Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

I've been on the jab to stop my menses for 3 months cos of endo cysts but the problem is my last day of period is on 23 July and out of sudden, my period came again yesterday(My jab is on 19 July). O_O. I've called the gynae and she said it's normal as long as there isn't any fever or pain but she said need to observe again. Anyone out there experience these? Im so worried...=(

Hi simp,

tks for consoling me, i feel much better now cos kind of accept the fate la. Pls don't feel despair, we need emotional support fr each other.

Shirley, no worries cos i went thru the same thing. Sometime the timing not right. Shd be alright when u proceed with subsequent jab. I read up that there is usually a "flare up" effect after the jab before the hormone settle down. I call up gynea at that time also , he also say normal. So rest well.

Hi Rest,

Thanks for your reassurance.. hee..i still have a bit discharge now and den..

but do u feel a bit bloated somewhere around that womb area?

Dear Shirley,

Yes i do feel bloated. But it will go away once body adjust to the hormone jab. Infact i have brown discharge about 2 weeks after my last jab (4th jab) and my gynea say its ok cos it's due to the jab. It went away after 1 week.

is it really true that wecan't take bak foong pills & dang gui? i tot they are herbs that helps to regulate menses.

****** I Need Advices ******

Due to retroverted uterus and severe monthly cramps, also 2 years of pregnancy trying and no result, i was told to consider lapo (something call laparoscopy or what) surgery for possible endo condition. i'm not exactly sure if i'm endo sufferer, it seems to me tht the gynae isn't sure till a lapo was carried out? (Is this true?)

i've a choice of lapo keyholes surgery or HSG (xray).

Some suggest to go surgery direct as it's clearer and should there be any cyst, it'll be removed straight. Some suggest xray will do as it's not conclusive tht i had endo and GA is risky, but i heard xray isn't clear enough and it's painful as no GA.

Could share your experience with me? How much does it cost and what is the estimated recovery period after the surgery.. Is it really effective in reducing the menses cramp.. and i heard that the endo will grow back after sometimes though.

Care share? Thx.. :"(

Hi Silencer
Yes it's true. Sometimes ultrasound cannot detect endo if it's mild. But mild endo can cause some obstruction to being preggy too.

I went for lap in nov 05. Gynae detected a cyst from US but dunno what's kind of cyst until the lap. Then it was confirmed to be endometrosis after the surgery :x

Managed to get preggy successfully 1 month after the ops hee :p

My gynae is good. He is Dr Tan YG from Raffles Hospital. You may like to seek a 2nd opinion from him ?

thx riu. i really need a second opinion. my gynae didn't do an ultrasound for me, so i'm worried that he may miss out something. thx a lot.

hi gals, I am new to this thread. As i am overwhelmed by the heavy previous postings, I would prefer ladies with the same problem as me to answer some of my enquiries directly.
I was diagnosed with fibroids yday. I couldnt believe it when doc broke the news to me. There are 4 fibroids althogether. Of which all are subserosal (outside lining of womb). The biggest one is 8.4cm followed by 4cm and other 2 is about 2cm each. Despite that, I do not have any symptons at all. My period are v regular and it is always a 28 cycle. I have no abnormal long periods or bleeding between period due date etc and i do not suffer from menses cramp. Therefore, I realli got a shock to discover I have multiple fibriods.
I just got married this year and I intend to have baby soon, that is why i go for a Pelvis scan. It is v depressing. I am worried if i go for op, the scarring of womb will cause me to be infertile and i also read that the chances of the womb rupture during preg will be higher. If i dun go for op, I am afraid that I can nv be preg or rather if i got preg, i will miscarry. Anyone had similar experience and is it realli necessary to go for operation? My gynae briefly told me not to worry and ask me to go back after 4 mths for another scan. I am worried it might be too long a wait.
Shd i go to another gynae? cos mine is from KKH and he says he will be privatising to Camden Medical Centre soon and i think his Fees gonna be privatised too... I am worried abt the bigger bill. Anyone had a v good gynae to recommend? Is the gynae also the one performing the operation??
I am sorry for my many qs but i would appreciate your contributions to my qs. Please help me

Hi Mrs Yap,
I am also new and been diagnosed with u.fibroid too from my pvt practise gynae who strongly suggest I should go for surgery. Mine is the pedunculated with a size of a tennis ball.
As such, I went to seek 2nd opinion at KKH (gynae name is Dr Judy Wong) and was given 2 options which are either to do nothing or opt for a myomectomy.
However, I have change my mine and will want to try to conceive, after reading from forum and internet sources. I hope I am making the right decision.
Usually the gynae diagnose you will be performing the surgery.
If you wish to share with me more information, please feel free to email me at [email protected]

Hi Mrs Yap you are not alone. My menses 28 d no cramps 3 days cleared.I was diagnosed with 5 fibroids last year when I was first pregnant. I have got a miscarriage after that. Then I went through a myomectomy which removed more than 10 fibroids. It has been a year and I haven't got pregnant. It is something sad that I do not wish to talk about it anymore or I will cry.
Anyway I suggest you to discuss with gyne, be it 2nd opinion or more,they are the one know best. I think most of them are the same.
God blessed and hope everything goes well to all of you.

Dear Mrs Yap,

It is always good to seek a 2nd opinion to confirm the suspicion. If your kkh gyane is moving, maybe can ask him to refer u to another specialist. It is usually still cheaper than pte specialists.

If removing the fibroids will jeopardise your chance of pregnancy, gynae must share with u on the risk of scarring womb before they operate u. My gyane didnt remove my growth in the womb when i went for lap in kkh in mar this year as he said that that would be the last option as the womb will be removed totally as my growth has grown into the walls of wombs. As i am doing family planning, i will have to live with the growth and cope with it. My growth is related to my severe endo that i have. If i am not wrong fibroids are ok. Do check with your gynae if removing fibroids will compromise your family planning.

I would suggest that after lap, seek tcm treatment to strengthen your womb before trying for pregnancy to increase the chance.

I am now 9 weeks' pregnant when i realised that my mense was not here in august. I am spared from ivf program this month and i am thankful. After my lap, i did seek tcm to strengthen my womb. I also changed my diet to eat as healthily as i can for family planning.

Hope u find the info useful

Dear All.. thanks for the information shared
For those who went for operation
HOw much is the surgery? How many days do u need to take MC be4 u can go back to work??
It is a coincident that i jus quited my job and currently temping in a Hospital. I am offered a position in an MNC now and i dun wish to affect my work performance by taking MC soon after joining. Therefore i need to budget out the cost of surgery as i will not be on paid MC.

Hi Mrs Yap, depends on what surgery it is. My myomectomy needs 1 month MC. Cost about 9K in private hospital.

hi jivy... wah the operatio is so exp!!
anyone of u know... if i buy hospitalisation insurance now and do surgery 4 months later, will it still be covered?? Cos i already discover my fibriods last week. Will the insurance company still let me buy? or rather will they cover anything gonna do with fibriods.

Hi Mrs Yap,

I did my lap in kkh staying 4 days 3 nites in b1 class. Bill size abt $5k, hospital leave abt 2 weeks but it may not be sufficient as body is still weak. TCM should be able to help u get back in shape faster as it will tiao your body to recuperate.

As for insurance, u can use medisave and medishild. As for buying additional hospitalisation insurance, i think there are some insurers who will still take in under corporate employees without any medical check-up thr their hr. Generally if u buy insurance on your own this may be excluded from your new policy as u have a pre-existing condition as viewed by insurers such as aia, ntuc, prudential. However U can still find out more from other insurer such as aviva, axa etc.

Another way to go about it is to join new company, delay your op 1 year later. Companies give hosp insurance after confirmation and with pre-existing condition, they will still cover after 1 year of service with them. However u need to lay out the opp cost to see if it is worth the wait. If family planning is top priority in relation to age, then i think maybe it is wiser to just go ahead with the op and build up health.

Thanks Simp,
Currently i am awaiting to go into a new job.
I thot usually it will take onli 3 mths to confirm their staffs and thereafter staffs can be entitled to the hospital benefits?
I dare not ask during interviews as this will make them suspicious of my health condition.
Haiz..... quit at the wrong time.

Hi Mrs Yap,

I did my lap in Mar. Cost is about 6K (all in -doc fee, hospital etc). Day surgery so check in at 6.30am, lap at 7.30am and discharge at 1pm. Went on lap on a Thursday and went back to work on Monday. Wound heal was quick and no pain. Doc gave 1 week mc and say if need another week also can but he say some people go back to work only after a few days.

My company's insurance practice is what Simp has described...after 1 year then cover. but for me, i can claim the full amt cos i work there more than 1 year. You must check the policy cos my company probation is 3 mths but the health insurance only allow staff to claim after 1 yr for pre-existing conditions.

I think that if you cannot wait then its better you just go ahead cos you don't know what will happen 1 year later and for health issue, its better to address it earlier than later.

Simp: Hope everything is well with you. Rest well and eat well !

Hi rest_relax,

Your company's insurance coverage is very good, managed to cover all. My company covered like 50% and the rest by my personal aia healthshield (medishield) and pink of health insurance.

I just came back from spore yesterday. Now baby is at 10 weeks measuring 2.7cm and i can see head, hands and legs but my adenomya is always growing. Now like 6cm quite big. Baby's position is above the big growth and gynae says the adenomya will continue to grow sideways as well as pregnancy progresses. But he says it is ok. Baby is so small and i have liked gained abt 4 to 5 kg for 1st trimester. A bit too much for that.

How have u been doing?

Hi Mrs Yap,
i am referring to laproscope procedure. its a key hole surgery - i had 2 key hole wounds. I think maybe yours is a operation? so need 1mth rest?

Simp,
i have finish my gnrh jab (last jab in jun), menses came in Aug 18 then took clomid (urrg...yucky) on Aug 22 for 5 days. Till today, no menses, i don't know what is happening to my body. Suppose to see gynea next Friday. Haiz....

Mrs Yap
Normal surgery is open wound. It likes c-section but ppl take out babies but we take out cycst. I had my ovarian cyst removed in 2004 at KKH and the cycst (10cm) is too big and so cannot opt for key hole surgery. Mcs for 4-5 wks

rest-relax,
may be good news... we cycled about the same time and i got my menses
i will try next cycle, lor...

Baby Low,

No gd new
my menses came on Oct 5. Gynea say need about 2 mths for menses to stablise to normal. So i hope from Oct onwards can be normal liao. My husband did a sperm test and turn out that morphonogy is only 5% (normal is 15%). Doc say it means the sperm not complete, got defects type. So even if preg , may mc cos quality no good.He was given med by doc to take.

Sigh....i am at wits end what to do and stress over bb issue. Anyone got same situation and advise ?

Rest-relax,
I am sorry to hear that your last round iui was not a success. I understand how you feel and the amount of energy and time that you have gone through. I believe IVF is the last resort for you but just wondering if you have thought about it. Did you try acu and tcm? having baby has been a big issue for me, too. we are on the same boat and hopefully we can reach the shore soon...

Babylow,
I did not go thru iui. My story is that..i m/c in Feb at 7 weeks then went for lap in Mar and discover endo and block tube. Then took on 4 mths of GNRH jab to stop menses. Menses just restore in Aug and the Oct 5. I want to try iui or ivf but somehow my gynea say go natural first lor and he say will give me ovaluating med on the first day of my next menses.

Did not try tcm or acu yet, except i drink tong chong cao once every week. Heard it strengthen body and for male, sperm. I hope we can graduate together and move on to a happy ending. At this difficult time, i am glad we can encourge each other. Have you take ovaluating med before ? what type? any tips to share for TTC?

You know, i feel super sad today cos one of my colleague gave birth but when baby come out it has heart failure and died. She was so excited to go on maternity leave and was extremely happy. Sigh....life is so fragile.

Just wondering if anyone has gone for monthly contraceptive jabs to relieve the endo pain? Does it help with the pain and any side effects?

is it very common for adhesion to reform after a key-hole op done for endo, ovarian cyst & adhesion? how & will the adhesion get worst?? Anyone know??

simp
can you forward me your simplified version of the endo recipe. my e-mail is [email protected]

Hi Anggie,
I've lapo last yr for my endo & cyst, now my endo has worsen and my ovaries are stuck. Is this what you meant by adhesion?

Hi simp,
Can you also forward me the endo recipe? my email is [email protected] Thanks!

Hi Jennette

Yes i think it is something like that. I was admitted to hospital for bad cramps & had a scan done. according to the doc there was some free fluid & some thin adhesion. my endo, at the time of lap in june this year, was not serious according to my doc.

still kept having cramps everyday even after the lap & abt 3 months after the lap, had some infection on my tubes which recur again 1 month later. my cramps still does not seem to stop. don't know why.

Was your endo serious when you did the lap last year?

Hi anggie,
My endo was quite serious then, & my cysts were quite huge. They were next my ovaries, went to 2 gynaes and both suggested to op. But after the op, cramp still comes back, and seems to get worsen now. Last week went to scan again, gynae said my endo is quite bad, so she suggested IUI / IVF, coz I only have 5% chances to conceive naturally. Think you are right, it shd be due to adhesion.

jenn

you are also ttc? I am gg for SO-IUI next week. first time after ttc for 1 yr.

i hv a friend who just went for lap too. Her endo grew on her bladder and cause some discomfort when she wants to pee. Her doc prescribe 9 mths of med to stop her mense. its the first time i heard pple taking med for so long after lap.

anggie
r u ttc? the situation might improve when u get pregnant since u dun have mense for 9mths

hi noscon,
I've been ttc for 10 mths afr my op. btw care to explain the diff between SO-IUI and IUI?
I also had a jab to stop my menses for 6 mths afr the op, but who knows it drag until 8 mths, i hv to take hormone pills to induce my menses.

I'm currently seeing TCM, they seems to be able to "cure" endo & cysts problems. I think it depends on how bad is your condition. Previously my cysts were more than 5cm, so it became quite dangerous if they erupt.

hi noscon

no i'm not ttc-ing. I'm still single, not in any relationship.

don't really know what's still causing the daily persistent cramps. doc said my endo was not serious.

hi anggie,
hv u tried TCM? Dr Bai at Chung Hwa clinic specialise in this. Heard some members managed to improve their condition after taking his med for half a yr. I've gone to see him, but he said cannot conceive if take his med, that's why I stop.

Dear Anggie and Jenn,

Currently I am in spore and my laptop is in my KL home. When I reached KL on thurs or fri, i will email the endo recipe books to u

Hi Essie,
I did my myomectomy, laparoscopy and some other things together in mar this year. Now i am expecting my first bb and would be delivering in April 2008. Similarly my adenomyoma / growth has grown bigger to 7cm with my bb and would continue to grow as well till delivery. Now i am in my sixth month. I would be going for c-sec for cases like mine. So i is possible to conceive despite having severe endo, adhesion and blocked tube. My gynae also told me that i have little chance for natural conception to take place dueto my condition and would require IVF but i managed to conceive in Aug ( a few months later after laparoscopy) with proper diet, rest and tcm to manage my mense cramp and condition. This is to prepare my body for health and conception.

jenn

i have seen dr bai too... i think my fibroid/cysts became smaller after i seen him but not sure whether it is him or something else. i also seen him for a few months.

I think one of the best tcm to see dr tan siew buoy from tong chai. Though it is troublesome to brew her med. I stopped seeing her for personal reasons but I think her med is good.

The diff bet SO-IUI and IUI is that for SO_IUI , in additional to doing the IUI, it also help to produce more eggs for a better chance(more eggs= more chance for sperm to penetrate?). Got to take hormonal jabs to produce more eggs... more exp too...

anggie
doc also said mine was not serious (mild endo) but every month my pain was really bad. I depended on painkillers every month. Recently when i tried to survive a month without painkiller, i ended in the hospital. I just cant seem to get thru a month without painkiller. But now im using progesterone cream cos i heard some pple(based in US) that it might help with endo. But please know that I am taking my risks here as there is no medical basis. This is not a recommended procedure recommended by doc so pls dont follow me. But if you are interested to learn more. You can google "progesterone cream". Some people use it to support a pregnancy cos if one lack progesterone hormone during pregnancy, it can endanger the baby. Anyhow some said that if we have more of this hormone, our endo will be better at least in term of pain. Again, no medical proof that this works.