Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

for the first time,i was on noriestherone (not sure of the spelling) for 4 mths, no effect, went for op & took the same medicine for another 9 mths, put on 10kg!!!! can't fit into my wedding gown !
ya, i stopped the medicine in Dec 01 & got pregnant in April 02.

Hi Lyn

not sure if it's also called Noristerat. But the purpose is to stop menses & to let the body absorb the endometriosis, we don't take that for contraceptive purposes.

hv u receive any treatment for your endo? My gynae specialise in endometriosis, alot of foreigners came down to seek treatment from him.

Hi Bea, may i know who is your gynae?
Actually my gynae is Dr Peter Chew, a very experience gynae i know. So i trusted him.

Did your endo. condition resulted in cyst thats y u need to go for op? I heard its difficult to get pregnant with endo. and may also be a cause for miscarriage.

Hi Beary, wat type of pain are u experiencing daily? is it due to endo also?

I've attached a URL with some info. on endo. posted by my gynae for your reading.
http://www.alife.org.sg/en_endometriosis.php

Hi Starlite

My gynae is Dr Teoh Eng Soon at Shaw Centre.
Ya, it resulted in cysts, 8 pcs of cysts, 5cm in diameter each, Dr also helped to blow the fallopian tubes and clean them up during the op, that's why i got pregnant a few mths later. He did mentioned to me that i'll have difficulties conceiving once i've endo, and tat's why now i've been trying for quite sometime, i still don't get pregnant cos i had a relapse in Jan 04 again.
When i got pregnant for the 1st time, the risk of miscarriage is there although the endo has been cleared, doc gave me a jab every week till week 12th to strengthen the womb & foetus.

Hi! Starlite

Thanks for the URL. Yes, the pain is related to my condition which is eno and adeno. Going for review on monday. Need to know why I am still experiencing pain after op...

Starlite

he don't have any website, he's at least 65yrs old, very experienced doc. Ya, he specialised in treating endo & fertilty problem, but of course he's good in other women's problem as well..

HI Starlite,
Really? Dr Peter Chew specialise in endo?

Hi Bea,
My gynae recommended a course of treatment to me. I did not take it up. It's a course of injections for 3 months. It's expensive and I will miss my menses for 6 months. It's not in line with what I want. I am trying to conceive. My gynae said the treatment will shrink the endo and help in my fertility. I am getting quite stressed up on TTC.

Lyn

don't stress yourself. I'm trying to conceive too cos i know if i don't try now, once i get another relapse, i might lose my womb,but i tell myself to relax, cos stress will make me more difficult to conceive. Let's hope we can get preggie soon...

My gynae also told me that having endo. does not mean that i cannot concieve.

But when i ask whether i can try now, he will telling me that the endo. could be interfering with my ovulation and hence, this may affect the eggs quality.

Besides he also advise that i should not engage in sex now that im having staining

Starlite

ur gynae is right, if the endo is growing on your ovaries, then it'll affect ovulation or u might not even have ovulation at all, and if u get pregnant before u get it treated, chances of miscarriage is quite high.

As for sex, my gynae never mention that i shd not have sex if i'm staining, however, normally if i've spotting, i'll not do it, where got mood?

Bea, he suspected the endo.is at the back of my womb instead of the ovaries.

Actually i dont think i have that condition during my first pregnancy. I have a boy who is 20 mths old now.

Really did not expect to have this problem. sigh...now want to get pregnant also cannot try.

my gynae only saw the endo on my ovaries during the scan, but when he operate me, he found some at the back of the womb too, in total 8 pcs.

At least you've a boy already, the most important thing now is to seek treatment asap before it's too late..Are u seeking 2nd opinion?

Hi ladies, I got fibroids in Yr2002 and removed them in the same yr. In 2003, when I went back for my yrly check-up, I found that I've cysts on my right ovary. Guess I'm very lucky cos I found I'm pregnant on the same yr. I just gave birth last yr and the cysts disappeared when my gynae tried to remove them during my delivery. Just hope my story will encourage those who are TTC-ing that there's chance even if you've got cysts.

Hi beary

Read from your posts that you are also a patient of Dr WL Tham of KKH. I am currently seeing him for my bilateral ovarian cysts and fibriod. Can you tell me what is the bill size for your surgery? I need to know as Dr Tham did mentioned that if my cysts don't goes off when I see him in June ( hopefully its functional cysts), I need to undergo surgery to remove the cysts. Thanks

Hi Giggler,
Thank you for the encouraging words.
I am very worried that I cannot conceive already cos I had a surgery for fibroids before. I think my health is not as good as before already.

Hi Angie

My bill size for my entire stay at KKH is $9k. The cost varies as depends on the nos. of days you stayed in the hosp and the room type. Hope this will help you.

Hi Lyn / Starlite

This will be my last posting here. Won't be coming in anymore..

Lyn

Thanks for all the supportive words and encouragement given to me..

Starlite

Thanks for the URLs...

To all the TTCs ladies, may god bless you and hand his gift of conception to you as soon as possible..Enjoyed reading all the posts here..The reason for not coming in is because I am fighting a losing battle with my Endo/Adeno condition and I have lost all my hope of conceiving.. My review last nite was bad.. Actually, I am a CGH patient seeing my gynae in the O & G Specialist clinic. Now my gynae wants to transfer my case back to KKH as he needs detailed testing and scanning which CGH cannot provide and he wants me to see him at KKH instead as he is a consultant from KKH..

Hi Lyn

Thanks for your encouragement and support. Been crying myself silly these few days and cannot concentrate on my work. My gynae will see me in 2 mths time and said that this will be last extension before he proceed with the only option left for me. My next appt together with detailed ultra-sound scan will be in May.. Am praying hard that miracle will happen before May..

hi beary

pls be strong, dun lose heart. I support lyn say miracle do happen. I believe Dr Tham will have a way to treat you. Have faith in him, tat what I tell myself during my delivery and I pleased with him stitches and tat why now my mum is also his patient fro menopause. I oso see him in CGH.

Pls dun leave tis thread, do share with us and dun keep too much in heart, i know it will be very stress.

In the meantime, do rest well, so can recover fast okie.

Take care hug hug ....

Waiting for your good news soon

lyn, dont worry too much lah. I also got conceived after my removal of fibroids mah. Just try to relax and enjoy bb-dancing. I'm sure you'll conceive soon.

beary, have u consider of seeking 2nd opinion for your situation? Dun lose heart, I ttc for abt 1yr before I got conceived too.

Hi giggler,
Thank you for your encouraging words

Hi beary,
Just now I typed a very long reply but my computer went bongus... Let me try to recall...
I you are sad and feel like crying, then cry. It will help to release some stress. If you can, put work aside first... Do the minimum... shh... dun tell your boss I tell you one har... hehe... well, people like us who have endometriosis should relax and not engage in something that will cause too much stress. Not good for our health.
What do you mean by the last extension? What is the next step? With the improvement in medical technology, there will be hope! Dun give up ok? Hugs... Do you want to look for a second opinion?
I fully understand how you feel if you are not pregnant by your next appointment with gynae. I am also getting a bit nervous cos I still cannot conceive and my gynae's appointment is coming... Just now, I went shopping and was looking at ovulation prediction kit. It's very tempting to buy cos I am in CD12. After some thoughts, I decided not to buy it. I think "er ren shi jie" with hubby also not bad and we are happy. I should appreciate the lovey time with hubby. Then I just sms my hubby and told him we just leave it to God... I have been quite stressed up with TTC. Now, slowly I am learning to let go...

hi lyn,

dun loss heart yet keep on trying and i sure u will make it soon. u are right u should enjoy your er ren si jie now cos when bb come there will be no such time.

so dun be stress okie just enjoy now and feel relax.

Hi wendypooh,

I am telling myself that I cannot control a lot of things. Controlling too much gives me stress... So now I am focussing on appreciating what I have now

Hi Wendy
Thanks for the encouragment. Its not that I have no faith in Dr Tham but its my condition that is making me lose faith in myself. He has been very supportive thats why he is giving me another 2 mths of extension before making his option a final decision.

Hi Giggler
I have already seeked a second opinion and now deciding whether to see a third opinion cos the second opiniion doctor suggested hysterectomy!!

Hi Lyn
Its always sweet of you to give me support and encouragement. How I wish I can leave work aside and relax. My coy has just got a new project and for the last 2 days been in the new project site setting up the site office..running up and down, carrying things, no air-con and the weather is so hot and to made things worst, the pain is bugging me..Sigh~~
My last appt review was bad because my scan shown that my uterus has grown to double its size due to adeno and the wall of my uterus is very much thicken thus causing me daily pain and abnormal bleeding.. Doc has prescribed medications and give 2 mths of extension and hopefully by then the medications can stop the pain and reduce the growth of the uterus. If by the next appt, still no change, he will have to push for the last option which he never likes to do unless really necessary. His last option is Total Hysterectomy, that is why I am so sad.. I want so much to have my own baby cos me and hubby loves children very much..Hubby said he dun mind not having children as long as doc can cure me and stop my daily pain and we spend the rest of lives happily together..
So from now till my next appointment, I am praying hard that my condition will improve..

I will also pray for you that you will conceive before your next appointment..

Ladies, once again, thanks for your support and encouragement and hope to give you all good news and hope to hear good news from Lyn..

Hugs Beary...
258978.gif

I am sorry to hear that the last option is hysterectomy. Hugs... I will pray for you that your condition will improve and stabilise
258979.gif

Do you want a support group? I mean a real support group whereby you get to meet the others in person. I know there's a newly setup support group for infertility by ALife (www.alife.org). I am not sure exactly what it is, but you can call them to find out more. They do provide counselling and support...
Actually "er ren shi jie" with hubby is also not bad if you think it that way
. I am trying to think that way so I will not be so stressed up...

Do you travel with hubby? I travel quite a lot with hubby (all free and easy or backpacking). It helps cos it's the enjoyment and memories that we get. When I am sad, I think about our happy times while travelling... It's really the enjoyment of "er ren shi jie"
Come to think of it, no kids also good... Free and easy life to go anywhere, whenever we like
And more money to spend for travelling too

Hi Lyn,

It's good to hear tat u are enjoying yourself, and cutting all stress. Relax is also a key point to conceive.

Beary,

Sending u all my comfort and hug to u. It good tat u are comfortable wif Dr Tham, cos tat u have the confident to see him again. Dun worry just relax and hope in your next appt Dr Tham is able to give u good news. If u feel at ease wif Dr Tham, then u better stick to him cos he know ur condition well at charges at KKH will be slightly lower then other pte hospital.

Me now also worry for my mum cos Dr Tham say my mum could have a fibroid and she is due for another review in August before he can confirm.

if a gyane say fibroid is small dun need to remove, is it normal and common? cos when i was pregnant gyane say i have a fibroid at pte hopistal, then i switch gyane to KKH. during my 6 week post-natal check up, my gynae say dun need to do anything to it. so now i bit worry

Hi Lyn

Thks for the info. You are right, maybe I should learn to relax and accept that this fate and spend the rest of the my life happily with my hubby. Seldom got to travel as both of us of busy with work. Trying to relax and cut down working hours after my op in Oct 04. Before my op, I used to work 15hrs a day even on weekends. Nw we are trying to spend as much time as possible together like going for movies, shopping, dining out instead of spending our time busy with each others' work.

Wendy
Thks for the comforting words. Dun worry, your mum will be ok.. As for your fibroid, if its not giving you any pain, it can be left alone as what your gynae said. The reason that I went for the op is because its causing me a lot of pain daily and its even worse during my mense period. Its so painful until I cannot even walk or stand up. Suppose to see Dr Tham in June 05 for a second review but due the pain which I have been getting daily since Jan 05, I went to see him again on 7 Mar. Did a scan on tat day and he said no good and that is why he is transferring my case back to KKH. He is giving me another 2 mths and hopefully my condition will stablised by then. He has ordered for a detailed scan on the same day as the appt and am keeping my fingers crossed that my uterus will be back to normal by then...

Hi Wendypooh,
From what I have read, I think it's normal that the gynae will not recommend surgery if the fibroid is small or not growing rapidly. Statistically, fibroids smaller than 4cm need not be removed. It also depends on the position of the fibroids and whether it will affect implantation in future pregnancy... Maybe you can seek a second opinion?
I went through a surgery becos my fibroids grew rapidly during pregnancy and I had a miscarriage becos of that.

Hi beary,
Gotta try to think positive ok? Then you will be happier

I can understand life can be very hectic when working. You are very hardworking! But gotta have some time for yourself and hubby. Maybe a short get away to neighbouring countries during the weekends will be nice too

Just give your body some more time to adjust ok? Then you will not be so stress...Hugs...

Hi Gals

Seems like most of you know more information about endometriosis and fibriods than me. Would like to seek opinion frm u gals. Btw, is ednometriosis and fibriods than same thing? Sorry, I know nuts about it.

I'm diagnosed with a fibriod on the uppper left side of my fallopian tube in late 2003 but my gynae did not give me any medication for it. Tells me I should do an annual checkup to monitor it. So late 2004, I decided to go for another check up and at the same time seek out a 2nd opinion too from another gynae. This gynae at TMC told me that my fibriod had grown, it's the size of a golf ball(is it consider big in medical terms??)This gynae told us not to try for a bb, he says things like fibriods feeds on estrogen and my estrogen level could be high cause I'm slighty overweight hence if I'm pregnant may carry a risk of my bb and fibriod growing together to fight for space . He ask me to reduce my weight and go back to consult him again 3mths later. If it grows further I might have to undergo surgery to remove the fibriod.

Now, I read from the msges you gals post the fibriod may have relapse, I am at a loss as to whether is it necessary to go for surgery. My hubby and I have been married since late 2002, but only started trying for a child in late 2003. Till now, no luck, don't know is it we didn't try hard enough or maybe my fibriod is hindering me from getting pregnant.

BTW, can anyone share with me the cost of fibriod operation. I hope it's not too expensive, I just quitted my job and husband the only person working now. So don't think can afford expensive surgery. Me stress now over finding a job and my condition. Sigh......

Hi Angeline

The cost for the operation varies that is depending on whether you want it to be done in a pte hospital or KKH. If you opt to do it in KKH, you can opt to be a subsidise patient which means that the cost can be deducted entirely from your medisave and maybe you need to pay just a minimal amount. If I have remembered correctly, my gynae told me that if opt as subsidised patient in a B4 room, entire expenses can be deducted from medisave.

If your fibroid continue to grow (touch wood!), it is best to remove it as it will fight for space with your bb when you are pregnant. Dun stressed yourself and stay happy and positive.

Hi Angeline,
Endo and fibroids are not the same. Totally different problems.
In medical terms, fibroids are considered big if they grow to more than 4cm. From what I read, if it continue to grow, better to remove it. It can grow very big in pregnancy. I had a miscarriage and I had fibroids. The fibroids grew with my pregnancy and grew very fast.
There are two types of surgery for fibroids. One is laparoscopic (three hole) and the other is myomectomy (open surgery). Laparoscopic surgery increases the risk of uterine rupture in future pregnancy if not done properly.

For cost, I spend about 10k in private hospital in a 2 bedded ward.

Hi Angeline,
Do you have any medical insurance? If you have, you can claim from insurance. Not all types of insurance though, only hospitalisation plan insurance can claim. I assume you will have medishield at least. From medishield, I claimed about 1k+, but I am not sure about the new scheme.
Beary is correct. As a subsi patient in a B2 ward (4 bedded), medisave can cover all the expenses, except medications. There's a minimum that you need to have before you can use medisave.

Fibroids may hinder the ability to get pregnant, depending on the location. Fibroids do feed on estrogen. In pregnancy, there will be a surge in estrogen, hence fibroids can grow.

I would like to check whether did anyone in this thread has gone thru' any op for endometriosis.
My gynae told me i had endo. at the back of my womb. That would have been one factor that causes my miscarriage in Dec 04.

He has advised me to go for an op to clear the blood clot at the back of my womb.

According to him, it will be a day surgery and it will be done via laproscope.

If anyone has gone thru this kind of op. would appreciate if you could share your experience. Would one be under GA or LA? How long usually is the procedure and is it really no need to be hospitalised? What is the cost of the surgery on average?

Too bad all these qns i did not asked my gynae last week when i see him cos i really freak out when he advised surgery. FYI, i had gone thru a D&C in Dec 04, another op in Jan 05 and now I have to face this...

Appreciate if anyone can share.

Hi Starlite

u're luckier than me, at least your gynae told u it's just a day surgery, for me i had very bad endometriosis(5cm in diameter, 8 pcs in total) few yrs back & i went thru a 4 hrs op to remove it, stayed in hosp for 4 days & MC for 8 weeks! And it came back again & again, luckily for the last relapse, i discovered it quite early, so just go on medication will do.

i paid abt $8k in total for a 4bedded in Mt Alvernia.

Hi Starlite, lapro shd be just a day surgery and you'll be under GA. I went thru both lapro and op. My gynae did a lapro for me to remove the fibroids but she found that I've 8 of them and the biggest being 12cm so she got to cut me open to remove all of them. I stayed in SGH for 4-5days and mc for abt 6weeks. Total cost abt $2k.

Hi bea, what medication did your gynae give to help? One yr after I removed my fibroids, my gynae found cysts on my womb. And now, I suspect I got relapse again. Sigh...........

Hi Giggler, I had two previous surgery, one to remove a ovarian cyst and the other is the appendix. Both i need to stay in hospital for 2-3 days leh...thats y im very doubtful when my gynae told me no need to stay in hospital leh.

But funny, if your fibroid is so big, how come the gynae did not detect from the scan and hence decide to cut open from the beginning?

what type of cyst did the gynae said it was? Does it require any surgery?

I m also sufferer of endo and been thru one op. Last yr, i was told to do another op cos they found unknown mass. They want to do a laporoscopy on me and i refuse. I have gone to see gynae at KKH and NUH and both consider to do a laporoscopy on me. I find it hard to believe cos they identified that as unknown mass. From what i know, he ultrasound scan is not 100% accurate and I told my gynae that i wanna to do MRI. it is an expensive scan... S$700 but it is much more accurate than ultrasound. Wat i m tryig to say is if we wanna to go under the knife, we might as well pay more to get clearer pic of what is happening. Anyway, in the end, when i got my MRI report and reviewed by gynae, i need not have an op. I know the pain is unbearable and it is very frustrating cos u don't know when it will come and go. I also know i can't commit myself in anything becos of the pain. Then again, i read articles on worse case. Blood fusion for a lady every mth after her menses, and not to mention the pain that cancer patients got to go thru. Till today, i m still very dependent on pain killer, and after they withdraw Vioxx from the market, it is even worse for me. However, let all of us not to give up, ok?

Giggler,

my gynae gave me Noriethisterone. I had a relapse a yr after i gave birth, took medicine for 9 mths and recover, but a month later, discover a very small one again.sigh...

samewoe, did the MRI eventually revealed what is this unknown mass? if the mass is causing you pain, why dont u want to remove it once and for all intead of constantly rely on medication?

acutally i had the same experience. Gone thru and op in Jan 05 cos they saw that there's a mass in my right pelvis but could not identify from the scan what it is.

so i went for the op on advice of the doc. but in the end, they said its a swollen ovaries and need not do anyting abt it...

i felt very "yuan wang" going thru' that op really.

Hi Starlite,
Me too too.. it is the swollen ovaries. Luckily, i did the MRI. otherwise, i also goes under the knife for nothing. I also feel very yuan wang to waste money and suffer. Luckily, i did the MRI oh. Pheeeww..

At the moment, it is still giving me pain oh but can't do anything. Can't remove cos i wanna to try for babies when i got married. i know it will be diff but i hope there will be miracle.