Premature babies support group

costa,
kay is good. thanks.
hmm....i have created a blog for him at www.kaytonite.blogspot.com..

he's been very notti for the past few weeks. screaming and crying, testing my limits. sometimes, i do give in to his cries, even though i know that that's just a way for him to get my attenion! sometimes, it's a stern NO! well, i guess, he is allergy to the word "no" bah, cos, no amount of NO can make him scream less!!

then, i started something stupid, i watched some soccer match with him for the past one week, then late last night (bout 2am), he woke up from his sleep, pointed at the tv and say 'ball'....wanting me to switch it on and watch with him!! i was so sleepy and tired and my NO was a less stern one, so he started crying and banging his head against the bed!!

i coax him for bout an hour or so, then he finally gave it all up and went back to sleep.

NO tv for him for the next one week...

Kay is getting his MMR next month, and i am pretty nervous, cos i heard alot of babies had side effects about the injection, so i am worried. but, on the other hand, luckily it's my MIL taking care of him, if not, would have to apply for some leave if he ever develops a fever or anything..

stressed,
yeah manz, when kay screams, it's hard not to give in to him!
if he don't get what he wants, he will just kneel down and then bang his head against the floor.

i wonder where he learnt that from??? a typical soap drama from channel 8???

stressed,

ur gal chubby huh? how heavy? i c she's abt same age as my ger (mine born feb06, urs may06) but mine is only 8.1kg.. sigh

jacelyn,

ur boys sooo cute. look so alike. how to tell them apart huh?

kkf,
dun worry. s'pore zoo q clean 1.no mosquito..& it's v shady so not v hot. & there r a lot of sheltered places to rest.

kaydons mummy,
my ger kenna fever on the 8th day after taking MMR. but slight fever, not enuff to take med. then few red spots on her body. tat's normal. doc told me prob hav fever 5-10 days after taking MMR & if got fever, red spots on body is oso normal. dun worry, ur boy would b ok

stressed, disneymickey and jacelyn,
al yr babies are sooooooooooo adorable...really feel like hugging them...

kaytons mummy,
so happy to see you again here....kayton is growing up so well...saw yr blog..will book mark it and see it regularly

hope tt kayton is ok after his MMR jab.....in anycase, at least we noe wat the warning signs to look out for like fever, spots..as wat disneymickey has said...

disney
Hi,actually they not really alike,very easy o see, their eyes different, 2nd twins got big eyes and bi mouth.ha..ha..and 2nd twins smaller than his brot as only 7.8g compare wth his brot already 8.6kg. they alreally 11month, still so small size.

i am here , still surviing in a load of papers hahahahaha...

wow seeing all the pics really cheer me up.

oh oh, wanna ask. that time someone mention about cordeys?? i wanted to prepare that for my boy (to build up his lung)

does any one buy those grinded ones from eu ren shen (cost about 100+) then put inside porridge for bb to eat?? (above is taught by one of my collegaues).

sorry..really lost the thread of the cordeys..anyone can highlight to me one more time?

i really want to stop phelgm from coming back to my boy

Hi Kaytons mum, I remember my colleague's son also tends to bang his head against the wall when he cannot get things his way. In the end, he was dignosed as autism. Sorry, I am not trying to scare you, but maybe you can try to be more alert on this because I am a teacher, I know special needs children are on the rise. I am watching my boy for any sign of hyperactive, dyslexia, autism blar blar blar too. My colleague's son does not speak much at 2 years old, by 3 years old he cannot even say a full sentence, that worries her, so she sends him for dignosis I think.

MMR is it injection something to do with egg one? I remember the nurse asks me to let my boy eat egg before the injection to make sure he is not allergy.

hello all...
long time didnt post here... everyone fine??

disneymickey,
ur gal soooo soooo pretty.... big eyes leh.... next time sure "dian" alot of pp...

stressed,
ur gal also very adorable leh.... very "si wen" look ...chubby chubby too...

jacelyn,
both ur princes so handsome.... aiyoh... how u manage 2?? me 1 already can faint le...haha..

can see pics of my boy here:
http://ryanchl.blogspot.com

kkf,
autism?
hmm...he seems to enjoy doing the banging, cos sometimes, he does the banging too, for fun...and will laugh out loud after he bangs.

i have bought him to gatherings where other babies are around, and he seems to be able to mingle with them well.

maybe i should really watch out for signs of autism, meanwhile, i shall read more about the signs and symptoms on the webbie...

thanks for the alert.

costa,
i enjoy doing the blog, infact, after kay sleeps, i will always find myself logging in and updating it. changing this changing that....

yeah, it's had been a tough start, but i am blessed with a son with a strong heart and mind.

adeline,
my cousin's kid oso will bang her head against wall when she gets angry. she's 8yr old now & she's normal
dun worry. it's prob juz the way they throw tantrum. but like wat kkf say, it's always gd to observe/watch out 4 abnormalitie & seek treatment early if necessary

this morning got a scare man. my mom called me abt 9+ & say my ger puked out her milk & breakfast (noodles). but she juz called & say she's finished some (dilute) milk & bread. now gg zzz. hope she's ok..dun scare me..weekend coming

good morning, mummies,
kuchi, welcome back, so long never see you here..

kayton's mummy,
yr blog vy nice..keep it up....

i asked a neo nat abt the links between autism and mmr, tink it shld not be 100 percent conclusive....but of cse its good to watch out for different behaviour..my son also likes to swign and hit his head smtimes...

disneymickey.
how is yr ger after yterday's vomit...

jane,
hows yr boy?

hi costa,

thanks. my boy..ok better liao :). oh oh..my boy love to shake his head (but its like want to play with pple). then now he like to use his fist to hit his head too (as if headache???? ;p).

next monday seeing the eye, dietrician and neo nat liao..hope they happy with his progress ah cos recently he like lost weight.

and oh, now my boy on 2 meals of porridge per day liao.

hi costa,

thanks but last nite she puked out all the milk (last feed) but managed to sleep all the way to morning on an empty stomach. morning woke up, asked 4 milk. finished 170ml of milk wan more. but no more puke. so told my mom to observe. if still puking, then go c doc. my mom say she looks v tired. sigh..

hi disneymickey... sometime my boy puke out the last feed too and somehow like u say, manage to sleep thru the night....(make me wonder too).

hope she is ok...

Hi jane,
Good to hear that your boy ok now.
Oh, not to worry, after sick sure will lose weight, just give him some more foods. I think your boy development should be quiet near my boys. Did you say their photo? does ,y boys look like me?
Wah, 2 porriage? so good !!may i know how was his schedule for milk & makan now?

hi jacelyn, wow...me really tied up with work lately (esp after one week leave) hence have not been coming in.

yup yup, saw your boys picture..so cute. erh...looking at pic, ya my boy does have some resembalance hehe

keke.. now morning wake up milk, about 10am eat porridge, milk, sleep... then wake up, milk, afternoon ard 3pm porridge, then milk

i intend to buy him some biscuits to eat soon...cos he love to chew things hehe..

(hope his weight gain back soon ah)

jane,
i buy the biscuit for them too but they dont know to eat himself, too heaty too, i give them bread only.
oh, can you let me know the timing too for his daily food?
example my boys:
8.30am-120ml milk
9.30am-shower
10am-210milk with 2 1/2 spoon brown rice
sleep
12.30pm-60ml water
1pm-bowl of porriage-around 6-tablespoon
3pm-180ml-milk
sleep
6pm-60ml apple juice
6.30pm-180ml milk with 3spoon of cereal
8.30pm-70ml water
9.30pm-210ml milk
sleep......
this was their schedule for one day,just want to check whether mine one normal or not, feel their intake too little,how you think.
they finish milk abt 20-30minit and porriage and cereal also around 30monit, very slow right?
ya, now my 1st twins dont wantr bottle feeding again, all the while i use spoon, very tired, is it normal? do i need to continue to use spoon feeding or just ignore him if he dont want? abt 1 week liao, now he teething of top 2 teeth, haven come out yet but can see white white colour insede his teeth meat.got water come out from nose too, not flu, but doctor say sensitive, is it that reason he dont want bottle feeding?

hi jacelyn, my boy is :-

4am - wake up for milk (150ml with chao mi)
sleep
7am - 150ml of milk (with one scope of chao mi)
10am - plain porridge (around half a small rice bowl)
around 11am shower
after shower - drink 120ml of milk then he sleep
2pm - drink water (amt various)
3pm - plain porridge
4pm - 150 ml of milk (with chao mi)
sleep
6pm - 150 ml of milk (with chao mi)

(drink another 120 ml of milk and around 8pm he will go to sleep)

i have yet really tried give him apple juice and such. so far only water in between.

my boy intake is about same as u....

wow..u use spoon to feed?? teething is definitely a reason why he reject teats... but if he hungry he still drink rite :p

my boy all 8 teeth can be seen liao...

as for drinking eating speed...i think..so long as they finish the portion..cannot really rush theem too

kkf,
MMR vaccine I think is derived from egg white. Therefore, must make sure yr kid is not allergic to egg white.

As for Autisim, I think we should look for repetitive behaviour e.g. opening and closing the drawer for many times over a period of time. Actually, it's quite obvious one, according to my colleague. Her son was diagnosed as autistic at 18 months.

JAne,
thanks for explain me your boy scedule, ya, the intake for milk quiet the same, but i never give chaomi with milk, even i give the chaomi & cereal i use spoon feeding.
Your boy in very healthy intake too. he also go sleep very early, 8+, my boys will be in bed around 10pm, some time 11pm, they wake up at 8am, no milk in sleep time.
Ya lor, i give spoon for feed him as he dont want botle at all, i also dont know what to do, if i feed in spoon he finish all, i also worry he dont want bottle feeding next time, did you hear before this problem?
ya, today i do gaolishen wth longan for them, use rice cooker to steam , will give them later on, my friend told me very good for them, now my boy running nose, they say can increase their immune system function and good for puqi too.

hi jacelyn, good to share share since both of us their age about same.

its like a routine he will wake up around 4am for one intake of milk....then he zzz till ard 7am.

so far, i know of bb who reject bottle (but its like for one period only). maybe other mummies know more about this??

hmm can they take such chinese herbs at such tender age? i wanna introduce the coberys but no chance yet... i heard from my sil that longan good (she toke it when she young also).

Jane
I was busy past few days training my new maid. Just manage to sit down and read thru the posts.
Hope your boy is doing ok now. Dun worry abt the weight loss. Babies gain wt very fast.
Very gek sim to see little ones fall sick... more so for our preemies with chronic lung disease. Hiaz....
Cordyceps - i gave my boys si sen + cordyceps after they turned one year old corrected age. U can check with the medical hall and seek their advice.

Hi kaytons mum, I cannot open your webpage leh...how come only me...sob.

Anyway, my boy also sick from wednesday...sob sob sob. He got running nose, and think a bit of phelgm. Me going to sweat again. Really phobia now. I hope bronchitis will leave us far far away!!!

Thinking of putting my boy in childcare again. Hi mummies do you believe that putting them in montesorri will make a difference. Heard some mummies say will really see difference between a child who comes fr normal preschool and one who comes from montesorri.

was on half day yesterday pm. shopping @orchard when my mom called & say my ger looks v sian, better go c doc. i rushed (cos it was raining, cab q very very long) to TMC then waited for abt 2hrs & got the same med which i hav at home..:p
anyway, doc say prob ingested some dirty stuff (be it frm her fingers or we din wash our hands properly). anyway, she din puke anymore yesterday & managed to eat some porridge 4 dinner. hope she recovers soon cos we'll be gg HK 2wks later.

kkf,
heard montesorri good, but bit x.. was considering kinderland (cos near my place). but i heard the fees is abt $600+ & my colleague whose son is in montessori, say the fees there is oso abt the same ???

for me, i think u need to go to the sch & look c if u like the place & the teachers. i always pass by 1 chilcare in the void deck near my place. i dun like the place/teacher. but i went to kinderland to look c b4 & i quite like the place. think will prob choose there. but will confirm everything by end of the yr.

today we're moving (office). so got to quickly finish work then can go (shopping heehee).

hi mich, me too heard about giving only when they reach one year corrected (for my boy would then be this Nov). hehe, shall seek the opinion from the medical hall. you got a new maid..wow big task to train them hor. my this maid, so far ok la, except still cannot handle my 'big worm' very well kekekeke....

i am down with viral infection (arise from phelgm). wow...so scare will pass to my boy.

kkf - me too very panaorid when my boy has running nose or cough...yes bronchitis please stay away.

disneymickey - oh u gg hk? wow..envy u ler. so coincidence, my collegue boy has the same sythoms as your gal. her boy is ok now liao...wonder has to do with weather and such.

kkf,
not only you cant open kayton blog, me too.
My boys running nose also, my friend teach me use 1pc of gaolishen and 3 or 5pcs of dry longan put into empty bowl, when i cook rice put 4more spoon of water, when water boil, take 4 spoon water out from rice and put into bowl, afetr that steam together wth rice, when rice cook mean the gaolishen ready too, after that feed baby. My friend say very good for their immune system & keep warm for their body as they cool so they will come out water from nose which white colour, not yelloe colour, and now the weather also very cool. can give a try, if phelgm, take one apple, no need to cut just put in empty bowl, steam abt 30minit, after that press the apple and give the apple water to baby, very good too.
Hi, all the mummies
Please help....
Anyone have this experince???
My 1st twins dont want bottle feeding abt 1 week liao, i give him bottle he will suck , but never drink the milk at all. after 5 minit he will cry and dont want anymore. after that i use spoon to feed him, he will finish all 210ml.....And all the cereal,brown rice, porriage he can finish all too,only thing is he dont want bottle, i already cut the teat hole big and change a new teats.....
Now can feel his top teeth there, but haven out yet, is it that reason?
I am so scared that he will reject bottle in the future as i give him spoon feeding for milk now. will he????or just this moment only??
Please help.
Jane,
oh,i gave them shishen wth cordyceps too, in powder type, give once only.
Oh, they say ok, if small amount, good for them.
Yesterday i gave them gaolishen with dry longan which steam wth rice, very nice smell they like it, after taken, their running nose ok!!!!!!!!no more water come out from nose again, as i never give any medichine to them,,,, give a try... if baby phelgm, try the steam apple, very good too>>>>>

hi jacelyn, maybe u try freeze the teether and let your 1st twin bite? maybe his gum itchy cos teething??

oh so u give the gaolishen too? i wonder, what grade of it do you all buy? the dry longan is those preserve one (without seeds)?

oh for phelgm, i am now giving him the hou ling from eu ren sheng medical hall seem helpful. if not , i shall try the apple method (that time u mention and i got copy it down).

how do u give the shi shen with cordyceps? when they are not well is it? i did not know shi shen got powder form. i know cordyceps have (and its quite expensive)...

what my colleague teach me is (when bb is well), buy the cordceps in powder form and put it into his porridge (mix and give him).

i wonder, how many time a week you give ur twins the shi shen with cordyceps? you do not mix it with porridge?

my colleague share with me another recepie.
put red apple, ji bin, na xin, pei xin into one pot of water and boil. give baby to drink (strengthen lung). one week drink 2 times.

Jane,
I try already, give him awhile he dont want, he throw away. Like now we give him water 60ml, he suck suck but no drink, use spoon now he open mouth and drink now. ai ya, how? i am so sad....
oh, the gaolishen which i buy was, the shop person give me the good one, no need to care which grade, the dry longan is we can buy at any chinese shop, no seed one, that type we use for cook dessert that one.
Oh, actuially the steam apple can eat anytime, you can try next time.
Oh, the shishen & cordyceps? oh, sorry, i used paoshen & cordyceps. This two i ask them to do poeder, mixed together. I only give one time, that time i put beside the bowl when i give them chaomiwth milk, i put a bit in spoon than feed him, my 2nd twins finish, my 1st twins vomit out a bit as a bit bitter, ok, maybe i will try to put in and mix all, at least no taste ha... they dont like bitter taste. they will reject . now even use hand to stop me if i give them anythings bitter, like baoyintan they dont like too.

Hi all the mummies,
look like all the mummies very busy now, now a day this thread very quiet, where was all the mummies go??????????
I am so sad as my boy reject bottle feeding, but still taking milk & other food but use spoon.......Please advice me.....

hi jacelyn, oh you put paoshen and cordyceps...wow..think the taste not that nice hum. i am not sure how good it is to put the cordyceps in porridge. i heard my lao gong say cordceps easily cost $400?? then the medical hall people say those grinded one not good. should buy those not grind one and go home and double boil for baby.

ya today really quite day. maybe friday..mummies on leave.

don't be upset he reject bottle. i really think its tenative. or else u try give him cup?

Jane,
Cup? does he know how to use? MAybe i try.
Ok, the cordceps? ok, maybe you can go fulushou there to buy, my friend there, she got one shop at fulushou, last time when i pregnant, all buy from her, she wont lies us if not good, she will give you the good one, last time i buy is 1 liang $300. you no need to buy so many, maybe you just buy $50 a few stick first, than buy some paoshen, ask her to powder for you, even was little, but never mind , try first, your baby still small, he wont take so much, no need to but so many, that day i just buy RM100+some paoshen, than my shop here do for me too. not to worry.
If you want to go, i will let you know the unit number, she very good one, she is a chinese doctor. very laoshi.

Just to share. My elder boy (2+ yrs old)in MMI. I can't see if he learn a lot or not cos he still can't speak very well. Though he brings back quite a lot of Art and craft and worksheets. But I'm not overly concern with academic for now. But I like the teachers there cos they can speak well and are caring. But then I think it may differ from branch to branch. The only -ve thing is it's fully air-con. At first, he got sick quite frequently. I went to check out quite a few child care before I enrolled him in MMI. You must check out as many centres as you can.

hi jacelyn, oh oh yes, fulushuo there got many such medical hall. ok, please email me the address ([email protected]). good to go to a reliable place to buy.

so this i can as and when let my boy eat?

there is those training cups that you can try...

Harlo, mummies,
been vy busy wif work recently until really wannaa pengsan....

jane,
can i add u in msn?my son's appt for SLT and dietician seems to be like suspended indefinitely...they said they are overbooked and they are gg thru a backlog of appts..that day i called, they asked me to bring my boy down on that day as got empty slot but i couldnt as i was wkg...so long never see them liao loh...

mich,
hows yr new maid?

hi costa

haha...i don't have msn...never mind sms me also ok haha

so funny? my appointment with dietrician so far no problem. everytime before seeing neo nat, i have to ring and make appointment. so far...no issue there...

but so far, slt and dietrician happy with your boy progress right?

Jane,
ok, i will email you the add at only the floor and name of the shop. the person name too, you tell her my name, she know me. ask her to give you gd price

Hi Hi...got a lot of marking today, and scream too much today at my P6...

Hi Hi, thanks thanks. I think montesorri costs a lot too. But if really good, may consider. You know my colleague observes her P1, those students who come from those good preschool really potray differently from those who come from normal schools leh.

Jacelyn, think this is just a transition period? My boy used to reject bottle too and we got to force down the milk. We tried feeding with spoon, feeding when sleeping, feeding with cup, even feeding with syringe. Eventually he went back to his milk bottle leh.

Sorry, me cannot advise much because will panick too if I were you.

Hi think flu virus very powerful nowadays. Everybody sick, adults or kids. Must take care!

Hi Jacelyn, May I Know which bowl you use for feeding your boys cereals ? and how did you manage to train your boys to have a schedule ? mine, hmm cannot establish a schedule yet

Jacelyn
My neighbour's gal rejected the bottle and never used it again. She drinks from cup.
At least your boy is drinking milk. So not to worry. Hopefully it is temporary and he will love his bottles again.

Jane
Wah... you very into chinese herbs suddenly.
I can pass you some of my si sen + cordyceps to let your boy try if he is receptive to it. The taste is quite strong.
PM me.

Costa
I had the best and the worst. This one is in between. So, no complains. Keeping fingers crossed.
Add me: [email protected]

kkf
I want to tell you this.
Remember we talked about headaches and being allergic to work.
I was on leave mon - thurs and i had no aches or pains although i face the 2 monsters whole day!
I was back in office today and my head started to spin by afternoon after replying to all the emails.

Chloegal
I went into KKH website. Yes, only 2 dentists. Which one is Edric seeing? Gentle or not? haha....
Brought the boys to see Physiotherapist yesterday. She said their motor skills improved tremendously and there is no need to see her so often. Next appointment will be Jan 2008.
The therapist expects the boys to be able to stand on one leg for 10 seconds by then. So stressful... have to monitor to such extent.

Lindah
Is your boy home?

kkf, adeline, disney -

reading about banging heads may be a sign of autism really frightened me!! my daughter bangs her head against the wall or the floor whenever she's angry. after i read what kkf wrote, i immediately checked the net for signs and symptoms of autism. i think my daughter does not show most of the symptoms and i think i just must monitor and pray hard that she doesnt have it. one of my friend's son is autistic and i can see that it is not easy for them.

disney, i hope my daughter's case is similar to your cousin's kid.

but, i wonder why she must bang her head?? arent there other ways to express her displeasure?? sigh. kids....

Hahah...mich, you are very funny. I am like that too!

Naddy, not to worry lar...every kids different. You watch for speech delay. All mummies, I heard from one of the special needs course I attend, speech delay is one of the symptom for any learning disabiliities like autism.

I am worry for hyperactivity. Actually, autism not so bad. Hyperactivity will kill any parent.
Nowadays, I really dun understand why there are sooo many special needs kids...haiz. Dyslexia is another common problem. Kids read "d" to "b" etc. So to keep a watchout.

Mich
I think he is seeing Dr Toh but not sure if she is a KKh dentise.

Have send Dr Kenneth Kwek edric's Photo and he remember us. he is very happy that i updated him obout edric and is very glade to know that he is doing fine.

Hi all mummies
Been bz with all things.. Very lost in the thread to see all the posts.

Am not going to Europe anymore cos I m expecting my no.4
Jus knew it. Hope that this will be a smooth sailing pregnancy n a FT bb

Jane
No worries.. Ur vboy will be ok.

Lindah
My ger failed her hearing screening before her discharge. Was very upset about it too.. Did another automated screening 2 weeks later and she passed it. She also cleared her hearing test 2 months ago.. Have a fren on ENT sat tat their eardrum may not be fully developed yet.. so, no worries.. When ur bb going home?

KKF
Hee .. Am the type of mum that don go thru the handbook... Feel tat its the boy's responsibility

Mich
Wow! D & E big boys liao.. going to attend classes next year;)

Costa
How's ur little one?