Support group - Miscarriages

lyn, no ...not powder form, yeah I double boil with red dates, & meat w/o bones. Nvr put guo qi but can put also. Actually, the sinseh told me, Pao Shen is better for me coz I cannot "bu" too much. Pao Shen can "Ti Sheng" (er..energise?)

Confused, wah 2 weeks ah... yeah yeah the chinese sinseh also says dun eat too much watermelon esp if pregnant.

<font color="aa00aa">Lyn,</font>
Ya, still learning how to do that. And hey...u are not fat leh....ok what....why always say yourself fat? Oops, I 'tou chi' 1 durian puff!! 1 only lah...so hope my sore throat won't be affected too much.

<font color="0000ff">Fondue,</font>
I had 3 wks medical leave after D&amp;C. Think gotta fast for few hrs b4 D&amp;C is performed. <font color="0000ff">Lyn</font> is right...abt 6 hrs. I remembered I had ate something at 11am on that day of D&amp;C. Then gynae couldn't do it for me. She said must wait till 5pm then pushed me in the OP. During the 6hrs, no food, no drink. If really thirsty, only can sip sip very little. Dunno what religion you're. Juz keep praying when they push u in, you'll feel more relax. Anyway, still hope that you won't need to go thro' it.

fondue,
i had to fast from 11pm the night b4, 2 prepare 4 op next day. Admitted in morning 4 afternoon surgery. (ur hospital or clinic nurse will advise u.)

medisave pays abt 90%. The rest by yourself 1st. whether U can claim the remainder or for Gynae consultation is determined by ur company.
i was unable 2 claim insurance coverage from company nor pte, as it seems insurance doesn't cover m/c unless it is caused by accident.

I had 2 wks hospitalisation leave, and gyane follow-up check told me i can go back to work liao.
hope these helps.

lyn,
i remembered when i woke up from the GA, i was so hungry, i asked the nurse to give me milo. hee hee.
but then hor, later the pain (i think from the uterus contraction) was so painful, the tears rolled. i think all the nurses labelled me as crybaby for the day. They had to give me painkillers, and they also asked if i have low threshold of pain. i always tot i had quite high level of pain threshold but i guess the pain is really unbearable. But i really appreciate the nurses at KKH. They even went all the way to get me a hot water pack for my cramps.

i guess one (unspoken) factor which holds me back from TTC is i am so scared of history repeating. Nothing will erase that memory of surgery and the hurt i felt when the doc had to insert the pill to dilate the cervix. i was soaking up the entire pillow. haiz.
272273.gif

hey, how come u all get pushed in one?

i walked to the op theatre and climb onto the bed myself with the nurse assisting me only.
Only get pushed out after the op.

But i got a good gynae. she so funny. she scared i could not recognise her bcos she had on the mask and the op cap, she actually took out the mask and smile and reassure me first.

But starlite, not to worry. You are in good hands. yah, like qwer says, regardless wat religion u r, just say a short prayer. i guessed it would help psychologically.

droopy,
So "dong cong cao" is very "bu" one har? I was told to eat "pao shen" becos "dong cong cao" very expensive...

In my last pregnancy, I had one whole big watermelon and lots of papaya before I found out I was pregnant
Maybe that's why...

qwer,
My fats at my tummy starting to show already after the feasting of potato chips and chocolates for the past two weeks... hehe... quick quick drink some salt water to keep the sore throat at bay... good to "tou chi" la... sometimes very hard to refrain le... haha...

I remembered no food and drink from 12pm, and my op scheduled at 6.30pm. I dun feel thirsty at all. Maybe my nervousness killed my thirst...

lyn,
yah, cordyceps (dong cong cao) is more ex than american ginseng (pao shen). And it is more "bu" also. if u buy the better ones, they usually only encourage to put 4 stalks to double-boil for 1 pax. This compares to those less good quality which sells the cordyceps in bulk (u know those skinny ones tie with a red string).

bluebells...
I am also like you... Scared of history. I am scared that my fibroids will come back again. I got lots of fibroids when I got pregnant. Then I had D&amp;C togather with op to remove them.
err... I dunno what the nurses labelled me ah... When they pushed me in, I was already feeling very giddy already. I was given an injection half an hour before.

sigh.. but gotta tell myself gotta be strong...

Bluebells,
I tot those are "dang sheng"? I know my cousin went to Tibet and spent 4k to buy "dong cong cao" and she said it's cheap there. She drink soup with it weekly one...

<font color="aa00aa">Lyn,</font>
It's over, pls dun blame yourself for eating those watermelons &amp; papayas or whatsoever. I'm sure it's not our fault. It's juz GOD's will. I strongly don't believe in eating too much watermelon will cause MC. My piano teacher used to crave badly for pineapple when she was pregnant. She ate pineapples since 1st trimester despite her mother's nagging. Now her son dunno how old already.

Btw, my 'spare tyre' also starting to grow around my waist, hee...hee...I think try not to eat anything b4 bedtime. For me, juz b4 bedtime I'll feel hungry &amp; I'll start to look for food. That's why the 'spare tyre' growing!

qwer,
haha... I used to sleep right after haing dinner when I was in the UK... But I cycle everyday, so still can slim down despite eating a lot too. I am "famous" among my friends to be a big big eater... haha...
Now, I try not to eat out too often. I find the food here very unhealthy. More meat, less vegetables, more oil also.

K, I gotta go out already... chat with you gals again... Wanna see cute baby? When I see the pictures it brought a smile on my face
http://happysunflower.fotopic.net/c498222.html This baby is special cos he's very cute and born 2 weeks after my D&amp;C. And his mother took 4 heart breaking years to conceive him naturally, and went through failed IVF. It's really God's gift. So gals, we still have hope as long as we try

STARLITE,
Dun worry ok? You are in good hands
. Your gynae is very good. My GP also said that he's good.
272302.gif

Lyn, no lah, it's not becos of what u eat. The sinseh says dun eat becoz the child may be physically weak when born, not becoz it will cause m/c.

yeah, good qty Dong Cong Cao very ex, esp u have to eat like 3 or 4 stalks at one shot. (I very stingy, put 1 stalk...heh heh...) But Pao Shen also quite ex leh. My MIL also says, after u double boil right, keep t&amp; accumulate abt 6 stalks of Dong Cong Cao, can cook soup...since expensive, make full use

Wow, lots of postings today.. Lyn, U put on weight huh.. Me too.. Guess maybe I have been having supper. so that explains my extra fats and weight gain..
272387.gif

big hugs to U starlite.. the gals here understand how U must be feeling now.. its indeed a sad and painful thing to go thru.. we be here to give U our support... Take care..
272388.gif

back home...just now met a colleague fr another dept, &amp; he asked me "where's my tummy" aiyoh...
272436.gif
blur like sotong.

Lyn, the baby really very cute leh.
272437.gif

Hi ladies, finally can logged in here. how come motherhood missing now?

anyway, i'm starting my new job tomorrow, i won't be able to access to the internet at my workplace so i won't be coming in so often liao
i went to see my sinseh yesterday, i told her i didn't ovulate until now which is quite rare for me &amp; i'm CD27 today. she told me the herbs that she prescribed me shouldn't affect my ovulation, but she said its normal to not ovulate 1 or 2 time in a year. but i'n still worried leh &amp; i'm having a bit of spotting today. don't know whether to continue taking the herbs or not. have to drink every week &amp; its sooooo bitter. hopefully my AF comes soon &amp; start a new cycle &amp; hopefully i will ovulate soon.

droopy,
My cousin's wife ground the dong cong cao to powder then put into soup... cos a bit wasteful to throw away le... So grind into powder, 100% full use.. kekeke...

hamasaki,
you are already very thin le... To get preggie need a bit of fats also. Best BMI is between 21-24.

missy...
I think I will not take the herbs and see how... especially when something is wrong with the body after taking the herbs...
Actually, I dun really trust chinese medicine one cos their training not as thorough as the western medicine... I got a friend's sister who almost died cos she had too much or wrong chinese medication.

I received OPK today already
hehe... dunno I ovulate already or not...
Today pple asked me when I gonna have a kid oo... but I dun feel sad anymore... just tell her when time comes lor...

hi missy, all the best to ur new job tmr..
272548.gif
Baby dust to U, and hope U will ovulate soon.. take care..

hi lyn, me dunno what its my BMI.. (alamak)
272549.gif
So blur.. But then hor, my hubby said I have lots of fats ard my legs area..
272550.gif
(so sad)

droopy,
If I did not remember wrongly, my mum told me that the guy in the medicine shop told her that it's not much use if did not use enough dong cong cao le. So he also recommended "pao sheng" as a cheaper version of cordyceps.

hi gals, I felt that maybe our body is indeed will be weaken after a M/C.. Also dunno why that happens..

Maybe maybe from what I heard from my MIL, maybe we did not take gd care of ourselves well enough after the M/C and did not take enough *BU* foods so that explains why our body did not fully recover..

272630.gif
Good morning gals!
272631.gif

I have accepted an assignment to start teaching primary kids today... Dunno if I can control the crowd of kids... Hope I wun get a shock
272632.gif

qwer,
Maybe you will be interested in the following:

Q: I have PCOS. Can I still use OPKs?

A: It depends on whether one of your PCOS (polycystic ovary syndrome) symptoms is elevated LH. You can get some false positives or misleading results. A PCOS patient may have more success tracking ovulation via ultrasound. The only way to know if it is reliable for you is to try it.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Missy,</font>
All the best in your new job!!

<font color="ff6000">Hi Lyn,</font>
Thank you!! Btw, u going to school to teach? Hmmm....will be very challenging! Hee...hee...all the best too!!!

<font color="119911">Hey Hamasaki,</font>
Don't think you're fat lah. Maybe u're juz refering to some 'parts' of your body only? Eg. thighs or tummy? For my case, though I look super skinny (as what my MIL said), my tummy is fat fat leh..... I hv difficulty in putting on weight. After my gal was born, the extra fats that I put on, juz shedded off very quickly. So I'm back to my skinny self. I drink full cream milk, eat icecream etc...also cannot put on weight one :-(

<font color="119911">Hi Hamasaki,</font>
My MIL never asked me to rest well etc...1st time confinement after giving birth to my gal, I was staying at my parent's place. MIL visited me almost daily. Everytime she saw me lying on the bed resting, she'll ask me to get up, said I cannot rest or sleep too much. Later become lazy. She said last time she gave birth still gotta cook 3 meals for her HB &amp; do housework etc. My parents very angry....told MIL that woman during confinement is the 'biggest'. They told her woman during confinement no need to do a single bit of housework &amp; the confinement is the most crucial - ie. to rest as much as possible. Then my MIL zipped her mouth.

Then when I had mc, mini confinement at my parent's place again. MIL again said the same thing. Told me that I cannot rest on the bed. Must get up &amp; walk more. I dunno whether she is being concern or nasty to me!!?? So far I never heard from pple that confinement cannot rest one.

Hi nyny,
Are you stressed? That's why it's late?

qwer,
Wa... envy envy... I grow fat very easily one. I think I will be fat like "Shen Dian Xia" after I give birth... My hubby always say I fat one.. Then I told him fat is good cos save money. Got natural pillow, no need to buy pillows already... kekeke...
I think maybe your MIL is concern cos last time when she's doing confinement, it was what she thought it should be. A bit difficult to accept others' practices suddenly... You know, old people's thinking, not easy to change... But then confinement must rest one. My mum said not even reading a book on the bed - eyesight will spoil.

Just now I looked at my temperature chart, I will be ovulating these few days. The OPK arrived just in time. But negative when I test last nite. Anyone knows how many days before ovulation for the OPK to show a faint line?

Hi qwer,
Dont be upset. Guess, everyone is trying to help us out in their own ways. Just take it easy. I know it is easier said than done. We know our bodies best, so we shld be able to gauge if we can do anything or nothing at all.
Durin my pregnancy, both my SIL and my own mother told me to continuously do housework. But I felt very weak and had no energy, my hb everyday made me to things around the house bcos his sis said so mah. Then my gynae told him I shld not do anything, must have total bedrest.
Only when gynae advise, HB, SIL and my mum kept quiet.
Think these pple are advising frm their experiences but not everyone is the same rite.
If you think you need to rest more, than go ahead and rest.

lyn, I too can put on weight easily. I much heavier than my husband you know. paiseh
But husband always so no leh, where got fat? kekekeke
272702.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Yasmin,</font>
Thanks....ya, usually I'll juz ignore all MIL's comments. 1 ear in, another ear out. But during that time maybe got slight post-natal blue + MIL's nagging, quite stress.

<font color="119911">Lyn,</font>
Ya your mum is right. My mum also said cannot read, cry or do cross-stitch or anything that will strain the eyes during confinement. Best is to eat &amp; sleep. So guess why most women put on weight during confinement, ha ha! Btw, since your ovulation ard the corner, can start trying already, keke....

yasmin,
My hubby heavier than me... kekeke...

qwer,
Yap yap... my mum also said cannot cry... Cham liao... I dunno cry until tears went dry after miscarriage while doing the confinement... That time very bad and depressed cos after surgery, drop something also cannot bend down to pick it up, and I also cry... feel so useless at that time le...

k k... really have to go liao.. tata..

lyn, the sinseh I visited also told me no use if I use so little Dong Cong Cao, he also recommended Pao Shen. But since my MIL bought already, I will finish it 1st. Mmmph, next time I use more stalks then.
Yah Hor...powder form can make full use

All the best to Lyn &amp; Missy on yr new assignment/job!

Sunny, dun worry...could it be stress ? U r TTCing right? It could be good news...

Qwer, think yr MIL may be concerned loh, my mum also told me must walk abit or else the "dirty blood" will not flow out. Sometimes, diff people believe in diff things. I agree wif Yas, only we know our body best, others may give advice base on own experience. Dun be upset, okie

droopy eyes, me too cried my heart out. Hugged everyone and cried. After birth of my 1st kid, also cried everyday till I started work. Very bad post-natal blues. But you know, I did not lose much weight while crying and all..... hahahaha

<font color="ff6000">Droopy Eyes,</font>
Thanks.....
Btw, me too cried a lot during confinement despite of the reminders from those old pple. Think it's due to postnatal blues.

droppy_eyes/lyn,

yah.. my mum also says dun waste. so ex. cos i put 4 stalks everytime. so i ate eat them up. ha ha. i cut them into small pieces b4 boiling, then later just chew on them.
But they look like little dry worms to me. at first, dare not. but later, just chomp on them. So best... all goes into the stomach liao. ha ha.

qwer,
dun think abt the past. ur MIL might hv her own methods of confinement. yup, can listen, but do wat u deem best. cos body is ours.

hello gals

Aiyo! tis morning so busy with work.

lyn - all the best to your new job

qwer - Dont be sad yeah! ya! i oso agree with yasmine. we know our body condition. But i was told not to walk too much oso. No wonder i put on weight during confinement. (eat n sleep only) aiyo! me too didnt know cant cry, i cry until no tear coming out.

my AF just came!!! feel happy and sad at the same time.
happy 'cos i have 3 cycles accurately i.e. all 28 days. just like what i had b4 pregnant.

sad, 'cos this time round i didn't manage to conceive.

hi lyn, wow, U going to teach.. All the best..
272883.gif

hi qwer, hmmmm my hubby told me that I'm fat overall..
272884.gif
.. esp: he said tummy and legs area..
Wow lah, feel like knocking
272885.gif
his head leh.. feel hurtful cos last time, he was the one who said I'm skinny and told me to put on weight... Now that I do, he said I'm fat..

hi qwer, I understand that during confinement, the woman needs plently of rest.. She is weak after losing blood during labour time, and this is the best time for her to recover well and fast..
What ur MIL said, I do find it strange and funny.. Maybe she did not rest during her confinement, so she expects U to follow the same way and method..
272886.gif

hi sunny,
272895.gif
dun be upset, try again harder next time.. U will strike one day sooner or later.. all the best..

hi gals, its is true that after birth, the mother will have post-natal blues... seems scarie to me if its serious type.. wondering if I will kena it in future..
272896.gif

hi sunny,
dun b sad. can try the next round.
but at least u feel a little more at ease now.

hamasaki,
i guessed post-natal blues can't b helped.
it's the intensity that makes it scary.
but let's pray all of us here won't kanna!

Hi hamasaki and bluebells,
Yes, all woman will have post natal blues. And its the intensity, that varies frm woman to woman. I was told that woman recover frm the blues when they have sufficient rest, help to care for new born and most importantly, they need some time for themselves. When we have new borns, there rarely is time for ourselves but we shld be able to leave them in someone's care for a short while so that we can spend some time on us.

1 of my sis collegues' wife gave birth and his parents came down frm overseas to see grandchild. Guess they were too demanding, since country is new to them and son has to go to work and no other help was avail other than the daughter-in-law. But the new mother did not know how to cope and finally torched herself to death. Really poor thing leh.

Hi, I am new here... Juz went over the painful period. Trying for baby now after have my cycles normal again. Pls pray for me...

Hello gals,
I am back! kekeke... I still can stand the noise of the kids. "Teacher, teacher..." Teacher this, teacher that... wahahaha...

hahahaha.... yasmin, I never hear before crying can lose weight...

bluebells,
I think it's good to eat the stalks also. Maybe still got "bu" still in the stalks. Wasteful to throw away... I was told to eat the "pao shen" and everything in the double boiler.
273040.gif

sunny,
Dun be sad... Can try again next cycle
At least your cycle back to normal already

Hi Chikako,
273041.gif
to the thread. Hope you will get good news soon.