Support group - Miscarriages

Ling, agree with you! Spore needs a recurrent miscarriage specialist gynae, better yet, a centre just for that with endocrinologist and rheumatologist all under 1 roof so that they can look at cases in totality! Maybe what NUH is helping now is a good start! Actually we are fortunate, we have each other here to share all these, those who dont, can imagine they can only despair and not know where to get help. Spore dont have enough publicity for people to know where to get such specialised help. Sigh.

back from 1st wf Prof Biswa.Agree wf Jaraine that he is very brief in explanation.I run thru my history wf him,he didn't seem to bother to read my reports.
Abt my preggie,he did a scan n confirmed the pregnancy is not good n asked me to end it n start afresh.He said he'll run some tests for me after this preggie ends.
I asked him abt cycotec,he said he could prscribe for me if i wanna.Alternatively,i just let it m/c naturally which going to take 2 to 3mth.I didn't take cycotec.I think i just wait for another week n see how it goes.

Hi Jaraine,
Can u choose the rheumatologist in NUH or they simply assign to u?May I know who is ur rheumatologist?Prof Biswa told me abt Dr Sheila Vasoo.But they can't treat me now until i end this pregnancy.Prof Biswa said i might hv some underlying prob,since my chromosome r fine n no prob to conceive.
I really admire ur courage n helpfulness given what u've gone thru n shared so many useful info wf us.To be frank,ur situation is tricky compared to the rest of us but u r soooo persistent....

Hi Ling,
thks for the encouragement
Hmm...but my case is likely doomed case.Initially,i found it hard to accept,grieve over it n i am fine..life still goes on....

Hi sunny,
i understand how u feel,After each m/c,i oso "hide" myself n be alone.

hi Girls!

Wah busy day today on this thread huh!

I have something to say about vitex and maca and even spirulina which was something shared by another forum mates. These items throw the cycle wiry for some. Best is not to take without guidance. I was on spirulina to detox and I got major breakout but it was good I find.. purge all the nasty. However I read from IVF thread Dr Loh advise stay off spirulina in the event of wanting to start IVF. Unless one have been taking it for a long time otherwise advise is dont start esp now during TTC period.

Personally I am taking COQ10 with selenium and vit E, Fish oil and Royal Jelly with Bee Pollen preserved with raw honey. I think that is enough for me because I also dont want to overdose. I highly recommends the YS organic royal jelly and bee pollen because it perks me up..

For those who are interested in getting RJ + BP I used to get it from vitaminshoppe but since switch to a local source at www.babydust.blogspot.com because the glass jars were getting broken in shipment. =( Although manage to get some refund I still need to pay for shipping which simply puts me off lah.. Sigh.. At least this one available in SG and compare to other RJ I think is best value for money.

There is also a couple of links about this RJ from another forum... weird thing is the forum thread 2008 have loads of women starting IVF and having repeated failure and some attempt to take the RJ.. If you read the thread now, most of those who have had repeated failure in IVF managed to conceive after taking the RJ for a few months. their signatures would indicate their pregnancy and their IVF/pregnancy path. It is of course no miracle drug but who knows ... if anyone is interested in the forum threads let me know and I can send the link.

Hi Avocado,

HUGS... all is not lost.. we see how next week.. if it have to go we let it go.

I am sharing the same rheumatologist with jaraine. I find Dr Vasoo tons good! Hence I didnt mind the travel to NUH. Normally they will assign you esp your case with recurrent mc.. Think they are recruiting lab mice aka ppl like us with recurrent mcs ;)

Sunny, We have a team now in NUH! =) Although is a pilot thingy is better than nothing. HMMp! That is the consolation but unfortunately I dont think we can ever associate ourselves with the word lucky. It is dreary this journey and at times I ask myself what we have done to deserve this. It is at times like this I find hard to be religious when nasty being get pregnant so easily while we are made to trod this path.

actually to console ourselves, at the very least, we could get pregnant. i know some ladies who never ever got pregnant and never ever know why they don't. so let's keep on trying. i think at least there's some form of hope, in an odd way.

HI Sunny..

Actually all along we hv specialists under 1 roof be it public or private. Just tat whether they share and liaise among drs on d patients condition is another issue. one good thing about public or restructured hospi which i come to know is they can share patient info thru their system that doesnt happen w/private hospi as drs run their own clinics. And alot of us tends to consult private Drs for o/g. i used to see private drs for all my illnesses for > 10 yrs thinking public hospi r lousy as i hv v bad experience before. But they hv since improved alot. I was told by my o/g at TMC tat only KK and NUH in Singapore hv d specialists and facilities to provide help for this type of medical conditions. And apparently if u require IVIG for fertility treatment NUH is d only place to go at d moment.

Hi Avocado

Yes life still goes on... i always comfort my myself i hv a caring husb, a roof over my head, I eat wat i like and travel to plcs.. i've noe ppl suffer d pain of cancer & die from it, etc etc.. then i will start to feel better and tell myself I'm still v fortunate. Of cos I'm upset but It will makes u feel even worst if u begin to dwell on the hurts and suffering all d time.

Prof can be quite blunt. I remember i 1st saw him for 2nd opinion bout my preg at 20wk. He v briefly scan d baby n told me to terminate no point keeping as baby is not growing much & d heart is failing too there's no nd to do a detail scan as he trust d TMC gynae. But I still requested for a detail scan, he say ok and arranged for it.

He sees so many problematic preg everyday I tink from wat u told him he roughly noe ur condition. anyway they still nd to wait for ur mc to settle n run d necessary tests to find out ur prob. they will settle one thing at a time. Yes i'm seeing Dr sheila. For autoimmune in preg cases they will assign her.

Ya man, a busy day on this thread tody!

Agree w/Ling. Do ur research be4 taking any supplements. What was stated here is for reference only which i got from internet. I'm also on COQ10 with selenium and vit E, Fish oil and Royal Jelly, they r quite safe to take except i'm v particular with fish oil i only buy Natural Nordic brand, make sure d brand u buy is tested free from mecury & other pollutant. I've tried spirulina and L-arginine. They make me sick, i had joint pains after taking.

Jaraine,
agree wf u that they've seen many other serious cases compared to us?I told him I appreciate his honesty,i mean,at least this prepared me for the worst n move on.

U r absolutely right...i've a ex classmate who same age as me,died fr. ovarian cancer at age of 34.She led a perfect life...a scholar,done well in her career,married a doctor,hv a great inlaws.She passed away shortly 1yr in her marriage.Her husband knew her illness & yet still married her n went thru the treatment wf her.We shld be contented wf what we've.....

Hi Ling,
yup,don't take too much vitamins.Researches show that nothing beat fresh fruits/vege/meats.I take a lot of fresh vege n fruits,i only take Centrum multivitamin n exercise.Maybe bcoz of my diet n lifestyle,i do nt hv prob to conceive,the only thing i believe is "emotional stress" that cause my thyroid n immunity go haywire.

Hi Jaraine,

I rather the Dr dont beat around the bush. It lessen your pain in the end you know.. Of course no one wants to hear them but then again is a reality check we really need.

Fish oil I recommend those from sardines and small fish. So make sure you read the descriptions. Is a fact we cannot avoid mercury.

Hi Avocado, I think so too.. thus was telling Jaraine to take the RJ without fillers.. food in their natural state is the best. Freeze dried etc just isnt that good. Unfortunately there is no way to incurr COQ10 into our system and selenium I want to take a measured dose because we are not sure how much selenium to take.

It was said that probably taking coq10 and X amount of selenium can bring down the antithyroid antibodies so I wanted to try. I got pregnant relatively easy actually... all on first try and my third was actually an accident but than conclusion is if there is something wrong internally we cannot just take the natural food way out. Sad isnt it.. sigh

about the link system.... my endocrine in SGH was showing me how he can communicate with Dr Vasoo if he wants to.. so that is good! Have faith in our hospital! =) Although the waiting and the distance.... YUCKS!

Everyone have a good weekend...

hi Ling,
My thyroid level goes haywire after each m/c.The m/c will cause hormone imbalance n take few cycles for our bodies to adjust back to normal range.Each m/c oso hurts our bodies so much.I would take another a yr to recuperate mentally n physically.Hopefully,Dr Biswa is able to help me,if not,i think i just stop trying.

Sound to me that Prof Biswa is more patient than Dr Mahesh.I wonder if we could switch to Dr Mahesh??

That's good.this is a good start.At least ur endocrine helps.

I waited merely 15mins today for my appt wf Prof Biswa,the whole process ended very fast,abt half an hour.

Thyroid patients muz take care their emotions carefully.I've been suffered fr. hyperthyroid more than 10yrs.I was given off medication for abt 3yrs,then came bk again when all the stresses flooded in

Ling, Tat's wat i like bout prof biswas too.. straight to d point. He's a confident Dr.

D Omega i'm taking is from anchovies & sardines. Got to noe it's one of d safest brand in d mkt from an article some yrs ago on straits time.

Oh by d way, i've got d YS brand RJ!! Can't stop thinking wat u said bout fresh RJ so i made my husb take d RJ he bought for me then we can finish it fast. Actually d one he bought is aso fresh RJ in softgel not freezed dried. Anyway no harm stocking up..i can use as face mask. I hv a qtn do u refrigerate ur RJ? I read from internet fresh royal jelly are perishable and the potency/benefit diminishes with normal storage but d btl indicate do not store in refrigerator leh...hmmm

Avocado, 15min is fast! He's quite busy at time n i hv to wait > an hr to see him. About Dr Mahesh, heard he's aso a v busy dr and runs a private clinic at camden as well. Personally i won't want to c an extremely busy dr. in d end it's so diffi to get an appt w/him esp. emergency and they assign other doc. I think wait till they refer u to see Dr Vasoo 1st, u can ask her opinion on d gynae. Most important u hv to be comfortable w/d doc urself to see u thru ur preg.

Hi jaraine,

no need to keep it in the fridge because the YS royal jelly is preserved in raw honey. However keep it from light and heat. I and my hubby go through abt 1.5 bottles a month. If is raw royal jelly need to keep it in chiller ald. At first the sweetness like can kill leh but after a while I just spoon it out and swallow it down.

True I also want a doctor not so busy otherwise you go probably only 5 mins consulation .. If mine was a problem free pregnancy sure by all means but for us.... Cannot loh!!

Ling,Jaraine,
After buying the RJ online,the person will make arrangement to pass the RJ to u??

My frd oso told me that do not store the RJ in the fridge,but store at room temperature,avoid sunlight.But i wonder they know sg weather is hot n humid compared to ang moh country.when i was traveling at NZ few yrs bk,we left the kiwi n chocolates in the car for few weeks without fridge,oso no problem.
I ever come across an article abt fish oil...the purest is from this brand called:Usana?? I've not bot any vitamins fr. Usana but i heard good comments abt this brand.Even wanna buy,don't know who to go wf coz this MM product.

hi girls,
mayb we shld arrange a gathering some time.

i told my husband which ever gynae can cure me n finally hv a healthy baby,i don't mind to do a free publication for them.

Hi avocado,

Ya I agree we should meet up one of these days
I betcha the place we meet at will ring with our whine :p

I started the rj for a few months ald and so far so good. Not rancid or anything.. Honey by itself is a preservative hence no worries. As long as you observe the rule no heat no light. But if you are buying raw royal jelly those definetely need to be in the fridge. I normally opt for courier with the shop to my office easier..but must not use metal spoon at all scooping the honey. It destroy the enzymes...

About usana I took before I really didn't see much of a difference to be truthful and is too expensive for me 1 bottle only 56 caps and cost maybe 30 dollars odd less than 1 month consumption. I know of A Chinese sinseh who is the usana director. If you are interested can buy from her at serangoon? I buy the "Now" brand because more affordable and meet my requirement of extraction from anchovies and sardine and molecular distilled to remove mercury. But the size.... Super big =_= sianzzzzzz

Hi Ling,
I ever saw "Now" brand from NatureFarm.Ya,i heard abt the chinese sinseh who prescribes Usana to her patients,serangoon is too far for me leh...i stay at west.
Haiz...my sil has 3kids,she doesn't eat very healthy compared to me.Yet,she gave birth non stop n no prob.Maybe she has no stress.For us,we've to pop so many supplements.

hi girls,
did ur gynae give any instruction on cycotec?Surprisingly,both my gynaes did not offer cycotec to me.I was the one who asked for it.My 1st gynae told me that i can take cycotec as soon as i've bleeding.Then my 2nd gynae,Prof Biswa said i can take anytime.I asked him if i shld cycotec or not,he said it is my choice.So now I am confused.Don't know i shld just let it m/c naturally or take cycotec.

Hi Avocado,

Maybe you should try NOW? Anyway they have the GMP assurance etc so should be safe and most importantly make in USA..

I was her patient but I dont like the way she insist we get USANA.. it is too pricey in my opinion and I really didnt see any benefit. Hence not sure if the journey is worth it afterall.

I took cyocotec when I know the pregnancy will not proceed further and only upon spotting. I think better to let it bleed first because want to give the beanie a chance.. just incase of wrong diagnosis. It will still be a natural miscarriage even taking the cycotec. If you see the medication term for the medication it is actually for stomach ulcer but it apparent encourage contraction. Hence when bleeding a sign of rejection it just work in sync to expedite the natural miscarriage.

Are you still on hormonal support? Normally have to stop the hormonal support and than the bleeding comes. At least from my experience it was that way for my 3rd mc.

hi Ling,
ok,i'll try "NOW".

My u/s showed my sac is growing at the "deflated" shape.As I still hv preggie symptoms,i doubt my m/c might nt happen so soon.Since the sac shows unhealthy n slow growth,i think the m/c n bleeding will start as soon as the sac stopped growing??I read that it'll take some times for the body to recognise there is no more sac in the womb??

hv u ever tried to this TCM from Thong chai called chen yiu mei?Her medication helped me recovered from thyroid.I oso conceived very fast under her treatment.But i stopped her medication early this yr,coz i lazy to boil herbs.Maybe i shld start again after ending this preggie.TCM medicine might not able to improve ur DNA but more create a beta environment to nourish the eggs n prevent it fr. further deterioration.

thks for info abt cytotec.Think i'll take it when bleeding starts.

r u visiting the TCM,Pauline at Serangoon North?I am actually tempted to try Marine Parade one but the journey is too far.I oso heard tat the waiting time can take 2 to 3hours.

no,i've stopped duphaston after Prof Biswa confirmed my non-viable pregnancy.No point taking duphaston as it'll prolong the pregnancy.thks for ur concern

Avocado, i was told by gynae cycotec is very strong and toxic to the baby so they usually will not give so easily. I was also not given till i went back scan after my MC and found like still abit of tissue inside then he no choice give me to purge out. Once take cycotec, will massive bleed very fast, have to be monitored, if lose too mush blood and feeling very weak, have to call for doctor's attention. During my MC, i lost so much blood, i went as white as paper and cant even stand/walk properly.

Jaraine, Ling, ya, now NUH gives us hopes as we can get dedicated attention on our special needs.

Now i dont know should i go straight to NUH or see another gynae first. I am seeking Dr LC Foong opinion end Dec. I hope he can shed some light why is it so hard for me to get pregnant even via IVF and why when finally pregnant, will lose it.

I keep thinking must be genetically got problem thats why can never past embryo stage, after transfer into womb will just arrest and die inside leading to BFN. But my friends also shared with me, genetically got problem still will implant just that higher risk to miscarry. Any of you have any views too?

Hi Avocado,

I used to go to Pauline but I stopped because I didnt like the MLM product she was pushing to me. I am with Dr Zou now but is halting the visits until I find out what exactly is wrong with me. From what I know hashimotos thyroid will never totally recover from thyroid. The presence of the thyroid antibodies will always attack the thyroid gland somewhat even if it is in remission. Sad isnt it. So sometimes you might go off medication for a few years but will have to take it again when the thyroid get inflamed and the antibodies do it workings.

Sometimes the body unfortunate never recognize a miscarriage. For my 1st pregnancy, no spotting in the 12th week even though the sizes of the babies seems to have stopped 2 weeks earlier. The body never registered that the babies were gone. So it depends on case by case basis.

Sunny, Dont know how to advise you..maybe go both at the same time? You only had 1 time mc not sure if NUH would entertain? However is true, even if genetically got problem the ovum still can get implanted. Some can even grow to a certain weeks before dying. Nature do take care of the bad ones but also misses some of them.

hi Ling,
I'hv ever read an article that defective sperms r the normally the case for blighted ovum.So far,there was only one gynae who asked for sperm tests...the rest r like...hmm..they said sperm test is not conclusive.They'll only conduct sperm test for infertile couples.
Mine is a Graves disease...i surely know my thyroid is triggered by stress.I try to control but difficult..I am sahm,no work stress.stress mostly come fr. family matters.

U r right that hyperthyroid is very tough to control.Nobody knows the cause of thyroid.I suffered from thyroid just b4 i married,the stresses fr. my husband's family drove me nuts.Prior to that, i led a peaceful life.Well,i gain a good husband,but i lost my health...:p

same same,for my 1st m/c,my 1st u/s was done when i was 6wk,i've had spotting 2weeks later.Unfortunately,I had spotting on Xmas eve,n done my DnC the day after Xmas.That was the worst Xmas in my life.

hi Sunny,
IVF will not guarantee a embryo transfered but with PGD,it might help,again,not 100%.We've trillion of cells n cell division is a complicated process...can go wrong anytime.

Ling, i MC 2 times both before week9. Cant exactly say recurrent hor? But i also dont want wait for more MCs before i do something. Sigh, our journeys are so tough.

Hi Avocado,

I just told my hubby about his apparent defective sperm.. lol! Spur him to eat his vits!Anyhow the rheumatologist take on blighted ovum for me was the possibility of antibodies preventing effective implantation. My hubby is a health freak who have no qualms drinking celery juice and dont take unhealthy food. Thus I always think I am the biggest culprit of us all because of my love of junks and soya bean in the past.

I think when I go to the assign gynae will request for sperm test for my hubby.. Just to relieve my burden..

Sunny, I think go for both in that case.. recurrent means happen again mah.. so is 2nd time recurr again right?I agree why allow it to happen a 3rd time.. With knowledge come power ... =) machiam spider man!

Ling,
My hubby is on multivitamin for a year b4 we tried this time.It oso took me very long time to persuade him to take multivitamin n eat more fruits.Guys r ego creatures.I told my husband that i am not putting blame onto him.But we just hv to work hand in hand to make sure we've healthy baby,coz after all,half of the genes r his.Each m/c put a strain on our marriage,but we managed to pull thru.Though it took him harder to understand what i've gone thru.They might nvr understand coz we r the one who lost the baby.
I don't know it is antobodies that prevent blighted ovum implantation.My gynae told the ovum was implanted,but it grew slowly,thus,it is something wrong wf the chromosome.

my hub is on vit e, b12, folic and cordecyps. i also make him eat fruits everyday. and for the recent try, he was put on android by the doc.

Morning Girls,

My hubby by self is a person who takes a lot of fresh veg and fruits and do regular exercise weekly. Hence not much to talk about him in that aspect.

The thing about multi vit is that yes it have all the vitamins but the % required might not be there.

Avocado, the rational told to me was improper implantation. It was implanted but not properly hence the ovum didnt get the nutrient effective limiting it growth etc...

I am going to convince the next gynae taking up my case to do sperm test anyway.. just to be sure =)

Also another note... those with thyroid issues try to avoid soya products. If anyone is currently taking medication for thyroid should assure that you do not take soya products 2-3 hours before or after taking thyroid medication.

avocado, how many weeks u are in now?

i just got positive and this is my 3rd time getting pregnant and 5week + based on LMP. but however, when i went to scan yesterdae at KKH, there is no yolk sac..sigh.. probably another repeated incident for me soon... i want to break down but i am too stunned and further more, my hubby is having exam again.sigh... i am damnz sianz..

Tub,

No symptons one until the thyroid antibodies do its working.. i.e. when the thyroid get inflamed than the antibodies will do it workings thus resulted in hypo or hyper thryroid. Otherwise you can be normal. I think Soya sort of trigger it once your thyroid gland is a little out of whack so try to moderate taking of soya.

Hi Yaya, You should keep the faith! I think still early right! Is only 5 weeks some no egg sac until later? What did dr Tan say? Dont jump to conclusion yet... wait for a week.

Ling, yesterdae i experience sharp pain and thus ask my hubby to bring me kkh for scanning. the gynae there scan and cant see. i shd be approaching 6 weeks and shd be able to see already but sadly, only see an empty sad. the gynae there diagnose me as 4week plus. i told him that i ovulated on day 13 to 14..base on the date of conception till now, i am indeed 4 week.. plus i dun have much sypstom except sore breast during the day ( probably the act of hormone pill)... i am trying to be positive..but i guess abit hard for me not to be affected by it. will only be going to see doc tan this coming sat...

Wow, this thread is really busy. So much to catch up. Hope I did not miss out anything.

Hi Yaya,

Sometimes 5 weeks may be too early to see the yolk sac. Wait for 1 - 2 weeks. If scan from bottom in 1 - 2 weeks, should be able to see something. Meanwhile, stay positive. I know easier said than done. But must try lor. Ok?

Avocado,

My 1st MC ended at 6 weeks (if I din remember wrongly). 4th MC ended at 11 weeks. BB stop growing at 6 weeks & heart beat stopped at 11 weeks. It was an agonising 5 weeks for me to wait for heart beat to stop.

Jaraine,

Thank you for the information. Really eased my discomfort on how NUH manage high risk preg. Not sure if Prof Mahesh will do U/S personally since he is so busy. When I was at NUH for blood test, seems like a nurse is doing U/S at the U/S room woh. Not sure if she is a qualified sonographer. BTW, how much does it cost for U/S if we request for it?

There is no additional charge for U/S for my gynae as it is all in the package. His package is not exp. Only $585 from week 5 to week 40. He sees me every week during the 1st trimester & after 36 weeks.

I feel that most gynaes these days do not talk much unless there is something we really need to know. This is probably cos most people to lots of research on the web so no point talking too much. Look at it another way, if they talk too much, the waiting time will be longer rite?

Hi Athen,
Indeed it is very heartpain...witness our bb dying yet we couldnt do anything.
I've another scan tmr.I wish there will be miracle though i know it is unlikely.I've quite a bit of preggie symptoms.I wish the whole preggie thingie ends soon coz it really put on mental n physical stresses to me n my husband.

I encountered a very embarass situation when a salegirl recommended a Prenatal vit this afternoon.I look like 3mth preggie(tummy very big).I wish to tell her that my baby is gone,so no pt taking vit.But i was too tired to explain.At that moment,i've to hold on my tears coz i didn't wanna cry in public n embarass my hb.

U r right,most gynaes do not talk much.Well,i believe they've to be very cautious n careful of what they said.They're professional so we tak their words seriously.Furthermore,when come to medical,science thingie,a lot ting r still under reesearch n unexplained.
I've a frd,ttc for 6yrs,but couldn't conceive.Her gynae told her tat it is impossible for her to get preggie coz she has endo,cysts,pcos,etc.She gave up,even planned to save more $$ for retirement.She preggie soon after she gave up!When she went bk to her gynae,her gynae told her it was a miracle n he didn't know how she managed to get preggie wf her medical conditions.

Yaya,
Do u hv a regular menstrual cycle?Could it be late ovulation?Be +ve,wait a week more n u might wanna seek 2nd opinion.
Some women do nt hv preggie symptoms yet their preggie go well.Mayb u can request for hcg test for ur next visit.Again,some preggie women show slow rising hcg but their preggie go well.Best judgment is by u/s.I understand how u feel...nobody likes the waiting game.

Ling,
ok i'll tak note n not to tak soya wf my thyroid medicine.

Hi avocado,

I also have big tummy. Probably cos I'm perpetually preg then MC so no chance for tummy reduce. Another reason is my son was delivered by C-sect & did not really massage after his birth. So tummy did not reduce much. I also have embarassing incident on the train. A man was staring at my tummy for quite a while b4 he gave up his seat to me. He was probaly wandering if he should give up his seat as I could be just fat not preg.

I also understand that tummy shows earlier after we have a kid. Well, what to do? Maybe take a deep breath, tug in tummy & walk like a model helps?

avocado, i have been taking duphaston to regulate my mense. this pregnancy will be the 1st after taking the pills. i know clearly when i ovulated cos i got keep track n took temp. hopefully it is just slow growing and will catch up eventually. i dunno whether the progestrone injection helps and in how....

sigh! if this time dont work again, i will consider going to go for egg n sperm test. u all know got such test?

athen, i hope to be positive.. but using V scan is more accurate and cant find lor.. sigh.. i hope i can find out something from my own gynae this coming sat.. cant wait thou! my colleague ( one of them know) sms me ask me hw am i .. hw to answer?.. so i didnt answer her at all. so no mood. i wonder when can i have a successful pregnancy!

Yaya,

Must hold the faith.. We talk about the test when this one we really have to say goodbye. Otherwise forget about all the tests for now and assume it was late O or implantation. 5-6 weeks really is only a few days.

Girls,

Me went to see both rheumatologist and gynae at NUH yesterday. Joint consulation and double the money too... but anyway it was worth it because they seem genuinely wants to help =) I was ruled out for Natural Killer cells factor and sticky blood and no other blood or antibodies thingy issues aside from my thyroid antibodies DAMN! However at least something else for me to cancel out. I was told to increase my medication for my thyroid condition and we review next month again once it stabilize. =) At the moment no need to take any out of the ordinary treatment.

I will update once I go for my next review in dec.

ling, thanks for ur comfort words. really appreciate that!
i thought of my 2nd pregnancy that time. with heavy bleeding lasted for a few days and i wonder hw that time it can survive? it is really a miracle for me but sadly, end v short.. sigh.. i think it must have been fighting hard to surivive inside me!

with this, i hope i will get the miracle again!
u are currently seeking treatment from NUH? about the high risk pregnancy?

yaya,

I am not pregnant just seeking treatment for recurrent miscarriages and to do more tests to see what support I need if I got pregnant. I have had 3 miscarriages ald and I didnt dare to try at all since the last one in April 10. Just dont feel assured. Meanwhile through my endocrin report I also saw I have an elevated thyroid antibodies in me. Some link of mc to ppl with such antibodies or typical with auto immune disease as such ppl are known to have.

Read something about NUH having an alternative treatment to help minimize miscarriages and someone to look at the antibodies etc hence decide to call for an appt. in Sept. Went for my 1st appt took 5 vial of blood for testing for the various antibodies. I did the miscarriage profile test and everything looks good which was contrary to what I was experiencing. The mc profile test is really flaw because they didnt check the crucial link of antibodies presence! Make a few of us chosen one go round the mulberry bush for nothing in my opinion! hmmp!

The rheumatologist done more tests and cross out more possibility of mc so we can concentrate on what is happening with me. So I am at the diagnosis stage still. I have felt so helpless in the past because the gynae at SGH and my own gynae at ESH all said just try again but I dont want to without support. At least with NUH I think the assurance that someone is keen to help me already minimize my stress levels.

I am not used to seeing a gynae at a hospital because I normally goes to a private one but I think I join the Q because apparent they seems like the only answer now.

Hi Ling,

Good to hear you are seeing light. Really good news.

I'm seeing Prof Mahesh on Thurs to review my blood test results. Keeping my fingers crossed for now. Which Gynae did you see?

Yaya,

Please give it another week. You went to KKH A & E the last time? Sometimes those MO at A & E are not as experience as the regular gynaes. See what your own gynae have to say. Stay positive ok?

For my sucessful preg, I was spotting for the whole of 1st trimester. No morning sickness, good appetite. No symtoms of preg other than sore breast. For all my failed preg, I had spotting, vomitted like hell, super bad appetite. All preg are different. For now, just pray that is late implantation. Good luck.

Hi Athen,

Me saw Mahesh yesterday too =). IT will be okay one if not okay they will find a solution for us also okay =)... Maybe Dr Vasoo will sit in as well. They conduct clinic today to see high risk patients than can discuss the cases.. I though there was quite a lot of personal touch.

ling, there is a write up on the recurrent miscarriages in newspaper on NUH quite some time ago right? i did cut out that pc of article out as my hubby wants me to. lol.. i am thinking if it fail this time again, i will think either to go for TCM completely or go to high risk pregnancy specialist for further testing.

Athen, u have hw many kid already? i had sore breast and feel nausea, less appetite ( sometime eat almost half and feel boring). this 2 days seems to be better?! currently, i dunno is it the act of the hormone pills and the injectiion that give me sore breast again. i do feel abit neasea but didnt vomit out.
ya, i went to KKH A & E clinic cos i got sharp pain that morning..scare me man.. but then see the sac in the womb, quite relax abit cos its not ectopic pregnancy.. but no yolk sac does worry me abit. the gynae (dr khoo cheng kiat if i rem correctly), wa... scan v fast.. didnt bother to measure the sac etc and said he cant see anything ( ya lor, i also cant see anything).. so he give me an injection and up my duphaston dosage..
right now, i dun dare to think about it and doing my office work at home.. sigh.. i am v tired now but then still hav to push myself to work on it to meet the thursday dateline!

i really feel sorry for my hubby as he just had his birthday and i scare him of my worrying pregnancy.. hai wo didnt have mood to spend birthday with him! sigh!!

maybe i should date him out later to have nice dinner to compensate him hor? what u all think?

Hi Ling,

I don know why I'm very emotional recently when I see preg mummies. Trying very hard to hold back my tears. Don't want embarass myself in public. If I was successful the last round, I would have been almost 6 mths now. Sigh...
Hope Mahesh is able to shed some light & help me to piece the missing link to my MCs on Thurs. Really hope to have just another kid (am I too greedy?). But scared.

Hi Yaya,

My son will be 5 yrs old next Jan.

If you are tired, please rest, take a short nap say 15 mins then get back to work. Stress & fatigue is not good for bb.

Think you should go for a good dinner with your hubby, take your mind off this bb thingy.

Yaya,

I think seek treatment is better. I am an advocate for TCM but if you have conditions like aggressive NK cells or antibodies issues the TCM cannot help at all. The write up was in Sept I believe. You can also go to NUH website and see their media release. The article is still there.

I think the gynae that attend to you also wasnt concern not seeing anything yet because still only so early.

Ya go for a nice dinner.. dont brood about it this couple of days and busy yourself with deadline work. Look forward to a scan of a 6 week fetal pole by Sat. Meanwhile try to take chicken essence ba?

athen, u got a kid..still not so bad! we want to have, and yet none.. sigh....
ya.. i am currently working at my living room/dinning area.. hahaha... work abit, then chat on msn and then watch tv at the same time. so li hai of me right? lol..

i am getting hungry..thinking of eating chee cheong fun or mee siam or mee robus..but hav to go to tiong bahru plaza to get it.. thought of that, really make me feel lazy!

yaya,

Me too. Working in the living room & chatting with you gals at the same time. Women are born multi-taskers. Ha..

Agree with Ling, TCM cannot help if you have antibodies issues. If this time unsucessful (touch wood), find out what is wrong b4 going into TCM. Going into TCM completely does not help unless you rule out antibody or other complicated issues. TCM & western med should go hand in hand.

If want to take chicken essence, take those without chinese herb. Typically, during 1st trimester, should avoid chinese herbs unless you know the effect of the herbs on the bb or preg mummies.

athen, oic.. okie okie..

right now hor,, dunno y..my tastebud is very very blend that i need to snack on sweet and tibits to get some 'flavour' back.. aiyo... these days cant stand on the tastless bud!

hi ling,
u r brave.thinking of drawing blood oredi scare me off,though i've to draw blood every mth for my thyroid.
I saw my endocrine today,hv a discussion wf him.since my last 2 m/cs r due to chromosome,m/c due to thyroid is not the cause.but,since i've thyroid,i'm more prone to autoimmune disease.Autoimmune disease can come n go,difficult to diagnose.Test might show i am negative now,but might turn out +ve after u get preggie.
He oso ruled out completely my m/c r due to thyroid antibodies.

Yaya,Athen,
TCM cannot treat antibodies.However,no harm use TCM to improve ur health.Once u've healthy mind n body=healthy baby.

yaya,
life still goes out...go out n hv a nice candlelight dinner wf ur hb.focus n appreciate on wat u've.

i know it is difficult coz u r worry ur preggie.Mine even worst...i saw my gynae today,the u/s showed there is round yolk sac but no fetal pole n heartbeat.Again,it is still 1week behind.He said it is 70% that this preggie is not healthy.I oredi don't bother to do hcg test..