Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi Starlite,
I have endometriosis on the fallopian tube. Gynae saw during my op. I did not ask why he did not remove them for me - forgot to ask. Gynae recommended course of injections, hopefully to shrink the endometriosis and improve my chances of conceiving. He said I was very very lucky to have conceived the last time. My chances of conceiving is very low
. Sometimes I feel very sad about it, but slowly I gotta accept the fact and move on.

I hate the injections, so I have declined. I told gynae it's too expensive, but did not tell him actually I dun like injections... hehe... everytime I see him, he will ask me to go for the injections
I am suppose to see him this week. I think I will postpone it... I am not prepared.

I had a miscarriage cos I had big fibroids. Gynae was not positive about my pregnancy when I first saw him. That time he told me to pray very hard
. Every time I saw him weekly, he would tell me "It will be God's will. What is urs will be urs."
Anyway, he said there's a high chance that my condition will recur if I do get pregnant and if I did not take the injections. The risk will be lower if I take the injections... I am in a dilemma. Sometimes when I think of it, I am scared...

starlite, from the initial scan the gynae could only see 1 fibroid abt 8cm big. But I took 2 mths to consider if I shd go for the op. Who knows 2 mths later, the biggest fibroid grew to 12cm and she found a lot more ard my womb. I was not sure what type of cysts I had but they disappeared when my gynae tried to remove them during my delivery. So you went thru the op for nothing??? How can they do that?

samewoe, my problem is I'm allergic to most painkillers, even panadol. I used to take tramadol but doc said that it's too strong as I'm still bfg. Sigh

VVF, I also worried tat I have relapse leh. Menses cramp had been very bad these 2-3mths and also the spotting is very bad. Had been spotting for abt 2 weeks liao leh.

lyn, if you really want to have bb then go for the injections since your gynae is so confident that it'll solve your problems. Injections is nothing lah, it'll be just ant's bite type of pain

Hi Giggler,

So urs is just fibroid & not endometriosis right? Then u're luckier lor cos fibroid are not cancerous whereas endo can be cancerous if left untreated..
U've a kid already?
Me also allergy to painkillers, the most common one is Ponstan & Panadol, very troublesome lah!

I think endo is in between fibroid and cancer
I overheard my doc telling another patient.

Sigh... I hope I will not have a relapse of the fibroids so soon. Cos I am already having difficulty conceiving...
I gotta go for a check-up by my gynae every 3 mths for 3 years. I really hope the chinese medicine that I took after my op will work. It's suppose to prevent tumour growth one...

Giggler,
Did you ask your gynae if your fibroids will recur? My gynae told me there's two types of fibroids. Mine are those that will recur ones

Hi beary,

Yap... I have enjoyed my trip very much
Thank you...

One type has roots and one type dun have. Those with roots will grow back. Those without, once removed, gone forever.

By the way, people with fibroids and endo, no dang gui, no EPO, no pak zhen... cos these are estrogen - food for fibroids and endo.

Hi Lyn

Glad that you have an enjoyable trip..
Thanks for the info on fibroid.. Oh dear, no wonder I am still in pain cos after the op, mum always add the herbs in soup for me...better stop now...

HI beary,
I dare not even touch dang gui and pak zhen and EPO ever since my op. My mum's friend daughter had a relapse in multiple fibroids soon after her op cos she took dang gui to "bu" everyday for a while...

Hi Lyn

No wonder I have yet to recover and maybe on the road to a relapse cos I took the above daily after my op.. Think I better stop taking and hopefully the symptons will disappear..Thanks for the info

Hi beary,
I took EPO daily for about 2 months before I discovered my super big fibroids. Dang gui is the chinese EPO. By the way, when I discovered the fibroids, I am already pregnant. My gynae said the EPO has contributed to the growth of fibroids. I just think to myself, everyone say EPO is good for this and that, but it had acually caused problems for me... I think the public need to be educated about Vitamins and not listen to those salesgals.
I still believe that the fibroids grew with my pregnancy, though my gynae think it has been there for many years. On the very first scan by another gynae at Mt E, he found 2 fibroids (I did not tell my current gynae about the scan). Then 2 weeks later, I went for a scan at the X-ray department, and there were 6 fibroids. Then another scan 2 weeks later, it became more than 6 fibroids!

VVF, Im diagnosed with endo leh. I also allergy to ponstan, panadol, asprin, synflex. Very troublesome. Most docs will ask me what medication I can take whenever I told them abt my allergies. Yes, Ive a gal who just turned 10mths. My gynae kept telling me that Im very lucky that Im able to have my gal though Ive endo.

lyn, I didnt ask my gynae if my fibroids will recur leh. But I got cysts one yr after I removed my fibroids lah. So have u decide to go for your injections? I think EPO is the cause that made my fibroids grew so fast the other time leh. Its so misleading leh, I thot EPO helps to reduce menstrual cramp.

Lyn, Beary,

For my case, it was my gynae who told me not to dang gui after my d&c cause he said that might worsen the endo. condition. so i never took it till now.

I also dont really dare to take DOM too.

Acutally was quite surprise that a western doc advised me that. I rememered he said all the Sheng like pao seng can take.

Giggler,
Yes, the media is very misleading
. When I told my gynae that I took EPO, he asked me "why?" Then he told me EPO will make my menstrual flow very comfortable, but it's not good cos they are hormones. I took EPO cos I thought I am growing old already.. must "bao yang". Now I dare not take any vitamins already. I also dare not take chicken essence with dang gui or pak zhen.

I am in a dilemma now. I am suppose to see my gynae tomolo. But I have postponed it to next week. I wanna try to conceive again this cycle. But now I am in CD03. I was thinking if I see him before CD12, he might give me something or help me. Then again, if I go for the injections, I am not suppose to get pregnant. Then I cannot try this cycle
. Such a dilemma... I get nervous when I see him, cos he sure will ask me about the injections again

Starlite,
I am taking DOM le... I know it's dang gui, but gynae told me I can take a bit. I think I will ask if I can take DOM daily. That time gynae asked me to take cos I cannot sleep at nite.

"Dang sheng" can take rite? Mandarin speaking doc ma... And he chinese educated...

Anyone know a good (experienced and kind) woman gynae at KKH?

Anyone ever experienced this condition--very bad aches around the buttocks and hip (bone ache)--sometime, spread to the legs.
Thought it was related to my yeast infection but doctor claimed it's not.

SHandi/

Shandi,
Have you hurt your back? It sounds like slipped disc or something inside pressing on your spinal nerves down to the legs... I think you should be seeing an orthopaedic rather than a gynae for the problem that you have described...

Yeast infection will not cause backache.

Discovered this webbie juz today...quite interesting when I scanned thru the thread...glad tat there are people sharing this common prob tat we ladies facing these days due to stress...
I had endo too & had my ops last mth to remove 4 cysts, the biggest @ 4.9cm. Doc @ KKH also advised me to go for 3 injections where I wun be hvg menses for the next few mths to prevent growth of the cysts again. I was still bleeding after the ops and still hvg the brown discharge till now. Wonder Y...can any1 advise? Btw, wat's CD or TTC? Sorry, cos new to this topic so not sure abt the terms being used...

To those who try to conceive....dun be discouraged....keep on trying...maybe seek advice early from yur gynae for the causes...am sure there are miracles in this world...my cousin tried for 4 years to get pregnant after her marriage...she had endo too and removed it and 1 yr later, she was pregnant and juz gave birth to a lovely boy few mths ago...

Hi Dapimon

Its normal. Don't worry. Had mine done in Oct 04 and the bleeding and brownish discharge stopped only 1 month later...
CD = Cycle Day
TTC = Trying To Cycle

Hey gals,
Just something to share... I just met someone yesterday who had multiple fibroids. Her biggest fibroid measured 3.5cm. She took a series of health product for 2 months and the fibroids disappeared! Amazing!

Hi Lyn,
I just seen my gyna a few days ago, and asked about my fibroid. If you remember I was asking you about a lot of qns about fibroids not too long ago. It seems that not all fibroids will hinder fertility, it depends on where it grows. What I understand from her is that as long as it does not grow in the cavity, it should not be a problem. So girls, don't worry too much about it. Ask your gynae if you need to have it removed.

Hi decimal,
I think it also depends on the size of the fibroids. From what I know so far, fibroids bigger than 4cm will be recommended to be removed. Fibroids that do not cause any pain, or inside the cavity of the uterus, and small, need not be removed. Fibroids that protrude into the uterus, or at the location where implantation will usually take place, will affect fertility...

I am really happy to see the support group here on endometriosis as I am one of the sufferer.

I discovered I have endometriosis about 5/6 years ago. I have seen more than 5 gynaes and now i stayed on with Dr Yeoh Swee Choo at Mt Elizabeth. I have a cyst (about 3 cm) on my left ovary and also a fibroid behind my uterus. At times the pain is really killing me. The pain is like knife-cutting, believe me, it is really very bad. The pain can even occur after menses in which I will feel very bloated and very restless. I was told by a chinese physician to avoid taking food that is too liang because the womb like to be warm. She also told me that endometriosis occur because of too liang.
I have also tried seeing TCM from CHung Hwa at Toa Payoh. However, i feel very painful too after taking the medicine. I believe this is because chinese medicine is suppose to clear the clotted blood, scarring. And in the process of so doing, it is painful because the clotted blood is stuck on the wall all over.

However, I have not gone for any surgery yet. I was told that this kind of cyst/fibroid come back very easily. One of my ex-colleague had it removed, in 6 months time, it recurred.
A TCM physician in Jurong East told me that surgery is best done when u wan to conceive so that the chance is higher.

Do any of you know whether you can have the cyst inside for years? Is it going to cause harm or complicate the situation if it is not removed?
Is TCM really good in curing endo?
Is it true that pregancy will solve endo problems?
Do any of you know whether pai fung wan is good? I heard that pai fung wan can cause cyst, dunno whether truth or myth.

Hi xueyan,

My gynae also told me that once you give birth the endo condition will be better or even fully cured (have to depends)

I also went to see the JE sinseh for my PCOS condition. She also said that dun take Bai Fung Wan or Ba Zhen as it will cause the endo condition to worsen and the womb to be more engorged with blood. I dunno TCM good for curing endo or not but i heard my ttc kakis mentioned that if the endo condition is quite serious, then its better to go for op and remove all the cysts/fibriods/endo... at least higher chance of conceiving. if you never remove the fibroids and gotten pregnant, the fibroids may fight for growing space with the baby... anyway did u discuss your concerns with your gynae? they should be able to analyse for you. Hope my info helps

Hi xueyan

I understand how you feel. But I was told that if you have endo cysts and do not remove it, it will destroy your ovaries and could cause infertility. I too have endo cysts (on both ovaries) and adenomyosis. Underwent surgery last year to remove the cysts and fibroids. Was told that 80% will get a recurrent of the cyts in 5 yrs but I am one of the unlucky one. Got a recurrent bilateral cysts 7mths after the op. Like you, have daily pain, etc. Seek treatment at CH too, well, it does help a bit.
Did your gynae suggest you to take a jab to temp stop menses so that the cysts will stop growing and shrink? Maybe you will like to talk to your gynae about the jab. Take Care

Hi xueyan,

I have not heard of endo occurs becos of too liang food... It's the first time hearing that
. After the surgery, there's no guarantee that they will not come back. How long they will come back, even the gynae also cannot advice cos it varies from person to person.

I think there's no problem with cyst inside for years as long as it does not grow too big and cause pain or other problems. Your gynae will be in the best position to advice you about your condition.

During pregnancy, there will be no menstrual flow, hence the endo will dry up.
I think you better not take "bai feng wan", "dang gui", "pak zhen", evening primrose oil, since you have fibroids, cysts and endo. These are hormones that can stimulate the womb and causing the condition to worsen. I was told by my gynae not to take these. And my fibroids were suspected to have been fed by the evening primrose oil that I took for months! My mum's friend's daughter took "dang gui" every day to "bu" after fibroids removal, and the fibroids grew back twice the size, twice the number within 6 months!

Take care...

When I discovered I am pregnant early last year, I also discovered I have a cyst outside my worm that is 9cm by diameter. My gyane is surprised that I am still able to conceive. My cyst did not shrunk till the last month of pregnancy. One month after delivery, I went for my checkup, and I discovered that the cyst has returned... this time not 1 but 2. total length is about 4 cm. Also, a fybroid is found inside my worm.
Gynae advised me to try for second one ASAP within 2 yrs. Thereafter, it might be difficult.

I was told by my gynae not to take dan gui and bean curd.... but i forgot to ask him whether advisable to take soya bean drink or not. hm... i think just take them in moderation.

I am very confused leh...Why is it that your gynaes tell you all not to take dan gui, EPO, etc and mine never said anything?? He said everything is ok..

beary,
My gynae told me that... By the way, my gynae is "very chinese". I guess he does read about chinese medicine... Maybe you can ask your gynae again.

EPO = evening primrose oil.

Thanks for the advice. I will see my gynae next month, so will ask her my condition whether to surgery or not.

Yes my gynae also never tell me not to take dan gui, bai feng wan. In fact, my KK gynae told me to take EPO to alleviate the pain. However EPO doesn't work for me, so i stopped taking.
I do realise that after taking tau juay, i dun feel good. So I stopped taking tat too.

The JE chinese gynae told me
1. not to wear high heels
2. stop cold drinks
3. do not wear underwire bra

Hi beary
My gynae did mention about the jab to stop menses after surgery (if i choose to do the surgery).

Hi beary

Which gynae are you referring? The gynae that i m seeing now is Dr Yeoh Swee Choo Mt Elizabeth #13-13 Tel : 62352500
However, i do not have the TCM gynae at Jurong East bcoz i have oredi stopped seeing her. Sorry about tat..

Hi beary

Yes I did see a KK gynae before (as I said I have seen more than 5 gynaes becoz the pain was very bad). She is Brenda Low.

Hi lyn

Yes went for several gynaes and realise that a lot of them are not very professional and their scanning equipment are not very advance. In fact, I find quite a few of them just interested in making $, their remarks are very cold. I encountered one of them who told me "to solve your endo problems, go n get married n get pregnant". At that time, I was still single and unattached. To give me this solution is totally absurb.
Another one that I went to at Gleneagles is so busy that you have to wait 1-2 hours even if you have an appointment.

Hi xueyan,
Wow... how can the doc just tell you that... The popular gynaes all have to wait very long even with appointment. It's give and take lor... I am seeing a gynae at GlenE and he's one of those super long q gynae. I gotta wait 1-2hours even with appointment. But he's good in his diagnosis and giving me his advice... So wait lor...

I dun like gynae who gives me too many options.

That time when I was having a high risk pregnancy with fibroids, I went to see a gynae at Mt E. That gynae told me want to remove the fibroids also can, the baby will remain healthy. If dun want to remove also can, the baby will also be healthy... Geesh... how am I going to know what to choose? 50-50% le... Then I found my current gynae who told me it's in the medical law not to go through any surgery during pregnancy cos the risk is too high! Imagine what gonna happen to me if I have chosen to remove the fibroids during the pregnancy! Anyway, the baby did not beat the fibroids to survive la...

Hi lyn

Yes a lot of gynae not very professional. I am sorry to hear about your miscarriage. So did you have a lapascopy to remove the fibroids?

So are you trying to conceive now? Dun give yourself too much stress, just take it easy.

Hi Xueyan,
Thank you...
I am ok already

I went through laparotomy to remove the fibroids. My current gynae said they are too big for laparoscopy. After that, I read on the internet, for big fibroids, it's better to go through laparotomy. Cos need to "repair" the hole the fibroids occupied... otherwise next time can cause uterine rupture if not done properly.

Yap, I am trying to conceive now. Now is my 6th cycle already. I am still confused... dunno to be happy or not when really strike... cos I am still scared of history... My fibroids grew during pregnancy... and my gynae said no guarantee they wun come back...

I hope not la... cos I have been taking lots of "bu". And also "bu" that says can prevent tumours growth...

hi all, i'm new in this thread...i just got married two weeks ago.

i got to know that i have cysts 3 years ago...but first gynae told me it's v small, not to worry...2 years later..i went back to him to have ultrasound scan, this time i have 3...and one of them is 3 cm..the others are smaller ones...

The symptom i get is feeling sharp pulling pain on my left ovary very often.

Last month, i went to a female gynae at mt e to have an ultrasound scan and was told i have 2 cysts, one is 3cm x 4cm near the left ovary and another smaller one in the walls of the womb, gynae said that's what causing the cramps when i have my menses.

According to her, she does not encourage me to go for op, saying that it might come back and the fact i'm still young (27 years old), i can give birth and it might help to reduce the cyst in size...what i'm unsure is is it safe to have cysts and a baby at the same time?

i've not tried sex yet so i do not know if i will get stain.....but i'm v worried about my condition...is there really no way for the cyst to disappear by taking any medication without having to go through an operation???

Also, i would like a 2nd gynae's opinion..and i'm more comfortable with a female one, any good recommendation?

Please advise, thanks.

Hi Estheryl

Did your gynae tell you what type cysts that you are having? According to my gynae, 80% will have recurrence in 5yrs and minority will have recurrence within a short span of 6mths. You can try TCM if you do not want to go through op. Which gynae are you with?

hi beary, she mentioned blood cysts and said not serious...but i heard a friend told me blood cysts is dangerous...

erm paisei what is TCM? i'm with dr soon siew bee at mt e clinic...a friend rec me to her..been to her twice..so far okie..

Hi estheryl

Maybe every gynae has diff ways of treatment. Not to frighten you, but I was told that blood cysts or endo cyts can affect fertility but not dangerous. I underwent op to remove mine last year as it causing me too much pain daily. TCM = Tradition Chinese Medicine. If you are comfortable with your gynae, why want to change??

hi beary, if it affects fertility, then like that no point for me to wait to have b b like what gynae said hor? hmmm...

oh...perhaps i should try TCM...does it usually works?

just trying to be on the safer side...i would like a 2nd opinion...also i'm staying boon lay ...and mt e carpark is always full..and i can only visit the gynae on sat, it's rather troublesome having to purposely travel to orchard area for this... so if possible i would want somewhere nearer to my home...any suggestion?

hi estheryl

how about SGH?? But this doc is a male leh but he is highly recommended....

Why don't give TCM a try?? I gave heard success stories..

yah i will give TCM a try...any good chinese physician to recommend me?

many of my friends advised me to see male gynae saying they are more gentle...but i still feel uncomfortable...hehe