Premature babies support group

hello chloe

hmm semi-solid is cereal?....erh...i did not start solid till my boy is about 7mths (correct). i KS mummy la.

i don't know really. but maybe you observe a while more? maybe their stomach is 'gettting' used to the change in diet?

:p maybe other mummies here have other opinion?

jane

The brand of the cereal is heinz. Comes with no-sugar and no-salt. So far, i think they are ok with the cereal and follow-on milk, if not for the ferquent poo. They are still on EBM and started on brown rice and fish last week. i wonder is it becos of the fruits they take? we give bananas and papayas. Really dunno why they tend to "keep" their sai sai and "release" them "poo-by-poo". Waste a lot of diapers too.

chloe, experienced parents still can tell. when i bumped into my neighbour when bb was 10 weeks old, the husband (father of a few kids) asked "this is a two week old bb?". my face immediately turned black
961141.gif

after that, i always use her corrected age whenever strangers ask me about her age. i notice seasoned parents can tell her age (corrected) very accurately so i think there is still a difference.

hubby say never mind la, girl girl petite a bit ok one...

flora

haha... maybe i am not an experienced mom. But i still find that babysage's little princess does not look like a premmie. At least when i compare her with my children, she looks like a full term baby. My kids dun look so matured when they were in week 11.

Anyway, just ignore wat those pple say. i'm sure those remarks hurt sometimes.

lili,
i oso not too sure abt wat exactly is shichida method?tink its more of brain training using flash cards..its q popular amgst parents in spore and on this board, got many mummies enrolling their children in it..

yes, i heard alot of coffee money story..even for getting thgs such as driving licence...etc...

flora,
can i call you flora..miss shop a lot, vy long to type leh..nevertheless welcome you here altho it took so long for you to come
...yes, yr bb dun lk like preemie, she is of vy good weight..

dun care abt wat those pple say..they also dun understand wat is adjusted age etc...waste our breathe..sm can ask me go to school based on which age..i wanna peng...

disneymickey,
yr ger vy lovely

jane,
u brot siang for army open house..heard my neighbour saying vy nice, wor..my son asked me to bring him there but i also dun noe where..tink its at jurong, tio bo..i told him mummy was from there last time, dun want lah...hahha...

hi flora, our baby is the amaze of wonder. to me...i hack care what other's say hehehehe!! :p. i can understand what you felt. a few mothers here had same experiences... even now, some mothers who came to know that my boy still not crawling will pass some 'comment', but i know, that my boy is making effort. its just matter of time he reach that milestone. and i am sure he will very soon...

i find your dd really sweet looking...look at that dimple...ah yooooo.... cute!

costa - hahahahah...i really dunno where we go that day ler! my lao gong just say..come, we go Army Open HOuse....then he drove to boon lay mrt, then we board a shuttle bus...then we reach there. took some freebies and a lot of picture then come home shack haha... but its any eye opener ah...so much to see

aiyoh, now then i realise flora=babysage!!! i was still wondering why flora said that babysage's girl still looks like a premmie... i was still wondering why flora so like that one, say those comments about somebody else's baby... haha... i am actually talking to the same person. hey flora, really dun bother about those bo liao pple. Like wat costa said lor, no pt explaining cos they will not understand.

btw mommies, any advise on my babies' poo-poo?

chloe, costa and jane, i'm v v lucky cos bb has always been top 99 percentile in weight during her gestation. in fact, doc was warning me my bb could end up 4kg at the rate she was growing (if she was born full term). so even though she is a 32+week preemie, her birth weight was relatively good at 2.34kg.

weight-wise, i think all mummies of preemies will always fuss how much their bbs drink and whether they drink enough.

on thing though: she is very phelgmy so sometimes she regurgitate or projectile vomit when choked with phelgm. any one has similar experience?

so do you girls give bb cereal at 6 months real or corrected age?

flora,
dun care abt wat pple say la. anyway, we know more than non-preemie mommies haha..

btw, think the nurse @clinic weigh my ger sala la. last weekend, we changed new battery 4 the weighing machine & weighed her, she's only 8.3kg!! @ the clinic, the nurse say she's 8.9kg, made me so happy

chloe, i think the poo-poo is cos bb digestive system is too 'young' to keep all the poo-poo to clear one shot. so they will clear once they are digested (in installments). sometime you can see solid food bits inside (sorry for being gross here). this is also cos their digestive system not mature enough to handle complete digestion

Jac, see how, paiseh to trouble you leh

lili, yep, I heard about those really 'atas' schools in Shanghai
cause I used to work for this particular company and one of the boss's daughter is based in Shanghai and they attend those schools and even engage a private tutor for her toddler girl
as they are 'somebody' in Shanghai

hi flora.. about the phelgmy thingy. my boy used to have it...but...erh...erh...i dunno ler, he ok now :p. about solid. i Kia Si mother. i only give my boy everything accordinlgy to corrected age. he start solid when he was 7th mths corrected :p by then he already have 2-3 teeths :p.

hi disneymickey...hmmm cannot be la, i see your gal...cannot be 8.3 kg la... hmm maybe the weighting scale have not 'warm up' ler?? what time u weight your beauty princess?

talking about weighing...wow .. now my boy put him on the weighing scale...cannot take 100% accurate ler. cos he always move and his buttock shake the whole scale. let his sit..he will move here and there...so... i think must put him in a basket then put on the weighing scale then minus the weight of the basket. then can know his more accurate weight...

gosh..what is jane uttering...nonsense hahahah!!. ignore my post haha

Flora,
wow...yr ger is really good size..my son still quite tiny...how you managed her to be so good sized?

i think one of the mummies mentioned some steamed apple thingy..tink must ask jacelyn ?she noes alot of makan stuff..

i gave my kid cereal about 6 mths corrected age as my son is vy preemie....now he is taking porridge...

my dear jane,
no need to put ur boy in basket la. u can carry him & weigh, then weigh yourself, then minus (u good in maths & calculator rt?) & u can get his weight!

tat's wat i did, so my ger's weight is now 8.3kg haha

n btw, the pic u posted so small leh, can't c clearly, c'mon no shy, post a bigger pic, like me, hee hee

Kkf
Nice cake! Have you decided which catering to order from?

Welcome Flora
Your girl is lovely. And I agreed with the mummies that she does not look preemie at all.

DisneyMickey
Chin Swee leh. Look like mummy har?

Posting this on behalf of Cholegal. A picture of her kids

961617.jpg

hi didi, wow .. tutoring at toddler age! But hor the children here in china very stressed one. I think more stressed than Singapore kids. Whole life studying and doing lots and lots of homework. Some parents in our school also complain we don't give enough homework to their children. Aiyo, I think they want to see their children occupied up to 12midnight doing homework, then they think we are doing our job as teachers!!!

By the way, since we are in the topic of solid food, so we wait until 6 mths corrected age then give them semi-solid? I'm planning to add rice powder into my gal milk when she turn 6 mth (corrected only 4mth). Am I too fast? Or should I wait?

wah so many post. i am dizzy w the posts liao. just woke up. this morning went to work, str8 away when toilet cos stomach cramps and nausea. apparently got diarhoae. think stomach flu again. so took MC and went home.

jac, the photographer is there until today (Monday) only. Since i cant make it today, I have to collect the pics at Giant Plentong on one of the weekends that I drive up
. But their head office in skudai i think. Tmn Nusa Bestari. shud be near you, no? the company is CAMPRO marketing.

costa, i think i force feed her a bit too much. haha.

chloe, as long as u bb can finish. don't think u r overfeeding. bb will stop eating once they are full.

<font color="330066">hello gals...

aiyoh...i lost in all the posts again...
nowadays all alone with my boy...so no time to come online... at most i just pop in to speed read... then hor when want to post something, my boy wake up from his nap lar, wants attention liao... :s

lindah,
nice talking to u....hehee... i wld try to come in here more often to talk with all u mummies here..

flora,
welcome!! i love ur gal's dimples... so nice!! i simply love love love dimples leh...

disneymickey,
ur gal soooo pretty..... sweet sweet ya...

kkf,
the cake looks very nice.... the mini car on it is real one or??

oh, i read something abt premmie awareness day... when is that har?? but my boy born in SGH... so can i go??
who is doing the collage for all babies? so i email the photo to u??

updated my boy's blog:
http://ryanchl.blogspot.com</font>

<font color="330033"> Updated flora's princess data..</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>01-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days</td></tr></table>

<font color="333366"> Ok, gotta go zzzz soon... else tom morning cant wake up...haha..

Hope able to come in during the day to chat with u all..</font>

Hi Mummmys,

Been missing in action for awhile. I must say that so many posts, I v. blur now. Best I pick up from here la.

nana,

Thanks for updating the chart, my bb birthweight was 1164kg, in nicu 27days, SCN 53days.

Hello babysage, mummys here all v. friendly

Costa,
my appt with dr. Argawal next monday. Arrgh, really hate it. anyway, I've checked the form, it's for one year old assesment. Have you done it yet?

Hi lindah how are you? feeling better?

Me sooo tired, just slept less than 4 hours I think...zzz but got to wake to do lesson plan and get some marking done. Die later still got to go for a "how to communicate with parents course", think I will zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz regret to sign up.

Mich, me order from ecreative. Cheaper...hee.
Nana, the cars on top are toy cars, not real. Good also, at least after the cake is eaten up, still got something to keep...haha.

Jacelyn, good leh, you try so many different food for your babies. Anyway, me always scare this scare that, baby can eat cheese?

Disneymickey, always envy your gal soooo pretty leh.

Jane, wow! so adventurous leh, bring your boy to army open house. Me also want to bring my boy to lot of places, bought tickets to zoo and lantern festival, but my hubby soooo busy, on reservist now, no time...sob.

Shichida method: www.shichidamethod.com

Lili, not easy to get good education in shanghai hor?

Luana,
welcome you back..guess u must be vy busy during the day as compared to me..heh heh.

i oso cant remember whether my son has done the assessment..i just remember tt during the last appt, doc k asked some questions and then filled up a few pieces of papers..then i think dun noe whether did she give us anythg to bring hm or not..

jialut,i really canot remember beyond tt...anyway, doc k's nurse called me yterday..supposed to hv appt 2mr..but changed as she got smthg on...afternoon, i cant make it, so no choice change to oct..by then, my son wld be one yr corrected age...

flora,
kp the pictures cmg...she is really of vy good size...

jacelyn,
where to buy the cheese for bbs?

chloegal,
yr two kids vy adorable.

KKF
I like Dash's school bag which is featured in his blog. May i know where you get it from? Did you sew his name yourself?

Jacelyn
Cheese in porridge? East meet West! :p
I give my boys wholemeal bread with cheese and potato with cheese.

Costa
You ex army? MADAM!!

flora
Your girl looks like a very normal to me. My baby will soon turn 2 months ( corrected age) and is now only 4.3kg...

I don't seem to get good pictures of her ( will try later...)

Anyone can give advice on formula milk for preemies?

I am running low on breastmilk and thinking of getting formula. What is good? Similac or Enfalac A+?

Do we take the corrected age for the formula milk?

My girls corrected age ( soon 2 months), does that mean that I use the below 6 months formula or the actual age ?

mich,
yah, i used to work as an army officer..the non uniformed type..so no "wows wows",,haha..just office job till i left about 10 yrs ago..

potatoes wif cheese...hmm,what type of cheese you bot?

amy,
kkh recommended neosure for low birth weight babies..if the weight is ok, can just take normal milk but for me, even when my son is skinny, i mix both similac neosure and normal similac...

tink u hv to follow the corrected age for feeding...especially for preemies..

Amy

Did the Neonat recommend any FM before your baby was discharged?
We were told to give Neosure when my boys first came home. The FM is for Low Birth Weight Babies.

Yes, it should be based on corrected age. You should use the below 6 mths FM for your gal.
Some FM will cause constipation. Best is for you to call them and ask for samples or get a small tin to try out for a couple of days.

My boys were on Similac during the first year.

amy, use neosure for your girls. i highly recommend this cos my bb put on 500g every week for the first month i put her on neosure. the weight is tremendous and crucial for low-birth weight babies.

how and when did all of you start introducing semi-solid to your babies? Share share experience...

I read that it's not so good to add to the milk. My friend also told me to give the rice powder paste separately to the baby before giving milk. Give like one or two spoons in the morning. Is it?

flora,
sooo cute.. feel like pinching her cheeks haha. dun stop. the pics really brighten our days..

amy,
i gave my girl NAN HA after breastmilk. NAN is the closest to breastmilk. so u will find ur bb's poo dark colour after drinking NAN. if u hav allergies history in family, like me, give NAN HA. my ger is 18mths alrdy & i'm still giving her NAN HA2. finishing my stock soon then will switch her to NAN 3.

ur ger is definitely supposed to take milk for 0-6mths old. when she turns 6 (non-corrected age), ask ur pd if she's ready to switch to follow-on milk (ie. 6-12mths old). ur pd will be the best person to advise u to switch or not.

btw, thanks 4 all the compliments on my ger. will oso try to post more pics when possible. but dun stop me haha

Mich, your recipe of potatoes and cheese sound just yummy to me
something I would want to try but too 'sinful'for me to eat
but just nice for my boys when they are older

costa,
i used cheesedule,the normal cheese, but less salty . My friend all use this, but, when i look at mich attach the photo, i think i will go and get that cheese.
Mich
ya, my friend say,put one pc of cheese into hot porriage than give baby, very nice, i haven try, maybe next week i try , cos this week i already have schedule for my boys porriage
Monday-Porriage+vegi+fish
Tuesday-Pearl bean+pork rib+carrot+potato+coliflower+brocooli
Wednesday-Pork rib+pumpkin+toufu+chongbai
thurday-pearl bean+Chicken+huaisan+chongbai
Friday-fish+vegi+feiron
saturday-ikan bilis+meat-fishball=soup+mee
sunday-Pork Rib+vegi+potato+huaisan+chongbai+bavrl
so, i already write down what to eat for my boys, so the cheese one need to postform o next week, when i give them i let youknow again, is it nice or not?
kkf,
sure can eat, i give my boys when they 1years old, two of them finish one pcs.

Costa,

For quite awhile I tried to find neosure, but v difft. Only saw it once at centrepoint cold storage. So I chose to give my girl Isomil (soy base)cos my elder girl had milk allergies. Dr A very unhappy.

Now my girl on organic milk (babynat) and she is drinking brest milk twice daily. She has one porridge dinner and cereal lunch with banana.
She is v. keen eater. anything also want. See people eating cannot tahan. She'll scream for attention and make sure she tries whatever you have in you hand! Jailat, she's turning out to be quite greedy.

lili, for me, I started my premie around 4 and half months corrected age. Just started with applesauce and plain rice. More just to introduce the taste of other things besides milk.
Now, she eats porridge with sweet potatoes, pumpkin and carrots and fish. I feed her egg yolk cos the nurse asked me to introduce before MMR at 15mths, otherwise if allergic to egg, cannot give the MMR vaccine. She also LOVES custard ( in the heinz bottle).

hallo! aiya i jeles leh. oso want to post the latest pic... hehehehe. hope mummies dont mind!
962754.jpg

amy,
if you want neosure, you have to go to the big NTUCs. It's $16.15. At KKH they sell but they normally ration it, so diff to get. I got mine in JB. If the shop just got the supply, they will sell you one carton. Hehehehe.
But if your baby is good wt, no need neosure, lah.

luana,
great to hear can try baby on semi-solids at 4 1/2 corrected age. my mum has been itching to try... maybe i can jumpstart his engine too. sometimes see him making mouth movements when i am eating. heheheh.

costa,
army? wah!!!

mich,
D&E very lucky. can eat gourmet cheese! yum yum! here i am salivating...

luana,
i wish my son is the same as yr ger...he onli likes to put the door stopper, shoe laces into his mouth..give him real food, he dun want...maybe its oral aversion after being tube fed for so long...

neosure in some places really dun hv...for eg bedok ntuc near our place dun hv....giant got alot...

where you got the organic milk for yr ger...u hv enuff bm for both of them..

yes u r right abt the mmr, so far, i onli gave egg yolk..u gave both...

i make egg custard for my son...just mix fm wif egg yolk and steam it..

the kkh nurse just textd me...the poster preferably shld hv the development of our preemies from birth to now...so far, i hvnt started yet...

lindah,
army..no big deal one lah...tts why i left...

wah, yr boy so gd size..me so envious.....

Mich,

forgot to reply to your earlier question :
my bb seeing Dr audrey chia. Question, It's a man right? I've been puzzled why it's a female name, so at first appt I thot he's standing in then second appt also same dr. Also pai say to ask if he's dr.Chia. Is he? Me still not so sure.

Why boycott? it's quite painful to watch what they do to our babies, I know I need to make another appt soon. otherwise Dr. A will 'hute' me with questions. Guess my husband and I are not so obedient. Acutually, when she saw me pregnant with 3rd bb. She kept advising me to see KKH doctors cos incidence of premature birth will be v high since I had one earlier. Of course we did not heed her advice. I was so comfortable with my new gynae. He's really worth every cent I paid. So reassuring, does not frighten you unnecessarily. In fact, he's reason why I carried my third to full term.

Luana,
My son is seeing doc audrey chia also..a vy nice lady..

glad tt yr third pregnancy was smooth sailing....

hws yr job now?u still so busy?

luana,
maybe that day dr chia too busy until they had to let you see the M.O. or registrar instead? Happened to me once with Dr Quah. I had to see another Dr (a registrar) instead since Dr Quah was engaged with some other parents for a very very long time.

costa,
thanks. hehe. i think he's 57cm like dat now... still have to catch up in height.

flora,
thanks. hehehehe. your daughter's pic soooo cute, tempt me to post my son's pic up too! hahaha! your daughter's dimple very deep!!! i wan!!! hahahaha.

Lili
I started when my boys were corrected age 6 mths.
Start with plain rice cereal.
Feed using spoon.
Encourage baby to open mouth and let him/ her taste the cereal.
Babies will be more cooperative during feeding times once they get use to the taste and texture.
I hardly give my boys bottle baby food. We steam and use a blender to blend the pumpkins, sweet potatoes etc.

Didi
I stir in some unsalted butter too. And the mashed potato which stick to the spoon end up in my tummy.
A moment on the lip, a lifetime on the hips!

Lindah
Very happy to see your 24 weeker growing so well.... I am sure the team at NICU look forward to seeing him!

Luana
From the way you put it, I think your girl has no major complications/ surgeries so you are more relax when it comes to the reviews.
Lucky you!

Jacelyn
I noted down your menu of the week for reference

My mum uses huaisan too. What is sanyao?

Costa
Noted. Poster theme : From NICU to NOW!

mich
huai san also sanyao, was same, but the huaisan is not dry one you know, not buy at chinese medicine shop that type, you only can get it at market or supermarket, i hope your mum cook was that type.
ha..ha..actually i got a lot of type of petend to cook too, if you want i can less out some more. than you can give your mum to look at it, paiseh ha...dont know my one correct or not, all i put in when i read from the book which which one good than i will give them to try, actually i prefer you to cook in pot and steam at slow cooker, around 2 hour, very smelly and taste good than you cook at slow cooker or gas, if you dont mind you try. A lot of my friend and realative which use slow cooker before that also follow me use this way, now their baby eat more lei...