the details.

Dear Macaroons,

This is what i get from web

menstrual cycle
You may resume a normal cycle immediately with the next period 28 days after the miscarriage but there is a great personal variation,
and it can take up to 6 or 7 weeks for your period to return, especially if you had a "natural" miscarriage (i.e. no D&amp;C or tablets).
It still may take a few cycles before your regular pattern is re-established.
Ovulation can occur 14 days after a miscarriage so you may wish to take precautions.

Macaroons,

No way can tell unless go for a scan and your gynae measure the uterine lining. They can also presribe some drugs to "bluff" the body in having its period. In my opinion best for it to come on its own.

Also unless is 3 months long otherwise no AF reporting is normal. My own Dowager took 3 months to come after my D and C... when I got my period it was a total relief and pretty normal as well. Just like a regular period.

If you are worried maybe go to the gynae for an examination? Fear only when after 3 months no AF appearance where there is possibility that there might be scarring of uterus also known as ashermans syndrome.

Angeline, Ling

Thanks for your explanation.
I hope my AF will come soon. Its torturing to wait and wait. I can understand why you people say its a relief when it finally reported. Im anxious also because I wanna ttc asap also. The scarring of uterus sounds very scary. Hope it doesnt happen to any of us.

Macaron,

Now sneaking in coz hubby banned me from forum ald. Duh!

If you natural bleed no danger of ashersman syndrome unless you do d and c than risk is heighten. Anyway is very rare and if after your regular 2 weeks check gynae give the all clear you should be fine. However during this period best is don't stress. I think I was rather stress and kept contiuning going to tcm until I decided to take a break and stop all treatment. It was a couple of days later my temp start to rise than I know my dowager will be here soon.

Will come soon... Must have faith

Ling,

I'm dreading to go TCM too. bah.

have to make appointment with gynae if after finishing this course of TCM, menses no come.. hais.

why is it so hard??

Lynn,

Why dont you go to gynae now? They will just give you progesterone to bluff the body to shed the uterine lining after the progesterone dose wears off.

I am sure Dr Wong will take excellent care of you. As much as TCM can helps but if it doesnt I think we need to go to the next alternative.

The more you stress the more the period will take her own bloody time.. pun not intended =P

Angeline,

He says I am reading too much into everything and after the nightmare and the crying episode when I woke up on Friday he sat me down on Sunday and told me no more forums *siao* he say too much information become more harm etc.. but I just love reading what! Anyways...say I stress but dont know and say if I dont want to work also can but must do something else like mind a business or something. I was like ai yoh just a nightmare and I got over it pretty fast why harping so much on it.

At home he is watching me like a hawk for now and yesterday only can see forum when he went for his bath.. but in the office.. he cant! ;) Ling 1 hubby 0! Yeah! So now I dont share what I read with him.

I am not submissive by nature just dont want him to sabotage my TTC plans so no choice got to be meek like lamb in front of him.. duh.. so not me!

Ok totally irrelevant on this thread lah.. *ignore hubby antics*

Huh Ling hubby banned you from forum, I will miss you leh....

Lynn why dont you just visit the gynae to give you a peace of mind? Rather than you worry here and there. Actually Lynn the first time when I took TCM I dont like the taste of the power medicine now I think I grew to enjoy the drink..... But just very ex that's all.

Macaroons for me I cant wait for AF to come because I want to start to try ttcing. Hee hee

Now the funny thing about AF is I think it ended like today no more blood or tiny bit of blood when I was expecting it to be like my normal AF which last for 7 days. But anyway now I realized that lately before I got preggie, my AF's cycyle seems to be shorter or rather lesser blood.

haha Ling,
I love you so much loh.. you are so cute.

Ya lah, in some way i agree sometimes too much informations = too much of unnecessary worrying(s).

I recently also always dream that hubby left me for others leh! haha jialat..

Hahaha, the last few posts are so cute. =B

Ling, if you dont post in this forum, we're gonna miss you. You are very well informed and is always assuring and calming us with your advices. Though I do agree that reading too much can make us worry unnecessarily. My hubby also told me to stop reading the forum at times. But I cant help it, I just have to log in when I have the time. At least reading gives me some emotional support.

Does taking TCM really delay the arrival of your dowager? I've been religiously taking bai fong pills wor.

Ling, just browse through the thread and where to get the baby asprin huh?
i will catch up with the rest of the post tonight as i am working. kekeke

by the way, Happy New Year to all! New Year and hope great start for all of us!

Anyway unless he is aware which thread I am in and coming in here to warn me than I will stop posting lah or maybe change my nick. But hes on duty travel every week and after the 3rd week is my turn to be gone for a week so heh heh he cant control my web activity! =P

I know ignorance is bliss at times but I also cannot help to think ignorance is stupidity if you can prevent something. Anyway will refrain from being Over drive mode...

Angeline, Goodness identitical dreams! Anyway wont lah.. just no babies occupied our mind than the hubbies takes over. Ha!

yaya long time no posts from you! You have clot problems or ?? I getting from drugstore in a spree and rather cheap as well. Less than $10 for 500 tablets. I have checked a lot of sites and is safe and gynae prescible them as well to preggies women to ensure their bloodflow to babies are good. However must ensure dosage is the below 100mg those kinda.

vi I think normal for period to be like that after D and C... maybe they did a really good job that clear out all the lining or something. Just be eternal grateful she found you faster... ;) and of course monitor next cycle.

Macaroon, I think bai fong wan works in reverse way. It infact encourages bleeding. Say you finish your cycle on monday and you should take by tuesday.. if you take somewhere later in the week it might prompt spotting or empress visit the 2nd time! I got an experience like that think 1 year ago or something. Freaked me out. After that asked the Eu Yang Sang people and the person told me cannot take halfway into a cycle.

If this is the case also must take care about TTC with BFW.. because BFW should have a shedding uterine lining effect and when it does if you really did conceive that month also the fear the fetal cannot implant along the uterine wall properly course might not be adequate for implantation.

Ling,
I guess so too. I always relate to my hubby about it, and he will also luff haha

I tot Bai Feng Wan is to be taken after AF? I quite amazed by it till now, cos last preg, i took only 1 mth and i conceive. Wonder if it's concidence .

Angeline,

Yes taken after AF.. Meaning you finish your mense cycle no spotting ald than immediately take.

Yeah Ling I also think that maybe the lining is cleared out that is why not much flow. But funny when the other ladies shared that they have a heavier flow though that worries me. I think I worry too much lor. Too much or too little also worries me. Hmm.....

Yeah at least AF come lor....

I also worried that taking Bai Feng Wan will cause problem since I am ttcing... so should I take? But I intend to take it after AF, 1 bottle per month.... so before O should be ok? Hmmmm what do you think?

Angeline I also dont know if Bai Fen Wan plays a part because my colleague also shared with me that the second bottle she took, she also conceived her second son.

She also takes a bottle a month. So wonder if this is a concidence.

Ling,

Speaking of asprin, I'm on Bokey - 100mg asprin, prescribed by my gynae. 24ct per capsule. Definitely more ex than what you can get from Drugstore.

ling, my 2nd miscarriage is baby stop growing. i just ask about the baby asprin as i never heard before. will ask my gynae opinion on this during my coming visit next month. anyway, i am schedule to go for chromosome test (aka gene teest) for both myself and hubby 1st week of march. hope everythign is A okay . right now, i am on duphaston to regulate mense. and i kept either forget or miscalculate the no of days to start taking the medicine. really Peng San!

but good thing is that dupahaston did improve my cycle (from 39 days to 30~31 days). should have been 29 to 30 days de but then i miscalculating or forgetting my med, thats y only get 31 days lidat.but then its a great great improvement. Ovulation also takes place 16th to 17th day of the cycle from usual 21st onwards day.

Hello all especially to OP, lynn, JTML and ladies who i chat with for the 1st time

and also i got really depressed and low morale during late last year after my 2nd time mc. and i start to pull myself out when i start signing for cake decorating course and push myself to go for exercise ( i gained toooo much weight) and now my mood has sort of brighten up and i hope to ttc starting in may soon

how u know u got clotting problem, ling?

Hi Girls

I think BFW has different effect on different people. For me, when I was taking it, it made my cycle longer - it went from 30 days to 40 days. I am not sure whether it was also the side effect of stress as well that my cycle went hay wired for a while. But I understand that BFW is supposed to strengthen the womb..or something like that. So I took it on and off last time when I was not TTC, usually after menses.

For my last miscarriage, my menses came back after 5 weeks. Just like normal menses. The previous round, it came back after 3 weeks - but was super heavy. Could it be because of the confinement food? I did not do any confinement the first round, but I did for the second round.

hello chin, ya, i agree BFW has different effect on individuals. for me, it help me sort of regulate my mense ( that mean maintaing no of day cycles) and it doesnt improve it aka shorten it ( cos i got close to 40days cycle during my 2 time pre-pregancy days)

now my relatives (inlcuding hubby side) have been asking us when is our turn to have bb... ~stressed man~. but i am optistic for my coming 3rd time TTC. Hope whatever my gynae advise us ( i am following it) is right for us

Yaya hope you will be able to succeed in your ttcing....

Sorry just to check for those that are charting bbt. I know how to chart when I printed the spreadsheet. How come there is figure like .35, .30, .20 and .90?

Then cycle day 1 is first day of AF right? Then during weekends do you still take temperature at the same time or slightly later since weekends can sleep a bit late?

From what I read on the box, bai feng wan seems like a "miracle" pill. Can help maintain youth and improve weakness.. dunno how true but im only interested in it helping to bu my body after miscarriage.
The eu yan sang ppl also say can only take when no longer bleeding. Then she advise me to take once every two days. I've taken a total of 7 pills, dunno when should I stop.

Vivi, I think if you wanna take, take the day after your menses has ended. Before ovulation is fine. But the box did state cannot take when pregnant.
Since you are ttc now, have you started with bbt taking and using opks?

vivi, yes. 1st day of AF mark as CD 1 ( Cycle Day 1)

take the temp the moment u woke up lor. i didnt take bbt liao ( i did monitor and track before my 2nd time ) but now lazy liao. hehe

macaroons, i took 1 whole bottle at 1 time. during my mini confinment, i took around 2 bottles only ( my mum tell me to take at least one bottle for 3 to 4 days) but i lazy.