Support group - Miscarriages

yaya. true, ling. i told my sis in law that have mense doesnt mean u have already ovulate. its because the womb lining gets too thick and need to shred even no ovulation takes place. then my sis in law was 'amazed' by this pc of news i told her. >.<

yaya, I actually really tempted to go to your gynae because she really believe about the late O might equals to bad egg thingy!.. However if I bring up to hubby now sure kenna because he would know I come here and discuss otherwise how would know about it.

Angeline isnt clomid for PCOS sufferers?

tell him ur friend say so. haha. she is real 'hot' must book and even if book liao, still have to wait at least 1 hr before my turn to see her. but she is very patient and willingly to listen to your problem and advise you accordingly and not rushing through kind.

macaroons, u want to get preseed? i am thinking of participating in amazon spree to get it. want to pool together to get it? i am waiting for organsier to get back to me to see if she can take in things that is other than books/vcd. hehe

Ling, i want to bleed out. My pregnancy terminated at week 5, still quite small so actually can still bleed out. If bb was bigger then i might have no choice but DnC to make sure womb is cleaned. I try not to DnC as far as possible, dont want to subject the womb to more trauma/scarring etc. My next cycle, honestly, i dont know. I tell myself and others not to give up but i am actually very very tired.

Ladies, do you all do mini confinement after your MCs? Actually, should confinement food that replenishes blood be taken while bleeding or should only be taken after bleed is over?

Its true that menses even perfect regular 28cycle does not mean got ovulation.

Preseed, i used to buy from a pharmacy at Taka basement. But expensive from there $30plus, maybe spree will be cheaper.

Ladies, its so dreadful to hear that got menses doesnt mean have ovulated. If I go check with my gynae, I dont think he got time to entertain me also. He always so rush. Feel like changing gynae.

yaya

I dont mind joining in spree to get preseed!! Do let me know if the organizer get back to u.

sunflower seed,

Yeap, I did a mini confinement. Just ate alot of food cooked with ginger. Drank longan red date tea. Im not sure if you can take food that replenishes blood whilst bleeding but technically speaking, prob wait till bleeding stop then take. If not the effect also wasted as all bleed out. Maybe you can go check with tcm doctors?

Ling: lol! AF just came today after like 70+days! I was so mad happy and sian at the same time. >_<

have started charting temp too. hope it will give me some insight to my cycle.

now only scare next month will come when i'm overseas. :|

Ling,
That is what i know also. My friend suffers from PCOS. But when i went to my gynae for pre-natal checkup, he say i dun seems to ovulate so he introduce me to clomid.

HOWEVER, last preg strike without help of clomid. Therefore, I decided not continuing clomid treatment, anyway i had pretty bad side effects from it.

I am thinking of changing gynae though, to see if I have some 'luck' in seeing others :S

Well, but so far, i am introduced to very expensive gynae. NOT too sure who to go to too. BTW, I have to wait for my gynae at least 1-2 hrs, max i waited 3 hrs duhz

sunflower,
I did confinement after my D&amp;C, MIL and my mum insisted me doing it. Say, mc is worse than giving birth so we have to do it.

I did my confinement from Day 1 of D&amp;C, Suppose to do it for 1 mth, but becos I have to work, I shorten it to 2 weeks.

I see TCM after confinement to 'tiao' my body, so TCM prescribe those 'Bu Xue' medication for me to regulate my body and menses. So far so good for me

BTW, what's the preseed about? what product is that haha

yaya, Wah your gynae so popular! Confirm now cannot bring up otherwise will rouse his suspicious I am still lurking in the forum =E

Sunflower, 5 weeks should be easier to bleed out. My empty sac was the size of 6 weeks and it was swift when the body reject it. Stop all the supplement support and the body will do its work. I did confinement after D and C for 2 weeks. For natural bleed I didnt do any confinement at all because my gynae say is exactly like a period and I also felt so. After D and C I felt weak but during my natural bleeding everything was normal and I was/am still spunky as my hubby said it. However after the bleeding end, my mum been brewing me cordeyps soup weekly.

Macaroons, who is your gynae? Anyway the problem of going to cheaper gynae is that they simply no time to entertain or provide emotional support at times. I also thinking of changing gynae after such good review from yaya. However the 2 mc is monitored by my gynae ald and frankly I like her and the nurses that is why I scare if change now history all gone. Any comments if good idea to change gynae?

Lynn, Finally.. they sure take their own sweet time hor! *angry with them!* However you want to see gynae to regulate cycle or not?

Angeline, 3 HOURS!! Goodness.. the wait wont kill me but the hubby would loh! Sooo popular your gynae!! If so much side effect can dont take or not? Or maybe the clomid ald regulate your ovulation ald? BTW 1 stupid question.. how the gynae know you not ovulating?

Ling,
Ya. That's why we are thinking of changing my gynae, not saying that he is not good but then the waiting time really kills.

Oh he did a scan for me during my pre-natal at that time based on his calculation, he said i should be ovulation but seems like I did not. So that's y he feels that i need assistance of clomid. But then although it did regulate my menses slightly better, i can have terrible cramps during menses, headaches, blurred vision, that y i got afraid and stop without asking him. After e D&amp;C i did ask him if i need to continue he say no need since i can conceived naturally

But then wanna ask u girls, do you think there is a diff between a female and male gynae. I was told 1 of my docs, that female gynaes are better becos they know us better than male docs, male docs only have theory in them, i wonder how u all feel about it?

Angeline: yeah. finally.

Ling: erm. gynae gave me BCP to try and regulate before i ended up vomiting and diarrhea. she ask me to take TCM To regulate instead...

ling, ya. the weekend slots are pretty pack. her assistant will normally advise to come during weekdays. so i have to book a sat slot at least a week ahead de.

Dr Geraldine Tan is quite gentle. if got bad news, she will break it gently. unlike others i went to. just shoot out straight ( meaning to stop wasting his time)
i am comfortable with Dr tan as the way she treated her patient. The most touching part is during my 1st miscarriage incident. she (my sis in law gynae as well) called personally to my sis in law to ask my condition because i missed the appointment la. my sis in law was quite jealous about it. thats y i decide to stick to her.

i also quite frank with Dr tan on who i went to seek for 2nd opiniion too and even chided me in spending unecessary $ to go for testing suggested by 2nd opinion gynae. after that 2nd miscarraige thing, she look at my test report and say soem of the itesm are not necessary and make me feel i should have spend all these $$$ on the necessary testing.
angeline, i prefer female gynae. feel v paisey wi male gynae.

lynn, ur gynae ask u go for TCM? this is the 1st time i heard gynae 'support' TCM. my gynae not really into these TCM when i told her i am taking BFW.

Ling,

My gynae's Adrian Woodworth. Like you, my concern is if change gynae, all history will be gone. But yet, I want a gynae who's more assuring.

Yaya,

My ex colleague introduced me another gynae who's very pro tcm too. I was so surprised when I heard gynae pro tcm.

Angeline,

Preseed is a sperm friendly lubricant. You can read more about it here.
http://www.pregnancy-health-center.com/preseed.html

Marcaroons,
I heard some gynaes in fact will intro you to try TCM as an alternative treatment. SO i think it's pretty common these day!

Hello girls long time no come in because I could not log in... Do you have such problems too?

Wow Yaya it seems like your gynae very good. But where is her clinic and are her charges ok? The other time I went to the first gynae first consultation kena charged like $600 and moreover she is very blunt and not very sensitive.

Yeah me share same gynae with Angeline and the wait for him can be terrible. I think in TPY he is the popular ones.

Sunflower for me after MC I ate a lot of food with ginger and sesame oil. NO cold drinks completely and even swore off the fan. Straight away I went to consult TCM doctor to tiao my body.

Yesterday went to get my usual medicine from my TCM doctor and I posed this question of how come my first cycle of AF becomes like shortened. She explained that because the MC made me lost a lot of blood thus this AF not much blood. She said this is quite normal.

Ling I have started to take BBT for 2 days already. Temperature is the same for both days at 36.20. Is this ok or did I take wrongly?

Vivi: need to regulate first i guess. cycle abit haywire. i've started taking temp also but mine both days so far diff temperature. hmm..

Lynn,

Regulate menses not only BCP.. Duphaston used to support pregnancy also can have the same effect. I am also surprised Dr Wong will asked you to go TCM because I emailed her before before I started my TTC journey last year about my hypothyroidism and whether I should go TCM. She told me go to endocrin and forget about TCM. Mention something along that line try TCM only after everything is controlled as form of maintenance.Which I agree with her as well on this.

Girls, There is infact a Gynae who is a certified TCM practioner specializing in male infertility .. I read about him in the newspaper a few weeks ago.. Dr Roland Cheing, suppose to be head of SGH in obs or something. Going to set up his fertility clinic at East Shore Hospital in May.

Yaya my gynae also full slots on night clinics and weekends.. I think most gynae are anyways cannot escape one. She sounds REALLY nice! =) TEMPTED!

Macaroons, I heard of your gynae in the forums as well.. Super chop chop one right! Hmmm.. we headache man!!

Angeline, Me also prefer female gynae and the myth that they are rough is not true for my case.

Vi,Your BBT sounds found... Shouldnt fluctuate too much otherwise going to be annovulatory. Today is your CD ? It will maintain low until you O in the next week or something that you can spot a spike in your temps..

Angeline,

You got close your mouth when you take temp? Try to breath through your nose?

Have you taken had your thyroid readings before? Not to scare you but low BBT can be indicative of hypothyroid. Again too high BBT may also be indicative of hypothyroidism.

Ling,
Ya closing mouth for sure.

Yes. Every year i will check for thyroid, cos mum is having thyroid problems. Last check up was ok (August).

Ling, i didn't know duphaston can help too. I guess everyone's case different ba.
she asked me to try TCM to control the PCOS and hormone imbalance. but so far i feel same same lei. like no difference.

for BBT, how to know when its too low or too high???

mine yesterday and today is like

????

Vivi,
It means not ovulating.

Ling,
Ya loh, he super chop chop one. Instills a feeling in me that I must quick quick get out of his room too during consultations.

What do you see on the lens when you're not ovulating? I just did a saliva testing but I find it so difficult to see. But then Im just using a normal microscope, dunno whether it works the same.

Oh I see Macaroons.

Ai yo I will be very sad if did not see spike in temperature... that means have to wait for another month again.... How come not ovluating, means something wrong?

Vivi,

This is what I capture from the net:

"Hormonal imbalances are the most probable cause of anovulatory cycle. A prolonged, strenuous program of exercise, such as running, can interfere with the ovulatory cycle by suppressing the output of hormones called gonadotropins from the hypothalamus in the brain. Anxiety and other forms of emotional stress can also take their toll on normal ovulation.
The disorder may also result from eating disorders, hypothalamic dysfunction, hyperprolactinemia, polycystic ovary syndrome, luteal phase defects, or tumors of the pituitary gland adrenal gland or ovaries. Other causes of anovulatory cycles are primary ovarian failure, resistant ovary syndrome and autoimmune oophoritis."

Read already very scary. Emotional stress and anxiety can cause anovulation. I think its gonna happen to me. =(

Angeline,

Me also used to check every year coz company offer a comprehensive bloodtest ma but suay suay kenna last year *curse and swear*. Anyway I think annual bt very good because my endocrin doc say when I went to them so early did not allow it to develope into something serious. However I take their medicine daily to ensure all my readings is good.

Lynn, your temp level is your Pre O ald.. looks good in my opinion..Must take throughout and dont give up please! =) Too low is below 36 during pre O and too high is above 36.8 during pre O if I remember right.

Vi, Can expect on CD11-16. In a perfect world it will be CD14 but not unfortunately not always the case. Before O temp will dip low for 1 day than go sky high and monitor the high temp... it should be longer than 12-14 days.. any shorter than that might have luteal phase defect meaning might need progesterone support to correct defect. If want to strike can start BD alt day from CD12 on wards till after O ald =)

Macaroons, must test first thing in the morning before drinks food kiss etc.. After you take your BBT than take your saliva lah. If you ovulating will see ferning, branching and is consistent. If not ovulating you see spots and nothing consistent. Got to let it air dry than see hor.. I normally try to see the results at night so not rushing and can concentrate.

He's a popular gynae so no choice. Anyway some people are not used to such chop chop appointment la. My gynae also is quite pack and I at times also feel pai seh have to take up her time answering some stupid questions ;P

Dont stress about annovulatory.. You girls got pregnant naturally so that should be the least of concern. If I know some of you will panic dont tell you girls ald.. worry relentlessly!

Ling dip low means lower than my usual 36.2 or same as 36.2?

Need you to clarify on the 10-12 days, I am worried about the luteal phase defect.

Wa if BD every alternate day I think I become panda hee hee

luteal phase short is like your luteal phase is 10 days or less...It counts from day you ovulate to day you get your period if never conceive. Normally perfectly should be 14 days. Too short, hard to carry pregnancy.

Last month I CD25 get my period,ling say maybe I short luteal phase lor...because I thought I O on CD 14 or 15. Because prev 2 cycles my period is 34, and 37. I become confused when I O. that why ling ask me measure BBT, but I failed last month......

Ling, pre 0 is means during menses up to the time O?

and luteal phase defect is lesser then 10 days? what about if more then 14 days? >_<

sorry so many qns!

Hee hee I make a guess if more than 14 days then o means late o so older eggs is it correct?

Haiz I am still trying to grasp hold of all these knowledge and terms.

For my hubby, he is the operational guy when I say this is the right time he will start to work ha ha (Just for laughs)

Vi, low means 36.0 and below. Don't stress!! Take bbt is to let you know more abt the body if it stresses you so much might not be a good idea to continue taking it.

Jtml me also at times cannot access the thread unless someone post something. You bought the thermometer or not? Good ah you know the luteal phase thingy ald

Lynn yes you got it right.. If luteal phase longer than 18 days you most likely pregnant ald. In fact longer than 15 days can take hpt ald

Vi, once your temp soar that means ovulation occured. Old eggs is you o late into the cycle like cd 18 onwards. Why your temps remain high is because upon ovulation the egg released also give out progestrone hence increase your body temp overall. This thus provide an optimum environment for a conception to take place..

Ling you always sound assuring and I like to talk to you. ....

Hee hee you succesfully converted to take BBT which I am surprised that I am determined. Without fail first thing I will pop the thermometer on to my mouth and laze in bed for a while before washing up.

ladies, how u know u got PSOC or dont ovulate every month? cos i usually detect O positive every month. is that enough to say i am ovulating regularly or i need to take take temp or further test?

macaroons, the organiser dun take in the lubricant but i got receive pm from 1 of the mtb. should be getting from her. i have come across another seller from ebay. she said she got 2 box left and is selling 32bucks for 1 including postage.

Ling, erh. but more then 14days can be not pregnant also right? if i'm not wrong, only need to worry if its less then 10 days??

yaya: hahha i'm giving everything a try now till one day succeed again. =) how are you?

for PCOS you can ask gynae to do a hormonal test to find out, or during a ultrasound, gynae can detect and let you know as well. also, even if we don't O also can get menses lo.

btw, anyone heard of Dr Christopher Chen from gleneagles?

Ling,

Thanks for your detailed explanation on the saliva ferning. You're so knowledgable. I will monitor mine. Hope you dont mind my so many qns. =B

yaya,

Okie, thanks for your info. I will go ebay search.

Loooooooog time no post as very busy with work..
How are all? the post is running tooo fast... can't finish reading until now..

Hi Sunflower,
Hugz hugz.. what happen to you? I saw your post last yr too... no matter what, please do a mini confinement and rest well...for your future pregnancy...

Hi Lynn,
Congrate that your AF has finally report. It must have been an relieve for you yeh!! so are you still seeing gynea? as i remember saw your post that you have already made an appointment? Yes, I heard of Dr Christopher. She is always on air at FM972 2pm show biweekly (one of the day) and I try to asks him many questions thru fax or fenying's blog before. heard he is quite expensive but an experience doctor woah.. you want to see him?

Hi Ling,
I am curious abt the saliva thingy.. you bought from the website link that you stated? $35plus? so you puke out your saliva in the morning and check it only at night?? Saliva must be morning saliva? is this more accurate than opk test? hmm.. am curious..

Hi Angelina,
May I know what's the application in Iphone that you use to track your bbt? I have an iphone too but didn't know of any software whereby can enter our bbt information..

Hi Yaya,
did your gynea open at night? Also, will she do scanning daily to scan for ovaluation for patient who take clomid?

Hi Vivi,
You try ttc this month? Good luck to you.

my 5th menses come last week.. so very sad... had took clomid for this cycle as hope my cycle will not drag for sooooo long. (last month almost 40days and o around 23 days ... too long and is no good for the egg as old egg) .. if still no good news.. thinking of go into SO-IUI next month.. really hope to get pregnant soon... :-( now am taking metformin too.. anyone know whats's the purpose of metformin?

lynn, oic. my gynae didnt say much le. she usually will check whether i got egg or not. then she will relieve after seeing got egg. frankly speaking, can feel that she is abit 'anxious' to find if i got eggs or not. i usually ask her what is shown on the scanning and she will tell me which side of the ovaries does the egg come from that meet the sperm
and whether got egg after the followup checkout after D &amp; C Op.

ViVi, i usually paid 110+ gst for consultation and scanning lor. is either consultation or scanning is 50 or 60. cant remember liao. have to pay GST also. so abit sianz.

Lynn, i am now regulating mense 1st lor. so far so good. i think could be better if i didnt miscalculate the dates in the 1st place. really pai wu long. zz .. also going for exercise now cos plan to trim down abit ah. and most probaby will start TTC may time. hehe

Ok sneaking in now because doing work at the same time.. =P

Lynn, After O if your temp remain post O for more than 18 days go take a HPT test. It is most likely you are pregnant if it is just 15-16 days than okay might be a flux but more than 18 days at least a chemical pregnancy would have taken place. I have read this and also gynae have told me before. I guess can read up if you need more information on this part. =)

Jo, not puke out saliva lah.. is just a swipe from your tongue and let it dry. I cannot comment on OPK because I have never got a positive on it. Yes I bought it last year and I find it reliable.

Yaya quite alright the prices for your gynae. And i like it she so concern! Make you feel that you are not the only impatient one. I like! =)

I just went to see Doc Zou the new TCM I am trying, told her about my mcS.. Show her my BBT chart that got me preggers. She didnt show much reaction leh. Told me just bu for 3 months than try again. My hubby who was all prepared to tiao with me was told no need for now. On the accupuncture! Goodness! I think my treshold of pain is really low! I find it painful loh! Maybe not used to it lah.. Anyway when my hubby heard 3 months no try for babies he took it as no sex..He asked me when we were in the car I just wanted to laugh! I counted I need to go for 12 treatment before can TTC.. At this stage just so willing to try anything.. sigh.. I was actually preparing TTC next month looks like got to KIV! Hopefully can conceive easily by then. *worried*

Ok back to work....