Premature babies support group

lili,
if you go motherhood bulk purchases one more nice, go and take a look which i been write the title for you. ok , take your time to search.
hei, my dear, no need naixin one, very easy one, just i write like difficult only, actually abt 5minit for prepared only. than after 3 hour can makan liao. true, i never lier you.

kkf, nice bags. i think my son too young lah.
better not buy yet, hahah.

hi, most of you already progressed to giving solids liao... need help... me delivered in july, corrected age of my bb is 4 weeks. is it too soon to eliminate the nite feed? when did the mommies here eliminate your bb's nite feeds? if its ok to eliminate nite feed, how do i go about it.... can someone advise me pls?

anyone here can share your routine for your bb at corrected age of 4 wk? my bbs only et and sleep and cry.... full term bb will have play time by now ... when will our preemies bb have playtime?

Mich, thanks for the info
will take pictures now and then, and now they already can turn over, didn't know can be so happy to see that

Lili
Not sure leh... mine was prescribe by the ENT but i saw it at KKh pharmacy. Can buy without prescribtion and it works. I noticed that the ear wax dissolve and flow out from the ear.

Just want to share the good news with you all. I've popped last week at 37 weeks right after stopping anti-contraction meds for 1 week. Here's a photo of my son Zacchaeus. He is 2.77kg at birth. Just want to thank all of you for being so empathetic and supportive when I was so worried and troubled by threatened preterm labour. This is really a wonderful thread and I really find mummies here very caring and strong..Once again, thank you all so much..

966343.jpg

Hi bena, congrats!!! so envy.

Morning mummies. Want my life. Yesterday, my boy woke up at 1am and said "shui shui, water water". So we gave him. Then he was already awake and started asking my hubby to bring him out to the living room. Of course being too tired, we just ignored him, and he started making a lot of noise, and kicking on the bed (kicked me!). Haiz...

I really dun understand why my boy will sometimes wake up at such a time? Why can't he sleep thru the night? Also, sometimes, he will wake up at 4am, 5am with me! why why why? Is it unusual? sweat!

Costa, thanks for the info on ear-drops

Lindah, actually my sil brought along her 5mths gal to Korea with us during Nov before, yes, it is freezing cold but her gal seems to be ok maybe she was well-equiped with all the approriate clothings
hey, you korea drama fan want to visit the scenes huh

kkf, noticed you are always up at 400am plus, thot your place is nearby your school, you still need to wake up so early ..... or Dash wake up, that's why you are UP ?

Hello didi, morning! you are also early!

yup, I will wake up at 3 plus or 4am to do my work. I dun do at night, so got to wake up early. Sometimes just surf the net, or mark books and compositions.

Like today, got to do my lesson plan.

My school is actually within walking distance. Most of the time, hubby will drive me there.

kkf,
thanks for the link to the bags,,will go look at it later..

the bb had to go for op due to somethg about her airways....

really admire you for being able to wake up so early even when you gotta look after dash..i sure cannot tahan one..

lili,
recently in spore, there were cases of pple who used cotton buds to clean their ears or their babies ears becuz they digged too deep in.....

if wanna use, use those safe for bb..if not can ask the paedi wat to do...

bena,
congrats...yr son's name is similar to my elder's son's name....

so happy for you tt u managed to hang on all this time..do pop by here to "see" us okay?

lindah,
u so adventurous wanna bring yr boy for holiday...im too lazy to bring him out of the house dun say country..haha..

nana,
thanks for yr compliments on my boy....can i link yr blog to mine?

kkf,

sorry, 2 gan cheong, ltr saw u actually posted the link to the bag.

anywya, if u r gg HK disney, i've got tix can sell u half price? cos when i went in aug, kenna typhoon & the park was closed when we were inside. so the park says we can go back anytime again in the next half yr (so i went in aug, the passes will be valid till feb next yr).

mesh,

dun b so impatient. ur bb is only 4wks. let him/her drink as much as he/she wans. dun think u shld eliminate night feed if he/she wans. when ur bb is older, u'll know his/her pattern & then determine if night feed is necessary.

my ger stopped night feed when she turns 4mth, but started again when she was 10mth, then when she turn 1yr old, i slowly got rid of the night feeds again. so u c, u still hav time..

lili,

when my ger was 3-4mths, noticed her ear stink! then we noticed it's cos of ear wax. but the pd say DO NOT dig it out. so we juz use baby oil & some cotton wool & wet it. after a few days, my hubby can actually pull out quite a big piece.. n then her ear not stink liao. my advice is, dry her ears properly after every bath. n clean w a small cloth when u bathe her. that shld b enuff alrdy.

mesh,
bb like that one right... eat sleep cry? so far only recently my son will constantly smile and laugh which i consider his playtime. by then already corrected age 3mths.
even my SIL full term baby still sleep eat cry at 1 mth + so not to worry i think. night feed, well... my son came home at corrected age 7weeks. by then already he dont wake up for nite feed. i think the hospital nurses also play by ear. if bb dun wake up at night, then let him be...

didi/costa,
i m just desperate for a break lah. i used to travel once or twice a yr. since my son came out in feb, all travel plans went out the window. feel bored leh. need to energise. but i scared bring baby will mean less energy instead! haha.

talked to my hubby yesterday and he say drive up to m'sia can lah. or go on star cruise... maybe lah huh? save money n time. hhmm... hoping he change his mind. haha.

how is hongkong? also freezing?

lindah,

hk in dec q cold oso, but not freezing like japan/korea. but hubby & me not afraid of cold, so we ok w juz a light jacket.

another suggestion: y dun u take a ferry to bintan/batam. this can bring ur boy, good chance 4 him to play water in the nice pools in the hotels? thinking of gg after xmas. cos hubby & me hav to take leave then but dunno where to go yet

I finally managed to resize pix to get it posted up. Introducing to you my 3 angels. Middle one is my premie, now corrected age 11mths.

disney...
was thinking of that too... but my son will only be corrected age 7mths by then. dun think he can sit up proper yet by then rt? hhmmmm...

luana,
are all the 3 kids in the pic yours?

Bena, congratulations on your newborn. Glad to hear and see that all is well. He's of a great weight. I read that you started your contraction at 31week. Wow and you managed to keep him for 6 weeks. That's a miracle. Must be hard on you. Great job, mummy!

Hi Mesh, when my baby was corrected age one month, all she does was to eat and sleep only. That was the first month she came home with us. I remembered I was also anxious why she keeps sleeping and wonder if she is normal. Sometimes I even try to keep her awake!! Then later, the doc says that when they are sleeping, they grow more. I also saw in a johnson and johnson advertisement that they grow 3 times when they are sleeping, so I feel so bad that I try to keep her awake and then after taht I try to make her sleep sleep and sleep!!! Well, at that time, once a while, say two to three times a week, she will be wide awake for about an hour or so at about 4-5 oclock in the evening. Then sometimes, she will sleep throughout the day...
Not to worry! It's good that your baby is sleeping well. They need lots of them to grow....
Also, don't eliminate her night feed so soon. The book I read recommend elimination of night feed only at 4 months. But I think it's normal if the baby still wants to drink at night.. I heard only after they start on solids then they will sleep through the night.. So hang in there!!! You still have to wake up to feed her!!!

Disneymickey, yeah, I suspect also I didnt keep her ears dry. Sometimes when I bath her, i accidentally splashed some water into her ears... She is also about 4 mths now when I saw that big piece of earwax. I guess it takes about 4mths of that size of earwax to grow!!! Now I must take extra care..

Luana, beautiful girls..I love girls ... so cute..

lunana,

they r sooo cute.. ur premmie is a big ger now. pretty ger 2

lindah,
i first put my ger in the pool when she was 7mth mth (non-corrected, so if corrected she's only 5+mth). u can get those float with seat, n u or ur hubby can hold him. try lor. if cannot, juz carry him n soak in water haha.

kkf,

sorry I was busy helping out at my elder girl's concert past 2 days. My gynae is Dr Chan Kong Hon. He's at gleneagles Hospital. I told him my history of miscarriages and premature delivery.
He was quick to do a virginal scan and discovered
that my cervix was already funnelling at 18weeks.
I went for a minor op, to stitch up the cervix. The sucturing stopped my cervix from opening and he put me on a muscle relaxant. I carried my bb all the way to 39weeks. Best of all, my delivery was the smoothest of my 3 births and he stitched up the episotomy so well, I had hardly any pain sitting for the initial days after the delivery. i had all normal deliveries, and opted for epidural only for my third.

What i like most about him : very practical, doesn't worry you unnecessarily. presents facts clearly and gives good sound advise.

Mesh
My girl is now 2 months corrected age and she still wakes up at night and we feed her. Sometimes she sleeps for 4 hours, sometimes she wakes up after 3 hours so night feed is a must. Once she slept for 5 hours but she woke up very cranky and her stomache growled so letting them starve is also not a good idea.

Lili
I also splash water into Ruby's ear - especially when washing the neck area. I got to be more careful then.

disneymickey
u got tix to hk disney? I am interested.

Lili,

Ya, actually I experienced mild contractions at 16 weeks..but I didn't know how to identify them. And they grew stronger each month.. so by the time I realised those were contractions and I had to do something abt it, I was already in my 31st week.. I can only thank God that everything turned our alright eventually..

thanks mummies, for the advice.

yeah i think i'm too impatient. gues too tired le. but don't worry i dun stop them from drnking if they wake up. :-0

i'm giving my bb 120 ml now... sometimes can finish sometimes cannot.... i asked about eliminating the nite feed cos there is a table on the formula tin that says when u give 120ml, its 7 feed a day... but i still giving 8 feeds, so worried that i overfeeding. hubby said the bb drinking so much should reduce feeds to 6 or 7 feeds liao... is that so? but what i heard is the bb will auto sleep longer as u increase the feed slowly... that is indication of when to reduce no. of feeds right? and not based on the table shown on the formula tin.

another qn.... anyone here using nuk wide neck with latex teats? why do my bottles leak when i feeding the bb... so frustrrating lor.... screw too tight, the air does not come out... screw too loose, and the milk keep dripping as they suck. i checked the teats, it seems after so many rounds of sterlising, the latex teats have expanded and does not fit properly in the screw cap. is my observation correct anot har? does this happen with silicon teats too? if not, then i'm going to throw all my latex teats and change to silicon.... alamak... i bought so many latex teats already... but if no choice i'd still throw cos its so frustrating.

kkf, I am early today cause my elder boi today decided to wake up early and ask for milk
, hey usually I only wake up at 1000am, horrible mummy hor

Lindah, iirc, hkg's temp in dec is ok, think I only wore a sweater and it is sufficient. My hubby also thot of bringing our boys out for holidays, we thot of hkg but too far, maybe bintan I can to spa again
and the boys can soak in the pool with hubby

Didi, I see...

Wow, batam sounds a good idea. My colleague also says it is good, esp the cheap spa and facial!
But got a lot of mosquitoes?

Mesh, me use tollyjoy teats, after trying so many teats, it fits my boy best.

Baby sleeps more is good, brain is developing. My boy doesn't sleep much, me worry...

Thanks Luana, gleneagles too far leh. By the time I reach there dunno give birth liao or not...haha!
Btw, you got 3 kids liao ah? so envy again.

Disneymickey and costa, the bulk purchase not good one, limited stock, the bag I want also dun have...

Btw, thanks for your offer disneymickey, sure I will get the ticket from you if I really decide to go hongkong!

Phuket nice place I think, my colleague's hubby likes there a lot, and went there quite a few times leh.

Btw, mummies, ask you for opinion, you think it is worth it to let my boy go for swimming lessons? $160 4 lessons, 1 to 1 swimming lesson, half hour per session.

Or anyone here wants your kids to learn swimming? If can get 4 and more kids $50 for 4 sessions

lindah,

hmm..nev been there b4. but interested to go. after i come back frm phuket, will do some research.

amy,
ya, got 3 tix. we only went to the park for like 3hrs & were told park is closing cos typhonn no.8 is coming. so my sis wan to sell away the tix. for half price each. valid till feb. but juz in case, u buy alrdy, still not being able to admit the park, I"ll refund all. dun worry.

mesh,
my pd say, bb will know when to stop. u dun hav to worry abt over-feeding. the table is only a guide. each bb is different. there was a time when my ger was abt 10mths old, she was drinking 7scoops (+ water is abt 240ml) for the last feed. after finish, she still cry, dun wan to zzz, so got to give another 100ml. i was oso worried that i'm over-feeding but pd say no.

regarding the teat, maybe u r using wrong size? cos i know NUK teats got 2 sizes - 1 for breastmilk & the bigger size for formula milk. maybe u buy the bigger size?

kkf,
u v on mommy la.. sign up 4 so many classes 4 ur boy. i dunno the market price. but had discussed w hubby b4. he'll try to teach my ger swimming. if she doesn't wan to listen to him, then will go 4 public classes. maybe other mommies can give u advice

btw, juz in case u mommies r interested, there's watsons sale @expo now till sun. & a mini popular sale. oso NATAS. but NATAS must pay $3 admission fees. but if u hav MASTER CARD, can go redeem 2 free tickets

kkf, we tried so many teats too... and happened to like nuk. now i buy so many nuk botles i don't wnat to change again... i'm just wondering why the bottle leaks from the screw cap.

disneymickey, i'm using the one for formula milk cos we giving formula. when i say size, i don't mean the size of the hole... i mean the physical size of the whole teat... when i put the teat into the screw cap, i can see the teat does nto fit in perfectly.. it looks too big for the screw cap... i don't have silicon teat with me now.. wondering if its also bigger than the screw cap..

lili,disney mickey,

I love girls too.
People often tell that in my old age, I will have girls will take care of me.

Lindah,
you must try for a girl sometime soon. I read somewhere that girls are v filial to their parents.

I have a nicer shot of my premie for you coming up :

967479.jpg
967480.jpg

mummys,

I need to ask one v important question :

When did you premies start to teeth?
I mean the tooth come out already, not saliva, drooling..... my ger v slow. Till now only one tooth? Is this normal?

Those mummys with older premies please shed some light can? thanks plenty.

jac, don't mind I ask what is huaisan?
Me is ang moh pai, so I'm a bit of a banana. Yellow skin but chinese terot type. (I think Costa and I same same cos come from convent school) Plus I fail chinese at O levels, that's why gotta go overseas to study.

luana,

she has a nice smile..

luana,

every kid is different. even some normal bb hav teeth late. my ger was q normal in terms of teeth growing. think she started her 1st tooth frm 8mth (non-corrected, she's 6wks pre-mature FYI). she is now 18mths & has now 12teeth, the 13th tooth is coming out. i hav a fren whose ger is 14mth, but only hav 4 teeth. another fren whose ger is 11mth only hav 2 teeth. n these r normal bb.

Luana,
same same...ang moh pai...kkf is a chinese lao shi..tink if she is my teacher, she sure vy poor thing one..hmm u failed yr o level chinese..me passed but not good grade lah...

huai san is sm kind of vegetable..if i not wrong

u noe where is bedok south market, right, sure got one..heh heh but you sure dun go mkt right...

my son got his two teeth at 1 year non corrected age..now he got four..did you bf her direct?wat disneymickey said is right, some full term bbs get their first teeth vy late also....not uncommon

luan,
huaisan call sanyao too, u can check at supermarket or wet market.
Dont worry abt the time for grow the teeth.My 2nd twins only now grow the first teeth, now they was 13month.My 1st twins have 1st teeth when he was 7month.so is ok.
Mich & mummies.
I just back from Hospital
I got a bad bad news.
My 2nd twins bryan which done the laser op when he was 1month(rop stage 3),doctor say he have weak eyessight. He maybe need to wear spec as power quiet high, but cant confirm now as need to do again another 6 month, if confirm he need to wear spec,if not he will become lazy eyes when he dont want to wear spec. my goodness....i almost cry when i heared what doctor say, but i cant do any. what i can do is ask the silly question. doctor say wait he come another 6month than will decide what to do.
mich and all the mimmies.
i really lose, ifeel very guilty, i feel very sad, i feel i was a bad, shipai mummy, i am the one who born him so early, i am the one who born him in low weight, i am the one who cause him use oxygen support, i am the one who cause him suffer the injection pain. i am the one who cause him need to use spec, i amthe one who cause him for laser when he only 1.5kg and 1month. i am the one, i am the one.........
I really can accept the fact which he need to wear spec and wea eyessight. what should i do? i am not a good mother.
I really can accet this, i hope i can give him my eyes. when i look at him watch and play wth the ants when he crawl at the floor, i talk he got no problem?????but doctor say he can see the thing which near, but far he cant see. oh no.....i am so stupid, i talk he no problem. but i really hope he no problem.
Now i am crying when typing, this is the forum that i can write anything and say out my sad.
mummies, i really hate myself......

Jacelyn, feel so sad with you when i read what you have written. I know it's useless to tell you not to feel sad. Sometimes I also feel guilty for not being able to carry my gal to full term. I actually have lupus and I suspect that this is the cause of my premature labour.
Did the doc say that with spectacles, his eyesight problem will be under control? If so, then, at least there is hope. In future, let him take good care of his eyes so that the degree would not be worse. Remember, you are their mummy. You must stay strong for them. Sometimes, they are stronger than us and we must learn from them too.
I will pray for your boy. Pray that six months later, the test result for him will be good.

My chinese not that power also, mixed mixed too.

Jacelyn hope you are ok. I feel very very very guilty like you, and thats why you see me buying sooo many toys, books, clothes etc for my boy! you know, this is how I try to make up to him, buying things, sending him for courses so that he won't lose out to others...haiz. I think I shd be even more guilty right? My boy got heart defect (he got hole in heart, and got it patched up)

I feel even more guilty for losing my first boy jared. I did not manage to protect him, and allow him to live...

If bryan wears glasses, that means his eyesight will be ok is it? Try to protect his eyesight, and not letting the degree increase, I think that shd be ok? Hope his eyes checkup in 6 months time will be ok!

kkf,lili
thanks a lot,
ya, i understand what your trying to say, but all your baby problem been solve, but my one just stay, go and emazing so small boy wear spec, he will wear????
i hate myself, now when i look at him, his eyes was so big, cant emazing he so pity, need to wear spec....
you can see i also cook a lot of petend of food for my boys. this is waht i can do.
How i wish i am a doctor, i can curve their problem.BUT I AM NOT.
How i wish i am a teacher, i can teach them in hand.BUT I AM NOT...
How i wish i am very rich, i can buy a lot a lot of things to them.BUT I AM NOT.
How i wish i am a angel.Than i can filfull their wish.BUT I AM NOT.
I AM JUST A USELESS MUMMY WHO LET THEM TURN TO UNNORMALL BABY......

jac,

dun say until like that lah. you cook for them so many things, and try your best to make sure they get all the nutrients, and everyday somemore. the most impt thing is you already tried what you can. in the end, sometimes what happens is realli out of our hands. some things we can change, some things we cant. but we can pray for the best.

sometimes doctors are wrong too. try not to worry too much and pray for the best. doctors have been wrong before. i can understand you have a heavy heart. i would too if it were me. i oso very scared everytime i go doctor. they always have to tell us the risks even if we dun want to hear. be strong for your son, ok... they'll be sad if they see you crying.
take a deep breath and be strong.

jac, maybe carrots may help? i dun realli know but carrots supposed to have beta carotene which is supposed to be good for eyesight?

luana, this pic of your daughter is even prettier!
yes i will try for a girl next when my son is bigger.

Jacelyn
Sad to hear about Bryan. I am sure lasic can do some wonder in the future so don't worry too much.

At least he is alive?

Don't blame yourself. I lost my first baby - the heart beat stopped when I went for my 22 weeks detail scan...

All is not lost when you still have Bryan around you, it is just a phase that will pass. Be strong as your boy will wonder why mammi is so sad. You never know, who knows in 6 months time, things may change to the better? Do not despair when there are obsticles!

Jac, just read your post, please don't feel sad. We need your positive energy here
this is not your fault, these things are not under our control. Please be strong, I know it is easier said

kkf, I like bintan leh,one the reasons nearby but the spa treatment is not cheap at the resorts (esp at Banyan Tree, Angsana) but Nirwana Gardens are the cheapest that I have went. if you have someone to take care of Dash then you can opt for the couple treatment, rem I have have such treatment at Angsana, it is so nice with the pavilion facing the sea